Back to Jubler page
Jubler free download for Mac

Jubler Reviews

7.0.0-alpha1
14 November 2019

Edit text-based subtitles.

Uncoy
24 March 2018

Most helpful

I really struggled with Jubler. While I appreciate the effort - hey it's free - java based applications are so awkward. This one deleted lots of subtitles when I was trying to edit, I could never time them right and the Jubler sometimes crashed. I ended up reluctantly paying for Subtitle Edit Pro (app store only unfortunately, though just $30 these days, I believe I paid about double). The interface is intuitive - re-arranging blocks of subtitles on a visual audio waveform while the video plays above. Way, way easier. If money is an issue, some of my colleagues have developed a free method to easily create a srt file (as opposed to Jubler which is not easy). It's by adding private videos to YouTube and using their pretty good tool. Don't worry, your videos will never be public and you can delete them after creating the subtitles. https://foliovision.com/2017/02/youtube-subtitle-auto-transcribing Vimeo no longer has a subtitle creation tool unfortunately (they did have one of the best).
Like (1)
Version 5.1

Read 20 Jubler User Reviews

Rate this app:

RogerKatz
15 October 2018
The MacUpdate link is broken, as follows: 'This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below. <Error> <Code>AccessDenied</Code> <Message>Request has expired</Message> <X-Amz-Expires>300</X-Amz-Expires> <Expires>2018-10-15T11:17:31Z</Expires> <ServerTime>2018-10-15T19:37:48Z</ServerTime> <RequestId>260EAC73789DEC77</RequestId> <HostId> UTp505dmjDOVkbAy9KhgnFXtzFphZxiYRRd6/LeRN7ObIzssOOOfcmRD93HlI5LQnWmyh63q6SQ= </HostId> </Error>'
Like (1)
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
02 March 2019
On <http://www.jubler.org/download.html> are the correct link. The final download is on sourceforge.net
Like
Wade-Smith
22 July 2018
Does not work with latest Java, version 10. Why not?
Like
Version 5.1
1 answer(s)
Panayotis Katsaloulis
Panayotis Katsaloulis
15 October 2018
Version 6.+ should work.
Like
Uncoy
24 March 2018
I really struggled with Jubler. While I appreciate the effort - hey it's free - java based applications are so awkward. This one deleted lots of subtitles when I was trying to edit, I could never time them right and the Jubler sometimes crashed. I ended up reluctantly paying for Subtitle Edit Pro (app store only unfortunately, though just $30 these days, I believe I paid about double). The interface is intuitive - re-arranging blocks of subtitles on a visual audio waveform while the video plays above. Way, way easier. If money is an issue, some of my colleagues have developed a free method to easily create a srt file (as opposed to Jubler which is not easy). It's by adding private videos to YouTube and using their pretty good tool. Don't worry, your videos will never be public and you can delete them after creating the subtitles. https://foliovision.com/2017/02/youtube-subtitle-auto-transcribing Vimeo no longer has a subtitle creation tool unfortunately (they did have one of the best).
Like (1)
Version 5.1
Semplicita
22 January 2018
If you’ve installed Java 9, you’ll probably need the new Jubler 6.0 (beta), as 5.x will error.
Like (1)
Version 5.1
Wts
28 February 2016
I can't figure out how to use the software. It has so many options that i simply fumble around in it at the moment. Although the application is free source where is the manual ? It seems to be the video subtitle editor i want and want to learn but why do they not include a manual. I know that not many Mac users have a requirement for a manual but this application appears to be so powerful that a manual would go a long way to get a good start with a successful edit. If someone here can point me in the direction of a download for the manual thank you.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.6
2 answer(s)
Jean-Loup
Jean-Loup
20 August 2016
http://en.flossmanuals.net/_booki/jubler/jubler.pdf
Like (1)
Wts
Wts
20 August 2016
Thank you Jean-Loup.
Like (1)
Bidule
15 October 2013
Many thanks! v.5.0.1 launches on 10.6.8.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Lemming
15 October 2013
Very useful for check subtitles and fixing issues.
Like
Version 5.0
Bidule
14 October 2013
Doesn't launch on 10.6.8. V.4.6.1 works fine.
Like
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
Dylan-Mc
Dylan-Mc
14 October 2013
Also not launching on 10.8.5. "Unable to load Java Runtime Environment." Console has no messages. V4.x worked well for me too.
Like
Semplicita
Semplicita
14 October 2013
v5.0 runs okay for me on 10.8.5 with Oracle Java 7 update 25 (1.7.0_25-b15).
Like
Greedyfranky
20 August 2013
Well written app. Easy to use. It tops every other comparable app (even payed ones).
Like
Version 4.6.1
fpatrick
08 June 2012
Works well with my MBP, thankQ! Aegisub for MAC OS X crash on launch was getting on my nerves!
Like
Version 4.6.1
Agmaster
07 January 2011
Works great and it also works well with ass subtitles as well.
Like
Version 4.1.3
Untmdsprt
07 September 2010
What version of mplayer is this needing? It can't find the one that I do have. Once this is fixed the app looks like it will be a great one to use. I have this one: http://mplayerosx.sttz.ch/ Thanks!
Like
Version 4.1.3
2 answer(s)
Untmdsprt
Untmdsprt
07 September 2010
After downloading all versions of mplayer and even the beta version of this app, I still can't get it to run properly on my Mac. It's a shame though as this looks like it would have been perfect for my needs. Jubler is not finding any version of mplayer, and the beta version gives a runtime error when trying to load mplayer. I'm using an Intel Mac with 10.6.4, 2GB RAM.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.3
Panayotis
Panayotis
17 February 2011
In case anybody is interested, you need to update to the latest version and the problem will be solved
Like
Chris-Fam
25 August 2010
Work great, best subtitle tool out there! keep up the good works!
Like
Version 4.1.3
Med!k
16 February 2010
Works also as a sub/srt converter. Thanks!
Like
Version 4.1.3
Flash1296
22 September 2008
Am I correct in concluding that I can edit .srt files with this ?
Like
Version 3.9.6
1 answer(s)
Panayotis
Panayotis
23 September 2008
Yes, this is it's main idea. :)
Like (2)
Version 3.9.6
Zerozerozero
19 February 2008
Nice app for writing/editing subrip subtitles. Works like a charm on ppc 10.4.10. Adjusting subtitles graphically by mouse-drag to the audio waveform display is easy though adjusting time codes manually can be a bit cumbersome. Uses mplayer for previewing the video with subtitles, which causes the only issue I have. The current version of mplayer freezes when it comes to the end of the video - can't even force-quit it. It's not the most Mac-like app - being multi-platform and based on java - but the visual aids are superb. We can only look forward to further improvements and enhancements - and to that end, I've made my donation.
Like (3)
Version 3.4.1
Visualnary-com
17 September 2007
After having tried BelleNuit's Subtitler program for a while, and never been happy with their unintuitive interface, I came across this program. Though the instructions are not exactly clear, it is a nifty program. To do new subtitles, one only needs the enter key and can type away. So much easier than Subtitler. Two problems I have come across so far: 1.) When changing the timecode settings, the movie won't play anymore. 2.) When quitting an unsaved project, the program does give an alert, but quits no matter what button one pushes. Other than that a great - and free! - piece of software.
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Panayotis
Panayotis
03 November 2007
1) I didn't quite understand your problem and what you did. If you want, you can contact me and discuss the problem, probably finding a solution. 2) You are right about this one. In version 3.4 which will be out soon, this is corrected. Thank you for pointing this out!
Like (3)
Version 3.3
Chris-Fam
03 August 2007
Nice app! I use it to fix a couple subtitles already :-) Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 3.3
Serbian
03 August 2007
The very best subs tool for Mac.
Like (2)
Version 3.3
Samuel22
23 January 2007
This is really nice app. I use it for about a year. It is the only way (as far as I know) to fix subtitles, - for free. You can shift the time, change the frame rate, etc.
Like (2)
Version 3.0