Back to Boomerang page
Boomerang free download for Mac

Boomerang Reviews

2.1.36
15 February 2012

Recover data from almost any media format.

Lexpattison
19 May 2009

Most helpful

Terrible company. Changed the terms of use after I originally bought the earlier version. Wanted me to upgrade to their yearly scheme and BANNED my activation code for the previous version. When I did upgrade because it was ABSOLUTELY imperative I recover the data, the product proceeded to recover 19 gigs of USELESS data. When I asked for a refund they accused me of stealing and de-activated my product, effectively STEALING my access which is what they accused me of doing. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! http://boomerangdatarecoverysucks.blogspot.com/ > To: ME > Subject: [#CZE-6hPEA-792] Need a refund > Date: Mon, 18 May 2009 19:31:12 -0600 > CC: > From: helpdesk@totalrecall.com > > We will diligently defend ourselves against you. You are attempting to steal from us, and you're just lying about your use and benefits. You took delivery and used each activation. We can prove it with your IP address which matches your order address as well as a list of files you saved using the software you ordered. > > 130024622 [total records: 2] > Product Usage Boomerang > > Quota used from this order: 294.87 GB > > order # 130057579 > Product Usage Boomerang > > Quota used from this order: 19.47 GB > > YOU RECOVERED 300 GB OF DATA. > > We'll prepare the access and use details for delivery to your credit card company, thanks for notifying us of your intentions. We've frozen your account and activation numbers while settling this dispute.
Like (12)
Version 2.1.9

Read 41 Boomerang User Reviews

Rate this app:

homsekbsinerb73
21 January 2015
Boomerang is more than useful than others. That's for sure.
Like
Version 2.1.36
Psychiatry
26 December 2014
The latest version is 3.0.5. It is available from http://www.boomdrs.com/macosx/. This entry for MacUpdate.com is woefully out of date. Shame on the developer for forgetting MacUpdate. That makes me question how good the software is.
Like
Version 2.1.36
reamsterfeinsku59
11 December 2014
This tool is better that other data recovery tool. It is a fast software cheaper and reliable.
Like
Version 2.1.36
tomrinbowents70
11 December 2014
Recovered my deleted files in no time!
Like
Version 2.1.36
BomsuHomzu32
01 December 2014
Able to recover the files that I needed on my USB. Thanks to Boomerang!
Like
Version 2.1.36
TomaKorey42
01 December 2014
I have used Boomerang tool and recovered my lost data from formatted disk. I am very satisfied with its performance!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.36
Aspartamemsgsuck
15 February 2012
I bought this program for $179.95 in 2007. I used it once or twice and I did get back data I had lost. However, since then they have changed their way of charging for their services and I must add my voice to the complaints about this company and how they have cheated us. Do not give this company your business. Even if they were to change their system in the future they will never ever get another penny out of me.
Like
Version 2.1.36
Madmacmad
15 February 2012
Stay away from this Software !!! Read the other reviews... Don't waste your Money on this... They do bad bad busyness... Damn if this Company was in my Country i would like to visit this Developers to get my Money back... This is the Dark Side of doing Business... Stay away from this !!! Trust me...
Like
Version 2.1.36
benr
18 November 2010
$39 for what, exactly? Click through to the developer site for the real costs and then stay away. I purchased Boomerang a few years ago for the flat price of $179. It did a reasonable job on the recovery I needed, and I was happy enough with the purchase. They subsequently moved to a "per-use" policy, and de-activated, or "banned" my serial number without warning or explanation. My $179 purchase is now useless unless I buy more "quota" from them. They also have a regular habit of signing up as new users and posting 5-star reviews on this and other software review sites (many of which the MacUpdate staff took down upon notification). Look closer at the real user reviews and you'll find they are universally 1-star and "stay away". In short: stay away.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.11
Karenk
18 November 2010
This is for version 2.1.11, Nov 2010 The most non-responsive and purposely evasive company I've ever bought software from. My disk directory was partially overwritten by a software crash. I downloaded the software to try before buying a license and it listed virtually everything complete with file structure, file names and data size. I purchased the license and recovered the files only to find out that they were nearly all incorrectly recovered. It "recovers" the file name and appears to have all the data but the applications won't open them. It doesn't help to try and give it examples of the file types you're trying to recover. It thinks it already knows most types and rejects the working file examples you give it. Forget trying to get help. Every request for assistance gets the same response: "The answer to your question is in the knowledge base". I asked 3 questions this is their response each time: If that's true, then at least point me to the article. But it isn't true, it's just a dodge. As others have reported, this company goes out of its way to make it impossible to find them and doesn't respond. They don't even have the courtesy to email you and let you know when they've sent the boilerplate response and closed the question. Take a look at the knowledge base before making the mistake of buying. Look at how many people are asking for their money back -- all denied of course. Their take is that you can download the program and look at what it can recover so once you purchase it to actually recover the files, you're trying to rip them off. The problem is, the files it recovers are GARBAGE files that the apps can't open and you don't know that until you've bought the program. I know you're desperate when you've lost data and you might think it will work for you. Listen to the real people who have bought it not the bogus glowing 5 star reviews. Believe me, throwing away your money won't make you feel any better and it won't get your data back -- not with Boomerang.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.1
Dralter
04 August 2010
Unfortunately it is difficult to get a refund from a company that does not respond to custumer service requests. They have an anonymous domain registration, registered overseas. They have no phone number, email or physical address. There is absolutely no way to contact these guys. You will not find this information on their other sites either VirtualLab Data Recovery or Total Recall. They have positioned themselves so they can rip you off real easy and get away with it.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.11
Dralter
23 July 2010
Top 10 Reasons not to buy Boomerang Data Recover 1. Poor or no customer service 2. You can only contact them via their support ticket system 3. No address listed 4. No phone number listed 5. No email listed 6. Number listed on your credit card statement no longer in service 7. Contact emails Sales, Customer Support, Adam Yates (founder) are bounced 8. Too expensive 9. Support forum has been closed 10. If you complain they may post your name on Cheats-and-Liars.com! Brought to you by http://www.boomerangdatarecoverysucks.blogspot.com
Like (3)
Version 2.1.11
Dralter
23 July 2010
A guide to avoiding your customers based on Boomerang Data Recoveries Site Based on an analysis of the Boomerang Data Recovery site at http://www.boomdrs.com, here are the best ways to avoid having your customers contact you. 1. No phone number in header 2. No contact primary menu item 3. No invitational text to contact you 4. No "Contact" call to action 5. No phone on contact page 6. No email address on contact page 7. No contact link in the footer 8. No contact link on site map 9. No use of the word "contact" in text on site, ok they do have "Contact our team" which links to a webform 10. No contact page at all! Bonus Tip - Register your domain name anonymously If you really are trying to hide, then by all means, don't be an idiot; spring for the extra few dollars to register your domain name anonymously. From the blog http://boomerangdatarecoverysucks.blogspot.com
Like (1)
Version 2.1.11
Jonbo
12 February 2010
Loved using it! It got all my data back and has a very powerful search function. Mac people are notorious for whining. Disregard all the negative complaints on this product. They obviously aren't smart enough to notice the support link RIGHT ON THE TOP of the companies website. Here's a link if you guys need it: ( http://www.boomdrs.com/support/ticket/contact.html ). It seems like all these complaints are made by one person(s) who has a hard time getting over things. It's a shame one person would try to ruin a companies reputation over his own lack of comprehension with software. I urge you people to look at the profiles of the people who are bashing Boomerang. lexpattison - http://www.macupdate.com/users/lexpattison
Like (3)
Version 2.1.11
1 answer(s)
Dralter
Dralter
23 July 2010
You obviously work for the company and it can be proven that Boomerang creates their own positive fake reviews to boost their ratings. There is more than one disgruntled customer posting reviews about this crappy product and company. Oh, I tried the support link 5 times and never once did I receive a response. You see legit companies post their email, phone and address on their site. This is not true of your company. I dare anybody to find any contact information for this company.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.11
Paton
01 October 2009
I deleted music data off a computer that is too important to me to expose to net viruses etc. I researched all Boomerang's support material but could not find out clearly if i could activate a second computer offline. It's not there. They promise a 72 hour response to questions, better than that if it's for sales and finally that they won't bother answering your question if it's answered anywhere else in their various materials. When your computer is your work and you can't use it until you've recovered the data, waiting three days really hurts. I waited. They didn't bother replying, haven't supplied the information and make you wade through all their rubbish, so I end up putting up notices like this. Their type of arrogant screw-you 'business' should really be boycotted.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.11
E10tori
29 September 2009
Boomerang/Digital Frontiers, lacks. I have yet to receive any human feedback from this company and at this point would be amazed if someone actually tried to communicate with me. I purchased their product and it did not work. Never used the activation key. Was told I was not entitled to a refund (via an automated response). Never even had any benefit with their product. I was left feeling stupid and not having the educational background to navigate through their computer landscape. I was on the verge of sending my computer to a facility to accomplish the task of recovering my data. Then I discovered Data Rescue II. Data Rescue II and their company were perfect. I cannot begin to express my deep, heart felt gratitude for their product AND the general energy on their website. Two months ago I deleted some very precious video clips of my 1 year old girl, from my MacBook Pro. I have been incredibly bummed out since. I was recommended to use Boomerang Data Recovery. As mentioned, their product did not work, at all. But more than that, there was a complete lack of customer service. No where on your site is there any phone number. And, when a customer attempts to communicate, your system (Boomerang) is set up, apparently, to frustrate the individual until their customers give up and simply go away. Their company has all the signs of an entity going into the dark abyss where all companies that lack integrity go. The Data Rescue company on the other hand I believe is going in a very different direction A direction in which it is acknowledged and appreciated that the customer is an important part of the business relationship equation. Eternal gratitude to Data Recovery for saving my data and for creating a quality company. And shame on Boomerang for their business practices.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.11
Lexpattison
19 May 2009
Terrible company. Changed the terms of use after I originally bought the earlier version. Wanted me to upgrade to their yearly scheme and BANNED my activation code for the previous version. When I did upgrade because it was ABSOLUTELY imperative I recover the data, the product proceeded to recover 19 gigs of USELESS data. When I asked for a refund they accused me of stealing and de-activated my product, effectively STEALING my access which is what they accused me of doing. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! http://boomerangdatarecoverysucks.blogspot.com/ > To: ME > Subject: [#CZE-6hPEA-792] Need a refund > Date: Mon, 18 May 2009 19:31:12 -0600 > CC: > From: helpdesk@totalrecall.com > > We will diligently defend ourselves against you. You are attempting to steal from us, and you're just lying about your use and benefits. You took delivery and used each activation. We can prove it with your IP address which matches your order address as well as a list of files you saved using the software you ordered. > > 130024622 [total records: 2] > Product Usage Boomerang > > Quota used from this order: 294.87 GB > > order # 130057579 > Product Usage Boomerang > > Quota used from this order: 19.47 GB > > YOU RECOVERED 300 GB OF DATA. > > We'll prepare the access and use details for delivery to your credit card company, thanks for notifying us of your intentions. We've frozen your account and activation numbers while settling this dispute.
Like (12)
Version 2.1.9
Macfanatic2000
29 April 2009
I highly recommend this product, and no, I don't work for this company nor am I paid or otherwise to post this endorsement. I've been using Boomerang since it came out a couple years back, and have been quite pleased. It seems that these guys are the leader of the pack of data recovery software apps, and as leaders, it also seems that they take the brunt of either competitive 'feedback' or are so on the cutting edge of technology that they get some bruises for that. In any case, if it weren't for the likes of this group, we wouldn't have any one raising the bar that their 'competitors' must follow. From their amazing RAID recovery (it actually will rebuild a damage array) to the ability to add custom file signatures to find lost or deleted files, Boomerang recovers more data, more often, than anything else I've used.. and yes, I own them all. So, ignore the rubbish you see here and let your own experience be your guide. And these folks make it easy; they allow you to save recovered data for free, without any obligation, before you pay them a penny, to see how well the app will work for you. If that wasn't enough, they even will give you a free activation up to 20mb of data you can save, and it's fully guaranteed.. they will give you a refund no questions asked. Their 'competition' doesn't come close to this, not even allowing you to save recovered data until you've obligated your personal data and credit card information. I'm standing by Boomerang, and once you have some real, personal experience with them, I'm certain you'll do the same. Cheers, James
Like (7)
Version 2.1.9
2 answer(s)
benr
benr
29 May 2009
I think pretty much everyone commenting here HAS personal experience with the program. That's kind of the point.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.9
Dralter
Dralter
23 July 2010
Ha, "I don't work for this company nor am I paid or otherwise to post this endorsement." YEAH RIGHT!
Like (2)
Version 2.1.11
Marco114
29 April 2009
Despite previous comments, this software works well and works as advertised. If you don't like the license agreement, then don't buy it. It's by far the best software out there for recovering data. It has RAID support, iPod, Camera Cards everything. It has recovered for me many times. I do computer repair and it has recovered my clients data so many times I can't even count. I would say, how much is your lost data worth? In many cases, photos can't be replaced. If you are having to use this software, it's your fault you didn't backup, not this company. You guys complain about everything. The software is not fraudulent and the company answers emails. I have emailed them many times and got back kind, courteous responses.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.9
Madmacmad
17 March 2009
Do not buy this CRAP !!! The Company SUCKS. I bought 2 Years ago the Version for 200$.... no support and you have to pay for the GB you want to recover.... It's a shame for the Mac Software Market ... DON'T BUY ! Try all others first....
Like (9)
Version 2.1.9
1 answer(s)
Appledoof
Appledoof
04 May 2009
you bought something 2 years ago and now you are complaining about it? I think the program works wonderful.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.9
Mlaurencg4
17 March 2009
Please be advised that the support available for this product is non-existent. Boomerang would be the worst possible investment ever made by anyone who is interested to actually be able to rescue data. Buyer beware!!!
Like (6)
Version 2.1.9
1 answer(s)
Marco2600
Marco2600
13 July 2009
they have a support link right on their site and they responded within like 30 minutes after I wrote.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.11
Flash1296
17 March 2009
Absolute rip-off. Read the other poster's comments. This is virtual malware. Recovering lost data is a difficult and tricky operation. This application is shamelessly worthless.
Like (7)
Version 2.1.9
Dralter
11 March 2009
A good overview of why Boomerang Data Recovery should be avoided at http://boomerangdatarecoverysucks.blogspot.com
Like (6)
Version 2.1.1
Dralter
25 February 2009
Like others here, my lifetime activation was banned by Digital Frontiers the company behind Boomerang Data Recovery. I have not used it for commercial use. I am not even sure the last time I used it. In the news section of the site Adam Yates the founder mentions the that if you are banned, just open up a support ticket at they will review your case. Well I sent in 3 help tickets, I have yet to receive a response. I tried their support email and even Adam Yates email. They both bounced. So, at this point there is no way to contact except with their web form. It also appears that have taken steps to make sure you can not find any contact information on them. I have started a a site http://boomerangdatarecoverysucks.blogspot.com, the purpose is to get message out about this companies poor customer service. An informed consumer can then make an intelligent choice. If I can find the time I will also attempt to bring them to small claims court. This all depends on if I can get there contact information using a subpoena.
Like (5)
Version 2.1.1
Beefgroovy
07 February 2009
I used Version 1.1.2 to recover a 500gb drive. Worked as expected, and never used it again. 4 months later, I received a banned license notice. I received this notice twice, listing 2 different license codes, purchase dates, and IP addresses. Mind you, I only bought this software once and used it once. There is no direct contact number, email, address for this company. The 800 number on the credit card statement is disconnected with no forwarding number. Your only method of contacting them is through a form on their website. I used this form 3 times to try and clear up my license issue, and each time I was ignored. Exercising YOUR rights as a consumer (by disputing the charge as a last ditch effort) only gets you listed on cheats-and-liars.com as either a Cheat or a Liar (I'm apparently a liar). They list your name, city/state/zip, IP address, and the amount you've disputed. Either you accept the false accusations placed upon you and pony up more money, or get libeled on a website that THEY run? Despite having a product that worked for me, I can't justify or endorse the shady business ethics that Boomerang DRS embraces. And neither should you.
Like (5)
Version 2.1.1
benr
19 January 2009
Further to my earlier complaint about the developer's shift from conventional sales to per-use fee, they recently sent me an email claiming that they had, "detected that you are using Boomerang for commercial use". I was doing no such thing - I'm a perfectly regular user. When I logged into the user area of their site, I found that they had BANNED my license code. I paid $179 for THAT? I'd like to know (quite seriously) if anyone has any suggestions of how to go about seeking a refund - I can't believe there's a legal precedent for the way they're behaving. I paid (handsomely) for the software, and now I can't use it AT ALL unless I pay more. Truly shocking.
Like (5)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Zecol
Zecol
22 January 2009
Like I said in my previous comment, I'm exactly in the same situation. They banned my licence with no reason (I didn't use the software at all), and I can't even launch the software I paid for (179$). They want me to pay again ! I didn't care if the changed their price since I bought it, I paid for something, I want to be able to use it. Count me in if you find a way to seek a refund, or at least, a possibility to use again the software. I tried at least 10 support tickets, no answer ... I used the FAQ, they deleted all the comments, and after, all the topics concerning the licences. Shame on you guys, you're the worst software sellers I've ever seen.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Zecol
06 January 2009
The software may be good, but the developers are terribles and suffer from paranoia. I paid a lot to use this software once, and I didn't use it for months. They decided to ban my licence without any reason, and try to force me to upgrade. I sent many tickets, no answers ... And I cannot use the software at all ! Several hundred dollars to use a software one time ! I leave comments on their FAQ (I was not alone in this case), they deleted the topic because of all the negative comments. They have time for this, but not for answering support tickets. I never saw any company handle customers this way ! Pass you way, it's extorsion. Get any other softwares, but don't give money to theses guys, they have a serious commercial problem.
Like (5)
Version 2.1.1
Walter42
21 November 2008
A rip-off! It costs $39.95 for 100 MB of recovery. The problem is that it is 100MB ONCE. I had 150 MB of photos I needed to recover. So I'm screwed until I pay another $39.95. Fat chance.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.1
benr
12 November 2008
At the time of our original purchase, this was an expensive ($179.95), but worthwhile investment. We needed to recover a failing 500GB drive, and did so. So, thanks Boomerang. Now they have moved to an annual ("Pro") or per GB ("Home") pricing scheme. Recovering that same drive today would cost us $279, and still require us to pay again next time. I don't care what the developer says about "being around in 10 years", this is extortion, pure and simple. People who need data recovery are naturally upset and panicked, and likely to pay the absurd price without proper consideration. A tool like Boomerang should provide individual-users a fair level of service for a fair one-off investment (price). Upgrade pricing is of course fair, and I understand a "pro" pricing scheme for for-profit users, but charging home users for recovery "quota" is offensive - particularly given the size of contemporary hard-drives. I'll be looking to other tools in the future.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1
Marco114
11 November 2008
This application has a brand new interface and is really well made. Despite whatever faults it may have, it is one of the most complete data recovery solutions available for the Mac. It has recovered countless hours of video from a RAID for us and I'd recommend it to anyone. If you've really lost stuff you need back and you are up against the wall like I was, you'll try every solution available to you. What was lost couldn't be replaced, so Boomerang saved us a lot of embarrassment and helped us finish our project.
Like (5)
Version 2.1.1
Shotgunweddings
05 November 2008
This product is completely useless , unless you are permanently connected to the internet this product can't recover anything, which makes it useless when you need to boot from an alternative disk or DVD. I wouldn't recommend this program if it was for FREE. Don't waste your money, run don't walk away from this scam.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.9
Ima-Mac-God
23 July 2008
Used this app a ton of times in my repair biz.. gets the data that the others (data rescue and disk warrior ) wont even touch. yeah, it cost more, but it does more and gives me more data, so i feel good about that, since im getting what im paying for. overall its a great app.. 5000 customers (from their site), seems to be doing good, and theyre alright in my book
Like (4)
Version 1.1.6
1 answer(s)
support-79
support-79
15 November 2008
Please make sure you find a real person who has used this software and not one of the boomerang team before you buy this soft ware. I have been conned by this company. Not recommended. It doesn\t recover many audio files and the support is crap. Plus they have cancelled my soft ware now because they say I am using it for commercial purposes and I am not.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Doug-S-
09 April 2008
Don't waste your money. I've had externals die and use various programs for data recovery and have been called in to help out friends. I've tried various programs and this one is the worst. It hasn't worked a single time. The two main situations where I've tried this is when the directory data was lost and where 1 drive of a RAID-0 2 drive system failed. In the first case Boomerang didn't recover very much, including being unable to recover any of my music and what it did recover many of the files were corrupted. The situation was solved via Disk Warrior which was able to recover ALL of my data. The second case one of the two disks in my RAID-0 external failed. Data Rescue II was able to recover the vast majority of my 1TB of files. Boomerang couldn't recover a thing. At all. Nothing. Buying Advice: Don't get this. Don't even bother with the demo. Nothing. If it's a software related issue get Disk Warrior. This is a great app to have anyway, very useful and helps prevent these sorts of problems. Otherwise the best data recovery tool for Macs is Data Rescue II without a doubt. Either of these options is light-years ahead of boomerang.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.6
Negredo
02 February 2008
Boomerang Data Recovery I bought this product last year in a panic when I lost my files $169 is a lot of money, but you think your lost files are worth it. All it recovered were loads of empty folders, but recently I needed to use it again & thought maybe I was unlucky the 1st time. It won't even run now as the license has been de-activated, I bought the product 9 months ago. I believe the people at Boomdrs are dishonest, I have been writing to them for 4 weeks now, asking them for the license no. but get no reply. (see this link, which I know they'll erase when they discover this revue: http://www.boomdrs.com/community/boomerang-product-bought-but-now-license-is-deactivated-t151.0.html I have also tried telephoning them many times but I think the number they give is bogus. We have a trading standards organisation in Britain but unfortunately they can do nothing about sub-standard products bought on line.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.5
Mark-anderson
17 January 2008
I'd love to truly try the product, but I can't. Due to the raw paranoia of the developer, you CAN NOT, under any circumstances, recover data without a full time internet connection. For those of us in the REAL WORLD who use bootable, external devices for data recovery, it makes the product useless. Oh, and it's drastically overpriced. Get Data Rescue II... works great, costs less.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.5
Xypher
22 November 2007
I find that Data Rescue will recover old OS's that have been formatted over, files you never thought you would see again. Boomerang seems to have a clear advantage though when it comes to media files such as iMovie projects, Mpegs, Avi's etc...I think both of them used in conjunction would be ideal, but the price is way too steep. It really needs to cost the same as Data Rescue, not a penny more.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
2 answer(s)
Johndrake
Johndrake
05 December 2007
I would like to contact someone with the boomerang mac software. Please email john.drake@virgin.net many thanks
Like
Version 1.1.5
Xypher
Xypher
05 December 2007
Sorry, I was using the Demo, not the full version. My comments refer to the results table it generated for me.
Like
Version 1.1.5
Web-Jive
01 November 2007
This my personal opinion on the software. I'm not mad, just hitting myself on the forehead because I leapt before looking. My internet connection has been up and down today and this is adding a considerable amount of time for my restores due to the issue outlined below: I should have read the reviews before plunking down $200 on this product. What I didn't realize was that the software needs to have a FULL TIME internet connection which validates the software every time you initiate a restore. What does this mean? If you have 20,000 files you need to restore and you choose to selectively restore (say you click a file, then restore, it finishes and you select another and start restore), each time it's going to phone home before the restore starts and transmit the amount of data your restoring and check validation. I would recommend anyone who has a restore situation where you don't have access to the internet bypass this software. "Highlights of this Agreement: These terms and conditions are presented at the time of the sale, and your acceptance of them is required if you wish to place an order for our product(s) or service(s). If you do not accept these terms, then leave this site and do not order our product(s) or service(s). You agree that support for our product(s) and service(s) are done via our wesbite support center located at http://www.boomdrs.com/support You agree that we are unable provide you with the product(s) or service(s) without your acceptance of these terms. All sales are final, you agree and understand that there are no returns, refunds or exchanges. We offer no warranty of fitness or merchantability for any particular purpose or accept any liability for your use of the Software. BoomDRS.com (the "Website") is a collection of online, interactive data recovery and other tools from Digital Frontiers, UBTO ("DF"). You must read and agree to this agreement before using the Website. Use of the site indicates your acceptance hereof. We employ fraud protection measures designed to reduce or eliminate fraud. We record information such as your computer IP, file saving activity and payment details. This information is used solely for accountability purposes." The author could have just made it so that when you register the software, it creates a system key which is transmitted to their servers and then validates the software by installing their key locally. That would have prevented a lot of piracy (which is the authors primary concern) and is similar to what iTunes does. It's good at what it does but the author thinks that for $200 he's entitled to your restore information. What it boils down to is the software can only be used on one machine at a time (very fair) but your REQUIRED to have an internet connection active to re-validate the software each and every time you start a data restore and to transmit your restore data back to them. Very invasive for a "rescue" situation.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
Rcfa
23 October 2007
I would not recommend this product for several reasons: a) Data Rescue II and FileSalvage together cost less than Boomerang b) the product requires (and that is NOT clearly stated on its web site as of this writing) a PERMANENT internet connection while you try to recover data. This makes the product unsuitable to be used e.g. with a recovery boot partition on a USB flash drive, and in many other situations where the very fact that your drive is troubled prevents you from booting in a way that allows for internet access. It is thus as useful as equipping emergency workers with cell phones rather than walkie talkies, and then realizing that the cell phone towers are without power when disaster strikes. c) the developer states that the product contains no spyware. Yet, after I purchased the universal (Mac/Windows) product, and tried it out on an old drive and noticed that it's unsuitable for use on a flash emergency boot drive, he refused a refund based on the fact that I had "recovered 120GB of data" with the product. In other words, the permanent link that's open while you recover data IS SPYING on your activity. It isn't even clear what sort of information the guy logs, it could be file names and more. d) customer service is bad and shaped by paranoia that he might get ripped off. He is more proud that his software isn't available on Warez sites than caring about whether the software in its current form fulfills its intended purpose to the best it could. e) lastly, he was threatening me with listing my name on cheats-and-liars.com if I would dispute the charge with the credit card company. Turns out that cheats-and-liars.com and boomdrs.com are both registered with the same registrar and both in violation of domain name registration rules using blatantly bogus contact information. Now, if you want to do business with someone like that, feel free, but don't say you haven't been warned. Data Rescue II and FileSalvage 6.0 do both just about the same. FileSalvage will also rename files for you and also learns custom file types. DataRescue II has some power user features, and the two combined are superior to Boomerang, and cheaper, too.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
Macnews
12 April 2007
Except for Murphy's Law which, unfortunately, happens to us all, Leopard's Time Machine notwithstanding. In order to recognize its value in comparison with DRII, simply try the demo. It seems to do more meticulous/thorough job, especially in the area of identifying/recognizing a lot more filetypes than its counterpart. This alone would be worth the added expense, as nothing else out there seems to do that particular function nearly as well; certainly saving the end-user many additional tedious man-hours in the attempt to recognize numbered files without proper names.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
30 July 2007
Bad style giving your own product a recommendation ;D
Like
Version 1.1.4
Ben-marko
06 January 2007
Whoops...I of course meant to say "Need more info on what features Boomerang has that Data Rescue doesn't to justify the extra $80." Silly me.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Veggiedude
02 January 2007
$179 is a lot of money. If I had to retrieve data that is irreplaceable, I guess it would be worth every penny, but I am not in that situation and hopefully, with the backup system in Leopard, I will never have to be and neither will you.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5