Back to MailRecent page
MailRecent free download for Mac

MailRecent Reviews

1.8
06 January 2019

Adds ability to copy to, move to, or go to recent Apple mailbox.

Marchintosh
25 October 2016

Most helpful

Thank you for keeping this updated with new releases of macOS.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2

Read 34 MailRecent User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cheops
11 March 2019
Mr. Welch, thanks for updating this very handy utility!
Like
Version 1.8
JML54
12 January 2019
1.8 works fine with Mojave 10.14.2.
Like
Version 1.8
Stevie-Ackerman
05 November 2018
Not yet compatible with macOS 10.14 Mojave... Regretting the upgrade without checking my most used tools.
Like
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
Jb4
Jb4
06 January 2019
Agree.... went through the installation steps and that great voice in the sky said:
"Not compatible with this version (Mojave) of the OS."
Like
RogerKatz
28 September 2017
Upon opening Apple Mail v11 (High Sierra) - I get an Alert (from Apple Mail) that MailRecent (v1.6.4) was Disabled because it is an Incompatible plug-in
Like
Version 1.6.4
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
30 September 2017
That is unfortunately correct. Until the developer updates it for High Sierra it is not going to work with it, unless someone else figures out how to patch the info file in its contents folder.
Like (1)
Marchintosh
27 September 2017
Love this software. Please update for High Sierra.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.4
RogerKatz
03 November 2016
It's handy, but its Installer didn't work for Sierra 10.12.1 - but I successfully installed it manually (per the developer's website instructions) (i.e., dragged its mail bundle to /Users/xxxxxx/Library/Mail/Bundles/.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Marchintosh
25 October 2016
Thank you for keeping this updated with new releases of macOS.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
Marchintosh
05 October 2015
Thank You!
Like
Version 1.5.3
sbchavel
21 October 2014
Broken by Yosemite. Argh.
Like
Version 1.4.5
1 answer(s)
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
24 October 2014
Update to 1.5
Like
robfol
27 February 2014
Updating my previous good review. Brilliant functionality although not as useful as MailFollowUp, for me installs and works perfectly every time. AND importantly swift updates for new OS versions
Like
Version 1.4.3
Frank-O'Connor
17 December 2013
Install fails ... as has always been the case with plug-ins from this developer. As of today, I'm simply not gonna download any puppies from them.
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
24 October 2014
Email the developer,Greg Welch. He'll help you.
Like
robfol
08 November 2013
A simple but effective utility. Works well and swiftly updated for Mavericks etc etc. Recommended by me!
Like
Version 1.4.1
sbchavel
25 October 2013
On OSX 10.8.5 I use MR v. 1.3.9 from Aug 2013. It works. And it works great. What a time-saver.
Like
Version 1.4
Marchintosh
13 September 2013
10.8.5 killed it.
Like
Version 1.3.9
gtrsteve
08 June 2013
Now that it's been fixed, it's great again. Thanks for fixing it. Ease of use actually is 5, but the star got stuck on 4 and it won't let me change it.
Like
Version 1.3.8
gtrsteve
06 June 2013
Hi Greg, I really Liked this plugin and was glad to see you update it for the changes Apple made. Unfortunately, Installer didn't work, so I dragged the mail bundle to ~/Library/Mail/Bundles/ but it showed everything but the actual recent mail folders. So I tried different ones and still no recent folders, Move or Copy. I also tried the terminal instructions.
Like
Version 1.3.7
Jimw
05 June 2013
OSX 10.8.4 Kills it.
Like
Version 1.3.6
2 answer(s)
welch@cs-unc-edu
welch@cs-unc-edu
06 June 2013
Greg (the developer): 1.3.7 resurrects it, and comes back stronger (fixed long-standing bug).
Like
Rdzman
Rdzman
07 June 2013
For some reason, when I upgraded to OS X 10.8.4 and MailRecent 1.3.7, I had to delete the preference file at ~/Library/Containers/com.apple.mail/Data/Library/Preferences/net.welchwold.mailrecent.plist before it would populate the Recent menus again.
Like (1)
Ward
19 December 2012
I finally got around to installing Security Update 2012-004 on my 10.6.8 Mac. The updated Mail 4.6 disabled MailRecent 1.2.4. It would have been a big disappointment to lose MailRecent. Fortunately, Greg Welch's MailRecent page offers an unsupported MailRecent 1.2.5 release for Snow Leopard users. He states it "might work." I can confirm it does work. There is an installation speed bump -- the Install MailRecent simple installer doesn't like 10.6.8. You have to use the Installation (Manual) instructions to move the MailRecent.mailbundle into Mail's bundle folder. The Terminal commands are unnecessary if you've ever installed any Mail plug-in.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Craig42a
30 September 2012
FYI: Just upgraded to Lion today with all updates, and getting this message: "Contact the makers of these plug-ins for versions that are compatible with Mail 5.3 and Message 5.3." So, incompatible. I am also using MailTags and MailHub. Not sure where or what the conflict is... MailRecent seemed to be working fine on Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Kenneth-Lister
05 February 2012
Now updated for 10.7.3. Works great. Thanks for the quick fix!
Like
Version 1.3.4
Kenneth-Lister
03 February 2012
Doesn't work on 10.7.3 with Mail 5.2. :( I hope there is an update soon. I miss this plugin!
Like
Version 1.3.3
2 answer(s)
Manu-7312
Manu-7312
04 February 2012
Just follow these instructions (http://stib.posterous.com/how-to-fix-unsupported-plugins-after-upgradin) to add the UUID of the new version of OSX Mail to the MailRecent plist file. It works like a charm!!! To edit the plist file, I suggest using PrefSetter: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/17002/pref-setter
Like
Kenneth-Lister
Kenneth-Lister
04 February 2012
I tried the script, but maybe I didn't do it right. I copied it to Terminal. It seemed to run, but Mail just moved the plugins back to the disabled folder. I would be willing to change the plist folder manually, but I don't know the new UUID of Mail. It is all silly fussy stuff, for a guy like me. I still hope it gets updated....
Like
anonymous-hyena-2756
02 August 2011
Now works fantastically!
Like
Version 1.3.1
3 answer(s)
Msealey
Msealey
13 October 2011
Anyone else experiencing an odd bug with this plugin (using 10.7/Mail 5) whereby the list of recent mailboxes periodically resets itself such that you have to build it again as you visit them; after a few days, the same thing happens effectively rendering a great plugin unusable? Anyone know of a workaround. The very responsive and helpful developer is mystified too. TIA!
Like
Oo0-bailey-0oO
Oo0-bailey-0oO
03 September 2012
Yes, I'm having this problem now. The plugin worked for a few days and now the recent lists are empty and don't renew. I've uninstalled, reinstalled and re-tested, but it's no longer picking up folders. I've verified the UUIDs and followed the manual installation procedure, but no dice.
Like
Msealey
Msealey
03 September 2012
May I sugest writing to Greg, please? He's very helpful. The more people who report the bug, the more of a priority it might be.
Like
This bundle is great but it doesn't work with my not-English MacOS
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
welch@cs-unc-edu
welch@cs-unc-edu
02 August 2011
Hopefully 1.3.1 fixes that issue. My apologies.
Like (1)
ososX
12 July 2011
Is there a possibility to "revert to or open previous message(s)" ? I find it annoying that there is no list of the last 10 messages that I opened.
Like
Version 1.3
lucianf
13 March 2011
Needs an update, not working in Mail 4.4 - 10.6.6 on new (Feb 2011) MacBook Pros.
Like
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
welch@cs-unc-edu
welch@cs-unc-edu
20 March 2011
Hi there. I announced a beta on my "MailFollowUp-Announce" mail list a few weeks ago. Send me email and I'll point you toward it. Might want to sign up for the list too.
Like
Stevie-Ackerman
11 November 2010
Works great on 10.6.5 with the update... A special thanks to the dev for acting so quickly!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Stevie-Ackerman
11 November 2010
Not working after 10.6.5 update
Like
Version 1.2.2
sbchavel
10 November 2009
Incompatible with Mail Unread Menu. Developer, please fix!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Steven-Goodheart
22 October 2009
Slick time-saver! Great to have it for Snow Leopard. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.2
gcoghill
09 October 2008
Simple app, does what it says, super handy and haven't seen any issues with Mail since using it. Thumbs up.
Like
Version 1.1
Macconvert
07 February 2007
I have been looking for something like this I switched from Windows to the Mac. Outlook remembers the last 10 mailboxes that you copied or moved to whereas Mac Mail only remembers the last one. This app adds that capability to Mail. I have been using it since version 1.0 on a Macbook Pro with no problems at all. This solved a major annoyance for me. Thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 1.0.2
sjk
01 February 2007
This plugin has already made it easier to work with "too many" mailboxes in combination with Mail Act-On, much like described in the Background section on the developer site. Thanks, Greg! One improvement would be to include the extended name for a duplicate mailbox in the menu even when only a single instance of it occurs. It's easy to forget exactly which duplicate mailbox a single instance is, especially between Mail sessions. I'd also like a way to optionally invoke "Copy/Move to Recent" followed by "Go to Recent" for the specified mailbox. And I can imagine how a certain merging of this with the MsgFiler plugin might improve mouseless operation.
Like
Version 1.0.1
schmelding
30 January 2007
I wasn't able to move emails from my Inbox into any mailboxes. I trashed MailRecent and restarted Mail. Works fine now. :(
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
welch@cs-unc-edu
welch@cs-unc-edu
30 January 2007
(from the developer) This sounds like it could be a known issue, which is addressed on the plugin page. Please make sure the "Number of Recent Items" setting for Documents in the Appearance panel of the OS X System Preferences is NOT set to "None." It should be set to 5, 10, 15, 20, 30, or 50. Otherwise normal copys and moves will not function properly. (Setting it to "None" does not make sense if you are going to use the plugin, but it should not break moves/copies. This will be fixed in the next release.) I hope this fixes your problem. If not, and you still want to use the plugin, please contact me directly (welch@cs.unc.edu) so I can look into it with you.
Like
Version 1.0
welch@cs-unc-edu
welch@cs-unc-edu
31 January 2007
(from the developer) Version 1.0.1 has a bug fix that might address this problem. I hope! (The description of the user's problem sounded like the problem the 1.0.1 fix addressed.)
Like
Version 1.0.1
Fmaier
27 January 2007
Seems to have broke may Mail.aap. Mail 2.1 (752/752.2) - 10.4.8 up to date per Software update. I quit mail and installed this program. When I reopened mail there was no Viewer Window open. Opened new viewer window and new menu items are not there. Now mail won't quit - no response to quit command. I have to go to Activity Mon and force quit. Mail still seems to work. I removed the Mailrecent.mailbundle that this installed in ~Library>Mail>Bundles and mail still won't quit without a force. Any idea on what's wrong?
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
welch@cs-unc-edu
welch@cs-unc-edu
27 January 2007
(from the developer) Yes, please send me mail at welch@cs.unc.edu so I can try and help you. I am not aware of others having this problem. Thanks. --greg
Like
Version 1.0
P-fern
P-fern
01 November 2007
I'm having this exact same problem. Were you able to resolve it?
Like
Version 1.0.4