Back to Xslimmer page
Xslimmer free download for Mac

Xslimmer Reviews

1.9.4
18 October 2013

Save hard drive space by reducing the size of applications.

Gary30
15 November 2008

Most helpful

I have been using this program for almost two years and had only one problem. I just replaced the slimmed file with a backup which was generated by the program. As with any software that utility that you know is going to poke through your files, you will want to make sure you have a current backup before running. You can use a program such as "Easyfind" to see if (or where) there are leftover "lproj" resources. You can also use a number of programs that are indiscriminate to varying degrees to remove all such files from all packages (except a language you want to keep). I think Xslimmer is a reasonably safe and convenient option.
Like (7)
Version 1.6.2

Read 112 Xslimmer User Reviews

Rate this app:

bmikeyd
13 March 2017
Two questions:

Will this work on Sierra 10.12.3?

Is there an alternative app that is actively being supported by its developer?

Thanks!
Like (2)
Version 1.9.4
JamesHarrisPhoto
03 January 2017
Per the developer's website, Xslimmer has been officially discontinued.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.4
Ptrix
22 March 2016
Feature Request: Please include the ability for xSlimmer to examine package contents. several apps include additional files within their contents that could be slimmed. i usually do this manually, but it would be great if xSlimmer did it as part of its standard routine to increase efficiency and space savings. :)
Like
Version 1.9.4
Gregm
19 October 2015
One of my favorite utilities -- 'til it was broken by OSX10.11 El Capitan. Looks like it is trying, but reports back that there is no difference before/ after processing. I have filled a feedback to the developer.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
pa-geographer
pa-geographer
18 November 2015
Looks like System Integrity Protection (SIP) is blocking the app from slimming most Apple apps--the only one it successfully slimmed for me was X11.app in the Utilities folder. I tried disabling SIP and then Xslimmer worked as expected.
Like
Max-G
22 October 2014
Does this work on Yosemite?
Like
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
pa-geographer
pa-geographer
28 March 2015
Yes, on 10.10.2 it does.
Like
Rsmacupdate
21 July 2014
I cannot tell front he documentation whether Xslimmer allows you to ask it to remove unwanted printer files. Can the developer respond to this question. If it doesn't can the developer add this capability to a future release? I would also like to chime in with BiJohnson's 2014-05-01 post and ask that the ability to select/choose the volumes or volumes to be slimmed to added as well. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
22 July 2014
Xslimmer does not touch anything related to printers. (I'm not the developer, just FYI.)
Like
Big Johnson
01 May 2014
Unfortunately it does not allow you to choose which volume to check - it will only check the one it's installed on. I have it on my main partition but wanted to run it on my repair partition. I don't want it installed on my repair partition but I'd still like to slim it since there's only 8 GB free space.
Like
Version 1.9.4
Bento de Espinosa
20 February 2014
Very useful!
Like
Version 1.9.4
Florent-de-Staël
20 October 2013
5 Stars Overall Rating when the Check update feature will work.
Like
Version 1.9.4
Forn
18 October 2013
Why pay 15 $ if you can do it for free? Use for ex. Monolingual.
Like
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
18 October 2013
Because it's got awesome support, safety features (blacklists, ability to back up, excluded search areas), and a generally awesome dev team. $15 isn't much for how awesome it is. My license from 2009 is still valid, so it's not like they're trying to rip you off.
Like (1)
Scoops98
17 October 2013
Works great in 1.9.4 now.
Like
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
Florent-de-Staël
Florent-de-Staël
20 October 2013
Same for me ! Good job
Like
Florent-de-Staël
17 October 2013
Version 1.9.3 crashes on genius scan
Like
Version 1.9.3
1 answer(s)
Florent-de-Staël
Florent-de-Staël
20 October 2013
No more crash since 1.9.4. One last suggestion. The Check for update feature never indicate new versions...
Like
Florent-de-Staël
17 October 2013
I Confirm. Since Version 1.9.3 Genious scan crashes. I have sent several emails to dev : no answer. I really suggest not to buy this application for the moment. It is such a shame, it was great… is latenitesoft really still working on this application ?
Like
Version 1.9.3
Eric•Woehler
07 September 2013
Confirming 1.9.3 fixes the crash when using the Genie to scan apps. Many thanks to dev for prompt repairs!
Like (3)
Version 1.9.3
Whitebuck
07 September 2013
Thank you, LateNiteSoft, for the expeditious update 1.9.3. I use your application after every update on any of my software. With only one minor bug experience, during my years of use. An excellent application and would highly recommend to all.
Like
Version 1.9.2
Eric•Woehler
04 September 2013
1.9.2 crashes immediately after scan of apps (cmd-g) I can't read crash logs, so I can't pinpoint the problem, but crash it does - and is repeatable. going back to 1.9.1 as this has been rock solid app and highly recommended - and worth the asking price. apps are updated regularly, so I run Xslimmer weekly.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.2
4 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
04 September 2013
further testing - the app works fine when I drag recent app updates onto the window, but the genie crashes the app - as soon as the scan is done, the apps to be slimmed are listed, then the app crashes. Can send logs to dev Mac mid-2010 Mini, 8G RAM, 10.8.4 all current
Like (3)
Buhbye
Buhbye
05 September 2013
Same problem under 10.8.4. Reverted to 1.9.1, and all is right with the world again.
Like (1)
deodoman@gmail-com
deodoman@gmail-com
05 September 2013
Crashes immediately after scanning.
Like (1)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
05 September 2013
Same here, crashes immediately after Genie scan. Okay, Latenitesoft, A fix please, sooner rather than later. -10.6.8
Like
Akrobat
04 September 2013
This new version crashes while operating. Has happened 3 times since the update. I reinstalled the old version via Time Machine. Old version is still stable.
Like
Version 1.9.2
1 answer(s)
espinoea
espinoea
04 September 2013
Same here
Like
Thinking-Differently
18 October 2012
On the right side of the Xslimmer window are two columns of icons. Some are worlds, some are 4 colored balls, some are chips with a question mark in them, etc. Where does is say what these mean? Is there some documentation that I have yet to find?
Like
Version 1.9.1
Grinson
02 August 2012
It saves 4GB disk space for me, but I use other software (Magican) to clear my Lion, it saves me 13GB disk space. This app is very good, but it seems expensive. I hope this app can have a discount. Maybe $10.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
Kzx72
15 July 2012
For 15 bucks it's still worth it. 5 to 10 bucks would probably be ideal but how many other programs are like Xslimmer? I've been using it since 2007 and it's saved me god knows how many gigabytes over the years. One of my favorite apps that's easy to use and has the potential to free up a lot of space on the computer which is particularly handy if you're running low.
Like
Version 1.9
iPoopStore
12 July 2012
Requirements above state "PPC / Intel, Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later" That is no longer correct. Version 1.9 is Intel only and I very much doubt it will launch on 10.3.9.
Like
Version 1.9
Unicorn
21 February 2012
Tis not worth $15 for certain, but I would love to see it for $5. Why? how often do people install apps? This is like a one-time use only, unless you need to re-install the OS. Also, this is strictly for apps only. Apps that people have paid who knows how much for. On average, this app deletes about 100mb of data for every Gig of apps. (more or less). If I already have tons of free space, why should I pay $15 for maybe 2G more? I could buy a flash drive with more space per gig. This app is nice, but not completely worth it.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.2
2 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
29 March 2012
You have a point about cost of memory. But some of us have older systems/ drives --- and you know what? **Some** of us run XSlimmer regularly because: 1. we update 2. slimmers "finds" are somehow tied in with spotlight and finder exposure.
Like
Amalgamated-Inc
Amalgamated-Inc
13 July 2012
agreed. this is a $ 5.00 app.
Like (2)
wickedsp1d3r
03 December 2011
Never had any problems with Xslimmer. It has saved so much disk space and thanks to it many of my apps have became faster and slimmer. Hope it's still under active development. Very nice application overall!
Like (2)
Version 1.8.2
Nerdnase
27 October 2011
Unfortunately, I used XSlimmer, ran into problems (over 7000 FILE SYNC ERRORS immediately after running XSlimmer), and contacted support for assistance. Their auto response was prompt, leading me to believe that customer service might be good. I was wrong. I heard back initially with a request for system info, and some other possibly related items. I provided the requested information, then nothing. That was early October. I've sent repeated requests for updates, and have received no response aside from the auto responses. Based on my experience with LateNiteSoft and XSlimmer, I say do not gamble with an unreliable company. The payback is not worth the potential of them ignoring requests to provide service for the product they sell. Because the after purchase service was nonexistent for me, I cannot rate any feature as acceptable because the product appears to have cause a large number of File Sync problems, all similar to iDisk/XSlimmer Backup/Google Earth.app.xs_bck/Contents/Resources. Be Warned.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
3 answer(s)
xian-online
xian-online
11 December 2011
I'm just a user, but to be fair, thats not a problem with the product at all, any sort of product that modifies the core framework of an application file like this program does will completely make any sort of "Sync" service because you changed the things its trying to sync. And to be fair, you should have understood the risks in running a program like this, its kind of like pulling things out of your engine bay 'cause you don't 'think' you need them. I can not comment on the customer service, but they are giving people a product that has a very! high inherent ability for people to ruin there own stuff. Re Sync all your iDisk stuff and you'll be fine, you just have to start fresh. I hope you and other users who use this product realize they might be playing with things that are slightly above their user level. No offense. Personally, ALL the programs for mac that have ever done this same trick (there are several) all cause a few problems inherent to their nature, but if your are tech savvy, its well worth the problem. Backup first! and remember, certain things may need to be 'set back-up,' especially things that sync to the cloud.
Like (6)
Nerdnase
Nerdnase
11 December 2011
xian_online: I posted as one person's experience with this product AND COMPANY as a warning to others who may think customer service important with software like this. If a product or service works well for 50% and they never need the company to back up their software, product, or service, there's no problem. If; however, the product causes problems, breaks or otherwise doesn't perform, it's important that the company is reliable, returns email inquiries, etc., don't you think? Is there something that seems unfair about this to you? You stated: "I'm just a user, but to be fair, that's not a problem with the product at all, any sort of product that modifies the core framework of an application file like this program does will completely make any sort of "Sync" service because you changed the things its trying to sync." Your attempt to make a point makes no sense. XSlimmer does provide the information that you, perhaps, were trying to. Isn't it dangerous to modify the binary data of applications? Removing code that will never be run on your machine is safe. However, a very small number of applications may not function properly after they have been slimmed down, because they may check themselves to enforce anti-piracy measures. Xslimmer takes a number of precautions to avoid putting you in a position where an application cannot be used after being slimmed down. It provides a backup mechanism that can be enabled from Xslimmer's Preferences, automatically storing a copy of the applications before they are slimmed down. It also provides the means to "blacklist" applications that you don't want ever to slim down. The blacklist is automatically configured to ignore some popular applications known to perform integrity checks on themselves. We recommend that you enable the backup option if you intend to reduce the size of an application that you will not be able to reinstall. My purpose in using the software was not to run it, then replace the damage the software caused with my backup. I read the instructions, the FAQ, always have multiple backups. Using your tortured metaphor "…its kind of like pulling things out of your engine bay 'cause you don't 'think' you need them," would be far more accurate had you included "We at general motors have a system of culling motor parts that are not being used by your automobile. A small number of some engine's functions may no longer work after using this culling procedure, so keep a backup engine ready to reinstall. Our system of culling will allow you to easily install the new engine AUTOMATICALLY." I attempted to use the backup option that I had enabled per XSlimmer's instructions—IT DIDN'T WORK. You have no idea what my user level is, and for the record I was able to repair XSlimmer's damage just fine. I'm not at all certain that the average user would be able to, so buyer beware.The point is that XSlimmer did not in my case support their product at all, ignored repeated requests for help, and appear to have little regard for the time of people who purchase their software. I imagine you to be quite young, as you were able to completely miss the point of my review, miscommunicate your own point, make incorrect assumptions about my "user level," and make claims for the software company that they do not make themselves. I am tech savvy, and it was not worth the problem. At. All. Sometimes xian_online, it's better to just admit you don't know what you're talking about and leave it at that, don't you think?
Like (2)
Gregm
Gregm
29 March 2012
iPhoto --- XSlimmer knocked out 20 of 21 languages --- Right there are 20 of your "errors" when your sync program compared the synced copies right after you slimmed them on *one* of the copies.
Like
xati-ba
28 July 2011
This app cannot damage your apps in any way, right?
Like
Version 1.8.2
Gregm
22 July 2011
Version 1.8.1 crashes due to a missing image (according to crash reporter. Developer notified. I reverted to Version 1.7.9 from my back-ups. (how'd I miss 1.8.0?)
Like
Version 1.8.1
2 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
23 July 2011
Fixed via 1.8.2 update within hours --- back to the solid "must have" that I have become accustomed to
Like (1)
Latenitesoft-Pedro
Latenitesoft-Pedro
23 July 2011
Thanks for your report! This crasher was introduced in version 1.8.1 on Lion and Tiger systems - for some reason Xslimmer 1.8.1 was linking against a library not present in those systems. We fixed it in 1.8.2, as you said in your reply :)
Like (1)
Flomet
22 July 2011
Be careful with this app as I have just used it on Lion and it crashed six times and there is nothing in the backup apart from the last five programs slimmed.
Like
Version 1.8
2 answer(s)
alas!
alas!
22 July 2011
"be careful with this app...." I'd say that this is one more reason to stay away from Lion 'till most of its bugs are worked out. I won't touch it until then. The initial version of any new OS is always good for a severe case of hemorrhoids. Be that as it may, xSlimmer is a winner; been using it for many months now and it works beautifully. No issues experienced. Be that as it may,
Like
Latenitesoft-Pedro
Latenitesoft-Pedro
23 July 2011
The crashes on Lion affected version 1.8 - my apologies about that. Versions 1.7.9 or 1.8.1 (which was released minutes after 1.8) work correctly under Lion. Could you please download the latest release (1.8.2) and let us know if the problem persists? Thanks!
Like (1)
Stronachab
16 July 2011
I bought this after it was reviewed in a computer magazine. They raved about it, and their step-by-step guide, plus their assurances that there were safety get-outs at several stages for anyone who was nervous about such radical overhauls of applications, reassured me that it was the right thing to do. Yes, I could probably have saved the $15 by stripping out surplus languages and binaries myself but (a) I'm not savvy or computer-confident enough to do that; (b) I don't have the time or interest, and (c) hey, it's $15. I suspect there are many people like me who just don't need the hassle. The bottom line? It stripped out 4.72GB of wasted space on a 500GB iMac with 261 applications. Most impressive were Final Cut Pro 7.0.3 going from 801MB to 183MB; MacFamilyTree dropping from 365MB to 117MB, and Aperture 3.1.3 going from 602MB to 379MB. Also, all the components of the iLife 09 suite slimmed to an average half of their previous size. I have tried all these applications intensively since the slimming, and I was especially nervous about the hit that Final Cut Pro might have taken having lost 77% of its size. The good news is that everything — even some of the most obscure commands and facilities — seems to be working perfectly. You could argue that $15 is a lot to pay for 4.72GB of space, but that was only partly why I bought xSlimmer. Subjectively, the heavily slimmed applications are zippier. Much zippier. I also like knowing that there is no padding or dead code on my computer; that it's as lean as it can be. In short, as a non-geek, all I can tell you is that it has worked beautifully and perfectly for me.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.9
Nooneknowme
20 February 2011
Great App
Like
Version 1.7.9
Bigboysdad
25 August 2010
The GUI provides an ease of use which makes this application do its thing quicker and more conveniently than the free alternatives out there. Generally speaking, if your HD is small by today's standards and at least 70% full, saving disk space wherever possible is a necessary chore; using this application helps you to do that on a regular basis very quickly which will allow you to focus on other things. In that regard, the price is worth it.
Like
Version 1.7.9
3 answer(s)
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
16 April 2011
I also like how this program strips those irritating iproj language files which always seemed to figure in disk directory problems with my MBP.
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
11 December 2011
Then why give it only 3 stars?
Like
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
11 December 2011
You know how it is with the Macupdate ratings system - once you get stuck on a particular star, you can't change the rating. So it got stuck on 3 stars. Doubt this will make any difference to anyone to anyone reading these reviews.
Like
Wedderhoff
23 August 2010
I like Xslimmer but it damages AI CS5 and the Adobe Updater doesn't recognize the app.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.9
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
23 August 2010
This is one of those things you report to the blacklist, it's a much more effective way to prevent other people from having the same issue.
Like (4)
Version 1.7.9
Stickman67
Stickman67
24 August 2010
There are a couple of different apps that do this sort of thing, and none of them seem to play nice with Adobe. Put that the other way around, and it seems that Adobe apps don't appreciate having bits of code stripped out of them. Some other apps react similarly, but in general this sort of thing is a pretty good way to save valuable disk space, in my experience. Having said that, proceed with caution! Better a dry teabag than a bent shovel, as they say!
Like (2)
Version 1.7.9
Mascarnhas
21 June 2010
I've used Report and although its great, I've had better luck with WheresTheFreeSpace. It is Modeled after a PC application that is very popular called Treesize (but its for Mac).
Like
Version 1.7.8
Xslimmer is designed to understand and honor code signing requirements: signatures should not be invalidated when using it. Thus, the problems you described in the other thread should not be an issue with Xslimmer. Please, let us know if you observe otherwise. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.7.7
1 answer(s)
Latenitesoft-Pedro
Latenitesoft-Pedro
10 May 2010
Sorry, that was meant as a reply to Encro's comment below.
Like
Version 1.7.7
Elegraphy
19 February 2010
I've been using this app for many years, and over all it works fast and stable. The only part I don't like is that it always have some leftovers due to its blacklist. I used to use Youpi Optimizer to clean up leftover localizations. Lately I use CleanApp to do the job.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.7
Maclover1-1
16 January 2010
Cleanmymac stills finds a lot of bits of languages left over after Xslimmer.. so I guess Cleanmymac is "cleaner"... also to answer a post below.. do NOT trim Adobe products... I had issues in the past doing this.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.6
Rubaiyat
19 December 2009
Is it safe to use this on the Adobe CS4 suite? I do not want to have to reinstall as it was a pain the last time.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
Trance
13 December 2009
continues to NOT slim a good portion of app's languages despite reporting success .... 'Skim' being an example but there are many, many more
Like (4)
Version 1.7.6
1 answer(s)
Trance
Trance
13 December 2009
yeah ok, obviously I need to explain further for those who cannot see further than their nose ....after slimming you can still find extra language packs inside packages inside the app ....the quicklook and spotlight package for example
Like
Version 1.7.6
zo219
12 December 2009
My only criticism of this fine app is that the switch to clean language, PPC code or both should not be hidden in the preferences.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.6
Encro
25 September 2009
Please see my extensive comments on http://www.macupdate.com/trimmit as these dangers apply equally as well to Xslimmer. Use an application such as http://www.macupdate.com/codesign-checker to test if the application is signed before making changes. These apps can cause major problems for code signed applications that access the keychain and it is in your best interest to avoid using them to modify code signed binaries. Unsigned binaries are fine to experiment with for size reduction etc.
Like (4)
Version 1.7.5
Exegetejr
22 September 2009
I received Xslimmer as part of a MacUpdate Bundle purchase and continue to be very pleased with both the software and the developer's commitment to the product and support. For me Xslimmer has worked nearly flawlessly. The only issue I had was quite minor in regards to having Xslimmer save backups to a folder, which the developer was quick to respond and helpful. I give the product a 4.5 for clear and easy to use interface, good stable operation, effectiveness and developer commitment to the software and support. Xslimmer does what it says and does it well!
Like
Version 1.7.5
Wedderhoff
16 September 2009
Apple should incorporate it into Snow Leopard. 1 to 6 GB is a great HD space difference.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.4
Walruscp
04 September 2009
This app has a great developer behind it. I was the one (or one of the ones) who discovered the blacklist bug fixed in 1.7.2, and throughout the process the developer was pleasant and responsive. As for Xslimmer itself, it has claimed untold MBs on my MacBook's hard disk, working as advertised. Occasionally you run across an application that gets screwy after slimming, but that's what the back-up and restore options are for. Most apps that will be troublesome when slimmed are on the blacklist. Overall, this is a very easy to use app that is a must-have for mac owners who need to squeeze as much memory as possible out of their hard drive. Highly recommend it!
Like (3)
Version 1.7.2
Jffs
31 August 2009
If you are using Snow Leopard don't be too hasty slimming. Removing PPC code is fine, but there are times that you will need the 32-bit Intel code if plugins don't work in 64-bit. Examples: Safari and Safari Adblock or Quicktime X and the AC3 codec/Perian. It would be nice to be able to just strip out the PPC code in the latest version until more third-party software has been updated to work in 64-bit.
Like (6)
Version 1.7
2 answer(s)
Likos
Likos
04 September 2009
I second this comment: "It would be nice to be able to just strip out the PPC code in the latest version until more third-party software has been updated to work in 64-bit."
Like
Version 1.7.2
Lo-phatz
Lo-phatz
08 September 2009
"It would be nice to be able to just strip out the PPC code in the latest version until more third-party software has been updated to work in 64-bit." You CAN. Look in the preferences..
Like (2)
Version 1.7.3
Rod76
20 July 2009
This app was just sitting unused in my Utilities folder until I bought an SSD. What a difference it has made since. Xslimmer has given me back valuable disk space and now I can't do without it. The exclude an application ability is what sets this app apart from its competitors. Every once in awhile I'll find an app that just doesn't like having its data slimmed and after a quick restore from back up I add it to the exclude list and it never gets slimmed again. Its a real sanity saver compared to the alternative slimming applications. The only complaint I have is that System Profiler displays some apps as universal or leaves the field completely blank that are in fact intel only. Viewing "Get Info" directly from the application itself reveals the correct information and no amount of refreshing System Profiler rectifies this. The afore mentioned quibble has no actual effect on application performance or the system itself (my MacBook Pro is just about trouble free). It's just a minor annoyance for someone viewing the application section in System Profiler and knows the information displayed there is wrong.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.5
2 answer(s)
Chriswan
Chriswan
20 July 2009
This is what I have been doing to 'fix' that: you need to move the slimmed app(s) outside their current folder, and then move it back Or you put the app on the desktop, slim it using XSlimmer, and then move it to the applications folder
Like
Version 1.6.5
Latenitesoft-Pedro
Latenitesoft-Pedro
17 September 2009
This is Pedro, one of the devs. Activity Profiler should show the correct information if you use Xslimmer 1.7.4 - no need for workarounds like the one described by chriswan should now be necessary. Thanks for your comments!
Like
Version 1.7.4
Gary30
15 April 2009
I have used this application for over two years and never had a problem. Nevertheless, it would be foolhardy to use a produce like this without taking some elementary precautions. Xslimmer gives the option to back up the files it slims and produces a log. So if i ever have a problem I am confident I could restore the files with no problem. I also have Time machine and Super Duper. One thing that surprises me with 1.6.3 is that the Adobe CS4 applications are NOT blacklisted. Adobe has always been a problem and its bloatware is something i would definitely like to slim. For now, I have subtracted them from the Xslimmer list on my own machine. If anyone has had success slimming CS4 applications that information would be most welcome.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.3
1 answer(s)
Leftnotracks
Leftnotracks
08 July 2009
I haven't tried CS4, but I was successful trimming CS2 and CS3 applications. The main difficulty is that almost any change to the contents of an application's folder can make Adobe's terrible Updater application fail to update. I don't think I've ever seen a successful Illustrator update except immediately after installation. Perhaps in ten or twenty years Adobe will learn to make software that behaves.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.4
Ricoblues
05 February 2009
Great software. I run it on all application of my MacBookPro. No problems and fast loading of apps. I'm very satisfied. Have a nice day, Riccardo.
Like
Version 1.6.3
Castle
31 December 2008
I ran Xslimmer on all the apps in my app folder that weren't blacklisted. I'd say about half now won't launch and are having to be re-downloaded. Examples include LiquidCD, MacPAR Deluxe and Wallet.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
3 answer(s)
ag010c3648
ag010c3648
13 January 2009
then u got problems that have nothing to do with xslimmer i use alot the apps u just mention and mine are slimmed down fine and still work
Like (4)
Version 1.6.2
Castle
Castle
13 January 2009
That's one hell of a coincidence, then. All of these stopped working IMMEDIATELY following my use of Xslimmer, and have worked perfectly since I reinstalled them (and haven't used Xslimmer since doing so).
Like (3)
Version 1.6.2
Eefloee
Eefloee
05 February 2009
i do have wallet and macpar deluxe slimmed down without any trouble...
Like (3)
Version 1.6.3
anonymous-snipe-166
13 December 2008
I tried DEMO - to SLEM "TecTool Pro4" and got the message- REQUIRED ADMIN PRIVILEGES WERE NOT GRANTED. The same with "Google earth". Need help.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
Simonm
17 November 2008
Some of the gains are amazing, especially on the Apple apps. Mail from 289 to 40 Mb, iChat, 115 to 17.4, iCal, 94 to 16 etc etc! The interface could use a little improvement, like being able to sort the list of apps prior to slimming based on potential saving and being able to export slimming log, but the guts of the program run fine! Saved over 4 Gb on my nearly full laptop drive.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
Gary30
15 November 2008
I have been using this program for almost two years and had only one problem. I just replaced the slimmed file with a backup which was generated by the program. As with any software that utility that you know is going to poke through your files, you will want to make sure you have a current backup before running. You can use a program such as "Easyfind" to see if (or where) there are leftover "lproj" resources. You can also use a number of programs that are indiscriminate to varying degrees to remove all such files from all packages (except a language you want to keep). I think Xslimmer is a reasonably safe and convenient option.
Like (7)
Version 1.6.2