Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Coda page
Coda free download for Mac

Coda Reviews

07 November 2020

One-window Web development suite.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
fleur2metaline-1
fleur2metaline-1
Sep 24 2019
2.7.3
5.0
Sep 24 2019
5.0
Version: 2.7.3
Version 2.7.4 is out : https://www.panic.com/coda/
fleur2metaline-1
fleur2metaline-1
Mar 25 2019
2.6.10
5.0
Mar 25 2019
5.0
Version: 2.6.10
Version 2.7 is out : https://www.panic.com/coda/
MaximMel
MaximMel
Aug 26 2017
2.6.6
4.0
Aug 26 2017
4.0
Version: 2.6.6
Great app. Seen it before getting my first mac. Love it and was waiting for my mac to install it. For some reason there is no option to save the FTP credentials. Replaces the open source notepad++ which requires some plugins to do the same job. A bit pricy! But about everything on a mac paid.
Daniel Witt
Daniel Witt
Jul 20 2017
2.6.6
5.0
Jul 20 2017
5.0
Version: 2.6.6
Using it every day. Love it.
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
May 14 2017
2.6.1
0.0
May 14 2017
0.0
Version: 2.6.1
Version 2.6.5 is out.
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Jan 24 2017
2.6
0.0
Jan 24 2017
0.0
Version: 2.6
Coda can be a compelling choice again if they lower the price down to $20 and provide a very strong iOS support. In fact, most coders they are targeting are pretty much set with Atom or Sublime Text, so they might be better off just focusing on being the first to provide a strong Mac-iOS integration and develop a pro-grade IDE for iPad Pro users.
LuxLogica
LuxLogica
Feb 10 2016
2.5.16
4.0
Feb 10 2016
4.0
Version: 2.5.16
Coda is a fantastic little product, which seems to get very little love from its developers: years pass without any major revisions, while the developers release a myriad of little iOS apps and even a game... Developers, take note: Coda needs some love it it's to stay competitive. Please integrate some of the features from products such as CodeKit - automatic LESS/SASS compilation, js+css minification and css autoprefixing. How about adding built-in support for Zen Coding/Emmet? Improve support for Markdown - perhaps with built-in code highlighting and auto-compiling/exporting to HTML and pdf. And on the database front, why not support SQLite? - many hosting providers now offer it. Just because Coda is a nice product, doesn't mean its users don't expect - and want - even more...
Web-Jive
Web-Jive
Jan 27 2016
2.5.16
2.0
Jan 27 2016
2.0
Version: 2.5.16
We use CODA daily here but, the development group behind CODA refuses to make so that CODA can become the default FTP handler which would improve development workflow. I am pretty sure they're not going to do it because their afraid it would canabalize their Transit FTP product. Sad..
mariocode
mariocode
Jul 27 2015
2.5.11
5.0
Jul 27 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5.11
Very nice and easy to use actually the name for http://www.codaphilly.com/ interestingly enough
Juan-Gabriel
Juan-Gabriel
Jun 17 2015
2.5.10
5.0
Jun 17 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5.10
nice and useful
Tim27
Tim27
Apr 25 2015
2.5.8
3.0
Apr 25 2015
3.0
Version: 2.5.8
Overall, this is a decent app, but they keep saying it has live preview of CSS changes. Well I can't get it to work and judging by things I've read in forums I'm not the only one. I ended up buying Espresso because it just works the way you think it should. In that app I can even download the CSS from a live site and play around with it to see how changes affect that site. I wish Coda could do this because I would actually use it, then.
Phaleron
Phaleron
Jan 23 2015
2.5.3
0.0
Jan 23 2015
0.0
Version: 2.5.3
I find the idea of $99 a pop with no upgrade path outrageous.
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Jan 7 2015
2.5.1
1.0
Jan 7 2015
1.0
Version: 2.5.1
the worst editor i ve ever worked with it crashed every time with large files as soon i scrool just a crapware!
rtheone
rtheone
Nov 8 2014
2.5.1
0.0
Nov 8 2014
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
AngularJS support (code hinting, documentation etc) would be really great to have in Coda. Any take on this …anyone …Panic people?
Leon-van-Schie
Leon-van-Schie
Oct 20 2014
2.5
5.0
Oct 20 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5
FINALY!!!! Coda has become fast, and i mean BLAZING fast! It took them long enough, but I'm switching back to Coda 2.5 for my PHP development. Thanks Thomas.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Oct 19 2014
2.0.14
5.0
Oct 19 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0.14
2.5 is out and it's faster, better and leaner :0) Not sure why it is not updated on here... http://www.panic.com/blog/ http://panic.com/coda/releasenotes.html
Caberlin
Caberlin
Oct 16 2014
2.0.14
0.0
Oct 16 2014
0.0
Version: 2.0.14
Coda 2.5 has arrived. Finally. :-) More info at their website.
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
Jun 26 2014
2.0.14
4.0
Jun 26 2014
4.0
Version: 2.0.14
Okay you bastards! I'm buying your damn editor! ;) It's taken me a long time to come around to version 2.0. I made it. I DO miss NOT having to memorize all the CSS tag names, but the rest of your features finally won me over. Would love a CSS pane to the right of CSS element names. A boy can hope!
Pupppet
Pupppet
Apr 27 2014
2.0.13
1.5
Apr 27 2014
1.5
Version: 2.0.13
Easily the most crash-prone app I own and can no longer compete with the newer editors like Sublime/Atom. Panic's Twitter feed is alight with promises and hopeful messages, yet the app has essentially been dormant for the last 2 years apart from trivial point updates. Still near the top of the App Store developer category, there's definitely room for competition in this space.
Leon-van-Schie
Leon-van-Schie
Dec 11 2013
2.0.12
5.0
Dec 11 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.12
It's getting worse with each new release. Crashes, spinning beach balls, strange errors and it's now at a point that I can no longer work with it. Panic support does not respond to my questions. I'm done with it, off to the trashcan.
unGraphic
unGraphic
Dec 3 2013
2.0.12
0.0
Dec 3 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.12
Awesome application, everything is perfect except for one missing thing: At least *some* WYSIWYG capability. I send out a lot of newsletters at work and would like to use Coda over Dreamweaver, but since I use a template, I would have to search for every line of code for the correct placement. Would be nice if in a preview window any highlighted text there would also highlight the code in the code window.
Eric-Caldwell
Eric-Caldwell
Dec 3 2013
2.0.12
5.0
Dec 3 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.12
Solid development environment for PHP/Web programming and great FTP features.
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
Nov 22 2013
2.0.12
3.5
Nov 22 2013
3.5
Version: 2.0.12
Coda 2 is nice. I like the "integratedness" of it;) But if Panic would please please please make Coda 2 remember Preview URLs for websites! I often have reference websites open in Preview tabs, so I don't have to switch between Coda and my browser. It would be nice if Coda 2 remembered these Preview URLs between sessions, so I could use each Site as a workspace, ready to go the next time I start up Coda 2. Espresso does it. Coda 1 did it nicely, so Coda 2 should too.
Philipwheelock
Philipwheelock
Oct 31 2013
2.0.12
3.5
Oct 31 2013
3.5
Version: 2.0.12
Coda 2.0.12.zip fails to decompress on my computer. YMMV.
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
Oct 9 2013
2.0.11
0.0
Oct 9 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.11
I'm still working with an very old wysiwyg web development program which I'm ashamed to name here. I tried to like Coda since version 1, but it fails me every time. I looks nice, modern, has a nice set of tools. But there are two things I miss. That is a split-window view that shows me immediately the result in my web page when I change the code. I don't like to switch every time between two views. But the most annoying is that Coda 2 forgets all my open html pages after a restart and I can't immediately continue my work. It opens a useless small and grey page offering me to start a "site", but this site can only be on-line, not only a bunch of html files on my hard-drive which I want to manually change. Coda might be a good choice for people who change their files directly on a server. But for us old-schoolers, who work on the Mac and upload later, Coda still fails.
Schubert
Schubert
Sep 14 2013
2.0.11
5.0
Sep 14 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.11
For anyone who enjoys the art of coding, this is the best program I have ever used. I've owned Dreamweaver since the beginning. I owned FrontPage way back in the 20th century (actually before Microsoft bought it from Vermeer). I have owned and/or tested just about every WYSIWYG and non-wysiwyg program for PC and MAC created. Coda is the answer you are looking for... it has the best of the rest wrapped into one.
Jason818
Jason818
Aug 6 2013
2.0.9
5.0
Aug 6 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.9
I really don't get how so many people complain about this app. First let's stop comparing this to Dreamweaver. Coda is not a wysiwyg editor. It's for those who love to code there own sites. I own pretty much about very mac html editor out their and Coda is by far one of the best and most advance in features and ui design. As I have ventured into WP themeing I love how code allows me to set up a local server, a feature a lot of editors don't have. The user interface is so friendly and I love the ability to create my code snippets and use the tap function to output them. Saves my so much time and work. I am truly grateful for this app. Great Job Coda team..
Amnesiac7
Amnesiac7
Jul 22 2013
2.0.9
5.0
Jul 22 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.9
Perfect.
Stormchild
Stormchild
Jul 9 2013
2.0.9
1.0
Jul 9 2013
1.0
Version: 2.0.9
I wanted to give this another shot to see how it's shaping up after a few updates. Unfortunately it's still completely terrible. It's unbelievable that SFTP via SSH key *still* doesn't work in 2.0.9. The *exact* same server/config works in Transmit (and every other app). Entering a password is futile, as it sees I have a key in ~/.ssh and insists on using that instead (even though it's incapable of doing so). I'm obviously not going to delete my SSH config just because this app is still so fundamentally broken, but that leaves me with no way to connect to any of my sites. Not interested in any other convoluted workarounds either. If they aren't competent enough to make it work properly, I'm just not interested. Same old story as back in 2.0. And my SFTP connections all work perfectly fine in Transmit, with the same config and key. How is it that the same company can't manage to get exactly the same feature working in another app, even after 9 updates over more than a year? It's too bad, really. Panic has obviously put so much love into this, but the whole thing is undermined by essential features they just can't seem to get working properly.
Yavari
Yavari
Jun 30 2013
2.0.9
4.5
Jun 30 2013
4.5
Version: 2.0.9
I've really enjoyed my copy of Coda 2. I use it constantly when coding new HTML/CSS layouts or modifying Wordpress themes - there's just so much in the app to love. The fact that FTP, coding, previews and coding resources are all within the same app make it invaluable to me, because I prefer to have as much as possible centred into as few windows as possible. Coda does that, and I've not regretted buying it.
Gary30
Gary30
May 10 2013
2.0.8
0.0
May 10 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.8
Really want to choose this one to replace Dreamweaver. However I am really addicted to "WYSIWYG" editing--even though I can find my way around code. Preview is nice, but not enough. Oh well.
Mark-Lee
Mark-Lee
Mar 5 2013
2.0.7
1.0
Mar 5 2013
1.0
Version: 2.0.7
Couple gripes I have with this overrated app: 1. It always opens "Sites" tab on the app launch 2. It creates an empty file on the app launch, whether you need it or not 3. No option to choose what tab should be active on the app launch 4. When you search within a file, it doesn't show how many results it found and on top of that, hitting Return key on your keyboard deletes whatever you are looking for from the code. Whoa, that must be the most genius (by which I mean stupid) design decision I ever seen. 5. The app keeps forgetting the window size and position everytime you quit it. And many more less annoying "features" I won't bother wasting my time mentioning. $75 down from $99 for all of that goodness? Wow, we a so lucky.
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
Jan 22 2013
2.0.7
5.0
Jan 22 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.7
Great app from Panic, really like their nice support and their overall professionalism.
-Olivier
-Olivier
Dec 5 2012
2.0.7b1
0.0
Dec 5 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0.7b1
Why do MacUpdate state that the software is "Free" when it actually costs $75! Has anyone compared Coda2 to Espresso2? Is there any good reason to use Coda2 or Espresso2 instead of MacFlux or Rapidweaver or Dreamweaver? (my understanding is that the first 2 apps are for coders whilst the others are for designers)
dmlees
dmlees
Sep 15 2012
2.0.3
3.5
Sep 15 2012
3.5
Version: 2.0.3
It took me a while to figure out how to configure Coda 2.0.3 to work fairly efficiently on my client's websites OK except for one. For that one, I have to go back to using version 1.7.5. I'm hoping to figure out how to use 2.0.3 for this client too. Making 2.0.3 a separate app saved me. In time, I may even get rid of 1.7.5, but not until I figure out how to use it efficiently for that one client.
Cheesehead
Cheesehead
Sep 15 2012
2.0.3
0.0
Sep 15 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0.3
They should've done more testing before they put out this update! I am not using full screen mode and the title bar is a total mess! Nothing is aligned... The minimize, zoom, and close buttons are sitting at the bottom and projects and file button icons are cut off at the top of the title bar. On the other side of the window the plus button is also cut off on the top and the full screen button is at the bottom and goes into the tab scroll bar. Unbelievable.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Aug 19 2012
2.0.2
0.0
Aug 19 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
I still think Coda is promising, it's just that I thought it would be more focused and efficient in solving everyday tasks. I use Firebug(Web Developer plug-ins in combo with Dreamweaver and find development much faster than in Coda. The most vital aspect I lack in Coda is instant visual feedback of the code I write. Typically I author by hand, content out. If I just want a clean text editor I use Smultron. What is Coda supposed to give the user beyond that? How do you "get" Coda? Should I just give up?
Cyberchriss1973
Cyberchriss1973
Aug 3 2012
2.0.2
3.0
Aug 3 2012
3.0
Version: 2.0.2
Still no update in german MAS :/
Philipwheelock
Philipwheelock
Aug 2 2012
2.0.2
3.5
Aug 2 2012
3.5
Version: 2.0.2
Many thanks to Panic.com for finding a way to migrate to the direct version from the MAS version.
Bdfu
Bdfu
Aug 1 2012
2.0.2
2.5
Aug 1 2012
2.5
Version: 2.0.2
I continue to be frustrated and disappointed with Coda 2. I constantly have to revert to Coda v.1 to get things done. V.2 has a lot of problems with SVN and the loss of the graphical CSS editor is the worst decision any product manager has ever made. I currently have both Coda v.1 and Coda v.2 open in order to complete a project. I "want" to like Coda v.2, but it doesn't mark files for svn version control and they get skipped! I have to jump over to v.1 in order to have them them synced. EPIC FAIL! Sorry guys. Panic makes really good software. Coda v.1 was awesome. I keep waiting for them to correct their mistakes in v.2 before someone else comes along and steals the business away from them. Loyalty doesn't count when my own job is on the line.
ChristopherPrice
ChristopherPrice
Aug 1 2012
2.0.2
0.0
Aug 1 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
So it began... "Mac App Store customers can now unlock the Direct version via 'Unlock Coda' menu item".
Caproberts
Caproberts
Jul 6 2012
2.0.1
4.5
Jul 6 2012
4.5
Version: 2.0.1
Been a BBEdit user for more than 10 years and only recently discovered Coda 2 since I got an email being a transmit user. As I am extremely unhappy with BBEdit 10, loved 9 but missed features from version 5 and never understood why they made the app worse and worse instead of better. The same seems to happen with Coda as I looked at version one and agree like most people here that the new css editor just plainly sucks. Who ever had the idea to use a slider to set padding settings must have never used or coded a line in their live. This feature might be cool, but who has the time for it to load and it makes it difficult to just type the value in, same with other css attributes and you have to exactly know what you want to type, a big step back. Have to revert to BBEdit from time to time, but hope to eventually be able to switch, maybe when version 2.5 comes out with a better css editor.
emailcl
emailcl
Jul 6 2012
2.0.1
5.0
Jul 6 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
I love this software and any software from panic But I miss the CSS editor, I can't remember all the CSS and was better before. Also the upgrade from the AppStore takes like 90 days to get approved!!
Philipwheelock
Philipwheelock
Jun 17 2012
2.0.1
3.5
Jun 17 2012
3.5
Version: 2.0.1
I bought a Coda 2 license from the Mac App Store; I'm thinking that was a mistake. Apple takes its sweet time reviewing updates, and it's been 1 1/2 weeks since v2.0.1 came out. Meanwhile I'm having to deal with multiple crashes with v2.0 under OS X 10.6.8, something that was fixed the newer release. Knowing that the App Store does not perform timely reviews, and that Apple may chose to restrict features in the future to serve its own purposes, I recommend purchasing Coda direct from Panic, and not purchasing applications from the Mac App Store in any event.
Paul-paris
Paul-paris
Jun 10 2012
2.0.1
5.0
Jun 10 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Interface revue, et je trouve très bien faite, simple, rapide. On a tous dans une seule application ....
OliverTerrier
OliverTerrier
Jun 8 2012
2.0.1
2.0
Jun 8 2012
2.0
Version: 2.0.1
Yesterday I reverted back to Coda 1.7 and my productivity has shot up 20%. I no longer have to deal with the horrible tab bar. I really dislike the excessive space it uses, the way it insists on ordering new tabs aplhabetically thereby defeating the way I organize the tabs based on the progression of user movement between the various pages I'm working on. How much development time went into the visual tabs to create a useless and ineffective "feature" to "fix" a problem that wasn't there? Small point, I also dislike the way the tabs no longer square off visually with the document area, by moving the start of tab bar to the left of the open document they destroyed the "Feng Shui" of the interface. I also found the text in the new tabs to be far less readable when in icon mode making quick hops between pages impossible because now I have to actually READ the tab text rather than glance at it. It makes sense to have visual tabs in a browser such as Omniweb where most web sites look radically different, for htmle documents of the same website, a visual tab bar doesn't make any sense and it certainly doesn't help the user in any way I can think of. It was a horrible idea to implement these tabs with text names that get smaller when the file name was too long for the space; who can read that? But I saved the worst for last, the single worst offense of the new tab bar is the removal of the title bar across the top of the application making it nearly impossible to grab the app from the top of the window; forcing me to hunt for a place to grab the window in order to move it. The missing title bar also ads visual clutter to my screen by having tabs sitting right on top of my busy background or other apps without a visual break for the eye to quickly spot the tab I'm looking for, thereby slowing me down, not to mention the ugliness associated with all that clutter. Also, mixing in the document tabs with the books, sites, sql and terminal does violence to the standard application heirarchy which evolved since the early days of computing decades ago, it creates organizational mayhem and is ANOTHER BAD IDEA. All these things we didn't ask for and one feature, which myself and other users have been asking for; a better visual cue to tell apart local and server files in the tab bar, has been ignored. I also dislike changes to autocomplete. They are a step backward. In Coda 1.7 loved the way tags would be automatically completed for me upon finishing the opening half, now I need to start typing the last half for autocomplete to kick in, making the servicibility of this feature much less useful. No option exists to go back to the original way and no justification for the change. Another problem is the removal of the single file upload option. I can't any longer just click on the arrow to automacially upload a file, now I have to lose my focus by clicking onto another tab in the sidebar to do it. That sucks. And like everyone else I think the removal of the CSS functionality was a HUGE mistake, bring it back. On the bright side, I like many of the other new features, code folding, the improved clips feature, beefed up ftp, and more but I'm a mac user because I care a lot about the interface and I'm very sensitive to how things look AND work. I spend many hours a week in Coda and if the interface is a constant source of friction then I'm moving on. Overall, the interface changes to Coda are a great example of how change-for-change's-sake is a dangerous path to take. I invested 5 years and several licenses into Coda and I expected the new version to be a genuine enhancement but the interface has gone so far backwards in usability that I was actually forced to go back to the previous version. In the past 20 years I've been unhappy with some software upgrades and sometimes WANTED to go back to a previous version but this is the very first time I've actually done it. My next step is to find another program to replace Coda entirely because I refuse to Panic any longer.
Christa_Moal
Christa_Moal
Jun 7 2012
2.0.1
5.0
Jun 7 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Extremely nice web developer tool. I really cannot find anything negative about this. Ok, maybe the price is a bit steep. :)
anonymous-minnow-4783
anonymous-minnow-4783
Jun 3 2012
2.0
4.0
Jun 3 2012
4.0
Version: 2.0
After a few trial days with Coda 2, I'm not sure I will upgrade. There are nice additions, but also things they have removed. The most important loss is the CSS Edit view. I dont' know by heart all the syntax and it was very usefull to have a CSS view. It's true that they added some helpfull inline edit features for some elements such as margin, border, color picker. One selector they could have improved is the backround element. For instance to have a file browser for url with repeat and position options. On the GUI level, the tab bar with thumbs is not very practical and sites, files and every open files are on the same level. And we still don't see clearly if we are woking on local or remote files, although the path is shown above the files. Some buttons are above the file, many others below on the status bar. So it is a bit confusing but surely one get used to it and more efficient with time. Panic team has put a lot of work in this upgrade, working "secretely" and for a long time. Maybe they could have shared more with users along the development process. The feeling is a bit of disappointment after a so long waiting. Finally, I will certainly upgrade with the hope that Panic will polish this version with comments of users in mind.
Dameian
Dameian
Jun 2 2012
2.0
0.0
Jun 2 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0
Be extremely careful if you are live editing on a server using Coda 2. Unlike it's predecessor, it does not always grab/check the actual remote file from the server prior to opening/editing. It seems to cache remote files locally, then gives those locally cached variants priority for editing without testing to see if there are differences between the cached version and the actual remote file. This can cause havoc in dev environments where there may be more than one person touching code throughout the day on a remote server. You will overwrite changes made by others. For example: 1. You log in to a client site with Coda 2, live edit their CSS file to make a quick change, save and close the file. 2. Client decides to also make a small change (versioning/source control is not practical in cases where laymen clients are concerned). 3. Client then asks you to make a more complex change, so you reopen the CSS file in Coda 2, make the change, and save it. With Coda 2, you've just overwritten your client's changes in step 2. Backing up doesn't help either since you'd just be backing up the cached version that does not include the changes made by the client. Be careful! I'll be sticking to Coda 1.x until this is resolved.
Sunbeam
Sunbeam
May 30 2012
2.0
3.5
May 30 2012
3.5
Version: 2.0
After a few days using Coda 2 I like many of the changes. The new tools are great (if a little buggy) and it feels fresh and useful again BUT I REALLY dislike the new tab bar. I don't like any of the 3 variations and I especially dislike the lack of a title bar. The design of this part of the app seems rough and unfinished and makes it more difficult for me to use it. Otherwise, it's great!