Back to Caffeine page
Caffeine free download for Mac

Caffeine Reviews

1.1.2
03 September 2019

Don't let your Mac fall asleep.

Drdul
16 January 2009

Most helpful

What a useful little app! The addition of a setting for a default duration makes this even easier to use.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4

Read 57 Caffeine User Reviews

Rate this app:

jstnbreen
04 January 2020
I’ve been using this app forever, and so happy it still works. Thank you to the makers and developers!
Like
Version 1.1.2
fleur2metaline-1
21 August 2019
Still run fine with Mojave (exept a very little aesthetic detail with the menu bar icon) ; the lightweight caffeinate app : 261 KB ! Amazing ! Thanx 2 dev
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
IntelliScape Solutions
IntelliScape Solutions
04 September 2019
You'll be happy to hear that improvements in the menu bar icon are on the way :-)
Like
Version 1.1.2
northernmunky1981
12 August 2017
Just discovered that this function is built in! Just type 'caffeinate' into a terminal window. Add “-t xx” to specify duration in seconds. So -t 3600 for an hour.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Crunc
Crunc
17 November 2017
Oh, that's awesome. Thanks for the heads up on this!
Like
demyson-and
11 August 2015
It just does what it supposed to do. One of the first apps I always install on new Macs. But currently, on Yosemite, it keeps "selected" after a click to make it Active.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
ronaldpr
ronaldpr
07 January 2017
Strange. It worked fine for me in Yosemite, and in El Capitan, and now again in macOS 10.12 Sierra. It does indeed stay selected when I right-click (or control-click) the menu icon. But I never need to do that. I simply click to activate and click again to deactivate.
Like
Mcr
09 August 2015
I tried the following programs Amphetamine, Caffiene. Anti Sleep. I like Anti Sleep best, especially for the new MacBooks with Haswell chips that no longer have a 'Never Sleep' option under Power Preferences. Here's what I like in Anti Sleep:
1) has a auto launch/auto activate on system startup option, great for remote systems, like a laptop, that need to be always on for access. No human needed to activate.
2) Has options to only activate when powered by AC, versus battery, or both. Again, great for laptops.
3) Display sleep can be set separately from machine sleep.

I provide remote assistance to family. When they need me to look at something on their system, I just need to tell them turn on the laptop, plug it in, leave the lid up. They don't even need 'activate' since it is set to auto launch and activate if AC power is on. I can then log in anytime thereafter, even late night. I set options auto launch/activate at startup, activate only when AC is on, and stay awake indefinitely.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Smayer97
Smayer97
11 March 2016
Re option 1) You can do this manually by adding to Login Items in Accounts preferences (System Preferences) . The app just does it for you more easily
Options 2 & 3 are nice options
Like
Mcr
Mcr
12 March 2016
"Re option 1) You can do this manually by adding to Login Items in Accounts preferences (System Preferences) "

Yes, true, and for geeks like us, that's okay, but for non-techies, like in my family, I try not to encourage them to mess with Login items. True story, I showed an in-law once about Login items. Week later, he calls me complaining his system has a virus, he's been hacked, etc. I asked, "what makes you say that?" He says, "It's really slow when I turn it on, and I can't do anything for several minutes, and the beachball spins, like somebody is accessing my computer." Well, he had added like 20+ apps to Login Items at startup. "Why did you do that?" I said. "These are the apps I use the most, I want them all available as soon as my machine is turned on." And funny, when I tried to explain why that would slow down his mac at boot, he just couldn't grasp it, because when he launches indivdually, they load (from his perspective) almost instantly. LOL...so yeah, gotta be careful not to give people too much rope :-)

also for non techies, I believe it is critical to have the program recognize if the mac is running on battery and have an option to disengage. Non techies who just unplug power and close the lid, without thinking, will risk draining the battery dead and worse, overheating the laptop.
Like (3)
TCalhau
18 January 2015
After the apparent abandonment of Caffeine by its developer and its not support the retinas screens and Dark mode on Yosemite, I decided to look for a replacement the height! I found the incredible Wimoweh also that works perfectly and has several more options including: not let Mac sleep but allow the monitor to sleep. Found it amazing! S2
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Donmontalvo
12 November 2014
I love this app...but it needs to be updated for Yosemite. Sometimes the menu icon blacks out and the only way to fix it is to exit/relaunch.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
vio-stll
vio-stll
17 January 2015
there's another app called "theine" which supports the yosemite darkmode and also retina.
Like
Shadokuss
28 March 2014
Works, do what it is intend to, simple, efficient. What else?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Maxruehl
09 June 2013
Is there a way to suppress the preferences window at launch? It's a bit of an annoyance to have to manually close the prefs window every time the app launches--they can be accessed via right clicking the menu bar icon, so I see no reason we should be faced with the prefs every time the app starts. Is there a way to change this that I'm missing?
Like
Version 1.1.1
Jstgermain
15 April 2013
Does what it says. It wont let the comp sleep, unless you close the lid. I wanted something where I could close the lid too, and this just inst the solution. NoSleep seems to do the job better.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Deebster
11 April 2013
Not working for me on 10.8.3 and a late 2008 iMac. Seems to be doing nothing at all, as my Mac is still sleeping based on Energy Saver preferences.
Like
Version 1.1.1
gorges
20 March 2013
Great time saving and useful app. IMHO must have. Love it. Works perfectly on Mountain Lion 10.8.3
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
21 March 2013
Mountain Lion 10.8.2 here, made sure it was set for the default 5 hours, filled the cup with coffee, then launched screensaver so that the screen wasn't blinding while I slept and the computer did its thing. The computer fell asleep 15 minutes later anyhow. Will have to troubleshoot, but at present app does not seem to work.
Like
Sheagirl
29 December 2012
This program works great for me with Mountain Lion. Does just what it is supposed to do. I have a backup routine set up to run in the middle of the night and prior to installing this it was always interrupted by power sleep. Once I installed this and set it up to prevent sleep my backups work wonderfully. Power Nap has its place but unfortunately the power nap mode does not respond to most non apple applications once engaged. This resolves that problem. It always amazes me that people read a developers statement about what his/her app is supposed to do and then download it expecting it to do something very different…and then write a bad review because you did not believe the developers description of his/her product? I fully understand giving suggestions on possible improvements etc but to rate the app down because it was not built and tailored to meet your needs? Especially on a free app. Software is like anything else buyer beware and do not throw a temper tantrum because you failed to research what you are buying/ downloading. Sorry for ranting but it is just such a waste of time to read some reviews. However real feedback, suggestions for improvement and reviews that point out things the app promises to do but either fails to do or fails to do appropriately are so helpful and I very much appreciate this site for providing a forum for access to the same. I think that the misplaced reviews are also a result of poor reading comprehension as some can not tell a comment from a review?
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
theredqueentheory
21 December 2012
Doesn't work on Airbook 10.7.5 after multiple downloads. Have done everything else, the only way my mac stays bright is if I keep the color LCD display window OPEN on the brightest level. The minute I close it, it changes itself to the dim menu. When I open it back up, the slider is back to dim. This is with Caffeine running.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Thomas-Svendsen
15 December 2012
Works just great. Computers need no sleep, people do.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Danco
17 August 2012
I found Caffeine extremely useful in Snow Leopard. Have never used Lion, but on Mountain Lion it does not seem to disable sleep, due to a change in the way the system handles sleep. Still, no harm in downloading it and trying.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
barryg84
barryg84
15 November 2012
Is it worth having on mountain lion ?
Like
sebthedev
25 April 2012
Simply brilliant, though I dislike the icon, so I made my own ones: http://www.zibity.com/othergoodies#caffeine
Like
Version 1.1.1
Doug-S-
14 April 2012
Stability and features are just fine. Assuming it worked and even a free app is still a bad value if it doesn't do anything.
Like
Version 1.1.1
4 answer(s)
rinopo
rinopo
16 April 2012
Works fine for me on Lion. Have you right-clicked (or command+click) the Caffeine icon and set the options as you would like it to do anything?
Like
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
16 April 2012
Yep, I played with the options, tweaked settings... It seemed as if it was semi-functional in that the screen did not appear to go to sleep but it wouldn't show up as another computer on my network, but would the second I woke it up properly. In the end I settled on using NoSleep, which might not be as feature-rich as this app bug actually works for me.
Like
rinopo
rinopo
16 April 2012
Okay, maybe you're right. Sorry I'm not sure. I haven't tested it in that way. I usually have my mac set never to sleep in the General Preferences and have been using this app just to prevent the display from sleeping. So maybe I'm not a typical user, you made me remember. And Caffeine actually does not allow a MacBook to work in so-called clamshell mode if that's the thing wanted.
Like
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
16 April 2012
Essentially, that's what I intended. Luckily, NoSleep appears to work just fine for my purposes. It was getting to the point where I was just going to install Ubuntu's server edition over Lion and just run that as it doesn't have sleep functionality. So for anyone who wants to stop their Mac from falling asleep, this might do that but if you want to run it in clamshell mode without an external display this won't help you.
Like
r-owen
11 April 2012
Very useful for preventing sleep while giving presentations, watching videos or downloading large files. It does exactly what I want and does it well with a nice simple user interface and no problems.
Like
Version 1.1.1
crosstrainer
09 March 2012
I love this program! My Mac is plugged in 99% of the time when I am not travelling. With one click, Caffeine allows me to keep my Mac alive and disable the power-saving options. Very useful when background tasks (like Picasa photo uploads) are running, or when I don't want the hassle of waking the Mac back up from sleep. Free, simple, and easy to use.
Like
Version 1.1.1
zuluwarrior
27 January 2012
Fantastic and free. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.1.1
dieselman
05 November 2011
could not download.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Monstrum
Monstrum
05 November 2011
Their site is down. This is app worth waiting for!
Like
Mruben
29 July 2011
Seems not to work anymore under 10.7 Lion. Any news of a pending update?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
14 April 2012
Agreed. Can't get it to work after multiple attempts. Moving on.
Like
Rshorts
29 April 2011
Probably the app I use the most on my Mac. Just perfect.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
iminlalaland
13 January 2011
Caffeine is fantastic! Very simple and convenient. User-friendly as well.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Beamy
02 December 2010
This is a great program. I like it a lot ! I would like to have an option, so that it prevents the CPU from sleeping (programs keep running) but lets the screen sleep (LCD turns off).
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Zaraxul
13 October 2010
An unambitious but valuable little app. I like it and use it often.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Smactron
15 September 2010
I love Caffeine. Any way future versions could incorporate the option to disable other things too? If it could talk to Growl and disable Growl notifications, or disable other clutter, it would be indispensable for things like watching a movie, giving presentations, et cetera.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Utrunn
19 April 2010
I use it all the time. It's a great little app that works excellently. I don't know what I'd do without it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
CollinBl
13 March 2010
Works as advertised and on 10.6.2 and is indispensable for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Cyborgsam
13 March 2010
The perfection of minimalism: fully functional, does one thing perfectly. I use it every day & it works fine.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Josh-Rodgers
15 October 2009
I downloaded this software so I wouldn't have to change my system preferences every time I wanted to watch a movie. This little app is excellent! It was exactly what I was looking for and program use couldn't be simpler. Just click on the coffee cup and that's it! Returning to regular mode works exactly the same! It's a great little free program. Simple, straight-forward, easy to use.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Oak
17 September 2009
Have you ever heard the old saw, "Never look a gift horse in the mouth"? Caffein is FREE. When one pays for an App one gets the right to complain about it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Wcitymike
04 September 2009
I can't say I'm a fan of Lighthead Software. Caffeine's latest icon incarnation is horrible: you are supposed to look at the very small pixel area of a coffee cup and go, "Is that full, or empty?" Its prior incarnation -- a black Zzz that either had an X over it (i.e. no sleep) or did not -- was easily identifiable at a moment's glance, and also fit in with the diagrammatic and black feel of most other menu bar icons. So, I sent a handful of very obsequious support e-mails, spaced evenly quite a long time: might you be willing to send me a copy of the old application? Or, failing that, on a larger scale, might you be willing to offer the older icon to those of us who want it via a preferences choice? I never heard a response. Then, one day, I learned that some URL hacking revealed the earlier version of Caffeine I needed. To clarify: it was on their site all along. All they would have had to do to make my day is to just once respond to the e-mail by mailing me its URL; it wouldn't have required any particular effort to make new things available. They completely ignored a (potential) customer's requests, requests that I then learned would have taken them nearly zero effort to answer. The mark of a truly sucky company, in my opinion. P.S. For those of you who want the older icon: download http://files.lightheadsw.com/releases/com.lightheadsw.Caffeine/Caffeine1.0.zip and extract active.png, hiliteactive.png, hilited.png and inactive.png from it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
Robackja
Robackja
04 September 2009
I'd have to say, I much rather the coffee cup icon over the ZZZ text. And thats on a 30" monitor. I could easily see the difference between white (empty) and brown (full). That being said, its all about options, and what icons someone likes someone probably hates. Maybe future versions can have both set of icons. That way if ppl are having trouble seeing the cup icon they could switch to text :)
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Wcitymike
Wcitymike
04 September 2009
You say "and that's on a 30" monitor." By saying that, are you suggesting that 30" is somehow to be considered a small monitor?
Like
Version 1.1
Robackja
Robackja
04 September 2009
A 30" monitor has a high resolution. Mine is 2560x1600. Things are much smaller physically on the screen. The dpi is higher than say a 24" monitor @ 1920x1200 or a 15" laptop screen @ 1440x900. So my point was, even at that DPI I am still able to see the icon clearly. and again, I like it. But its only my opinion. That is why I said it would be nice to see the icon be an option in the preferences.
Like (3)
Version 1.1
Ayub
17 July 2009
Great! Was looking for it. Sometimes while reading a complex document relaxing on my chair I need the sleep/display-sleep disabled without going to PrefPane. This application does exactly what is needed in such cases. Keep it up. :)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
Jr23
09 July 2009
This is a wonderful little utility. I frequently attend webinars, and use SnapzPro to do a video capture. I would always forget to turn off both the screen saver and power saver (I'm on a MacBook, 10.5.7) at the beginning of the webinar. Now, I just click the coffee mug in the menu bar, and I'm good to go. Feature request: this is probably a whole other can of worms, but I'd love a single-click utility with Caffeine's function that also includes the option to pause things like iCal alarms, system alerts, etc. In the meantime, anyone know of a utility that does this other function?
Like
Version 1.0.4
Biker4mac
28 April 2009
For the simple act this program performs, not only does it perform it well without a clutter of "extra" and unneeded features, but one doesn't realize how useful this simple act can be until they start using Caffeine. I use my computer off and on throughout the day. So things are set so that if I'm away for more than a few minutes the screensaver clicks on. If I'm away for fifteen to twenty minutes the computer goes to sleep. Based on my work habits, that works well for me. But getting into the system preferences to deactivate the screen saver and sleep mode if I'm doing something without input for awhile gets to be a pain. And although iTunes deactivates these settings if you're watching a video, watching something online with a browser doesn't have that benefit. South Park online is a guilty pleasure, I must admit. So Caffeine's little coffee cup sits in my menubar and is very easy to click on when I need it. If only it were that easy to keep myself awake and alert for those late night pushes for a deadline!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
Drdul
16 January 2009
What a useful little app! The addition of a setting for a default duration makes this even easier to use.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
Haleakalari
13 December 2008
there seems to be a minor interface glitch with this version of caffeine (1.0.4). under os x 10.4.11, when command clicking on the icon, the submenu which allows one to activate caffeine for a specific period of time, does not display text. just thought i'd let you know.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Umijin
04 June 2008
Hmmm - new download doesn't seem to have a way to install. Can't quit the menubar applet to allow a drag and drop replace. No info I can see on the developer site on how to update, AFAIK.
Like
Version 1.0.3
3 answer(s)
Umijin
Umijin
04 June 2008
Thanks! That did it. I wasn't aware of command+click functionality. I tried control+click, which seemed a logical choice. This app is very helpful and works well. I hope the developer will post instructions for other users wanting to upgrade.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Tomas-Franzén
Tomas-Franzén
04 June 2008
Hi, I'm the developer of Caffeine. The instructions on how to show the menu is both on our web site and is displayed the first time you start Caffeine. Holding down either the command key or control key while clicking the menu bar icon will do. Thanks, Tomas, Lighthead Software
Like
Version 1.0.3
Umijin
Umijin
04 June 2008
Thanks. I overlooked this info on the MU site, but didn't recall it on the developer site. It's not clear to this user that the command+click would allow you to QUIT the app - this could be indicated more clearly somewhere. And although I probably read the notice upon install a few weeks back- I didn't recall it. I also am not able to get the menu to appear with a right click on my logitech mouse, which usually is the same as control+click in most of my applications and the finder. I'm unsure if this is a problem with my mouse, or Caffeine. In any case thanks again for your help.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Jadder
04 June 2008
This is a great little program that does exactly what it says. I find it very useful to use when giving presentations.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Nickel
12 April 2008
Very nice app. It could use a different menu bar icon but it's fine. I would like to be able to move it around on the menu bar, perhaps that feature could be added. Anyways, nice application.
Like
Version 1.0.2
F451
12 April 2008
A non intrusive great little does-as-you-wish app for when you want to keep your computer from sleeping that works well. What else can I say?
Like
Version 1.0.2
D3isme
12 April 2008
I like the cup icon. I find it easy to see (on 13" laptop) and the rounded shape looks good in the menu bar next to the Awake and Time Machine icons. I don't think it's any less intuitive than the ZzZ - it's just what you're used to. Perhaps a choice could be possible? Needing to reopen on restart is a pain, but at least it's just a matter of tapping the icon. Love this app. It makes everything easier.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Iscream
12 April 2008
Back to old 1.0 ZzZ icon PLEEEASE !!!
Like
Version 1.0.2
Deltanick
10 February 2008
After installing Caffeine 1.0.1, I found that each time I start/restart my Mac, Cafeine is turned OFF. I don't want it turned off, I want it ON! I'm reinstalling Caffeine version 1.0. At least it stayed ON.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
22 January 2009
Of all the time you waste on the computer... clicking a little icon on the top of the screen is a major issue?
Like
Version 1.0.4
Wcitymike
26 January 2008
The new icon is *horrid* and very non-functional. It was easy to tell at a quick glance whether your Mac was sleeping before. Now, you have to squint and try to figure out if the cup's full or not. Bad, bad, bad, bad, bad!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Magosilvan
25 January 2008
I agree with GPAPAIN: Useful, but please return to the "old" icon: the new one is less intuitive, or at list let the coffee cup become red when the Mac can't sleep!
Like
Version 1.0.1
mathuaerknedam
25 January 2008
The old icon was ugly and the new one is much more attractive. However, it isn't as easy to notice that the computer is caffeinated without intentionally looking to see. Maybe if the caffienated cup was red it would help.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Akrobat
24 January 2008
My MacBook constantly starts the screensaver after about 3 minutes for some reason even if I have the settings to 'never'. Been trying to figure out what the problem is but to no avail. This app is a pretty handy solution!
Like
Version 1.0.1