Back to NTFS-3G page
NTFS-3G free download for Mac

NTFS-3G Reviews

2017.3.23
29 June 2017

Read-write NTFS filesystem driver.

Libertyforall1776
24 January 2011

Most helpful

This download link is source code, NOT a compiled binary.
Like (10)
Version 2011.1.15

Read 46 NTFS-3G User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
26 November 2018
NTFS-3G is an open source project. As such, it is free to use. HOWEVER: What you download is the source code. Therefore, you're going to have to know how to compile the code yourself and have the tools to do it, specifically Apple's Xcode. If you'd rather have a ready to use installer version, then what you want is Tuxera NTFS, $17.52 plus tax. It's the same thing and supports the open source project with your payment. It has a 15 day trial.
Like
Version 2017.3.23
SMcCandlish
14 November 2015
Previously awesome, but this (ver. 2015.3.14) source tarball was not makeable in Mavericks for me, even after using MacPorts to install the missing library it complained about (the libintl module). It's better to just install NTFS-3G itself with either MacPorts or Homebrew (maybe even Fink, I haven't checked.) If you do it the MacPorts way, it will even point you, at the end of the install, to a minute-long process for replacing the stock /sbin/mount_ntfs so it works seamlessly in the Finder. If you want a prefpane, you need Tuxera NTFS which isn't free, but won't break the bank, either. I prefer that one, since you get some options that are easy to configure.
Like
Version 2015.3.14
Jpschuck
31 October 2015
Main download button is linking to a tar.gz source archive, a precompiled binary. Completely useless for your average Mac user. Anyway, It should also be mentioned in "requirements" that NTFS-3g requires OSXFUSE to be installed.
Like (1)
Version 2015.3.14
super-titing
28 October 2015
Works! It just works! So thankful for the devs.
Like (1)
Version 2015.3.14
CraigC5591
17 April 2014
If you are using this, Boot Camp boot volume does not show up in the Startup Disk control panel. You can still use Boot Champ or QuickBoot to get around this, but it is a big problem. You can still use the Boot Camp control panel under Windows to return to booting OSX though. I am still getting spurious timeout errors under OS X Mavericks 10.9.2, same as NTFS-3G driver. If everything worked seemlessly, this would get a 5-star rating from me. As it stands, I can give it a solid 4 stars.
Like
Version 2010.10.2
1 answer(s)
CraigC5591
CraigC5591
17 April 2014
Sorry, this is a review for TuxeraNTFS. Please remove this review.
Like (1)
TheCellar
28 June 2012
I was excited to use this app as I have an NTFS drive that won't mount on a PC but mounts just fine to a MAC. I need read/write permissions, though. It is 1TB, USB 3.0. As soon as I installed this driver and restarted the Mac, I was informed that the drive was not unmounted properly and had to have ChkDsk run on it with a PC. Did I do something wrong?
Like (1)
Version 2010.10.2
2 answer(s)
JordiMontana4740
JordiMontana4740
12 May 2013
I had the same issue. In my case was caused by removing the drive without clicking on "safely remove hardware" on Windows. If you amount correctly from Windows you shouldn't have that problem.
Like
Lance-baker
Lance-baker
16 January 2015
Macupdate does not show the previous reply, so I can't know if I'm repeating. The message means just what you said: the drive does not mount correctly in Windows, and does not unmount correctly in Windows. If you connect the drive to Windows and unmount it correctly, just as the message suggests, all is well.
Like
SickTeddyBear
28 July 2011
FYI, a recent note (July 24, 2011) from the developer's blog: "Ladies and gentlemen, NTFS-3G will be updated for Lion eventually, but I cannot give you an ETA right now as I have much more urgent work." Basically, work on commercial software is taking all the developer's time right now, so NTFS-3G has been placed on the back burner. If you're desperate and can live without the preference pane, MacPorts has the very latest 2011.4.12 version for easy installation.
Like (2)
Version 2010.10.2
4 answer(s)
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
12 October 2011
how do you run it once it's installed with macports
Like
sirshanksalot
sirshanksalot
19 May 2012
You can install the latest 2012 version (and keep it up to date) through HomeBrew apt-get style package manager for Mac. Check it out here: http://mxcl.github.com/homebrew/ Not necessarily for the faint of heart.
Like
JordiMontana4740
JordiMontana4740
12 May 2013
You can use the latest 2012 version. It worked perfect on my Lion. Please, check this if you need more details: http://jordi-montana.blogspot.com.es/2013/05/how-to-write-to-ntfs-volume-windows.html
Like
Lance-baker
Lance-baker
16 January 2015
The solution is explained clearly here–> https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20130408021636AAD4Og0 which involves three tiny bits of software, all free. The block for OS 10.7 and later is related not to NTFS-3G actual installer, but to the MacFuse installer (hidden in the Contents inside) that is not updated (since it is really a Linux piece). This simple 3-step process does not require MacPorts, Terminal, or any other convoluted or risky methods.
Like
Libertyforall1776
11 February 2011
Please add Sparkle support! ;-)
Like (1)
Version 2011.1.15
SickTeddyBear
26 January 2011
NTFS-3G 2011.1.15 is now available via MacPorts, so if you don't want to wait until they release a new binary install package, you can compile it the easy way from there.
Like (1)
Version 2011.1.15
2 answer(s)
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
03 February 2011
when you install from macports it doesn't install the reference pane.
Like (1)
JordiMontana4740
JordiMontana4740
12 May 2013
Myschizobuddy: here you will find the preference pane also: http://jordi-montana.blogspot.com.es/2013/05/how-to-write-to-ntfs-volume-windows.html
Like (1)
dingle777
24 January 2011
1. Proper link = http://macntfs-3g.blogspot.com/ 2. Scroll down to NTFS-3G for Mac OS X 2010.10.2 blog entry (NOT the pay Tuxera NTFS) 3. Download
Like (1)
Version 2011.1.15
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
25 January 2011
2010.10.2 is the OLD version. The new version, 2011.1.15, hasn't been made available in a pre-compiled binary, and isn't yet available via MacPorts. THAT is what people are upset about. MacUpdate should have waited until the binary was available, before updating the listing.
Like (4)
Frieddylan
24 January 2011
Works well enough is this is all you have to write to NTFS with however as noted by Devs, the USB transfer can suffer when slower devices are connected. My addition to this claim is, "or not" This is a much slower write speed to any NTFS volume be it a high speed USB thumb drive or a USB 2.0+ external. Buut, what are you going to do about it.. Good product, but the 'free' version is trivially limited.
Like (2)
Version 2011.1.15
1 answer(s)
Abugirges
Abugirges
24 January 2011
I think it is quite misleading that this sw is for free. At least I have no idea where to get it from. When I go to the devs site it connects me to another and here I can only find a time limited demo. Can someone post proper links? Many thanks!
Like
Libertyforall1776
24 January 2011
This download link is source code, NOT a compiled binary.
Like (10)
Version 2011.1.15
1 answer(s)
cottinghamk
cottinghamk
24 January 2011
It's also 862 _KB_, not MB. Kiiiiind of a big difference.
Like (1)
JordL22
24 January 2011
Works really well. Just wish I could use a 64-bit kernel.
Like (3)
Version 2011.1.15
Fabro
29 December 2010
Don't know why, but the download link points just to the source files (which I failed to compile on my iMac running 10.6.5 because configure complains that "pkg-config wasn't found"). A link to the dmg file containing the installer would be much more useful, here it is for the actual version: http://sourceforge.net/projects/catacombae/files/NTFS-3G%20for%20Mac%20OS%20X/2010.10.2/ntfs-3g-2010.10.2-macosx.dmg/download
Like (4)
Version 2010.10.2
1 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
24 January 2011
Thanks for the link. A nearly a month after your post the link problem still exists - for a new version. I don't know who's responsible for the links here but they need to get their head out of their a$$ and get it fixed.
Like
Jon-Breen
09 December 2010
It just works !
Like
Version 2010.10.2
arocha-mo
03 December 2010
Great tools to work with NTFS drive. Works flawlessly with great performance.
Like (1)
Version 2010.10.2
Schala
17 November 2010
NTFS-3G's latest version seems to have a bad side effect for FAT32 drives. Ever since installing NTFS-3G, and even after uninstalling after reading that others had the same problem with this, moving certain files on to my FAT32 drives complains that the file(s) already exist on it, even when I repartition the drive from scratch! I'm trying to go through every cache and settings file to see if NTFS-3G tainted something but I see nothing abnormal. I feel rather frustrated about the likely possibility I might need to reinstall OS X to get rid of whatever anomaly 2010-10-02 left behind.
Like (1)
Version 2010.10.2
Djefis
22 August 2010
This software works fine now. Good, especially when you eject the external drive in NTFS format!
Like
Version 2010.5.22
Fhall1
21 January 2010
Installed this latest version (was running (I think) 0.9.6 previously)...hosed various items. iTunes (library stored on NAS) wouldn't open. Icon would bounce, nothing showed on screen - force quit and it would say iTunes not responding. Bootcamp volume appeared on OS X desktop - never did before. Firefox wouldn't close properly. Rebooted twice with no change. Finally restored from time machine backup to previous version and everything's back to normal.
Like
Version 2010.1.16
Mlbkxbx
20 January 2010
Flawless operation for me too. I'm thinking of buying the tuxera NTFS driver for that little bit extra performance. However, for now i'm completely satisfied. Well, to be honest, a command line chkdsk utility would be pretty awsome. Anyways, thanks Tuxera :)
Like (1)
Version 2010.1.16
Enteptain
07 December 2009
i installed this and it always accesses my ntfs hdd. on a very clicking type interval, only when I'm not reading or writing on it. very bad click sound. doesn't do it on my windows computer. also it never lets it go to sleep mode, is it defragging?
Like
Version 2009.11.14
Pirx
04 December 2009
It is hard to put down here why, it is just awesome and works like a charm for me.
Like (1)
Version 2009.11.14
Libertyforall1776
03 December 2009
Still no 64-bit kernel support... :-(
Like (4)
Version 2009.11.14
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
04 December 2009
Right. Now, move on.
Like (7)
Version 2009.11.14
Doug-S-
29 August 2009
You can no longer format a Boot Camp partition to NTFS with version 4.4 in Snow Leopard (10.6) with Disk Utility. Not sure why, looking into it more.
Like
Version 2009.4.4
Matoo
20 April 2009
I installed the latest NTFS-3G 2009.4.4 and immediately one partition of my external HD connected to my Aiport Extreme (formatted with Mac OS Extended (Journaled)) disappeared. Upon connecting the HD directly to my MBP and running Disk Utility, I found these errors: Invalid node structure Invalid B-tree node size Volume check failed. Error: Filesystem verify or repair failed. What is going on here and how can I fix it??? I should note that I've already uninstalled NTFS-3G but the problem persists. I should also note that it's not a physical problem with external HD, since 2 other partitions on the disk (one in FAT32 and the other also Mac OS Extended Journaled) are fine.
Like
Version 2009.4.4
3 answer(s)
Unsound
Unsound
10 May 2009
I don't really understand what this has to do with NTFS-3G. You can't install NTFS-3G on an Airport Extreme, and the problematic hard disk is formatted as HFS+, isn't it? Just because two things happen in sequence doesn't mean that they are related. NTFS-3G can not in any way affect what happens on your Airport Extreme, and it doesn't touch non-NTFS file systems. It seems that you should contact Apple about file system corruption when using Airport Extreme.
Like (1)
Version 2009.4.4
Marsofearth
Marsofearth
24 May 2009
It is difficult to say that NTFS-3G caused the file structure problem but rather after installation called a "Search" for drives connected to your Mac and in doing so your drive was found faulty. The good news is that it is likely a "fairly" simple fix. There is the free way or the "Paid" way. TechTool Pro and DiskWarrior are two very capable tools and in my opinion well worth the price to have on hand. The other way is to use FSCK which is freely available in your Mac OS X UNIX underpinnings. However if you have never used a Terminal command this can be a bit overwhelming for some. http://www.osxfaq.com/Tutorials/fsck/index.ws is a good resource if you wish to learn how to use these free tools in Mac OS X. http://www.macosxhints.com is another fine community resource filled with knowledgeable people. NOTE: IF after fixing the file structure on your Drive, you find the problem happening again, you will want to find out if it is something within your connection or use that is causing the problem or perhaps there is a "Bad Sector" on your drive, OR in a worse case scenario a sign that your disk is beginning to fail.
Like (2)
Version 2009.4.4
Marsofearth
Marsofearth
24 May 2009
It is difficult to say that NTFS-3G caused the file structure problem but rather after installation called a "Search" for drives connected to your Mac and in doing so your drive was found faulty. The good news is that it is likely a "fairly" simple fix. There is the free way or the "Paid" way. TechTool Pro and DiskWarrior are two very capable tools and in my opinion well worth the price to have on hand. The other way is to use FSCK which is freely available in your Mac OS X UNIX underpinnings. However if you have never used a Terminal command this can be a bit overwhelming for some. http://www.osxfaq.com/Tutorials/fsck/index.ws is a good resource if you wish to learn how to use these free tools in Mac OS X. http://www.macosxhints.com is another fine community resource filled with knowledgeable people. NOTE: IF after fixing the file structure on your Drive, you find the problem happening again, you will want to find out if it is something within your connection or use that is causing the problem or perhaps there is a "Bad Sector" on your drive, OR in a worse case scenario a sign that your disk is beginning to fail.
Like
Version 2009.4.4
Gynny
16 February 2009
Works perfectly with my MacBookPro (10.5.6) and my old PPC (Dual G5 also with 10.5.6). As Ronald Price writes: be a little patient during mounting and unmounting. Sometimes I have to unmount twice because the finder says the drive would be still in use. (I don't know whether this is caused by NTFS-3G or the finder. This occurres also with fire wire drives.) The velocity during writing is o.k. (Seems to me as having increased since the last version?) Reading is more than fast enough for directly playing mpg files with vlc or quicktime! Thanks to all developers!
Like (2)
Version 2009.2.1u1
Ronald-Price
15 February 2009
Functionally this build of NTFS-3G does all I need. I tried both the stable and ulibio versions and both allow me to mount ntfs volumes as read/write. I was able to copy files from my Sawtooth G4 to all 3 ntfs drives I tried and read and delete them when I connected the drives to my Vista 64 bit system and vice-versa. While it does work it takes a while to mount ntfs volumes - an 8GB thumb drive took 8-10 seconds while a 1TB USB hard drive took 30-45 seconds. A 27GB USB HD was somewhere in the middle. Not a major problem but something to be aware of - if you are trying to use a large ntfs volume don't assume there is something wrong just because it doesn't mount immediately. Another time/nuisance eliminating tip - when un-mounting volumes from the Windows system try to remember to use the Windows "Remove Safely" command, rather then just unplugging the drive. This will save the hassle of having to deal with the warning and "Force/Abort" dialog from NTFS-3G. So pretty much just deal with removable drives on Windows as we already deal with them on the Mac and things will work a little smoother.
Like (3)
Version 2009.2.1u1
Lorre
15 February 2009
After updating to the latest version, my external NTFS-drive no longer mount using the NTFS-3G driver, but with the standard NTFS driver! I used the ublio build... any help would be appreciated! NTFS-3G is still available from the formatting options for drives in Disk Utility...
Like
Version 2009.2.1u1
2 answer(s)
Lorre
Lorre
15 February 2009
Reverting to the previous version didn't help :s
Like
Version 2009.2.1u1
Unsound
Unsound
10 May 2009
For problem reports, please use the official forum: http://forum.ntfs-3g.org/viewforum.php?f=4
Like
Version 2009.4.4
Gmax
29 January 2009
NTFS-3G is incredibly unreliable when it comes to writing to data to NTFS volumes. The nags and convoluted process of mounting "unverified" NTFS drives is also frustrating. Paragon's NTFS for OS X is a much more dependable (though not free) solution for those who take NTFS compatibility seriously. Not worth it for a free extension.
Like (3)
Version 2009.1.1
1 answer(s)
Unsound
Unsound
30 January 2009
GMAX: Would you mind telling the NTFS-3G team what kind of unreliable behaviour you have experienced? A proper problem report is always more constructive. Visit the NTFS-3G forum ( http://forum.ntfs-3g.org/viewforum.php?f=4 ) for communicating directly with the developers and submitting problem reports.
Like (3)
Version 2009.1.1u1
Markoh
10 December 2008
I tried NTFS-3G about a year ago and it's a nice thingy for it to be free but I ended up splashing out $39 for NTFS for Mac OS X 6.5.x which is more stable and copies files a lot faster to my external NTFS-Formatted HDD.
Like (4)
Version 1.5130u1
4 answer(s)
Xypher
Xypher
10 December 2008
Would agree with you, the Paragon software is superior in many ways.
Like (1)
Version 1.5130u1
Holypoly
Holypoly
22 December 2008
Well - you gets what you pays for
Like
Version 1.5130u2
Fardilha
Fardilha
22 December 2008
NTFS-3G has 2 versions. I would say that the ublio build has similar speed to the Paragon software.
Like (2)
Version 1.5130u2
Unsound
Unsound
30 January 2009
I'm curious, what about ntfs-3g made you consider it "unstable". We haven't been getting any reproducable reports of data loss or crashes under normal circumstances for some time now.
Like (1)
Version 2009.1.1u1
Ugeorge
10 December 2008
This should be a bugfix mainly for Tiger, but it requires MacFuse 2 which is not available for Tiger ... is here anything I'm missing ?
Like
Version 1.5130u1
Meego
08 December 2008
Still great and working like a charm.
Like (1)
Version 1.5130
Macmat
15 October 2008
Installed MacFuse 1.7 & NTFS-3G 1.5012 today 08/10/15 but external ntfs volume doesn´t mount. Shows up in Disc Utility with most options shadowed. How do I get this to work without reformatting etc. Mac Mini running 10.5.5
Like (1)
Version 1.5012
GrenadeBait
20 September 2008
It takes a long time to copy files in all the versions. About twice as long for large monolithic files and even more time if its a folder with lots of smaller files. Its probably because this is an implementation of an older NT version. The current NTFS 6 version is a pretty good with all the bells and whistles you would expect from a modern file system (to bad WinFS), but I doubt the NTFS-3G dev could get to that NTFS 6 level without grief from M$. Anyway, The site is not informative enough and says it allows you to use 4G+ USB sticks. Big deal...FAT32 will do it and you will get decent performance. The issue is really,,,really large files...say you want to save a big 7GB ISO of a movie/game/etc....You need Apple's HFS or you have to use NTFS...If you go the NTFS route be prepared for long file transfer times and some occasional stability issues. For me it is worth it because I have several external FW and USB drives that contain common data and must be accessed from both Mac and Win depending on the situation. I like the idea of this driver but there are some pitfalls...be prepared to accept lower speed and occasional weirdness.
Like (2)
Version 1.2918
Mbarsoom
21 August 2008
I have formatted several drives with Disk Utility on 10.5 as NTFS and they are useable on the mac (read and write and disk utility reports that it is NTFS) but on a windows machine the filesystem cannot be read at all. In order to view them in Windows XP I have to reformat the drive on the windows box as NTFS and then the drive is usable in both Mac and Windows.
Like (2)
Version 1.2812
1 answer(s)
Nessuno
Nessuno
06 December 2008
As far as I know, this is still the best and simplest way.
Like
Version 1.5130
Ceiling-Cat
16 July 2008
You don't need NTFS for memory sticks bigger than 4gb, you only need to use FAT32! Still, being able to access Boot Camp partitions larger than 32GB could be really handy...
Like
Version 1.2712
1 answer(s)
Blacksmith-tb
Blacksmith-tb
20 August 2008
FAT32 limits maximum file size to 2Gb, which makes moving large files (VMs, .iso, etc.) rather inconvenient.
Like (1)
Version 1.2812
M-Rick
15 July 2008
Am i supposed to be able to format a drive in NTFS from DiskUtility ? Because i don't see NTFS available from the files systems in the list. And fuse is working since i am using with MacFusion. MacBook Pro 10.4.11
Like
Version 1.2712
1 answer(s)
Mbarsoom
Mbarsoom
21 August 2008
It only shows up in Disk Utility in 10.5 not 10.4.
Like
Version 1.2812
Someonenew
15 July 2008
The fact that you can write to NTFS is bloody brilliant. This is far more than the description on this site, which only states that it enables you to write files larger than 4GB. There's only one disadvantage to me: Shutting down OSX takes a long time with the driver active. I do this regularly to reboot to WinXP, so this is a bit of a nuisance. Otherwise very nice!
Like (1)
Version 1.2712
Xypher
07 May 2008
What are the advantages of Paragon compared to this?
Like
Version 1.2506
1 answer(s)
Noraa
Noraa
15 July 2008
This one is free!
Like
Version 1.2712
Neonblue2
04 January 2008
I used to have this installed back when I had Tiger but never reinstalled it when I upgraded to Leopard. Well today a mate of mine came around with his virus ridden portable HDD, formatted as NTFS, that he wanted me to scan. After I installed NTFS-3G I could no longer mount the drive. I knew you need to unmount on Windows correctly (a hassle) for it to work but what about the viruses? We did it anyway and now I have full write access. Currently scanning with ClamXav and have so far seen one over sized ZIP file. There are more here somewhere. I wish there was, perhaps, a visual interface like a Preference Pane so I could easily turn NTFS-3G off and on easily without having to fire up the COMMAND file. Not being able to mount some drives because they were unmounted incorrectly can be annoying.
Like (2)
Version 1.1120
Nontroppo
12 October 2007
Fantastic, I've had no problems and being able to write, while not blazing fast, it better than going over the network as I had to do before. Thank you for such a simple package, and to the NTFS and Macfuse teams.
Like (1)
Version 1.1004u2
Tirasus
30 May 2007
Works well (I use it to write to my windows partition). seems to leave extra files lurking around such as visible ds_stores and ._ duplicates occassionally when booting into xp, but that is very minor and easy to deal with. Is there any way to rename the mounted volume now on my desktop ('disk0s3' - made to write to the partition)? It's again very minor, as I had 'Untitled' originally anyway, but it would be nice.
Like (1)
Version 1.516
Nannassy
25 May 2007
Can this program enable Mac users to read and write to NTFS drives and partitions as well as memory sticks?
Like
Version 1.516
1 answer(s)
Aldorr
Aldorr
25 May 2007
Yes. It can let you read and write to any NTFS partition. So if you have boot camp set up, and Windows installed on your Intel Mac, you can read and write to that partition from OS X.
Like (1)
Version 1.516
Imre-Fazekas
15 May 2007
it's working! i had to connect my drives through usb to the xp than remove it in tray bar, and that's all! ntfs writing is ok. there is an issue about character coding. i'm using hungarian xp, and i can't read the files with names containing national characteres.
Like (1)
Version 1.417r4
Nguyenhm16
09 May 2007
Uh, if you have physical access to the memory stick there is no longer any security.
Like
Version 1.417r3
1 answer(s)
Chris-Redden
Chris-Redden
09 May 2007
Relying on permissions for security is a terrible idea. Anyone with root access to ANY computer can plug a physical drive into it and setuid/setgid to whatever they want. The only limitation is that you can't do that with the drive your currently booted off. So if someone took the drive out of your computer and plugged it into their computer, it's already trivial for them to access all of your files regardless of the permissions you have set. All he did was change the _default_ behaviour on NTFS drive, so that you don't have to worry about users lining up between OSes. The only secure way to keep your data is to encrypt it.
Like (1)
Version 1.417r3
Nexialys
08 May 2007
is it possible that this tool would help hackers with stolen sticks ? if you give unknown:unknown to everybody using the stick, there is no more level security ?! it's just a question...
Like
Version 1.417r3
1 answer(s)
Tgv
Tgv
14 May 2007
No. A hacker would read the memory stick's contents as superusers, so has all access rights anyone could ask for. And if that would be blocked, there is always the possibility of reading it out byte by byte without mounting it.
Like (1)
Version 1.417r4