Back to iCalamus page
iCalamus free download for Mac

iCalamus Reviews

2.19
07 February 2019

Desktop publishing solution.

Brumm
06 November 2008

Most helpful

Wow, a professionell DTP app for 195 Dollars/129 Euros? Well, with all the white it looks a bit like early Quark versions, but it is really super fast, has a well thought-out interface, good comfort, many clever features. Compared to the price tag of Quark and Indesign this is just unbelievable. Trying out for 5 hours now, where are the bugs, is there any catch? Too poor I have bought Indesign CS3 a couple of month ago, I think I will try this app a bit longer before buying the CS4 update (....or not buying). Overall a very good first impression. Alltough a full featurered 30 day trial would be much better.
Like (6)
Version 1.15

Read 20 iCalamus User Reviews

Rate this app:

zlazkow
01 May 2019
To be competitive to the best in desktop publishing SwiftPublisher, it needs to be priced competitively, to be affordable at $20-$30.
Like
Version 2.19
Miner
26 June 2018
I was not aware iCalamus moved to LemkeSoft, of well deserved GraphicConverter fame. Feels like a good match! With that, the info on this MacUpdate page needs some heavy revisioning....
Like (3)
Version 2.17
anonymous-trout-1840
13 February 2017
Good for 90% of all possible layout jobs. If you want to layout the yellow pages, you need InDesign :). The engine is faster then iStudio Publisher, scrolls smooth on my MacBook Pro. I switched from iStudio Publisher because that app doesn't use paragraph and text styles. You need to copy and paste the styles there. Only 4 stars because it doesn't have a baseline grid (yet). The developer is very responsive and even replied on a sunday.
Like (2)
Version 2.14
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
07 February 2019
interesting, I use SwiftPublisher, and it is superior to Apple Publisher in everything.
Like
Cattus-Thraex
12 February 2017
As compared to its competitors (Publisher Master and iStudio Publisher, or some other simpler e.g. Publisher Lite or even Pages, mainly the older version, which allows to link text frames) it is overpriced. I was one of its initial users,, but the developers did not keep their promise to add new features, e.g. to not lose footnotes, smth solved in the late 1990’s. If you wish to pay a lot of money for an overpriced app, do it, there are a lot of cheaper and more robust solutions.
Like (1)
Version 2.14
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
06 October 2018
it is overpriced compared to SwiftPublisher and iStudioPublisher. Standard price for such application is $30.
Like
badbadger
29 July 2016
There is no function baseline grid for the text. Even in Scribus is this function. Without this it is impossible to make a professional looking publication. CMYK support is not enough to name the application "solution for desktop publishing" Calamus is most suitable for creating school newsletters.
Like (1)
Version 2.13
Jan-rybar
23 May 2015
It is not a real software, only a toy. Every REAL DTP software must support full docx import: iCalamus do not know footnotes, tabs... Great for a birthday party design, not for real work. That is a pity: InDesign needs a strong competitor. QXP is dying, Scribus and iCalamus are too simple. :(
Like (1)
Version 2.08
Cattus-Thraex
16 January 2015
I have the same question like some 7 years ago, when I first purchased it: where are my footnotes?
Like (2)
Version 2.08
George-Fidias
02 March 2014
Great software but no support: submitted an issue on 2014-02-01 19:07 CET - still waiting for an answer...
Like
Version 2.03
2 answer(s)
Ulf-Dunkel
Ulf-Dunkel
04 March 2014
I saw your statement here right now and immediately checked our email base - no issue report from you. Where did you send your issue report to, George? Ulf Dunkel (invers Software)
Like (3)
George-Fidias
George-Fidias
04 March 2014
I sent you an email explaining how I submitted my issue report.
Like
MacUpdate-Lon
06 March 2012
It should be known that on the developer's site it does state: "You can use iCalamus for free. The unregistered version offers a lot." http://www.icalamus.net/icalamus/download.php?lan=en
Like (4)
Version 1.26
Bentley
27 November 2010
This app looks like it does have some interesting features that others either don't have or have buried, and it is a bit cheaper than the retail price of either Quark or InDesign. However, I am confused by some of the comments here - I mean, why would you even want this app if you already have one of the "big guns" that are already established as industry standards? Sure, ID CS2 & CS3 are a few versions behind, but there is absolutely nothing wrong with them and they pretty much do it all. Especially if you also have the design suite which interacts easily between all of the programs - automatically updating changes made in Photoshop for instance. Where is the benefit of spending money on and learning yet another app that printers may have a harder time dealing with if it is not an industry standard app they are familiar with? A curious designer wants to know...
Like (2)
Version 1.23
2 answer(s)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
18 May 2011
Your question(s) is/are justified, yet they are aside the issueȘ according to your logic, nobody would create a new app as lognas there is at least one similar to it! Otherwise, it is clear that a professional, already Quark or ID addict, would not switch to iCalamus. My reproach is yet of other type: iCalamus began in force, but still lacks some feature, which are absolutely necessary, e.g. footnotes—if a document have footnotes, they vanish. This cannot be admitted. Note that iCalamus is the ONLY application really usable by linguists and dialectologists, allowing to place as many diacritical marks as you need (e.g. more above or more below). Try to do that with any current DTP application, and you will see the difference. Such bold, but small competitors of giants should be encouraged, not discouraged to go on.
Like (2)
Bousozoku
Bousozoku
21 October 2012
The original Calamus came from a time when Pagemaker and Ventura Publisher were the industry standards and there were quite a few light solutions. Calamus did a lot more, much more easily. To change your own question: Why would people switch to Quark Xpress (or InDesign later) when Pagemaker or Ventura Publishers were already there?
Like (3)
Pacman
24 November 2010
These people know what they're doing; they've been in business for more than 22 years and have already made the best desktop publishing application worldwide (Calamus for Atari ST). For quite a while, I've been wishing that Calamus existed for the Macintosh. This 'initial release' of iCalamus is promising; I look forward to see this as the major application for Mac, which makes people want a Mac. For the developers: Keep up the good work; I believe you're among the few who can make a huge difference in software for the Mac!
Like (4)
Version 1.23
1 answer(s)
Macmuser
Macmuser
03 September 2018
How I remember Calamus and OLine on the ST, both years ahead in many respects. I set up a design business using Calamus, left my career and earned enough for my first Mac. Then moved to Pagemaker, QuarkXpress and inDesign. I've played with Calamus in OSX and think if only the author moved to Apple for System 6,7,8, it could be the best in class. The price is excellent. But for major work Quark and inDesign are must haves.
Like
Miner
24 November 2010
There is a special at TheMacBundles.com this week for $75, and an anouncement that it will be on MacZot soon. Still too expensive for me, and too advanced. I'll stick with BeLight Publisher for my needs. Or my cherished copy of Canvas X!
Like
Version 1.23
Brookhaven
24 April 2010
As it's on sale today for $79, I thought I would give it a whirl. It does have a long list of impressive features, but there are some important gaps too. Three that stand out to me are that there is no Contents/Indexing facilities, no footnotes and no tables. The app also crashed a couple of times when trying to set it up in a book format. So still some way to go yet.
Like (2)
Version 1.20
Rubaiyat
20 March 2010
The problem with ALL OSX software using OSX's printer drivers and .pdf filters is that they will not produce files suitable for commercial printing. Something that will not be remedied until Apple chooses to do something about it. Only QuarkXpress and Adobe Indesign currently have industrial strength printing.
Like
Version 1.20
1 answer(s)
Soderberg
Soderberg
27 November 2010
Does this (admittedly somewhat convoluted) workaround address the issue? http://www.icalamus.net/tutorials/howto_create_pdfx.php?lan=en I'm not a print/graphics professional, but I do need to do this kind of work done sometimes (for myself); since macZOT has this at $79 right now I am definitely looking at it.
Like
Version 1.23
Opeter
10 September 2009
Sadly, there is no table support. If that one could be implemented, this would be a hell nice of an application! Especially with the multilanguage support, that it got already.
Like (1)
Version 1.16
Brumm
06 November 2008
Wow, a professionell DTP app for 195 Dollars/129 Euros? Well, with all the white it looks a bit like early Quark versions, but it is really super fast, has a well thought-out interface, good comfort, many clever features. Compared to the price tag of Quark and Indesign this is just unbelievable. Trying out for 5 hours now, where are the bugs, is there any catch? Too poor I have bought Indesign CS3 a couple of month ago, I think I will try this app a bit longer before buying the CS4 update (....or not buying). Overall a very good first impression. Alltough a full featurered 30 day trial would be much better.
Like (6)
Version 1.15
Maclover1-1
17 March 2008
I cannot even start to rate this app. At first it seems wonderful.. yet I keep running into all types of bugs (I'm on a MacPro, 10.5.2). Bugs range from unresponsive text boxes, flawed text wrapping and many many others. At times I'm saved by my backed up files (not the automated ones since each time a file has gone corrupt on me... the automated backup is as flawed as well obviously) at other times I need to just close my file without saving it, reopen it and things are responsive again.. it gets very tiring and stressful. I really wanted something to replace IndDesign (which I used to replace XPress) I just hope this app gets stable or it can really be a misery in a beautiful disguise.. I cannot imagine I am the only one to have suffered this ?!
Like (1)
Version 1.12
Thomas-U
18 November 2007
Version 1.11: Many new features, now runs on Tiger (10.4.5 and newer) and Leopard; good support - developers are quick to response to bug-reports.
Like (2)
Version 1.11
Cloudniner
08 December 2006
I used Calamus back in the late 80's and early 90's on an Atari TT. IMHO the absolute greatest DTP on the market bar none at the time. The PC world was still using Dos stuff (yuck). Hope they get this up to speed to match the performance of that great Atari program that I very much miss.
Like (2)
Version 1.04
1 answer(s)
Macimesser
Macimesser
27 November 2011
Look here: www.calamus.net I still use it.
Like (1)
loukash
11 October 2006
This could become a good and easy to use layout app. But after a couple of minutes playing with it I'm already missing: - Spot colors - Moving objects between layers - Deselect all - Join path - Zoom/Move shortcuts à la cmd-space - Quick page preview - Editing guides - ... And there's no Services support. Why? I thought it "just works" in Cocoa? Not ready yet to replace InDesign 2 (!) which is what I'm still using for my layout work.
Like (1)
Version 1.01
4 answer(s)
Mimo
Mimo
11 October 2006
Just some comments on your points: Spot colors. Yes I'd like to add spot color support too, but OSX does not officially support spot colors yet. Moving objects between layers is possible by cut/copy/paste, of course. We'll come up with more convenient stuff soon. Joining (and other operations) of paths is possible! And: Joining is used also for live masking. See the acording promotion demo movie on our site There are lots of shortcuts already to move (+ hand tool) and zoom (+ zoom tool)! Editing of helplines is possible of course. Helplines are just locked by default. You can even move helplines together with frames and vector points (I love it :-) Quick page preview. You can use iCalamus Navigator Inspector or Preview app for that. Let me invite you to further discussions in our Forum. Greetings from germany, MiMo
Like
Version 1.01
loukash
loukash
11 October 2006
Danke für die Antwort/Thanks for replying. I'll check out your forum then...
Like
Version 1.01
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
29 April 2009
The fact that the Quartz PDF/X-3 filters do not support spot colors should not stop you. I wouldn't wait for Apple to fix a problem they don't own up to having.
Like
Version 1.16
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
06 July 2009
Spot colors are missing from OSX output, full stop! …and also PDF/X-3 is also a screww up. You will need to go to a Pro DTP app like InDesign or Quark XPress to get past this. They don't use Apple's booby trapped print engine. Thank you Apple for screwing up the computer that invented DTP!
Like
Version 1.16