Back to VirtualBox page
VirtualBox free download for Mac

VirtualBox Reviews

6.1.4
21 February 2020

x86 virtualization software.

Demodit GmbH
12 January 2019

Most helpful

Lets me use Win10 on my Mac with macOS 10.14 (Mojave), but doesn't let me use older OS X (e.g. 10.11 or 10.9).
Like (1)
Version 6.0.0

Read 156 VirtualBox User Reviews

Rate this app:

jgwestpoint1
02 February 2020
lets me use Win XP 1997 on my Mac Airbook 2010-2020
Like
Version 6.1.2
Aargl
12 December 2019
MU> v6.1 still works perfectly in macOS 10.11 and I can't see any different requirement on their website.
Like
Version 6.1.0
MacProCT
12 December 2019
Virtualbox is pretty darned awesome. I've used it on both Windows and Mac host systems, to run both windows and Mac client systems. It's really been a life saver for allowing clients to continue to use outdated -- but irreplaceable -- software. Yes it does have quirks and bugs. But they are few and far between in my experience. If all you're doing is running one important outdated app, this will probably do the trick. If it doesn't, then I recommend VMWare Fusion which is less than $100.
Like
Version 6.1.0
Alvin-H
18 August 2019
virtualbox 6.0.10 on iMac 2019 custom SSD 1Tb, radeon pro vega 48 i experience mac os restart each install new virtual machine, windows or linux. i don't understand why is there anyone experience same problem? i think i'll buy fusion then
Like
Version 6.0.10
hlnv
05 March 2019
installation keep failing. does anyone know why? it says contact the software manufacturer for assistance but no idea whats the contact
Like (1)
Version 6.0.4
3 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
06 March 2019
Hi, What is MacOS running on Mac? Please try to find out more here -
https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewforum.php?f=23
Like
joe-exp
joe-exp
17 April 2019
Same here - fails to install!
6.0.4. install just fine.
6.0.6 fails!
Like
Robo-X
Robo-X
16 August 2019
When it fails on Mojave you need to allow for virtual box to install extensions. To do it once it fails open the System Preferences/Security and Privacy/ prefs panel. Unlock it by clicking on the lock at the bottom of the window. Look at the bottom of the widow under general tab, you will see a message asking if you want to allow Virtual Box to install system extensions. Allow it. This should now solve the problem and virtual box should install successfully.
Like
Macinman
16 January 2019
Has anyone tried VirtualBox 6 on a 5K iMac? The one main reason I will not use VB over a commercial product such as VMware Fusion is because VirtualBpx has never played nicely with the 5K retina display. Guest graphics run extremely slow, and other glitches such dragging the guest window causes desktop loss of the guest as in the graphics didn't re-draw correct. I'm mainly talking version 5X here, but wanted to find out if anyone has used version 6 and experienced better performance. I thought I would ask and get feedback first before downloading it and not having it work any better. Thanks.
Like
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
16 January 2019
VB 6 not much improved over 5, at least for mac hosts, IMO. The changelog for VB6 states improvements in HiDPI support, which is true, but that only relates to recognition and utilizing higher resolutions....UI performance is still subpar and why Fusion or Parallels are better choices if performance matters (not that graphics performance on Fusion and Parallels is that great either.)
link to changelog:
https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Changelog-6.0#v2
I could be wrong, but don't believe VB6 has overhauled its graphics core over VB5 and does not support Metal directly. VB6 is probably still relying on OpenGL, which Apple is deprecating and will NOT be available after Mojave. Apple has put all of its 'apples' so to speak, in the Metal basket.
Like
Demodit GmbH
12 January 2019
Lets me use Win10 on my Mac with macOS 10.14 (Mojave), but doesn't let me use older OS X (e.g. 10.11 or 10.9).
Like (1)
Version 6.0.0
4 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
15 January 2019
VirtualBox versions 5.2 support older versions of OS X, and will be maintained through 2020...did you even bother to check?
https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads
That is no reason to give a 3 star rating for this product because it dropped support for older versions of macOS. Apple constantly changes internal frameworks with each release of macOS/OS X, it makes it difficult to continue to support newer versions of macOS and maintain compatibility with older versions, especially something as complex as virtualization technology.....we aren't talking about a darn text editor here.
Like
Demodit GmbH
Demodit GmbH
09 February 2019
I don't want to run VirtualBox on an old OS X. I want to have a virtual machine with an old OS X on my Mac (latest macOS).
Like
Mcr
Mcr
09 February 2019
In my experience, of the three main virtualization products for Mac (Fusion, Parallels, VirtualBox), VirtualBox is the LEAST satisfactory for running Mac guests, old or new macOS or OSX. I've tried and worked with all three for personal and for work. This is not the time to get into paid vs free, etc, I'm just saying from a purely technical and usability standpoint, in my opinion I've had the most satisfaction with Fusion for running OSX/MacOS guests, Parallels for running Windows and Linux clients, and VB is somewhere in the middle, as long as the usage is light to medium. By light/medium usage I mean occasional use, running basic apps. I've run Windows Server and Exchange Server 24/7 in a Fusion and Parallels guest no issue, but I wouldn't use VB for running similar.

In fact to this very day, Oracle still lists macOS/OSX Guest support as 'experimental' (see page 300 on current manual, 'Known Limitations'. ) If you really need macOS guest support, I recommend Fusion. I currently have Fusion ver 11 running on Mojave on a MacMini 2018, and I have macOS/OSX guests of every release from Mojave all the way back to Snow Leopard (10.6) running. Graphics performance for mac guests is poor on ALL three products regardless, but Fusion is the 'least bad' of the three. Your mileage may vary, this is just my experience.
Good luck.
Like (1)
fiery12
fiery12
17 April 2019
I just started macOS 10.6 and 10.12 guests using VirtualBox 6.0.4 on Mojave host. Both virtual machines work fine (Sierra is x10 slower than 10.6). Snow Leopard starts for less than 10 sec. and shutdowns for < 1sec. SL is still the fastest macOS on my machine even in VirtualBox.
Each macOS release includes a list of supported CPUs. So you can't run older macOS on a newer CPU. This is true even if you use VirtualBox. To avoid this problem you need to tweak VirtualBox configuration files (search their forums). For example Snow Leopard guest starts only when I set a CoreSolo CPU.
Like (2)
Virtualruffy
19 December 2018
Extension pack for v6 link: https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/6.0.0/Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-6.0.0.vbox-extpack
Like (1)
Version 6.0.0
DragonMaster
21 August 2018
Forget Parallels VMware Fusion and the rest. The new VirtualBox as far as I am concerned out performs them all. It supports Mohave already without having to pay Parallels a 50$ minimum to upgrade plus a subscription. The install is easy and quick. Support from the Community quick and accurate. Updates are free! The app is Free! Why would you not use it! Beats the hell out of me!
Like (5)
Version 5.2.16
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
18 October 2018
Parallels doesn't force a subscription. Unlike 1Password, they don't hide their non-subscription option. The price for either ends up being identical. They did assume I wanted to be on their subscription plan this year, but after they charged me, I wrote them no and they swiftly Uncharged me, which was quite nice of them. Then of course I bought the new v14 anyway for the same price. Unless they miraculously solve the DirectX 11 support conundrum, I suspect I'll be skipping v15 next year.
Like
Saneman1
19 August 2018
There is a newer version at: https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/5.2.18/VirtualBox-5.2.18-124319-OSX.dmg
Like
Version 5.2.16
Mondele
06 April 2018
What can be said has mostly been said, but I'll chime in. It's not quite as nice to configure as Parallels, but once it's running it's fantastic. Two-way clipboard support just works, and the granular control over the emulated hardware (how many cores, how much RAM, what size drive, etc.) makes it sweet for testing system parameters. I triple boot on my MacBook, but may toss that for using virtualized PCs. It works well with most Linuxes I throw at it (have had some issues with Linux Mint and video drivers). It works well with Windows. Parallels seems to virtualize Mac OS more smoothly. For free (I, too, was tired of the "subscription model" annual upgrade pleas/threats), I really have to try to find a problem with it. I sometimes wonder if VMWare Fusion would be worth it, for the raw device support, etc., but I understand that it can be configured in VirtualBox, with patience and Terminal-fu. In short, it does so much of what I need it to do that the commercial competitors don't have an appeal for me. I may, eventually, see if qemu is faster, but that's even more arcane, so it's not likely in the short term.
Like
Version 5.2.6
3 answer(s)
Purbeckview
Purbeckview
19 July 2018
Have they fixed the 3-D graphics support issues?
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
18 October 2018
I don't understand why, but none of the virtualization systems are able to go past DirectX 10, which is the problem. Seeing as I can do DirectX 11 via Bootcamp, huh? So Bootcamp it is.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
20 December 2018
Guys,
The following article sheds light on why Virtualization systems have not been able to solve the Direct X 11 and higher problem.
https://www.parallels.com/blogs/directx-and-parallels-desktop-13/

Now Apple has made no secret that it is deprecating support for OpenGL, that Metal is the future. But the Metal would seem NOT to have the necessary APIs or mapping to solve the problem either, as Metal 1.0 has been around since 2014 and Metal 2.0 since mid-2017, plenty of time for Fusion, Parallels, etc, to figure out Direct X 11+ support, ASSUMING Metal 2.0 was capable of solving the issues. So, it would seem Metal 2.0 is still lacking something.

I'm not a graphics expert, but my understanding is that Vulcan is possibly the answer to a lot of these cross platform graphics support issues. Metal and DX sitting on top of Vulcan would provide a bridge, across multiple OS platforms; the graphics version of the 'write once, run anywhere' idea.
Like
casiopeadistrict
13 February 2018
Great free virtual machine. I was using it and vmware workstation. Didin't find essential differences
Like
Version 5.2.6
Baarten
23 March 2017
Version 5.1.18 out now.
Like
Version 5.1.16
FalstaffA
17 January 2017
VirtualBox 5.1.14 Build 112924 is available for download as of January 17, 2017.

What's new in this version:

- VMM: fixed emulation of certain instructions for 64-bit guests on 32-bit hosts
- VMM: properly handle certain MSRs for 64-bit guests on ancient CPUs without VT-x support for MSR bitmaps (bug #13886)
- GUI: fixed a crash with multimonitor setups under certain conditions
- GUI: allow cloning of snapshots when the VM is running
- NVMe: fixed compatibility with the Storage Performance Development Kit (SPDK, bug #16368)
- VBoxSVC: fixed a crash under rare circumstances
- VBoxManage: added a sanity check to modifymedium --resize to prevent users from resizing their hard disk from 1GB to 1PB (bug #16311)
Like
Version 5.1.12
Robo-X
08 January 2017
Used different Parallels Desktop and VMware Fusion and all of them are good but they need to be upgraded every year to be compatible with latest MacOS Versions. Since a few years back I got tired of this "subscription" based upgrades and tried VirtualBox. Works just as good but without the yearly "fee".
Like (3)
Version 5.1.12
Macinman
22 July 2016
Version 5.1.2 of Virtualbox is out, and I tried it this morning, running into problems with audio. When I tried to start a newly created VM , no matter what audio card i used in settings, I got a HostAudio Security warning, and there was no audio in the VM. I tried both AC97, and intel HD audio with CoreAudio as the driver. I've checked online, but can't find any reports or references to this specific problem, and I've gone to the virtualbox support room on IRC, and didn't get an answer yet . So Hopefully someone here might know what's going on. Also this a warning to alert others this problem seems to have come either with the new version of Vbox or apple has changed something in 10.11.6 security wise that virtualbox doesn't like.
Like
Version 5.1.0
2 answer(s)
cmotdibbler
cmotdibbler
25 July 2016
I'm getting the same exact issue running Linux Mint on a Sierra beta host but don't get the error running XP. Not seeing these issues using a windows host.
This is for VB 5.1.2. No solutions for you other than possibly downgrading. I feel your pain.
Like
Ginobocarelli
Ginobocarelli
25 July 2016
Same issue running windows 10. Error message appears.
Like
RogerKatz
16 July 2016
The current version is 5.1.0
Like
Version 5.0.24
kscmint
23 June 2016
Excellent software. I run a lot of virtual machines and this one is relatively easy to use.
Like
Version 5.0.22
RavenNevermore
19 June 2016
I downloaded this yesterday to see if I could install OPENSTEP 4.2 on it. It was a PITA to set up, and in the end I couldn't figure out how to attach a floppy disk image. I'm guessing you can't. But it's free... I ended up using VMWare.
Like
Version 5.0.22
mansoor-sayyad
13 June 2016
tnx
Like
Version 5.0.20
Deber
30 January 2016
I had a big problem with latest update 5.0.14 as my mouse disappeared and I had no control with it on VirtualBox application as well as with MacOS applications. I had to quit VB with cmd-opt-esc and re-install the previous version 5.0.12. First time I have a problem with VB that I use since long time :( I hope to see a fix soon.
Like
Version 5.0.14
1 answer(s)
Deber
Deber
23 April 2016
Everything is ok now : I uninstalled the VB with its tool and I reinstalled the latest version 5.0.18
Like
Shooters
26 January 2016
Hard to setup compared to VMware Fusion. Ones you get your VM OS working it has great speed for most needs. Not recommended for playing games though. The DirectX support is poor and crash prone. Still a very capable VM client ! Try this before cashing out on Fusion ot Parallels Desktop.
Like
Version 5.0.14
Jpczd
19 November 2015
VirtualBox COM object creation failed. Program will stop. Return code: NS_BASE_STREAM_WOULD_BLOCK (0X80470007) ???
Like
Version 5.0.10
Holgorio
22 October 2015
VirtualBox 5.0.8 is out. Also patches some security bugs in previous versions. Download from website http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/server-storage/virtualbox/downloads/index.html.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.4
Macinman
09 October 2015
Version 5.0.6 is out at: https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads
To see what's new, view change log at: https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Changelog
Like (1)
Version 5.0.4
Macinman
08 September 2015
Version 5.0.4 is released at virtual box.org. So far it seems to have fixed a lot of the problems I was having with early version of 5x including buggy and choppy audio play back. Continuing to do tests with various guests. Also seems to run quite well on the latest public beta of El Capitan.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
Emale999
27 August 2015
Installer of Version 5.x gives me "The installer has detected an unsupported operation system. VirtualBox requires Mac OS X 10.8 or later.". So requirements unfortunately seem to be "Intel, 64-bit processor, OS X 10.8 or later", not OS X 10.6 or later.
Like
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
27 August 2015
As much as I love snow leopard myself, most things have dropped support in recent years. Sadly, if you wish to keep up with current versions of mac software you need at least lion or mountain lion. some require mavericks or newer, and some even require Yosemite or later. It just depends on the application / developer. Alternatively, you could install Virtualbox or vmware player for free on a windows or linux host., if you don't want to upgrade os x.
Like (1)
Aadams77
Aadams77
09 December 2015
The proper/correct Mac OS X system requirements are listed in footnote 2 at the bottom of https://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch01.html

"Preliminary Mac OS X support (beta stage) was added with VirtualBox 1.4, full support with 1.6. Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) support was removed with VirtualBox 3.1. Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion) and earlier was removed with VirtualBox 5.0."

...so, running Mac OS X 10.6 you'd be after:
VirtualBox 4.3.34 (released November 11th 2015)
https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Download_Old_Builds_4_3

Hope that helps! ;)


-Alan
Like (1)
polocanada
08 August 2015
I find VIrtual Box has served me well for all those years. I started using it way back almost from day one when it was just small German company later acquired by Sun and then Oracle. It's not the Rolls Royce or Porsche of the virtualization but I found Virtual Box using minimal resources able to run on any machine. For example, I used to have a small Asus netbook running WinXP as host and Windows 2003 Server with SAP installed on it. SAP is like this giant tanker compared to this tiny raft. The netbook was running just reasonably OK, it was taxing it's resources, but apparently the 2GB Ram and relatively fast aftermarket SSD was sufficient. I tried the same thing with VMware or Parallels .. and forget it. It was just horribly slow and buggy. So I find VirtualBox major advantage was it is designed as very sleek product. If you have big server and the machines are running mission critical systems, then maybe VMWare or Microsoft Hyper-V are absolute must and safer choice as these have more redundancies built in and proper support. But if you run anything else that is not mission critical system or database server for business, then by all means, VirtualBox would be the favourite to consider. One area which could be improved in VirtualBox is the management of virtual machines, maintenance and the documentation. A lot of things is on different places and for a newbie not easy to understand, so a lot of this requires try-and-see approach.
Like
Version 5.0.0
nobody2011
10 July 2015
The requirements are wrong. I've found this one in the User Manuals: Preliminary Mac OS X support (beta stage) was added with VirtualBox 1.4, full support with 1.6. Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger) support was removed with VirtualBox 3.1. Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion) and earlier was removed with VirtualBox 5.0.
Like
Version 5.0.0
Dmnelson
04 June 2015
VirtualBox is great for what it is. Occasionally rough around the edges but it works and is a good choice for people whose needs don't warrant a paid product. I have just one or two applications that require Windows and this is a good way to get the job done.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0_RC1
2 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
05 June 2015
is the 5.0 RC a legit release? It doesn't show up on virtual box.org under downloads.
Like
polocanada
polocanada
08 August 2015
It is legit, if you click download will download the 5.x version. It may not show up there as 5.x but that's what you download.
Like
richb1993
28 February 2015
Free virtualisation. Whilst VirtualBox doesn't offer the performance or polish of other products I still rate it higher because it's free. All you have to lose is a little time spent setting it up. For the most part VirtualBox works well; it just requires a bit more work than other solutions. If you're on a budget however VB is a great alternative to Parallels or VMware Fusion and is well worth checking out.
Like (4)
Version 4.3.22
Hendricx
16 February 2015
I have tried using VirtualBox several times. But I always bump into troubles installing VM (both Windows and OSX). Although newer versions are better it is still a tool that is not recommended for casual/novice users. 4 stars for being free - 2 stars for being difficult to install.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.22
Hendricx
16 February 2015
I have tried using VirtualBox several times. But I always bump into troubles installing VM (both Windows and OSX). Although newer versions are better it is still a tool that is not recommended for casual/novice users. 4 stars for being free - 2 stars for being difficult to install.
Like
Version 4.3.22
larrymcj
30 January 2015
(Sorry for the duplicate post...the first one appeared to not work so I hit SUBMIT again)

You'd think after all these years on MacUpdate I'd get used to it, but I haven't. I'm continually amazed the users here consistently give an INFERIOR app higher ratings simply because it's free. If Parallels or VMWare Fusion were free...they'd be the highest rated virtualization apps rated in MacUpdate. This generally holds true for most other apps as well...if it's cheap and at least works, it gets the highest ratings. VirtualBox simply doesn't hold a candle to Parallels or VMWare Fusion.
Like
Version 4.3.20
larrymcj
30 January 2015
You'd think after all these years on MacUpdate I'd get used to it, but I haven't. I'm continually amazed the users here consistently give an INFERIOR app higher ratings simply because it's free. If Parallels or VMWare Fusion were free...they'd be the highest rated virtualization apps rated in MacUpdate. This generally holds true for most other apps as well...if it's cheap and at least works, it gets the highest ratings. VirtualBox simply doesn't hold a candle to Parallels or VMWare Fusion.
Like (4)
Version 4.3.20
6 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
15 February 2015
That's a lot of squawking but you offer no details or facts. I use this app everyday and it performs flawlessly with XP, 7 and is doing quite well with Windows 10 Dev. I am also running OSX Snow Leopard in VB. Maybe you should read the manual, learn how to use it and contain your comments to a specific app instead of implying that MacUpdate users globally give reviews on all apps based on price. You insult a community with comments that you can't back up. Then you double post because you don't know what you are doing. lol There goes your credability.
Like (7)
larrymcj
larrymcj
15 February 2015
Perhaps you read what you wanted to out of my comment, rather than my intentions. 95% of what I said was directed to the fact that FREE apps on MacUpdate generally get a better review than paid apps. If you were to choose any current FREE five star app and suddenly make it $30, I assure you within a year it would be down to three stars.

The last sentence of my comment, which is the only part of my comment relevant to your reply, is a fact I experienced as I tried all three VM apps before shelling out $79 for Parallels. I didn't say VirtualBox would not do what it's supposed to do, I said it doesn't hold a candle to the other two. For clarity I should have stated the differences, which you may not have noticed unless you also have used Parallels.

1. VirtualBox does not support popular gestures.

2. VirtualBox does not do well with games (I'm not a gamer, so I don't care).

3. Inferior vendor support...in fact, does it even have support.

4. The biggest drawback to using VirtualBox on a Mac is the substantial amount of fiddling needed to get your virtual machine to run the way you want. I'm a retired geek and developer so I do understand these things and I could have fiddled to my heart's content, but I didn't want to. Creating a virtual hard disk, enabling switches, and configuring the driver packages — all require some intermediate or advanced computer skills. Not a great choice for the average user.

5. Another substantial downside is its limited graphics capability. There appears to be some OpenGL support, but that is not officially or fully supported yet.

6. PCMark 7 Benchmarks will also tell a performance story you may not want to hear, and I certainly didn't invent these. In seven categories Parallels was rated much higher than VirtualBox. In two of those categories VirtualBox fared a little better, but it still lost. Performance in the OS was the critical category where VirtualBox was way behind. So if performance at the speed of the actual OS is not important to you, then I guess this means nothing. To me, performance is very important.

I would agree that VirtualBox works OK for web surfing, email and very light office document work. But in my own comparison tests against Parallels, having to move in and out of Windows from Mac several times a day, have a true coherence mode in which I felt like I was actually using Windows, Parallels was much better.

I understand when someone truly loves an app there is nothing anyone can say to change their opinion, and I do respect that. I'm just saying, as I originally said, that FREE will bring more stars than $$$ on a MacUpdate review. I've been using MacUpdate for about 12 years and though I thoroughly appreciate the many comparisons and comments, I always factor in the ones regarding free apps.
Like (2)
Cgc
Cgc
15 February 2015
@larrymcj: I agree in terms of features and performance, VMWare Fusion and Parallels both easily crush Virtual Box. Virtual Box's strength is it's value and that's something that's hard to criticize as what's value to you isn't necessarily what value to me or others. I use Parallels but they are ruthless in regards to upgrades (e.g. upgrade my host OS I need to upgrade Parallels).

@lemonb3519: Just because it works for you doesn't make it the best option. I saw no insults to the community, as you put it. Finally, if you want "credibility" you probably should either learn to spell or use spell check.
Like (2)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
15 February 2015
@CGC Never said it was the best option, you do read english right ? Also for larrymcj to make the statement that free apps get better ratings is an insult to the community. The majority of reviews here are legit and based on actual use and fact, not price. Finally a small mind like yours would think a typo has something to do with credibility.
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
16 February 2015
For me, I've used / tried all three products as well. I've decided on fusion because it seems t have the best support for virtualizing os x, and that is what people have said is one of VMware's major strengths. I'm not a gamer by nature, but I do like to play some old games time to time. Most of the games I'd play are games like kings quest or the like, and they actually run best in DOSbox which is also free, and runs best for dos based stuff, even better then the commercial VM software packages.

Virtualbox is nice because it's cross platform and quick and easy just to slap together a test vm and be done with if, If i want to use a VM long term, I'd chose VMware, because it's also cross platform, and offers more features.

I've stated this a while back, but I'll say it again, since new people read the comments everyday. I switched to OS X from classic years ago with the soul purpose of learning unix in a mac friendly environment. I really like what OS X brought to the table as far as the best of both worlds, but with at said. Apple isn't everything anymore, and If i had to make the choice to change platforms now, I could do it much easier now be it linux, be it freeBSD, be it windows. Virtualization makes it easier to learn a new platform with a familiar platform as a host, so when the host is, or needs to be the virtualized os , the transition is much easier.

As far as Parallels vs VMware benchmarks, I haven't used PD in years, but all current Macs in the last couple years have SSDs and for me at least fusion runs very fast, and I haven't had any graphics complaints in guests with good support. (especially the MacBooks, iMacs have the fusion drive.)
Like (1)
Electriclewis
Electriclewis
16 February 2015
Surely the rating has to be given on the merit of the app being rated rather than the merits of others? VBox does everything it claims to do and is free for personal use (yes, there is a commercial support option). How would that not be worth a high rating? Some four star hotels are much better than others but still get the same rating (i.e. four stars). If Fusions and Parallels floats your boat then buy them and give them high ratings but complaining that users of another product shouldn't give theirs' a higher rating is just fandom.
Like (1)
colweb
13 December 2014
VirtualBox-4.3.20-96996-OSX crashes my Windows 8.1 on startup? Should I know about a patch
Like
Version 4.3.20
Talaatharb
03 December 2014
Nov 21st, 2014: VirtualBox 4.3.20 released!
Like (1)
Version 4.3.18
Cjbolland
11 September 2014
Can this run older OSX versions on a new MBP?
Like
Version 4.3.16
1 answer(s)
Maeric
Maeric
08 October 2014
Yes, our group is running Snow Leopard 10.6 server and FreeHand MX.
Like (1)
Lightning
19 July 2014
Works great for my application. Stable and small footprint.
Like
Version 4.3.14
Macinman
13 June 2014
I have tried pretty much every virtual machine software package that is well known. If i was someone who really lived in virtual machines for work or needed one any lenguh of time I would probably continue to pay for VMware fusion updates. However, the main reason I used virtualbox or vmware was early on for windows compatibility which the need isn't that great anymore, or what I need on occasaion usually works in wine. The second reason is, for Linux which the need for a virtual machine isn't demanded anymore right now as I now have a physical non apple machine I can test linux on. The other thing is virtualbox is a nice cross platform solution if i need to transfer vms between machines, or just want to whip up a quick vm to test a distro before deciding to employ it on the media server/desktop. current machines are a late 2013 macbook pro retina 13" and a HP Pavailion as the linux desktop/media server. I've never had a hard time getting help with Vbox when i've needed it either. and while it may not support every single distro of linux in name i've found if the distro in question is based on a known distro setting up the vm for that distro has worked well. Also setting the general linux options seem to work ok as well . The HP is an older system so while it does have a 64-bit cpu it's not equiped with VT-X so vms run slower and are limited to 32 bit so that makes it nice being able to copy the vm to the macbook as it will run at faster speeds if i need to test something that requires more. Overall I am pleased with the work Sun started, and Oracle has continued with this project.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.12
Solosaint
26 March 2014
Download link wont work due to "last minute changes" new download link is http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/4.3.10/VirtualBox-4.3.10-93012-OSX.dmg
Like (1)
Version 4.3.10
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
27 March 2014
Thanks for letting us know. We've updated the download URL.
Like
bowlerboy-jmb
26 February 2014
I am glad (and amused) to hear that VirtualBox will work on Mavericks. What I'd like to know, if people's memories are deep enough, is when would you use it? For what purposes? In other words, what programs would you run on that you can't do without using it? Other than taking a stroll down memory lane, where's the benefit? I've still got a couple of Wang PC's in my attic. (I donated one of that set of three to a museum in Texas). So, I have all of the MS-DOS software (and the originally soft floppy discs!) that do with them. But, even though I'm a pack rat, I still don't bother to get them out just to look at green text on a screen anymore.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.8
7 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
26 February 2014
For DOS programs, rather than using VirtualBox, you may want to look at DOS box emulators, such as DosBox, which supports Macs and Windows. The system resource requirements are significantly less, and the DOS compatibility IMO is much better than in VB, Parallels or VMWare. I use DOSBox to run old PC games from my youth. IT has great support for emulating floppy disk drives, DOS drive letters, everything to make these programs believe they are running on real DOS. You can even adjust relative CPU speed and timing, keyboard rates, etc, since most old programs are oblivious and can't handle modern CPU and system speeds..they actually need to be slowed down to be usable. There are numerous front ends for DosBox that provide a GUI interface for editing settings, etc. I use Boxer. http://www.dosbox.com/
Like
Mcr
Mcr
26 February 2014
@Bowlerboy_jmb I reread your message again, and I got the feeling perhaps you thought VirtualBox was only supporting old software. You are aware that VirtualBox allows you to run virtualized copies of MODERN, PRESENT-DAY operating systems as well? YOu can use it to run virtualized copies of OS X, Windows, Unix and so on. I personally use Parallels, not VirtualBox, but same idea. With Parallels, I run images of Mountain Lion, MAvericks, Windows XP, Windows 7 and 8.1 and Ubuntu.
Like (2)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
26 February 2014
@Mcr ... Thanks for the clarification. You are right about my mis-understanding of the range and scope of VirtualBox I did not mean to be critical or sarcastic (why would someone even rate a query like that with a frown?). I suppose I did get the impression from you that VirtualBox was sort of retrograde, so, never having used it, I couldn't see much use for it. Although I have licenses for both Parallels and VMware Fusion, I never really installed those virtual machines either. I have enough to do wandering through the world of Mac software, let alone mess my head up more than necessary by peering through Windows once again or exposing my Mac to viruses and other attacks to which I would rather not subject myself. The attraction to run Windows on my Mac is very low on my radar screen. At the same time, however, I'm glad such VM software provides Mac users with that option. It's a really clever trick to make one machine believe that it something else that it is. Very heady stuff.
Like (2)
Mcr
Mcr
27 February 2014
@Bowlerboy_jmb If you already have licenses for Parallels and Fusion, I highly recommend you try out using virtual images of OS X, even if you don't care about Windows. It's a great way to try out software without worrying about harming your every day working system. Also useful if you are browsing suspect sites or downloading files you aren't sure of. click of a button , revert back to a saved image, and no harm done. I lock down my every day system as tight as I can (no Flash, HOST file that blocks advertising sites, VPN, browse only known/safe sites, etc). I do all my experimenting and casual browsing/downloading in a virtual machine.
Like (1)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
28 February 2014
@Mcr Wow! If I get you right, then you are talking about running a virtual Mac OS X inside of a real Mac OS X machine. What a cool idea! I don't think that I have ever read of anyone even suggesting something like that. If such a thing works, then one could actually "install" dangerous stuff like Flash inside that virtual Mac OS X machine and have a grand old time while it lasted, testing out iffy software, visiting sites will some real flashing goes on... I see that you did mention running images of Mountain Lion and Mavericks in a vM window, but that totally went over my head, because I had been indoctrinated with the concept that using Parallels and Fusion and Boxer, I guess, was so that people could run (ugh) Windows on their Macs. To be able to run other versions of Mac OS X as a virtual machine on a real Mac computer opens up possibilities I had not considered. Thanks for the push. I'm putting it on the list of stuff to do, once I finish my eBook and website project, which must be my highest priorities right now.
Like (1)
cmotdibbler
cmotdibbler
26 March 2014
I run virtual installations of XP for the same reason I have an occasional slice of thin, round pizza (I prefer deep dish). Seriously though, there are some older scientific programs that only run in XP and occasionally I need to access those.
Like
Feh-App-Store
Feh-App-Store
26 March 2014
I run Win7, Visual Studio 2012 and a photon server on virtual box for work. No other viable way to do it and nice to be able to do it, in an extremely stable app for free.
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
26 February 2014
Still THE best choice (well, only choice) in free virtual machine software. Been using it ever since I got stuck on a Mac... and use it on Linux machines... for the freedom to run anything I want in software.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.8
1 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
26 February 2014
I can also confirm that does work on Mavericks with the new version. That nonsense was Apple's fault, not Vbox.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
26 February 2014
It works well for me in Mavericks.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.8
Larry-Klein
29 October 2013
I cannot get anything but crashes/ error messages since I installed maverick. I did reinstall the same-newest version and it worked once and not since.
Like
Version 4.3.0
1 answer(s)
Larry-Klein
Larry-Klein
02 November 2013
This update seems to have fixed it for Maverick.
Like (1)
Larry-Klein
25 October 2013
I had to reinstall ( the same version) to get it to work with Maverick.
Like
Version 4.3.0
Larry-Klein
25 October 2013
I had to reinstall ( the same version) to get it to work with Maverick.
Like
Version 4.3.0
Egami
16 October 2013
I tried to give this app a shot but found it practically impossible to get it up and running. Is there a good guide to follow along somehwere?
Like
Version 4.3.0
Moog-Modular
20 September 2013
Small question, observation. Lately my VB isn't loading. Says there's not enough memory, but the only thing I've done is ADD more ram to the machine. Regardless, when I hit "Update" it points me to 4.2.18, but I'm running OS10.5.8 and VB 4.2.18 indicates OS10.6 minimum. So I don't know if I should update or if they just haven't a very good update routine. 2 cents here anyway. Love the program (when it's working.)
Like (2)
Version 4.2.18
1 answer(s)
Moog-Modular
Moog-Modular
26 September 2013
Just a follow up. I was able to download and install VB 4.2.26 and it fixed the problem. So I still don't know quite when it became 10.6 only (or if it did at all), but this helped fix my particular problem.
Like (3)
WisdomL0RD
08 September 2013
Great free VM ! Installing is a struggle though.
Like
Version 4.2.18