Back to ReadCube Papers page
ReadCube Papers free download for Mac

ReadCube Papers Reviews

15 April 2021

Your personal library of scientific resources.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
DanH1826
DanH1826
Dec 2 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Dec 2 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
Like pretty much every other reviewer I've read, I also despair at the change from Papers 3 to Readcube Papers. I used to like Papers 3 - it did what I needed it to do, and I built up a database with it. I tried out Readcube Papers but even after testing for 15 minutes, many drawbacks were evident. It just doesn't have a lot of the functionality of Papers 3. Even something as simple as setting document type - Papers 3 had a lot more options to chose from, which are missing in the new version. Papers 3 allow browsing via thumbnail mode, the new app does not. The list goes on! Oh and the move to a horrible subscription model! They have massacred a good app which is now no longer supported and constantly crashes with the latest OSX. Shame on them.
cagosta
cagosta
Nov 5 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Nov 5 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
I have been struggling with the upgrade for a year now. After many emails with ReadCube I have essentially given up. The upgrade ruined what was a great reference manager. I am beyond figuring out how to fix it. What else is out there to take its place?
jurgensimpson
jurgensimpson
Sep 8 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Sep 8 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
This upgrade is a disaster. On so many levels it sickens me to think I've invested so much time in the Papers software over many years and now find core functionality missing. Match is completely deficient, no longer allowing the search across different databases that Papers 3 was so good at. Papers 3 also populated entries with Title AND subtitle. I have hundreds of books in my library which use the Papers 3 system of naming. Now Papers 4 has removed subtitle! So my books are now missing half of their title! I'm now wondering in what way ReadCube Papers is even useable as research software, especially for books and work in the humanities. So disappointing.
demisjohn
demisjohn
Aug 31 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Aug 31 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
Sadly, the best detailed features from Papers3 are missing in Readcube Papers (2021, v4.25.3). Don't upgrade, keep your old Papers3! I'd been using Papers (v1, v2 and v3) since ~2006 or so, about 15 years. The features that made it easiest to use, mainly the automatic matching (autofilling title, author, journal metadata) directly from the publisher's website, pasting URL's, just don't work. My new paper entries look like a mess - no metadata, just an ugly PDF filename. I have to manually fix each paper's title/authors/metadata like back in 2006! The search function Is also lacking - I can't search only my library, or only Google Scholar etc. These are the two features that made Papers3 so fast to use, putting it ahead of other products. Now it is probably on-par with Mendeley.
jurgensimpson
jurgensimpson
Aug 19 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Aug 19 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
I've been using Papers for over a decade. Its been overall a good experience with some occasional hiccups. Now I've moved to ReadCube Papers and that's changed. It no longer matches any of my humanities books and seems completely oriented toward scientific research databases, ignoring books altogether. Their support are quite up front about this, stating that this is still a work in progress. Papers 3 handled multiple research databases including ACM, Gutenberg, Google Scholar options etc. That's all gone now and if I do get a match, then the detailed information that would automatically populate the synopsis ends up being a generic sentence describing the publisher. What a disappointment.
pangengworld
pangengworld
Aug 17 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Aug 17 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
this readcubepaper works very slow when you expend the folder list. This is not the only reason I give a 0/5 score to it. The support can not give usefull help at all. Besides the technique limitation they have, they dont listen to what I said. I said it is slow and may freeze the app when expending a folder list. In their response email they would change the discription to "couple of seconds" waiting time which is fine and normal.
Dekator
Dekator
Aug 11 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Aug 11 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
ReadCube Papers has been around for a while now. I will focus on one aspect: matching. The latter worked pretty well in Papers 3, although some implementations, such as with Zotero are still superior, in my opinion. Finding and retrieving meta data is important since manual entry is a time-consuming task. Now, often, the data needs fine-tuning but a basic look up is highly desirable. ReadCube Papers fails miserably at this task. Unless there is a readily detectable DOI, RCP finds nothing. If you have mostly recent science and medical papers, that might not bother you that much, but for people who are in humanities and also add books, it's a desaster. They recommend putting author and short title. That has never worked for me, not ever, not a single time; I've got thousands of papers. RCP doesn't give you look-up options, i.e. specify libraries etc. Zero. Even entering a DOI manually or an ISBN returns no results. None. Compare that with Zotero that gives me a 90%+ return on ISBNs. This is just one aspect, but a crucial one. This is unacceptable. I'm currently giving ReadCube Papers a second try and have even bought a plan. It syncs well with iOS, that's really the only positive aspect. However, if the matching desaster isn't bettered, I'll be out again. A final tidbit, whenever I quit RCP (normally), MacOS reports it 'crashed'. What does that tell you? They can't even get the shut down right. This is banana-software. Sold unripe to the customer, left there to ripen over time. It's been such a long time now, that the banana is becoming foul and putrid.
dpolaner
dpolaner
Aug 4 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Aug 4 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
I must agree with the other negative comments- this is the worst software "upgrade" I have seen. The ease of use and functionality was completed disrupted. I want to go back to version 3, but can't due to Mac OS incompatibility. I will probably migrate back to endnote, and I was a Papers user since version 1.
lessannad
lessannad
Jul 31 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Jul 31 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
I was forced to do this upgrade. I did an upgrade to my iOS to Sur Big and following that Readcube Papers has disappeared from my laptop. I agree with all the negative comments.
ssgouridis
ssgouridis
Jun 22 2021
4.23.4
0.0
Jun 22 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
It is unbelievable how bad the transition from Papers 3 to Papers 4 is. The user interface is basically new requiring familiarization, much functionality is missing, and most importantly the citations that were used in writing previous articles on Word with Papers 3 are now lost and have to be re-entered from scratch. Utterly shameful for a forced transition that did not support the update. Extremely unhappy user and the forced transition to a subscription model for an INFERIOR and INCOMPATIBLE product is utterly unacceptable. ZERO ZERO ZERO starts.
Lyew
Lyew
May 30 2021
4.23.4
0.0
May 30 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
I need to join this growing chorus in resounding my utter dissatisfaction with what has happened to Papers. Like many others I have been a long time user of Papers 3 and have tried to keep using until Readcube stopped supporting it. With the most recent Big Sur update, Papers 3 has become unstable and was forced to upgrade. What a mistake. It's hard to imagine how new software versions are meant to improve on the previous, but this is the opposite with Papers 4. Quite a few features we are familiar with have changed: - The data storage model has shifted to the cloud. So this means each time you use the desktop app or the web app, Papers 4 needs to contact remote servers and download your data. This can sometimes be slow depending on your internet connection and how responsive Readcube servers are at that time. - The fields do not auto-populate. In the previous version, you can do a few things: enter the title or DOI for instance, and Papers automatically searches and returns a list of possibilities, which you can then select and complete the data entry. Not anymore with Papers 4. You'd be lucky if Papers 4 fully saves everything you've manually entered. - No more database normalisation. Commonly reused fields like journal name, author and editor names are well managed in Papers 3. The system is smart enough to detect, as you start typing in the first few letters in these fields that they are already in your database and then offer to choices for you to select. Not anymore with the new version. You'll have to type in the field each time in full. There are more useful features in Papers 3 that have been removed from Papers 4. But for me the worst possible thing is that while exporting my data from Papers 3 to 4 went without a hitch, Papers 4 went on to loose over 90% of my entries. Yes, I had 1800 items. Both the desktop and web apps showed that they were all there right after the export. But then when I ran the apps again the next day, I could only see 120 of them. So be extra mindful when upgrading.
grehe
grehe
May 28 2021
4.23.4
0.0
May 28 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
At least it has only one star - but zero stars would be more appropriate. Papers lost all of its functionality and I hate ReadCube for this.
orbannatalie
orbannatalie
May 27 2021
4.23.4
3.0
May 27 2021
3.0
Version: 4.23.4
Really? I can easy import tools from your desktop and other reference managers, wow)
gerardkirk95
gerardkirk95
May 21 2021
4.23.4
3.0
May 21 2021
3.0
Version: 4.23.4
I’ve been using Papers since version 3, and was essential part during my work routine After it’s acquired by ReadCube, many functions haven’t been implemented properly. The biggest problem to me is its citation manager they have added. It has no use! I can't recommend it for now. Hopefully their support team will fix all the glitches and make it work smoothly again.
richardsecondaire
richardsecondaire
May 15 2021
4.23.4
0.0
May 15 2021
0.0
Version: 4.23.4
I will add to the flow of bad reviews. This is truly and without exaggeration the worst piece of software I have come across. I have been a power user of Papers 3 and since the last Big Sur update had to move to ReadCube's takeover version. Nothing in terms of dev rules is respected with this app, let alone basic Mac OS conventions. This surely feels like a textbook example on how to destroy an app. I would sincerely be willing to make myself available to ReadCube's dev team would they want my inputs. For the time being, there is much to be ashamed.
gorillayue
gorillayue
May 10 2021
4.23.4
1.0
May 10 2021
1.0
Version: 4.23.4
With Papers 3 stop working (it keeps crashing after I upgraded to MacOS 11.3.1), I tried very hard to integrate ReadCube Papers into my workflow just as I used to when using Papers 3. But I'm discouraged with two most frustrating features of this software: 1. When I edit the pdf file using externally PDF reader like Adobe Acrobat, it will automatically replace my edited version with a clean slated new PDF file so all my edits are gone next time you open it from the ReadCube Papers library! 2. There is almost no hotkey whatsoever in this software. Even the simple CMD+W (close window), CMD+H (hide the window), CMD+C (copy reference), CTRL+Tab (switch tab) do not work. Many hotkeys that used to work with Papers 3 are all gone. It remains as a disaster. I'm now in this void space where there is no replacement of Papers 3 , which was seamlessly integrated into my workflow.
simonhohl
simonhohl
May 8 2021
4.23.4
1.0
May 8 2021
1.0
Version: 4.23.4
A complete desaster. I cant use my papers 3 anymore and most of my papers were not transferred to read cube papers aka papers 4. I can't find anything and have no idea how to finish writing my current paper. What can I say it's catastrophic how bad this new software is. GIVE ME BACK MY PAPERS 3!!! - I love it soo much and I would pay you ten times the price that you ask for ur useless subscription plan of papes 4.
gorillayue
gorillayue
Apr 28 2021
4.23.4
1.0
Apr 28 2021
1.0
Version: 4.23.4
I echoed with what are being commented below. I had been using Papers since version 1. The transitioning from Papers 3 to ReadCube or forcedly Papers 4 was the worst downgrade of the quality of the Papers 1-3 software. Many useful functionalities such as sharing papers via email, searching and rank the papers, open papers with a PDF readers of choice (instead of by default) are completely gone. It just does not feel the same as Papers 1-3.
Mgfriedrich
Mgfriedrich
Apr 23 2021
4.23.4
4.0
Apr 23 2021
4.0
Version: 4.23.4
When will Readcube have the self-respect and pride to at least reach the level that Papers 3 had before being acquired by Readcube? I cannot understand what Readcube's business plan is. Is it to destroy the brand Papers to come up with a new product? Or is Readcube secretly paid by Zotero, Bookends, Endnote, or some other company? If not, can Readcube PLEASE take the responsibility of having purchased the most efficient academic PDF manager and at least support the old version until they can offer something at least remotely comparable. This is important.
rochodge82
rochodge82
Apr 17 2021
4.23.4
4.0
Apr 17 2021
4.0
Version: 4.23.4
So I have to admit - I am really surprised at the reviews here for Papers. I used both Papers 2/3 and while I will admit, the earlier version of the new Papers/Readcube combo was rough, I actually have become a convert. I like that they grab me the supplements, I don't mind their reader personally (the inline linking to referenced papers is handy) and the browser plug-in works well for me. I get that it's not the same as Papers 3, but to be fair, we all were pretty outraged when Papers 3 came out because it was so different from Papers 2. Not out to change anyone's mind here or bear the wrath of the community - I personally like the app and the direction it's going.
beruka
beruka
Mar 3 2021
4.22.2
0.0
Mar 3 2021
0.0
Version: 4.22.2
It is useless. I was a user or the original Papers since version 1. The transition to Readcube was horrific, my library was not entirely transferred, the browsing capabilities are at best mediocre. It takes me a long time (almost impossible) to find newly imported papers. I will be cancelling my subscription. The original Papers was far superior.
yyenzo99
yyenzo99
Feb 16 2021
4.22.2
1.0
Feb 16 2021
1.0
Version: 4.22.2
This used to be a greats software. Now there are lots of bugs and problems. In particular, they charge a lot, try to lock you in, and are constantly trying new tricks to make you pay more.
davidrondr360
davidrondr360
Feb 7 2021
4.22.2
1.0
Feb 7 2021
1.0
Version: 4.22.2
Papers V4.22.2 is a disaster. It doesn't synchronise across different computers. Information that was once entered inexplicably disappears. Do not invest in this software.
givankovich
givankovich
Feb 5 2021
4.22.2
1.0
Feb 5 2021
1.0
Version: 4.22.2
I loved Papers. Since it changed to Papers Cube there are many problems. It shuts down. PDFs are difficult to locate. You cannot share it through email. I wish they have not changed it.
mugsuk
mugsuk
Feb 2 2021
4.22.2
2.0
Feb 2 2021
2.0
Version: 4.22.2
expensive, and Bibdesk is far superior
sjkhuang
sjkhuang
Jan 28 2021
3.4.25
1.0
Jan 28 2021
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
The old pre-Redcube version works like a charm, albeit with some minor problems. The Redcube version, deleted it within a day. Luckily I kept the installation file for the old version, so I could go back to the old version. Anyway, I am now using Zotero, an open source software (like R) which works very much like the old Papers 3.
dsimonsarama
dsimonsarama
Nov 17 2020
3.4.25
1.0
Nov 17 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
They stopped supporting it to focus on Readcube, which is literally unusable now without a subscription. Enough said. Papers users are out of luck and Readcube is just like Microsoft 365 now - not good.
cristianrios
cristianrios
Oct 18 2020
3.4.25
1.0
Oct 18 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
I have ben a Papers user since its inception with version 1. The new version of papers is GARBAGE. To set up the library took three days of back and forth forth customer service. Once my Papers 3 library was finally set in the new system, I find out you cannot use your usual pdf reader as before; now you have to read the papers in the extremely slow and limited reader that comes with the software. Their solution? : you can EXPORT the file as a pdf! This means every time you want to read a paper comfortably you have to clutter your computer with new files!!!! Avoiding this kind of clutter is the main objective of this software! I sincerely cannot understand the infinite ineptitude of these developers. Finally, once I finally got my money back and went back to my Papers 3 library, it did not work anymore as before, it crashed repeatedly and did not sync with my iPad anymore. So now I have to cross my fingers and hope they help me trying to make the best version of Papers so far work again as before. If this does not work, I will have to shop for an alternate software. Any suggestions? What a waste of time, I wish I had never tried Papers 4.
knfnus
knfnus
Oct 5 2020
3.4.25
1.0
Oct 5 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.25
Completely agree with review from habgood58! Having worked with Papers for Mac, v1 and onwards, I find the present 'Redcube Papers'-version a real downgrade. Numerous additional examples of poor functionality in comparison with P3 can be listed, in addition to lack of support (or even return communication from the custom support or developers)! Unfortunately, I was fooled by the very unclear marketing from Redcube, and relied on the good reputation of the 'old' Papers program. Does anyone out there know if and where I can find the most recent 'before Redcube version' for download and re-installation...!?!
habgood58
habgood58
Aug 29 2020
3.4.23
1.0
Aug 29 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
New Papers = 0/5, old Papers 3 = 5/5. I have used Papers since version 1 many years ago and by the time it had evolved to Papers 3 it was an extremely useful, user friendly and intuitive bibliographic tool that made searching for articles, organising them and and in text citation when writing manuscripts so simple. It would also search through the body text of PDFs in my library to find phrases or particular words that I was after. When our library stopped using a proxy server and switched to web browser plugin extensions, that effectively killed off Papers as it could no longer access any articles. I learned that Papers had been taken over by Read Cube who now market their software under the name Papers. So thinking all would be fine I switched to the Read Cube version assuming it would an updated or improved version. I was completely wrong. It turned out to be the worst bibliographic tool I have ever tried. On a par with Reference Manager from the late 90's, but without the loading up stacks of floppy disks. Really don't understand why they took over Papers unless it was to kill off a competitor. They have certainly done that by stripping out out nearly every key functionality Papers 3 had and replacing it with nothing useable. What used to literally take seconds, searching for articles, is now an extremely cumbersome trawl through multiple web browser pages using dreadful PubMed/Google style manual construction of search strings with boolean operands and bracketing. Even something as simple as trying to search for an author with a first initial to cut out the irrelevant results is excruciatingly painful. There is simply nothing in the Read Cube version that is any better than just going to PubMed and trying to find stuff there. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, even if was free. As a scientist publishing research articles this app is clearly not aimed at my demographic. I have now deleted it out of frustration and for the time being resorting to asking my coauthors at other institutions who still have proxy access to obtain articles for me.
vincenthin
vincenthin
May 5 2020
3.4.23
1.0
May 5 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
I've worked with a couple of free reference managers and they all had their issues, so I tried the paid version of papers, but it's much better than the free once. It's buggy, slow and reference information doesn't update probably, updating multiple items at the same time doesn't work properly. If you're hoping to finally get a decent working reference manager and are willing to spend money on it, don't go for Papers3
patricio-haberle
patricio-haberle
Apr 17 2020
3.4.23
1.0
Apr 17 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
Can you actually but the program for fix a amount or you have to pay monthly for a year subscription? This will be my first app to organise my research documents. Is it worth it or should I deal with the free versions first?
BrookeL6889
BrookeL6889
Feb 26 2020
3.4.23
1.0
Feb 26 2020
1.0
Version: 3.4.23
Pros: User friendly (when it works, which is the exception). Cons: Crashes constantly, freezes, rescinds permission to integrate citations into word documents, unpredictable, which is extremely inconvenient when you are trying to make a deadline. Tech support only periodically responds to requests for assistance. Summary: Would not recommend.
Mgfriedrich
Mgfriedrich
Feb 6 2020
3.4.23
4.0
Feb 6 2020
4.0
Version: 3.4.23
It's still the best reference manager out there. Intuitive, user-friendly, best workflow for finding and then integrating references from any application on the Mac. Great for researching a large library. Unfortunately, it has been bought by Readcube, which still is lagging behind with integrating the functionality of Papers 3. So the future is a bit unclear, but I will stick with Papers 3, until Readcube Papers reaches that level.
lflier
lflier
Nov 15 2019
3.4.23
4.0
Nov 15 2019
4.0
Version: 3.4.23
Papers 3.4.23 works in Catalina. The app works fine for what I do and I've had it for a long time. But if it doesn't suit you, I've read that Bookends is a good alternative.
tianjn09
tianjn09
Oct 17 2019
3.4.21 (581)
1.0
Oct 17 2019
1.0
Version: 3.4.21 (581)
Version 3.4.21 (581): the claimed (initial) support for Catalina doesn't work anyway! It won't crash but it's not responding.
kenneth-r
kenneth-r
Feb 10 2019
3.4.20
0.0
Feb 10 2019
0.0
Version: 3.4.20
Anyone tried the new version? Seems like it is a version "4".
lewisalun101
lewisalun101
Jan 23 2019
3.4.19
0.5
Jan 23 2019
0.5
Version: 3.4.19
Awful software. Papers 1 and 2 were great. Papers 3 leave well alone. Go elsewhere, save your money and time. Too many software glitches and poorly constructed compared to papers 1 and 2.
fahrenfort
fahrenfort
Mar 12 2018
3.4.16
0.5
Mar 12 2018
0.5
Version: 3.4.16
I took the trouble of creating a MacUpdate account just to leave a bad review for this app. Paper2 used to be great, but Papers3 is a useless piece of crap that behaves as though it is in full beta stage. Expect regular sudden crashes (software exits) and other bugs. DO NOT BUY, LOOK ELSEWHERE!
Mindplay
Mindplay
Dec 1 2017
3.4.12
0.5
Dec 1 2017
0.5
Version: 3.4.12
I used it since inception and it was a great product. Unfortunately since v2 developers kind of lost direction and now it's just a really buggy piece of cranky software that doesn't do any real good. Now even subscription based ?

You really have to inflict it on yourself...
HappyPig
HappyPig
Oct 26 2017
3.4.10
1.0
Oct 26 2017
1.0
Version: 3.4.10
According to the Papers team on Twitter, the new version of Papers/Readcube will be subscription only, and not use Dropbox anymore. I'm done with this program.
aramis-1
aramis-1
Sep 11 2017
3.4.10
5.0
Sep 11 2017
5.0
Version: 3.4.10
Used to be so good, papers1 loved it, papers2 added some useful functions, like "copy settings", awesome!, abandoned some others, like simply hit space bar for full few... timesaver. I want quick look as full screen!! Now: Papers 3… looks less colorful, less fun, - red flags turned black, purple folders turned grey... where are my buttons: mail, print … have to go through too many steps to just send a pdf, or print some. Where is the awesome "sound" when sending pdf by mail?? I have the feeling this turned into windows grey world... no fun! I want papers back!!!! Most important : why is it so much slower than papers 2 ???
HappyPig
HappyPig
Apr 12 2017
3.4.10
1.0
Apr 12 2017
1.0
Version: 3.4.10
So many visual bugs - large chunks of pdfs are seemingly overlaid with white squares that disappear when you click on them. The developers know about it apparently, but as their bug ticket system is private, no one else can know that they know until they are asked. Uggggh. And I don't have much hope for this being fixed anytime soon, as I think the programmers are a skeleton crew after the ReadCube merger. Every time I write a bug in (the ticket for which is forever marked private) the response I get includes some text pimping ReadCube as an alternative. No! Just fix Papers - to heck with ReadCube!
john-1234
john-1234
Dec 29 2016
3.4.7
1.0
Dec 29 2016
1.0
Version: 3.4.7
Hopeless now, almost unusable! ReadCube has drained the resources supposed to be used to fix bugs in current version.
xcoxco
xcoxco
May 11 2016
3.4.4
0.0
May 11 2016
0.0
Version: 3.4.4
Papers was recently acquired by Labtiva, Inc., based in Cambridge, MA and London. More importantly, the company is backed by Digital Science, a division of Macmillan Publishers Ltd, and is the developer of the app ReadCube. What this all means for Papers' users is unclear.

However, what is clear is that the bibliographic database/research software market is a mess. Good products, like Sente and Bookends, started out well but were never properly financed. Consequently researchers like myself have been in a difficult situation (left with incomplete and buggy software).

A big problem is that software designers do not understand the needs of power-researchers in terms of organizing (and reorganizing) their reference based data for multiple projects. Sente was excellent (but no longer supported) and Bookmarks powerful (but not fully modernized; needs a basic rebuild). That left Papers, which had lot's of promise not yet realized.

So now we are largely left with Labtiva and Mendeley - backed by good financing. Let's hope they are not obsessively focused on the Internet and do deliver the sort of functionality required by power researches. Connecting with other researchers is great ... but let's first make sure the software's core data management capabilities address the power data management needs of the individual researcher first alongside the usual basic bibliographic database management and reference generation functions.

Thank you.

PS: I work with about 11,000 references in a database built up over the past 10-years or more, a critical research tool. I have used End Note, Sente, Bookends at one time or another. I was about to consider a migration to Papers when I found out about the sale. Sente was a favorite, but it’s progress slowed and then stopped in recent years. Bookends has a lot of power, but needs a basic re-write and modernization to stamp out (nasty) bugs and make it easier to use. End Note I used in the 1990’s, and eventually dumped when it’s development seemed to freeze up.
The Philosofox
The Philosofox
Mar 29 2016
3.4.3 (458)
3.0
Mar 29 2016
3.0
Version: 3.4.3 (458)
Papers 3.4.4 (485) Beta: Yes, it still has a lot of issues. BUT: it's getting better again and my suffering (although still there) gets diminished on a monthly basis. I don't regard the competition as superior and feel slowly entitled to recommend it again (instead of Zotero). I hope that Springer Press – the acquirer – increases its investment in this app's development and helps Papers to live up to its true potential.
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
Jan 25 2016
3.4.2
1.0
Jan 25 2016
1.0
Version: 3.4.2
v 3.4.2 No written manual, only a so-called Papers Help Center, which consists of several, disparate online help topics, interspersed with Windows-only related topics. The program is still unable to create automatically bibliographies in Nisus and Mellel, the two preferred Mac word processors for academic writing.
jg64
jg64
Jan 23 2016
3.4.2
1.5
Jan 23 2016
1.5
Version: 3.4.2
I have been a Papers user since v. 1. It is my research inbox, because it remains best of class for: 1. automatically (more or less) matching stray PDFs to their metadata--i.e., giving me a full cite without typing. 2. renaming the PDF according to my favored convention and putting it in a folder with the right name--this way I can find it easily: across platforms, using Alfred etc. Plus it has good library search. But personally, I think Papers has always been bad at most other reference-manager functions, so I use Endnote when I write. The Papers 1-->2 transition was a disaster. The feedback was so bad that the developers took their support forum private to stop the negative word-of-mouth--and it's still private, btw. So I wasn't surprised when the 2-->3 transition was also a fail. Maybe even worse, since meanwhile the developers had sold out to one of the big publishing conglomerates, and were focused more on a PC version than on making the Mac app work. Now (1/16), more than a year after Papers 3 release, bugs in Papers 2 have finally forced me to switch. On the plus side, match still works. The minus side outweighs this gain, however: 1. The grey-on-grey interface with limited customizability is not readable by my middle aged eyes. That's the main problem with the interface, although as the top review also commented, there are numerous annoying lapses. For example: The match button is sometimes there, sometimes not. Tabs are not tabs. There are even more clicks than before to do basic tasks--e.g., you can't just enter an author's name--you have to enter it as a search term, then move the mouse to select it from the list. The uncustomizable top bar gives quick access to some functions I use all the time (e.g., go to Library), but is cluttered with other functions I never use (e.g., author list). I could go on, but you get the idea: the Papers 3 interface adds like 10% to the frustration of whatever you're trying to do. 2. If I stick with the file-renaming function, Papers will not sync across platforms. When sync is enabled, Papers 3 gives all PDFs unintelligible names. Thus I can either have sync or file renaming, not both. So now my research is stuck on one machine. There is a new "reading list" function which allegedly allows a limited number of papers to sync across platforms. That would be a minimally adequate substitute for sync. Alas, it doesn't work--only about 25% of attached PDFs get uploaded. 3. Large numbers of minor additional annoyances: "Citations"--a Papers add-on--is like whackamole: no matter how many ways I turn it off, it keeps on re-appearing. There doesn't seem to be an automatic warning about duplicate copies any more. I'm getting random hangs. Occasionally, a imported PDF is disappearing. Occasionally an archive of an article's webpage is getting imported--wtf? Database "checkpoints" are constantly being created, for what reason I know not; I have 250 MB of them just from today. Software is usually just a product. I guess I feel close enough to my research to feel personally aggrieved by the thoughtless, lazy, shoddy design of Papers 3. Increasing the amount of frustration and wasted time in the world is unethical. Eventually I'll carve out some time, do some research, and move my 6K item library to software that respects the user.
fukurokujo
fukurokujo
Nov 9 2015
3.4.1
4.0
Nov 9 2015
4.0
Version: 3.4.1
100 times better than bookends etc. oh my god I don't know what some people are smoking that they recommend featureless java like looking/working software over this. Yes it has some issues but certainly not that bad.
25thnan
25thnan
Aug 31 2015
3.3.2
5.0
Aug 31 2015
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
I want to give the developer credit for upgrading the Ver 2 to 2.8. The interface is optimized and some tagging problems with certain sites were solved.