Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to VMware Fusion page
VMware Fusion free download for Mac

VMware Fusion Reviews

22 May 2021

Run Windows apps alongside Mac apps without rebooting.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ivryernest
ivryernest
May 19 2021
12.1.1
0.0
May 19 2021
0.0
Version: 12.1.1
I have a question: is there an app to help use Mac apps on Windows computers?
Mcr
Mcr
Apr 1 2021
12.1.1
3.0
Apr 1 2021
3.0
Version: 12.1.1
Still no EASY, app driven, menu accessible, solution for entering recovery mode for a Big Sur VM for purposes of disabling SIP. There ARE workarounds but NOT for the faint hearted. VMWare needs to address this. If you've been struggling to disable SIP on your Big Sur vm, here some of the hoops you can jump through https://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/415086/how-to-disable-sip-when-big-sur-is-installed-in-a-vmware-fusion-player-virtual-m ABSOLUTELY backup your vm image before trying any of these hacks...one slip up, a typo, well...you know the rest.
Mcr
Mcr
Apr 1 2021
12.1.1
3.0
Apr 1 2021
3.0
Version: 12.1.1
MACUPDATE: the developer link on this page points to the European STORE (for buying) for VMWare (https://store-eu.vmware.com/) instead of the company website which is https://www.vmware.com/
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 11 2021
12.1.0
0.0
Mar 11 2021
0.0
Version: 12.1.0
* For those concerned: "Code-execution flaw in VMware has a severity rating of 9.8 out of 10. Thousands of servers running vCenter server could be in for a nasty surprise...." - - 'CVE-2021-21972, as the security flaw is tracked, is a remote code-execution vulnerability in VMware vCenter server, an application for Windows or Linux that administrators use to enable and manage virtualization of large networks.... CVE-2021-21972 allows hacker with no authorization to upload files to vulnerable vCenter servers that are publicly accessible over port 443.... CVE-2021-21972 affects vCenter Server versions 6.5, 6.7, and 7.01. Users running one of these versions should update to 6.5 U3n, 6.7 U3l, or 7.0 U1c as soon as possible....' - -> https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2021/02/armed-with-exploits-hackers-on-the-prowl-for-a-critical-vmware-vulnerability/
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 5 2021
12.1.0
3.0
Jan 5 2021
3.0
Version: 12.1.0
So, Parallels is showing off a Technical Preview of Parallels that can run the ARM version of Windows on Apple Silicon apps. I've tried it, it works, for the most part, still a lot of work to do, but interesting. It's a proof of concept, the bigger issue is, will running the ARM version Windows satisfy people who want to run Windows on a Apple Silicon Mac, because Windows ARM still has it's own issues even on official Windows hardware like the Surface Pro. Lingering application issues, emulation of Intel, problems running older 32-bit Intel apps (under emulation). Even still the, it's actually quite amazing that it can be done, that a 32/64-bit Intel Windows app can run under emulation on a ARM version of Windows built for Qualcomm's ARM chip, running as a Virtual Machine on a Apple Mac with a Apple designed ARM processor. I wonder if VMware has a skunk works project going on to do the same; I'm sure VMWare is watching how the Parallels experiment goes and whether consumers take to it. Ironically, because the M1 is so fast, according to some reviews, Windows ARM runs faster as a VM on a M1 Mac than it does on a Surface Pro natively. There was no competition before, so Qualcomm and Microsoft had no pressure to push Windows ARM or the Surface Pro, it just had to be good enough. Next Question, if you can run Windows ARM as VM on a M1 Mac, will it be possible some day to install Windows ARM NATIVELY to a Apple Silicon Mac, a la bootcamp? I think all that would be needed is a special bootloader to trick Windows ARM into thinking it is a Surface Pro or something.
vallee-blanche
vallee-blanche
Dec 17 2020
12.1.0
5.0
Dec 17 2020
5.0
Version: 12.1.0
Original and best, runs linux flawlessley and fast. Steer clear of all imitations.
Miner
Miner
Nov 23 2020
12.1.0
3.0
Nov 23 2020
3.0
Version: 12.1.0
I liked it a lot, found the upgrade cycle more friendly for my wallet, but unfortunately at the moment it does no longer work with the Boot Camp partition in Big Sur. Parallels does, so I switched, and it is performing well. I do see myself coming back to VMWare though, once all issues are ironed out.
chofutaro8
chofutaro8
Sep 18 2020
12.0.0
5.0
Sep 18 2020
5.0
Version: 12.0.0
Gets the job done. Faster than the competition.
Odysseus
Odysseus
Sep 17 2020
12.0.0
0.0
Sep 17 2020
0.0
Version: 12.0.0
So Fusion 12 is now free for personal use. How does it compare to Parallels 16?
Odysseus
Odysseus
Sep 17 2020
12.0.0
0.0
Sep 17 2020
0.0
Version: 12.0.0
So Fusion 12 is now free for personal use. How does it compare to Parallels 16
Mcr
Mcr
Aug 24 2020
11.5.6
3.0
Aug 24 2020
3.0
Version: 11.5.6
The future of Fusion: Fusion 12 is coming (already available as Technology Preview), it is based on very different design and is only for Catalina or Big Sur due to Apple design changes in macOS. F11 will be the last release to support Mojave. If you buy F11 after June 15, you will get a free upgrade. Fusion 12 PLAYER will be free for personal use and replaces the 'standard' version of Fusion 11. F12 Pro will replace F11 Pro and will include license for 3 devices, INCLUDING Windows and Linux (i.e. VMWare Workstation and Fusion will cross license). With the coming of Apple Silicon, which is NOT Intel architecture, Apple has made very clear that BootCamp will not be available. Virtualization of Windows Intel x86 on Apple Silicon, as we have come to enjoy with Fusion and Parallels, is not possible (don't confuse virtualization with EMULATION, as many people do). Emulation might work, but anyone's guess how efficient that will be. Windows ARM based MIGHT run on Apple Silicon, same with ARM based Linux; just not enough information yet, not even sure all the major players (Apple, Microsoft, Linux world) really know what is going to happen, unless they have had talks behind closed doors, but unlikely Apple would have tipped their hat, and frankly running Windows on a Mac is not high on Apple's priority list. MU is not the place to debate the technology, just wanted to give heads up to users that given all this, YOU BETTER HOLD ON to a few Macs that run Mojave and F11 for right now till all this settles out, if your business relies on running Windows on a Mac. F12 may be okay, but even with extensive beta testing and technology preview, there is still so much new and Big Sur is nowhere near stable right now, so who knows how well F12 and Big Sur combo will function upon final shipping, I'd hold off for a couple of months. If you have already moved to Catalina, F12 SHOULD run much like F11 on Mojave, but again, for business, at least we know F11 and Mojave combo is pretty stable. Many businesses and me personally, have decided to basically skip Catalina (I've heard people call it the 'Vista' or 'Windows 8' of the Mac world), still use Mojave for mission critical, and await to see what Big Sur will look like. If you have a decent Mac purchased in the last year or two, I see no reason to buy a new Intel based Mac at this time, until we see what the new Apple Silicon Macs look like and perform like, unless your business requires the latest and fastest. At the end of the day, if it is mission critical, the long term future of running Windows in a Mac shop may simply be a real Windows box running real Windows, and remote-ing into it. SO, don' lose your F11 licenses, or throw out your Macs running Mojave just yet, if running Windows is key for you.
iWare
iWare
Aug 16 2020
11.5.6
5.0
Aug 16 2020
5.0
Version: 11.5.6
VMware Fusion Pro is fantastic!
pa-geographer
pa-geographer
Jun 2 2020
11.5.5
4.0
Jun 2 2020
4.0
Version: 11.5.5
Fusion 11.5.5 requires Mojave 10.14 or later.
Gitte79
Gitte79
Nov 13 2019
11.5.1
5.0
Nov 13 2019
5.0
Version: 11.5.1
My go-to VM client tool.
Macinman
Macinman
Sep 22 2019
11.5.0
5.0
Sep 22 2019
5.0
Version: 11.5.0
Macupdate doesn't allow plain comments anymore from what I can see, however, this Review is being posted as a comment. For those, who may not know, to get the free upgrade to 11.5 from 11, You need to download manually from VMware. The auto update treats it as a paid upgrade which is deceptive. I was thrown by this, however I talked to someone from VMware, and he helped me sort it out. Other than that little bit of miscommunication, things work great. Dark mode also looks god with VMWare 11.5 Especially in VMs very unobtrusive when working with guests.
ben-stamp
ben-stamp
Sep 21 2019
11.5.0
5.0
Sep 21 2019
5.0
Version: 11.5.0
For me the best VM client.
Mcr
Mcr
Jul 24 2019
11.1.0
3.0
Jul 24 2019
3.0
Version: 11.1.0
Between Wed, July 24 and Friday, July 26, 2019, VMware has a 'Black Friday in July' sale. 30% off Fusion Pro and 20% off regular Fusion, when purchased through their online store. Update pricing also appears to be discounted too; $39.99 instead of $49.99
https://store.vmware.com/store/vmware/en_US/DisplayProductDetailsPage/ThemeID.2485600/productID.5222152200
Chun-Tian-(binghe)
Chun-Tian-(binghe)
May 15 2019
11.1.0
3.0
May 15 2019
3.0
Version: 11.1.0
OS Requirements is wrong: 11.0 now requires OS X 10.12 (Sierra) or later.
djcz
djcz
May 10 2019
11.0.3
1.0
May 10 2019
1.0
Version: 11.0.3
So tired of installing VMware only to find that upon startup of a VM we get the dreaded "Internal Error". After much searching, it seems that nobody has a consistent solution to avoid this problem. Even when contacting VMware technical support directly, their support people don't have a clue and they try to resolve the issue by attempting numerous fixes. Upon startup of VMware, it constantly warns to enable "Allow apps downloaded from: App Store and identified developers", even though it is already enabled. It also shows a generic icon in certain folder views. In my personal opinion, development of this software has gone to trash. Why should we pay for upgrades to this, when all it does is frustrate end users, especially when there are products available like VirtualBox that are just as good, basically more stable and FREE. Sorry VMware, but version 11.0.3 is our last upgrade for this software.
Mcr
Mcr
Dec 20 2018
11.0.2
3.0
Dec 20 2018
3.0
Version: 11.0.2
Guys, The following article sheds light on why Virtualization systems have not been able to solve the Direct X 11 and higher problem. https://www.parallels.com/blogs/directx-and-parallels-desktop-13/ Now Apple has made no secret that it is deprecating support for OpenGL, that Metal is the future. But Metal would seem NOT to have the necessary APIs or mapping to solve the problem either, as Metal 1.0 has been around since 2014 and Metal 2.0 since mid-2017, plenty of time for Fusion, Parallels, etc, to figure out Direct X 11+ support, ASSUMING Metal 2.0 was capable of solving the issues. So, it would seem Metal 2.0 is still lacking something. I'm not a graphics expert, but my understanding is that Vulkan is possibly the answer to a lot of these cross platform graphics support issues. Metal and DX sitting on top of Vulkan would provide a bridge, across multiple OS platforms; the graphics version of the 'write once, run anywhere' idea.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Aug 15 2018
10.1.3
0.0
Aug 15 2018
0.0
Version: 10.1.3
Keyboard and mouse inputs are not working for me in VMs in this version, on latest Mojave public beta. :(
Macinman
Macinman
May 24 2018
10.1.2
5.0
May 24 2018
5.0
Version: 10.1.2
Just thought I would mention: after installing version 10.1.2, Fusion reports as patched from the the Meltdown and Spectre vulnerabilities. I use a tool that Steve Gibson wrote located here: https://www.grc.com/inspectre.htm I've run it in my copy of windows 10 pro, and what was listed in Red in 10.1.1, is now all green in 10.1.2, and reporting that the hardware and software has been patched.
MicheleB
MicheleB
Feb 13 2018
10.1.1
2.0
Feb 13 2018
2.0
Version: 10.1.1
Doesn't run on my 2016 Macbook Pro - maybe it has to do with 10.13.3 security updates? Whatever; I used this app a lot and was satisfied until now, but this is worst case scenario - I need to be able to update, configure client VMs, and VMWare Support doesn't seem to be able to help me. Not good. 2 stars for now, because it served me well over quite some years and still hoping, this will be fixed soon.
VLtom
VLtom
Jan 25 2018
10.1.1
0.0
Jan 25 2018
0.0
Version: 10.1.1
I use v8 for running older OSX versions. Any good reason why I should upgrade to v10?
xcoxco
xcoxco
Dec 27 2017
10.1.0
4.0
Dec 27 2017
4.0
Version: 10.1.0
Not sure what problem "fiery12" below is having. I am a long time Fusion Pro user, after cross-grading from Parallels. In my experience Fusion does exactly what is claimed, and does it well. It certainly does not merit a 2-star rating in my view.

In the past I used Fusion with MS-Office Windows, Tableau, financial and other applications. My use is less intense these days as Tableau and other analytics packages are now often available natively on the Mac.

Incidentally, I am running Fusion on an iMac (i7 at 4GHZ with 32GB RAM), macOS High Sierra, etc. I use it for both Windows and Mac virtual machines, including Mac VMs that run prior OSX versions. It always works fine.

Also keep in mind, the transition to the new Apple File System (APFS) under High Sierra is technically very significant. It will take developers 12-months at least to figure out the file system properly (for one there's precious little technical documentation just now), and for Apple identify and iron out significant bugs.

I cannot imagine the transition is not a very big deal technically for both the makers of Fusion and Parallels, and other applications which may be disk access intensive (eg, disk based databases).

While I have not had problems with Fusion and APFS, I have with Filemaker Pro 16. As a result, I have reverted back to HFS+ for the next few months to avert nasty crashes as FMP writes to disk.
fiery12
fiery12
Nov 26 2017
10.0.1
2.0
Nov 26 2017
2.0
Version: 10.0.1
Be aware that VMware Fusion 10 does not support 3D Accelerated graphics for Mac OS X virtual machines (macOS guests). This info is so hidden in the docs, I wasted several hours to find why so much advertised 3D acceleration is not supported in macOS guests. The problem is so severe that even a simple app as Pacifist starts for ~2 min. in 10.13 guest (on 10.13 host) with error: "Unable to create basic Accelerated OpenGL renderer". Everything is so slow that you can barely work. Apps like Apple Maps, iWork, Little Snitch (maps panel) may lock VM for a long time. I don't know why they advertise El Capitan, Sierra, High Sierra guests as supported when they run in some slow motion in contrast to 3D supported Linux and Windows guests. Apple allows virtualization, but how we can do it without GPU support. Parallels and VirtualBox are not different, but at least VirtualBox is free. I found this info in the VMware KB named "Creating a macOS Virtual Machine in Fusion": "Fusion [10] does not support the following features for Mac OS X virtual machines: Multiple displays; 3D Accelerated graphics; Unity view." I'm giving two stars to Fusion 10 for the easy installation of High Sierra, low RAM usage and drag and drop support. However, macOS virtual machines are almost unusable without 3D acceleration. In other words it's like polishing a car that even pedestrians overrun.
James
James
Oct 1 2017
10.0.1
4.5
Oct 1 2017
4.5
Version: 10.0.1
PLEASE be real careful when upgrading to this version. You need to run the trial version before purchasing to make sure it runs properly on your machine!!!! It will not work on older machines, even if they can run High Sierra. Machine specs are below: Fusion 10.x Hardware requirements: All Macs launched in 2011 or later are supported except: 2012 Mac Pro “Quad Core” using the Intel® Xeon® W3565 Processor. In addition the following are supported: 2010 Mac Pro “Six Core”, “Eight Core” and “Twelve Core”. Minimum 4 GB of RAM 750 MB of free disk space for VMware Fusion and at least 5 GB for each virtual machine Software requirements: Mac OS X 10.11 or later Metal Host Graphics Rendering Engine Additional Hardware requirements: MacBook (early 2015 or newer) MacBook Air (mid 2012 or newer) MacBook Pro (mid 2012 or newer) Mac Mini (late 2012 or newer) iMac (late 2012 or newer) Mac Pro (late 2013 or newer) I have just finished pulling an 'all nighter' and all afternoon trying to get this to work on my MacPro 5.1 Mid 2010 quad processor 16MB RAM, 512GB SSD trying to get this to run. I even contacted tech support for an initial problem which after 3 hours of work, including issuing complex UNIX commands in Terminal, I finally got a message stating my machine in incompatible. In my Tech Support request I even indicated what machine I had before I received long complicated instructions on how to resolve the initial issue. No mention was made of a possible machine conflict. The info about compatibility is buried under system requirements which only details the technical specs of the machines processor. Users are given the * "Big Boy Warranty" on figuring out what the actual processor in their machine is. Just what percent of typical users know what that is or how to find out? What should happen as with most other installers, is that the installer should first check the system configuration to make sure the product is compatible before installing the upgrade. However that would require a bit of additional code which VMware seems to have chosen not to do, perhaps because it would require a little extra coding time and testing which would reduce profits. So instead I just wasted half my weekend to find out the upgrade will not run on my machine. So if I want to run the upgrade I have 5 choices: - Figure out how to upgrade my processor chips - an expensive and difficult procedure - Buy a new Mac - Run with Fusion 8 and hope it is fully compatible with High Sierra. - Run Windows in BootCamp - Buy a cheap Windows machine to run the few times I need to use Windows, now mostly for Faxing since Apple removed fax support from OSX After this experience I am considering running with Virtual Box (Free) when it is deemed compatible with High Sierra. It may be slower with a few less features, but at least I am not faced with paying for a product with abysmal support. I switched from Parallels many years ago due to their poor support. Up until now I have been very pleased with Fusion support. That all changed today. Now I feel one is as bad as the other. I might consider going back to Parallels if it weren't equally as poor, unless somethings changed and charge big bucks for every little add-on to make the product more friendly. *"Big Boy Warranty" : "Your a big boy now; go figure it out for yourself!"
Pat-Geerts
Pat-Geerts
Sep 30 2017
10.0.1
0.0
Sep 30 2017
0.0
Version: 10.0.1
Still using 8.5 and it works fine with macOS 10.13
OhEssex
OhEssex
Sep 27 2017
8.5.8
0.0
Sep 27 2017
0.0
Version: 8.5.8
Looks like version 10.0.0 is out as of September 26 (it's a $50 upgrade). Here's what they sat the features are: Optimized for macOS High Sierra, including Touch Bar support Run the latest versions of Windows 10, macOS and Linux in a VM Improved Performance and Battery Life Enhanced User Interface Use specific Windows-only devices on your Mac Perfect complement to Boot Camp
Mcr
Mcr
Jul 19 2017
8.5.8
3.0
Jul 19 2017
3.0
Version: 8.5.8
30% off sale this week of July 17, 2017, on Fusion, Workstation Windows and Workstation Linux, regular and Pro, direct from Vmware. https://www.vmware.com/products/fusion.html https://www.vmware.com/products/workstation.html Also, as of June 22, 2017 the latest release is 8.5.8. Don't wait for macupdate to tell you, use this direct download link https://www.vmware.com/go/try-fusionpro-en It always links to the latest available version. There is no separate trial, updater or installer, it's just one same package. If already activated, running full installer will simply update the installed copy. Also, no difference between regular and Pro installer files, it's the activation key that determines the feature set.
anonymous-dolphin-6029
anonymous-dolphin-6029
May 17 2017
8.5.6
4.0
May 17 2017
4.0
Version: 8.5.6
8.5.6 Release Notes: http://pubs.vmware.com/Release_Notes/en/fusion/8/fusion-856-release-notes.html
WisdomL0RD
WisdomL0RD
Mar 26 2017
8.5.3
3.0
Mar 26 2017
3.0
Version: 8.5.3
I do like Fusion. For me the best VM client.
What I do not like is the awful support and yearly upgrade policy. I do not mind paying for software, even yearly, but I would expect a good and fast support. This is a major problem with VMWare. Tickets are difficult to track, find and follow and they are answered at a very slow pace. And in many cases did not resolved the problem.

Still I keep using Fusion because it is the best.

3 stars that should be 5star (minus 2 for the bad bad bad customer support).
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
Mar 10 2017
8.5.3
5.0
Mar 10 2017
5.0
Version: 8.5.3
updated to 8.5.4
Mcr
Mcr
Dec 31 2016
8.5.1
3.0
Dec 31 2016
3.0
Version: 8.5.1
As of Dec 31, 2016, this MacUpdate page is still showing 8.5.1 as the current version. Be advised 8.5.3 is available and has been out since Thanksgiving weekend! Isn't the whole point of using MacUpdate is to be kept informed of updates? This link will always download the most current installer, regardless of version, no login or account required, it has worked for me for years. https://www.vmware.com/go/try-fusionpro-en It's the same installer whether you have Pro or Standard, the activation key determines what functional release you get. Also, there is no difference between updater or installer. The same file will install a new installation or update an existing one.
Mcr
Mcr
Oct 31 2016
8.5.1
3.0
Oct 31 2016
3.0
Version: 8.5.1
I've been very pleased with the 8.5 and 8.5.1 updates, on Fusion (and the 12.5.x updates on Windows Workstation version). If you look at the release notes, there is obvious work being done on fixing significant bugs, and my personal impression is that speed and stability are noticeably improved over 8.0, on both platforms.

This should ease any concerns expressed about VMWare 'abandoning' the Fusion product. As I noted in previous comments, the core development branches off of the enterprise virtualization code, and enterprise virtualization is a strong market and is NOT going away, and VMWare is a strong player in the enterprise server virtualization market, if not the strongest, along with MS Hypervisor technology.

The desktop UI development for Fusion was moved offshore, but if the 8.5 and 8.5.1 updates are any indication, it has not been abandoned.

I know the debate will continue about the 'cost' of VMWare and Parallels and updates; I would only say this. If you REALLY need to access Windows and Windows apps, consider the cost if virtualization was not available. Another physical machine, and all that entails (the physical space to store, energy, noise, heat, disruption in workflow going back and forth, not having seamless drag and drop of files, not having seamless clipboard cut and paste...the list goes on, and last but not least LOST TIME).

I look at all that and to me, IMO, under $100 a year is a STEAL for what it saves me in time and gives in convenience. On top of that, VMware did not charge for the 8.5 update, which added support for Sierra and Windows Anniversary edition; under the old model, it probably would have been released as version 9 and required an upgrade fee.

And for personal, non-commercial use, you can install one licensed copy Fusion on as many Macs as you personally own.
http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/faqs.html
It used to be three Macs per license, now its all Macs you own. (Note commercial use requires a license per Mac). I pro-rate the cost of Fusion across the multiple Macs I use and to me the cost, even with update fees, is still very affordable.
Polak
Polak
Oct 30 2016
8.5.1
5.0
Oct 30 2016
5.0
Version: 8.5.1
Too expensive and you need to pay for a yearly update. That said, it is the best VM client. :-)
Mcr
Mcr
Sep 15 2016
8.5.0
3.0
Sep 15 2016
3.0
Version: 8.5.0
Folks, whether you are a registered user installing for the first time, or want to try the 30 days trial, or just want to update an existing installation, it's all the SAME installer, DMG file. I've read some comments from folks looking for the 'updater', not the 'installer'; doesn't matter. The installer will recognize if you already have it installed and update the installation, or install a new installation on a new machine. The only difference between trial and registered is inputting a registration code, there isn't a separate installer for a trial.

This link will always download the most current installer, regardless of version, no login or account required, it has worked for me for years.
https://www.vmware.com/go/try-fusionpro-en
Also, it's the SAME installer whether you want the Pro or "regular" Fusion. Again, the registration code you put in (if you purchase) determines the functionality and 'flavor'.
If you don't trust me, then you can use this link for the Non Pro version:
https://www.vmware.com/go/try-fusion-en
Either way, you will get the SAME file, which as of this date will be:
VMware-Fusion-8.5.0-4352717.dmg
SHA1 Hash = 0839f8b4ad61a310e5a03ded3b2a619b75d5ff88

So, if you have several 8.1.1 installations that you want updated to 8.5, you don't need to run Check for Updates from within the program for each machine, just download the 8.5 dmg and run it, plus you will now have the installer for 8.5 for any new install without first having to go through 8.0 and then having to 'Update'. 8.0 through 8.1 registration codes will work with 8.5.

Also, be sure to reboot after updating to 8.5, even though the installer doesn't prompt you to do so. I found the UserAgent process using very CPU right after the update (60-80%) and would not come down for over an hour, until I rebooted, even with no apps running, not even Fusion. May not have been related to the update, but sure seems more than coincidence. After reboot, all well, so what have you got to lose?
Mcr
Mcr
Sep 3 2016
8.1.1
3.0
Sep 3 2016
3.0
Version: 8.1.1
VMWare will release updates to Fusion and Workstaion (8.5 and 12.5) on September 8. This will be FREE upgrade from previous versions. Support for Windows 10 RS1, Windows Server 2016 and and macOS SIerra. Arstechnica story
http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2016/08/vmware-says-were-not-dead-updates-fusion-and-workstation-for-free/?comments=1&start=40

Article also sheds some light on the perception that development is no longer being done, where it is being done, and by whom.
boneoh
boneoh
Jun 29 2016
8.1.1
1.0
Jun 29 2016
1.0
Version: 8.1.1
Not as good as previous versions. 1. No one at VMware bothered to test this using a Mac with 4K resolution, or else they just don't care. They advertised the upgrade with emphasis on "new displays" but don't tell you that the mouse won't point anywhere near the correct location. Almost unusable, very frustrating after 4 months. 2. Errors using copy + paste between Mac + VM and vice versa. No method to the madness. The last time this failed was a couple of minutes ago. Worked fine earlier today. Copied from Mac and pasted to VM ok. Then tried to copy from VM to paste in Mac, still has old clipboard contents from Mac! Either they don't test or they don't care. If you have an older version, don't upgrade. I am sorry I wasted my money.
Macinman
Macinman
Jun 25 2016
8.1.1
5.0
Jun 25 2016
5.0
Version: 8.1.1
Question, I read an article today stating that the development teams for Fusion and workstation have been terminated. Does this mean that we who have invested in these products need to start looking for a new commercial solution, or is it simply changing management ? If anyone can add some insight it would be appreciated .
Pissnaround
Pissnaround
Apr 25 2016
8.1.1
0.0
Apr 25 2016
0.0
Version: 8.1.1
What is VMWare Fusion 8.1.1? I am running VMWare 8.1.0 and I've yet to figure out how to install 8.1.1. It doesn't show up in "Check for updates" and I don't see anywhere on VMWare's site how to get it. I did think I knew how to use a computer :oP
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Apr 25 2016
8.1.1
0.0
Apr 25 2016
0.0
Version: 8.1.1
Still no support for Direct X versions 11 or 12. But the same goes with Parallels. It's not a hardware problem on Macs! So I don't understand what's going on writing the translators. :-P
Bart-Pans
Bart-Pans
Mar 31 2016
8.1.0
5.0
Mar 31 2016
5.0
Version: 8.1.0
Still using v6 and loving it and works great. Pity the upgrade pricing is too steep for me.
pappasadmin
pappasadmin
Jan 31 2016
8.1.0
4.0
Jan 31 2016
4.0
Version: 8.1.0
Decent VM, but now officially abandonware. VMware laid off their entire Fusion and Workstation development group. This segment moves fast, in a year, Fusion will be irreparably behind in the competition against Parallels and the open-source VirtualBox. Incredibly shortsighted move on VMware's part.
Mlbkxbx
Mlbkxbx
Jan 15 2016
8.1.0
0.0
Jan 15 2016
0.0
Version: 8.1.0
I love VMware Fusion. PD is way to intrusive (it tries to integrate the client with the host), and it's just messy all over. Fusion is straight to the point, fast, effective and you name it. Virtualbox isn't as polished (but it's free though). IMHO for desktop work, Fusion delivers more speed and simplicity than it's competitors, for both linux and windows guests. Unfortunately, a slight but perceivable input lag of the mouse pointer can be observed in windows 7 when the pointer becomes a text cursor (during mouse-over text). This might not be very distracting for some people, but i can't stand it. Especially since i practically live in web browsers and text editor, being a developer and all. This doesn't happen in virtualbox nor PD.
Mcr
Mcr
Nov 19 2015
8.0.0
3.0
Nov 19 2015
3.0
Version: 8.0.0
If you have older Macs than support only USB 2 in hardware, and you notice the mouse cursor lags or halts briefly every few seconds in Windows guests, try the following: 1) In Fusion preferences General, set Gaming to "Never optimize mouse for games" 2) in the settings for the windows virtual machine, set USB compatibility to USB 2, not USB 3. this solved it for me.
Mcr
Mcr
Nov 12 2015
8.0.0
3.0
Nov 12 2015
3.0
Version: 8.0.0
A comparison review of Fusion 8, Parallels 11 (and VirtualBox 5) http://www.tekrevue.com/2015-vm-benchmarks-parallels-11-vs-fusion-8/ Very interesting...for many years most reviews gave PD the speed edge (especially with Windows guests), and Fusion a slight stability edge. Fusion v 7 closed the speed gap, and now Fusion 8 and PD 11 are for the most part neck and neck.
Mcr
Mcr
Nov 10 2015
8.0.0
3.0
Nov 10 2015
3.0
Version: 8.0.0
How to boot into Recovery Partition of a OS X guest:
https://communities.vmware.com/thread/521411

If you have an older Mac that doesn't show the full boot.efi menu, look at the last post on this thread with hint how to go into boot manager, find the recover partition, and give it a name and add to the boot menu. I've tried the steps listed in this article and it works for Fusion 8 and Yosemite and El Capitan. I was able to boot into El Capitan recovery mode and disable SIP.

Also, you can always download the latest FULL installation image of Fusion here:
https://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/fusion-evaluation.html
It says it is the Trial, but there is no difference between the Trial and the updater. If you are already installed, this will update your installation and maintain your registration.

8.0.2 appears to be a significant update. WHereas 8.0.1 did not update VMWare Tools, 8.0.2 does update VMWare Tools. Just did a full clean install of Windows 10 Threshold 2 release ("Fall Update") which just came out today Nov 10, on Fusion 8.0.2. No problems at all.
Macinman
Macinman
Oct 30 2015
8.0.0
5.0
Oct 30 2015
5.0
Version: 8.0.0
version 8.0.2 is out, do a search for vmware fusion 8.0.2 release notes and you can read about the changes. for me it was the first couple of hits in google.

To make it easier on people here is the link I found: http://pubs.vmware.com/Release_Notes/en/fusion/8/fusion-802-release-notes.html
zaydon
zaydon
Sep 30 2015
8.0.0
5.0
Sep 30 2015
5.0
Version: 8.0.0
8.0.1 is out. Can't find the release notes. How did I find this update? Macupdate, no. From the app itself, no. From a twitter user advertising a link for 8.0.1 on a p2p site. doh..