Back to CamTwist page
CamTwist free download for Mac

CamTwist Reviews

3.4.3
03 July 2019

Add special effects to your video chats.

Gorelets
11 November 2007

Most helpful

This is one of the neatest programs that are out there for playing with the webcam that came with your MacBook... although it was a bit complex to set up at first, once I figured it out, I was able to easily use it during a 'video interview' to great effect. Don't overlook this cool piece of eye candy software! You can also apply the effects in photobooth!
Like (2)
Version 1.5

Read 21 CamTwist User Reviews

Rate this app:

sir79ius
03 January 2015
On my Mac, Skype doesn't work anymore, it crashes with a segmentation fault upon launch.

The seg. fault is due to CamTwist and the Uninstaller does not remove this segmentation fault, it still crashes due to CamTwist.

Careful with this piece of software, it causes problems and does not uninstall properly!

Skype unexpectedly quit.

Thread 12 Crashed:
0 CamTwist 0x0000000109f80de5 _ZL19patch_lazy_pointersPK11mach_headerP7patch_tm + 464

You can uninstall it by first using the uninstaller, then
opening a Terminal and running

cd /Library/CoreMediaIO/Plug-Ins/DAL
sudo rm -r CamTwist.plugin/
Like
Version 2.4
Tengutech
11 April 2014
CamTwist 2.5 became available in November 2013, but MacUpdate hasn't been updated. You can find it at the developers site: http://camtwiststudio.com/download/
Like (2)
Version 2.4
Brandtsound
25 May 2013
I love the flexibility that CamTwist gives users who might not have the largest video production budgets, but still care highly about production quality. I use CamTwist with LiveStream and BoinxTV and it fills roles for these quite well. I used to use it with Skype, but I am sad to say that- with the newest version of Skype- it does not work anymore. Overall, CamTwist is a neat program, though a bit rough around the edges- the "Studio" interface could be improved- the buttons can be difficult to move around; and the video mixing environment could be better (but hey, that's what I have BoinxTV for). I would be willing to pay for a more polished version, but for a free version, it does rather well (I just wish it still worked with Skype).
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Shutup-Man
05 July 2012
Doesn't work with 64bit programs. Used to be a great app!
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Ean
23 June 2012
Version 2.4 is available at the developer's website. Very cool, but also buggy. The automation is a disaster. For example, the Select Setup step sees only an apparently random and incomplete selection of the saved setups. Lots of problems setting up with multiple cameras too. It would be nice if the effects listing was alphabetical or otherwise sorted somehow. If using one camera, the desktop and prerecorded material, one can make some slick productions. High on features, but low on ease of use because many of the cool features don't work well or not at all. Still a good value for the working features as it is free.
Like
Version 2.3
Mookzmom
10 October 2011
Not sure how to get this to work on photo booth app. The webcam light comes on and this app shows a window of preferences is loaded, so the app must've loaded alright, but I don't see any of the effects anywhere, nor do I find a help menu or "read me" file which will explain what I might be doing wrong. I do appreciate that this app is free and apparently feature-rich. I'd just like to see it work. Hoping someone here knows the trick(s) and or steps.
Like
Version 2.3
BadlyDrawnBoy
24 July 2011
If anyone had trouble with it crashing after downloading OSX Lion, I justin downloaded it again and now it works. Also I love this app, always works well for me :)
Like
Version 2.2
P=NP
21 July 2011
This blows anything and everything off the webcam map and for FREE! ;-)
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Neploleppard
21 July 2011
If it's not compatible with iChat, what's the point? Apple's built in filters are all in iChat! This would be nicer to have built as an add-on to what's already existing in iChat. Instead, this has to be used with Yahoo? Skype? I like Skype, but in many cases iChat is best for "fun" chat. I think if Skype wants such effects they will integrate them themselves. As for Yahoo... this messenger hasn't been updated on Mac in eons. It shouldn't even be considered compatible with modern OS's. I mean... Yahoo video: No sound. Seriously? What's the point of video chat without sound? So you can type, "Hey, Bob, I can see you. Make faces!"? Good lord.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
P=NP
P=NP
21 July 2011
It seems YOU are missing the point. First off this it works with all major video chat apps, including google plus, facebook, chat roulette, etc. It's obvious you've never poked your tiny little head out of that iHole you live in. Not everyone uses iChat or ever will, and the developer of this application is NOT charging money for it, so why would you blast away on something you don't even know about; get life loser, and don't worry — I'll add another negative to your rating.
Like (1)
Mutant
13 May 2011
I'm on Camtwist 2.1 & Skype 5.1.0.935, CT works on any flash app, but doesn't seem to work in skype.. All i get is a black/blank feed. Preview window in camtwist shows properly. Anyone else having this problem?
Like
Version 2.1
Pj2010
03 May 2010
Do NOT download. Its messed up my SKYPE and messenger. Also concerned that when un installing it asks for your password. So dont bother as it will cause more hassle than its worth!
Like
Version 2.1
Tekneek87
19 December 2009
This software is really cool, easy to use and has a lot of different camera effects to choose from. I downloaded this here in December and cant believe its free, its like an early Christmas present :)
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Avidmacuser
24 September 2009
We asked and we received. Thank you Mr. Developer for updating CamTwist for Snow Leopard compatibility. Works flawlessly for me and is an amazing creation. Well done!!! And again 'Hats Off' to you sir.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Nick-g
15 September 2009
Hi, I am currently using CamTwist with Quicktime movie recorder and I'm having serious problems. The camera I am using is a high quality Sony HD video camera and when opened with Quicktime movie recorder (CamTwist as the video source) the footage is compressed to a poor quality, interlaced, incorect aspect ratio state. Is there a CamTwist function or setting which is responsible for this? Please help. Thanks! N.
Like
Version 2.0
Avidmacuser
10 September 2009
Now if we could only get the developer to stay current with updating camtwist for Snow Leopard compatibility, we could use it once again. Mr. Developer, could you please shed some light on when this might be forthcoming? We like your CamTwist but cant use it anymore :(
Like
Version 2.0
Avidmacuser
04 July 2009
Awesome. Excellent piece of software. Very well thought out. All the features I'd ever want. Amazingly its free. My hats off to the developer, you are a genuis!
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Rob-h
11 February 2009
I am using this on a Mac Pro running Leopard 10.5.6 and using a Logitech QuickCam Vision Pro. Works well with Skype (beta version 2.8.0.324) so long as I configure everything such as the effects I want to use, before launching Skype. It's a shame you can't change video effects during a call, for some reason it doesn't work - I have to end the call, change the effects, then start a new call. Also, trying to switch Skype from the CamTwist back to the default Logitech webcam while CamTwist is running causes Skype to 'quit unexpectedly'. My other problem is that everything comes out reversed, so text displays backwards. On the whole very pleased with it despite the glitches, and it's a bargain given that it's free. It's worth a donation, but I see there have been no updates for nearly a year so am not sure if the developer is still around?
Like
Version 1.7
Larsen2k4
17 August 2008
Awesome! Now I can use all the Photo Booth Effects in Skype ... THIS is fun! :D
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Gorelets
11 November 2007
This is one of the neatest programs that are out there for playing with the webcam that came with your MacBook... although it was a bit complex to set up at first, once I figured it out, I was able to easily use it during a 'video interview' to great effect. Don't overlook this cool piece of eye candy software! You can also apply the effects in photobooth!
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Yashrg
19 April 2007
how do I uninstall it completely? I have supposedly removed it and all dependent components using clean app and the option it still there inside skype and yahoo. in adium, it doesn't even have the option to switch to regular camera when taking video snapshot for display pic!!!
Like
Version 1.3
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
19 April 2007
Have you tried going to the developer's site and contacting him?
Like
Version 1.3
Yashrg
Yashrg
19 April 2007
no, I was hoping I could get some help by the visitors here. the people/person in charge of this software is very helpful though, I had a problem once before and he had emailed me the solution... got to dig through gmail archives and find his email again now.
Like
Version 1.3
Mac0852
Mac0852
23 April 2007
To remove, you need only junk whats in your app folder, plus the camtwist.component QT plugin which is in your HD>Library>QuickTime folder That should be everything.
Like
Version 1.3
Mitch-de
18 April 2007
Really great. Also works with USB-Webcams. Would be perfekt if there will be an RGB-Adjust CI Filter to adjust colour cast.
Like
Version 1.3