Back to Wallsaver page
Wallsaver free download for Mac

Wallsaver Reviews

2.5.3
01 October 2009

Run screensavers as desktop background.

Archiman
20 June 2007

Most helpful

It's really beatifull !!!!!!!! Thanks a lot. I hope next OSX will include this wondefull feature (buy you and pay some royalty for it). Congratulations AAANouel
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3

Read 23 Wallsaver User Reviews

Rate this app:

Beamy
14 April 2014
Download Link: http://softwaredl.nwwnetwork.net/wallsaver_releases/Wallsaver_2.5.3.dmg
Like
Version 2.5.3
1 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
11 July 2014
Beamy, thanks! Though you posted this download URL months ago, someone just pointed it out to us. (Been just a *bit* busy!) I've edited the listing so that everyone will be able to access it easily. And yes, it will even run under OS X 10.9.4!
Like
Mtcobra
13 September 2009
Doesn't work if you're using Camouflage. If the icons are hidden by Camouflage, the chosen screensaver will not display. Odd: While trying out Wallsaver (with Camouflage running), and finding it didn't work, I Zapped the app and all associated files. Then I noticed my screensaver flashed, and on a hunch, I told Camouflage to Show Icons. Bingo, the program was running. I guess the script had run it course, and deleting the program had no effect (until I reboot, I assume). Odd. But since I really enjoy Camouflage, I'll not be re-downloading Wallsaver. Otherwise, good program - just makes you kinda seasick when your desktop is moving around.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Thus-spake-z
12 September 2009
Works just fine on my MacBook Pro Intel core 2 duo w/10.5.8. Wallsaver's U.I. isn't as polished/slick as xBack's (been using xBack for several years...it's $10), however, Wallsaver runs my all time favorite screensaver, "Electric Sheep" smoothly and without issue while xBack crashes every time when trying to run it. It would be nice if Wallsaver had a setting to utilize screensaver options just as xBack does, though. A menu bar icon to invoke Wallsaver's features would be sweet....xBack has one. With the above mentioned additions, I'd be willing to pay a few drachmas for Wallsaver.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
Dahmenator
11 September 2009
Both MacUpdate and the developers website claim this version should run on 10.4. I don't know about that, but I can tell you that it will not launch on 10.5.8. It unexpectedly quits every time.
Like
Version 2.5.1
2 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
12 September 2009
Please re-download Wallsaver 2.5.2 from http://www.wallsaverapp.com. This update fixed Mac OS X 10.5 compatibility. (Since Wallsaver crashes on launch, you won't be able to update using the build in update feature.) Sorry for any inconvenience!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
Dahmenator
Dahmenator
15 September 2009
Thanks for the quick update, Developer. Wallsaver 2.5.2 works like a charm on 10.5.8. Much appreciated.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
Steven-Goodheart
11 September 2009
Awesome! Snow Leopard compatibility! Now works great. After installing SL, I missed using Wallsaver - thanks so much to the developer for this great *free* app!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
Appscout
08 July 2008
Doesn't seem to work correctly - 10.5.4 Uses SysPref choosen saver fine. Shows black screen if you make WSaver choose.
Like
Version 2.3.2
2 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
10 July 2008
Please contact our support @ www.nwwnetwork.net/support There is a fix available.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Nthacker
Nthacker
10 July 2008
MacUpdate won't let me edit the previous post, so here's a new one. Some screen savers are not compatible with Wallsaver. When those screen savers are run, a black background will be displayed. Again, please contact support. They can provide more information & help.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Erase-
07 June 2008
great app... got my graffiti pics as my background and it looks fresh!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
db
06 June 2008
just gets better and better ... and it's free! many, many thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Wc-scott
12 March 2008
I love it! The motion across my pictures is way cool! If you have the Apple series of HQ pictures, this app makes them look even better. Thumbs up!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.6
nostrodumbass
25 February 2008
Nice and simple. Works smoothly. Would be sweet if it could be accessed via a menu bar icon. Not nearly as slick and refined as xBack, though. That one's $10.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
Roadhog7
23 November 2007
Activated Wallsaver on my Intel iMac and it worked beautifully. One problem it disables the secure log-in to get past the screen saver or awake from sleep. Can't risk loss of secure log-in.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.6
Roro01
29 October 2007
BackLight 2.0 has the best features but, unfortunately, it doesn't work on iMac Intel.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Rdgiles21
14 August 2007
great job!!! fast and easy
Like (1)
Version 1.3.6
Allenheim
06 August 2007
I would be great if you could make it start up when you login and that the icon in the dock was gone, maybe an icon in the menubar instead? Cheers Rasmus
Like
Version 1.3.6
2 answer(s)
G-money
G-money
07 August 2007
You can run it under your account and then hide it in the background.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Nthacker
Nthacker
10 August 2007
Hi, Thanks for using Wallsaver. A menu bar version of Wallsaver is in the works and is expected to be released as part of version 2.0. Thanks for your patience. Nil Thacker NWW Network (Wallsaver developers)
Like
Version 1.3.6
Archiman
20 June 2007
It's really beatifull !!!!!!!! Thanks a lot. I hope next OSX will include this wondefull feature (buy you and pay some royalty for it). Congratulations AAANouel
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Cyann
18 June 2007
This nice little app puts my System Preferences>Desktop out of order and transform it in a blanck window.
Like
Version 1.3.3
1 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
19 June 2007
Please contact support @ www.nwwnetwork.net/support/
Like
Version 1.3.3
Simichavel
13 June 2007
Excellent modifications. Incoporating the preferences into the Wallsaver window is so much more efficient and clear. Adding the link to the ScreenSaver PrefPane makes tons of sense. Opening Wallsaver automatically starts the screen saver, but I actually like this as a feature. Since you don't really need Wallsaver to keep running once the screensaver has been activated, I would say (again), let Wallsaver run in the background immediately upon activation, then have a menubar item to access controls and options.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
13 June 2007
The menu bar feature/function is in the works. It'll be available as soon as I figure out how to implement it. Thanks for using Wallsaver!
Like
Version 1.3.1
8oo8
08 June 2007
It works nicely and, of course, its free. But it only activates the screensaver that you've got set in System Preferences. And, as yet, there's no menubar activation. For a more sophisticated way to go(and for $10), there's "xBack". It allows you to select ANY of your screensavers, and configure them as well(provided the screensaver itself has that option), right from your menu bar. Or, as with Wallsaver, activate it from your Dock. But Wallsaver is just a pup. Who knows what features the developer will incorporate into it over time. It might very well give xBack a run for its money one day. Stay tuned. (I'm a hard-core screensaver junkie....just love interesting, unique ones. Got over 40 of them in my collection, so far.)
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
08 June 2007
I intend to incorporate all those features into Wallsaver sometime. Wallsaver is basically a learning experience for me. I'm learning AppleScript and Interface Builder as I go along. Thanks for the support!
Like
Version 1.3
Hendo
08 June 2007
HOW IN HELL DID YOU WRITE THIS IN APPLESCRIPT???? I didn't think that was possible...
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
08 June 2007
That's a secret!
Like
Version 1.3
Simichavel
04 June 2007
Having thought about it more - because I do like the utility - I would suggest making it a pref pane (with the menubar option).
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
08 June 2007
Thanks for the input, it's planned for v2.0.
Like
Version 1.2
Simichavel
31 May 2007
Now, opening Wallsaver does nothing. Clicking Activate gets a message that it is already running. Clicking Stop gets a message that it is already not running. Clicking Repair gets it going. Suggestions: 1. Provide preference to have screensaver activated permanently. 2. Add link to Desktop/Screensaver Preferences. 3. Window interface unnecessary. Make it a menu item with activate now, activate permanently, stop, select screensaver.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
08 June 2007
I had lots of issues while dealing with the preference (.plist) files. Be sure you're staying updated using the built-in update feature. Version 1.3 (latest as of this writing) addresses all these issues. Thanks for taking the time to post a review, it really helps.
Like
Version 1.2
Gee4orce
29 May 2007
SaverLab - there, saved you 'hours of Googling'...
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Simichavel
Simichavel
04 June 2007
SaverLab certainly does more things, but I've noticed that when screensavers are activated as wallpaper, they don't run smoothly, but rather have "bumps" or "hiccups" along the way. Wallsaver doesn't have this problem at all.
Like
Version 1.2
Yil2201
29 May 2007
This is great soft, it does what it must. But maybe too fast ! I just opened the soft and my screensaver started. Repair button just restart it, but it doesn't stop it. And activate button is always enabled. But one click on the Restore button worked.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Nthacker
Nthacker
08 June 2007
Please update to the most recent version (1.3 as of writing this comment), it fixes the startup error you mention. Thanks for commenting on Wallsaver. Sorry for the problems you had.
Like
Version 1.2