Back to Webmailer page
Webmailer free download for Mac

Webmailer Reviews

1.3.1
25 May 2012

Preference pane for setting mailto: parameters in OS X.

Roro01
10 October 2007

Most helpful

INDISPENSABLE If you use web fetch mail programs like Gmail, Yahoo! mail, Hotmail etc. in addition to Apple Mail, this application is a must have. The great thing about it is: when you shift-click on "Contact Us" in a website, on "Send Email" in the Address Book, on "Compose Mail" in Google Notifier etc. - a small window appears on your desktop where you can choose to use either Apple Mail or anyone of your web fetch mail programs. I'm writing this because I'm very surprised to see the small number of downloads and I can only assume it is due to ignorance.
Like (1)
Version 1.0

Read 10 Webmailer User Reviews

Rate this app:

swrobel
03 November 2015
Still works on OS X 10.11 El Capitan despite the System Preferences pane crashing constantly. Just go to Mail.app and change the Default email reader there. It opens Gmail for me in my browser.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Roro01
03 February 2011
INDISPENSABLE!!! Works perfectly on Mac OS 10.6.6. It is a necessary tool if you have web fetch mail accounts in addition to Apple Mail.
Like
Version 1.2
Nealnt
02 February 2011
The 1.2 version appears to be PPC only.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Belkadan Software
Belkadan Software
03 February 2011
Certainly shouldn't be, since I'm developing on an Intel machine! If you're having problems, please e-mail me.
Like
Hermit
30 March 2010
Does what it says, and the added touch of being able to edit the URLs and even throw in a script as the action is sweet (and really only limits what can be done to short-scripting abilities). A couple of issues with the 1.1 release that were corrected by the programmer within 2 days of the first email being sent. And for someone to rate it low because of an issue they don't even contact the programmer about should be blocked from being able to write reviews! (it took using a brand new user account on the programmer's computer to replicate my issue, so he does what it takes to fix the problem if you give him enough details)
Like
Version 1.1.1
Higherterrain
28 March 2010
Why just install a PrefPane for one use when you can install a PrefPane that does so much more. I use Default Apps http://www.rubicode.com/Software/RCDefaultApp/
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Mxh
27 March 2010
Consistently crashes System Preferences when attempting to execute the preference pane for this application. I suggest not wasting your time with this version.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
jprokos
jprokos
28 March 2010
No need for you to rate it one star for an oversight that will soon be fixed. Afterwards, use the program and judge it then. "With great power comes great responsibility." -Spiderman's Uncle
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Hermit
27 March 2010
I am having an issue with this version that I have contacted the programmer about. No matter what the preference pane (or even the preference file) have selected as the mailto: destination, it always tries to send mail via Yahoo! mail. I really hope this gets fixed as this is the exact program I've been waiting ages for!
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Hermit
Hermit
28 March 2010
Programmer has corrected my stated issue with version 1.1.1. It will still display the default if System Preferences is closed then the Webmailer prefpane is opened, but the program's preferences are still saved and active.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Hermit
Hermit
30 March 2010
And one day later, the developer delivers the completely corrected app to my email! Gotta say, the program does what it says (completely now) and the developer is incredibly responsive! Now on to my 5 star review...
Like
Version 1.1.1
Roro01
27 March 2010
Works perfectly on iMac Intel 10.5.8. In order to have the choice of Apple Mail, add the following in System Preferences>Webmailer: Under Name - Apple Mail Under Destination - #osascript -e 'tell application "Mail"' -e 'GetURL "mailto:[to]?[?]"' -e 'activate' -e 'end tell'
Like
Version 1.1
jprokos
27 March 2010
I installed it, tried to open it, crashes System Preferences everytime.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Roro01
10 October 2007
INDISPENSABLE If you use web fetch mail programs like Gmail, Yahoo! mail, Hotmail etc. in addition to Apple Mail, this application is a must have. The great thing about it is: when you shift-click on "Contact Us" in a website, on "Send Email" in the Address Book, on "Compose Mail" in Google Notifier etc. - a small window appears on your desktop where you can choose to use either Apple Mail or anyone of your web fetch mail programs. I'm writing this because I'm very surprised to see the small number of downloads and I can only assume it is due to ignorance.
Like (1)
Version 1.0