Back to DVD Snap page
DVD Snap free download for Mac

DVD Snap Reviews

3.2.1
05 December 2016

Takes screenshots of movies on Apple DVD player.

Brainbytes
06 May 2008

Most helpful

I simply must write a white-hot, glowing review of DVD Snap 2.0.1!!! I have been computing professionally since 1983, when I computerized a nationally known business in Manhattan. I have had many experiences with creative type software packages and tech support for various hardware and software matters, too, over the years. DVD Snap 2.0.1 is a very cool program; it really helped me do this latest project. Tobias Jordan, (Developer & Founder of Tool Force Software;http://www.tool-forcesw.com), has just provided me with the best, most comprehensive, innovative, thorough, professional, caring, knowledgeable, personal tech support I have ever enjoyed in my entire life! He responded to my few emailed inquiries, even on the weekend, extraordinarily fast. He really helped me quickly with very direct replies. Although he resides in Germany, and speaks German, his English is fabulous. No language barrier here. But the best part of his wide expertise blew me away on this past Sunday night, when at 11:00 P.M. his time, he spent 50 minutes with me online using iChat to take control of my computer screen, and actually manipulate his software, DVD Snap 2.0.1 using my movie, loaded into my computer's DVD drive, to see EXACTLY where my problem was. It was an unbelievably fast, deep, and sophisticated method of providing "virtual on-site" tech support. Due to this cool troubleshooting, he was able to see exactly what I was doing incorrectly, and fix the problem himself, while I watched, in amazement, as he moved my mouse cursor all over the screen with lightning efficiency!! And, all this on a Sunday night, 11:00 P.M - 11:50 P.M. his time, and for a software package costing only $19.95 (no shipping or tax either). WHAT A DEAL!!!! This guy is super smart and he really cares.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1

Read 38 DVD Snap User Reviews

Rate this app:

Prince-Isaac
22 December 2015
What I don't understand is why ordinary screen grabbers can't take a snapshot of a paused DVD movie. I've tried several (Apple's cmd-shift-3, Jing, Voila, Snap N Drag among others) and all they display is a gray area in the DVD player window. Is this some "feature" that the industry forced upon Apple?
Like
Version 3.2
Anthony1947
26 October 2015
Another option is to save the $15 for something useful, and use any screen capture tool while watching the same DVD using VLC instead of Apple's DVD Player. It works … perfectly.
Like
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
Cheops
Cheops
29 September 2016
VLC has its own screen capture and it works great, but who wants to navigate through the whole movie to get periodic screen caps? Windows Media Player Classic would create screen caps without having to do that.
Like
FalstaffA
07 September 2012
There is an issue with DVD Snap 3.0.5 which contradicts the following statement copied from Tool Force's website: "DVD Snap 3 works also perfectly under Snow Leopard. As usual, the new version is totally free for all previous users of DVD Snap." Well, 3.0.5 doe NOT work at all with Snow Leopard, it won't even install on 10.6.8, immediately upon unzipping the archived disk image the application is shown with the customary circle with a diagonal slash across it. I've noticed that here at MU the compatibility requirement is noted as 10.7 (Lion) or later, obviously some type of clarification from the developer would be desirable. Is DVD Snap 3.0.5 supposed to be able to work under Snow Leopard but a glitch prevents it at the moment, or is the statement on Tool Force's website incorrect?
Like
Version 3.0.5
2 answer(s)
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
25 September 2012
I'm sorry to hear you're having issues getting DVD Snap 3 to run on 10.6 Snow Leopard. Please click "Download Older Version" next to "Download Now" to get DVD Snap 3.0.4 which works just fine on 10.6. We'll also update our website asap in order to make sure no one running 10.6 accidentally downloads an incompatible version.
Like (1)
FalstaffA
FalstaffA
26 September 2012
Thanks for the clarification dev, I guess I'll have to continue to use DVD Snap 3.0.4 for the time being as I have no plans to cripple my Macs with Lion or Mountain Lion. Thanks again.
Like
Telman
29 March 2012
Great application, particularly for those who are less computer literate. Met our needs superbly.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
Tool Force Software
26 March 2012
We are aware of that issue and are currently working on an update. Thank you for your patience!
Like
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
26 March 2012
We just released DVD Snap 3.0.4 that fixes the critical bug preventing DVD Snap 3 from capturing photos. It turned out to be only a problem of the trial version.
Like
Samantha-Meagan
09 March 2012
I love DVD Snap, I'm so glad I stumbled upon it. My Mac OS X version is 10.6.8 and other screenshot apps are no longer able to take screenshots of Apple's DVD Player, all you get is a checkerboard in the pic. This really frustrated me, I like taking screenshots of movies or shows on DVD. Apple had changed their DVD Player :( . Then there is DVD Snap to the rescue. It easily takes wonderful screenshots of just what's on the DVD Player screen-no need to crop the shot later on. I also love the gallery-all pics in one safe place. Then you can export your shots to many different formats. You can take screenshot using the menu bar never having to leave the DVD Player-very easy. Great price for this great app. A must have if you like to take DVD screenshots. Thank you. :)
Like
Version 3.0.3
as-contact
29 January 2012
Beautifully designed, really great piece of software. Worth every penny. Service, assistance is quick and to the point. NO hassle. It does exactly what it has to do.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Ranxho
27 November 2011
Great Support! Even it took 4 days for the update license to come, well, it is the Thanksgiving week week end after all. When I remember that, it took my grumpish away. Happy Holiday!
Like
Version 3.0.2
Macbrian
03 November 2011
Agreed! I was sent an upgraded registration key for v3 quite quickly. It's a great little piece of software that accomplishes quite a feat -- I appreciate the concept and that I can easily get a "just right" snap from a movie!
Like
Version 3.0.1
PauloA
03 November 2011
Great app, great support. I strongly recommend it. Had DVD Snap 2 and received the new key for the upgrade very fast, after sending an email.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Fariborz
27 October 2011
I do admire developers like this. I sent them a request for upgrading to version 3 and in less than 30 minutes my free key was delivered to me. This is what I call a *genuine customer service*. Thanks and all the best. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like
Version 3.0
Keppy-Fimble
24 October 2011
I got version 2 in a bundle some time ago, but never used it. It wasn't very intuitive and I had problems getting it to work reliably. Version 3, however, is an amazing improvement. It feels much more like a familiar Mac app, both in looks and features. It's very responsive and hasn't crashed on me. Hopefully Apple won't break it with their updates for a while, because now I can think of some ways this will be useful. Also, since I got it through a 3rd party bundle, I needed to get my 3.0 key from the developer directly. He was very helpful and responsive. The free upgrade from 2 to 3 makes Tool Force's apps much more appealing to me.
Like
Version 3.0
Brainbytes
06 May 2008
I simply must write a white-hot, glowing review of DVD Snap 2.0.1!!! I have been computing professionally since 1983, when I computerized a nationally known business in Manhattan. I have had many experiences with creative type software packages and tech support for various hardware and software matters, too, over the years. DVD Snap 2.0.1 is a very cool program; it really helped me do this latest project. Tobias Jordan, (Developer & Founder of Tool Force Software;http://www.tool-forcesw.com), has just provided me with the best, most comprehensive, innovative, thorough, professional, caring, knowledgeable, personal tech support I have ever enjoyed in my entire life! He responded to my few emailed inquiries, even on the weekend, extraordinarily fast. He really helped me quickly with very direct replies. Although he resides in Germany, and speaks German, his English is fabulous. No language barrier here. But the best part of his wide expertise blew me away on this past Sunday night, when at 11:00 P.M. his time, he spent 50 minutes with me online using iChat to take control of my computer screen, and actually manipulate his software, DVD Snap 2.0.1 using my movie, loaded into my computer's DVD drive, to see EXACTLY where my problem was. It was an unbelievably fast, deep, and sophisticated method of providing "virtual on-site" tech support. Due to this cool troubleshooting, he was able to see exactly what I was doing incorrectly, and fix the problem himself, while I watched, in amazement, as he moved my mouse cursor all over the screen with lightning efficiency!! And, all this on a Sunday night, 11:00 P.M - 11:50 P.M. his time, and for a software package costing only $19.95 (no shipping or tax either). WHAT A DEAL!!!! This guy is super smart and he really cares.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
John-A-Sunkiskis
27 March 2008
Being somewhat cyber-challenged, I required "some" technical support, and the developer was not only responsive, but also very reassuring - I felt like I had a private tutor. Now that I know how the program works, I'm impressed. It really is easy to use, and the picture quality is absolutely excellent.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Easer
24 June 2007
I haven't had any of the problems identified by the previous poster, and I've used this program for several months. Like any program that saves snapshots, you have to configure the preferences at least to some extent to tell it where to save, what file format to save in, etc. Check out any other screenshot program and you'll see. Most programs come with some kind of default setting; but they, like DVD Snap, do allow you to adjust those settings. So what if the interface for the preference isn't the most gorgeous thing ever made? It's hardly ugly or anything. It's clean and to the point. And let's get down to the heart of the matter. This program does what it promises. Much depends on how you configure it. I wanted it to snap only the contents within the frame of DVD Player. It did just that. The picture quality was superb. That's what this program is supposed to do; that's what this program did. None of my other computer settings were affected by this program. I'm running 10.4.10 on a PowerBook G4. I think it works fine and is worth checking out.
Like
Version 1.2.1
I don't understand your problems, sorry. I have tested DVD Snap several times on different macs and all worked great. (without any bugs) DVD Snap saves the pictures in the destination folder you have chosen ! Why is PDF the standard picture format ? Hmm, have you ever seen that PDF provides the BEST picture quality ? No ? Try it. Use PDF, PNG and compare. (zooming in / out) Another problem I don't understand: The DVD Snap window always hiddes when you click the 'Snap' button. Perhaps you opened the picture in 'Preview' and you thought that the DVD Snap window above is on the picture but it's not. The hotkey commands are absolutely 'okay'. I don't know what's wrong with them. The built-in hotkeys for 'grab' are 'Command + Shift + 3 & 4', why not use 'Command + Shift + 1' for DVD Snap ? And I just wanted to say that I have many users who like DVD Snap. They don't have problems with the destination, picture format, etc… Best Regards, Tobias Jordan.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
J3ff
22 June 2007
oh yeah I forgot to mention that my dvd screenshot contained all of the goofy dvd snap menus if I'm taking a screen shot of my dvd playback why would I want to include your app windows?
Like
Version 1.2.1
J3ff
22 June 2007
first I'd like to say I've never posted a comment about any piece of software on this website. Also I download software from here quite often usually I try at least one application a day, usually if I don't like an application I simply trash it and move on. Having said that this is the worst app I have ever tried upon launching it I was bombarded with a series of disconnected non aqua style windows that just popped up all over my screen demanding a time interval or something then the ubiquitous window with the 1 2 3 buttons which I'm sure I'll go to my grave without understanding. Then it somehow snapped a picture of my dvd playback and saved it to a folder predetermined by me, (which I did not) and I have no clue where it is. I was able to view it with the bizare hotkey commands and it turns out the default picture format is .pdf why in the world would you want to take a screen shot and save it as a pdf? At the same time every other app I was running froze up. and to top it off the trial period is 60 minutes ha! are you kidding I only needed 60 seconds to make a decision on this
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
I have the newest version of VLC but this is what I permanently get: http://www.tool-forcesw.com/VLC_error.png
Like
Version 1.2.1
Most of the mac users use the Apple DVD Player so I have written DVD Snap for the DVD Player. I downloaded the newest version of VLC but it has still some bugs and it is not really user-friendly. VLC affords just two picture formats. The most important format, PDF, is missing. It is the best format for screen snapping. (best quality) Of course, you can use the default Mac OS X integrated screen capture software 'Grab' in VLC but - you can't choose the destination folder - you don't have several picture formats - you can't choose a name of the picture DVD Snap has some real handy options / functions, I think: - timer snap (snaps a picture every 1 - 60+ seconds; perfect for a slideshow) - many picture formats - picture numbering - custom picture destination and many more. You can even use DVD Snap in the full screen mode of the DVD Player. (since version 1.1) If you take screenshots of DVDs in the DVD Player every day I think DVD Snap is worth of its money. Best Regards, Tobias Jordan.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Macs Alive
12 June 2007
Firstly, VLC Player does allow one to skip forwards or backwards. Moreover, it allows one to configure the controls and add new key functions. And secondly, I have used your program. It's a nice program but not worthy of the $20 price tag. Therefore, to reiterate, VLC Player is a great program with the capability to capture fine screen shots. And it's free!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Dear MACS ALIVE, VLC is full up with bugs. e.g. you can't press the forward / backward button in the player. If you do so it will crash. I think that many users want to use the old DVD Player to watch movies. I also think that you never took a look at DVD Snap. First test it, then write a comment. Best Regards, Tobias Jordan.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Macs Alive
11 June 2007
Why bother with this program?! When VLC player offers DVD screenshots at no cost - as VLC is FREE! Recommend others to save their money.
Like
Version 1.2.1
DataBrokers
03 June 2007
It's a nice piece of software. I've not gotten into the nuts and bolts of using it as of yet. The one time I did was to try just to see if it would do what I was hoping for. I wanted to print out scene from a dvd to make a simple screen to print for a copy box cover. So far so good. I'll comment more and give a quick review when I've time to play with it some more.
Like
Version 1.2
Tool Force Software
18 April 2007
I think the Mac users should decide what they prefer ! I have a lot of users who want to use the comfort of DVD Snap every day. I don't really think your opinion is representative. Best Regards, Tobias Jordan.
Like
Version 1.1
Dp-G4-450guy
18 April 2007
I find every thing this product offers more or less easily accomplished with the freeware SnapNDrag. Unless one has lost the mobility of a finger, clicking is not an impediment to saving $20. Sorry.
Like
Version 1.1
Tool Force Software
16 April 2007
In line: SnapNDrag ? DVD Snap ! I've used a special character. It should be: SnapNDrag is not DVD Snap ! Best Regards, Tobias Jordan
Like
Version 1.1
Tool Force Software
16 April 2007
Dear TICE, DVD Snap is a capture tool that was made for Apple's DVD Player. Apple's capture application (Grab) has almost all options (Capture screen, window, selection, copy to the clipboard, etc) that other general capture tools also have. Tell me, why shouldn't I use the OS X integrated software, Grab, to take pictures ? I just need one picture format and the destination (Desktop) is okay, too. Don't need other options. I coded DVD Snap because of one reason: Taking pictures when a DVD is playing in the DVD Player is the only thing that Grab NOT supports. If you often use the DVD Player and you need to take many pictures, DVD Snap is really the most comfortable application. DVD Snap 1.1's transparent interface is now working simultaneously in full screen mode with the Apple DVD Player so that you can watch a movie, backward/forward, play, pause, etc the DVD while you are snapping pictures ! DVD snapping has never been so easy. Try that in SnapNDrag. You need much more time and it's more difficult to take pictures. (Activate the SnapNDrag Window, choose picture format, destination, picture name, etc, pause the DVD Player, go into the full screen mode ...) Another really nice option is the 'Timer Snap' that is integrated into DVD Snap. With this option you can take a picture every 1-60 seconds. This is perfect if you want to make a slideshow with iPhoto or something else. DVD Snap also includes nice options to make snapping with the DVD Player easier. SnapNDrag ? DVD Snap ! Why don't you try DVD Snap ? It's absolutely easy. Best Regards, Tobias Jordan
Like
Version 1.1
Tice
16 April 2007
I don't get it? Why pay 20 bucks for an app that does nothing more than SnapNDrag? http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/12087.
Like
Version 1.1
Tool Force Software
29 March 2007
Hello ! thanks your nice idea and the interest in my product. DVD Snap unfortunately doesn't currently feature hotkey functionality, but maybe we will implement this in one of our next releases. The Tool Force SW Server is now online again and is much faster than the last one. Best Regards, Tobias Jordan
Like
Version 1.0.2
Easer
27 March 2007
Any notion of when your server will be back up? I'm ready to buy this and don't have many minutes left on the demo. I'm willing to be patient; I realize that server problems happen. This seems like a very good program. Any chance of adding hotkeys to it?
Like
Version 1.0.2
Tool Force Software
24 March 2007
I'm very sorry - the Tool Force Software Server is temporary not available. We are working on this problem. Thanks for your understanding. Best regards, Tobias Jordan.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Tool Force Software
21 March 2007
Wednesday, March 21, 2007: The Tool Force Software Server will be offline tomorrow (March 22). Downloading impossible during the time. Thanks in advance. Best regards, Tobias Jordan
Like
Version 1.0.2
Truthwchrist
22 February 2007
DVD Snap is fast, easy and it just works - Mac Like! I use it everyday and have had no problems at all. I like it and recommend it highly. The developer is very responsive to user feedback and provides rapid updates. Great App!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Tool Force Software
20 February 2007
I can just repeat what I already said: Please have a look at http://www.ambrosiaSW.com. The product Snapz Pro X 2 (without Quicktime): Many features are part of Mac OS X. Snapz Pro X allows also DVD capture like DVD Snap but DVD Snap - is much easier to use - supports more output image formats - automatic sequential image captures - full screen capturing - user selected cutout in full screen mode - price: Snapz Pro X 2 (without Quicktime) is for $29.00, so what about the price for DVD Snap $19.95 ? I think DVD Snap is really worth of the money. What exactly do you mean by "export a pict image with a lot of "catches" ?? Best regards, Tobias Jordan.
Like
Version 1.0.1
S-P-L-A-T-!
19 February 2007
nice application, but... IMHO... a few bucks are enough... and a really nice feature will be if you will can export a pict image with a lot of "catches" takes on intervals in the moovie....
Like
Version 1.0.1
Tool Force Software
17 February 2007
Hi TICE, please compare carefully ! SnapNDrag is a general application for screen capturing was not made for DVD snaps. However, SnapNDrag is able to do screen snaps from a DVD in Apples DVD Player but my application, DVD Snap, is much easier to use, supports more ouput formats and much more options like a timed snap (e.g. every 5 seconds). I think DVD Snap is really worth of the money because it's so easy. Best Regards, Tobias Jordan.
Like
Version 1.0
Tice
17 February 2007
You get that for free since many years with SnapNDrag. Nice idea, but a little to late for cashing 20 bucks for that.
Like
Version 1.0