Back to expod page
expod free download for Mac

expod Reviews

0.7.3
23 June 2010

Get your music off of your iPod.

Frick
08 May 2010

Most helpful

Was cleaning up some files on Mac and did something to iTunes that it wanted to update iPhone and clean out files. This happened once before and the thought of recreating all that music made me sick; I also wanted to move some music to an MP3 player in an old car. Hear from buddy about Expod and decided I had nothing to loose and I lost nothing. It moved all the music off of iPhone into a new file with each singer having its own file of music. Opened up first file and clicked on song; iTunes started playing it. Tried moving the next singer's 17 song file directly to iTunes; they all transferred over with no hiss, spit or anything. INCREDIBLE. One very happy camper and the 5 Mac owners in this household have signed up to this site. We truly thank you for saving us from a real mess.
Like (3)
Version 0.7.2

Read 14 expod User Reviews

Rate this app:

Timwux
19 June 2012
Just plain works. The tagging/folder structure customization is a nice feature at this price point, too.
Like
Version 0.7.3
Frick
08 May 2010
Was cleaning up some files on Mac and did something to iTunes that it wanted to update iPhone and clean out files. This happened once before and the thought of recreating all that music made me sick; I also wanted to move some music to an MP3 player in an old car. Hear from buddy about Expod and decided I had nothing to loose and I lost nothing. It moved all the music off of iPhone into a new file with each singer having its own file of music. Opened up first file and clicked on song; iTunes started playing it. Tried moving the next singer's 17 song file directly to iTunes; they all transferred over with no hiss, spit or anything. INCREDIBLE. One very happy camper and the 5 Mac owners in this household have signed up to this site. We truly thank you for saving us from a real mess.
Like (3)
Version 0.7.2
Gilligirl
21 April 2010
I just downloaded and used this program without a hitch! Thank you sooo much for the amazing software. Music went into iTunes seamlessly and the whole process for 8GB only took around fifteen minutes or so. I was so worried I would lose all my music after switching to a new mac, but not anymore! Thanks again! Oh and I have listened to a bunch of music and so far none of the 'hiccup' problems previously mentioned. Everything works perfectly!
Like (1)
Version 0.7.2
Mrgando
14 February 2010
This is a very nice application and the price tag is awesome. Thanks for doing this!, after seeing people charging 20 USD for this kind of simple application, I want to congratulate you for having developed this for the only reason of learning more Objective-C , and GUI programming. Guys charging 20 USD for this kind of application should take your example as a lesson ( it's also open source for the ones who don't know ) Thanks again for this! :-)
Like (1)
Version 0.7.2
Machi
12 December 2009
expod 0.7.2 - I lost my iTunes library during a sync with my iPod Touch. I still have no idea how or why but the every media file on the external hard drive I keep that library on was erased (oddly, the folders remained - only the media files were removed; and the metadata was corrupted!) Keeping this as short as possible, the material on the iPod was the ONLY source for all my music, audio book, podcast and movie files. I looked at the programs available, reading reviews, etc., and went with expod and it worked flawlessly. Every file on the iPod was transferred back to that external hard drive, in the exactly the same file heirarchy, in about 20 minutes (for about 26 GB). expod suggested the file string but if I'd wanted to change it the option was clearly offered and even I could have managed it. As it happens, the format was the standard iTunes uses and no changes were necessary. When done, all I had to do was launch iTunes and click on a song link and the music played. Or the podcast, movie, etc. No hickups or issues at all. I give it five stars, unconditionally. MacBook Pro 4,1. OS 10.6.2; iTunes 9.0.2; iPod Touch 1st gen., OS 3.1.2
Like (2)
Version 0.7.2
Victoria-Line
01 December 2009
Just downloaded it and it seems to have worked flawlessly. I watched this video before using it so I knew where to go with it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Nhs1M8V-7s&feature=related The big thing that I was looking for was recovering some videos, which it did with ease. It was also nice that it was able to do them all at one time, as opposed to one by one. And I was able to choose where to save them to, so I put them on an external drive. Deffo the answers to my prayers.... I was so dreading having to re-rip all those videos, but, alas, no longer a problem.
Like
Version 0.7.2
Tombones99
11 November 2009
I am sorry I found this program. Like another reviewer said, it left 'blips' and 'hiccups' on the songs transferred and worst of all it wrote over the remaining unused space (almost 30 gigs!) maxing out my ipod! This is 'invisible' data and so far I haven't been able to remove it. As a result it pretty much freezes up my iTunes and triggers a bunch of warnings that I've never seen before. I was transferring from a 60gig. ANYBODY that could tell me how to delete this invisible data so that I don't have to reformat my ipod would be greatly appreciated.
Like
Version 0.7.2
Wutup3344
22 June 2009
Found and transferred all files from ipod to my mac. However all of the transferred songs have blips and hiccups and are basically ruined. Also it didn't just copy from the ipod, it removed them all and left my ipod blank. There may be a setting for this, but if so the default setting apparently was to remove them from the ipod. Seemed so promising... but try a couple songs first and listen for errors. It's soooo close to being great, I will check back for updates and try again if fixed.
Like
Version 0.6
Jon555
08 March 2009
This app kicks ass. Not only is it free, but it works fantastically. Much better than some other programs that are not free. I had a Windows formatted iPod (I'm on a Mac obviously) and it was able to extract both music and videos from it. Awesome app! My only request is that a "Video" section is added so you can see all the video files (although it's not a big deal right now, as you can simply look through the entire library which shows everything from music to video). Keep up the good work!!
Like (1)
Version 0.5
Rachelsz
24 January 2009
I don't usually review, but this program is great! Very fast at transferring songs to any location on my hard drive. No problems at all. It's better than Senuti because it's free, for a start. I'd highly recommend this program to anyone wanting to rip songs from their ipod.
Like (1)
Version 0.4
Poikkeus
11 January 2009
"No iPods Found" message on desktop. Apparently, expod was unable to locate the files on my Touch - though the app is pleasingly simple and easy to use. The expod blurb suggests that it will work with all ipods, even Touches.
Like (1)
Version 0.4
Brian-Buckley
04 January 2009
What if the iPod was synced from an iTunes library on a windows operating system? Would I still be able to take out the songs and add them to my mac?
Like
Version 0.4
1 answer(s)
Jon555
Jon555
08 March 2009
Yes, I had a Windows formatted iPod and it extracted both video and music (I'm on a Mac obviously).
Like (1)
Version 0.5
Dwt
12 November 2006
How is this Better than Senuti? [1] (e.g.) [1] http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/14982
Like
Version 0.2
1 answer(s)
Foobar1969
Foobar1969
29 September 2009
It's free.
Like (1)
Version 0.7
Niczak
15 October 2006
This is an amazing product! No hassles, no extra crap, just a great util that does exactly what it claims. I plugged in my Windows formatted iPod 5g and was able to extract content with no problems what-so-ever! I first tried to do this with Yamipod which wound up being a major hassle and ultimately didn't work at all! In short, if you want to transfer any number of songs from your iPod (Mac/Win/Nix) this is the way to go. Great work!
Like (1)
Version 0.1