Back to KeePassX page
KeePassX free download for Mac

KeePassX Reviews2.0.3

09 October 2016

Password manager.

Timmyb
22 August 2010
Version: 0.4.3

Most helpful

I do not trust this app. If they can't write a proper MacOS X application, then I have no reason to believe that they can get the encryption and security aspects correct either. Just my opinion.
(3)

How would you rate KeePassX app?

Read 37 KeePassX User Reviews

Macjogi
17 January 2019
Version: 2.0.3
After many years switched to KeePassXC
(0)
hicksreview
19 April 2017
Version: 2.0.3
Having trouble with cross platform use of Android KeePassX to Mac KeePassX. It is indicated that Android files should be importable to new Mac files. It worked for me once, and after that any file touched by the Android version indicated that the file is corrupted or the password is wrong. I'm going with corrupted, because I've tried every password I've ever assigned to the app, and no dice. Love KeePassX, but need agreement cross platform. Any tips?
(0)
0.5
Andrewm8
05 June 2016
Version: 2.0.2
Stay away from this app until developer fixes the security hole: http://www.engadget.com/2016/06/04/keepass-wont-fix-security-hole-due-to-ads/
(1)
Show comment (1)
Snoop27
01 February 2016
Version: 2.0.1
KyPass Companion's really close too, but paid version, see more: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/kypass-companion/id555293879?ls=1&mt=12
(0)
wickedsp1d3r
13 December 2015
Version: 2.0
Autotype?
(0)
5
mmaher5188
12 December 2015
Version: 2.0
If you only knew just how happy I am! I have been waiting so long for this. Works Perfectly (so far) Have been struggling with Mono after moving from Windoze to Mac and reluctant to give up Keepass which does exactly what I need it to. Full featured, multi platform, running of Dropbox etc
(0)
5
MaurizioL
12 December 2015
Version: 2.0
KeePassX 2.0 is no more beta, like it was said in the MacUpdate review; is a normal and solid release.
(0)
Trance
08 October 2015
Version: 2.0 beta 2
you should try this native os x port: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/53549/macpass
(1)
Show comments (2)
Timmyb
18 August 2015
Version: 2.0 beta 1
Does do auto type?
(0)
2
Donmontalvo
16 July 2015
Version: 2.0 alpha 6
My only complaint about KeePassX is its inability to handle multiple users sharing the database. I've worked with teams who open/edit/save/close KeePassX as a team and I can't tell you how many times passwords got bonked. For one person? Great solution. For teams? Look elsewhere. PS, still Alpha?! Wat's up wit dat?! Don
(0)
5
bowski
01 March 2015
Version: 2.0 alpha 6
suuuuuper LUV IT !! WORKS GREAT ! AND COMPATIBLE TO WIN AND MAC !
(1)
SickTeddyBear
05 January 2014
Version: 2.0 alpha 5
FYI, you can also run a version of KeePass 2 using the Mono (.NET) framework: http://keepass2.openix.be The main reason to do this would be better compatibility with the original KeePass for Windows.
(0)
5
Monkeyjunkey
29 December 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 4
2.0a5 is out: http://www.keepassx.org/news/2013/12/420 @macuser05: feel free to contribute to the project. I'm sure the KeePass dev well be happy about a new volunteer.
(2)
Show comments (2)
0.5
macuser05
25 October 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 4
KeePassX has only two item types with the same fields. Sorry guys, but is this a joke? Okay, I know it's free, but that is not an excuse. This is why I've choosen Locko. Clean and intuitive interface with many kind of items. Don't give up!
(1)
5
AlexS2255
21 September 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 4
It just works and very well. Not full featured like KeePass for windows or less bloated if you wish The UI toolkit used is Qt4 which is good unless you just use plain vanilla QT4 which is bad Developers should at least set the setUnifiedTitleAndToolBarOnMac ( true ); property in the main window widget to make it look better!!!! I did it and looks better and less distracting Another alternative is to use wineskin and KeePass for windows. This alternative is better than using mono Anyways, use it to create and annotate good long random passwords per website and other info. Command+C to copy the password and Command-B the User Verdict: Use it!
(1)
Show comments (2)
Jessicajazz
24 August 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 4
No review. But I just read the content of "iDiabloX"'s profile page, and there is a fish smell to his 5-star reviews. He is certainly not impressed with 1Password at all. Proceed with caution.
(1)
Neo979
20 April 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 4
In my tests, I found that 2.0a4 is not GateKeeper-signed and can't read files from the previous version. I'm not sure if this alpha is quite ready for the public.
(1)
4
Priosantos-Jan
04 April 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 4
If you can look behind the awful GUI its not that bad at all. It just does what it claims to do. But the developers should do some rethinking about the GUI. It so ugly, non-OSX-a-like, illogical layout, I would not dare to use it.
(1)
Penguirl
21 March 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 3
Read the system requirements before downloading…
(2)
0.5
billybillybilly
23 January 2013
Version: 2.0 alpha 3
2.0 alpha 3 crashes instantaneously when trying to open. OS 10.8.2
(0)
Show comments (4)
Monkeyjunkey
25 December 2012
Version: 0.4.3
KeePassX 2.0a3 is out: http://www.keepassx.org/news/2012/10/367
(0)
Show comments (3)
5
freevito
08 September 2012
Version: 0.4.3
There's really nothing to complain about with KeePassX...well, except that it's not the prettiest looking li'l thang you ever did see. The application's icon looks like someone bonked it with the ugly stick. But what the heck...it's free, and it works well. The password strength meter is a nice feature that encourages the user to create strong passwords. The customization in the Password Generator is nice. The only feature I would add would be the ability to specify a default user name in the application's preferences. BTW, I created a new application icon that (to my eye, at least) is more attractive than the existing one, and offered it to the developer (free). No reply. Not an encouraging sign.
(1)
Show comments (2)
SickTeddyBear
15 February 2012
Version: 0.4.3
KeePass 2 for OS X: http://keepass2.openix.be Here is a comparison with the old KeePass (note that KeePassX is the same as KeePass 1): http://keepass.info/compare.html
(0)
Show comment (1)
Timmyb
27 September 2011
Version: 0.4.3
I am going to assume KeePassX is dead.
(0)
Show comment (1)
Echorob
16 September 2011
Version: 0.4.3
is this software dead ? has not been update din a long time.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
iDiabloX
24 June 2011
Version: 0.4.3
KeePassX is the Best Security App for your Mac! - Why to waste $40 on 1Password when you can get for FREE an even higher degree of protection by simply using the Superb KeePassX. What do I mean by higher degree of protection? 1) KeePassX uses AES & Twofish encryption algorithms. 2) KeePassX lets you choose Not Only a Master Password to protect all your other passwords - But you can also choose to use a Key File (Any file on your Mac, USB or CD/DVD) to add a Second Layer of Protection - Think of it as Bank Security Box at a Swiss Bank, which requires not only the Key you have with you, but also a second Key in possession of the Bank Manager. In other words; Even if someone guess or gets access to your Master Password, that person still needs to figure out which one, of the Hundreds of Thousands of files in your Mac, USB or CD/DVD you use as a Second Factor of Authentication to open your KeePassX Passwords Vault. 3) KeePassX lets you choose easily where to store your KeePassX Passwords Vault and your Key File, you can leave them somewhere hiding on your Mac, or for better security store it in your USB, and even inside an Encrypted disk image on your USB, or a combination of local, removable and/or remote storage - That last means; Yes you can keep a copy at DropBox or other similar services. 4) KeePassX is not only FREE but OPEN SOURCE too, so you can be sure there is No Back Doors on the Application since you Can freely review the code from A to Z. I don't care what proprietary coders say, they may probably have leave a window slightly open on their apps, just in case Uncle Sam decides to find out a bit more about you - and that is not fresh news. 4) Since KeePassX is Free, you don't need to give out any personal information as you will have to do if using your Credit or Debit Card to purchase a product or service on the Internet, so you and all your data remains Completely Anonymous using KeePassX - and there is no way to link any of your online accounts back to you. But, on the other hand, other password apps such as 1Password, requires a direct payment, and by doing so, your name, address, email, phone number, IP address and other stuff may be automatically associated with a 1Password Vault, at a certain Mac, with a certain login user name, with a certain UUID, with a certain IP Address, and who knows what other stuff. I don't know about you, but me Thanks but No Thanks! - It's not about "What you are hiding there" It is about with who I Decide to share every single bit of information with, but if given the option to remain Fully Anonymous, the better it is ;-)
(1)
4.5
jdsyx
24 April 2011
Version: 0.4.3
Immensely useful program. Although some of the UI bits feel a bit clunky compared to PasswordSafe, they're more than overcome by the fact that I can share safes between operating systems cleanly.
(0)
4
Jonasp
12 March 2011
Version: 0.4.3
Very useful and great app to store you password! used to work with it from my windows years and i really loved it. Some things that need to be taken care off 1. when the app is opening and entering the master password then the focus of the mouse should go to the search box so we can type directly 2. auto type is missing too much! Hope to see a v2 for OSX soon with this option in it. overall is great and a must have free little app!
(0)
Timmyb
22 August 2010
Version: 0.4.3
I do not trust this app. If they can't write a proper MacOS X application, then I have no reason to believe that they can get the encryption and security aspects correct either. Just my opinion.
(3)
5
Danlfsmith
07 March 2010
Version: 0.4.2
I was looking for something to replace Steel which I had been using for password storage, but which was being discontinued. Another popular commercial product, 1Password, hadn't been updated for Snow Leopard compatibility at the time. I tried several alternatives and settled on KeePass for its cost ($0), it's simple interface, ability to generate passwords of various types, and its ability to import my Steel data. I like the fact that KeePass is open source, too. Importing data from Steel took a bit of effort, as Steel exports text files, and KeePass imports XML files. Some documentation on the importing format would have been helpful. What I did was add some dummy data into Keepass X, then exported it. The resulting file shows you what XML tags to use. Without knowing XML, I was able to look at these examples and insert the necessary tags into my Steel-exported text file, which imported OK. I've been using Keepass X for several months now with no problems or crashes.
(0)
5
tomtomklub
11 October 2009
Version: 0.4.1
I was so excited when I found KeePassX - a password/secured information manager was the only thing left keeping me from the goal of being at least 95% platform agnostic in my computer use but it was the most crucial piece as I have over 300 entries in my database, all my accounts for everything online and offline, financial data, software reg codes, credit card no.s, voicemail passwords, key punch passwords for the garage door LOL, there is so much stuff in there that I couldn't step away from relying on a specific OS - OS X is my preferred system - without it impacting me daily because there are next to no cross platform password mgrs out there, let alone open source and free. It's still in its infancy - not even yet at v. 1.0 - but in its current incarnation, it's feature-rich, and relatively stable on my Intel and my G5 machines (it did quit out on me once - TIP: CHOOSE THE PREFERENCE FOR SAVE DATABASE AFTER EVERY CHANGE!! and you'll mitigate that inconvenience). It works seamlessly on Linux as well as with KeePass for Windows, the only issue was when I opened a database in Windows, my preferences and whatnot for columns of data to show and some custom entry icons were missing. But the real meat, what I care about, the data in the database, was wholly intact, not a glitch or funky added character or extra line returns. It was great. I've been using it for about 6 months now without a single problem. My data is fully intact no matter which OS I open the database under, always. I've no concern that I'll ever lose anything through any fault of the applications. FOR MAC USERS CONCERNED ABOUT EXPORT FUNCTIONALITY: There IS a way to get your data out should you need it. The text export of KeePassX is basically just a database print out, the XML... well, not sure what use that is in the format it comes out looking like. But since people generally don't hop around from PW manager to PW manager once they find one that works and they trust & really like, this is should be a suitable workaround: KeePass for Windows offers CSV export (KeePass X does not) so ask a buddy to get on his box and use KeePass for Windows Portable (leaves no trace of you ever being there)to export your database to CSV. Or if you have an Intel Mac and access to a copy of a Windows install CD, download Virtual Box, load up a Windows virtual machine, and do as I just described. Just about all other database apps can import CSV.
(0)
Ajoyce
24 November 2008
Version: 0.3.4
I was giving KeepassX 0.3.4 a whirl and discovered pretty quickly one of the problems with most password programs that keeps me from switching... and that is the inability to import or export data either into or out of the program in an easy way. I have tried many password programs and because of one thing or another I decided I would simply make my own using FileMaker. I'm obviously not a developer and my creation lacks some things, but it was doing the job and I was able to import or export in many formats. KeePassX limits the import to what I thought was an xml file but when I exported from FileMaker into an xml file I get the message from KeePassX that it's not a recognized file. I will never get stuck again by an inability to import or export. The description talks about the benefit of never having to worry about not being able to use a file created by KeePassX but right out of the box it appears that I'm suppose to reenter hundreds of records... no way! This is a serious shortcoming, in my opinion.
(2)
libecchio
23 November 2008
Version: 0.3.4
Two words on the last review: Ignore. Wrong! KeePassX wins because it is cross-platform and open-source, so the password database format is never going to fade away undocumented; such an event caught me before. I use Dropbox to share a database between three computers (PC, Linux, Mac), and also synchronise it to a PocketPC. I have never had problems - no matter where a change is made the updated database is always readable on the other three platforms. The database format is surprisingly powerful; for example, entries may contain files, which is vital when "entering" serial numbers as some are distributed as binary attachments, and they may be nested in folder structures if needed. My only caveat is that, of the four versions I use, the Mac version has the least native appearance, probably because it is a Qt application. And some of the messages and prompts could do with more work; for example, if you type in a wrong password to access a KeePassX database you are notified that either the password is wrong or the database is corrupt. The second is relatively unlikely, and should not be reflected in a common error message. But the caveats are superficial; the functionality is excellent.
(2)
Debby-Levering
14 July 2008
Version: 0.3.1
I have used Keepass for about a year now and am very satisfied...however...last week I installed Leopard and Keepass doesn't open anymore! Any ideas? Thanks, Debby
(0)
Show comments (2)
5
Copiloto
08 August 2007
Version: 0.2.2
An awesome program. I use it for storing and creating passwords and it works like a charm. For a password program to work, several things have to be there: (1) it must be cross-platform (since you have to carry your passwords with you); (2) it cannot prevent you from exporting your data; (3) it has to be open-source, so the crypto can be analyzed, and finally (IMHO) (4) it needs to have a easy to use interface. KeePassX does it all.
(1)
5
Idjster
20 March 2007
Version: 0.2.2
I use the PC version in my office at work and the OS X version here at home. It works like a charm in both versions and does what it says it will. The price can't be beat either. Great app!
(1)
5
Markus00000
19 March 2007
Version: 0.2.2
Cross-platform, usb-stick support, easy to use, nice interface, search, password generator. Free and open-source. Great program!
(1)
Show comment (1)