Back to IceClean page
IceClean free download for Mac

IceClean Reviews

3.4.8
25 June 2011

System maintenance and optimization tool.

CookieMan
13 November 2010

Most helpful

Clean up your system and change system settings by using this easy-to-use tool. Excellent!
Like (11)
Version 3.4.5

Read 76 IceClean User Reviews

Rate this app:

Brooklyn-Al
28 November 2013
Glad IceClean is being updated--very happy with the performance of this program on Snow Leopard.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.8
gérard-SEEL
05 March 2013
Fantastic ..
Like
Version 3.4.8
Jazzyguy
09 December 2012
I'm eagerly awaiting the Mountain Lion edition! I have ice clean on my SnowLeopard Macs but I am eager to get it on my Mountain Lion Macs!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.8
Jazzyguy
09 December 2012
Fantastically Great utility!!!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.8
zo219
02 August 2012
Dev site says: Coming: " New IceClean 4.0a.. totally renewed" But this is the current version--and the site is certainly up. Great utility, head and shoulders above the rest! Let's hope it's updated.
Like
Version 3.4.8
Willowdemayo
10 July 2012
The IceClean page on the developer's site is gone. Is this app kaput? I am a long-time user and fan, who's been waiting eagerly for the next version. Please let us know if it's not coming
Like
Version 3.4.8
ulysse74
20 February 2012
Fantastic.. YEP you saved 7 Gb of space on my MB and every damaged file was repaired!!! 5 stars!!
Like
Version 3.4.8
chimeraassass1n
25 November 2011
this software is stuck, the reloading icon has stopped and is not doing anything. I try moving the mouse and it does not move. I cannot access any files nor can I force quit... WHAT DO I DO ????????
Like
Version 3.4.8
1 answer(s)
zo219
zo219
19 January 2012
Maybe this question should have gone to the developer?
Like
Macdentro-com
23 August 2011
IceClean 3.4.8 Version is compatible with OSX 10.7 but soon MacDentro will release a completely Lion-ready version. MacDentro.com
Like (1)
Version 3.4.8
3 answer(s)
UNIX4ALL
UNIX4ALL
23 August 2011
Thx u very much !, Thats very good news ! Keep up the good work guys :-).
Like
Hal2007
Hal2007
31 October 2011
Errrm... When exactly is "soon"...?
Like (2)
Willowdemayo
Willowdemayo
08 December 2011
Eagerly awaiting the Lion edition of IceClean. Any ETA?
Like (2)
UNIX4ALL
22 August 2011
Very nice maintenance program, Im using it since it was called "Polizei". Im waiting for the Lion ready version, I don't know if this version is compatible with it?!
Like
Version 3.4.8
1 answer(s)
Macdentro.com
Macdentro.com
23 August 2011
IceClean 3.4.8 Version is compatible with OSX 10.7 but soon MacDentro will release a completely Lion-ready version. MacDentro.com
Like (1)
Bobby-bobbytan
15 July 2011
this is what i'm looking for
Like (1)
Version 3.4.8
HugeBubba
21 June 2011
Smoke and relax. The rest will be done by IceClean. keep cool!
Like (2)
Version 3.4.8
Sgilbert
21 June 2011
Link is for 3.47. Developer's site had 3.48
Like
Version 3.4.8
Just-Annutha-Dewd
23 April 2011
I've used IceClean since early on when it was first released, and generally speaking I think it's a very good tool. Much like Onyx, it has most of the typical maintenance tools most users may ever need, along with a few extras that Onyx is lacking, though IceClean too is lacking a few extras that Onyx offers. As a system maintenance tool, some of the extras that IceClean offers really are out of place. It's not the type of app that I would expect to do a traceroute, whois, and other internet lookup tasks that have zip to do with my computer. One big problem I have with IceClean is the interface. It's just really bad. For starters, all of the system maintenance tasks are run from the menubar, and is lacking in any explanations of what the tasks do before run. This is a fine option for automation because, unlike Onyx, all of those tasks can be run with keyboard commands. If one desired, you could very easily use Apple's Automator app to launch IceClean and run some tools at specified times/days without being present. For the average user though, Onyx's interface is friendlier with the tools right there in the main window with explanations of what many of them do. And speaking of the main window, the tools that are there are mostly tools like Lookup, Netstat, Whois… tools that, as before, aren't the central function of this app. It's just very out-of-place. IceClean also doesn't do well with providing a clear indicator that a task is underway, or how far it has to go. You get a subtle spinning wheel in the bottom corner, and sometimes a sound when the task is done. That's typically it. So when it comes right down to it, I see IceClean as a tool better suited to more experienced users who are comfortable with what the tool does and want to take advantage of the greater ease IceClean offers in the sense of automation and keyboard commands to run the tools it has. With some more work and extensive refining of the user interface, this could in time become the must-have tool for novices and experienced users alike.
Like (5)
Version 3.4.7
Attar
14 November 2010
5 STARS ALL THE WAY! I can't BELIEVE the top two that "others" recommended were SLCC (Snow Leopard Cache Cleaner) and OnyX. Having used BOTH (OnyX not being as bad as SLCC, but that's not saying much), this app blows them both completely away. In fact SLCC (which I PAID for) I DUMPED because it was so pathetic, and the ONLY reason I keep "CleanMyMac" (which I ALSO paid for) is that the "Language Files" cleanup is worthwhile - otherwise, it is FAR too high-maintenance, causing you to make SURE that you aren't going to let it "clean" an often VERY necessary file. With IceClean 3.4.5 not only do you not have that worry, the additional functionality built in is FANTASTIC. I ESPECIALLY like the "Whois" that I can use in conjunction with "Hands Off!" to see EXACTLY which domains those IP addresses that pop up asking for "permissions" are - which previously I would resort to "Better Whois" to identify (a tedious method compared to having it right at hand in the IceClean 3.4.5 app. Everyone will naturally have their own "opinions" of what the "best" cleaning solution is - but I for one am VERY happy to have chanced upon IceClean 3.4.5 via MacUpdate (a MUST have in itself), and intend to make a donation as soon as my financial situation allows me too. I ONLY WISH I could get my money back for SLCC, AND CleanMyMac, and donate it ALL. So there's my "review" for what it's worth. If you haven't given IceClean 3.4.5 a test drive - do so ASAP!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.5
CookieMan
13 November 2010
Clean up your system and change system settings by using this easy-to-use tool. Excellent!
Like (11)
Version 3.4.5
Brad8989
28 October 2010
Here's a review for this lovely product I did a while ago: http://www.we-rate-stuff.com/2008/10/iceclean-mac-only.html
Like (1)
Version 3.4.4
Jimw
29 August 2010
In regards to the poll: The field of maintenance utilities is full of competitors, freeware and shareware, and both of these categories have several good releases available. The problem is none of them seem to be fully complete - i.e. have a full complement of cleanup tools along with a complete set of "hidden features" access, complemented with a friendly, easy to use GUI. For this reason I must maintain a number of similar programs in my utilities toolbox in order to obtain the complete maintenance results full access to the features I desire to inspect, modify and change. If someone came out with a reliable product that "did it all" and kept it up to date as OSX evolves, I would be more than happy to pay a respectable fair price for it. But given the fact I have not as yet seen such a product, I prefer to stick with a number of freeware products that together meet my needs. This is why I voted "No" on the poll.
Like (3)
Version 3.4.4
1 answer(s)
Jimblue
Jimblue
31 August 2010
i felt the same for a long time -- til i found cocktail about 6 years ago. macpilot is great, and i love some of koingo's softs, but is busy -- even overwhelming. even i don't have enough time to mess with 1000 different settings. macpilot should almost be split up into about 3 apps in my humble. oynx is great and free. but nothing looks as pretty, is as simple, and nails all the essentials like *censored* tail :) try it out, it's got an evaluation. it cost $15 but is often on sale and in bundles.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.4
Largesse
22 June 2010
Feature request: Please add a progress bar percent done and that reveals what is being done, during an "All Tasks" maintenance.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.3
Holmemoss
11 April 2010
I get the following error on trying to update: Update Error - The update is improperly signed - Cancel Update
Like
Version 3.4.1
1 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
11 April 2010
The new version was issued to correct that very error. Download the new version directly from MU and delete the older one.
Like
Version 3.4.2
Mrcham
10 April 2010
The "Lookup" function has some errors... If a non-valid IP/Host is entered it crashes the app.
Like
Version 3.4.1
Macdentro-com
04 February 2010
Thank you to all is donating 1$ or more.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
jdanek630
24 January 2010
Another solid release from a rather dedicated developer. Kudos to the developers for continuing to care and update this utility. All of the tasks are executed per the utility's description. What sets IceClean from the rest, in my opinion, is the fact that I have experienced blazing-fast task executions with IC. I would recommend this product to anyone interested in giving it a test-drive. Feature request: an auto-update option so that users may become aware when an update is available. The only reason I knew Ice Clean had been updated was because I visit MacUpdate daily. Otherwise, I would have missed it.
Like (4)
Version 3.3.4
Macdentro-com
24 January 2010
Wait for 3.3.4 Version.. 3.3.3 Version has an error in scheduling PPC Architecture.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.3
Avinator
20 December 2009
I've used Ice Clean for 2 years now. No crashes, no problems it just works. I just can't understand why some people bitch since this is freeware....
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2
Mredrup
15 November 2009
It would appear 3.3.1 has a bad sparkle framework and is causing the crashes seen.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Higherterrain
14 November 2009
No better there. Guess I'll just put it down as lazyness on someones behalf.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Higherterrain
14 November 2009
Two days running and still not being able to download the app. Guess I'll wandero over to VersionTracker and see if it's any better.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.1
Cougar02
13 November 2009
The bug is perhaps fixed. but it is impossible to download this version, like the others anyway. The link DOES NOT WORK.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Cougar02
13 November 2009
IceClean is good app. But it would be better still if one could download the version indicated, that's to say : the version 3.2 when the 3,2 is announced, the 3,3 when the 3,3 is announced and so on. It's never the case, and the developper (is he a draft?) is never joignable by mail and his website is still being upgraded since a few months. I wander how he manages to have is soft qownloaded. I tried plenty of times with Safari, FireFox and Camino. Nothing works. Nuts! "Bordel de merde", as I say in my language.
Like
Version 3.3
Johnny99
12 November 2009
Love this software, but this version crashes on launch. Hope to have it back soon. PowerMac G5 (Dual 2Ghz, 2003) 3.5GB Ram 10.5.8
Like (1)
Version 3.3
Ronl
12 November 2009
It always 'throws-up-a-red-flag' for me when I find typos in the description of an application (especially one that can cause problems in the function of the OS... i.e. maintenance app). One wrong character can make a huge difference when writing apps related to maintenance.
Like (2)
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
13 November 2009
I agree about spelling errors in descriptions, on web sites, and even in the apps themselves. It seems like one wrong letter, space, dash, or other character could really mess up a Unix machine. And spell-checks won't work with code. It makes me wonder about the negative results of some users of this version (3.3).
Like
Version 3.3
Tool Force Software
02 January 2009
You should structure your application so it makes sense and you should consider reading Apple's Human Interface Guidelines…
Like (3)
Version 3.1.2
Todd-Villarreal
31 December 2008
Must be a bad upload to MacUpdate. Go to the developers site to download and you'll see that the download will be 1.3mb instead of 946k.
Like
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
31 December 2008
As of the moment of this posting, the download at the developer's site yields version 3.1. The download here at MacUpdate yields version 3.1.1.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Danway
31 December 2008
Version 3.1.1 constantly crashes on startup, totally useless. Had to revert to previous version. OS 10.5.6 Intel Mac.
Like
Version 3.1.1
nostrodumbass
31 December 2008
IceClean v.3.1.1 crashes instantly upon launch attempt (at least is does for me) MacDento's feedback form ( on his website) isn't working.....there's no send function that I could find. So here's my I.C. crash report: Process: IceClean [90587] Path: /User//Downloads/IceClean.app/Contents/MacOS/IceClean Identifier: com.MacDentro.IceClean Version: ??? (???) Code Type: X86 (Native) Parent Process: launchd [84] Date/Time: 2008-12-31 11:21:29.117 -0800 OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.4 (9E17) Report Version: 6 Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP) Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000 Crashed Thread: 0 Dyld Error Message: Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Frameworks/Sparkle.framework/Versions/A/Sparkle Referenced from: /Users//Downloads/IceClean.app/Contents/MacOS/IceClean Reason: image not found ******************************************************************************************* OS10.5.4 on a MacBook Pro
Like
Version 3.1.1
Pissnaround
31 December 2008
just a minor issue. if you select show hidden files and folders, then while IceClean is still open and go back to hide them again, the menu still says show hidden files and folders. perhaps it should tohhle to say hide system files and folders?
Like
Version 3.1a
Macdentro-com
30 December 2008
We submitted IceClean 3.1a Version.. that is IceClean zip package till we're going to fix Installer Package bugs.
Like
Version 3.1
Sgginc
30 December 2008
I can't find where the installer placed the program. Had to use Pacifist to extract it. ken
Like
Version 3.1
obergsson
28 December 2008
Installed .. ran system profiler ... spinning clock .... had to force quit. Into the trash again. MacBook 2008 ... Leopard 10.5.6
Like
Version 3.0.9
Ficheye
14 December 2008
Yes and yes... IceClean has a function command that I've been looking for... 'Perform all tasks and reboot'. I just don't want to be drawn into the ever deepening complexity of a computers architecture. If somebody wants to learn to program, go for it. But I just want to trust that the software performs as advertised and run the application for the desired effect. IceClean gives the user BOTH options. And it's performed perfectly for me. Onyx and some of the other programs make you develop a script, or run the tasks one at a time, or just require that you engage their learning curve once again. IceClean all the way!! A progress bar would be nice, since a lot of people stare at their computer whenever any analysis is happening. But if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Like
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
28 December 2008
Onyx has the option to automatically perform all tasks, or you can select fewer tasks if you like. In the preferences you can set Onyx to reboot or shut down or sleep after all tasks are completed. I'd suggest not blindly running the "all tasks" routine unless you know what you're doing, though. I've seen users pretty startled at not having any browser history after doing "all tasks" with some maintenance program.
Like
Version 3.0.9
IceClean is the #1 Mac app to download. It is more valuable than any other app. Thank you so much MacDentro.com! IceClean has saved my Final Cut Studio machine multiple times. Although, I wish there was a more intuitive user interface. The spinning status icon in the bottom right corner lets me know that something is happening, but for first-time users it's pretty confusing. Also, I wish that the status bar was more reflective of the status of the process going on. Usually the status bar doesn't mean anything. But don't get me wrong! This is the best app ever.
Like
Version 3.0.6
Ayub
29 May 2008
Excellent app. Thanks. Keep it up.
Like
Version 3.0.5
Renesis
28 May 2008
Love this app, nice and simple. I only wish it didn't hide when clicking outside the application window. Thanks for this!!
Like
Version 3.0.4
Cdtdelta
29 February 2008
Installed this for the first time after upgrading to Leopard. However the 3.0.1 version keeps asking me if I want to update to the 3.0.1 version (I told it to skip it the second time).
Like
Version 3.0.1
obergsson
11 January 2008
No Instructions in Installer ... icon looks like pkg receipt. Had to Force Quit to quit ....
Like
Version 3.0b
Dana-Sutton
04 April 2007
The more I use this program the more I like it. BUT I wish the author would consider releasing his updates at longer intervals (except in true emergencies). Two within 24 hours is a bit much!
Like
Version 2.3.2
Hodiebud
15 March 2007
works well... its a lot like the program onyX
Like
Version 2.0.4
Ubuntuking
09 March 2007
pretty good maintenance software. Has some really neat features beyond the routine system tune up.
Like
Version 2.0.2
claudio-nuzzo
08 March 2007
un'applicazione ben ideata, con lo scopo di raccogliere una serie completa di utilità disparate. Qualche piccolo ritocco in materia d'interfaccia, ed il gioco è fatto! Grazie. Il sito dello sviluppatore è disegnato altrettanto bene.
Like
Version 2.0.1