Back to Scrivener page
Scrivener free download for Mac

Scrivener Reviews

3.1.4
13 October 2019

Project management and word processing tool for writers.

Hydester
12 October 2019

Most helpful

The most perfect piece of software. Quite outstanding. If you are considering writing seriously, this program is the answer to you needs. You can collate all your research, see the structure of your work and take snapshots so you can easily revert to earlier versions. In fact the number of features are too many to put in a review. To understand Scrivener's full potential watch their support videos. Amazing. Thanks L&L!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4

Read 140 Scrivener User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
28 October 2019
Once upon a time there was no Scrivener and the world was cold and void. Then Scrivener 3.1.4 arose and the World is full of light and the void has vanished! I just completed a 2,500 page 5 volume work with 1,1000 notes and references all linked. When complied to both eBook and PDF format the Gods of Scrivener created a perfect collection with perfectly functional html links a ton and index with ZERO errors. AND, no change of my layout, fonts...this is a HELL YES purchase!!!
Like
Version 3.1.4
Hydester
12 October 2019
The most perfect piece of software. Quite outstanding. If you are considering writing seriously, this program is the answer to you needs. You can collate all your research, see the structure of your work and take snapshots so you can easily revert to earlier versions. In fact the number of features are too many to put in a review. To understand Scrivener's full potential watch their support videos. Amazing. Thanks L&L!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4
purchasing-10
07 October 2019
I have been using this app for five years, and I am still finding more to love. It is a one stop shop for collating and organising data for a book project and wonderful for gathering and rearranging data in new ways. I have been living inside the program for the last three and a half month as I work on a new book. Feels like home. Thank you L&L
Like
Version 3.1.3
Johninsapporo
02 September 2019
Brilliant. Utterly brilliant.
Like
Version 3.1.3
kingjj
27 June 2019
Up until about a year ago, the only writing app I used was BBEdit. The combination of the glossary and hot-keys meant I could make it do whatever I needed it to, quickly. I really felt it was all that I needed. Still, a friend urged me to try out Scrivener, the seemingly ubiquitous writer's app. Be it playwrights, novelists, scriptwriters, or technical writers, it seemed that everybody used it. The lesson here is, if something seems to be ubiquitous, there's probably a very good reason. Unlike BBEdit, I didn't have to lift the hood to make Scrivener do anything because it did it all already, In fact, it does so much that the $50 price tag that seemed a little steep, now seems like an incredible bargain,. And unlike many programs that do a lot, Scrivener manages to keep a clean, intuitive interface (even though it comes with a tutorial, I managed to figure out everything I wanted out of it with little to no fuss, and no tutorial). Thus far, I've only mentioned things that were possible with BBEdit, just easier with Scrivener. but we deviate from that with one very important aspect; organization. Basically, if you write out-of-order like myself, Scrivener is your new best friend. You can chop your manuscript into chapters, scenes, paragraphs, sentences, LETTERS and arrange. re-arrange, and re-re-arrange to your hearts content all via drag and drop. Getting my manuscript in order used to be a nightmare. Now, I kid you not, it's actually kind of fun. In fact, there's your review: Scrivener makes an aspect of writing kind of fun. I can't think of anything that glows more than that. PS If it ever crashed, I don't remember it happening. It certainly never had a crash that lost work, those things I don't forget.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.3
bobembry
20 February 2019
Very useful ★★★★★
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Derekcurrie
09 November 2018
Version 3.1.1 is now available as a patch for v3.1. Here are the release notes: "Hotfix 3.1.0.1: fixed bug causing a crash when loading Scrivener with certain older appearance preferences." NOTE: For reasons incomprehensible, version 3.1.1 (as it is identified by the Scrivener application itself) has also been confusingly listed as "3.1.0.1", as seen in the release notes above, and as "3.1.01" on their website. Someone's a bit hungover at Literature and Latte, apparently. I've never seen chaotic mis-numbering like this before. Just know that they are all the same thing, that being v3.1.1.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
sbenitezb
11 April 2018
Great experience and a very complete application.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Bento de Espinosa
20 March 2018
For what it does and what you can do with it, it is cheap! It is a wonderful program, and I cannot live without it.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Guirou
16 March 2018
parfait pour mener à bien un essai, un roman ou d’une manière générale une œuvre littéraire.
Like
Version 3.0.2
frank-007
07 March 2018
Amazing App ! keep up the good work. Still expecting some improvements on formatting which is sometimes buggy
Like
Version 3.0.2
williamreis8
09 February 2018
best
Like
Version 3.0.1
cremebrulee
09 January 2018
I'm convinced there's a book inside me somewhere and by God, Scrivener is going to help me find it. First class software.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Nontroppo
21 November 2017
I've been a long-time user of Scrivener, and what can I say — V3.0 is an amazing amazing update. The underlying philosophy of Scrivener is to help you organise your material while writing (Binder stores everything in one place, easy to search through), and separating how the work will "look" to a final phase called compiling. V3.0 has a powerful new styles system, and many many changes to compiling. For example you can now use styles to semantically/visually identify "blocks of text" (e.g. a quotation). During compile you can transform this into many different styles — even using plain text markdown transformations. There is a new Section Type, and each section type can have a specific format (page breaks, font etc). So you can customise from the same project specialised outputs optimised for EPub / HTML5 / DOCX / LaTeX and many others. There are many more changes, including custom metadata types (like dates), unified bookmarking, a cool new copyholder UI, snapshots manager and everything is faster and "flatter". For existing users of Scrivener, many things have changed and you should really have a look at Appendix E of the new user manual and the L&L blog posts about V3.0 (the user manual is made in Scrivener>MMD>LaTeX and it gives you an idea of how flexible Scrivener compiling can be).
Like (9)
Version 3.0
bobembry
16 December 2016
I've been using Scrivener for a long time. It is great ★★★★★. A trial copy can be downloaded from their website. Also there is lots of helpful info on their site.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.1.2
Raro
18 July 2016
The download file provided is not version 2.80.3 but version 2.8 (26295), created: 15.07.2016. Checking updates within Scrivener results in the following message: Scrivener 2.8 is currently the newest version available.
Like
Version 2.80.3
Baerele
18 July 2016
Sadly the update is not working on Mac OS 10.11.5. The tech support does not answer to emails with crash logs. I would really like to sort out this problem.
Like
Version 2.70
6 answer(s)
Max-G
Max-G
18 July 2016
Baerele, did you check their forum?
Like
Baerele
Baerele
18 July 2016
sjk to run Mac OS 10.11.5 you need to be on Intel and you are OS X 10.6 or later.
The developper does not answer e-mails. This might be a problem on their web server. But after two month it is unsettling.
I would rather not rate but MacUpdate forces me to rate the product.
The forum is nice but does not answer the crash at launch of Scrivner.
Like
Max-G
Max-G
18 July 2016
And this doesn't help either?

https://scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb/macos-troubleshooting/scrivener-crashes-after-upgrading-to-el-capitan-os-x-1011

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7279461?tstart=0
Like
Jayaii
Jayaii
18 July 2016
No problem with the update on my machine running 10.11.5.
Like
Baerele
Baerele
19 July 2016
Max_G Thank you for the link that help me to sort it out.
Like
sjk
sjk
19 July 2016
I misread your post, Baerele - sorry. Coffee first next time. :)

"I would rather not rate but MacUpdate forces me to rate the product."

Select Comment under the 'Leave a Review|Comment' dropdown menu.
Like (2)
Macbookpro
16 July 2016
2.8 Is Out...
Like
Version 2.70
raodabing
01 May 2016
good app
Like
Version 2.70
ezgoing1004
22 March 2016
I bought during the ongoing promotion. I got an email. But I followed the instruction but can`t find serial number on the receipt. someone helps me~~
Like (3)
Version 2.70
4 answer(s)
mldeleon22
mldeleon22
22 March 2016
I have the same issue as well!
Like
trolithflint
trolithflint
22 March 2016
me too
Like (1)
91-kfinn
91-kfinn
22 March 2016
Same here. The email said it was included in the serial number section, but there was no number there.
I tried all the other numbers that came with my receipts and am now waiting on a reply email from MacUpdate about this.
If I do not receive the serial number I will be claiming a refund through PayPal.
Like
Todd-MacUpdate
Todd-MacUpdate
22 March 2016
Hi ezgoing1004, we're encountering a temporary issue with our receipt pages which we are working to resolve and expect to have fixed very soon. Once fixed, your serial number should appear in your receipt right away. In the meantime, you can send us an email at support@macupdate.com and we'll be sure update you as soon as the issue is resolved. Very sorry for the inconvenience.
Like (1)
adrianwilliams
19 March 2016
Scrivener takes to getting used to. What made me give it a 3star review is due to having used it for 9 months on and off, I'm still not comfortable with the layout options and yesterday I spent 2 hours on creating a video storyboard using a table with 4 columns. I resized the columns and scrivener decided to mess the whole layout up and lose most of my work. Luckily I'd saved a pdf. I'll be copying and pasting the content into another product other than scrivener.
Like
Version 2.70
alyssonlago
14 March 2016
Best writting tool EVER
Like (2)
Version 2.70
LuxLogica
03 November 2015
One year after my last review, I'm disappointed to see that Scrivener seems to have received so little love by its developer. The interface has seen minor upgrades, but still looks dated and less intuitive than its competitors. Most importantly, no work has been done towards better integration of Markdown, which is still a second-rate citizen. Working with Markdown in Scrivener is just barely doable, but it's certainly not the way you're supposed to use the program. There is no syntax highlighting or previewing, and you're supposed to work in conjunction with an external processing app, like Marked. Most of Scrivener's nice features - such as word counts, footnotes, editor's marks, etc. - do not function well if you work in Markdown. Cumbersome, to say the least, and in some instances, unusable. Professional writers that target printed media *exclusively* these days are a dying breed. The amount of writing work available for social media posts, blogs, online courses, and digital content far outweighs the offers of printed work. If Scrivener supported Markdown - and CommonMark - appropriately, it would easily become an indispensable tool for digital content writers, as well as paper ones. As is, its utility is increasingly more and more limited.
Like
Version 2.70
1 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
15 March 2016
Um, I use both Multimarkdown and Pandoc daily with Scrivener (academic writing) with no problems whatsoever. Both MMD and Pandoc are **text** formats, the whole point is you write text, and the syntax is logical and looks sensible. Syntax highlighting is irrelevant for many markdown users. So is preview IMO, first you write, *then* you fiddle with layout. Layout is distracting and irrelevant to crafting the meaning of the words from which your text is wrought. But Marked works well if you can't write for some reason without seeing prettified text.

Nothing comes close to the sheer organisational power of Scrivener, the way to keep all your figures, notes, tags, references etc. closely integrated with your text. The UI is hugely flexible, going from no chrome whatsoever to full control and all of these easy to save as layouts.

Ulysses is fine looking software, and beautiful in its minimalist design, but can't hold a candle to Scrivener when it comes to the power to organise and construct ones ideas into words.
Like (1)
ylluminate
21 October 2015
Still waiting on realtime multiuser editing on this end before I make a commitment.
Like
Version 2.70
Fotodivr
01 October 2015
This has been my go to app for writing since day one since it was published. The developer has always been ahead of the curve in making sure that his development kept up with the iterations of annual publication of a new MacOS. He has done that on the AppStore - version 2.7.1 is there. However, here we are seeing 2.7.0 - same one I have had for a while. It does not work with El Capitan - no matter the storyline above. Constant crashes of Scrivener after upgrading to El Capitan. Won't even start up. Before I upgraded to El Capitan, I checked on the Literature and Latte site to see if there was an update. 2.7 (I should be fine, I thought to myself) Self was fooled. Now to be able to use the 2.7.1 upgrade, do I have to pay $45 and download it from the Apple App store? I hope not. Sure don't see it here. Upset? Yes. I am in the middle of finishing one book and starting another. Scrivener has been my indispensable tool. Until now. It appears that the only way I can get back to work is downgrade from El Capitan back to Yosemite. Not happy.
Like
Version 2.70
1 answer(s)
Oldmiller
Oldmiller
01 October 2015
I received this solution (which helped in my case) instantly from the developer after I send in a report: https://scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb/mac-os-x-troubleshooting/scrivener-crashes-after-upgrading-to-el-capitan-os-x-1011
Like
michael-on-mac
20 July 2015
I am using Scrivener to write fantasy novels since 2011. I mostly use it for organizing my ideas and keep research within one handy file I can easily backup. Scrivener is so powerful, that I am just using half of its functions, but I am glad I bought it. Some people complain that they are missing an iOS version to work on the go, but I really don’t mind. It looks fine on retina displays and is fully compatible with Yosemite. Since Apple is offering iCloud Drive I am storing all of my project files in the cloud and access it from my Mac Mini at home and my MacBook Retina on the go. Scrivener even picks up on the same exact line I was editing before closing the application on one Mac to open it on the other, which is kinda great.
Like (1)
Version 2.60.5
Okeedoak
21 June 2015
Pro: The more I use it the more I like it (except for the cons). Con: It crashes a lot when importing a web page. The more imports the more likely it is to crash. Sometimes it won't open the file with the imported pages either. This happens on two different machines.
Like
Version 2.60.5
wringkle
09 June 2015
How do I purchase a discounted windows version ??
Like
Version 2.60.5
1 answer(s)
Lumac52
Lumac52
11 June 2015
http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/54360/scrivener-windows

Currently 50% off
Like
yojehee
08 June 2015
I bought Scrivener and recieved receipt for that, But I can't find any activation code in receipt. How can I find that?
Like
Version 2.60.5
2 answer(s)
Ridger
Ridger
18 June 2015
I also bought Scrivener, (Jun 12) using Paypal. I did not receive a confirmation email with an activation code. I contacted MacUpdate who sent a link to eSellerate. It did not work. I re-contacted MacUpdate who have not responded. I have now reported the problem to Paypal's Resolution Centre.
Like
Seedy
Seedy
13 September 2015
Scrivener might be a great program. I never got through the registration process, which I find to be a bit invasive. It's inexpensive enough to be tempting when on sale, but then after payment they require name, address, etc to register, then the serial they send isn't enough, there's an activation code, which will not paste in and when entered into the many little fields, doesn't work. One has to submit to a third-party registration system to get that. Not sure, but it looks like they are trying to monetise customer info in lieu of license fees so they can price-war Ulysses. Anyway, I'm done with their crap, tried several times. When a program is unnecessarily complicated just to register, it's easy to extrapolate that it will be that way in use. And I don't want an ongoing relationship where my writing software sends postcards to the devs.

Jer's Novel Writer is simpler yet useful and possible to find free. He went on to be hired by Apple, so perhaps he knows how to write an app. Text Wrangler makes text files without any formatting, which makes pure writing really easy and they can be opened in any text editor or word processor, probably even in a kitchen appliance. Again, free. And no registration tangles that might someday tie up my work in their machinery until I ransom it back.

I wanted to like Scrivener, I still have a paid license. If you like it, great. This is for people who would also object to their registration scenario so you know in advance.
Like
Prophetom
02 June 2015
Hello There, someone/anyone. I am in about 10 different directions this morning and wasn't prepared for a Scrivener special. My question is this, Is this promo a full version or a trial version in which needs to be upgraded? I am looking for the full version at a great price not just a piece of the pie. I know upgrades always come up and I'm willing to upgrade later at a reasonable time. Can anyone tell me if this is a full version?
Like
Version 2.60.5
3 answer(s)
Jfm
Jfm
02 June 2015
It is obviously the full version. When the next major upgrade comes, I do not know. But what I DO find strange is that you rate that app with two stars just in order to ask a question, without any evaluation of the app itself?? Instead of submitting a comment and not a review, which would have allowded you to ask your question without rating the app. It does not make any sense (unless it is merely lack of familiarity with MU environment), and such a rating should be deleted by MU staff, IMHO.
Like (1)
Prophetom
Prophetom
02 June 2015
Jfm, Thanks for the feedback... you are correct I am unfamiliar with MU environment. Thanks for your patience while I learn my way around.
Like
gscrive17
gscrive17
07 June 2015
I didn't know about doing the stars which would be more visible if placed down by the "SUBMIT " button instead of where can don't notice it. I didn't do it either and tried to edit it in after you mentioned it. Bad format error on YOUR part.
Like
sun008sun
02 June 2015
I purchased this S/W. but In insatalling this program, I have to enter serial named and serial number. I received serial number. but I don't know serial name. How to know the serial name??
Like
Version 2.60.5
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
02 June 2015
The code you received in your receipt is actually a 100% off coupon code. To redeem the code and receive your full serial number please visit http://macupdate.literatureandlatte.com/. Once you have your full serial number, you'll then be able to activate the software!
Like (1)
Sjnmu
02 June 2015
I encourage anyone who is serious about 'writing' anything beyond simple letters to take advantage of this deal. I bought Scrivener a couple of years ago, and it completely changed the way I write almost everything. I've used it for short fiction, long fiction, academic papers, and journals - it's such a huge step beyond 'word processing' that you'll never go back. There are certainly some solid competitors out there - particularly for specialized areas like script writing - but Scrivener is such a versatile tool, that it will probably cover every other need perfectly. And at less than $23, it's a steal. There are some valid grumbles about slow development (UI changes, long-awaited iPad version), but the program as it stands is still excellent - and tech support has always been quick and responsive. It really will change the way you approach writing projects…..
Like (1)
Version 2.60.5
Ginny1Spencer
03 May 2015
Ihad bought an older version 2 or 3 years ago at $75.00 and never received a hard copy or any help. I am currently trying out the latest version and will probably buy it for my dear MAC if I can get some help before I go blind. I like the newer version quite a bit but don't really understand where to put things or set up the flow of the Chapters.
Like
Version 2.60.5
1 answer(s)
amcmo
amcmo
31 May 2015
It's a download only, and I've been using it for a number of years. Support is exceptional. The tutorial that's part of the download is self explanatory. If you're still struggling, go to the forum on their web site. I wish all forums and support were that good.
Like (2)
lemon-kun
20 April 2015
As others commented, Scrivener is still a good tool but development has become very slow. This is what I feared when I heard there will be a Windows version of Scrivener… We have to wait with new features until the Windows-version has caught up…
Like
Version 2.60.5
1 answer(s)
amcmo
amcmo
31 May 2015
You're right, development is slow, however it is still hands down the best. I've tried them all. Seems we got to the stage we expect updates all the time, regardless of actual need.

I do agree the Windows version is behind (Mac was after all first), however it's close . I have both versions and have no problem jumping between the two.
Like (1)
Slice313
03 April 2015
Incredible good tool! Make doing though work a pleasure, that deserves 5 starts.
Like (1)
Version 2.60.5
Bento de Espinosa
18 October 2014
It's very useful also for making ebooks for my own Kindle from texts I copy from the internet. It exports them beautifully!
Like (1)
Version 2.60.5
2 answer(s)
Ginny1Spencer
Ginny1Spencer
03 May 2015
Could you help me with getting a story book fior kids over to Kindle or Amazon?
Like
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
03 May 2015
When you write or paste text in Scrivener, you can export it (compile) as an eBook. There are sites who explain this in more detail, if it has to look more professional.
Like (1)
LuxLogica
08 October 2014
Scrivener is a powerhouse, but I must agree with the reviewer below, that the interface is now outdated, and proper support for Markdown is urgently needed. I use Scrivener mostly for writing programming tutorials, and therefore have to include a lot of code blocks in different programming languages. Although I tried using Scrivener+Marked, it turned out to be simply too cumbersome - specially when I often have to use laptops with small screens, and keeping multiple windows and apps open simultaneously is a chore. This forced me to start using Markdown, and alternative Markdown editors, with their built-in previews and automatic syntax highlighting. Now that I'm used to them, going back to Scrivener would be absolutely impossible - as much as I dearly miss its project management and research features.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Teksestro
05 October 2014
PROS: Scrivener has many project-management features not found in many other writing tools. Cards on a corkboard - as old-school as it may sound - are still incredibly useful. So is being able to work in Outline mode, set word-writing targets, and keep a wide variety of searchable metadata on every piece you write. Being able to keep all your research snippets - per files, web links, photos, etc. - and your notes together with your writing in a single project file, is absolutely invaluable. Finally, the multitude and flexibility of export options means that it is a truly adaptable tool that can be used for many different types of writing projects, from technical specifications, through legal reports, to the next international best-seller. CONS: Scrivener's interface is outdated, visually polluted, and unintuitive, so you should expect to spend many hours trying to view all the tutorial videos on their website, before attempting to be productive. Many modern features that are standard in even freeware packages are sorely missing, such as: - proper support for Markdown and MultiMarkdown either with inline auto-formatting (such as in Ulysses, Writer Pro, ByWord) or with a built-in preview pane (such as Mou or LightPaper) - Easy-to-use Tags (as in Ulysses), instead of an archaic and difficult-to-use keyword system - Smart Lists (like in the Finder) for,automatically searching your notes and research based on content and metadata - Smarter focused writing modes: a 'focus on sentence' mode (like Writer Pro), and 'focus on paragraph' - Smart text and grammar analysis tools - ie, auto-highlighting of nouns/adjectives/adverbs/etc (like in Writer Pro) rather than a mere word-counter. - proper built-in Maths and equation parser (automatically included with most MultiMarkdown writing tools) - proper built-In automatic syntax highlighter (for auto formatting code written in programming languages), included in most tools that can handle MultiMarkdown and output to HTML. CONCLUSION: while Scrivener is still a very feature-full and capable tool - specially for complex and long projects - its outdated interface and lack of more helpful writing features means that it is now a less compelling tool for serious writers. Newer Markdown editors, like Write, Ulysses or even Writer Pro, offer a writing experience that is friendlier, more helpful and with features that are more compelling to the casual writer. Professional authors, and those constantly working on multiple complex projects, will still find Scrivener's project-management features invaluable. However, unless the developers dedicate some substantial effort to update and modernize its interface, I fear it will be just a matter of time before these other tools start offering file and project-management features that will render Scrivener obsolete.
Like (6)
Version 2.5
4 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
16 October 2014
Hm, I write scientific papers exclusively in MMD, and I have to really disagree with the "outdated, visually polluted" CONTRA you state. Scrivener is amazingly flexible and powerful, yet if you use Window > Layouts you can easily set up different UIs for your needs. My minimal UI layout isn't "outdated".

You seem to conflate "outdated" with: it's not a native MMD editor.

I have Multimarkdown Composer & Marked, and I've looked at Ulysses 3 as much as I can (which is beautifully designed in a minimal way, the Scrivener developer also agrees), but the pretty minor benefits of markdown syntax highlighting and bare-bones feature sets are far from the essential requirements of writing complex texts for me.

The sheer organisational power of the binder, of dynamic collections (your smart lists), of Quickref panels, of split pane editing, of detailed meta-data management, the transformers-like UI, the detailed per-section versioning, the slice-n-dice flexibility of compiling, and the significant numbers of other features, means that even for MMD, nothing comes close to Scrivener (yet).
Like (6)
Anastasio
Anastasio
16 October 2014
I completely agree with Nontroppo. How important Scrivener is for 'the casual writer', I don't know; but for professional writers and writers of complex documents Scrivener continues to be absolutely invaluable. I thank God every day for his decision to send among us a person called Keith Blount. And I never experienced Scrivener's interface as 'outdated'; on the contrary, I continue to find it very pleasant.
Like (6)
amcmo
amcmo
31 May 2015
I disagree on the outdated interface. I write novels and university assignments in Scrivener without problems. I prefer functionality over glitz.
Like (1)
bobembry
bobembry
12 December 2015
Specifically, what's wrong with the interface?

Do the software tiles you recommend have all the features that make Scrivener so useful?
Like
Rothmans
28 September 2014
Purchased this as part of the MacUpdate Bundle. Provided SN does not work. Email to MacUpdate has not produced a response
Like
Version 2.5
7 answer(s)
ahriman-1
ahriman-1
29 September 2014
My SN wasn't accepted either. The receipt says, for Scrivener, to enter your activation code and redeem your Scrivener serial number.

I can't find anywhere to enter an activation code.
Like
jamiehoward
jamiehoward
29 September 2014
I got the serial number in the MacUpdate email, but Scrivener asks for a registration name as well. Nothing I put in there works. Frustrating to say the least.
Like
Snackwog
Snackwog
29 September 2014
I am also having trouble registering Scrivener. I entered my name and serial number provided in the email. Didn't work. I tried every possible iteration of my name (uppercase, lower case, spaces, no spaces, etc.) and nothing works.
Like
jamiehoward
jamiehoward
29 September 2014
The link to the site where you enter your activation code is in the email MacUpdate sent. I don't think it's on their website. Check your email (at the bottom) for the link. I'm activated and happy ;)
Like
Snackwog
Snackwog
29 September 2014
Thanks to jamiehoward for pointing out what to do. I didn't notice the link in the email. For anyone ending up here: activating Scrivener is a two step process. You must click on their link in the email and go to the Scrivener site. There you will enter the activation code and your info. THEN, you will get the serial number. It's easy, I think, to miss this point since all the others are pretty much enter the number in the email and go.
Like
ahriman-1
ahriman-1
29 September 2014
I don't allow html for viewing emails. There was no link, just the text which would be 'clickable' if you were viewing html.

Perhaps that link could be in the purchases section on the MacUpdate site. Html in email can be malicious so I block it.
Like
tyson-vieira
tyson-vieira
01 October 2014
Same here. All the apps in the September bundle works except Scrivener. Frustrating cause that was the main reason for the purchase.
Like
Johninsapporo
09 May 2014
Scrivener truly is amazing. It's obviously created by someone who knows what it is to brainstorm ideas and gather them into a coherent whole. It's well worth $45. And a steal at half price.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Mknphotos
08 May 2014
I've published 3 books that I've written with Scrivener. If you do any long form writing at all, you owe it to yourself to check it out. And it this price, it's a real deal. I can't say a bad thing about it. You won't be disappointed.
Like (3)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
gscrive17
gscrive17
07 June 2015
Does the work you do on the TRIAL get TRANSFERED to the one you purchase?
Like
Sjnmu
08 May 2014
Scrivener is an amazing app - I have tried many writing apps, and it stands out as by far the most flexible and powerful. Support is great too - both direct support and an active forum. I think it's a bargain even at full price - and I would encourage anyone who writes anything longer than a Tweet to try it!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
burkanov
14 April 2014
Scrivener is very cool and mighty app. I used it for research and writing UX-related stuff (user interviews, personas, user stories, e.t.c.) It has lot of features and therefore a relativ complicated interface - but it's logical, predictable and self-explainable (unlike Devonthink). This software has a good spirit. I wish it long and successful life and all the best to dev team. The only thing I was really missing was a good clipping extension for Safari.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Bento de Espinosa
20 February 2014
I just can't live without this application!
Like (2)
Version 2.5
jemib
15 November 2013
I like it, the only problem I've had is importing a huge Openoffice document. Can't get that to work, but must be a problem with the huge document itself. I also like the company, they seem to be a bunch of nice people.
Like
Version 2.5
Radus
13 November 2013
Version 2.5 ; Mavericks is unusable there is a terrible slowdown in scrolling pdf's inside scrivener ("laggy") - we can not work with it ! please correct this bug, it is not on the apple side - preview under mavericks is very fast
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Radus
Radus
01 May 2014
Ambrev thanks for your answer, meanwhile I switched to DevonThink Pro, it is a little bit better suited for my pdf-needs, in DevoTink Pro is not any problem using pdf's, don't know who's kit they use - but it is a 64bit .app so there may be there are the differences - between pdf-kit 32bit and pdf-kit 64bit ?
Like
Aargl
02 May 2013
Scrivener is also very useful as an organization tool, classifying documents in folders or using the documents as you can use styles in Word to classify bits of information. It's not its primary use, but it's doing great at that too. The only reproach I can make is the dev's promise to make localizations, years ago! It has become a kind of Loch Ness Monster... (except that someone pretend they have seen Nessie ;-)
Like (2)
Version 2.4.1
2 answer(s)
Pacmanen
Pacmanen
31 October 2013
there is localizations now just not sure if they are what you missed :-)
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
31 October 2013
Great news! Thanks for pointing that! :-)
Like (1)
Gazman
09 March 2013
Just wondering why MacUpdate doesn't list Scrivener as one of the highlighted (red) applications? Every single writer I know uses it.
Like (3)
Version 2.4.1
2 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
06 April 2013
Indeed, I've also wondered that. Also Scrivener is the single application that has converted more people I know to switch to Mac than any other.
Like (2)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
27 October 2013
Probably because the developer doesn't pay a fee for this privilege.
Like
Exegete77
09 March 2013
Scrivener has become my default writing program. I edit a magazine, and have one project for that. Another project handles all my blog posts (4 blogs). Another one handles all my seminary curriculum. And a 4th project handles all staff meetings. The export capabilities have vastly improved. Now my word processors are only used for small project, those with Hebrew, or finalizing the Scrivener export. I have been using for 3 years but extensively in the past five months. Nothing compares for my needs.
Like (3)
Version 2.4.1
star-affinity
01 March 2013
Wow, that's a long list of changes/fixes. I'm not usong this software, but I've been following it since it's early days and it seems to be really well made suff.
Like (1)
Version 2.4