Back to X Lossless Decoder page
X Lossless Decoder free download for Mac

X Lossless Decoder Reviews

20191004
06 October 2019

Encode, transcode, and play various music file formats.

gooddosh
16 February 2012

Most helpful

Anyone who didn't give this five stars is a moron. It is extremely powerful and accurate. And FREE! What do you want? Your nails done? I'm grateful to the developer for taking the time to make this software. THANK YOU Similar Software! I appreciate your hard work!
Like (9)
Version 20120120

Read 325 X Lossless Decoder User Reviews

Rate this app:

pettifogger0712
13 October 2019
Just a quick heads up that the “Burn CD” function does NOT work with 10.15 (yet) - for more see https://sourceforge.net/p/xld/tickets/475/
Like
Version 20191004
misjase
05 October 2019
I would say I trust it with my life, if only to make the point; not of my life (that would be a little sad) but of trust which, after years of almost daily use, I have only reasons to. I never take for granted that anything computer related just "should work" - or "save time" for that matter - and so I feel gratitude everyday for apps like XLD, which do both.
Like
Version 20191004
Aargl
05 October 2019
THE audio conversion utility! But I've found a little lack though, after many years of use. ;-) It doesn't decode .opus files (though it encodes them, which seems quite strange...) The same goes for .m4a but there's a plugin available there that you have to put in the ~/Library/Application Support/XLD/PlugIns/: https://sourceforge.net/projects/xld/files/ The current one is XLDAacDecoder-20181005.zip
Like
Version 20191004
nikabuz
27 September 2019
Awesome software. Regarded as the best in class for a good reason. Works like a charm. Use it virtually every day.
Like
Version 20181019
Trystero
19 September 2019
The best audio converter + encoder.
Like
Version 20181019
ElbertLo1273
03 November 2018
It works great on the Mojave.
Like
Version 20181019
1 answer(s)
1252
1252
27 May 2019
Hello,
I need a bit help with XLD installation.
When I click on the .dmg file it opens a folder containing the XLD app and additional 3 folders. What should I move to applications folder, only the XLD app or all 4 items?
Thank you
Like
Leesa
20 October 2018
Fantastic Client! I rarely have to use anything else!
Like
Version 20181019
june8
19 October 2018
Perfect!
Like
Version 20181019
Jsabini
05 October 2018
Great app, does what it's supposed to do with no fuss, super useful. It just works, no need to look further!
Like (2)
Version 20181001
Nontroppo
03 October 2018
So great to see this update, this is by far the best audio converter for macOS. The UI is simple, yet incredibly well designed. As an example, entering or modifying metadata is just a joy to use with well thought out keyboard shortcuts to power through this otherwise tedious task. Great to see this is now 64bit (future proofing), and gets an experimental dark mode for Mojave!!! Don't forget to donate to keep this incredible gem of a tool alive and kicking.
Like (3)
Version 20181001
Albabe
02 October 2018
Great Client! But this latest Update, 20181001, doesn't show-up under "Check For Updates."
Like (1)
Version 20181001
Annie-Walker
16 September 2018
Best tool of it's kind, ever!
Like (2)
Version 20170729
cybermanos
18 July 2018
By far the best audio ripper i ever used. Everything else must be compared to this diamond of software.
Like (2)
Version 20170729
doomups
30 June 2018
I recommend Avdshare Audio Converter which can Batch Convert FLAC to MP3 or Convert MP3 to FLAC with High Quality.
Like (1)
Version 20170729
1 answer(s)
Jianni
Jianni
19 October 2018
Sorry but: "convert MP3 to FLAC with High Quality" it is something that make me Laugh Out of Loud !
Like (2)
Aargl
19 June 2018
I was a bit worried for the dev, because no update in 11 months... but he seems alive and kickin’, actually working on the 64 bit version: https://sourceforge.net/p/xld/tickets/432/ If anyone wants to help him, there’s a beta version on that page. Long live XLD and tmkk! :-)
Like (4)
Version 20170729
hrushkovica
08 February 2018
Anyone have a solution to using XLD to rip a multi-CD album into one folder? Despite entering the correct metadata for "Disc x of x," XLD continues to save each CD as its own album. In the main window, it DOES display it as 1-01, 1-02... 2-01, 2-02, but will not save the files this way. Any help is appreciated!
Like
Version 20170729
Albertor
03 December 2017
If you have to convert audio formats, stop searching. This is the best. Full stop.
Like (5)
Version 20170729
Noach
08 November 2017
Knows what he's doing.See prefs
Like (2)
Version 20170729
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
29 September 2017
Works every single time.
Like
Version 20170729
Aargl
16 September 2017
This is an absolutely must-have for any audio conversion! I've got a bunch of other audio converters such as Adapter (which is very good and does also video) but I always rely on XLD when dealing with serious audio conversion. (if you search some older review of mine, you'll see that I'm a sound engineer and that I've done heavy testing years ago: I haven't tested recently, but then, XLD was better than iTunes)
Like (1)
Version 20170729
Tubo
21 August 2017
Website states: "XLD is Universal Binary, so it runs natively on both Intel Macs and PPC Macs."
Like
Version 20170729
RavenNevermore
04 June 2017
Anyone have any idea why this thing can't write AAC files? It says "Error: cannot write the output file" and saves a bunch of empty m4a files. I'm stuck encoding everything as MP3. It's great for editing the tags going from AFF files, but it's a pain not being to save as m4a files.
Like
Version 20161007
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
12 July 2017
That is very odd. I almost exclusively use XLD to save to M4A / AAC using the 'MPEG-4 AAC' under the format options. Been doing it for years. One thing to troubleshoot is do you have problems creating M4a independently of XLD? For example, can iTunes rip to m4a? if yes, it would seem there is a systemic issue. If iTunes works, then I'd look into possibly some permissions issue in the folder you are trying to save to. Just to confirm try saving to something you know own, like Desktop.
Like
persecutor
20 December 2016
Never fails to rip it down, even with 30 Year old CD`s scratched up to Pollock ;)
Like
Version 20161007
Bdkennedy1
11 September 2016
This is broken under macOS Sierra. The only output formats available are WAV and AIFF and it won't open any of my FLAC files.
Like (2)
Version 20151214
3 answer(s)
becrazyman12
becrazyman12
15 September 2016
same for me.... :( Too bad.. Do you another way to convert your flac files in apple lossless?
Like
becrazyman12
becrazyman12
15 September 2016
You can use media human audio converter. It works very well ;)
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
29 March 2017
20161007 totally works under Sierra.
Like (1)
Bigdave56
28 May 2016
Current version (20151214) is completely hosed on 10.11.5. Windows open as black rectangles and don't display any content until resized. No progress bars while ripping. 'About' window disappears when revised. Controls downloading artwork do nothing. Always been a fan of XLD but avoid, avoid, AVOID 20151214.
Like
Version 20151214
1 answer(s)
Bigdave56
Bigdave56
28 May 2016
BTW I *will* donate; not the sort to complain about freeware, but this version has big issues in my experience. And hey Macupdate, how about some way to edit reviews?
Like
Donmontalvo
24 April 2016
I had to tweak the default settings to get the best MP3 rips for my car stereo. Donated some well deserved cash to the developer.
Like
Version 20151214
1 answer(s)
ancbedran
ancbedran
01 March 2017
I can not adjust the bitrate of MP3 tracks of a CD in ripping process - I can always be sure there was a way to choose higher bitrates - I am only stucked at 128 EVEN if I slide a buttom at config that seems to show 260 (I would like to go to 320) - How did you do this, please?
Like
MarcelMolleman
21 December 2015
Well, as happy I am 4 years with XLD, 4 it's functionality, ease of use and rock-steady performance, as unhappy I am with the new Macupdate 'era'. I use Macupdate a long time, in fact as long I can remember :-) But this new 'road' is totally unwanted and highly unacceptable! I first started to notice this 'behavior' with he MacupUpdate Fall 2015 bundle when I wanted to install Toast 14 on my Mac. I, as a user, am forced to install some (I don't know what or what the heck it is 4) piece of unwanted software called "Macupdate Desktop" and then, but ONLY then I can install the bought Toast version from the bundle! I don't want no little-spy or make my machine go coo-coo piece of software on my machine!!!! I just want to be able to install the software I have bought with my own money, but somehow Macupdate has got this attitude over them, which gives them the right to force this piece of unwanted software! Sure, I installed the MU desktop, installed Toast 14 and removed de MU Desktop (Thanks to AppDelete!!) but I don't want, in the first place, be forced to use the MU Desktop! Now, with XLD basically the same problem! When not logged in to the website of MacUpdate, one gets an totally unwanted crappy piece of software to install XLD. This cannot be good! However when I am logged in in2 the Macupdate website, I can download the software without the hideous installer! That routine gives to think that Macupdate has begun DATA-MINING through their website AND via some hideous installers nobody NEEDS or simple DON'T WANT! There is no other explanation why a good service like Macupdate would go on such a slippery path!? I did notice the forced MacUpdate desktop install-in-my-face 2 late, because this is such an intrusion on my machine and privacy, but 1 thing I know 4 sure, this was my last-ever buy from Macupdate, how good the deal may seems 2 B! I will never B forced into some scheme I don't want 2. As 4 XLD, the program just rocks as always and a 5 star recommendation!! a little PS 2 the XLD programmer: Don't let UR great app B ruined by such bullocks as now is happening on MacUpdate!!!!!
Like (4)
Version 20151214
1 answer(s)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
24 April 2016
I usually go to the vendor/developer's site to download.
Like (3)
MuchMac
16 December 2015
Many thanks to the developer(s) for the work and generosity that makes XLD available for free. I use XLD to convert CD tracks to AIFF for FLAC files. I especially like how XLD uses the AccurateRip database to verify the integrity of files and how it can retrieve metadata. The application can do a lot more. Doing anything will come with a learning curve. Whatever your project or goal, chances are you will have to find and read some tutorial content relating to the task. Considering XLD is free and how it has worked well for me, I don't regret making a little bit of an effort to learn how to use it for my modest purposes. I recommend visiting the developer website, where you can always download a lean and clean copy of the latest version, and/or make a donation to the developer.
Like (1)
Version 20151214
la1331
04 December 2015
Thanks for this, I have stayed away from FLAC because it seemed like such a pain, but this program was easy to install and works. My only question, and I am hoping someone can answer it, is can I bounce these FLAC files to my iTunes and my iPhone and play them that way. I am only able to play them on my mac as of now through the Window drop down then in Show Player Thanks
Like
Version 20151128
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
13 December 2015
iTunes does not support playing FLAC encoded files. You use XLD to convert (aka transcode) the FLAC files to a iTunes compatible format, such AAC, MP3 or Apple Lossless.
Like
smtips
02 December 2015
There's a thread over at Macintouch about this app downloading a DMG which contains a file called "Macupdate Installer" so I tested it out. Sure enough, I got same thing first time I tried. I most definitely hit the Download button, not the install button. There is some concern that MU is trying to force the MU Desktop on people. Interestingly, 2nd and 3rd attempts after logging into my free MU account redirected me to Sourceforge download page as would be normal. Not sure if the MU people read these comments but this situation is being taken by quite a few people as deceptive advertising practices. Is this a mistake or is MU repackaging software with an MU installer in it? It might be good to go to Macintouch and post in the thread if this was a mistake.
Like (5)
Version 20151128
5 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
03 December 2015
MacUpdate posted 2 articles a while back about the process we're testing:
http://support.macupdate.com/status-update-installers-macupdate-com/

MacNN also did coverage:
http://www.macnn.com/articles/15/11/20/optional.additional.installs.app.discovery.at.forefront.of.changes.131375/

Also, from within the MacUpdate Installer, we talk about the project and have a link to our communication documents -- so we're being as straight forward as is possible.
Like
Bad-Dog
Bad-Dog
06 December 2015
This is my first experience running into this new installer approach that MU is taking with their business. I am not pleased and do not believe that developer-provided installers should be re-packaged and bundled with promotions. I understand the explanations MU provided, and wish them luck, however, for me personally this would be a fundamental change to the way I prefer to manage installations on my computers. I understand that paid MU accounts can disable these features, so that means, for me, MU is no longer the best free website for tracking and managing software updates outside of the App Store. Thanks MU for being there all these years, but I am now looking elsewhere.
Like (7)
Reddog99
Reddog99
14 December 2015
Double-ditto to Bad-Dog. Having MU download a file to my computer different from what I clicked on is underhanded, and explaining it elsewhere does not excuse this behavior. This is the same technique that scammers use! MU has started on a slippery slope. What's next, an automatic installation without me even knowing?
By the way, if you just need to update an existing installation of XLD, just start the app and let it do the update for you.
Like (5)
Ws101
Ws101
16 December 2015
Triple-ditto to Bad-Dog.
MU used to be my #1 togoto place for apps. Thank you for that.
Due to MU's continued deceiving practices I'll be looking elsewhere.
Like (1)
MuchMac
MuchMac
16 December 2015
Even with advance notification, It is creepy to be changing/adding smaller type under links and adding funny things to downloads. While I hope MU figures out a way to continue, I also hope there is an alternative that does not involve diminishing the user experience and comprising downloads.

You may wish to consider the possibility that these changes drive more traffic to the MAS where trust and the integrity of the download are not a question.
Like (1)
Whisperquiet
30 November 2015
Consistently good. This does a wonderful job in an easy to use way when decoding/transcoding audio. Compliments to the developer for a great free app.
Like (1)
Version 20151128
Bytes
30 November 2015
A fast efficient and easy way to convert audio files. I'm a long time satisfied user, so I sent off another donation for the author's continued selfless maintenance of their fine app.
Like (1)
Version 20151128
Kobalt
29 November 2015
Five stars to offset Heartman's silly half star which s/he assigned to take out a beef with MU instead of it having anything to do with this great little app.
Like (1)
Version 20151128
1 answer(s)
anonymous-heron-1527
anonymous-heron-1527
30 November 2015
Never mind! The whole review thread got deleted :(
Like
Grafovich
21 October 2015
This app is just - gorgeous!!!
Like
Version 20141129a
noguilt
16 October 2015
Excellent in every respect!
Like (2)
Version 20141129a
me-72
21 September 2015
Did its job, looks professional. I like it.
Like (1)
Version 20141129a
WordWeaver
04 September 2015
The developer is to be commended for this very worthy piece of free software. I am very particular regarding the quality of the music that I listen to. In the days of my ignorance years ago, MP3's were fine for me. Then I discovered the amazing quality of FLAC -- Free Lossless Audio Codec -- files. There was no turning back. Since then, whenever possible, I listen to FLAC files. Given the size of today's hard drives, the overhead in FLAC file size is acceptable. The problem is that despite all the years that it has existed, iTunes still cannot play FLAC files directly. They must be converted first. Enter the picture XLD. By simply setting XLD's conversion parameter to ALAC -- Apple Lossless Audio Codec -- I can easily drag and drop one, dozens or hundreds of FLAC files onto XLD's icon on my desktop, and they are quickly converted to readable .mp4 files -- which iTunes recognizes -- without any quality loss, because both FLAC and ALAC are lossless codecs. As an added bonus, if you happen to download an album which contains all of the songs in one audio file -- such as FLAC, MP3, WAV, etc. -- and if it includes a cue file, XLD can quickly, easily and AUTOMATICALLY split the file into individual song files, without the user even having to take the time to figure out where the song breaks belong. It's a great piece of software, worthy of our support!
Like (2)
Version 20141129a
2 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
04 September 2015
One small correction. I meant to type ".m4a files" and not ".mp4 files" in the fourth paragraph above.
Like
Vagabundo
Vagabundo
05 September 2015
"It's a great piece of software, worthy of our support!"

I agree. I couldn't say it any better. I, however, would like to add to your assessment that in the time I have been using XLD (and I have for a very long time), never have I been nagged to make a donation despite it being donationware.

I exhort everyone reading this blog to support the development of this amazing software and kindly make a donation today ...any amount you can. I am quite confident that if you are using it you pretty well know how valuable it is.
Like
Markoh
26 August 2015
Version 20141129a: • This is a maintenance update to switch appcast source to sf.net (googlecode will be read-only)
Like
Version 20141129
Purps
24 July 2015
Fantastic piece of software. Thank you.
Like
Version 20141129
john-1234
21 June 2015
Impressive! I am gonna donate. I have huge respect for software authors who release their quality work for free.
Like
Version 20141129
mga2012
21 May 2015
fantastic piece of software ! please add an option to edit tags for a whole album at once (and not only track by track)
Like
Version 20141129
OSX-FTW!
09 May 2015
Super fast and accurate CD ripping, and MP4 encoding, and tagging, and cover art... All at the same time! WOW!
Like
Version 20141129
zipski
01 April 2015
fuck
Like (1)
Version 20141129
zipski
01 April 2015
best mac convert
Like (1)
Version 20141129
joseph-williams43
01 March 2015
Hi guys! Anyone can opened sucessfully SACD iso files with this release of XLD? Anyway I tried I got error message: "Error. Cannot open the input file." :-(
Like
Version 20141129
pasion-beso
01 March 2015
Whoever wrote this software deserves a raise. I have professional multitrack editing software which will do the same job, but I use XLD because it's more practical and easy for the functions it provides. Thanks to the XLD team!! :)
Like
Version 20141129
1 answer(s)
auditory
auditory
19 July 2015
I absolutely agree. I was looking for a simple, dependable and cost effective way to convert dsf files on a Mac. Spent quite a bit of time searching and experimenting with no successful results. This program completed the task efficiently and quickly with a very straightforward interface. No nonsense and no hype. My most sincere admiration to the program's authors. I also give it five stars.
Like
Albabe
13 February 2015
I love this Client for everything... except Converting a Single Flac File and Cue file of an entire album into an m4a Set of Files of Single Songs. It works for most of the songs and then craps-out for the last few leaving me with some "Empty" m4a files.
Like
Version 20141129
Funjoy
05 February 2015
Essential shareware. Converts seamlessly and quickly.
Like
Version 20141129
Carlmaguire
31 January 2015
I've found this to be super useful and reliable, and I've a question.... Is it possible to have files extracted/converted into a folder with the album's name? As it is, they go to whatever folder I've given for the path (i.e., 'Music Library"), but they won't be contained in a folder in that folder. What I'd like is for files to go to 'Music Library' and into a 'Artist - Album' folder, without me having to create or move them into that folder. thanks for any help!
Like
Version 20141129
jprokos
12 January 2015
I have used this in the past once or twice for a few files. I Downloaded this again to convert an .ogg file downloaded from Wikipedia (since Safari can no longer play .ogg files). Trying to open the file resulted in an Error "Cannot open the input file." "Open as Raw PCM(+cue)". Opening as RAW the file became hiss. I spent a good deal of time trying to figure out why this happened, looked into compiling the latest version of libsndfile for XLD but then didn't know what to do with it once I had. :) I found some info at the link below. http://www.hydrogenaud.io/forums/index.php?showtopic=81239 I tried to use VLC, no luck there.
Like
Version 20141129
1 answer(s)
Deemery
Deemery
21 April 2015
Same problem here.
Like