Back to TagBot page
TagBot free download for Mac

TagBot Reviews

1.1.1
13 March 2008

File tagging made easy.

Neil-M
22 October 2008

Most helpful

Yes, same problems here..... I started using this to interact with MailTags, however the demo has a limit of 10 tags, not 10 tags, multiple files, but a total of 10 tags, it worked okay-ish, but not enough to really tell - so I used the built in store and bought the full version $20, to really get an idea - mistake. I thought if MailTags and iGTD mentioned it would be worth the $20 - mistake. Tagbot looks like the iPhoto keyword manager from bullstorm.se (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23240/keyword-manager) - but has none of the functionality of the superb bullstorm product. I find Tagbot is now unusable/non-functional. I have been emailing bigrobotsoftware support - nothing- not even bounced mail. support_bot@bigrobotsoftware.com I tracked down the developers email at whois (their website is a dyndns), if anyone wants to try: ryfar@bigrobotsoftware.com I got no reply.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1

Read 14 TagBot User Reviews

Rate this app:

Macvet22
29 January 2012
Updated Jan2012=
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Macvet22
Macvet22
25 February 2012
New update- having tried to contact makers/ company or named persons (other forums) they are GONE burger... no development- suggest MU remove the link to a defunct company name and make it 'Untraceable' instead. However, as I stated, it should be illegal for an automated payment script to be used. US authorities- interested in real on-line crime and fraudulent activity?
Like (1)
Macvet22
24 December 2011
Yeah might want to review this apps presence any longer.. Not Found The requested URL /installers/TagBot.dmg was not found on this server. Apache/1.3.41 Server at www.bigrobotsoftware.com Port 80 -- unfortunately Ive paid for this in last 12 months as it seemed to be the only app that gave the basic functionality i required- simple tagging of multi- criteria files. With that $20 gone and no replacement for SLx doesnt look like such a good deal any more. Further the in-app utility registration remains active which IMHO is dangerous. I'd note that the system email add I'd used for a decade started getting spam in the last 12 months when I used it to 'register' various software elements. Not sure it's connected, but the old one had to be retired.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Macvet22
Macvet22
29 January 2012
Update: Same version DOES continue to work under 10.6x SL. Very happy to continue to utilise.
Like (1)
Neil-M
22 October 2008
Yes, same problems here..... I started using this to interact with MailTags, however the demo has a limit of 10 tags, not 10 tags, multiple files, but a total of 10 tags, it worked okay-ish, but not enough to really tell - so I used the built in store and bought the full version $20, to really get an idea - mistake. I thought if MailTags and iGTD mentioned it would be worth the $20 - mistake. Tagbot looks like the iPhoto keyword manager from bullstorm.se (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23240/keyword-manager) - but has none of the functionality of the superb bullstorm product. I find Tagbot is now unusable/non-functional. I have been emailing bigrobotsoftware support - nothing- not even bounced mail. support_bot@bigrobotsoftware.com I tracked down the developers email at whois (their website is a dyndns), if anyone wants to try: ryfar@bigrobotsoftware.com I got no reply.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Rpphoto
07 May 2008
Well, I liked this app and I even purchased it many months ago. Unfortunately, I lost my license file in the midst of moving into a new computer. I've been emailing the developer for several months now trying to get another copy of my license, with no response ever. What a jerk. There's nothing worse than software with no support whatsoever.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Donebylee
02 May 2008
I have sent three emails to the developer over the past three months and have received no replies. I think this app is dead. That's too bad. If they would support it, I would buy it, but without support, why would anyone pay anything? Hopefully, someone else will write a nice light app that does the same thing as Tagbot. It collects the tags you use, keeps them in a list and allows you assign and sort by them easily--even on multiple tags when you use the the command key to multi-select tags (then hit return). It was a great app. RIP Tagbot.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Macvet22
Macvet22
24 December 2011
Buyers Beware- yes the registration app is a direct mailer and you may be stung. As of 2010 this was still active.
Like
Patrickhenrypdx
08 April 2008
I've been playing with TagBot for OS X (Leaopard), and it has a lot of nice features. I particularly like the floating tag pallet. However, for some reason it overwrites its previous tags, rather than adding to them. Moreover, as far as I can tell, there is no TagBot support whatsoever, whether on line at BigRobotSoftware.com, or via e-mail. Indeed, my email inquiries have generated no response whatsoever. Based on what appears to be a total absence of support, either from BigRobotSoftware or from other groups, it looks like installing TagBot may be a waste of money and time.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Donebylee
13 March 2008
This version is working great for me, no crashes, but I am concerned that the Big Robot website has not been updated in 5 months. This is a great little app. Please don't abandon it.
Like
Version 1.1
Porcustal
07 October 2007
I'm had crashes when its contextual-menu item was installed too, so i removed it. Now no Finder crashes... I agree its a really great idea and would be really usefull if the Finder crashes were fixed.
Like
Version 1.1
Chris-Walken
07 August 2007
Looks like a nice app, but supposedly it doesn't work well with Pathfinder. Hopefully there will be a solution, and maybe Leopard will make some changes in how metadata is used.
Like
Version 1.1
hced
10 June 2007
Feature-wise, seems to be THE best tagging solution there is! That is, the way it operates, with its splendid interface design and everything, it's just a killer app, for sure! On the other hand, in my testing, it seems that, for some reason there is a vastly increased delay, when opening my context-menu. I have no idea of other users' experience in this regard, but for me, this is a major downer. I may have to add, there's a chance this could be related to the fact that I have several other context-menu plugins installed as well; OnMyCommand, PathSnagger, Photo Tool CM, QuickImage, Finder Icon CM... but (!) my context-menu operated perfectly before and after having the TagBot plugin there, so either there's a "collision" going on between the plugs, or there's a "glitch" in the TagBot.plugin code.
Like
Version 1.1
Maclover1-1
28 May 2007
Looks cool but... er... I can't make it work.. is that because I deactivated Spotlight ?! Does TagBot need Spotlight to be running ? Thanks.
Like
Version 1.1
Folks, pls change behaviour when tagging applications (or simply files in /Applications); I do not want to tag all the files in the enclosed folder, just that application...
Like
Version 1.1
gryphonent
28 May 2007
Cool tagging app... but I have to agree: at $20 it's a bit pricey. For $14.95 it would be a no-brainer. What about an introductory offer?
Like
Version 1.1
dwp-1
15 March 2007
Very useful tagging utility. I found it worthy of purchasing but a bit expensive.
Like
Version 1.0.1