Back to InstantShot! page
InstantShot! free download for Mac

InstantShot! Reviews

2.7.1
10 August 2017

Screen capture utility.

gcoghill
22 January 2009

Most helpful

What a great screenshot app. And free! Excellent.
Like (1)
Version 2.5

Read 27 InstantShot! User Reviews

Rate this app:

Whit-g
09 December 2013
Love it! Went looking for a replacement for the overly-complex Skitch, which can't seem to even do what I originally downloaded it for, and landed on this app. Works beautifully for generating multiple screen caps using the same screen position/sizing. The UI could be slightly more refined, but I'll only slight it a tad for that.
Like
Version 2.6.2b
Big Johnson
05 May 2013
Hey Digital Waters: The screenshot above gets smaller when clicked, not larger.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.2b
outer
16 January 2013
Latest version from the Developer's website seems to be 2.6.2b, which seems to work just fine (for me) under ML 10.8.2.
Like
Version 2.6b
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
16 January 2013
Thanks Outer, I've updated our listing :)
Like
Peternew
29 October 2012
Have been using InstantShot for a long time but suddenly it fails in os 10.8.2 and I've had to look for an alternative. The beta simply freezes. I'm sorry to lose such a 'friend' but my urgent need for a simple screen capture program dictates that I must move on.
Like
Version 2.6b
Willt
16 September 2012
So far, it looks like there is no update for OSX10.8 Mountain Lion. I hope that the developers bring out an update as it is an excellent app. which is easy to use. That is the only reason I gave it 4 stars, otherwise it is a 5 star app.
Like (1)
Version 2.6b
1 answer(s)
Mrhooks
Mrhooks
08 October 2012
A new beta (2.6.2b) came out around 10 days ago. I don't know if it's compatible with Mountain Lion (I'm still running Lion until I can buy an SSD), but it's worth a shot. Download it directly from the dev's site, as MacUpdate is now two beta releases behind.
Like
Jeff-H-
22 January 2012
I've been using instantshot for years. The older version was showing problems in Lion. I downloaded the newest beta and problem solved!
Like
Version 2.6b
1 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
04 March 2012
Just a followup: This app crashes more times in Lion than not. To get a scree shot it usually takes 3-5 attempts. I will be looking for another...too bad, I love this app.
Like
Mrhooks
30 December 2011
Problems under Lion: Clicking on the System tab of the Preferences causes the window to freeze, but you can still quit out of the app via the Menubar icon. App will often disappear from my Login Items list during reboot, and not launch. It's the only Login Item that does this. I'm guessing it's related to the first bug...?
Like
Version 2.6b
1 answer(s)
Mrhooks
Mrhooks
30 December 2011
Forgot to mention, this is v2.6.1b, which is newer than what MacUpdate has as its latest beta. I downloaded it directly from the developer's website. If you follow the comments on their website, they claimed this version fixed the freezing issue, but unfortunately, it didn't.
Like
Jeff-H-
12 December 2011
I've been using Instant Shot for a number of years now and its been a GREAT piece of software. Under Lion (10.7.2) it crashes. Its a thing that just started happening a couple weeks ago, so it was running (I was using it a few times a day), on this OS. Dunno...any thoughts?
Like
Version 2.6b
vangulickc
02 September 2011
Thanks to Digital Waters for updating this wonderful software - no do-dads but amply tweakable and excellent, straight-line workflow capacity. Unfortunately, I had to abandon it when Lion arrived well before an updated version of InstantShot! was ready, and a close approximation was available for $2.99 at the Apple Store. Even so, I may re-install InstantShot! Sure and begorrah, when you need a screenshot, it brings in the cavalry without the thunder and dust.
Like
Version 2.6b
ronoho
02 September 2011
Very happy to see that there's a new release, since this is a very valueable piece of software to me for making manuals. This new version works like a charm as long as you don't click 'system' in the Preferences, the program will then freeze. Hope this is fixed in the next release and I'm sure it will.
Like
Version 2.6b
Peternew
22 August 2011
Has been one of my favourite programs...BUT...now broken under Lion, just returns a black image, so I have had to seek an alternative. So far no response from developer...sad because it was an excellent tool. Low scores reflect current situation.
Like
Version 2.5
Sunbeam
11 August 2011
This seems to be broken under Lion. The utility starts but all the screenshots it takes are solid black. I'm tried to adjust settings and still black. Too bad since the feature set is perfect for my needs.
Like
Version 2.5
rs9020
28 July 2011
Does it work with 10.7 Lion? Coz I get black photos/screenshots when using this app on Lion.
Like
Version 2.5
Doug-Engelbart
20 September 2010
Yay! Exactly what I was looking for: A simple screenshotter that can automatically name each pic to "YYYY-MMDD-HHmm-N.png" instead of "Picture N.png" or "YYYY-MM-DD at H.mm.ss PM/AM" etc.pp.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Melusina
07 October 2009
Excellent, and free! I don't know why this program didn't work for me previously but the 10.5.8 system update seemed to fix the issue, as I tried the program again and it works great. I find the quality of the screenshots is better than most of the other programs I tried. I use it all the time now, except when I need an entire deep web page screenshot. Thanks to the developer!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Anotherscott
10 April 2009
Exactly what I was looking for! Unobtrusive, easy to use, flexible. Lets you name the screenshot when you save it, so you don't have a desktop full of files with unhelpful names like "Picture 11." Free and better than the shareware equivalents I looked at!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Melusina
01 April 2009
This doesn't work for me on my Intel MacBook Pro running Leopard 10.5.6 - I tried it several times, but it just doesn't work.
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Anotherscott
Anotherscott
10 April 2009
Works fine for me on Intel MacBook running 10.5.6
Like
Version 2.5
davinder-khabra
11 February 2009
The ability to take multiple screen shots at timed intervals is really useful for me. I use these grabs to produce smaller size movies with FrameByFrame.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
gcoghill
22 January 2009
What a great screenshot app. And free! Excellent.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Hway61
08 April 2008
This is a beautiful program, and I thank the developers for having created it. I do want to add, though--if anyone from eFritz is still around-- that I will miss FreeSnap, which was, in its time, what I believe InstantShot is now. Thanks to all of the brilliant people who create these excellent programs.
Like
Version 2.5
Idjster
29 January 2008
Having this app handy all the time, having the options to repeat shots, shoot the screen, in a rectangle, doing timed shots or multiple shots makes it a perfect app to load at startup - it sits in the bar and stays out of your way until you need it. It's quick, does great screenshots and has lots of options. It's always a plus when an app has the options you want and the price is this good. Very nice app, indeed.
Like
Version 2.5
Brian50
24 December 2007
Best free app I ever tried. Easy to to use, no glitches, just works perfectly time after time after time. I can't remember the last time I used Snapz Pro for screen shots. Would be nice to have an option to put a drop shadow around the image, like Snapz Pro, but that's just me being picky.
Like
Version 2.5
Magosilvan
23 December 2007
No more three fingers key pressing, selectable file type and destination... and the price is good. Even better then before selecting area options, naming and a new customizable menubar icon. The Best Finder ScreenCapture app. I ever knew.
Like
Version 2.5
M-u-Moore
04 June 2007
My favorite! I was just looking for a screenshot utility to include the mouse cursor in screenshots I had to make for software product manual and came along InstantShot. It never occured to me that a screenshot tool should do anything more than take a snapshot of the screen when told to do so with a hotkey or after a period of time - and I was blasted away with the features offered by IS! It's a great tool, it's free, it's really fast taking a bunch of screenshots in a row, and it's deserved its place in my dock!
Like
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Morjovy
Morjovy
26 August 2007
i have a problem - in last version 2.4 i get a transparent cursor. tried to find this option in preferences, but couldnt. i need normal cursor, still have to use version 2.1. how to solve this in 2.4?
Like
Version 2.4
8oo8
09 May 2007
This has to be the handiest little screenshot app out there......just invoke it from its menubar icon when you need it, choose the function that you want and do it. Fast , easy, effortless, smooth.....works perfectly. A truly beautifully designed little gem. A bow to the developer.....and a big thank you for offering it for free, but I'd definitely pay a few shekels for it.
Like
Version 2.4
Pxl
29 March 2007
I've been trying all sorts of FREE screen capture tools. I came close to picking ScreenCaptureX, but when I came across InstantShot! 2.4... wow! Exactly what I was looking for! Having the option to save the JPEG as "High" was a bonus for me.
Like
Version 2.4
Billy-The-Biker
21 January 2007
I love this app. The ability to chose a path (Desktop) or copy direct to clipboard is a great idea. Having it in the menu bar is huge, also. No combo key strokes. Nice. The icon should be customizable though.
Like
Version 2.2