Back to Amadeus Pro page
Amadeus Pro free download for Mac

Amadeus Pro Reviews

2.7.5
26 March 2020

Multitrack sound recorder/editor with MP3 support.

JD-1
21 August 2019

Most helpful

I've been remiss in not leaving a review of this software which I've owned for over a decade now. Some people complain that the price is too high for what Amadeus Pro can do. As someone who has owned a number of audio processing software, I can say that I respectively disagree. Amadeus Pro does things quicker and easier then any of the other titles I've owned. The batch processing functions and ability to customize those processes alone are well worth the added cost, especially if you're a person like me who works with dozens and even sometimes hundreds of files! I use it not only on a daily basis, but multiple times every day and have my workflow with it down pat. I also own the developers wonderfully powerful and oh so useful app "Click Repair" for when I digitized my extensive library of vinyl back in the day and still occasionally use it. It works simply and accurately and is a great compliment to Amadeus Pro. Top all this off with a developer who is responsive, helpful and consistent and you have an application and back end that is WELL WORTH the cost!
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1

Read 137 Amadeus Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lesoth0
15 January 2020
Latest version is actually v2.71
Like
Version 2.7
JD-1
21 August 2019
I've been remiss in not leaving a review of this software which I've owned for over a decade now. Some people complain that the price is too high for what Amadeus Pro can do. As someone who has owned a number of audio processing software, I can say that I respectively disagree. Amadeus Pro does things quicker and easier then any of the other titles I've owned. The batch processing functions and ability to customize those processes alone are well worth the added cost, especially if you're a person like me who works with dozens and even sometimes hundreds of files! I use it not only on a daily basis, but multiple times every day and have my workflow with it down pat. I also own the developers wonderfully powerful and oh so useful app "Click Repair" for when I digitized my extensive library of vinyl back in the day and still occasionally use it. It works simply and accurately and is a great compliment to Amadeus Pro. Top all this off with a developer who is responsive, helpful and consistent and you have an application and back end that is WELL WORTH the cost!
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1
Bento de Espinosa
24 July 2019
Unless you want to record many tracks and use loops, you do not need a bigger application than Amadeus. It is wonderful for editing audio, with lots of features. I use it almost daily!
Like (2)
Version 2.6
Stef-Vandenabele
19 December 2018
Pro? This tool is marking itself as ‘pro’ but cannot even do the VST or AU plugins in real-time. You need to click on ‘apply’. I kid you not !! Also, using the zoom slider is very slow, even on a my powerful Mac Pro. Cutting/pasting part is cumbersome too. Even for free this audio editor lacks basic needs. Avoid at all cost and take look at good audio editors like Wavelab or Triumph. They offer both real-time effects, decent editing, customization UI and many more.
Like
Version 2.5.3
1 answer(s)
Hairersoft
Hairersoft
03 August 2019
Hi, I'm sorry to hear about your experience. AU plugins can be applied in real-time: click on the "gears" button at the top right of the track and then on "+" to add real-time plugins. Regarding the zoom slider, there unfortunately appears to be a bug in Mojave which prevents Amadeus from taking advantage of Metal on some (mostly older) hardware combinations, which appears to include the old generation Mac Pro. It should work fine on High Sierra and also appears to be fixed in the previews of Catalina.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
18 December 2018
Version 2.5.3 is out today. I haven't found any version history for it.
Like
Version 2.5.2
chasjunk
06 November 2018
This is by far the best multitrack audio editor available at this price point, and completely kicks the crap out of that hunk of garbage Audacity (more than 15 years of development and its still sub-par). The new dark mode support is nice but the thing I like about this program is that it gets out of my way and lets me edit audio quickly and efficiently.

The one complaint I have is that you need to remember that two-finger scrolling from the right EDGE of the trackpad brings up Notification Center, so scroll left from further in on the right side of the trackpad to avoid that. Easily worked around, but until you change the Notification Center gesture, you'll occasionally see it when you didn't intend to.

Did I mention it works beautifully with VST and AU plugins and even has a 32-bit mode (still) for working with older plug-ins? Or how it exactly hits the target of being easy-to-use (like Fission) yet more powerful, but not complicated like [name any expensive DAW]? Or that the developer is very responsive both on his forum and in email? Best money I've ever spent on an audio editing tool. You can buy it from the Mac App Store or directly from the developer, your choice.
Like (3)
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
12 November 2018
"That hunk of garbage Audacity" is given away by the developers at no cost to the user. You get what you pay for: $0.00 vs. $60.00.
Like (2)
chasjunk
chasjunk
09 March 2019
hwgray: yes, Audacity is free -- and is better than absolutely nothing (but only just). But MY TIME is valuable too -- so Audacity, with its not-infrequent crashing and quirky behaviour and general ugly UI -- has a cost. Maybe your time isn't worth $60, but I need an audio editor every week (and sometimes more than once a week), and so i invest in developers that are committed to a) producing a high-quality product and b) actively support it. Amadeus has that, Audacity does not. I'm not one of those people who tried Audacity once for five minutes -- I have a copy and keep it current, and every major new version I open the new version up and see if it can handle the level of work I do. For the past 15 years, the answer continues to be either "not at all" or "nowhere near as well as Amadeus," depending on how crash-prone a particular update is.

VALUE trumps COST for anyone doing anything that even aspires to be professional quality.
Like (1)
Dcannis
05 November 2018
The version 2.5 has localization problems (the menus are in English) and an error (bad url) on updating. This on Mac OS 10.13.6 High Sierra. I hope they are fixed as soon as possible. Everything else is OK
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Dcannis
Dcannis
08 November 2018
With version 2.5 (2073) downloadable from the manufacturer's website,
http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip
these problems have been solved. Many thanks to the developer!
Like
Haliomaster
04 November 2018
It may have some nice features but it has a terrible GUI that very slow updating. Scrolling, zooming and cutting the waves is very chunky and slow. You literately see it redrawing. I have a new MBPr i7 6 cores and very fast GPU. This should be 60fps, sadly it doesn't even get to 5fps. It has always been the case from v1 and still is with v2.5 It can be done the good wxay like Triumpg and Audacity (free). Two similar apps that are way ahead of this defunct app. Avoid ...
Like
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
05 November 2018
From what you've described, you have a better MBP that I have. My MBP is from late 2013, i7 4 cores, 16 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M GPU, 2 GB VRAM. I see none of the redrawing/frame rate/lag problems you're having. Therefore, I can't agree. I also don't understand why you call the app 'defunct'. That's entirely unfair considering the developer's constant improvements and updates.

As for alternative apps: Audacity is well worth consideration. I have a copy installed. But for my personal uses, I end up finding Amadeus Pro much easier to use with superior features. There are several similar, well-rated alternative apps, including Fission and Sound Studio, both of which I've used and dropped in favor of Amadeus Pro. I've never used Triumph, but it looks to be a more professional oriented application at $79 to Amadeus. I'm going to look it over!
Like (2)
Hairersoft
Hairersoft
16 January 2020
Please give the latest version a try. It should most definitely be very smooth on the hardware configuration you're describing.
Like
Version 2.7.1
simone-dehaan
30 May 2018
I have downloaded the Amadeus Pro App and it is in my Applications folder. Each time I use it I have to go into the Applications folder to open it. It then comes up on my desktop but when I finish it and close it the App disappears and there is no longer an icon on the desktop. A message also comes up that it quit unexpectedly. Is there anything I can do to stop this from happening? Thank you.
Like
Version 2.4.6
Derekcurrie
12 January 2018
I'm extremely pleased that I upgraded. Amadeus Pro never lets me down and the frequent updates are very much appreciated. This is THE audio editing app for Mac at this time for those who don't need to use a pro audio studio. Thanks to the developer!
Like (3)
Version 2.4.5
2 answer(s)
Marlo-R
Marlo-R
11 June 2018
I've only used Audacity but found it was kind of confusing for a novice audio recorder like myself. Would I be able to understand this app a little better? I'm just recording one instrument and vocals. Would it be worth it to spend $60 on this or maybe at least $25 on the Amadeus Lite?
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
12 June 2018
@Marllo-R: For what you want to do, you'll find it fairly easy to do. I'd download Amadeus Lite and play around with it to see if you like it.. Decide from there. Amadeus still has a few obscure and clunky aspects. But for simple recording of two tracks (mono or stereo) you'll like it IMHO.
Like
distreszed
31 July 2017
handy and robust app, does the job. zooming in and out needs some improvement tho.
Like
Version 2.4.1
Masterminter
26 July 2017
I don't see any improvements i regarding screenupdate. Zooming in is still freaky choppy, horizontal browsing is choppy as hell. All on my new MBPr 2017 running 10.12.6
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Fariborz
22 January 2017
I bought his application a month ago. I already had used version 1 in the past but the new features of the latest version are simply mind boggling . Amadeus Pro is very robust and has never crashed on me even when I edit huge audio files. It has nearly all the functions I need and its intuitive interface makes the learning curve very smooth. All its main commands can be mastered in a matter of hours. Mind you, it also comes with a complete manual that helps comprehending more complicated functions easily. After a month of intense use I have come to the conclusion that it’s exactly the application I was looking for and is worth every cent I paid for it. Can’t recommend it enough. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
SteveO1823
05 November 2015
I can't imagine how anyone who wants to save time and work efficiently would not turn to Amadeus Pro first. Unless you enjoy futzing around or require loads of complicated (for many of us) options, this app has served me well, along with other colleagues in broadcasting, almost since it's first release. Top marks for steady growth and smooth operation.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
Wts
31 October 2015
Not sure again why i have a paid membership with MacUpdate since once again their robot failed to find the update to version 2.2.1 from the developers web site. I do rate this application at 5 stars.
Like
Version 2.2
Aargl
06 April 2015
I've been using ProTools for about 15 years now, so I usually don't need those small editors, but sometimes it's nice to check or try something without having to fire up the big software.
I've tried other editors such as Sound Studio and Fission and, though they basically do the same thing, who knows why, when I need to do something a bit more tricky, I can't find it anywhere else than in Amadeus!
Last example: I needed to play 2 files together to check wether they were masterings from the same source or 2 different recording sessions. It was only in Amadeus that I could open one file, create a new stereo track, import the second file by drag and drop, move it to be in sync and play to hear they were exactly phase-synced.
I regularly try the competitors, but I always find Amadeus easier and quite perfect.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.7
Appleday88
01 April 2015
Unbrauchbares Programm! Das Hinzufügen von Radiostreams funktioniert nicht, das Programm hängt sich immer auf! Absolut unbrauchbar!
Like
Version 2.1.7
1 answer(s)
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
22 August 2015
This is not a fair review. An application is not useless just because ONLY ONE thing didn't work for you. Maybe you don't know how to do it? And what about contacting the developer?
Like (7)
Drtyrell969
01 March 2015
Been a long time user. I've used this product for years, but I've recently needed to use it for more than one track during mixing. This product is CRAP when it comes to playing more than one track back at a time. Their interface has a horrible design for simply pressing play and hearing what you have on the track list play. They favor a single track if you've so much as edited that track. You can get multiple tracks to play, but you have disengage all the edit stages, and use the spacebar. LAME. No product is this rigid. I'd say, what for an update that acts like 99% of every other product before taking the plunge.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
Jacob-und
11 October 2014
Short version: I've been producing electronic music since the late 90s and have had experience with audio editing applications. Amadeus Pro is an incredibly competent, fully capable audio editor, with a surprising amount of power "under the hood". As one deepens his or her knowledge of audio editing and Amadeus Pro, it's quite enjoyable to see that this program "stays/grows with you" as you learn. Consequently, this program has many features that may not readily apparent upon initial use, but are there when you need them, as your learn and as your needs may change. Less-short version: I've purchased Amadeus Pro several years ago, and without question, the developer provides updates frequently. Thus, even across multiple OSX versions, Amadeus Pro has ben my faithful audio-editng companion. Like reviewer Gary30 states, learning the control functions take time. At the risk of sounding "lame", however, I nonetheless have to admit that Amadeus Pro "grows with you". That is, this program is usable for those knowing next to nothing regarding audio editing (like me when I first started). Yet, as knowledge grows, I've discovered many feature-rich aspects of Amadeus Pro that address my needs. Further, I've found the developer to respond quickly to any communication initiated by me, and this program has provided lots of value for me. Yes, there are other audio editors our there that are, by all means outstanding. But, for my money, I'm sticking with Amadeus Pro. FYI: I am not affiliated with the individual/company that makes Amadeus Pro. I am just a hobbyist producer who values the utility of this program.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.7
Derekcurrie
25 September 2014
Versions 1.x THROUGH 2.1.6 are affected by changes in Apple's coding requirements and will NOT run on OS X 10.9.5 or 10.10.x. Notes about what's going on can be found at the user forum: http://www.hairersoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2549 "In OS X 10.9.5 and 10.10, Apple enforced new requirements for codesigned applications and, unfortunately, the current build of Amadeus Pro / Lite falls foul of these requirements. Since Amadeus performs an integrity check at startup, this test now fails and Amadeus refuses to run with an error message stating that it "has been tampered with"." Users of v2.x can simply upgrade to version 2.1.7 to patch the problem. Users of v1.x can download a FREE patched version of v1.5.5 here: http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusProOld.zip Note: Oddly, this patched version is still listed as v1.5.5. Be certain to TRASH your old v1.5.5 and replace it with this new '1.5.5' patched version. Everything then works again! Thanks to HairerSoft for this free patch!
Like (3)
Version 2.1.7
1 answer(s)
Brookhaven
Brookhaven
16 September 2017
And thanks for this note - I wondered why my registered app was saying it had been tampered with.
Like
Gary30
22 June 2014
I am a "Pro-sumer" I suppose for audio apps and so Amadeus Pro fits right into my needs and budget. The learning process for discovering the control functions and how to use them best requires some serious attention. The same could be said for any audio processing equipment or application. For Amadeus, I found that the difficulties seem to come when Overthink things rather than the opposite. Short of perfection, to me, finding that rings are easier than I thought is preferable to the other way round. I have always found the app to be stable and reasonably fast, although I do not stress it as much as some others probably do. One aspect of the app I had overlooked is the Batch Processor. You just select a series of actions you would like to take with parameters for them as needed. Then drop a file onto the window to confirm that it works as you hoped. Then, you drop a bunch of files there and it processes all of them. I used this to a 11.3 seconds of annoying bumper music and self promotion from then ends of over four hundred MP3 audio joke of the day files. You can save these batch files for later use. Brilliant stuff.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.6
Karloscka
03 April 2014
Does very well it's job as advertised! Transferring audio from vinyl / cassettes is a task that require some handy features that AP offers and is easy to use. No way to get satisfied with others, always is something missing.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.5
1 answer(s)
Abysmillard
Abysmillard
08 May 2014
Agreed. I really wanted to like Triumph and the other alternatives, but for transferring from vinyl or even recording, it's useless. If you need the feature set that Amadeus Pro has there is no other viable option.
Like (1)
Bento de Espinosa
19 February 2014
Lightweight but powerful audio editor for everyday tasks.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
01 January 2014
This ones was a good audio editor. But other similar apps came a long and surpassed this by miles. v2 brought jerky scrolling, slow handling of audio files, crashes, lockups when you use plugins, .. .. .. I suggest trying Triumph and you never want to launch this flawed app again. Avoid.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
piquadratpi2
31 December 2013
I use this program now since years and I never have had big issues. Maybe because I didn't work with very big audio files. It is very stable here on my iMac and I can use all my external inputs like a UA 30 from Roland and the Samson GTrack. Now I work with 10.9.1 on an iMac late 2012 and it is very fast here. I have other audio editors too but I prefer Amadeus because it is very easy to handle and has most features I need...
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
Aargl
06 August 2013
When converting a file with the "save as" feature and then see the stats, you'll see no clippings, but re-opening the converted file they may be thousands! I suppose the stats are still using the original file though the converted file being displayed... I wonder if its the same for any other graphic feature, is it referred to the original file, in such case?
Like
Version 2.1.3
Shallowp
09 April 2013
Painfully slow app. The screen refresh rate is below average to say the least. Try to zoom quickly and you know what I mean. Even on an i7 MBP its sooooo sloooow. Even Audacity is free and has a smooth GUI. If you want to use a good audio editor and want to pay for it, try Triumph.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.3
3 answer(s)
chris-com
chris-com
20 May 2013
I have a late 2009 27" iMac (Core i7.) I run it full screen and have not experienced any of the UI slowness you wrote about. I was just editing a 200MB file recorded at 24/96. I zoomed in and out instantaneously. Strange that on a 3.5 year old Mac, I would have no issues.
Like (5)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
27 October 2013
I have the same issue. Been complaining about it for years.
Like (2)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
25 September 2014
Can't understand why this is listed as "The Most Helpful Review" at the top of this page when this review is nearly a year-and-a-half old, and several updates ago. And then the reviewer suggests trying a competitor. The current version runs fast on my iMac, as it did in April of 2013 with the version they reviewed.
Like
Macinman
19 February 2013
Just thought I'd bring to the attention of the MacUpdate staff, that version 2.1.2 of Amadeus pro is out: I'm not sure how long it's been out, but it was an update for my existing copy yesterday, and it's what is on the Developer's site, and the Mac App Store. Just thought I'd let people know since we all get busy at times and things get overlooked sometimes :)
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
02 December 2012
Good software. But the pricing & the upgrade policy are on par with Elgato's (stands for "ridiculous" at best).
Like (5)
Version 2.1
Bdkennedy1
13 November 2012
Can't recommend this program anymore. I've been using it off and on for several years but the UI is the slowest of any program I've used. Click and drag a selection and watch your life pass you by as you wait and wait and wait for the window to scroll. There are just so many little things wrong I deleted it out of frustration.
Like
Version 2.1
Penguirl
25 October 2012
I wanted to work with a 5.1 clip from an xvid/avi file that I extracted the audio from with QT Pro giving me a mov/m4a file. Audacity, Sound Studio, WavePad, and TwistedWave would not open the file, at least not properly. Only Fission (v1!) and Amadeus Pro would open the file properly so that I could trim and boost it. I prefer Peak's interface but that is water under the bridge.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
25 October 2012
Update: After reading all the rave reviews for Wave Editor I decided to give it a try, but it would not open the file either.
Like
Old-Peter
22 October 2012
I work daily with audio files. Mostly for mastering purposes. What I need is a user friendly interface, vst and au support and a smooth/fast working UI. The latter is the big problem with Amadeus Pro. It is so d*mn slow working with. Just Rescale a window and you know what I mean. On a MBP Retina is so slow the hate for Amadeus grows with every second you work with it. I know MBP Retina have slower graphics but Wave Editor is very fast rescaling windows even on a Retina. Also, it crashes very often when you want to process audio with VST plugins. Ozone5 for example, is plain unusable. One could say Ozone5 is buggy, well on Wave Editor and Ableton Live it never crashes. For me Amadeus Pro is not useable. Its slow (at least on a state of the art MBP Retina) and crashes when working with VST plugins. In the end I would say you should take a look at Wave Editor before buying Amadeau Pro. It has a steeper learning curve but works!
Like (2)
Version 2.1
obergsson
26 May 2012
Love it .... have used it for years now. Tried others .... even dedicated ones such as Bias's for digitizing tapes and vinyl ... but always come back to amadeus. Doesn't introduce any artifacts. Great interface and ease of use ... very logically layed out. Well worth the money.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
DirkTheMenace
04 March 2012
The price policy is just plain crap. This is a fine audio editor but I would every also urge to try Wave Editor. It has a clear pricing and the editor works about the same.
Like (6)
Version 2.0.6
Solefald
06 December 2011
Paid $30 for Amadeus II, then I paid $25 to upgrade to Amadeus Pro and now I am supposed to pay another $40 to upgrade? Not happening. And this new icon is horrendous.
Like (17)
Version 2.0.5
Djefis
29 November 2011
Super but Expansive.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
06 February 2012
Expansive, or expensive? This is cheap. Try Peak Pro. THAT'S expensive! And this does multitrack recording. Try ProTools. That's expensive too! :) This is cheap.
Like (5)
Stef-Vandenabele
05 November 2011
At this high price tag you expect something good. Unfortunate it does even come close to be a pro audio editor. Some high end codec aren't supported, no fx layer support, no pro dithering support, no isotope 64bit support, .. The devs needs to take a look at a good editor (Wavelab and Wave editor to name two). In the end a price tag of about $10 would be fair and worth it.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.5
Neal
11 September 2011
Way too expensive an upgrade price for existing customers. Update should be a flat $10.00. Great app, poor pricing policy. This is not a review it is a vote and I vote with my feet (clearly not my brain).
Like (6)
Version 2.0.4
3 answer(s)
Danmarc
Danmarc
13 September 2011
Have to agree that the asked upgrade price is way too steep. Will keep previous version as long as possible and ...
Like (5)
Stainboy
Stainboy
20 October 2011
i hate to say it but i have to agree with you. already having to pay for enough app upgrades due to Lion and $40 is more than i can swing. were i a professional sound editor i wouldn't think twice, but the steep upgrade fee is making me look for less expensive options that offer multitrack sound editing (Amadeus Lite is cheaper but does not have multitrack). which is a pity, since i really like Amadeus Pro.
Like (4)
Tom-25
Tom-25
05 November 2011
I didn't update for the same reason (price)
Like (5)
Yavari
10 September 2011
I've had a registered copy of Amadeus Pro for about a year, and it's incredibly usable, and it's probably my favourite sound-recording app for simple work—I don't need the bells and whistles that come with other programs, so it's perfect for me. The interface is intuitive, and it's incredibly zippy and stable. I do think, however, that the developer's recent pricing tactic is not the best way he could have gone about it—I paid $40 for this app last year, and I am not inclined to pay yet another $40 to upgrade to 2.0. I agree with the other commenters that he probably should have lowered the price or kept it where it was ($40 was a fair price, in my opinion), in keeping with most developers' stances on pricing these days.
Like (9)
Version 2.0.3
uniQue
08 September 2011
Despicable behaviour from the developers over the unexpected upgrade so soon after the MacLegion bundle. I have uninstalled the software out of principle and needless to say will not be recommending this product to any friends.
Like (6)
Version 2.0.3
6 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
11 September 2011
Sounds more like an issue with ML not determining when the dev would release a paid upgrade, not an issue with the developer. At MacUpdate, we always ensure that our Promos and bundles are offered months before paid upgrades are released (or we communicate very clearly what the terms and timelines are).
Like (2)
uniQue
uniQue
12 September 2011
Whilst ML could have done more to find out the upgrade path plans it doesn't shift the blame or make it any less of a crappy move by the developer. ML also made a a valiant effort to rectify it but again the dev wasn't interested so my original opinion stands. As for the MU reference well you just give us outdated apps from the go ie TTP 5 when 6 was already out, heh :)
Like (3)
-M-S-
-M-S-
13 September 2011
If a dev isn't interested in offering $40 paid upgrades at $1 each you can hardly fault the dev. Re: TTP5 -- we clearly marketed that version accordingly and at the time it was compatible with all the same Macs as v.6. It's the only time we've sold an app that wasn't the latest version (because the feature set was virtually identical) and we've definitely learned our lesson. We offered full refunds to anyone who asked for it (canceling out their bundle order entirely and voiding all serial numbers). The fault there doesn't lie with Micromat, either, since it was our call to go with v.5 since terms couldn't be agreed on v.6. Just like the fault of the Amadeus upgrades doesn't lie with the developer of that app.
Like (1)
uniQue
uniQue
15 September 2011
The dev jumped on the bundle at v1.5.5 and made nobody aware they were about to release v2 less than a month after the bundle. Of course you can and should fault the dev. Not that I blame you for doing so but arguing with you is simply pointless as your bias and agenda is obvious. Blame ML and plug MU.
Like (3)
Hairersoft
Hairersoft
27 September 2011
Actually, to be fair, my original schedule was to have the paid upgrade release more than two months after the ML promo. They then delayed the date of the promo several times. I suppose I could have simply waited for another month before releasing version 2, but it doesn't seem to me that it would have made any difference. At the end of the day, you would still have got version 1 and the upgrade would still have been paid.
Like (2)
Hairersoft
Hairersoft
27 September 2011
Oh, by the way, every ML customer qualifies for a discount that allows you to pay only the price difference between versions 1 and 2 to upgrade, instead of the full upgrade price. Please see the FAQ on my website for instructions. Yes, I did ask ML to send this offer to their customers and they refused to do so, preferring instead to publicly blame me on their website. No, I cannot do it myself due to privacy and anti-spam regulations.
Like (4)
DJSquint
01 August 2011
As a DJ I do a lot of audio manipulation for preparing my setup. In the past I used Wavelab -- Windows -- and it did the job fast and easy. I tried a lot of audio editors and I cannot recommend Amadeus Pro. It is not very nice to work work. The work flow is a drag imo I crashed several times when working on 64bit wav files too. Please take a look at Wavelab and Audio Editor. Both are great if not best editors on the market.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
DJSquint
DJSquint
01 August 2011
I was refering to Wave Editor -- not Audio Editor ;-)
Like (2)
Big-Mac-XXL
09 July 2011
I'm still running Amadeus Pro 1.3 on Snow Leopard and I'm very happy with it. Good software. I won't switch to 2.0 since the price of $60 is much to high for a little audio editing and encoding. The author should lower the price tag to $20 and the cash would roll in like Swiss cheese rolls downhill.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.2
2 answer(s)
tootsy
tootsy
01 August 2011
I must agree.< /i%
Like (2)
Mac66graphics
Mac66graphics
10 September 2011
I definitely AGREE. A lower price and more applications would be sold. In these hard economic times and especially living off SS ONLY, every dollar counts.
Like
Ryde
23 June 2011
I only found out now that the "brand new" Amadeus Pro license which I obtained just a few weeks ago through the MacLegion bundle is already outdated. This makes me very angry. The fact that I'd be entitled to a reduced update price of $19.99 does not placate me as this is a matter of principle. If I purchase a software license I should be allowed to expect this license to be good for the latest version of this product at least for a fews months. Anything else puts me off and leaves a bad taste of bait-and-switch. I haven't yet installed Amadeus Pro and now I won't do it anymore (Audacity is just fine and it is free). Furthermore, I will remember this incident and recommend others against doing business with this software publisher until he changes his mind and practices.
Like (16)
Version 2.0.1
4 answer(s)
Paolo-Tramannoni
Paolo-Tramannoni
24 June 2011
I can agree on the upgrade policy, but not on this statement: "Audacity is just fine". No, it is not, when compared to the sound quality and tools of Amadeus.
Like (4)
ultratiem
ultratiem
07 July 2011
Sadly, I've found a few developers have done this in the past. They include their software licenses in bundles and when the sale ends, they quickly loose a "brand new" version, and sell you an "upgrade", or you can stay stuck at the old version. This never goes over well and is largely the reason I have stayed away from most "Mac Heist" like deals. A shame this guy is one of the smarmy ones... Oh well. You can fight back by hitting them where it hurts—their bank accounts—by taking your money elsewhere. I have a long list of people and businesses I boycott. Beautiful thing is there is usually a competitor (very rarely are you tethered to a business).
Like (6)
Espiridion
Espiridion
07 July 2011
Most developers don't do this. This behavior is the exception rather than the rule. A paid upgrade for an unannounced product very shortly after a sale. I can only recall RealMac, Yazsoft, and Softpress doing such a thing. IIRC, Yazsoft ended up giving a free upgrade, didn't they? The Softpress upgrade (Freeway) was worth it IMO. I paid for it after being initially pissed-off. Regarding Amadeus, the only thread here http://maclegion.com/discuss.htm just mentioned that MacLegion "offered to personally purchase the upgrade for every MacLegion customer at a discounted rate." I don't know what rate is that, but it seems that it's now up to HairerSoft to take the next step. They can still make things right for Maclegion customers while getting some additional revenue in the process. Or not...
Like (5)
Psonihvi
Psonihvi
31 July 2011
Version2 was an important improvement with new features. Nobody is forced to upgrade, it's your own choose. I payed gladly for my upgrade of this amazing software. If you will not pay - make your own software or shut up!
Like (2)
obergsson
18 June 2011
I purchased Amadeus Pro 2 months ago. I just downloaded the update. Now the program does not recognize that I am already a registered user and I most renter my registration information. This I do ... exactly according to the email invoice I received.I have double and triple checked that the info is correct and you guessed it ... the program will not recognize my registration ... so now I have a crippled demo version after paying for it. You would not believe the process you have to go through to verify your registration. I have decided it is not worth the effort and am going to use Audacity or some other program from here on in. If a paid app can't remember your registration info on updates what does that say .... YOu've been warned
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
3 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
18 June 2011
If you read the FAQ on the developer's site all Major releases are a Paid upgrade, point releases are free. I remember the same upgrade fee from 2007, when I upgraded Amadeus II to Amadeus Pro 1x, and now in 2011 to Amadeus Pro 2x. 3 years of use between paid upgrades in my book is a fair time frame. I originally purchased Amadeus II in 2005, All my license dates are listed in the license manager, this is how I know my time frame. Maybe write to the developer and see if he'll knock the price down since your purchase was recent. I would have done so myself, if my former purchased hadn't been 3 years ago. As it is, I felt the upgrade price to a new major release after 3 years was worth the value to me.
Like (4)
Espiridion
Espiridion
18 June 2011
Here's what the developer wrote to me here at Macupdate: "Hi, if you purchased Amadeus Pro after April 1st, you should have received a discount code allowing you to purchase the upgrade for $19.99, which is simply the price difference between versions 1.5 and 2.0. If you didn't receive this coupon, please contact me." I'm not upgrading, though. I'll stay with 1.5.5 which I bought about a month ago.
Like
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
07 July 2011
You could not purchase this version 2 months ago. It was only available for beta testing. If you purchased, it must have been for version 1.5.5. I bought version 2 on June 14, 2011, the first day it was made available for purchase. It is well worth the upgrade price.
Like
Joinerm
18 June 2011
I have used Amadeus for many years to edit audio from my lectures, prior to posing on Blackboard for my students. It has been a good, solid and easy to use companion. But as a teacher, I cannot justify $40 to upgrade. Please reconsider. Or perhaps, provide an academic pricing?
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Macinman
18 June 2011
I've been using Amadeus since Amadeus II. One feature that drew me to buy this app years ago was, it was the only sound editor I could find that still handled the system 7 sound file format. This was useful to me because I have used the Mac since the 90's and had some sounds in system 7 sound format which I was able to convert to something OS X could read. This application has worked very well for other things I've wanted to do recently such as restore some of the preaching series I have on cassette to digital format. The only other sound editor I've used in addition to Amadeus was apple's soundtrack pro, as a part of my video/broadcast training. I paid the upgrade price of $40, and compared to apple's pro tools, I think that's a very reasonable price for what this application does, and offers me.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
3 answer(s)
Wajisin
Wajisin
18 June 2011
Niggling, I know. Apple owns Logic, not Pro Tools. Regarding the latest Amadeus version; I'm another unhappy chappy who has the recent version upgrade without being able to stop the process. The 'preference/download updates automatically' radio button is unique for me. I am being kind enough? Anyway, I'm another objector to the upgrade price.
Like (2)
Macinman
Macinman
18 June 2011
I think you read my comment about the apple pro tools incorrectly. there is a package called pro tools that isn't owned by apple. In this case, I was using the phrase apple's pro tools to refer to Apple's pro line of suites, FCS, and Logic pro. I believe the television station where I did my college program through, has a copy of pro tools available to control their mackie soundboard. I'm not sure if that's what they use though.
Like (1)
Espiridion
Espiridion
21 June 2011
An easy (and free) way to convert System 7 audio files was to use SoundApp (not the new one, but the one from 1996-2000). I loved that application: http://www-cs-students.stanford.edu/~franke/SoundApp/ Newer options include PlayerPro, SystemSound Extension, and FileJuicer. Of these, the latter is the only one I've used. Regarding Soundtrack Pro it definitely makes $40 look like a bargain, but it offers quite a bit more than Amadeus, from sound-fx and loops to effects plugins (i.e., it comes with a variety of delays, distortions, equalizers -including linear phase-, modulation effects, reverbs, etc.). It's also "smarter" than other editors when using reverb. For example, when creating a drum loop and adding Soundtrack's reverb, the clip is extended to include the reverb's tail. With other editors -including Amadeus- I have to manually insert a silence in order for the reverb's tail to be part of the loop. For the type of task you describe I don't think you would need or want Soundtrack Pro, and Amadeus should be able to fulfill those needs. For other tasks it is a bit limited.
Like
Bleech-Jef
18 June 2011
As a new iMac owner I am looking for a decent audio editor. Tried several editors but Amadeus did not cut the bill for me. It just doesn't feel right at moments. To do simple things like applying effects is not intiutive. No Vst support as far as I know which is a major bummer. For me the overall GUI interface is not good. I like Wave Editor much more and it is also more professional. Pricetag is about the same too.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.1
5 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
18 June 2011
It does have VST support. Go to Effects > VST Effects. It's not implemented as nicely as alternative products, but there is VST support.
Like (2)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
18 June 2011
It does too have VST support. I literally just opened a track in Amadeus and applied a VST effect. Why aren't you reviewers at least offering honesty in your appraisals?
Like (3)
Bleech-Jef
Bleech-Jef
18 June 2011
Indeed, it seems to have VST support. I overlooked this. But one of my D16 plugins didn't work. It created a crashreport too. Anyways, it is not as flexible implemented as Wave Editor. The layer feature of Wave Editor is incredible. My first impression and quotation of Amadeus doesn't change. It isn't innovative and intuitive in any way. For me it just doesn't work fine.
Like (3)
Macupchris
Macupchris
18 June 2011
Out of curiosity: which one of your D16 VST plug-ins did not work? Did it work on a previous Mac system? Did you check compatibility with 10.6x and a 64-bit-environment? Did you ckeck whether D16 does offer an AU version of the same plug-in? They do, for several, and it is generally the case that AU plug-ins cause fewer problems on the Mac, with any audio software. As for Amadeus not supporting VST: it has integrated VST support seemingly forever, maybe even before it had AU support. The simple action of consulting Help or the User Manual in search of a single feature is seemingly a dying art among computer users, even among more enlightened ones — like MacUpdate readers. What's next to go down the drain? Literacy itself? Whether you find applying effects in Amadeus un-inituitive is a sujective matter. I'm just skeptical about Wave Editor (which I otherwise like and use and recommend in equal measure to Amadeus) being more intuitive from an FX perspective. Clearly the workflow concepts diverge, and users must find out which suits them best. Still no reason for derogatory comments about the software per se.
Like (3)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
18 June 2011
Many of these types of audio editors have an "Effects" menu item in the menu bar. I'm not quite sure how counter-intuitive it is to see the word "effects" at the top of the screen in what is clearly a menu bar item. I'm not sure how many competing definitions there are for that word. You click the word, the menu opens, and voilà . . . there's a whole bunch of effects listed, including the phrase "VST Effects" with a bold arrow indicating a sub-menu that would have a list of any plug-ins you have installed. Is this really, truly, that hard to figure out? As for the plug-ins not working, Amadeus gives you a very clear explanation from within the program itself. When I first started up AP 2 to try it out, it was (by default) in 64-bit mode. I tried to apply some of my plug-in effects, but they were no longer listed. However, there was a sub-menu entry that said, "Where are my other Audio Units?" That seemed intuitive enough for me, so I opted to, you know, read it. I then got a pop-up explanation as to how they were not 64-bit versions and, as such, will not work if AP 2 is running in 64-bit mode. AP 2 told me that I could make them work if I ran the program in 32-bit mode (which I've chosen to do for now). It is the responsibility of the plug-in creators to create 64-bit versions; it is not the responsibility of Martin Hairer to do this. Is THAT clear enough for you?
Like (3)
Drooler
18 June 2011
Far too dear for an upgrade!
Like (8)
Version 2.0.1
Robk
18 June 2011
I used to recommend Amadeus Pro. But with the latest price increase for version 2.x, I can no longer recommend it. In the same price range is Wave Editor (WE) which in my view is a superior product and more stable. I know some folks will also recommend DSP-Quattro. Bur I believe it is unfair to compare Amadeus Pro with DSP-Quattro. DSP-Quattro is more than twice the cost of Amadeus Pro. That being said it is on sale from time to time. Right now you can buy DSP-Quattro for almost the same price as Amadeus Pro (for the cross upgrade price). And in my view, DSP-Quattro is a much better product that Amadeus Pro with more features (but may be too complicated for some users who just want to do basic sound editing and recording). Hairersoft should consider LOWERING the price for Amadeus Pro to where it was before. For basic sound editing and recording, I am now recommending Fission or Audacity (which are MUCH more reasonable) to my friends.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Macupchris
Macupchris
18 June 2011
Fission is a good recommendation for VERY basic editing, especially for someone who already owns Audio Hijack Pro. Although, if you want to keep it basic, there is now also Amadeus Lite. Audacity, on the other hand: Today? On a recent Mac? Anything but basic, anything but ideal for a beginner. And not remarkably stable either. I'm still grateful that Audacity exists, because it's multiplatform, and free, and a valuable open-source effort. But horses for courses, please.
Like (1)
Espiridion
Espiridion
19 June 2011
Good point Robk. It should be noted that Wave Editor ($79) used to be a $250 product, though. Even more expensive than DSP-Quattro ($200). At that price, numerous publications have called DSP-Quattro "an absolutely unmissable bargain," "a true bargain," and "at this price, the cost effectiveness is unbelievable." I don't recall complaints about WE's price at $250, $79, or their $59 sale price. At $250 it was considered "able to deliver an amazing product at an excellent price." Since many users don't need the features and/or quality of DSP-Quattro or Wave Editor, the cheaper options made a lot of sense. Given the aforementioned price drops the cheaper option aren't that much cheaper anymore. In this case, the price gap gets further reduced with Amadeus' price increase.
Like (1)
AmplifyFitness
18 June 2011
$20 is a reasonable upgrade price point, $40 is not.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.1