Back to CUPS page
CUPS free download for Mac

CUPS Reviews

2.3.0
10 September 2019

Common UNIX printing system.

SickTeddyBear
05 December 2010

Most helpful

People who are using the latest major version of OS X have no use for this. Apple already makes sure that CUPS is kept up-to-date for those users. The only people who might need or want this are those using an earlier version of the operating system, because in those cases, Apple usually stops providing anything other than basic security updates, and allows certain open source components to languish. For example, while Snow Leopard already has version 1.4.5 of CUPS, Leopard, even at 10.5.8 and with Apple's security updates that came after it, is still at version 1.3.11. And with that said, keep in mind that if you don't know what you are doing you can completely DESTROY your ability to print, which will require an operating system re-install or a backup restore. Unless you're comfortable building from source and know how to handle anything that might go wrong, LEAVE THIS ALONE. Please. And backup your hard drive or make sure that your Time Machine backups are working BEFORE you install this. Please.
Like (12)
Version 1.4.5

Read 20 CUPS User Reviews

Rate this app:

leeboo
18 August 2014
HELP!!!! hi, I download 1.7.2 Released 12-Apr-2014 and then make install and then I can't launch any apps, crash log is: Dyld Error Message: Library not loaded: /usr/lib/libcups.2.dylib Referenced from: /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/PrintCore.framework/Versions/A/PrintCore Reason: no suitable image found. Did find: /usr/lib/libcups.2.dylib: mach-o, but wrong architecture /usr/lib/libcups.2.dylib: mach-o, but wrong architecture How Can I Do Now???
Like
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
leeboo
leeboo
18 August 2014
os x 10.9.4 x86_64
Like
huqilong
huqilong
13 September 2015
hi, I do the same thing just like you, did you fix it?
Like
MichaelWilliams6793
10 January 2014
Get the following error at the "make" command: 3 errors generated. make[1]: *** [adminutil.o] Error 1 Running a clean 10.9.1 and using XCode 5.0.2. Am thus unable to test and/or rate this update.
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
huqilong
huqilong
13 September 2015
now,i have nothing to do but to reinstall my os.
Like
Derekcurrie
18 March 2013
As a reminder, the general policy for CUPS is: 1) Don't install CUPS unless you know you need it, or are geeky enough to want to play with it. 2) Never install anything but a stable version of CUPS, unless you're already an experienced beta tester. Beta CUPS can badly mess up your computer. BTW: There is no such thing as 'Easy Software Products', a company that went defunct years ago. I wish MU would remove that label for the developer website link. CUPS is an open source project sponsored by Apple. The project can be found at CUPS.org.
Like (6)
Version 1.6.2
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
14 April 2014
I second this. I remember having to use Pacifist to recover portions of my OS not knowing CUPS had become part of OS X some years ago.
Like (1)
Nick-Collingridge
30 July 2012
Current version of CUPS built in to 10.7.4 is 1.5.3.
Like
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
18 March 2013
and... CUPS 1.6.2 is the current version in OS X 10.8.3
Like (1)
Nick-Collingridge
06 February 2012
Current version of CUPS built in to 10.7.3 is 1.5.1.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
monty-3
05 February 2012
The download (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/24397/cups) does not work (Not Found). Looking at the developer's site, 1.5.1 was pulled. Current version is 1.5.2. Correct link is http://www.cups.org/software.php?VERSION=1.5.2&FILE=cups/1.5.2/cups-1.5.2-source.tar.bz2
Like
Version 1.5.1
Phoenixdownunder
05 February 2012
1.5.1 has been pulled, the link above no longer works. Go to the site www.cups.org and download 1.5.2 from there.
Like
Version 1.5.1
F451
07 January 2011
For those who wish to update, and are not reliant upon Apple's System updates there is another safe means of doing so: Print Therapy by FIXAMAC.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.6
1 answer(s)
JROE
JROE
05 February 2012
FIXAMAC? Yes, but: "07/22/11 We realize that now that Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion) has been released, a lot of you will be wanting to upgrade Spotless and Print Therapy. Currently, we do not have Lion compatible versions of these products. Rest assured that we are working hard on the next versions and will have them released as soon as possible."
Like (2)
SickTeddyBear
05 December 2010
People who are using the latest major version of OS X have no use for this. Apple already makes sure that CUPS is kept up-to-date for those users. The only people who might need or want this are those using an earlier version of the operating system, because in those cases, Apple usually stops providing anything other than basic security updates, and allows certain open source components to languish. For example, while Snow Leopard already has version 1.4.5 of CUPS, Leopard, even at 10.5.8 and with Apple's security updates that came after it, is still at version 1.3.11. And with that said, keep in mind that if you don't know what you are doing you can completely DESTROY your ability to print, which will require an operating system re-install or a backup restore. Unless you're comfortable building from source and know how to handle anything that might go wrong, LEAVE THIS ALONE. Please. And backup your hard drive or make sure that your Time Machine backups are working BEFORE you install this. Please.
Like (12)
Version 1.4.5
4 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
07 January 2011
I second this post! Years ago I fubar'd my MDD G4 doing the same thing! lol Apple owns the rights to CUPS now, anyway, so its built in and not worth tampering with. To see what version you've installed and for further help point your browser to: http://localhost:631/
Like (6)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
18 April 2011
Except I read that CUPS is going away in 10.7...
Like
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
18 April 2011
Really? Got a link to an article or even some rumor and speculation? I know that Java and Rosetta have been deprecated or removed, but hadn't heard anything about CUPS. In any event, it doesn't matter, since an OS has to provide printing services, so if CUPS goes away it will just be replaced with something else. The end-user could care less.
Like (1)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
19 April 2011
Ah, Negritude reminds me, it was SAMBA that is going away in 10.7 (replaced with a home-grown solution), not CUPS... Oops. ;-)
Like (1)
Nicolasd
05 December 2010
you can check your CUPS version via the Terminal cups-config --version My 10.6.5 Mac had 1.4.5 already installed.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.5
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
07 January 2011
http://localhost:631/
Like
sjakubiec
31 March 2010
This is the version currently included with 10.6.3 Snow Leopard. Just in case anyone was curious...
Like (2)
Version 1.4.3
Frieddylan
15 July 2009
Sorry about the site not found stuff- I stopped producing the binaries. The cost of having a .Mac account became too much without any donations. So sorry- If someone would host I could continue to build though.
Like (1)
Version 1.4rc1
5 answer(s)
Moog-Modular
Moog-Modular
29 August 2009
I don't get it. CUPS is incorporated into every Apple sold today and neither a developer or support person for the product can afford a .Mac account or maintain a workable server? The web is filled with low-cost or free servers. Few of us, myself included, know how to compile source code. So why is it still be featured here on M.U. as source code only or not provided as a binary? Even Apple ignores it as being important enough to provide via their built-in Software Update feature. A user interested in this app literally has to wait until Apple updates their system. That's not right when it comes to "the" integral printing engine used by OS X. Can't anyone spend $10/yr for a small server with an installer for the latest binary when it's something as important as printing on an installed base of MILLIONS of computers??? I get better support and more timely updates with VueScan, a small scanning app published by single, private author. If you sell it, you should support it. Are you listening Apple?
Like (3)
Version 1.4
Krioni
Krioni
29 August 2009
@Moog: Look, that is the point: this developer does NOT "sell" this. He's saying that he can't afford to host the binaries. Think that's bad - do it yourself, then, if it is so cheap. Second, if you cannot compile the binaries to this updated version of open source software, just wait for Apple to include an update when they think it is necessary. Is there something wrong with what comes with Mac OS X for you? This is one of those :if it ain't broke, don't fix it situations" unless, of course, you are the kind of person who wants to (and CAN) compile the freshest binaries yourself. Don't be rude to someone who is developing this software for FREE. At some point, Apple will decide to include updates, and then this guy's hard work will benefit millions of Mac users. Geez!
Like (3)
Version 1.4
Krioni
Krioni
29 August 2009
P.S. I'm also a customer of Hamrick Software (developer of VueScan). A great product, and I expect customer service from Hamrick because I am a _paying_ customer. Did you send this developer money? No? Then don't pick on him.
Like (2)
Version 1.4
Moog-Modular
Moog-Modular
12 September 2009
Nice assumptions there, Krioni. I DID pay Hamrick software for VueScan. That's why I appreciate the great support from them. I also paid Apple for OS X and expect support from them. But the point you seem to be missing is that the developers themselves are finding and fixing bugs continuously in CUPS. Apple doesn't release these updates until they compile and release an entirely new version system. Rarely, if ever, have I seen Apple Software Update provide these updates. As for servers, I have several Dreamhost accounts. For about $10/yr each I get unlimited storage and unlimited bandwidth. Less than the price for a meal where I live. So if the developers would like to compile downloadable binaries, I would be happy to host them myself. Simply provide an email address here for someone I can contact and yeah.. smarta**... I WILL host them myself. I've been an Apple customer for 30 years this year and paid for all of my software whether it was for my first Apple ][+ or my present Imac. Don't assume everyone is a leach or not willing to put their money where their mouth is, ok Krioni?
Like (2)
Version 1.4.1
Krioni
Krioni
12 September 2009
@Moog Modular: Hmm. If you are complaining that Apple should update their included open-source software packages more often, I somewhat agree with you. That said, Apple has a lot to test for, and non-critical open-source updates probably fall behind fixing bugs that actually cause problems for users. However, it sounded very much like your were criticizing the volunteer developers of a free open-source package of software for not compiling and hosting binaries. That's what I was offended by. Yes, you paid Hamrick, but you didn't pay these guys. They owe you nothing. As far as hosting costs, you must have a great deal with dreamhost.com - their page describes unlimited hosting as costing $8.95/month, which is quite a bit more than $10/year. However, I bet you could contact the developers directly (MacUpdate.com comments are probably not the most direct way to reach them), and offer to host compiled binaries. Or, perhaps you could team up with someone who, while not skilled enough to develop the software itself, could at least help in compiling binaries, and then you host them. That wouldn't even require contacting the developers, just finding one person to do (or help you do) the compiling. That would be much more constructive than seeming to blame people who are working for free because they want to make good software for the community. Once again, if you were picking only on Apple, most of what I said does not apply. You certainly DID pay them, and so have every right to complain, even if what Apple is doing might make sense (as far as where they place priority on updates).
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
Frieddylan
03 August 2008
You can download the binary (PKG file) from my site- as always.. Be careful and if it ain't broke- don't fix it! http://web.mac.com/a.ramos/
Like (2)
Version 1.3.8
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
16 April 2009
Site not found :(
Like (1)
Version 1.4b2
Moog-Modular
20 February 2008
I would love this update right now, but I don't know why it's listed here either. I HAVE to wait on Apple. It says on cups.org... "We are no longer providing binaries for Mac OS X since CUPS 1.3.x is not fully compatible with Mac OS X 10.4.x. You can compile and install CUPS 1.3.x from source, however most of the GUI administration tools provided in Mac OS X will no longer work."
Like
Version 1.3.6
Scottishwildcat
24 November 2007
Since Apple bought CUPS earlier this year, why should we have to download somebody else's version any more?
Like (1)
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
Jcraig
Jcraig
24 December 2007
You don't need to, as Apple will add the necessary CUPS update to a future Software Update. Doesn't mean the developer can't announce the immediate availability of updates though (this is for Unix too after all). Trust Software Update. As long as you don't do something stupid like delete Receipts from your System, Software Update will usually know what your system needs.
Like (8)
Version 1.3.5
Jcraig
22 November 2007
If you don't know what you're doing with this, do not install it. Apple is good about adding the necessary improvements to the printing infrastructure (and now in Leopold, apparently, printer drivers too) via Software Update. My advice: if your printer is working, you don't need this.
Like (6)
Version 1.3.4
Rpphoto
29 September 2007
Will this one allow my Kodak all-in-one to work? I tried the update two versions ago, and it killed my printer. I had to install the entire operating system again.
Like
Version 1.3.3
1 answer(s)
Frieddylan
Frieddylan
29 September 2007
If your printer is working- don't bother. Making the wrong move with CUPS will mean a system reinstall for many.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Makai
25 September 2007
Decided to give this a try because since recently I cannot print anymore (only) in OS-X -- print manager simply stops all jobs cold. However, at the end of installing the binary, 'There were errors installing this software -- try again'. Same after repairing permissions once more and trying in Safe Boot mode. Now Rosetta is broken -- PPC-only apps don't start anymore on my MB Core2. Bewildering.
Like
Version 1.3.2
2 answer(s)
Frieddylan
Frieddylan
29 September 2007
I've begun compiling Universal binaries. Please download again and retry that version. If you resolved your problems then don't do it- leave well enough alone I think.. :)
Like
Version 1.3.3
Makai
Makai
22 November 2007
Sorry Dylan for answering so late and thank you for your efforts. Tried cups 133-universal and no issues with PPC apps afterwards. However still 'installation errors'. You are probably right that if something is already broken, a CUPS update install is not the way to fix it.
Like
Version 1.3.4
nowheredense
12 May 2007
If you are unable to print after installing this or any CUPS updates, follow the steps below: [1] Open Terminal. [2] sudo killall cupsd [3] sudo rm /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/org.cups.* [4] sudo diskutil repairPermissions / [5] Open Printer Setup Utility and add printers.
Like
Version 1.2.11
1 answer(s)
A-Busbey
A-Busbey
26 August 2007
How does one reinstall the old version of CUPs? No matter what I do printer sharing doesn't seem to work.
Like
Version 1.2.11
Realmerlyn
17 March 2007
Uh, CUPS is already part of the core. Why do you need to install it again?
Like
Version 1.2.9
2 answer(s)
Digital-dreamer
Digital-dreamer
18 March 2007
Because this is an update? Is there some problem releasing updates on MacUpdate??
Like
Version 1.2.9
Realmerlyn
Realmerlyn
25 March 2007
You're updating Apple software with non-apple software though. That sounds like you're in for a world of hurt when Apple also releases updates. I know we run into problems with people updating the built-in Perl with a newer version.
Like
Version 1.2.10