Back to DEFCON page
DEFCON free download for Mac

DEFCON Reviews

1.4.3
09 August 2007

A high-stakes multiplayer simulation of thermonuclear war.

Meatmcguffin
04 May 2007

Most helpful

Like C&C but zoomed out a thousand times :) Great game.
Like
Version 1.4.2

Read 6 DEFCON User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sans-Dieu-Rien
07 September 2009
Sad to say I haven't returned to DEFCON in a couple of months now...It got boring, quickly.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Sans-Dieu-Rien
12 June 2009
I purchased Defcon with the idea of modifying it, but alas, it ain't user friendly! All the mod tools are currently for PC users. This makes it quite difficult as most of the boundaries and cities are based on a coordinate system (x,y). I had great plans for a plugin or mod, but am running against a brick wall. The current theme is fun, but does get dreary after a while. However, I'm finding myself returning back to Defcon every couple days or so.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Sans-Dieu-Rien
20 May 2009
There are other types of scoring methods: Default (2pts. for every million killed, -1 for every million lost), Survival (1pt. for every million not killed in your territory), and Genocide (1pt. for every million killed). I hear the game really shines online with other players, and in Diplomacy mode. But I'm bummed that even in an alliance, there can only be one winner! I hope in future versions there can be an option to have an alliance victory of only two players.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Sans-Dieu-Rien
19 May 2009
I've been playing the Demo for over three days now, and I don't think it's that boring as the previous reviewer said. There are several different types of game modes, and there appears to be plenty of online gaming going on every night. One must be ready for dry British humour: the point system is based on the number of millions of people killed during a nuclear holocaust. The soundtrack is intriguing, yet haunting as one can hear people faintly coughing in the background (I had thought someone was coughing just outside my window). There appears to be a thriving forum and community. I am bummed that our PC counterpart is only $15, whereas the Mac version is currently $25.
Like
Version 1.4.3
john-7
11 May 2007
Like other games from the same developer (not Ambrosia, the original developer who produced Uplink and Darwinia), this game gets boring very quickly. It's the most fun you can have for a day or two, or at least it seems like it will be, but in the end its empty. Too easy, too little to do, no real strategy required, and each game is more or less the same. I bought the PC version, and I regret it.
Like
Version 1.4.2
2 answer(s)
Ambrosiasw
Ambrosiasw
18 February 2008
Thank you for your comment. We sincerely appreciate this. That is why we offer a free trial period of our products for users to test this out and see for themselves. personally we find the game rather interesting especially when you play against other users thanks to the built in network and lobby system. Again, we wish to thank you for your comment, and hope that you will at least download and try our other products in the future. While this one might not be to your liking another one of our games or utilities might suit you better.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Shaun-Rowe
Shaun-Rowe
26 April 2008
You should try it on real time mode and set it to play over a couple days perhaps. That is what makes this game kind of fun is that you can realistically have it go ing while your at work and then come back and see what happens! it reminds me of the game of chess that Dr. Tyrell and Sabastian play in Blade Runner (in a way)
Like
Version 1.4.3
Meatmcguffin
04 May 2007
Like C&C but zoomed out a thousand times :) Great game.
Like
Version 1.4.2