Back to CamTwist page
CamTwist free download for Mac

CamTwist Reviews3.4.3

03 July 2019

Add special effects to your video chats.

How would you rate CamTwist?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Bigfiddler
Bigfiddler
Feb 23 2021
3.4.3
0.0
Feb 23 2021
0.0
Version: 3.4.3
Doesn't work with Zoom
ak-12
ak-12
Dec 1 2020
3.4.3
2.0
Dec 1 2020
2.0
Version: 3.4.3
Download site is not secure.
claremurbanski
claremurbanski
Nov 24 2020
3.4.3
0.0
Nov 24 2020
0.0
Version: 3.4.3
CamTwist has basically hijacked my webcam. It looked like a great app, but I discovered I didn't need it and uninstalled it—even deleted all the relevant files from my library—and it's still there, setting itself as the default webcam option. Now my default webcam is the CamTwist logo. I've searched and searched for a way to completely uninstall this app, or even to stop it from being the default, but nothing works. Any website that only lets the user use the default video input source (and there are quite a few of them, as I've discovered) is entirely inaccessible to me now. I'm very disappointed.
feuerbird
feuerbird
Jan 22 2020
3.4.3
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 3.4.3
I love camtwist but it keeps losing the setups or distorting the screens since Catalina upgrade. With no developers supporting it it makes it very hard to continue with it. Our community use of this is so wide with so many users. Can’t someone take it over and continue to improve upon it
sir79ius
sir79ius
Jan 3 2015
2.4
0.5
Jan 3 2015
0.5
Version: 2.4
On my Mac, Skype doesn't work anymore, it crashes with a segmentation fault upon launch.

The seg. fault is due to CamTwist and the Uninstaller does not remove this segmentation fault, it still crashes due to CamTwist.

Careful with this piece of software, it causes problems and does not uninstall properly!

Skype unexpectedly quit.

Thread 12 Crashed:
0 CamTwist 0x0000000109f80de5 _ZL19patch_lazy_pointersPK11mach_headerP7patch_tm + 464

You can uninstall it by first using the uninstaller, then
opening a Terminal and running

cd /Library/CoreMediaIO/Plug-Ins/DAL
sudo rm -r CamTwist.plugin/
Tengutech
Tengutech
Apr 11 2014
2.4
0.0
Apr 11 2014
0.0
Version: 2.4
CamTwist 2.5 became available in November 2013, but MacUpdate hasn't been updated. You can find it at the developers site: http://camtwiststudio.com/download/
Brandtsound
Brandtsound
May 25 2013
2.4
4.0
May 25 2013
4.0
Version: 2.4
I love the flexibility that CamTwist gives users who might not have the largest video production budgets, but still care highly about production quality. I use CamTwist with LiveStream and BoinxTV and it fills roles for these quite well. I used to use it with Skype, but I am sad to say that- with the newest version of Skype- it does not work anymore. Overall, CamTwist is a neat program, though a bit rough around the edges- the "Studio" interface could be improved- the buttons can be difficult to move around; and the video mixing environment could be better (but hey, that's what I have BoinxTV for). I would be willing to pay for a more polished version, but for a free version, it does rather well (I just wish it still worked with Skype).
Shutup-Man
Shutup-Man
Jul 5 2012
2.3
2.5
Jul 5 2012
2.5
Version: 2.3
Doesn't work with 64bit programs. Used to be a great app!
Ean
Ean
Jun 23 2012
2.3
3.0
Jun 23 2012
3.0
Version: 2.3
Version 2.4 is available at the developer's website. Very cool, but also buggy. The automation is a disaster. For example, the Select Setup step sees only an apparently random and incomplete selection of the saved setups. Lots of problems setting up with multiple cameras too. It would be nice if the effects listing was alphabetical or otherwise sorted somehow. If using one camera, the desktop and prerecorded material, one can make some slick productions. High on features, but low on ease of use because many of the cool features don't work well or not at all. Still a good value for the working features as it is free.
Mookzmom
Mookzmom
Oct 10 2011
2.3
2.5
Oct 10 2011
2.5
Version: 2.3
Not sure how to get this to work on photo booth app. The webcam light comes on and this app shows a window of preferences is loaded, so the app must've loaded alright, but I don't see any of the effects anywhere, nor do I find a help menu or "read me" file which will explain what I might be doing wrong. I do appreciate that this app is free and apparently feature-rich. I'd just like to see it work. Hoping someone here knows the trick(s) and or steps.
BadlyDrawnBoy
BadlyDrawnBoy
Jul 24 2011
2.2
4.5
Jul 24 2011
4.5
Version: 2.2
If anyone had trouble with it crashing after downloading OSX Lion, I justin downloaded it again and now it works. Also I love this app, always works well for me :)
P=NP
P=NP
Jul 21 2011
2.2
5.0
Jul 21 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
This blows anything and everything off the webcam map and for FREE! ;-)
Neploleppard
Neploleppard
Jul 21 2011
2.2
0.0
Jul 21 2011
0.0
Version: 2.2
If it's not compatible with iChat, what's the point? Apple's built in filters are all in iChat! This would be nicer to have built as an add-on to what's already existing in iChat. Instead, this has to be used with Yahoo? Skype? I like Skype, but in many cases iChat is best for "fun" chat. I think if Skype wants such effects they will integrate them themselves. As for Yahoo... this messenger hasn't been updated on Mac in eons. It shouldn't even be considered compatible with modern OS's. I mean... Yahoo video: No sound. Seriously? What's the point of video chat without sound? So you can type, "Hey, Bob, I can see you. Make faces!"? Good lord.
Mutant
Mutant
May 13 2011
2.1
0.0
May 13 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1
I'm on Camtwist 2.1 & Skype 5.1.0.935, CT works on any flash app, but doesn't seem to work in skype.. All i get is a black/blank feed. Preview window in camtwist shows properly. Anyone else having this problem?
Pj2010
Pj2010
May 3 2010
2.1
0.0
May 3 2010
0.0
Version: 2.1
Do NOT download. Its messed up my SKYPE and messenger. Also concerned that when un installing it asks for your password. So dont bother as it will cause more hassle than its worth!
Guest
Guest
Dec 19 2009
2.1
0.0
Dec 19 2009
0.0
Version: 2.1
This software is really cool, easy to use and has a lot of different camera effects to choose from. I downloaded this here in December and cant believe its free, its like an early Christmas present :)
Avidmacuser
Avidmacuser
Sep 24 2009
2.1
5.0
Sep 24 2009
5.0
Version: 2.1
We asked and we received. Thank you Mr. Developer for updating CamTwist for Snow Leopard compatibility. Works flawlessly for me and is an amazing creation. Well done!!! And again 'Hats Off' to you sir.
Nick-g
Nick-g
Sep 15 2009
2.0
0.0
Sep 15 2009
0.0
Version: 2.0
Hi, I am currently using CamTwist with Quicktime movie recorder and I'm having serious problems. The camera I am using is a high quality Sony HD video camera and when opened with Quicktime movie recorder (CamTwist as the video source) the footage is compressed to a poor quality, interlaced, incorect aspect ratio state. Is there a CamTwist function or setting which is responsible for this? Please help. Thanks! N.
Avidmacuser
Avidmacuser
Sep 10 2009
2.0
5.0
Sep 10 2009
5.0
Version: 2.0
Now if we could only get the developer to stay current with updating camtwist for Snow Leopard compatibility, we could use it once again. Mr. Developer, could you please shed some light on when this might be forthcoming? We like your CamTwist but cant use it anymore :(
Avidmacuser
Avidmacuser
Jul 4 2009
2.0
5.0
Jul 4 2009
5.0
Version: 2.0
Awesome. Excellent piece of software. Very well thought out. All the features I'd ever want. Amazingly its free. My hats off to the developer, you are a genuis!
Rob-h
Rob-h
Feb 11 2009
1.7
4.0
Feb 11 2009
4.0
Version: 1.7
I am using this on a Mac Pro running Leopard 10.5.6 and using a Logitech QuickCam Vision Pro. Works well with Skype (beta version 2.8.0.324) so long as I configure everything such as the effects I want to use, before launching Skype. It's a shame you can't change video effects during a call, for some reason it doesn't work - I have to end the call, change the effects, then start a new call. Also, trying to switch Skype from the CamTwist back to the default Logitech webcam while CamTwist is running causes Skype to 'quit unexpectedly'. My other problem is that everything comes out reversed, so text displays backwards. On the whole very pleased with it despite the glitches, and it's a bargain given that it's free. It's worth a donation, but I see there have been no updates for nearly a year so am not sure if the developer is still around?
Larsen2k4
Larsen2k4
Aug 17 2008
1.7
0.0
Aug 17 2008
0.0
Version: 1.7
Awesome! Now I can use all the Photo Booth Effects in Skype ... THIS is fun! :D
Gorelets
Gorelets
Nov 11 2007
1.5
5.0
Nov 11 2007
5.0
Version: 1.5
This is one of the neatest programs that are out there for playing with the webcam that came with your MacBook... although it was a bit complex to set up at first, once I figured it out, I was able to easily use it during a 'video interview' to great effect. Don't overlook this cool piece of eye candy software! You can also apply the effects in photobooth!
Yashrg
Yashrg
Apr 19 2007
1.3
0.0
Apr 19 2007
0.0
Version: 1.3
how do I uninstall it completely? I have supposedly removed it and all dependent components using clean app and the option it still there inside skype and yahoo. in adium, it doesn't even have the option to switch to regular camera when taking video snapshot for display pic!!!
Mitch-de
Mitch-de
Apr 18 2007
1.3
4.0
Apr 18 2007
4.0
Version: 1.3
Really great. Also works with USB-Webcams. Would be perfekt if there will be an RGB-Adjust CI Filter to adjust colour cast.