Back to DMGConverter page
DMGConverter free download for Mac

DMGConverter Reviews

5.5.2
11 October 2010

Simple and easy to use Disk Image creation and converter.

Xenophile
07 December 2008

Most helpful

I ditched the payware DropDMG for the utterly awesome DMGConverter. Before switching I checked out several other DMGConverter competitors but none of them matched it's feature set, GUI/ease of use, or generally cool vibe. Even better, several weeks of use has proven DMGConverter's stability to be superior to that of DropDMG. It's a rare freeware application that motivates me to donate - DMGConverter is one of those applications.
Like (3)
Version 4.1

Read 34 DMGConverter User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
04 January 2018
It would probably need some update for recent OSes, but it still works in OS 10.9.5 — and probably in Sierra, as mentioned in an earlier comment. There's absolutely no equivalent, except for the command line, so...
Like
Version 5.5.2
Atalantia
22 September 2015
Does not work on 10.9.5 Can't build a encrypted ISO
Like
Version 5.5.2
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
04 January 2018
Just like you, I assumed this app was dead as I only had errors dialogs every time I tried it, but after uninstalling it with AppDelete, it now works again!
Looks like some pref was corrupt. ;-)
Like
Thinking-Differently
19 September 2013
I really do like this program. But there are a couple of minor enhancements that would make it much better. We often convert a bunch of dmg files into the bzip2 compressed format in order to save space. But every once in a while, it throws up a dialog box saying that the results are larger than the original, and which do we want to use. It would be nice to be able to have it automatically keep the smaller of the two. Also, it would be nice to have it automatically do a scan for restore on any dmg for which that can be done, and for which it hasn't been done. But a great program otherwise
Like (1)
Version 5.5.2
1 answer(s)
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
26 May 2017
Still works on Sierra 10.12.5. Still a great program. But still needs the following two enhancements:

“File size after convert seems to be bigger than original.”
Give us three options when this occurs:
Ask — Results in the current behavior
Original Smaller File — Automatically keeps the original, smaller file
Larger Converted File — Automatically keeps the new larger converted file.

Scan for Restore
Give us an preference option to automatically to a “Scan for Restore” on dmg images.
Like
L008com
05 September 2012
Doesn't work in Mountain Lion. Unfortuantely, I use this tool all the time to make disk images from folders, and to convert traditional (zlib) compressed disk images into highly compressed (bzip2) disk images.
Like
Version 5.5.2
1 answer(s)
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
05 November 2012
It does work here on ML. It starts though with a message saying that it has to quit because of an unknown error. But you have the option either to continue or to quit. If you press continue it works fine. - If it quits trash the preference file.
Like
Poikkeus
27 July 2011
Easily the easiest method for making your own DMG documents. Although it can be used with document which span several disks, I found it best suited for single and double-layer DVDs. Oh, and its free!
Like (1)
Version 5.5.2
This is a very good piece of freeware and it merits the maximum rating in many categories. If you have any need to make, create or change DMG disk images, you need to check out this tool. While most of what it does could be done from Apple supplied command line and GUI utilities, this is my preferred tool for its intended functions. It is far easier and quicker for me to drag and drop a bunch of files onto DMG converter, then it is to accomplish the same goal via the other tools. My most common use for DMG Converter is to convert existing disk images to the bzip2 format. The bzip2 format typically results in smaller file sizes. The only improvements that I can think of for this software, would be if I could set what the default behavior should be in the unusual instances when the converted image is larger than the original. There is a preference for asking me. But I'd rather that the smallest file were the one kept, whether that is the original or the converted. It would also be nice to be able to drop a whole folder or drive with DMG images in subdirectories and have it traverse the directory structure and reconvert them.
Like
Version 5.5.2
scottwild-co
18 December 2010
Great App, any chance of an auto quit feature for this app after creating a file? Many Thanks
Like (1)
Version 5.5.2
Tachyonflare
06 March 2010
This application is incredible, exactly what I was looking for.....it now has a permanent stay in my utilities folder. =)
Like
Version 5.5.0.3
Moocan
11 October 2009
Hi, Starting two days when I'm trying to create a dmg from a folder under my documents folder/subfolder or to convert an dmg from a file within my subfolders I have each time an error saying "error ID 2: no such file or directory". now It only work if source folder or dmg file (for creation or convertion) is on the desktop. It never happens before with old version. Thanks for this great utility. I'm on MacOSX 10.5.8.
Like
Version 5.2.0.6
Peter-earthman
21 August 2009
A .DMG created with OS X 10.6 (GM) doesn't open under OS X 10.5 Needs a fix asap.
Like
Version 5.0.5r3
1 answer(s)
Sunskysoft
Sunskysoft
23 August 2009
Thank you for the report. Can the dmg file made by using other software (FreeDMG,DropDMG,etc) on OS X 10.6 do the mount with OS X 10.5 or less? Time might hang in the fix of this problem because the author is not using OS X 10.6 (GM) now. (and doesn't have OS X 10.6 (GM).)
Like
Version 5.2
Jic
19 August 2009
Sorry, but since a couple of new releases, it allways crashes when it starts. I use in in an Intel MacBook Pro with the Operating System fully updated.
Like
Version 5.0.5r3
1 answer(s)
Sunskysoft
Sunskysoft
23 August 2009
Thank you for the report. This problem might be solved by starting after the preferences file is deleted. Preferences file is in the following: / Library / Preferences / jp.sunskysoft.DMGConverter5.plist This problem seems to occur uncommonly.
Like
Version 5.2
Tomdoherty
27 June 2009
Download reveals v5.04, not 5.04r2.
Like
Version 5.0.4r2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 June 2009
Version 5.0.4r2 replaces the translation of German. There is no change in the application.
Like
Version 5.0.4r2
Xenophile
17 May 2009
Awesome free software. I was using DropDMG but DMGConverter is better for converting multiple images; I can drop dozens of DMG images on and it effortlessly converts them serially without choking like DropDMG does. A few suggestions: 1. DMGConverter will only create new images from folders - I'd like to be able to drop a file or group of files on it to create an image. DropDMG can do this, so it's definitely possible. 2. When an image, file, or folder is dropped on it, DMGConverter should be able to figure out what to do. Currently I must switch to the "Convert" tab if I want to convert a disk image, or switch to the "new image" tab if I want a new image, adding extra steps to what should be a one step process. If I drop a folder is dropped on DMGConverter, then obviously I don't want to convert a disk image, likewise if an image is dropped on it, then usually I don't to make an image of an image. Make DMGConverter smart enough so I don't have switch modes all the time. Otherwise, this is a great freeware app.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.4
Low-Flyer
11 May 2009
When trying to mount the DMGConverter 5.0.2.dmg on my eMac, running Mac OS X 10.4.11, the following msg appeared: "The disk image you are opening may be damaged and could damage your system. Are you sure you want to open this disk image?" I went ahead mounting the disk image and installed the app which now works properly.
Like
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
11 May 2009
Downloads/mounts without issue for me under 10.5.6. Must have been one-off download corruption thing at your end.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
Bidule
Bidule
16 May 2009
I had the same problem on PPC 10.4.10, but after mounting on Leopard Intel, I could use it on PPC. Another tip : burn the dmg with Disk Utility and grab the app. However, new v. 5.0.3 mounts and works on PPC 10.4.10. Thanks !
Like
Version 5.0.3
Tomdoherty
10 May 2009
Thanks to developer for speedy resolve to earlier issue. Works perfectly on PowerBook G4 running 10.4.11.
Like
Version 5.0.2
1 answer(s)
Bidule
Bidule
11 May 2009
Strange… The archive unzipped, but after, the "DMGConverter 5.0.2.dmg" can't be opened on PPC 10.4.10 , even with Pacifist 2.0.1. I opened it on Intel 10.4.11 and then, the app works perfectly on both systems, PPC 10.4.10 and Intel 10.4.11, and I can open created dmg on 10.4.10PPC too. Thanks !
Like
Version 5.0.2
Mdewakanton
10 May 2009
Thanks for quickly fixing troubles: works fine with Tiger now.
Like
Version 5.0.2
GeogProf
10 May 2009
TOMDOHERTY & BIDULE, the developer seems to have fixed your reported problem within one day! I'm curious if the new version does in fact work on 10.4.x because I have some 10.4 machines at work that I'd like to put this app on. Does 5.0.1 now work for you?
Like
Version 5.0.1
3 answer(s)
Bidule
Bidule
10 May 2009
No, not on PPC 10.4.10 nor in Intel 10.4.11, same warning on both ones.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 May 2009
This problem seems to occur if it uses DMGConverter with MacOS10.4. At present, I have not understood the cause of this problem yet. Because I do not have the machine that makes MacOS10.4 run now, it is likely to become a little more in the correction.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Tomdoherty
Tomdoherty
10 May 2009
Version 5.0.1 was quickly replaced with 5.0.2 and this works perfectly with 10.4.11 on my PowerBook G4. Thanks to developer for speedy resolve.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
Tomdoherty
08 May 2009
Error message: 'An exception of class OutOfBoundsException was not handled. The application must shut down.' I'm using a PowerBook G4 running Mac OS X 10.4.11. Any suggestions/solutions would be appreciated.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
Bidule
Bidule
09 May 2009
Same warning on Intel 10.4.11 and PPC 10.4.10. I'm afraid it's Leopard only, works on Intel Leopard.
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2009
This problem seems to occur if it uses DMGConverter with MacOS10.4.x. I plan to fix this problem by the next version.
Like
Version 5.0
Xenophile
07 December 2008
I ditched the payware DropDMG for the utterly awesome DMGConverter. Before switching I checked out several other DMGConverter competitors but none of them matched it's feature set, GUI/ease of use, or generally cool vibe. Even better, several weeks of use has proven DMGConverter's stability to be superior to that of DropDMG. It's a rare freeware application that motivates me to donate - DMGConverter is one of those applications.
Like (3)
Version 4.1
Jibbe
13 June 2008
Just efficient !
Like (2)
Version 4.0
Orion-Mk-V
12 February 2008
Couldn't offer any more features and remain as amazingly simple to use, even on multiple folders. Great stuff.
Like (1)
Version 3.8.2
Xypher
19 November 2007
To the developer, this is almost perfect. I would like an option to create a read/write UDF so I can add or remove items to an existing DVD disk image project. Similar to a packet writing function, something that we used to be able to do in OS9 with DirectCD.
Like
Version 3.8.2
M30318
17 November 2007
Download link is not working. Any ideas?
Like
Version 3.8.2
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
17 November 2007
Just now checked it, the download link works fine, I'm using Safari 3.0.4, OS X 10.4.11
Like
Version 3.8.2
M30318
M30318
18 November 2007
hmm. I am using safari 3.0.4 on 10.5.1(Leopard). I get an error page. I just tried it from Camino. It worked.
Like
Version 3.8.2
Mr.Ash
08 November 2007
Doesen't work with Mac OSX 10.5 Leopard. After droping a file into the app nothing hapens at all no matte witch options you chose. Please fix this.
Like
Version 3.7.2
New-User
26 August 2007
I really like this utility. It's very thorough. Only thing I wish it had: an option to remove .DS_Store files when converting.
Like
Version 3.7.1
John-Quinn
21 July 2007
WOW! absolutely great app!! works perfektly, also with the mentiones password protection. couldn't be happier :)
Like
Version 3.7.1
Madmacmad
02 July 2007
Wow amazing DMG App. Works also fine with Passwords. You can find the Options in the Prefs... Well one suggestion: plz make a button to enable password protection. Thxx for keep it free ! greetz Madmac
Like
Version 3.6
ingvo
19 June 2007
and of course, the rating to show respect.
Like
Version 3.6
ingvo
19 June 2007
Thank you for excellent freeware! Now I can create from any given folder via shortcut (Quicksilver) a crossplattform iso image with all data intact (even creation date, which gets lost, if you use disc utility and dmg!) And thanks to your tool even multiple images at a time! Thanks again! Ingvo
Like
Version 3.6
Germano60
05 May 2007
Well, guy: just write from scratch an application in Japanese or Chinese, then we'll come back to you and decide to rank you based on the correctness of your spelling. Down to earth, guy, and kudo to the developer for this nice piece of freeware.
Like
Version 3.5.5
Beastbot
05 May 2007
Clearly the developer's 1st language is Chinese, not English. There is no need to taunt anyone for a small typo on the screenshot (and there are a few: "bug" should be "bugS" plural)- Still, how's everyone's written Chinese btw? However, I can appreciate some wariness regarding non-native software designed for the Mac. How does software designed in Chinese get translated into American English exactly?
Like
Version 3.5.5
1 answer(s)
Sunskysoft
Sunskysoft
05 May 2007
Thank you for comment. DMGConverter translated Japanese to English by translation software, because the English user had requested translation. However, the translation software seems not to be translated correctly. . . Moreover, because I cannot read/write English so much, it might be difficult to correct the mistake of English.
Like
Version 3.5.5
nowheredense
05 May 2007
There is no word that spells 'creat'. It is spelled correctly as 'create' in the screenshot. People should review their brains before posting a review designed to incorrectly humiliate the developer. This is indeed an excellent utility that shows the dedication of the developer.
Like
Version 3.5.5
Foodtastenice
04 May 2007
I don't think I'll bother downloading this until the developer decides to spell "creat" correctly. It's in the screenshot, people!
Like
Version 3.5.5
1 answer(s)
Fgs
Fgs
05 May 2007
Hum, seems that you might need some glasses. Also, it is freeware, so nobody "forces" you to download and use it... and anyway: If you can do it better, then just do it. This app works as described and rocks for a freeware dmg packer. Cheers, F.
Like
Version 3.5.5
Intellect-Inside
03 May 2007
review... This is a handy way to make disk images with more options than Disk Utility provides when making images from folders. Thank you for this utility!
Like
Version 3.5