Back to Breakaway page
Breakaway free download for Mac

Breakaway Reviews

2.0.1
22 August 2011

Pause/resume iTunes with your headphones.

Aljuk
13 January 2010

Most helpful

This app used to be able to force open itunes, a great feature. For some reason it doesn't do it anymore, but luckily I've found a previous version which does, so I'm going back to that one, and dumping this.
Like (1)
Version 1.75b

Read 14 Breakaway User Reviews

Rate this app:

Daniel-Bazurto
17 June 2010
i'd like to know how to use the scrips for this app, i.e. use scrip to run a hotkey (trigger mi insomniaX), since i don't know how to use this, and probably not the only one, it would be cool if there was an easier way of doing this from the app preferences
Like
Version 1.8
Aljuk
13 January 2010
This app used to be able to force open itunes, a great feature. For some reason it doesn't do it anymore, but luckily I've found a previous version which does, so I'm going back to that one, and dumping this.
Like (1)
Version 1.75b
Balthamos
28 April 2008
There are a few problems with the localizations at the moment, but they are getting resolved as we speak. A small localization/UI release will be coming ASAP. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Like
Version 1.6
dajonel
04 March 2008
I downloaded Breakaway 1.5, but none of my unarchive utilities could unzip it. I got error messages saying that it could not be unzipped to due to a problem with the compression or something.
Like
Version 1.5
5 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
04 March 2008
Just now downloaded and unzipped the file with no issues. Problem appears to be at your end of things.
Like
Version 1.5
Balthamos
Balthamos
05 March 2008
Perhaps the copy you got was corrupted in some way. Try re-downloading. If that doesn't work, download it from my website. If that doesn't work, email me and I'll help you through it.
Like
Version 1.5
dajonel
dajonel
05 March 2008
I tried all of the above except the email. I don't see how an emailed copy would work better, though. :/
Like
Version 1.5
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
05 March 2008
No one else has reported any issues with this download and there've been, at this point in time, 243 downloads of this version today. Someone else would've reported trouble with the download, yet no one else has done so. The problem is almost certainly with your Mac.
Like
Version 1.5
dajonel
dajonel
05 March 2008
What do you think is wrong with it? Is this download Leopard only? Does it not support 10.4.11? Was it made by an application that 243 other people have that I don't? Maybe my copy of Stuffit Expander is corrupt, but that's impossible because I've used it about 100 other times before. Maybe it's for some reason only expandable on an Intel Mac. I have no idea! I don't have queer applications installed on my computer, and it's run perfectly fine ever time I've needed to use it, and EVERY ZIP I've tried to unzip in the past has succeeded. How do you possibly think that the problem is on my end? Is the Safari 3.1 beta choosing to corrupt this one file? WHAT?
Like
Version 1.5
Neko-Chan
13 December 2007
this is great. one thing i love about my ipod nano is that it pauses if the headphones get unplugged. thanks to this app, that little detail carries over to my macbook. something like this should've came with leopard.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Cougarblue
Cougarblue
30 April 2008
Am I dreaming? Or does any 5G Video already have this feature? I find myself staying busying while listening to me iPod, which means frequent headphone yanks out of the socket. Every time it happens, my iPod goes into pause. I'm the least cautious guy I know, I get and install every MacOS update immediately. However I am very picky when it comes to messing with iPod's operating system. Even at that I do re-installs often. If you have the built-in feature, and it seems as if most iPods do, why mess with it's OS?
Like
Version 1.6
Hal0thane
15 July 2007
I love Breakaway. For the price (i.e., free), it doesn't matter to me whether it pauses VLC or MPlayer. The developer would likely welcome help in coding these, as well, just guessing, even though the source code isn't available at the Breakaway web site.
Like
Version 1.0
Aljuk
18 June 2007
This is a brilliant little App, and extremely useful. I love it.
Like
Version 1.0
Balthamos
17 June 2007
Just would like to keep you updated. I got my new MBP, and I solved the problem. It should be faster, and work on all Apple computers now. Also, the annoying "Less precise mode" will be taken off too (or "Type B" for you who remember it that way). Next release should be out this week.
Like
Version 0.95
Zazzle
02 May 2007
would be great if this would also pause VLC and MPlayer
Like
Version 0.95
1 answer(s)
Balthamos
Balthamos
02 May 2007
I really can't do anything slick with VLC; it does not give it's player state in any external format that I know of. I could implement a really rough version, that just plays on plug, stops on pull. It would not be able to detect what VLC is doing, just do what it's told to do. That being said, it would not be able to use some of the same advanced functions that have been implemented into the iTunes portion. As for MPlayer, I have never used it before.There also seems to be two versions? I am confused on which one is the "right one" to be using. Even then, it may be just like VLC: not providing the needed information to function properly.
Like
Version 0.95
Ekuzco
30 November 2006
Cool app, but..... could you please make it so that breakaway is only active when iTunes is open? Meaning, iTunes is not the only app that I use with my headphones. Sometimes I just want to plug in my headphones and hear the audio from a game, movie, video, etc. What I don't like about Breakaway is that EVERY time I unplug or plug in my headphones, iTunes launches and plays.
Like
Version 0.7
1 answer(s)
Balthamos
Balthamos
30 November 2006
It should only interface with iTunes if the application is running. If iTunes is not running and Breakaway still activates it, make sure you don't have the "Force-open iTunes" option on. Finally, you could manually disable Breakaway from the menu extra if you like.
Like
Version 0.7
Dom21
26 November 2006
Perhaps it's me, but... why not just pause iTunes?
Like
Version 0.6
1 answer(s)
Balthamos
Balthamos
26 November 2006
If iTunes is not frontmost, or you have to leave quickly, it is easier just to pull out your headphones than to bring up iTunes and hit pause or to use a keystroke to pause it. For instance, I use Quicksilver mostly for pausing iTunes, but when I need to get something from across the room, then I just pull it, go get it, then come back; a lot faster and more efficient than hitting the pause/play button twice.
Like
Version 0.6
Iamaswissguy
26 November 2006
This software is excellent. I really am mainly going to use it for the mute function, though. I request that on unmute, I have the option to resume playing. Thanks!
Like
Version 0.6
5 answer(s)
Balthamos
Balthamos
26 November 2006
My resources tell me that specific problem is limited to the G5/Intel iMac. Could you please confirm this finding? I want to make sure that I am not leaving out other systems. (confirmed to work with G5 PowerMac)
Like
Version 0.6
Iamaswissguy
Iamaswissguy
27 November 2006
Yeah, iMac Intel Core 2 Duo.
Like
Version 0.6
Iamaswissguy
Iamaswissguy
30 November 2006
Unmute and play still doesn't work in 0.7.
Like
Version 0.7
Balthamos
Balthamos
30 November 2006
Have you tried turning off headphones mode? I have another tester who has the same computer specs as you and it runs fine on his computer. If you would like me to aid in getting the program to work on your computer, feel free to drop me a line at balthamos89 at gmail dot com
Like
Version 0.7
Iamaswissguy
Iamaswissguy
30 November 2006
Well, I turned off Headphone mode and it still didn't work, but I kept working at it and retrying and it started working :). If you want to run anything through me to test, I'd be happy to help. iamaswissguy[at]gmail[dot]com
Like
Version 0.7
Cobraclutch
22 November 2006
Cool! Like an iPod, except it resumes playing. I like it, but I'm not sure about the menubar item. Could there be an option to turn that part off? Or not make it so big?
Like
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Balthamos
Balthamos
22 November 2006
Yes, it is very possible to have the menu item disappear. There isn't a feature yet, but there will be in the next version. I'll try to make the icons smaller too. ~Balthamos
Like
Version 0.5
schmelding
22 November 2006
This is one of the most simple, yet thoughtful, apps I've seen in a while. Works well and meets a need. Needs a new icon though. :)
Like
Version 0.5