Back to LicenseKeeper page
LicenseKeeper free download for Mac

LicenseKeeper Reviews

1.8.4
05 November 2012

License manager to store both serial numbers and license files.

Paul-Harvey
10 April 2010

Most helpful

Typical Mac Elegance. Neat and simple Software Imports Entourage emails almost effortlessly. Reasonable price. In my mac top 10 life support gear alongside Drag Thing, 1Password, Superduper, etc.
Like (7)
Version 1.5.7

Read 40 LicenseKeeper User Reviews

Rate this app:

Yubben
30 May 2018
I have lost my license and unable to contact the developper. I bought my license through MacUpdate, I hope MacUpdate could send me my license... also do you know wether the license work? When I tried to type a license of a friend, it did not work, the register button was still grayed... does your license work or you use the software as a trial?
Like
Version 1.8.4
2 answer(s)
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
30 May 2018
Hi Yubben, I didn't see a record of purchase for this in your account history unless you purchased this with another email address. Let us know if you think we can help you anymore via support@macupdate.com
Like
Yubben
Yubben
30 May 2018
I finally found my license using tembo. Thank you for taking the time to reply to my request. By the way, I'll contact you again as I have an issue with MoneyBag license, it does not work... I'll maill you later.
Like
HJRBR
11 February 2018
I am looking for LicenseKeeper for iPhone. Can anybody arrange this for me. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.8.4
The-Big-K
31 August 2017
This is ABANDONWARE. (Though fortunately it still opens and works with the latest Sierra OS.) Doesn't anyone at MacUpdate have the sense to look at the dev's site, linked on this page, and see that "this app is retired and no longer for sale?" When it was new, it worked pretty well except it was maddening to have so many tabs (e.g. for noes) that you COULD NEVER SEE ALL THE INFO ABOUT THE APP at once! Alas, I've got my registrations scattered all over the place, including some apps that do that as sort of a sideline.
Like
Version 1.8.4
Ajmac25
06 April 2015
I still use the app, but needs updating. Anyone interested in reviving this app? Would the developer share the code? No other good alternatives that I know of. :-(
Like (1)
Version 1.8.4
3 answer(s)
Maeric
Maeric
03 June 2015
That is a good idea.
Some of us here pestered the old developers of iClip to sell it off to someone else and they finally did; to Irradiated Software who have done a great job with it. License Keeper is also great and I hate to see it become abandonware. I'm still using it regularly.
Like
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
04 November 2015
Guys, I really don't like self promotion but there is a major update, AppChest 2.0 to be released soon which will be able to import LicenseKeeper files. If you don't want another application managing your LicenseKeeper files, just ignore my comment.
Like (1)
Jqk18
Jqk18
15 November 2015
@ToolForceSoftware Will AppChest 2.0 be a free upgrade from 1.1?
Like
HJRBR
31 August 2014
Was a very good app. But what I cannot accept is the attitude of a developer, to simply retire the app I payed for. It is time, that there will be implemented a legislation, that at least customers get informed some month before anything gets retired. I have a serious problem now, as my HD crashed and I cannot find my data to reestablish functionality, with other words, I lost some years of sensitive data. Has anybody an idea how to reestablish the program data?
Like (1)
Version 1.8.4
Thumpinc
10 April 2014
I think this software is abandoned. I have used it throughout the Mavericks update but it has recently started to crash on startup. No update in a year and a half and nothing on the blog since 2012... Developer, if I am wrong, do you intend on updating this app in 2014?
Like
Version 1.8.4
3 answer(s)
Botchka
Botchka
10 May 2014
From their site: Retired: This application has been retired and is no longer for sale
Like
adrianwilliams
adrianwilliams
23 June 2014
Can anyone suggest a good alternative ?
Like
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
07 September 2014
AppChest and AppShelf exist, though both were also last updated in 2012 and thus potentially abandoned. Wallet was last updated in 2013 and support commentary on this site is not ideal. 1Password, Locko, SplashID Safe, mSecure and DataGuardian seem to all be current though and have the ability to store info on software/serial licenses, not just passwords.
Like (1)
Nakkor
02 September 2012
Does anyone know how to export myApps Data library to LicenseKeeper? A step by step procedure would be much appreciated! TIA!
Like
Version 1.8.2
jackiejay
11 January 2012
Perfect for storing my licenses, it's really easy to use!
Like
Version 1.8.2
johnny-thompson
16 October 2011
Beautiful software design; the interface is extremely intuitive, and it has room for everything you need for your licenses, such as file attachments, vendor information (site and contact information), your license information (naturally), purchase date and price, as well as a "notes" area for each license where you can type anything you want. It's absolutely brilliant, and I selected it after comparing it to ALL other license managers out there. This is the one to get! Feature-complete, beautiful and stable. I've suggested some improvements to backup frequency and icon handling which should lead to databases that are a fraction of the current size, and much more granular updates. When that comes out, this already near-perfect application will be even better. If you have a lot of licenses to manage, then you need this application! It's as simple as that!
Like (2)
Version 1.8.2
BiL-C
09 August 2011
with the 1.8 update, the application launches MUCH faster, making an already useful app more enjoyable.
Like (2)
Version 1.8
Gavin-S
05 May 2011
Very useful bit of software. Easy to use. Customer support is great.. I would 5 star the customer support.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.2
Monzterdk
27 April 2011
I bought this one to help me remember the reg info and help me remember what tools I have already. the important thing here is that it should be able to import directly from Mac-update so that wouldn't have to write everything inn myself every time ! well... ! IT DOES NOT WORK ! simple as that i accept the loss of 20 bucks and are back to my 1password where i have all my important stuff, i do have to write everything inn by hand but then its there reliable and safe
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
4 answer(s)
Monzterdk
Monzterdk
08 June 2011
Monzterdk had trouble on 24 Apr 2011 Now June 9th still no answer ... Support dosent work either :o/
Like (1)
johnny-thompson
johnny-thompson
16 October 2011
Is this a real review? Because it looks fishy. Support answers quickly, as other people here will attest to as well. As for one-click import of purchase information from MacUpdate, I've never used the feature, but you claim that it does not work. Well, I went into my purchase history at MacUpdate, selected a program, and clicked the "Add to LicenseKeeper" button. Voila, it was added to LicenseKeeper. None of your criticisms are true. Period.
Like (2)
Monzterdk
Monzterdk
17 October 2011
Well look in the trouble shooting section for this soft and you will see that there is still no answer in there !! next off it will still do nothing on my IMAC / or any of the MBP we use here !! 1.Password has become my choice. Thats It Best Regards .... / MonzterDk
Like (1)
johnny-thompson
johnny-thompson
17 October 2011
Oh now I see what you've done. You've posted the problem in the "Troubleshooting" tab here on MacUpdate.com. That's not right. You want to reach the developer? Then email them. They are a 2 man operation with busy, regular lives, but they respond to me within one day. As for your import issues, I still don't believe that. Go into any of your receipts here on MacUpdate, and click the "Add to LicenseKeeper" button. MacUpdate will send you a file into your downloads folder. Click this file one time and all the purchase information will be added to LicenseKeeper automatically. This includes the price, date, email used, vendor, and things like that. What exactly is not working? Maybe you clicked the link but never clicked the file it downloaded to your computer? That's required in order to import the data. The file that MacUpdate sends you is an information bundle that you must open to store it in LicenseKeeper.
Like (2)
Monzterdk
24 April 2011
Cant make it import the registration info from the links on macupdate actually i cant make it import anything at all only way at the moment is to drag the app file inn and write everything by hand couldent find any info on website on what to do how does this works
Like (1)
Version 1.7.2
1 answer(s)
Lavandula
Lavandula
11 August 2011
Ditto. Won't do anything in Lion.
Like (1)
marzipan
12 December 2010
i've only used LicenseKeeper to grab the information for one piece of software so far (TotalFinder), and i like the concept a lot. LicenseKeeper got the licensed name wrong - it appears to have drawn my name from the To: field of the email rather than actually scanning the body of the email for the name associated with the license, which was not my name, but "MacUpdatePromo Somethingorother," so i was confused for a while as to why TotalFinder wasn't accepting my new license information, and i had to go look at the email in order to enter the license information that TotalFinder expected...so in this case LicenseKeeper saved me less time and effort than it should have. but in the end i got the information entered into TotalFinder correctly, and corrected it in LicenseKeeper, and the whole process was still pretty quick. when the LicenseKeeper people get the quirks worked out this will be an extremely handy piece of software.
Like (5)
Version 1.6.2
2 answer(s)
marzipan
marzipan
12 December 2010
hmm. well, actually, i'm starting to think LicenseKeeper is kinda weak now. it doesn't do nearly as much as i thought. i thought i could select a product in LicenseKeeper and click "Attach Email" and LK would scan all my emails and find any related to that product and suck the license information into itself...but it doesn't. i have to do a search for the email message myself, and then drag and drop that email into LicenseKeeper, which saves me considerably less time and effort than i thought LicenseKeeper was supposed to. between the mistakes it makes and the work i'm required to do to get information into LicenseKeeper, i'm beginning to wonder whether this app really makes anything that much easier.
Like (1)
johnny-thompson
johnny-thompson
16 October 2011
You're using it incorrectly. Its purpose is to allow you safe, permanent storage for all your license information, in one central place. No need to keep old emails. No need to store information in some archaic folder structure. Just dump all license files and emails into LicenseKeeper and it's saved forever and allows you to clear up your mailbox. It's a fantastic program. Next time you need to look up your license information? Simply start LicenseKeeper and there it is, right at your fingertips.
Like (2)
JSH56
23 June 2010
Doesn't 1Password already do this, or not? Just asking.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.9
1 answer(s)
marzipan
marzipan
12 December 2010
not quite - 1Password, like SafePlace and a bunch of other info-keeping software, will hang onto this information for you, but it requires you to enter the data into it manually, while LicenseKeeper gathers the information itself from LicenseKeeper files and emails. it basically makes the process of getting the information *into* LicenseKeeper far easier than getting it into 1Password or SafePlace or whatever. and Dear Whomever Gave Jah's Question a -1: you're an idiot. it was a QUESTION. jeez.
Like (2)
Paul-Harvey
10 April 2010
Typical Mac Elegance. Neat and simple Software Imports Entourage emails almost effortlessly. Reasonable price. In my mac top 10 life support gear alongside Drag Thing, 1Password, Superduper, etc.
Like (7)
Version 1.5.7
Pik80
16 August 2009
It would be better to spend a little extra money to get FileMaker Bento to do this functionality (you can download a template to do Licenses on the Bento website.) In my opinion it would be better to spend $44 and get way more functionality than pay $20 for a program that you will only use for a very short amount of time to enter in the licenses. (Sorry about the double post. I noticed a lot of spelling errors on my original post but MacUpdate wouldn't let me change it so I had to write a new one.
Like (6)
Version 1.4.10
3 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
25 August 2009
Yes but what about attaching license files and scraping emails for serial numbers? What about loading csv or appshelf files when you buy a bundle. A basic database would work as well so would creating a spreadsheet and tracking your serials this way but the thing that's missing here is "ease of use". I use a central license tracking app because it makes it trivial to store my license in a single function low resource app. If I have to fire up Bento (with its corollary resource hit) every time I want to add, modify a license that doesn't make much sense to me. Bento is a great app that I plan to purchase but it doesn't make my job easier with regard to tracking my licenses. In License Keeper I have value added features that go behind what a basic database app like Bento offers and time being the one commodity you never get any more of I like the ease and time saving.
Like (4)
Version 1.5
Pik80
Pik80
25 August 2009
I have found it very fast to enter in my licensing info through Bento. Filemaker did an incredible job in making Bento easy to use. Personally I want to enter the information instead of the software since because I can't have ANY room for error. If I spent over $2,000 on Adobe's Creative I want to know that I have the correct license otherwise I will have the rude awaking one day that the license that was entered in was in fact wrong meaning that I would then have to blow another two grand re buying Creative Suite. I mean, really, how long does it take to enter in a single license. Two minutes? That is time well spent to me. I don't see how LicenseKeeper goes beyond Bento at all. csv is the format for exporting to spreadsheets? Bento can do that. Bento seems to work very well resource wise on my 5 year old mac. I don't notice any slow down at all.
Like (3)
Version 1.5
marzipan
marzipan
12 December 2010
based on your arguments and my experience with LicenseKeeper (i have no experience with Bento), i personally think LicenseKeeper's the better solution. it's still quicker to let LK gather the information itself and to then double-check its work to make sure it got it right than it would be to transfer all the information into a database yourself from emails and wherever.
Like
nathenwestfield
12 August 2009
This is the best license software ever. It makes so much easier to keep a record of all your serial numbers and names. It saves a lot of frustration
Like (4)
Version 1.4.10
JPP-Zoso
10 July 2009
is there a sync feature between/among multiple machines? this feature does not seem to be mentioned on the developer's web site. seems to me one of the primary goals for this type of application is to provide easy access to this type of data on all machines that need it...single machine solutions are a deal breaker. might also be helpful to add a workstation field for those software applications locked into a specific machine.
Like
Version 1.4.9
Arobulack
09 July 2009
Two words: kick ass. This is the best software license management app out there, bar none. I have never had a problem with it, its easy-to-use organization has saved me countless times, and, to put it bluntly, it's a joy to use. I manage over 200 commercial software and shareware licenses with this app. I couldn't live without it!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.9
libecchio
05 July 2009
I used to use KeePassX to keep my licences. It is an excellent general encryption program, but was starting to become unwieldy and the difference in switching to LicenseKeeper is huge - the sheer slickness of capturing a licence is great. Press Import Application and select it from the Finder to create the basics (database entry, name, icon, version number etc.), then select the corresponding registration email in Entourage and press Attach Email. The email contents are parsed and usually put into the various fields (registration name, registration email, product key etc.), including attachments as separate files; that doesn't always work, because there is no standard format for registration emails, but I found there was no further typing required about 80% of the time. So a registration is usually captured in two mouse clicks and, even better, the product key is automatically pasted to the clipboard. If there is no email, the application details may be typed directly into the form, which is well designed (a big box for serial number on the front tab, so no constraints on its format). I created a database with about 40 entries in half an hour, then exported it (XML plus encrypted attachments) to DropBox. Job done, and far more accurately than before; spending a little money on a dedicated application was money well spent.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.8
Aapple
24 June 2009
If it has instructions it might be useful. As it is, it does not do as advertised: namely automatically find license keys from my e-mail archives. It has a nice lookup interface, but all I care about is finding serial numbers. The amount of effort apparently required to update the data is just as much as editing a text file, and that is free!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.8
2 answer(s)
Jon-Trainer
Jon-Trainer
24 June 2009
LicenseKeeper has two phases of data detection: 1. At Application Import, LicenseKeeper will try to determine the app name, icon, version, publisher, website, and a few other details. 2. When attaching emails to an application entry, LicenseKeeper will scan the email's text for serial numbers, registered email address, and other purchase related information.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.8
hmurchison
hmurchison
09 July 2009
I find that LicenseKeeper grabs the serial number about 75 % of the time correctly. The only problems that I find are when you have say an email from a bundle that contains a plethora of serial numbers. I don't expect a $20 app to have the kind of Artificial Intelligence to accurately pull out the correct serial number in this case. Sure I could put all my licenses in a spreadsheet or even on a pad of paper for free but LK allows me to to agregate not just serial numbers but whatever files I want to attach be they PDF or a custom license file or more. I can't do as easily with a spreadsheet or text file. I also love the ability to refresh the apps list and pull the latest version numbers.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.9
hmurchison
06 June 2009
I really like LicenseKeeper. I think the ease in being able to add not only apps but Pref panes, widgets plugins and more makes it the premier license tracking repository on the market. I've had excellent stability with the application. However with that said in mind the developer missed a BIG opportunity to align with bundles like MacHeist and Mupromo and more to deliver easy importation of license data? I'm afraid that AppShelf is going to overtake LicenseKeepr, not because they have a better product..they don't but because they have outfoxed the fox. I've docked LK a star because I think they should be finding ways to make it easy to import these bundled apps. I've cringed in the past dealing with a multitude of different license schemes and fastidiously importing my data. Throw us a bone here. At the least add Appshelf license file import and save us the grief. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.7
1 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
23 June 2009
My prayers have been answered. Thank you. signed - Happy LicenseKeeper user.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.8
Donnrichards
28 May 2009
5 Star Customer Support. I asked for support for importing data from "The Serial Keeper". TSK is a great application, but it has been discontinued, and is no longer available. Jon was extremely responsive regarding my request. I am now a LicenseKeeper user!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.7
Iamdorian
20 April 2009
Tried a demo, and I am sold. I used to use a program called Be Safe!, but this has died. That developer was trying to satisfy this market's needs as well - serial number storage. Of all the "license" storage apps this appears to be the only one truly tailored to serial numbers storage/retrieval. This said, the app could use a separate activation # pop-up or divided field area in the license field. This is a commonly required piece of data for higher-end applications in the video and animation markets. I'd like to see this as a MUPromo item! I'll be buying my license soon. Good work.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.6
Oneblessedguy
14 April 2009
I would love it if this could import AppShelf stuff. I have a file but already own LK. This program is incredible! Perhaps this could be an added feature? Thanks!
Like
Version 1.4.6
1 answer(s)
Jon-Trainer
Jon-Trainer
24 June 2009
AppShelf import is now included. Drag and Drop the file to the LicenseKeeper dock icon or to the source list. You can also use the Import XML function via the Import External Data menu item.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.8
hmurchison
02 April 2009
I hate tracking license info. It's so non-standard. Most developers have serial numbers but some have license files and other methods for piracy prevention. Keeping up with them can be difficult. I know it's possible to simply place the serials in a spreadsheet but I just wanted a more "centric" program for licensing. Initially I balked at the $19.95 price but after using it and adding a bunch of apps I'm not missing that money but i've gained a lot of usefulness. Now when there's a software bundle I immediately add the apps to LK and attach the email or license files to the respective app[s]. It couldn't be more simple. I like that everything you need is there. Automatic email scanning (though it tends to pull the first serial even if there are more in the email) and support for pref panes and more. I guess the next task will be how well I can transport my licenses. I'm planning an upgrade to my Mac and I may do a fresh install and reinstallation of all 3rd party apps. So far so good.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.6
1 answer(s)
John-Quinn
John-Quinn
09 June 2009
When I formatted my hard drive and re-installed all my apps, I lost almost all of the license information I had stored in License Keeper. Before formatting, I updated License Keeper and exported the content. However, when I tried to import it again later, it only imported part of the information - many serials were missing and so were all the application icons. I can't remember the version of License Keeper this happened with, must have been about ten months ago. I am sure this issue has been taken care of by now. I myself am reluctant to use this app since, however, and rather try to store my license information in more conventional old school ways. What I am saying is that simply beware of the possibility of losing your information and maybe create an external copy of your licenses before formatting just in case.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.7
Picon
27 March 2009
The absolute best app of its kind. Period. To top it off, the developer is one of the most responsive I have ever dealt with. 5 stars all around!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.5
papericons
31 July 2008
App refreshing? Great! I love this app. Easy to use, nice interface! Thanks.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Darkathena76
20 June 2008
I like this app for its layout and integration with Mac OS X (I can use it on Tiger or Leopard). The one thing that really irks me though is that it has NO option to password protect its database or a way to encrypt its contents - the developer suggests Filevault. However, when I asked him about it he replied in an email that he is working on such a feature - so there's hope! The main reason I chose this application over RapidoSerial (which is also a nice app, and free) is that with this one I can store those pesky license files that some developers use to license their apps. I say they're "pesky" because it's not the easiest to keep track of them. Is $20 worth it to keep track of those license files even without encryption? To me it is. If this app had the ability to encrypt its database or at the very least password protect itself then it would be perfect.
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Macnook
Macnook
27 September 2008
A side note: I store all my license files in RapidoSerial. In the lower right corner, it says "Documents"-- click the + sign and add your license files.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Joi
17 April 2008
How is this better than RapidoSerial which is free??? http://www.app4mac.com/action_view_freeware.lasso?-token=($Var_sess_productfree)&-session=WEBS:4760ECE20a2ec199DDqxp2C8C012
Like
Version 1.3.4
papericons
18 February 2008
I really like this app. I finally got rid of that free one (which I won't mention) that was taking forever to load and to save individual entries with. It was driving me bats! LicenseKeeper works smoothly and I was happy to spend the money in order not to slow my computer down which the other application did. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
Oneblessedguy
18 January 2008
I feel that $20 is a little steep for this app. Even $15 would be better. How about run a deal on it? Anyway, I don't like the fact that the info isn't stored in the keychain. Granted, most of the time this isn't an issue. But if I was going to pay for an app, versus getting one for free, I would expect this feature.
Like
Version 1.2.4
krixi-kraxi
04 October 2007
use rapidoserial, its nearly the same und its 100$ free!! svrroot
Like
Version 1.2.4
Adonsa
11 September 2007
Re: >LicenseKeeper is the first and only license > manager to store both serial numbers and license > files along with receipts, email and other related files. Sorry, Not the first. Software Accountant tracked software purchases, expenditures, license, and any other info (in remarks) back in 1990.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Jmorgan
07 September 2007
cool little app! great work
Like
Version 1.2.3
rwebber
09 August 2007
Definitely a must have for keeping track of a rapidly multiplying list of software registration codes. Attaching emails and related files is becoming necessary since many developers are now issuing license files instead of simple registration codes. Autoscan of emails for serial numbers is welcome as well.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Yogi-Coach
17 June 2007
I licensed this application soon after putting it through its paces, and I'm glad I did! I use a wide variety of applications and utilities and in the past it has been a bit of a chore keeping track of all of the serial numbers. LicenseKeeper has made this tracking easier than I would have thought possible. I especially like the ability to be able to be able to select one or more e-mails in Mail and import them into LicenseKeeper with the click of a button. The software is even smart enough to extract the serial number and other information from the imported e-mails. Brilliant! I highly recommend this application to anyone with more than a few serial numbers to manage. I've tried using more general information management utilities (including using SplashID for years), but see the benefit in having a dedicated utility for the task of serial number tracking.
Like
Version 1.1.2
curlypaws
08 March 2007
This is a very neat little application, which I ended up buying soon after trying. I love the ability to link e-mails and files to a program - particularly since (like LicenseKeeper itself) some programs are licensed through files rather than numbers. It has a great ability to suck serial numbers out of e-mails. It doesn't password protect its database, but as a home user that isn't an issue. Storing other security items separately would be justified for me as I would want them password protected.
Like
Version 1.0
Gordon142
06 March 2007
Seems very cool. I only wish it was setup to handle more than just licence files, because while its licence-handling abilities surpass those of Steel (my current secure-storage app), it is not very practical for the storage of other types of records, and I don't wish to migrate one data type only to an entirely different application.
Like
Version 1.0