Back to Desktopple Pro page
Desktopple Pro free download for Mac

Desktopple Pro Reviews

1.3.2
05 February 2008

Menubar item hides desktop clutter for screenshots.

Crucial
12 February 2008

Most helpful

I tried 1.3.1 and found it offered many useful features. I didn't buy it because it was buggy. Emailed the developer and never heard back. 1.3.2 is now out, and I can not test it to see if it works as the developer gives you a one time 15 day trial period. I wont buy buggy software, and I wont buy software I can't test. I would suggest the developer re-thinks his 15 day trial period, or makes it version dependent.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2

Read 13 Desktopple Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

alas!
17 April 2011
Tried the Pro version and found that the hide/show function didn't work. Also the menu bar icon disappeared. Even if it worked as intended I do think that $17 is rather excessive. $8-$10 seems about right for this little puppy. The free Desktopple version works fine so far.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Fotodivr
02 May 2010
Tried it - glad there was at least a 1 day trial. Would not "hide" both monitors... as promised. No way in the "preferences" to alleviate that issue. Would not but it if it was $.99 (ninety-nine cents). Prefer Camouflage... Had a small problem. Wrote the developer - answered within 30 minutes! Problem solved. If I were to give Desktopple a rating, it would be no stars. Very unimpressed - most especially for that price.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Crucial
12 February 2008
I tried 1.3.1 and found it offered many useful features. I didn't buy it because it was buggy. Emailed the developer and never heard back. 1.3.2 is now out, and I can not test it to see if it works as the developer gives you a one time 15 day trial period. I wont buy buggy software, and I wont buy software I can't test. I would suggest the developer re-thinks his 15 day trial period, or makes it version dependent.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
August-Trometer
August-Trometer
13 February 2008
Crucial: I respond to every single email I get. I'm not sure what bugs you saw in 1.3.1, but no one else has reported anything. Contact me (http://foggynoggin.com/contact). I'm sure we can get things straightened out. Thanks August
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
Frostbyte
05 February 2008
I've been happy with Think, and it's free. http://freeverse.com/apps/app/?id=7013
Like
Version 1.3.2
Isub
30 January 2008
Tell you what, this has been one of my fave apps for OS X. Stacks are helping me keep my desktop clear but I still collected the odd thing so this app is still great! Has Leopard support now (still needs a few things tweaked though)
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
August-Trometer
August-Trometer
05 February 2008
Thanks for the kind words, Brainfragment! I'm curious, though, about what you mean by "needs a few things tweaked." Feel free to contact me (http://FoggyNoggin.com/contact) with suggestions and bug reports, and I'll get right on it.
Like
Version 1.3.2
D-Mac
08 January 2008
Really buggy... My system has 2 monitors and Desktopple Pro just doesn't work well, at all. After trying to re-install (and having deleted the preference file), NS* (navigation services) errors go to the Console (exceptions raised but not handled) and the preference pane shows a blank. Developer is defensive about any feedback. One of the other utilities of this sort is the way to go, for now...
Like
Version 1.2
thec13
24 December 2007
Anyone know if this will ever be Leopard compatible?
Like
Version 1.2
anonymous-snipe-166
05 April 2007
I use the DesktopSweeper for a long time and I like it. It's very easy to use and it's FREE. "DesktopSweeper is a freeware APE Module (the equivalent of Unsanity's Haxies) that provides ways to control whether or not Desktop icons are displayed. This can be done with a configurable hockey, or automatically, when the Finder comes to the front and/or leaves it."
Like
Version 1.2
Macsterdam
05 March 2007
Not only is this fantastic software, but the developer is very, very responsive as well. This alone is a serious plus in my book. As for the software, it work great, nice features and (for me) well worth the price. Yes, there are alternatives, but none with the feature-set of desktopple pro.
Like
Version 1.2
ianianianian
16 February 2007
A free alternative to this program (for those interested) is Camouflage. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23118
Like
Version 1.1
hced
13 December 2006
Looking really good! Splendid design. Maybe it would be nice if it was added a button for the opposite of AutoHide, that is, AutoShow (so if I click on for instance, Finder, in the dock, the icons appeared). Or alternatively, if there was a custom Exposé behavior added, that let you switch the desktop icons on and off!
Like
Version 1.0
Ericvonb
12 December 2006
I've used Desktopple (Lite?) for a while now and I bought this as soon as it was released. I love the multiple screen support and the other features are just bonus for me. I do a lot of presentations, and this really helps. Good stuff!
Like
Version 1.0
mac-34
12 December 2006
been using show desktop for a while now, and it's free http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/7520
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Ericvonb
Ericvonb
12 December 2006
Um...they really do 2 different things. Desktopple hides the Desktop icons, ets. Show Desktop, erm, shows the Desktop.
Like
Version 1.0