Back to ReadCube Papers page
ReadCube Papers free download for Mac

ReadCube Papers Reviews

15 April 2021

Your personal library of scientific resources.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
gorillayue
gorillayue
May 10 2021
4.23.4
1.0
May 10 2021
1.0
Version: 4.23.4
With Papers 3 stop working (it keeps crashing after I upgraded to MacOS 11.3.1), I tried very hard to integrate ReadCube Papers into my workflow just as I used to when using Papers 3. But I'm discouraged with two most frustrating features of this software: 1. When I edit the pdf file using externally PDF reader like Adobe Acrobat, it will automatically replace my edited version with a clean slated new PDF file so all my edits are gone next time you open it from the ReadCube Papers library! 2. There is almost no hotkey whatsoever in this software. Even the simple CMD+W (close window), CMD+H (hide the window), CMD+C (copy reference), CTRL+Tab (switch tab) do not work. Many hotkeys that used to work with Papers 3 are all gone. It remains as a disaster. I'm now in this void space where there is no replacement of Papers 3 , which was seamlessly integrated into my workflow.
simonhohl
simonhohl
May 8 2021
4.23.4
1.0
May 8 2021
1.0
Version: 4.23.4
A complete desaster. I cant use my papers 3 anymore and most of my papers were not transferred to read cube papers aka papers 4. I can't find anything and have no idea how to finish writing my current paper. What can I say it's catastrophic how bad this new software is. GIVE ME BACK MY PAPERS 3!!! - I love it soo much and I would pay you ten times the price that you ask for ur useless subscription plan of papes 4.
gorillayue
gorillayue
Apr 28 2021
4.23.4
1.0
Apr 28 2021
1.0
Version: 4.23.4
I echoed with what are being commented below. I had been using Papers since version 1. The transitioning from Papers 3 to ReadCube or forcedly Papers 4 was the worst downgrade of the quality of the Papers 1-3 software. Many useful functionalities such as sharing papers via email, searching and rank the papers, open papers with a PDF readers of choice (instead of by default) are completely gone. It just does not feel the same as Papers 1-3.
Mgfriedrich
Mgfriedrich
Apr 23 2021
4.23.4
4.0
Apr 23 2021
4.0
Version: 4.23.4
When will Readcube have the self-respect and pride to at least reach the level that Papers 3 had before being acquired by Readcube? I cannot understand what Readcube's business plan is. Is it to destroy the brand Papers to come up with a new product? Or is Readcube secretly paid by Zotero, Bookends, Endnote, or some other company? If not, can Readcube PLEASE take the responsibility of having purchased the most efficient academic PDF manager and at least support the old version until they can offer something at least remotely comparable. This is important.
rochodge82
rochodge82
Apr 17 2021
4.23.4
4.0
Apr 17 2021
4.0
Version: 4.23.4
So I have to admit - I am really surprised at the reviews here for Papers. I used both Papers 2/3 and while I will admit, the earlier version of the new Papers/Readcube combo was rough, I actually have become a convert. I like that they grab me the supplements, I don't mind their reader personally (the inline linking to referenced papers is handy) and the browser plug-in works well for me. I get that it's not the same as Papers 3, but to be fair, we all were pretty outraged when Papers 3 came out because it was so different from Papers 2. Not out to change anyone's mind here or bear the wrath of the community - I personally like the app and the direction it's going.
beruka
beruka
Mar 3 2021
4.22.2
0.0
Mar 3 2021
0.0
Version: 4.22.2
It is useless. I was a user or the original Papers since version 1. The transition to Readcube was horrific, my library was not entirely transferred, the browsing capabilities are at best mediocre. It takes me a long time (almost impossible) to find newly imported papers. I will be cancelling my subscription. The original Papers was far superior.
yyenzo99
yyenzo99
Feb 16 2021
4.22.2
1.0
Feb 16 2021
1.0
Version: 4.22.2
This used to be a greats software. Now there are lots of bugs and problems. In particular, they charge a lot, try to lock you in, and are constantly trying new tricks to make you pay more.
davidrondr360
davidrondr360
Feb 7 2021
4.22.2
1.0
Feb 7 2021
1.0
Version: 4.22.2
Papers V4.22.2 is a disaster. It doesn't synchronise across different computers. Information that was once entered inexplicably disappears. Do not invest in this software.
givankovich
givankovich
Feb 5 2021
4.22.2
1.0
Feb 5 2021
1.0
Version: 4.22.2
I loved Papers. Since it changed to Papers Cube there are many problems. It shuts down. PDFs are difficult to locate. You cannot share it through email. I wish they have not changed it.
mugsuk
mugsuk
Feb 2 2021
4.22.2
2.0
Feb 2 2021
2.0
Version: 4.22.2
expensive, and Bibdesk is far superior
sjkhuang
sjkhuang
Jan 28 2021
3.4.25
1.0
Jan 28 2021
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
The old pre-Redcube version works like a charm, albeit with some minor problems. The Redcube version, deleted it within a day. Luckily I kept the installation file for the old version, so I could go back to the old version. Anyway, I am now using Zotero, an open source software (like R) which works very much like the old Papers 3.
dsimonsarama
dsimonsarama
Nov 17 2020
3.4.25
1.0
Nov 17 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
They stopped supporting it to focus on Readcube, which is literally unusable now without a subscription. Enough said. Papers users are out of luck and Readcube is just like Microsoft 365 now - not good.
cristianrios
cristianrios
Oct 18 2020
3.4.25
1.0
Oct 18 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
I have ben a Papers user since its inception with version 1. The new version of papers is GARBAGE. To set up the library took three days of back and forth forth customer service. Once my Papers 3 library was finally set in the new system, I find out you cannot use your usual pdf reader as before; now you have to read the papers in the extremely slow and limited reader that comes with the software. Their solution? : you can EXPORT the file as a pdf! This means every time you want to read a paper comfortably you have to clutter your computer with new files!!!! Avoiding this kind of clutter is the main objective of this software! I sincerely cannot understand the infinite ineptitude of these developers. Finally, once I finally got my money back and went back to my Papers 3 library, it did not work anymore as before, it crashed repeatedly and did not sync with my iPad anymore. So now I have to cross my fingers and hope they help me trying to make the best version of Papers so far work again as before. If this does not work, I will have to shop for an alternate software. Any suggestions? What a waste of time, I wish I had never tried Papers 4.
knfnus
knfnus
Oct 5 2020
3.4.25
1.0
Oct 5 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
Completely agree with review from habgood58! Having worked with Papers for Mac, v1 and onwards, I find the present 'Redcube Papers'-version a real downgrade. Numerous additional examples of poor functionality in comparison with P3 can be listed, in addition to lack of support (or even return communication from the custom support or developers)! Unfortunately, I was fooled by the very unclear marketing from Redcube, and relied on the good reputation of the 'old' Papers program. Does anyone out there know if and where I can find the most recent 'before Redcube version' for download and re-installation...!?!
habgood58
habgood58
Aug 29 2020
3.4.23
1.0
Aug 29 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
New Papers = 0/5, old Papers 3 = 5/5. I have used Papers since version 1 many years ago and by the time it had evolved to Papers 3 it was an extremely useful, user friendly and intuitive bibliographic tool that made searching for articles, organising them and and in text citation when writing manuscripts so simple. It would also search through the body text of PDFs in my library to find phrases or particular words that I was after. When our library stopped using a proxy server and switched to web browser plugin extensions, that effectively killed off Papers as it could no longer access any articles. I learned that Papers had been taken over by Read Cube who now market their software under the name Papers. So thinking all would be fine I switched to the Read Cube version assuming it would an updated or improved version. I was completely wrong. It turned out to be the worst bibliographic tool I have ever tried. On a par with Reference Manager from the late 90's, but without the loading up stacks of floppy disks. Really don't understand why they took over Papers unless it was to kill off a competitor. They have certainly done that by stripping out out nearly every key functionality Papers 3 had and replacing it with nothing useable. What used to literally take seconds, searching for articles, is now an extremely cumbersome trawl through multiple web browser pages using dreadful PubMed/Google style manual construction of search strings with boolean operands and bracketing. Even something as simple as trying to search for an author with a first initial to cut out the irrelevant results is excruciatingly painful. There is simply nothing in the Read Cube version that is any better than just going to PubMed and trying to find stuff there. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, even if was free. As a scientist publishing research articles this app is clearly not aimed at my demographic. I have now deleted it out of frustration and for the time being resorting to asking my coauthors at other institutions who still have proxy access to obtain articles for me.
vincenthin
vincenthin
May 5 2020
3.4.23
1.0
May 5 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
I've worked with a couple of free reference managers and they all had their issues, so I tried the paid version of papers, but it's much better than the free once. It's buggy, slow and reference information doesn't update probably, updating multiple items at the same time doesn't work properly. If you're hoping to finally get a decent working reference manager and are willing to spend money on it, don't go for Papers3
patricio-haberle
patricio-haberle
Apr 17 2020
3.4.23
1.0
Apr 17 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
Can you actually but the program for fix a amount or you have to pay monthly for a year subscription? This will be my first app to organise my research documents. Is it worth it or should I deal with the free versions first?
BrookeL6889
BrookeL6889
Feb 26 2020
3.4.23
1.0
Feb 26 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
Pros: User friendly (when it works, which is the exception). Cons: Crashes constantly, freezes, rescinds permission to integrate citations into word documents, unpredictable, which is extremely inconvenient when you are trying to make a deadline. Tech support only periodically responds to requests for assistance. Summary: Would not recommend.
Mgfriedrich
Mgfriedrich
Feb 6 2020
3.4.23
4.0
Feb 6 2020
4.0
Version: 3.4.23
It's still the best reference manager out there. Intuitive, user-friendly, best workflow for finding and then integrating references from any application on the Mac. Great for researching a large library. Unfortunately, it has been bought by Readcube, which still is lagging behind with integrating the functionality of Papers 3. So the future is a bit unclear, but I will stick with Papers 3, until Readcube Papers reaches that level.
lflier
lflier
Nov 15 2019
3.4.23
4.0
Nov 15 2019
4.0
Version: 3.4.23
Papers 3.4.23 works in Catalina. The app works fine for what I do and I've had it for a long time. But if it doesn't suit you, I've read that Bookends is a good alternative.
tianjn09
tianjn09
Oct 17 2019
3.4.21 (581)
1.0
Oct 17 2019
1.0
Version: 3.4.21 (581)
Version 3.4.21 (581): the claimed (initial) support for Catalina doesn't work anyway! It won't crash but it's not responding.
kenneth-r
kenneth-r
Feb 10 2019
3.4.20
0.0
Feb 10 2019
0.0
Version: 3.4.20
Anyone tried the new version? Seems like it is a version "4".
lewisalun101
lewisalun101
Jan 23 2019
3.4.19
0.5
Jan 23 2019
0.5
Version: 3.4.19
Awful software. Papers 1 and 2 were great. Papers 3 leave well alone. Go elsewhere, save your money and time. Too many software glitches and poorly constructed compared to papers 1 and 2.
fahrenfort
fahrenfort
Mar 12 2018
3.4.16
0.5
Mar 12 2018
0.5
Version: 3.4.16
I took the trouble of creating a MacUpdate account just to leave a bad review for this app. Paper2 used to be great, but Papers3 is a useless piece of crap that behaves as though it is in full beta stage. Expect regular sudden crashes (software exits) and other bugs. DO NOT BUY, LOOK ELSEWHERE!
Mindplay
Mindplay
Dec 1 2017
3.4.12
0.5
Dec 1 2017
0.5
Version: 3.4.12
I used it since inception and it was a great product. Unfortunately since v2 developers kind of lost direction and now it's just a really buggy piece of cranky software that doesn't do any real good. Now even subscription based ?

You really have to inflict it on yourself...
HappyPig
HappyPig
Oct 26 2017
3.4.10
1.0
Oct 26 2017
1.0
Version: 3.4.10
According to the Papers team on Twitter, the new version of Papers/Readcube will be subscription only, and not use Dropbox anymore. I'm done with this program.
aramis-1
aramis-1
Sep 11 2017
3.4.10
5.0
Sep 11 2017
5.0
Version: 3.4.10
Used to be so good, papers1 loved it, papers2 added some useful functions, like "copy settings", awesome!, abandoned some others, like simply hit space bar for full few... timesaver. I want quick look as full screen!! Now: Papers 3… looks less colorful, less fun, - red flags turned black, purple folders turned grey... where are my buttons: mail, print … have to go through too many steps to just send a pdf, or print some. Where is the awesome "sound" when sending pdf by mail?? I have the feeling this turned into windows grey world... no fun! I want papers back!!!! Most important : why is it so much slower than papers 2 ???
HappyPig
HappyPig
Apr 12 2017
3.4.10
1.0
Apr 12 2017
1.0
Version: 3.4.10
So many visual bugs - large chunks of pdfs are seemingly overlaid with white squares that disappear when you click on them. The developers know about it apparently, but as their bug ticket system is private, no one else can know that they know until they are asked. Uggggh. And I don't have much hope for this being fixed anytime soon, as I think the programmers are a skeleton crew after the ReadCube merger. Every time I write a bug in (the ticket for which is forever marked private) the response I get includes some text pimping ReadCube as an alternative. No! Just fix Papers - to heck with ReadCube!
john-1234
john-1234
Dec 29 2016
3.4.7
1.0
Dec 29 2016
1.0
Version: 3.4.7
Hopeless now, almost unusable! ReadCube has drained the resources supposed to be used to fix bugs in current version.
xcoxco
xcoxco
May 11 2016
3.4.4
0.0
May 11 2016
0.0
Version: 3.4.4
Papers was recently acquired by Labtiva, Inc., based in Cambridge, MA and London. More importantly, the company is backed by Digital Science, a division of Macmillan Publishers Ltd, and is the developer of the app ReadCube. What this all means for Papers' users is unclear.

However, what is clear is that the bibliographic database/research software market is a mess. Good products, like Sente and Bookends, started out well but were never properly financed. Consequently researchers like myself have been in a difficult situation (left with incomplete and buggy software).

A big problem is that software designers do not understand the needs of power-researchers in terms of organizing (and reorganizing) their reference based data for multiple projects. Sente was excellent (but no longer supported) and Bookmarks powerful (but not fully modernized; needs a basic rebuild). That left Papers, which had lot's of promise not yet realized.

So now we are largely left with Labtiva and Mendeley - backed by good financing. Let's hope they are not obsessively focused on the Internet and do deliver the sort of functionality required by power researches. Connecting with other researchers is great ... but let's first make sure the software's core data management capabilities address the power data management needs of the individual researcher first alongside the usual basic bibliographic database management and reference generation functions.

Thank you.

PS: I work with about 11,000 references in a database built up over the past 10-years or more, a critical research tool. I have used End Note, Sente, Bookends at one time or another. I was about to consider a migration to Papers when I found out about the sale. Sente was a favorite, but it’s progress slowed and then stopped in recent years. Bookends has a lot of power, but needs a basic re-write and modernization to stamp out (nasty) bugs and make it easier to use. End Note I used in the 1990’s, and eventually dumped when it’s development seemed to freeze up.
The Philosofox
The Philosofox
Mar 29 2016
3.4.3 (458)
3.0
Mar 29 2016
3.0
Version: 3.4.3 (458)
Papers 3.4.4 (485) Beta: Yes, it still has a lot of issues. BUT: it's getting better again and my suffering (although still there) gets diminished on a monthly basis. I don't regard the competition as superior and feel slowly entitled to recommend it again (instead of Zotero). I hope that Springer Press – the acquirer – increases its investment in this app's development and helps Papers to live up to its true potential.
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
Jan 25 2016
3.4.2
1.0
Jan 25 2016
1.0
Version: 3.4.2
v 3.4.2 No written manual, only a so-called Papers Help Center, which consists of several, disparate online help topics, interspersed with Windows-only related topics. The program is still unable to create automatically bibliographies in Nisus and Mellel, the two preferred Mac word processors for academic writing.
jg64
jg64
Jan 23 2016
3.4.2
1.5
Jan 23 2016
1.5
Version: 3.4.2
I have been a Papers user since v. 1. It is my research inbox, because it remains best of class for: 1. automatically (more or less) matching stray PDFs to their metadata--i.e., giving me a full cite without typing. 2. renaming the PDF according to my favored convention and putting it in a folder with the right name--this way I can find it easily: across platforms, using Alfred etc. Plus it has good library search. But personally, I think Papers has always been bad at most other reference-manager functions, so I use Endnote when I write. The Papers 1-->2 transition was a disaster. The feedback was so bad that the developers took their support forum private to stop the negative word-of-mouth--and it's still private, btw. So I wasn't surprised when the 2-->3 transition was also a fail. Maybe even worse, since meanwhile the developers had sold out to one of the big publishing conglomerates, and were focused more on a PC version than on making the Mac app work. Now (1/16), more than a year after Papers 3 release, bugs in Papers 2 have finally forced me to switch. On the plus side, match still works. The minus side outweighs this gain, however: 1. The grey-on-grey interface with limited customizability is not readable by my middle aged eyes. That's the main problem with the interface, although as the top review also commented, there are numerous annoying lapses. For example: The match button is sometimes there, sometimes not. Tabs are not tabs. There are even more clicks than before to do basic tasks--e.g., you can't just enter an author's name--you have to enter it as a search term, then move the mouse to select it from the list. The uncustomizable top bar gives quick access to some functions I use all the time (e.g., go to Library), but is cluttered with other functions I never use (e.g., author list). I could go on, but you get the idea: the Papers 3 interface adds like 10% to the frustration of whatever you're trying to do. 2. If I stick with the file-renaming function, Papers will not sync across platforms. When sync is enabled, Papers 3 gives all PDFs unintelligible names. Thus I can either have sync or file renaming, not both. So now my research is stuck on one machine. There is a new "reading list" function which allegedly allows a limited number of papers to sync across platforms. That would be a minimally adequate substitute for sync. Alas, it doesn't work--only about 25% of attached PDFs get uploaded. 3. Large numbers of minor additional annoyances: "Citations"--a Papers add-on--is like whackamole: no matter how many ways I turn it off, it keeps on re-appearing. There doesn't seem to be an automatic warning about duplicate copies any more. I'm getting random hangs. Occasionally, a imported PDF is disappearing. Occasionally an archive of an article's webpage is getting imported--wtf? Database "checkpoints" are constantly being created, for what reason I know not; I have 250 MB of them just from today. Software is usually just a product. I guess I feel close enough to my research to feel personally aggrieved by the thoughtless, lazy, shoddy design of Papers 3. Increasing the amount of frustration and wasted time in the world is unethical. Eventually I'll carve out some time, do some research, and move my 6K item library to software that respects the user.
fukurokujo
fukurokujo
Nov 9 2015
3.4.1
4.0
Nov 9 2015
4.0
Version: 3.4.1
100 times better than bookends etc. oh my god I don't know what some people are smoking that they recommend featureless java like looking/working software over this. Yes it has some issues but certainly not that bad.
25thnan
25thnan
Aug 31 2015
3.3.2
5.0
Aug 31 2015
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
I want to give the developer credit for upgrading the Ver 2 to 2.8. The interface is optimized and some tagging problems with certain sites were solved.
HappyPig
HappyPig
Jul 13 2015
3.2.10
1.0
Jul 13 2015
1.0
Version: 3.2.10
Papers 3.3.0 is completely broken on the 10.11 beta (15A215h). It loads the splash screen but then quits. This isn't unexpected due to running a beta, so I can't officially complain, but it is the only program I have that doesn't work with the El Capitan beta, so there's that.
liliana-rincon
liliana-rincon
Jun 2 2015
3.2.9
0.5
Jun 2 2015
0.5
Version: 3.2.9
I have been using papers since the beginning and I tried papers 3 last week. I have never been so frustrated. The program quit on me every 5 minutes!. The interface changed completely in a bad way. If I search for an author it will say in the bottom that it found x papers but the screen remains white!. When trying to import references into word it will not find some of them. I can keep listing all the things that are not working correctly but I will get mad again. Going back to papers 2! or endnote....
john-1234
john-1234
May 20 2015
3.2.9
1.0
May 20 2015
1.0
Version: 3.2.9
Slow painfully slow when my lib gets bigger and bigger....
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
Apr 24 2015
3.2.8
1.0
Apr 24 2015
1.0
Version: 3.2.8
I wanted to rate Papers, but that is only possible if I create a "review". Don't know why the link does not appear in my previous comment. OK then, I will try again: Use this link to see which applications are supported by citations http://shrtm.nu/U6R3
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
Apr 24 2015
3.2.8
1.0
Apr 24 2015
1.0
Version: 3.2.8
This program is supposed to be for scholars and professionals. Rather strange is the fact then, that it doesn't support Nisus Writer Pro which, according to my opinion, is the best word processor for academics and professional writers on the Mac platform. Mellel is not supported either. Only TextEdit, Pages 2008 and 2009, and MS Word can be used to insert citations and format manuscripts. Pages v5 is not supported. Use this link to see which applications are supported by citations <http://shrtm.nu/U6R3> The user interface in Papers 2 was nice, and the program had beautiful icons. In Papers 3 they are all gone, and now everything is gray in gray.
john-1234
john-1234
Apr 4 2015
3.2.7
1.0
Apr 4 2015
1.0
Version: 3.2.7
Ok, it is getting better. But it still lacks one basic function which should appear ON DAY ONE! The WIFI SYNC!!!!!!
ConfusedGuy
ConfusedGuy
Mar 26 2015
3.2.7
1.0
Mar 26 2015
1.0
Version: 3.2.7
I like Papers 2. I reluctantly upgraded to Papers 3 and now - after 2 weeks of frustration - I'm returning to Papers 2. The experience was akin to Microsoft's Office upgrades: Change for the Sake of Change. There are so many new, confusing interfaces, intuitive options for editing, etc. are totally missing (it took forever to do the simplest task (this is unforgivable in my opinion) and I see no advantage on the new look. If there are significant (and necessary) improvements to be made then why not do them incrementally so your customers won't be overwhelmed. Oh well, keep your money Papers3. I should have known better: If somethings not broken, don't fix it. Why don't I learn?
Hankxu
Hankxu
Feb 23 2015
3.2.7
4.5
Feb 23 2015
4.5
Version: 3.2.7
I wrote a response to a post earlier but would like to give a rating for Papers myself. I am not associated with Mekentosj in any way.
dtsimon
dtsimon
Feb 13 2015
3.2.7
4.5
Feb 13 2015
4.5
Version: 3.2.7
I really enjoy Papers 3 (yes, 3). I've been a Papers user since version 1, and before that a mix of BibTeX GUI's and EndNote. Compared to all others, Papers 3 is the winner. Specifically, (1) it has a much more fluid interface (in my opinion) than others Papers versions, and other software; (2) formatting documents with refs – I use MS Word – is a breeze and now quite fast; (3) the search features are fast and useful; (4) the developers are clearly active. I must say that I don't understand why so many people seem to prefer Papers 2. My wife was still using it a few weeks ago and I can say – doing a side-by-side comparison – Papers 3 is much better at matching metadata on new articles/refs. No software is perfect, and no version of Papers has been fully bug-free. But what software is ever bug-free? Great work, Mekentosj! Keep it coming!
minimal-blue-sky
minimal-blue-sky
Feb 3 2015
3.2.6
5.0
Feb 3 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2.6
I really like papers! As a researcher I use it almost daily. Much better than Endnote.
The Philosofox
The Philosofox
Nov 7 2014
3.2.4
3.0
Nov 7 2014
3.0
Version: 3.2.4
Papers 3 has been my worst nightmare of banana ware yet. So many bugs introduced... The vendor lock in makes me cry, since I feel more and more trapped in a solution that has become my worst problem.
Menega
Menega
Nov 7 2014
3.2.4
5.0
Nov 7 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2.4
Way better than initial versions; Most bugs were squished - and with interface revamped, it is a joy to use... With synch working fine through dropbox and the ipad client - can happily search, go through/read/classify/match my 20000+ papers library... Finally!
Nitroxer
Nitroxer
Oct 13 2014
3.2.3
1.0
Oct 13 2014
1.0
Version: 3.2.3
Papers v 3.2.3 (released on or about 13 Oct 2014) gives a date of Jan 22, 2014 after copying to /Applications. OSX does not issue a 'replace older file message' when copying v3.2.3 into directory with v.3.2.2 installed. First time I've encountered such version control sloppiness. This is the latest among a litany of disappointing behavior as others have cited.
daniellebdental
daniellebdental
Oct 8 2014
3.2.2
1.0
Oct 8 2014
1.0
Version: 3.2.2
I've found PDF Stacks at www.PDFstacks.com a much better tool than the new Papers 3 version. I made a mistake upgrading. Papers 1 was the best but things are heading in the wrong direction and now do everything with PDF Stacks.
MatthewK1821
MatthewK1821
Aug 5 2014
3.2.1
1.5
Aug 5 2014
1.5
Version: 3.2.1
Since Mekentosj conceal the feedback posts on their support forum, I'll put my recent experience with Papers 3.2 here as a review. I’ve used Papers since the very earliest public betas and really hope it continues to develop. There are many good things about v3 but I am concerned that cross-platform design is impairing one of the most critical elements, which is information presentation. Specifically, the list of papers. Papers2 gets this correct, by giving you a standard view which obeys the same information presentation conventions as all other Mac OS X applications like Finder: black text, alternating white and off-white background, compact lines, system highlight colour fills background to indicate highlight. Papers 3 has grey text floating in a white space which is too large and shows no boundaries, so the eye gets lost and the text is less legible. The highlight colour is no longer the system highlight, but an arbitrarily chosen blue, which doesn’t even work normally when the “Classic highlighting” option is chosen - it’s still the wrong colour, and in the folders list the text goes white with no coloured background, making it invisible. But the number 1 problem is the grey text and the featureless white space it floats in. It doesn’t even scale with the list font size. This is a breach of the designer’s responsibility to the user. By not presenting information in an OS-standard way, it’s effectively saying “look at me” instead of getting out of the user’s way. The Mac OS X appearance may not be perfect, but it’s had a heck of a lot more UI testing than the Papers 3 interface, and the non-standard view makes the app UI designers look incompetent rather than clever, like those terrible cross-platform utilities that Western Digital and Logitech force on Mac users. PLEASE give us an option to view lists in the same way that the Finder presents them, instead of forcing your design preferences on the users. It’s enough of a deal breaker that I won’t upgrade without it. Having migrated laboriously and tried using it for a week, once again I have canned Papers 3 and moved back to Papers2, which at least has a usable interface, as well as a browsable file structure without installing MacFUSE (for goodness' sake). I've no idea how they make their decisions but they clearly don't talk to their users when doing so. It seems like change for change's sake, to the detriment of what was once a great product.