Back to Coda page
Coda free download for Mac

Coda Reviews

2.7.5
05 November 2019

One-window Web development suite.

LuxLogica
10 February 2016

Most helpful

Coda is a fantastic little product, which seems to get very little love from its developers: years pass without any major revisions, while the developers release a myriad of little iOS apps and even a game... Developers, take note: Coda needs some love it it's to stay competitive. Please integrate some of the features from products such as CodeKit - automatic LESS/SASS compilation, js+css minification and css autoprefixing. How about adding built-in support for Zen Coding/Emmet? Improve support for Markdown - perhaps with built-in code highlighting and auto-compiling/exporting to HTML and pdf. And on the database front, why not support SQLite? - many hosting providers now offer it. Just because Coda is a nice product, doesn't mean its users don't expect - and want - even more...
Like (14)
Version 2.5.16

Read 152 Coda User Reviews

Rate this app:

fleur2metaline-1
24 September 2019
Version 2.7.4 is out : https://www.panic.com/coda/
Like
Version 2.7.3
fleur2metaline-1
25 March 2019
Version 2.7 is out : https://www.panic.com/coda/
Like
Version 2.6.10
1 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
25 March 2019
Hi,
Thank you for letting us know
Like
MaximMel
26 August 2017
Great app. Seen it before getting my first mac. Love it and was waiting for my mac to install it. For some reason there is no option to save the FTP credentials. Replaces the open source notepad++ which requires some plugins to do the same job. A bit pricy! But about everything on a mac paid.
Like
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
snozdop
snozdop
10 October 2017
There certainly is a way to save FTP credentials. When setting up a site just click the Server tab and enter and save the credentials there.
Like
Daniel W.
20 July 2017
Using it every day. Love it.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.6
Moxiesozo
14 May 2017
Version 2.6.5 is out.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Scott-C-H-
24 January 2017
Coda can be a compelling choice again if they lower the price down to $20 and provide a very strong iOS support. In fact, most coders they are targeting are pretty much set with Atom or Sublime Text, so they might be better off just focusing on being the first to provide a strong Mac-iOS integration and develop a pro-grade IDE for iPad Pro users.
Like (3)
Version 2.6
6 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
05 April 2017
You do realize that the cost of the app goes into feeding the developers too, right? It's not just to chase you away. You want intricate features, but refuse to pay a livable wage for it. I just don't understand what goes through people's minds these days…
Like (2)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
04 September 2017
@timi - Irrelevant. I commented strictly from the market reality standpoint. I think they could sell Coda at $200/license price point if they create a perception of value that's good enough to convince potential buyers that it's worth paying that much. I surely hope that they will be able to do that with their next version, get paid well and survive. Does that mean that wishing something will make the market reality go away? Unfortunately, no.
Like
Tim27
Tim27
10 October 2017
Umm, Coda isn't targeting users of Atom or Sublime Text. Coda was created before either of those apps were out. Additionally, you realize that Sublime Text is $80 and does FAR less than Coda, right? $20 for a good coding app is far too cheap, especially given that there's an entire company behind Coda. I could see Sublime being $20, because that's the only app that company makes. The reality is that you are floating out there above the market reality.
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
27 October 2017
@Tim27
Everything moves fast, and now, the market reality is that so many developers are switching to Visual Studio Code. Again, it is FREE, there is a huge community of FREE extensions, and it is more than enough to satisfy even the most demanding developers. How would you expect Coda to appeal to those developers when they are getting most of what they need for free?

In the meanwhile, PHPStorm is thriving despite its subscription model, because the developer did a good job in positioning it at a price point where developers feel is worthwhile for the features they get out of it. Its yearly price is lower than Coda's and it is far more powerful than Coda. You might say, "You pay once for Coda while PHPStorm makes you pay every year." But the reality is that you pay for Coda's major updates, and you would complain if they make you wait for more than a year. Sorry, you can't have both.

That's why I suggested in my original post that Coda might have a better fighting chance if it releases a pro-grade IDE for iOS that makes web developers go, "Wow, this thing makes iOS viable for serious development!" and sells the Mac version on a strong Mac-iOS integration including robust multi-device test environment that matches Chrome Dev Tools. They have to differentiate themselves that way, or I'm afraid it will continue to be a losing game for them especially if they keep their current price point. None of this is to say free is better. All of it is strictly based on the market reality and how most people think. (People are cheap, harsh, and they aren't going to pay unless they feel it's justified..)
Like
Tim27
Tim27
27 October 2017
Again Scott, Coda isn't for people that are cheap. Neither is Transmit, their FTP software. There's a TON of free FTP software out there. Moreso than code editors, but Panic is still selling Transmit. Why do you think that is? Because people are dumb? No. Because it's great software and works in a way that those people who like it work. And so if enough people buy it, they will continue to be a prosperous company.

Just because other companies make something for free doesn't mean someone else should. Or even lower their price. I have never used Visual Studio Code and never will. Why not? Because I have a workflow based on something I already use (which is not Coda, but also not free).

Do you think that Adobe is going to lower the cost of Creative Cloud (or even just Photoshop) because GIMP is free? Or because Affinity Photo is only $50?
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
28 October 2017
<quote>
Again, Scott, Coda isn't for people that are cheap. Neither is Transmit, their FTP software. There's a TON of free FTP software out there. Moreso than code editors, but Panic is still selling Transmit. Why do you think that is? Because people are dumb? No. Because it's great software and works in a way that those people who like it work. And so if enough people buy it, they will continue to be a prosperous company.
</quote>

You are right, and I wholeheartedly agree. My point wasn't about that, though. There may be, say, 10,000 developers who would purchase Coda for their development needs. But then, considering the current sentiment regarding software pricing and business model, it's not that hard to see that there are probably 10x more numbers of developers who won't buy Coda for the price/value reason. And it is very much debatable whether the existing 10,000 users will stick to Coda if it stays where it is now with all the viable alternatives that might be "not quite as good, but good enough to take it for cheap" solutions. And that can hurt.

<quote>
Just because other companies make something for free doesn't mean someone else should. Or even lower their price. I have never used Visual Studio Code and never will. Why not? Because I have a workflow based on something I already use (which is not Coda, but also not free).
</quote>

I never said Panic "should" charge less. I only stated that it "might help" if they do things a little differently.

Just because *you* are using Coda and it works well for you doesn't mean everyone else will. It works well for you how? It's worth going for Coda at $99 instead of PHPStorm for $89 or VSC for free, why? Will others think the same way and pay up?

<quote>
Do you think that Adobe is going to lower the cost of Creative Cloud (or even just Photoshop) because GIMP is free? Or because Affinity Photo is only $50?
</quote>

Absolutely not. Adobe should charge whatever they feel like charging and so should Panic. Chipotle can charge $100 for a small size burrito if they want to. Whether they are going to sell more is a whole separate issue, and no amount of "You are so dumb cheap!!! You should pay for software!!!" "I don't care what everyone else thinks, I see a huge value in this!!" reactionary fanboi shoutout will likely help to convince the market in which even developers are now so used to paying little to nothing for a piece of software.
Like
LuxLogica
10 February 2016
Coda is a fantastic little product, which seems to get very little love from its developers: years pass without any major revisions, while the developers release a myriad of little iOS apps and even a game... Developers, take note: Coda needs some love it it's to stay competitive. Please integrate some of the features from products such as CodeKit - automatic LESS/SASS compilation, js+css minification and css autoprefixing. How about adding built-in support for Zen Coding/Emmet? Improve support for Markdown - perhaps with built-in code highlighting and auto-compiling/exporting to HTML and pdf. And on the database front, why not support SQLite? - many hosting providers now offer it. Just because Coda is a nice product, doesn't mean its users don't expect - and want - even more...
Like (14)
Version 2.5.16
1 answer(s)
Pedro-Fardilha
Pedro-Fardilha
10 February 2017
Exactly what He said. ;)
Like
Web-Jive
27 January 2016
We use CODA daily here but, the development group behind CODA refuses to make so that CODA can become the default FTP handler which would improve development workflow. I am pretty sure they're not going to do it because their afraid it would canabalize their Transit FTP product. Sad..
Like (6)
Version 2.5.16
mariocode
27 July 2015
Very nice and easy to use actually the name for http://www.codaphilly.com/ interestingly enough
Like (1)
Version 2.5.11
Juan-Gabriel
17 June 2015
nice and useful
Like (1)
Version 2.5.10
Tim27
25 April 2015
Overall, this is a decent app, but they keep saying it has live preview of CSS changes. Well I can't get it to work and judging by things I've read in forums I'm not the only one. I ended up buying Espresso because it just works the way you think it should. In that app I can even download the CSS from a live site and play around with it to see how changes affect that site. I wish Coda could do this because I would actually use it, then.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.8
Phaleron
23 January 2015
I find the idea of $99 a pop with no upgrade path outrageous.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.3
Alessandro82
07 January 2015
the worst editor i ve ever worked with it crashed every time with large files as soon i scrool just a crapware!
Like
Version 2.5.1
2 answer(s)
jchristie07
jchristie07
16 January 2015
I've been using this full time for over a year now and I think I may have had one crash.
Like (5)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
05 April 2017
@jchristie07 - but did you scrool? lolololol
Like
rtheone
08 November 2014
AngularJS support (code hinting, documentation etc) would be really great to have in Coda. Any take on this …anyone …Panic people?
Like
Version 2.5.1
Leon-van-Schie
20 October 2014
FINALY!!!! Coda has become fast, and i mean BLAZING fast! It took them long enough, but I'm switching back to Coda 2.5 for my PHP development. Thanks Thomas.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
Maclover1-1
19 October 2014
2.5 is out and it's faster, better and leaner :0) Not sure why it is not updated on here... http://www.panic.com/blog/ http://panic.com/coda/releasenotes.html
Like (1)
Version 2.0.14
Caberlin
16 October 2014
Coda 2.5 has arrived. Finally. :-) More info at their website.
Like
Version 2.0.14
Drtyrell969
26 June 2014
Okay you bastards! I'm buying your damn editor! ;) It's taken me a long time to come around to version 2.0. I made it. I DO miss NOT having to memorize all the CSS tag names, but the rest of your features finally won me over. Would love a CSS pane to the right of CSS element names. A boy can hope!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.14
Pupppet
27 April 2014
Easily the most crash-prone app I own and can no longer compete with the newer editors like Sublime/Atom. Panic's Twitter feed is alight with promises and hopeful messages, yet the app has essentially been dormant for the last 2 years apart from trivial point updates. Still near the top of the App Store developer category, there's definitely room for competition in this space.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.13
Leon-van-Schie
11 December 2013
It's getting worse with each new release. Crashes, spinning beach balls, strange errors and it's now at a point that I can no longer work with it. Panic support does not respond to my questions. I'm done with it, off to the trashcan.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.12
2 answer(s)
Leon-van-Schie
Leon-van-Schie
14 December 2013
I've found out that by deleting (or moving the directory to another place and reboot) the ""/Users/yourusername/Library/Application Support/Coda 2" directory, Coda 2 becomes stable again. I hope this helps those who are tormented with an unstable Coda 2! PS replace the 'yourusername' with your short user name.
Like (2)
ultratiem
ultratiem
25 January 2014
Coda 2 was the only app that has ever given my a kernel panic. That's actually both impressive and quite sad. I'm sad to hear that it hasn't improved. I bought it sight unseen and have actually reverted back to Coda 1, which as slow as it is, has never crashed or given a single problem. I tried version 2 a few months ago and within minutes, it crashed. I own everything Panic has ever made, but man, I just don't know what happened to them. They have always been very spirited, but then again, they have always produced truly wonderful software. Now their attitude seems more like "crazy" than it does "genius." I really don't know what else to say. This is just such a massive disappointed.
Like (1)
unGraphic
03 December 2013
Awesome application, everything is perfect except for one missing thing: At least *some* WYSIWYG capability. I send out a lot of newsletters at work and would like to use Coda over Dreamweaver, but since I use a template, I would have to search for every line of code for the correct placement. Would be nice if in a preview window any highlighted text there would also highlight the code in the code window.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.12
Eric-Caldwell
03 December 2013
Solid development environment for PHP/Web programming and great FTP features.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.12
Bumbleb
22 November 2013
Coda 2 is nice. I like the "integratedness" of it;) But if Panic would please please please make Coda 2 remember Preview URLs for websites! I often have reference websites open in Preview tabs, so I don't have to switch between Coda and my browser. It would be nice if Coda 2 remembered these Preview URLs between sessions, so I could use each Site as a workspace, ready to go the next time I start up Coda 2. Espresso does it. Coda 1 did it nicely, so Coda 2 should too.
Like
Version 2.0.12
Philipwheelock
31 October 2013
Coda 2.0.12.zip fails to decompress on my computer. YMMV.
Like
Version 2.0.12
Big-Mac-XXL
09 October 2013
I'm still working with an very old wysiwyg web development program which I'm ashamed to name here. I tried to like Coda since version 1, but it fails me every time. I looks nice, modern, has a nice set of tools. But there are two things I miss. That is a split-window view that shows me immediately the result in my web page when I change the code. I don't like to switch every time between two views. But the most annoying is that Coda 2 forgets all my open html pages after a restart and I can't immediately continue my work. It opens a useless small and grey page offering me to start a "site", but this site can only be on-line, not only a bunch of html files on my hard-drive which I want to manually change. Coda might be a good choice for people who change their files directly on a server. But for us old-schoolers, who work on the Mac and upload later, Coda still fails.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.11
3 answer(s)
anonymous-wombat-32
anonymous-wombat-32
30 October 2013
If you start a new site, you just specify the local folder where your html files are kept then click Save. Just because the hostname details boxes are there, doesn't mean you have to fill them in ;)
Like (2)
anonymous-wombat-32
anonymous-wombat-32
30 October 2013
Also you can split the document into a code & a preview pane, just click on the + button top right of the editing window then select preview
Like (1)
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
31 October 2013
Thanks for the hints! :)
Like
Schubert
14 September 2013
For anyone who enjoys the art of coding, this is the best program I have ever used. I've owned Dreamweaver since the beginning. I owned FrontPage way back in the 20th century (actually before Microsoft bought it from Vermeer). I have owned and/or tested just about every WYSIWYG and non-wysiwyg program for PC and MAC created. Coda is the answer you are looking for... it has the best of the rest wrapped into one.
Like
Version 2.0.11
Jason818
06 August 2013
I really don't get how so many people complain about this app. First let's stop comparing this to Dreamweaver. Coda is not a wysiwyg editor. It's for those who love to code there own sites. I own pretty much about very mac html editor out their and Coda is by far one of the best and most advance in features and ui design. As I have ventured into WP themeing I love how code allows me to set up a local server, a feature a lot of editors don't have. The user interface is so friendly and I love the ability to create my code snippets and use the tap function to output them. Saves my so much time and work. I am truly grateful for this app. Great Job Coda team..
Like (8)
Version 2.0.9
2 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 February 2014
Not all of us do themes, but do Mobile first development and develop server-side in more advanced languages than PHP and need to make the interface fast with (language) templates spitting out HTML5/CSS3/Javascript. Suddenly Coda/Espresso/Dreamweaver et al looks very lame indeed.
Like (1)
Jason818
Jason818
30 August 2014
I also work with Ruby on Rails and have no issues using Coda to get the job done. Every app has bugs non are perfect, but coda has a great team and addresses issues very quickly. I'm looking forward to version 2.5 as i've heard many new features have been added. Coda is still my number one code editor.
Like (1)
Amnesiac7
22 July 2013
Perfect.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.9
Stormchild
09 July 2013
I wanted to give this another shot to see how it's shaping up after a few updates. Unfortunately it's still completely terrible. It's unbelievable that SFTP via SSH key *still* doesn't work in 2.0.9. The *exact* same server/config works in Transmit (and every other app). Entering a password is futile, as it sees I have a key in ~/.ssh and insists on using that instead (even though it's incapable of doing so). I'm obviously not going to delete my SSH config just because this app is still so fundamentally broken, but that leaves me with no way to connect to any of my sites. Not interested in any other convoluted workarounds either. If they aren't competent enough to make it work properly, I'm just not interested. Same old story as back in 2.0. And my SFTP connections all work perfectly fine in Transmit, with the same config and key. How is it that the same company can't manage to get exactly the same feature working in another app, even after 9 updates over more than a year? It's too bad, really. Panic has obviously put so much love into this, but the whole thing is undermined by essential features they just can't seem to get working properly.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.9
1 answer(s)
Eric-Caldwell
Eric-Caldwell
03 December 2013
We have been using Coda2 for a while and SSH keys work fine for us.
Like
Yavari
30 June 2013
I've really enjoyed my copy of Coda 2. I use it constantly when coding new HTML/CSS layouts or modifying Wordpress themes - there's just so much in the app to love. The fact that FTP, coding, previews and coding resources are all within the same app make it invaluable to me, because I prefer to have as much as possible centred into as few windows as possible. Coda does that, and I've not regretted buying it.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.9
Gary30
10 May 2013
Really want to choose this one to replace Dreamweaver. However I am really addicted to "WYSIWYG" editing--even though I can find my way around code. Preview is nice, but not enough. Oh well.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.8
Mark-Lee
05 March 2013
Couple gripes I have with this overrated app: 1. It always opens "Sites" tab on the app launch 2. It creates an empty file on the app launch, whether you need it or not 3. No option to choose what tab should be active on the app launch 4. When you search within a file, it doesn't show how many results it found and on top of that, hitting Return key on your keyboard deletes whatever you are looking for from the code. Whoa, that must be the most genius (by which I mean stupid) design decision I ever seen. 5. The app keeps forgetting the window size and position everytime you quit it. And many more less annoying "features" I won't bother wasting my time mentioning. $75 down from $99 for all of that goodness? Wow, we a so lucky.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.7
3 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
09 May 2013
Uh, something's wrong with your settings. Coda launches to the last site I opened (1) (admittedly I'm not sure if there's a way to disable that), and opens the tab (file) I was editing last in the position I was last editing it (2)(3). The search function (4) is a little wobbly, but you're hitting return twice to delete whatever it is - just tested. Use the arrows to select the next or previous result. No comments on (5), I edit fullscreen mode. Methinks you should try deleting your settings files and start over, something may have got upset. Have you tried troubleshooting at all? Have you tried asking Panic! for help?
Like (2)
anonymous-wombat-32
anonymous-wombat-32
09 May 2013
1. Doesn't do that for me 2. Who cares, command + W takes less than a second, or launch Coda by double clicking a site file and you're away. 3. That is annoying but not worthy of a 1 star review 4. Command + G for next result, Command + Shift + G for previous result. Return key starts the search but doesn't delete anything from the file, Return key a second time will of course delete any selected text and replace with a carriage return. 5. Doesn't do that for me
Like (4)
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
09 October 2013
I second all your complaints (except 4. which I haven't tried). I don't need a "site". I just want to edit html files. And I also wished that Coda would remember all open files, wouldn't start with this useless and empty "site" tab and would restore the window size. So the search for a web development program goes on. With every new MacOSX my prehistoric old wysiwyg web editor is losing more functionality and showing more bugs. I need a replacement.
Like
Tool Force Software
22 January 2013
Great app from Panic, really like their nice support and their overall professionalism.
Like
Version 2.0.7
-Olivier
05 December 2012
Why do MacUpdate state that the software is "Free" when it actually costs $75! Has anyone compared Coda2 to Espresso2? Is there any good reason to use Coda2 or Espresso2 instead of MacFlux or Rapidweaver or Dreamweaver? (my understanding is that the first 2 apps are for coders whilst the others are for designers)
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7b1
6 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
05 December 2012
We'll correct that issue with the "Free" flag. Thanks!
Like
@timi
@timi
07 December 2012
MacFlux is drag-and-drop design. NOT FOR CODE. RapidWeaver is a Content Management System. NOT FOR DESIGN. Dreamweaver is the plague, stay away from it - it does nothing useful and eats your money. Coda and Espresso are direct competitors. From there it's a personal preference. I have both, but I stick to Coda since it's slightly more PHP oriented.
Like (2)
Detlevski
Detlevski
07 December 2012
BBEdit is IMHO their best competitor, Coda can't make me switch from BBEdit. Looks nice though ..
Like (3)
Eric-Caldwell
Eric-Caldwell
07 December 2012
We switched from BBEdit to Coda over a year ago because Coda has a way better FTP client built in. We needed a great editor along with a fantastic FTP client since we do web development and support. Made life WAY easier. They incorporated a lot of the great FTP features form their FTP client.
Like (1)
Caberlin
Caberlin
09 May 2013
We are using Dreamweaver AND Coda2. For me the correct answer, when comparing those, is: "it depends" :-) I don't agree with @TImi on Dreamweaver, why all the hate only because it is expensive and a bit complex - it's site handling is superior and well worth the money for me. Site handling was my biggest point I never got familiar with Coda2 yet. Its layout does not feel natural for me. Dreamweaver, on the other hand, can not work with pages directly on the server well. It always wants a "site and a local copy". So I find Coda useful for specific efforts, where site management is not needed. Typical scenarios: maintaining templates of shops and content management systems...
Like
Tekl
Tekl
22 May 2013
Espresso2 has a live preview for CSS Coding independently from a specific html file. You just can specify an URL to which a local CSS file is connected to. So you can even restyle websites live without having FTP access.
Like
dmlees
15 September 2012
It took me a while to figure out how to configure Coda 2.0.3 to work fairly efficiently on my client's websites OK except for one. For that one, I have to go back to using version 1.7.5. I'm hoping to figure out how to use 2.0.3 for this client too. Making 2.0.3 a separate app saved me. In time, I may even get rid of 1.7.5, but not until I figure out how to use it efficiently for that one client.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Cheesehead
15 September 2012
They should've done more testing before they put out this update! I am not using full screen mode and the title bar is a total mess! Nothing is aligned... The minimize, zoom, and close buttons are sitting at the bottom and projects and file button icons are cut off at the top of the title bar. On the other side of the window the plus button is also cut off on the top and the full screen button is at the bottom and goes into the tab scroll bar. Unbelievable.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
Mikael-B
19 August 2012
I still think Coda is promising, it's just that I thought it would be more focused and efficient in solving everyday tasks. I use Firebug(Web Developer plug-ins in combo with Dreamweaver and find development much faster than in Coda. The most vital aspect I lack in Coda is instant visual feedback of the code I write. Typically I author by hand, content out. If I just want a clean text editor I use Smultron. What is Coda supposed to give the user beyond that? How do you "get" Coda? Should I just give up?
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 August 2012
My comment is pre v.2,
Like
Cyberchriss1973
03 August 2012
Still no update in german MAS :/
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Cyberchriss1973
Cyberchriss1973
10 August 2012
After 10 days still no update in german MAS?
Like (1)
Philipwheelock
02 August 2012
Many thanks to Panic.com for finding a way to migrate to the direct version from the MAS version.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
Bdfu
01 August 2012
I continue to be frustrated and disappointed with Coda 2. I constantly have to revert to Coda v.1 to get things done. V.2 has a lot of problems with SVN and the loss of the graphical CSS editor is the worst decision any product manager has ever made. I currently have both Coda v.1 and Coda v.2 open in order to complete a project. I "want" to like Coda v.2, but it doesn't mark files for svn version control and they get skipped! I have to jump over to v.1 in order to have them them synced. EPIC FAIL! Sorry guys. Panic makes really good software. Coda v.1 was awesome. I keep waiting for them to correct their mistakes in v.2 before someone else comes along and steals the business away from them. Loyalty doesn't count when my own job is on the line.
Like (6)
Version 2.0.2
2 answer(s)
#9
#9
14 September 2012
I would not count on the visual CSS editor returning, regardless of how many complaints Panic receives. I have emailed them several times asking why it was removed and I have received nothing but condemnation and insults for questioning their decision about it, (and other issues with Coda), in return. It is apparent they do not believe it to be an important feature, and according to my correspondence with them, only a very few devs ever used it. Yet, the removal of it seems to be the largest complaint on here.
Like (1)
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
23 September 2012
To that, I would not count on anyone I know moving to Coda 2.x w/o the visual CSS editor. This company's days are numbered and counting down quicker every day.
Like (1)
ChristopherPrice
01 August 2012
So it began... "Mac App Store customers can now unlock the Direct version via 'Unlock Coda' menu item".
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Caproberts
06 July 2012
Been a BBEdit user for more than 10 years and only recently discovered Coda 2 since I got an email being a transmit user. As I am extremely unhappy with BBEdit 10, loved 9 but missed features from version 5 and never understood why they made the app worse and worse instead of better. The same seems to happen with Coda as I looked at version one and agree like most people here that the new css editor just plainly sucks. Who ever had the idea to use a slider to set padding settings must have never used or coded a line in their live. This feature might be cool, but who has the time for it to load and it makes it difficult to just type the value in, same with other css attributes and you have to exactly know what you want to type, a big step back. Have to revert to BBEdit from time to time, but hope to eventually be able to switch, maybe when version 2.5 comes out with a better css editor.
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Caproberts
Caproberts
07 July 2012
Just got Stylizer which is just awesome when it comes to style editing, maybe coda will have something like it in the future but for now it is well work the extra 80 bucks, as I will recuperate this in a day or two with the time I save. SO n o longer missing the css editor from version 1 ;-)
Like
emailcl
06 July 2012
I love this software and any software from panic But I miss the CSS editor, I can't remember all the CSS and was better before. Also the upgrade from the AppStore takes like 90 days to get approved!!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
23 September 2012
Yeah sorry, if you MISS something then 5-stars is a huge stretched professor positive.
Like
Philipwheelock
17 June 2012
I bought a Coda 2 license from the Mac App Store; I'm thinking that was a mistake. Apple takes its sweet time reviewing updates, and it's been 1 1/2 weeks since v2.0.1 came out. Meanwhile I'm having to deal with multiple crashes with v2.0 under OS X 10.6.8, something that was fixed the newer release. Knowing that the App Store does not perform timely reviews, and that Apple may chose to restrict features in the future to serve its own purposes, I recommend purchasing Coda direct from Panic, and not purchasing applications from the Mac App Store in any event.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Briand
Briand
20 June 2012
My thoughts exactly. I did the same thing and I'm having the same problems. 15 days since direct customers could get 2.0.1. The App Store is a convenient place to shop, but critical updates take way too long. I should have purchased directly from Panic, but opted for the App Store version because of iCloud integration. I regret that decision now.
Like (1)
D9
D9
01 August 2012
I'm not being unsympathetic to your gripes; indeed I've had the same issue w/ my App Store upgrades. But can't you just download the latest update from Panic's website and not wait for the App Store? It will not affect future updates/upgrades via the App Store...at least, it hasn't affected mine. /
Like
Paul-paris
10 June 2012
Interface revue, et je trouve très bien faite, simple, rapide. On a tous dans une seule application ....
Like
Version 2.0.1
OliverTerrier
08 June 2012
Yesterday I reverted back to Coda 1.7 and my productivity has shot up 20%. I no longer have to deal with the horrible tab bar. I really dislike the excessive space it uses, the way it insists on ordering new tabs aplhabetically thereby defeating the way I organize the tabs based on the progression of user movement between the various pages I'm working on. How much development time went into the visual tabs to create a useless and ineffective "feature" to "fix" a problem that wasn't there? Small point, I also dislike the way the tabs no longer square off visually with the document area, by moving the start of tab bar to the left of the open document they destroyed the "Feng Shui" of the interface. I also found the text in the new tabs to be far less readable when in icon mode making quick hops between pages impossible because now I have to actually READ the tab text rather than glance at it. It makes sense to have visual tabs in a browser such as Omniweb where most web sites look radically different, for htmle documents of the same website, a visual tab bar doesn't make any sense and it certainly doesn't help the user in any way I can think of. It was a horrible idea to implement these tabs with text names that get smaller when the file name was too long for the space; who can read that? But I saved the worst for last, the single worst offense of the new tab bar is the removal of the title bar across the top of the application making it nearly impossible to grab the app from the top of the window; forcing me to hunt for a place to grab the window in order to move it. The missing title bar also ads visual clutter to my screen by having tabs sitting right on top of my busy background or other apps without a visual break for the eye to quickly spot the tab I'm looking for, thereby slowing me down, not to mention the ugliness associated with all that clutter. Also, mixing in the document tabs with the books, sites, sql and terminal does violence to the standard application heirarchy which evolved since the early days of computing decades ago, it creates organizational mayhem and is ANOTHER BAD IDEA. All these things we didn't ask for and one feature, which myself and other users have been asking for; a better visual cue to tell apart local and server files in the tab bar, has been ignored. I also dislike changes to autocomplete. They are a step backward. In Coda 1.7 loved the way tags would be automatically completed for me upon finishing the opening half, now I need to start typing the last half for autocomplete to kick in, making the servicibility of this feature much less useful. No option exists to go back to the original way and no justification for the change. Another problem is the removal of the single file upload option. I can't any longer just click on the arrow to automacially upload a file, now I have to lose my focus by clicking onto another tab in the sidebar to do it. That sucks. And like everyone else I think the removal of the CSS functionality was a HUGE mistake, bring it back. On the bright side, I like many of the other new features, code folding, the improved clips feature, beefed up ftp, and more but I'm a mac user because I care a lot about the interface and I'm very sensitive to how things look AND work. I spend many hours a week in Coda and if the interface is a constant source of friction then I'm moving on. Overall, the interface changes to Coda are a great example of how change-for-change's-sake is a dangerous path to take. I invested 5 years and several licenses into Coda and I expected the new version to be a genuine enhancement but the interface has gone so far backwards in usability that I was actually forced to go back to the previous version. In the past 20 years I've been unhappy with some software upgrades and sometimes WANTED to go back to a previous version but this is the very first time I've actually done it. My next step is to find another program to replace Coda entirely because I refuse to Panic any longer.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
02 August 2012
Agree with all of it ! Seems to be the way of the world these days. Just when a product is nearly perfect, rather than fix the last few percent that would make it right the powers that be have to do it "from scratch" and make another version which is nearly perfect just to get more money in.
Like
Christa-1980
07 June 2012
Extremely nice web developer tool. I really cannot find anything negative about this. Ok, maybe the price is a bit steep. :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
128k
03 June 2012
After a few trial days with Coda 2, I'm not sure I will upgrade. There are nice additions, but also things they have removed. The most important loss is the CSS Edit view. I dont' know by heart all the syntax and it was very usefull to have a CSS view. It's true that they added some helpfull inline edit features for some elements such as margin, border, color picker. One selector they could have improved is the backround element. For instance to have a file browser for url with repeat and position options. On the GUI level, the tab bar with thumbs is not very practical and sites, files and every open files are on the same level. And we still don't see clearly if we are woking on local or remote files, although the path is shown above the files. Some buttons are above the file, many others below on the status bar. So it is a bit confusing but surely one get used to it and more efficient with time. Panic team has put a lot of work in this upgrade, working "secretely" and for a long time. Maybe they could have shared more with users along the development process. The feeling is a bit of disappointment after a so long waiting. Finally, I will certainly upgrade with the hope that Panic will polish this version with comments of users in mind.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
128k
128k
03 June 2012
I reply to myself: after writing the above comment and played more with Coda 2 (which I bought at last), I think it's a good release, with lots of improvements, tools, tricks and features. Still it demands a learning curve and I still miss the CSS editor.
Like (2)
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
06 June 2012
No CSS visual editor...NO MONEY. It's just a glorified text editor with very little assistance in any regard. 1.7.2 for life.
Like (1)
#9
#9
06 June 2012
Your review is spot on; I was rather disappointed with the removal of the visual CSS editor, it adds to the workload rather than reducing it. For some devs, there are many improvements and new features in Coda 2, that make it worth the upgrade price, but I will have to stay with Coda 1.7 (or find an alternative) until Panic decides it return the visual CSS edit into Coda 2, and improves project management, adds real code completion (not just syntax completion), and revises the UI elements of code folding so it is more useful and clear, (PHPStorm has clear and concise code folding). I do not think Panic listened to their customers much when they initially started development on Coda 2, and their secrecy on upcoming features is frankly arrogant in my opinion, Panic != Apple, so I doubt they will listen now that Coda 2 is released. They have missed out on an opportunity to create a truly great web development application, but as usual arrogance breeds incompetence.
Like (1)
Dameian
02 June 2012
Be extremely careful if you are live editing on a server using Coda 2. Unlike it's predecessor, it does not always grab/check the actual remote file from the server prior to opening/editing. It seems to cache remote files locally, then gives those locally cached variants priority for editing without testing to see if there are differences between the cached version and the actual remote file. This can cause havoc in dev environments where there may be more than one person touching code throughout the day on a remote server. You will overwrite changes made by others. For example: 1. You log in to a client site with Coda 2, live edit their CSS file to make a quick change, save and close the file. 2. Client decides to also make a small change (versioning/source control is not practical in cases where laymen clients are concerned). 3. Client then asks you to make a more complex change, so you reopen the CSS file in Coda 2, make the change, and save it. With Coda 2, you've just overwritten your client's changes in step 2. Backing up doesn't help either since you'd just be backing up the cached version that does not include the changes made by the client. Be careful! I'll be sticking to Coda 1.x until this is resolved.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Sunbeam
30 May 2012
After a few days using Coda 2 I like many of the changes. The new tools are great (if a little buggy) and it feels fresh and useful again BUT I REALLY dislike the new tab bar. I don't like any of the 3 variations and I especially dislike the lack of a title bar. The design of this part of the app seems rough and unfinished and makes it more difficult for me to use it. Otherwise, it's great!
Like (1)
Version 2.0