Back to X Lossless Decoder page
X Lossless Decoder free download for Mac

X Lossless Decoder Reviews20211018

18 October 2021

Encode, transcode, and play various music file formats.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Chilston
Chilston
Jan 28 2021
20210101
5.0
Jan 28 2021
5.0
Version: 20210101
A wonderful decoder/encoder. Very fast with full options.
Kewl
Kewl
Jan 1 2021
20210101
5.0
Jan 1 2021
5.0
Version: 20210101
The go-to audio file converter on macOS: feel lucky for that as there is no equivalent to XLD on Windows. And now it becomes even faster on Apple Silicon!
vladi-petrov
vladi-petrov
Oct 9 2020
20191004
5.0
Oct 9 2020
5.0
Version: 20191004
Best APE to FLAC converter!
tonyarabish
tonyarabish
May 13 2020
20191004
4.0
May 13 2020
4.0
Version: 20191004
iDealshare VideoGo can work as the professional FLAC to Apple Lossless Converter which has both Mac and Windows version.
Winco
Winco
Feb 19 2020
20191004
5.0
Feb 19 2020
5.0
Version: 20191004
All you need for converting files. It is free too. Thank you to the Dev/s for this.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Dec 26 2019
20191004
5.0
Dec 26 2019
5.0
Version: 20191004
The only audio file converter I care about, I have no need for anything else.
blue-8
blue-8
Dec 14 2019
20191004
5.0
Dec 14 2019
5.0
Version: 20191004
Reliable. Flexible with many high-end options that, if you don't need them, don't get in your way. This is what a Mac app should be.
christophbrincken
christophbrincken
Dec 13 2019
20191004
4.0
Dec 13 2019
4.0
Version: 20191004
XLD is maybe the best converter tool on mac. BUT when converting SACD *.ISO files to 24bit/352khz the result is often way too loud and all is red. There is a need to REDUCE the loudness level before conversion. I still use OSX 10.6.8 "The Eagles - Hotel California" is such a SACD which is not treated right by XLD
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
Oct 13 2019
20191004
0.0
Oct 13 2019
0.0
Version: 20191004
Just a quick heads up that the “Burn CD” function does NOT work with 10.15 (yet) - for more see https://sourceforge.net/p/xld/tickets/475/
misjase
misjase
Oct 5 2019
20191004
5.0
Oct 5 2019
5.0
Version: 20191004
I would say I trust it with my life, if only to make the point; not of my life (that would be a little sad) but of trust which, after years of almost daily use, I have only reasons to. I never take for granted that anything computer related just "should work" - or "save time" for that matter - and so I feel gratitude everyday for apps like XLD, which do both.
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 5 2019
20191004
5.0
Oct 5 2019
5.0
Version: 20191004
THE audio conversion utility! But I've found a little lack though, after many years of use. ;-) It doesn't decode .opus files (though it encodes them, which seems quite strange...) The same goes for .m4a but there's a plugin available there that you have to put in the ~/Library/Application Support/XLD/PlugIns/: https://sourceforge.net/projects/xld/files/ The current one is XLDAacDecoder-20181005.zip
nikabuz
nikabuz
Sep 27 2019
20181019
5.0
Sep 27 2019
5.0
Version: 20181019
Awesome software. Regarded as the best in class for a good reason. Works like a charm. Use it virtually every day.
Trystero
Trystero
Sep 19 2019
20181019
5.0
Sep 19 2019
5.0
Version: 20181019
The best audio converter + encoder.
ElbertLo1273
ElbertLo1273
Nov 3 2018
20181019
4.5
Nov 3 2018
4.5
Version: 20181019
It works great on the Mojave.
Leesa
Leesa
Oct 20 2018
20181019
5.0
Oct 20 2018
5.0
Version: 20181019
Fantastic Client! I rarely have to use anything else!
june8
june8
Oct 19 2018
20181019
5.0
Oct 19 2018
5.0
Version: 20181019
Perfect!
Jsabini
Jsabini
Oct 5 2018
20181001
5.0
Oct 5 2018
5.0
Version: 20181001
Great app, does what it's supposed to do with no fuss, super useful. It just works, no need to look further!
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Oct 3 2018
20181001
5.0
Oct 3 2018
5.0
Version: 20181001
So great to see this update, this is by far the best audio converter for macOS. The UI is simple, yet incredibly well designed. As an example, entering or modifying metadata is just a joy to use with well thought out keyboard shortcuts to power through this otherwise tedious task. Great to see this is now 64bit (future proofing), and gets an experimental dark mode for Mojave!!! Don't forget to donate to keep this incredible gem of a tool alive and kicking.
Albabe
Albabe
Oct 2 2018
20181001
5.0
Oct 2 2018
5.0
Version: 20181001
Great Client! But this latest Update, 20181001, doesn't show-up under "Check For Updates."
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
Sep 16 2018
20170729
5.0
Sep 16 2018
5.0
Version: 20170729
Best tool of it's kind, ever!
cybermanos
cybermanos
Jul 18 2018
20170729
5.0
Jul 18 2018
5.0
Version: 20170729
By far the best audio ripper i ever used. Everything else must be compared to this diamond of software.
doomups
doomups
Jun 30 2018
20170729
5.0
Jun 30 2018
5.0
Version: 20170729
I recommend Avdshare Audio Converter which can Batch Convert FLAC to MP3 or Convert MP3 to FLAC with High Quality.
Aargl
Aargl
Jun 19 2018
20170729
5.0
Jun 19 2018
5.0
Version: 20170729
I was a bit worried for the dev, because no update in 11 months... but he seems alive and kickin’, actually working on the 64 bit version: https://sourceforge.net/p/xld/tickets/432/ If anyone wants to help him, there’s a beta version on that page. Long live XLD and tmkk! :-)
hrushkovica
hrushkovica
Feb 8 2018
20170729
0.0
Feb 8 2018
0.0
Version: 20170729
Anyone have a solution to using XLD to rip a multi-CD album into one folder? Despite entering the correct metadata for "Disc x of x," XLD continues to save each CD as its own album. In the main window, it DOES display it as 1-01, 1-02... 2-01, 2-02, but will not save the files this way. Any help is appreciated!
Albertor
Albertor
Dec 3 2017
20170729
5.0
Dec 3 2017
5.0
Version: 20170729
If you have to convert audio formats, stop searching. This is the best. Full stop.
Noach
Noach
Nov 8 2017
20170729
5.0
Nov 8 2017
5.0
Version: 20170729
Knows what he's doing.See prefs
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Sep 29 2017
20170729
4.5
Sep 29 2017
4.5
Version: 20170729
Works every single time.
Aargl
Aargl
Sep 16 2017
20170729
5.0
Sep 16 2017
5.0
Version: 20170729
This is an absolutely must-have for any audio conversion! I've got a bunch of other audio converters such as Adapter (which is very good and does also video) but I always rely on XLD when dealing with serious audio conversion. (if you search some older review of mine, you'll see that I'm a sound engineer and that I've done heavy testing years ago: I haven't tested recently, but then, XLD was better than iTunes)
Tubo
Tubo
Aug 21 2017
20170729
0.0
Aug 21 2017
0.0
Version: 20170729
Website states: "XLD is Universal Binary, so it runs natively on both Intel Macs and PPC Macs."
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Jun 4 2017
20161007
3.0
Jun 4 2017
3.0
Version: 20161007
Anyone have any idea why this thing can't write AAC files? It says "Error: cannot write the output file" and saves a bunch of empty m4a files. I'm stuck encoding everything as MP3. It's great for editing the tags going from AFF files, but it's a pain not being to save as m4a files.
persecutor
persecutor
Dec 20 2016
20161007
5.0
Dec 20 2016
5.0
Version: 20161007
Never fails to rip it down, even with 30 Year old CD`s scratched up to Pollock ;)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
Sep 11 2016
20151214
0.0
Sep 11 2016
0.0
Version: 20151214
This is broken under macOS Sierra. The only output formats available are WAV and AIFF and it won't open any of my FLAC files.
Bigdave56
Bigdave56
May 28 2016
20151214
0.0
May 28 2016
0.0
Version: 20151214
Current version (20151214) is completely hosed on 10.11.5. Windows open as black rectangles and don't display any content until resized. No progress bars while ripping. 'About' window disappears when revised. Controls downloading artwork do nothing. Always been a fan of XLD but avoid, avoid, AVOID 20151214.
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Apr 24 2016
20151214
5.0
Apr 24 2016
5.0
Version: 20151214
I had to tweak the default settings to get the best MP3 rips for my car stereo. Donated some well deserved cash to the developer.
MarcelMolleman
MarcelMolleman
Dec 21 2015
20151214
5.0
Dec 21 2015
5.0
Version: 20151214
Well, as happy I am 4 years with XLD, 4 it's functionality, ease of use and rock-steady performance, as unhappy I am with the new Macupdate 'era'. I use Macupdate a long time, in fact as long I can remember :-) But this new 'road' is totally unwanted and highly unacceptable! I first started to notice this 'behavior' with he MacupUpdate Fall 2015 bundle when I wanted to install Toast 14 on my Mac. I, as a user, am forced to install some (I don't know what or what the heck it is 4) piece of unwanted software called "Macupdate Desktop" and then, but ONLY then I can install the bought Toast version from the bundle! I don't want no little-spy or make my machine go coo-coo piece of software on my machine!!!! I just want to be able to install the software I have bought with my own money, but somehow Macupdate has got this attitude over them, which gives them the right to force this piece of unwanted software! Sure, I installed the MU desktop, installed Toast 14 and removed de MU Desktop (Thanks to AppDelete!!) but I don't want, in the first place, be forced to use the MU Desktop! Now, with XLD basically the same problem! When not logged in to the website of MacUpdate, one gets an totally unwanted crappy piece of software to install XLD. This cannot be good! However when I am logged in in2 the Macupdate website, I can download the software without the hideous installer! That routine gives to think that Macupdate has begun DATA-MINING through their website AND via some hideous installers nobody NEEDS or simple DON'T WANT! There is no other explanation why a good service like Macupdate would go on such a slippery path!? I did notice the forced MacUpdate desktop install-in-my-face 2 late, because this is such an intrusion on my machine and privacy, but 1 thing I know 4 sure, this was my last-ever buy from Macupdate, how good the deal may seems 2 B! I will never B forced into some scheme I don't want 2. As 4 XLD, the program just rocks as always and a 5 star recommendation!! a little PS 2 the XLD programmer: Don't let UR great app B ruined by such bullocks as now is happening on MacUpdate!!!!!
MuchMac
MuchMac
Dec 16 2015
20151214
5.0
Dec 16 2015
5.0
Version: 20151214
Many thanks to the developer(s) for the work and generosity that makes XLD available for free. I use XLD to convert CD tracks to AIFF for FLAC files. I especially like how XLD uses the AccurateRip database to verify the integrity of files and how it can retrieve metadata. The application can do a lot more. Doing anything will come with a learning curve. Whatever your project or goal, chances are you will have to find and read some tutorial content relating to the task. Considering XLD is free and how it has worked well for me, I don't regret making a little bit of an effort to learn how to use it for my modest purposes. I recommend visiting the developer website, where you can always download a lean and clean copy of the latest version, and/or make a donation to the developer.
la1331
la1331
Dec 4 2015
20151128
5.0
Dec 4 2015
5.0
Version: 20151128
Thanks for this, I have stayed away from FLAC because it seemed like such a pain, but this program was easy to install and works. My only question, and I am hoping someone can answer it, is can I bounce these FLAC files to my iTunes and my iPhone and play them that way. I am only able to play them on my mac as of now through the Window drop down then in Show Player Thanks
smtips
smtips
Dec 2 2015
20151128
1.0
Dec 2 2015
1.0
Version: 20151128
There's a thread over at Macintouch about this app downloading a DMG which contains a file called "Macupdate Installer" so I tested it out. Sure enough, I got same thing first time I tried. I most definitely hit the Download button, not the install button. There is some concern that MU is trying to force the MU Desktop on people. Interestingly, 2nd and 3rd attempts after logging into my free MU account redirected me to Sourceforge download page as would be normal. Not sure if the MU people read these comments but this situation is being taken by quite a few people as deceptive advertising practices. Is this a mistake or is MU repackaging software with an MU installer in it? It might be good to go to Macintouch and post in the thread if this was a mistake.
Whisperquiet
Whisperquiet
Nov 30 2015
20151128
4.5
Nov 30 2015
4.5
Version: 20151128
Consistently good. This does a wonderful job in an easy to use way when decoding/transcoding audio. Compliments to the developer for a great free app.
Bytes
Bytes
Nov 30 2015
20151128
5.0
Nov 30 2015
5.0
Version: 20151128
A fast efficient and easy way to convert audio files. I'm a long time satisfied user, so I sent off another donation for the author's continued selfless maintenance of their fine app.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Nov 29 2015
20151128
5.0
Nov 29 2015
5.0
Version: 20151128
Five stars to offset Heartman's silly half star which s/he assigned to take out a beef with MU instead of it having anything to do with this great little app.
Grafovich
Grafovich
Oct 21 2015
20141129a
5.0
Oct 21 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129a
This app is just - gorgeous!!!
noguilt
noguilt
Oct 16 2015
20141129a
5.0
Oct 16 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129a
Excellent in every respect!
me-72
me-72
Sep 21 2015
20141129a
5.0
Sep 21 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129a
Did its job, looks professional. I like it.
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
Sep 4 2015
20141129a
5.0
Sep 4 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129a
The developer is to be commended for this very worthy piece of free software. I am very particular regarding the quality of the music that I listen to. In the days of my ignorance years ago, MP3's were fine for me. Then I discovered the amazing quality of FLAC -- Free Lossless Audio Codec -- files. There was no turning back. Since then, whenever possible, I listen to FLAC files. Given the size of today's hard drives, the overhead in FLAC file size is acceptable. The problem is that despite all the years that it has existed, iTunes still cannot play FLAC files directly. They must be converted first. Enter the picture XLD. By simply setting XLD's conversion parameter to ALAC -- Apple Lossless Audio Codec -- I can easily drag and drop one, dozens or hundreds of FLAC files onto XLD's icon on my desktop, and they are quickly converted to readable .mp4 files -- which iTunes recognizes -- without any quality loss, because both FLAC and ALAC are lossless codecs. As an added bonus, if you happen to download an album which contains all of the songs in one audio file -- such as FLAC, MP3, WAV, etc. -- and if it includes a cue file, XLD can quickly, easily and AUTOMATICALLY split the file into individual song files, without the user even having to take the time to figure out where the song breaks belong. It's a great piece of software, worthy of our support!
Markoh
Markoh
Aug 26 2015
20141129
5.0
Aug 26 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129
Version 20141129a: • This is a maintenance update to switch appcast source to sf.net (googlecode will be read-only)
Purps
Purps
Jul 24 2015
20141129
5.0
Jul 24 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129
Fantastic piece of software. Thank you.
john-1234
john-1234
Jun 21 2015
20141129
5.0
Jun 21 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129
Impressive! I am gonna donate. I have huge respect for software authors who release their quality work for free.
mga2012
mga2012
May 21 2015
20141129
5.0
May 21 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129
fantastic piece of software ! please add an option to edit tags for a whole album at once (and not only track by track)
OSX-FTW!
OSX-FTW!
May 9 2015
20141129
5.0
May 9 2015
5.0
Version: 20141129
Super fast and accurate CD ripping, and MP4 encoding, and tagging, and cover art... All at the same time! WOW!