Back to iFamily for Mac page
iFamily for Mac free download for Mac

iFamily for Mac Reviews

2.9.7
27 February 2019

Genealogy application.

Jack-Chism
03 November 2006

Most helpful

I've never seen such a comprehensive program that was so easy to start using. The author says that he thinks programs should be self-explanatory, and he doesn't want users to be forced to go to the help file. Each time you wonder about a feature, you just right-click on it and let the menu guide you. I entered several hundreds of ancestors, with many details and photographs, without any doubt about how to do the next step. You can click almost anywhere on the screen and find special guidance. Also I like the horizontal tree diagram. You can scroll it and zoom it, and it shows a tremendous amount of detail. Others have mentioned this, but I want to express appreciation for the program's author. He seems to enjoy responding to questions. Most of my questions were not about how to do something (which is mostly obvious) but to request new features--a few of which he has actually added!
Like (1)
Version 1.205

Read 28 iFamily for Mac User Reviews

Rate this app:

lengbrenghof
16 August 2019
I have been the family historian for several decades, have used many genealogy software programs and, without a doubt, iFamily for Mac is the best I've ever used.
Like
Version 2.9.7
Pirx
12 January 2013
The latest version should be 2.884
Like
Version 2.753
Billybob152
11 March 2011
Glad iFamily is back. A really good genealogy program.
Like (1)
Version 2.522
Martinbb
24 March 2010
The poster is not making some sort of joke. See this report about the developer's untimely death, and also his son's statement of his commitment to the application: http://blog.eogn.com/eastmans_online_genealogy/2008/11/keith-wilson-ri.html
Like (1)
Version 2.511
Toad
28 September 2009
The problem is that the developer died about a year ago.
Like (1)
Version 2.511
1 answer(s)
K S Wilson And Associates
K S Wilson And Associates
11 March 2011
Good software has a life of it's own sometimes. New Version (V2.522) is now released.
Like (1)
Irishroots
22 September 2009
This is a really good program with numerous features. My only problem was customer service who seemed too busy to contact me as I waited and waited for a response. There is only 1 person who can answer questions if he gets around to it. When you are new to a program and setting it up you do not want to wait days for an answer. This forum is unlike many others which I have visited as people on it either do not know the answers or simply seldom reply to queries.
Like
Version 2.511
Rubaiyat
10 September 2009
Will this open .ftw (Family Tree Maker) files?
Like
Version 2.511
1 answer(s)
K S Wilson And Associates
K S Wilson And Associates
11 March 2011
No. iFamily supports import and Export only from Gedcom (using the 5.5 standard.) Most commercial packages, (nearly all), will support Gedcom Export for use in iFamily.
Like
Dbell
30 June 2008
I love iFamily! The program takes full advantage of my iMac's large screen. Its context diagram shows up to 6 ancestor generations for an individual, plus spouse/partner and children, and details below, all on a single screen. Easy imports/exports of GEDCOM files. Powerful comparison features. Great PDF/RFT reports. Neat HTML. I could go on and on. Perhaps the best thing about iFamily is that the developer, Keith Wilson, personally answers all support questions. Sometimes within minutes! And he is constantly developing new features, included in the very reasonable initial price. He's just released ver 2.402 iFamily for Leopard with totally cool sibling "card" features. I'm an IT professional. I know how hard it is to create quality software and support it. iFamily is 5 STARS on all counts.
Like
Version 2.398
Minoumi
10 May 2008
The developer (Keith Wilson) is quite correct when he says that iFamily creates HTML web pages like no other genealogy application. This feature was crucial for me and I am very satisfied with the results. iFamily is a no bells and whistles software. It simply does the job efficiently. I have tried several Mac genealogy demo applications and iFamily came out as the best for my needs. And the price is right!
Like
Version 2.387
Funkboy
07 May 2008
This program looks promising. However, why does it need to launch an installer? I would be much more inclined to install it if I could just drag and drop the program into my Applications folder - I do not understand why this program would need to have me enter my password to install files somewhere. Could you please explain? Otherwise, the ability to import files from old databases (GEDCOM, for instance) could be very useful for people still stuck on other or older programs.
Like
Version 2.387
1 answer(s)
Keith-Wilson
Keith-Wilson
24 May 2008
Apple's preferred method of installing software is now to use an Installer rather than dragging the application (package) into the Applications folder. Keith
Like
Version 2.387
William25
31 March 2008
I think iFamilyforTiger is a terrific piece of genealogy software and well worth the price. The developer is constantly improving this application and he is quick to respond to questions, etc. I have been using this software for 6 months.
Like
Version 2.378
Keith-Wilson
27 March 2008
iFamily creates HTML web pages like no other genealogy application, PC or Mac. And they look stunning. Whilst the user can interactively designs and create the web pages a preview of the web pages is instantly updated within a web browser that is embedded within iFamily. The whole process of web page design is done by point and click - it's quick and and it's slick. The web page for each person can include a context diagram for each person that is created on-the-fly or it can display relationships in tabular form. All names and places are hyper-linked, even those in the diagrams. For each person the user can opt to display a context diagram, images, parents, grandparents, greatgrandparents, children, grandchildren, a complete events list with notes, personal notes, comments and source references. A feature that is not available in other genealogy applications is the ability to hyper-link event place names to Google Maps web pages. iFamily generates web pages fast - a complete set of web pages for 56,000 people can be generated in 5 minutes.
Like
Version 2.372
Keith-Wilson
18 February 2008
iFamily for Tiger allows the user to create very large charts with up to 99 generations of ancestors or descendants, This is equivalent to a time span of about 2000 years. The charts may be horizontal, top-down bottom up, they may be cascaded or centered. They may include images and full notes. The iFamily charts are live rather than static. Any change made to a database field elsewhere in iFamily is immediately displayed in the current chart. Conversely, any change to data in a chart is immediately saved into the database. There are many customisation options in the iFamily Ancestors and Descendants charts, The most frequently used customisation options are immediately available on the toolbar; others are accessible by activating the Customise Defaults floating panel. When any customisation option is clicked then the chart is immediately re-displayed to show the effect of that customisation. All charts may be directly saved to a PDF file that can be emailed to and read on any computer, PC, Mac, Linux, Unix, ... Keith
Like
Version 2.341
Igal27
14 February 2008
This program is so-so. The interface looks clean, but rather limited. With Reunion, I can create a huge chart of just about all the family (and modify it as I wish and export it in editable formats) - something which I've yet to find in any other genealogy application, including this one.
Like
Version 2.341
1 answer(s)
Keith-Wilson
Keith-Wilson
18 February 2008
The limits for generating charts in Reunion and in iFamily for Tiger, by coincidence, are the same - 99 generations - which represents about a time span of about 2000 years. Keith
Like
Version 2.341
Toad
14 September 2007
Neat program, but does it export web pages?
Like
Version 2.252
Guy-Holmes
29 July 2007
Its a great program - I have been using iFamily for over a year now, having come to it from the PC world, and dabbled with various oher Mac programs such as Reunion and MacFamilyTree. Ended up using windows via BootCamp until I stumbled upon a fairly early version of iFamily. I've never found a program so dynamic in development - New versions come along every couple of weeks, each adding significant improvments to functionality, while the stability remains excellent. The user interface, the general experience and the intuitive way of working with iFamily make this (for me) the best genealogy program I have used - Mac or PC
Like
Version 2.235
Rballal
10 July 2007
I did a fair amount of evaluating the various genealogy programs before settling on this program. I am very pleased with the product. The program is generally very intuitive to use, is extremely stable, and there are many different ways of viewing within, importing, and exporting. The developer is continuously working on improvements and is responsive to suggestions and ideas. The forum on the web site is an opportunity to post questions and look for answers. I am very pleased. Al
Like
Version 2.211
Rballal
10 July 2007
I did a fair amount of evaluating the various genealogy programs before settling on this program. I am very pleased with the product. The program is generally very intuitive to use, is extremely stable, and there are many different ways of viewing within, importing, and exporting. The developer is continuously working on improvements and is responsive to suggestions and ideas. The forum on the web site is an opportunity to post questions and look for answers. I am very pleased. Al
Like
Version 2.211
Keith-Wilson
17 November 2006
Faulty dmg file We apologise but V1.208 was truncated during upload to MacUpdate. A new file has been uploaded to MacUpdate but will not be posted on this site by about 10 am Friday 17th San Francisco time.
Like
Version 1.208
Aldorr
17 November 2006
Notice: These three reviews are all posted within a day of each other and are all the only posts from the users. Could all three possibly be the same person? Look at the amount of paragraphs, the spacing and even the sentence structure. Highly suspicious.
Like
Version 1.208
2 answer(s)
Imdoug
Imdoug
17 November 2006
Hmmm...are your affiliated with a competing software company? If you actually TRY iFamily for Tiger, you then will know why this very new program has generated such favorable reviews.
Like
Version 1.208
Keith-Wilson
Keith-Wilson
17 November 2006
Please be assured that all reviews of iFamily for Tiger were written by different people. Some of them were involved in beta testing the software and have contributed suggestions during development. The developer has only ever met one of these people face ro face in the real world. Regards, Keith Wilson
Like
Version 1.208
Chrisknight
03 November 2006
I am a switcher from the PC world where there are many Genealogy programs that are pretty good. In Mac land, I found nothing that came close to the things I was using before (mainly Legacy, although I have tried and indeed own numerous others). I stumbled across iFamily for Tiger and it was like finding the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Here is a program that is a match for the best programs in the PC world. It has powerful capabilities and an ease of use that displays the great Mac characteristics in this regard. At present its feature set is a little limited compared with the longer established PC programs but that hasn't stopped me abandoning Legacy (I was running it under Parallels) as iFamily does all the core stuff really well and a lot of the nice to have stuff too. It gets significantly better with each frequent update and the developer has responded magnificently to quite specific requests I have made for improvements. The program is extremely fast compared with most and seems to be rock solid in terms of safeguarding data.
Like
Version 1.205
Jack-Chism
03 November 2006
I've never seen such a comprehensive program that was so easy to start using. The author says that he thinks programs should be self-explanatory, and he doesn't want users to be forced to go to the help file. Each time you wonder about a feature, you just right-click on it and let the menu guide you. I entered several hundreds of ancestors, with many details and photographs, without any doubt about how to do the next step. You can click almost anywhere on the screen and find special guidance. Also I like the horizontal tree diagram. You can scroll it and zoom it, and it shows a tremendous amount of detail. Others have mentioned this, but I want to express appreciation for the program's author. He seems to enjoy responding to questions. Most of my questions were not about how to do something (which is mostly obvious) but to request new features--a few of which he has actually added!
Like (1)
Version 1.205
Gmd
02 November 2006
I have been using iFamily for Tiger for a couple of months now and find it is elegant, succinct and extraordinarily intuitive. Compared to Reunion and Heredis, both of which I have played with, iFamily is a breeze to use. It's unique design with chart panel above and information/recording panel below enables me to easily keep track of where I am and enter data in the right places with minimal, and sometimes no, navigation. I particularly like the way media is handled and the transcibe function. The options for notes, comments and stories are superb. A simple intuitive interface caps it off. A beautiful piece of work and the developer is incredibly responsive to queries and comments. And excellent value for money!
Like
Version 1.205
Imdoug
02 November 2006
I have tried ALL of the major genealogy applications on the market available for both the PC and MAC platforms. In my opinion, this new genealogy software is well on its way to becoming the best application on the market. The graphical interface is intuitive and aesthetically pleasing, and the included facilities for sourcing and documenting facts are first rate. This is the one to keep an eye on!
Like
Version 1.205
Annemac
01 November 2006
After using iFamily for Tiger for a couple of months, I have found it easy, simple and logical to use. Import and export of gedcoms, easy and straightforward. The capability to have many photos, certificates, headstone photos, histories it a great feature to be able to keep up with the information that has been collected for ancestors and descendants. Easy and quick to see what you have and what you need to get. Sources are important in proving who is who and so on and iFamily for Tiger handles them all without a bother. Sorting of place names allows for streamlining and clarity and order. Import and export of gedcoms, the gedcom tags are great and I have had no trouble or worry with moving information by gedcom backwards and forwards between my TNG web pages and iFamily. Adding new people is easy and quick. Price wise this program is a bargain, have a look at the prices of other programs that do not do as much a iFamily. Excellent value for money. Stability wise, I have experienced no crashes.
Like
Version 1.205
Briangraves
01 November 2006
Finding quality genealogy software for the Mac has been impossible. There have been useable free/shareware programs that have helped but had none of the functionality of the PC based programmes. IFamily has changed all that. It equals and even surpasses the best in all genealogy programs across all platforms and for only $40aus - £16.50 sterling. It is a complete tool for anyone compiling the family history and wanting to share this with their relatives and friends. I won't bore you with what it does, just read the info on the website. What is impressive is the back up from the author. It is like belonging to a very special family and updates/improvements are personally sent to you. This is the best piece of personal software I have ever bought.
Like
Version 1.205
Lesfiedler
01 November 2006
iFamily for Tiger is a really excellent piece of genealogy software..... it does import all your photos when you load a gedcom which did not happen in Reunion. But of much more of use to a serious genealogist it writes excellent reports that can be understood by family members who are not genie savy... and the best feature in my opinion is being able to add all your BDM certificates copies of will and other documents and photos from iPhoto or from file which means when I am working on a person I have the certificate document and photos on screen at the touch of a button instead of going through hard copy files or opening them separately in preview or photshop ......It is worth having this programe for this feature alone ! as you can select the eg marriage certificate hit the transcribe button and the whole cetificate magnifies so you can scroll and read and as some of the old documents the handwriting can be shocking this is a great help ..the whole program is quite intuitive and I had imported my gedcom from Reunion written a report on paternal line for my brother in UK and had added 50 odd sofar images in a couple of hours I am thrilled to bits with this and when my brother sees it when he visits I am sure he will now get that Mac he has been mulling over ...... I have used Reunion since day one as it was the only decent genealogy program for Macs.............TILL NOW
Like
Version 1.205
Hallow
01 November 2006
Have been using ifamily for Tiger for a couple of weeks. It imports and exports ged fileseasily, displays imformation clearly, is easy to edit, simple to add photoes birth certs etc to. Back up is efficient and friendly. No bugs in program but little improvements are being made according to suggestions.Price is cheap compared with other packages. I Would really recomend it for storeing and viewing your genealogical data.
Like
Version 1.205