Back to Shimo page
Shimo free download for Mac

Shimo Reviews

4.1.5.1
12 January 2017

VPN client – for everyone.

Marcus-0f8ce3e5
26 August 2015

Most helpful

I've been using Shimo since v2 and I love it. The latest upgrade on v4 is super slick and even more stable. Great job Feingeist! :-)
Like (5)
Version 4.0.1

Read 74 Shimo User Reviews

Rate this app:

Atalantia
24 March 2019
Its not really good and not really bad. It works with some bugs. But for what it is, it is way to expensive.
Like
Version 4.1.5.1
dr-s-1
10 June 2018
After some innitial tun/tap problems which were sorted out by Shimo support the app is working flawlessly.

P.S . - MacUpdate plese dissable the CoinHive running in the background of your web!!!
.
Like
Version 4.1.5.1
Zguy001
02 March 2018
This app is the worst! It is so buggy and they never update it! Just see what happens if you make a mistake with the VPN password. You will get endless error dialogs and will not e able to try again with a new password for several minutes.. It is basic things like this which they never fix!
Like
Version 4.1.5.1
theo-langstrumpf
14 February 2018
Cool app!
Like
Version 4.1.5.1
Mindplay
09 January 2018
Tested extensively and really wanted to like it but the problem is that it's so unreliable... Connections suddenly break... app trying reconnecting forever (of course it never succeeds). It works fine the first times but from day two onwards it's just a bag of issues. Contacted support which is aware of the problems and does indeed respond promptly to support requests, but I'm holding this damn license since years only to keep using open sourced apps Pritunl or Tunnelblick. Disappointing.
Like
Version 4.1.5.1
Avalon IT
03 April 2017
It does not have security, many times it disconnects silently, here is the technical support answer (now I'm using windscribe client):

How to shuts down every internet activity as soon as the user’s VPN connection is dropped?

Shimo Support <support@shimovpn.com>
I guess the reason with Shimo is that the target is more on the business market where users need to connect to their work vpn to do remote work or access remote files. In that case it's not that critical if your vpn connection drops, you just won't be able to access the files anymore.

A killswitch is a good feature when you need all your traffic to go through the vpn server and are reliant on that, which is the case when you would use a VPN provider, but they mostly offer their own clients with this feature.
Like
Version 4.1.5.1
john-53
20 February 2017
Trial expired instantly after installing. I can't evaluate this software at all. Additionally, it's deathly slow to start.
Like
Version 4.1.5.1
lewthaddeus
16 November 2016
The creator is very understanding to my deaf needs that requires notetaking for my school and he helped me a lot. and shimo4 is highly recommended. try it and you will not regret! thanks for help tobias!
Like
Version 4.1.4.2
jjulius50
11 November 2016
I just started using Shimo and it is great. I am using it to establish a PPTP connection(which OSX 10.12 does not support) as well as to establish OpenVPN connections. It was easy to set up and works flawlessly. Additionally, I was quite pleased with the customer support I received. Shortly after purchasing a license, I saw the license for a lower cost and wrote to Feingeist. With in a very short time, Feingeist took steps to refund the difference in the price I paid and the sale price. Thus, I would recommend this product.
Like
Version 4.1.4.2
Atalantia
06 November 2016
Full of bugs! Although the implemented openvpn shell is not directly connected to the software. So once the openvpn connection is established it has nothing to do with Shimo.app anymore. Shimo doesn't respond of unexpected disconnection, so the triggers are just fancy frills. Shimo does not disconnect openvpn after quitting. And Shimo does not recognize an already established openvpn connection after start. Weak performance for an app that costs 52$.
Like
Version 4.1.4.2
Alicekollan
27 October 2016
It is useful but it is too expensive!
Like (1)
Version 4.1.4.2
li12
25 October 2016
Earlier today I upgraded from OS X 10.11 to macOS 10.12 and realized that it no longer supports PPTP, so I downloaded Shimo to try it. Immediately upon starting it, there were 4-5 connections to various domains caught by Little Snitch. IMHO security-related software should not open unexpected outgoing connections. Because of that I uninstalled Shimo. Later today I decided to give it another try, but now it is telling me that there are 0 days in the trial period. Perhaps it is great software, but opening unexpected connections is not good, and punishing users for uninstalling it is not good either (I understand that it is probably done to avoid resetting the trial period, but c'mon... if it leaves some indication that it was ever installed, it could also leave indication WHEN it was installed, so upon reinstall one could continue the trial period).
Like (1)
Version 4.1.3
1 answer(s)
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
01 November 2016
These "unexpected connections" are to our license server to check license activation and to our analytics server to provide us with (anonymous) usage data. The latter can easily be disabled through Shimo's preferences.
Like (2)
Bernhard-Steindl
16 October 2016
I love using this vpn application! Shimo supports a wide variety of vpn protocols and is very easy to use. After the initial configuration I just have to start the app, click on the app icon in the menu bar and select the vpn server or account to connect. The app works very well on my mac and has a great user interface design. The developers of Shimo also offer a student program. I definitely recommend Shimo to every mac user. I found no better alternative vpn application for macOS.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.3
1 answer(s)
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
21 October 2016
Thanks for sharing your opinion, it is very much appreciated!
Like
shaunhalldesign
03 October 2016
Shimo is perfect for me and if you have the need for several VPN configurations at once then look no further. Works smoothly, the interface is useful and great to use. Now that VPN has changed for OSX, Shimo is your perfect solution.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.2
1 answer(s)
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
21 October 2016
We are very pleased to read that
Like
p-10
29 September 2016
Absolutely the best VPN App on the market. Company support works superb!. Highly recommend to everyone who would want to have all VPN connections organized. A little bit pricey but worth every penny. A++++++++++++
Like (1)
Version 4.1.2
MacBookProUser
27 September 2016
My favourite VPN manager on the Mac. What I like most is the ability do define triggers that can automatically connect to my VPN when I am using a hotspot on the road. Configuration was easy, and it can manage multiple VPN connection that can be startet with just a few clicks.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.2
Big Johnson
01 September 2016
HOLY FREAKIN' CRAP!

I haven't checked this page in a while and I'm shocked to see a price of $55 (and 20¢) for this app! Even if it worked excellent I wouldn't spend that much for it.

Viscosity is only 9 bucks and it works MUCH better than Shimo ever did for me. And Tunnelblick is FREE!


Like
Version 4.1.2
2 answer(s)
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
21 October 2016
We respect your opinion and your right to chose the option on the market, which fits your needs the best. However, Shimo has a lot to offer for its price, which is justified by the outstanding user experience, highest security standards, the variety of supported VPN protocls as well as many unique functionalities.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
26 October 2016
As I posted in Feb 2016, I had nothing but trouble using Shimo - every time I disabled it I had to reboot to restore my Internet connection.
So this "outstanding user experience" you speak of was nonexistent for me. In fact it was quite the opposite - a wretched user experience (and big waste of time).

I also tried Tunnelblick, but don't remember what issues caused me to stop. I think I was having trouble getting it to work with OpenVPN, but that may not be accurate.

For many months I've been using Viscosity, despite the developer being a vengeful douche, because at least it works for me.
Like
MGi
26 June 2016
The Shimo.app support/developer started to be very interested in my issue after my first review. I'm able to connect to my OpenVPN server now, but I had to do few changes in configuration that was exported from the Viscosity.app. There are some minor issues, for example I'm not able to connect using .p12 container and there is no trigger for "IF ip_address IS/IS NOT xxx THEN connect/disconnect" or something similar to that for DNS server. But this is something I can live with and hope will be solved in one of future releases.
Like
Version 4.1
RogerKatz
20 June 2016
The current version is 4.1.2
Like
Version 4.1
Aaronk
30 March 2016
I've asked for help on a DNS issue using Cisco AnyConnect protocol for over a month now on 2 different tickets. No reply in the past month. I tried emailing the developer directly also. No reply. I bought the app about 2 months ago and it's never worked! I even provided possible solutions in my ticket but still no reply. At this point, I guess I flushed my money down the toilet.

Note, I'm using 4.0.6 (hotfix)
Like (1)
Version 4.0.5
2 answer(s)
Aaronk
Aaronk
12 May 2016
The good news is that Feingeist support has responded and seems more engaged since my review.

Now for the bad news... Version 4.1 is out now and this is still not working. To make matters worse, I just tested my first Cisco IPSEC connection and the same issue exists! DNS uses local DNS servers, despite config showing that Remote DNS servers are supposed to be used. What a bummer.
Like
Aaronk
Aaronk
25 June 2016
Remote DNS still doesn't work with AnyConnect connections for me in 4.1.2. Just uses the local DNS server instead.
Like
MGi
12 February 2016
Unfortunately Shimo is not working with my OpenVPN setup as expected. Ok, bugs happen all the time and can be fixed, but the support ... The support totally sux. I registered on the support portal, opened ticket where I uploaded logs from Shimo and my Mac and even posted my OpenVPN server configuration to replicate the issue easily. This all happened 4 days ago and they are not able to send at least some notice that they will try to replicate and fix the issue. I'm not awaiting immediate fix, just a bit of interest about the customer. Btw, this is not first time I have such experience w/ Feingeist. I'm giving a half ★ rating because it is the lowest I can give.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.5
2 answer(s)
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
24 February 2016
We would love to help you! You seem to have used our general email address, which does not reach our support team. Please use support@feingeist.io which leads directly to our very ambitious support team, which will definitely help you!
Like
MGi
MGi
24 February 2016
I used the Support link on https://www.feingeist.io/shimo/. Anyway, I'm open to try this again.
Like (1)
Big Johnson
04 February 2016
Shimo support SUCKS!
And the app wasn't any better.

I sent an email to info@feingeist.io on Jan. 31st and received no reply.
Last night I sent another and received a reply with a link to follow.
In order to get help I'm supposed to either create an account or login using my Gmail account.

When you choose the Gmail option, you get a page (https://goo.gl/Vmfr0z) that says:

"Freshdesk would like to:
View your email address
View your basic profile info
Manage your calendars"

And there's a Deny and Allow button.

First of all, If I'd wanted to give them my Gmail address I would have used my Gmail account when I contacted them. I used my Yahoo address because that's the one I use for software issues.

Second, I'm not about to grant access to my "basic profile info" and calendars to someone I don't know, and I don't know anyone in Berlin, Germany.


Recently I installed Shimo to try it out. After using it for just an hour or so I ran into sites that couldn't be accessed because they thought I was in another country. Craigslist blocks most foreign IP addresses so I couldn’t access my account.

I quit Shimo but my IP address was still linked to another country.
I flushed the DNS cache and restarted Safari but it didn't help.
Only after rebooting was my original IP address restored so I could access my accounts.

This is unacceptable! When I disconnect from a VPN my IP address should be quickly restored, there's no way I'm going to reboot every time I'm finished using one.

That's why I contacted the developer, and they think they should be allowed to view my profile and calendars in order to provide support for their software which they're hoping I'll buy?
NO F"N WAY!

Do I get to view their calendars before purchasing? Probably not.

I'd love to know how they're able to provide better support by knowing when my next doctor appointment is, or when my family's birthdays are.


Guess I'll try Tunnelblick next.
Like (5)
Version 4.0.5
6 answer(s)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
08 February 2016
Thanks for sparing me the aggravation you associate with the application. I won't burden myself with trying or buying it.
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
17 February 2016
I finally received a reply from the dev. in which they pointed out that there's a setting to "reset your network configuration when you close Shimo."

I did not have that box checked, so I was hoping that doing so would restore my connection when Shimo closed. It did not.

When I'd started Shimo, Safari was open and I'd been surfing for hours. After Shimo connected to two servers I opened TorBrowser.
I don't know if Tor connects through Shimo when it's running or not, I don't think so. I was able to use Safari and Tor while Shimo was running, but as soon as I quit Shimo all circuits went dead and neither browser could load pages. I Re-opened Shimo but was unable to reach any servers.

Rather than futilely trying to flush the DNS cache again, I simply rebooted and my connection was reestablished.

I've used Tunnelblick before and it looks like I'll be installing it again. Sure glad Shimo had a trial period - saved me 53 bucks - that's an odd price anyway.
Like (1)
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
24 February 2016
We would love to help you! You seem to have used our general email address, which does not reach our support team. Please use support@feingeist.io which leads directly to our very ambitious support team, which will definitely help you!
Like
Mailbutler
Mailbutler
24 February 2016
We are very sorry for the bad experiences you had with our support area. We moved on and fixed our helpdesk according to your comments. You don't need to login anymore to send us a support ticket. Just get started and get help!
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
01 September 2016
Feingeist, I DID send my messages to support@feingeist.io!
I just looked at them all in my email account.

Don't try to pass the buck to me.
What we've got here is failure to communicate.
Like
shaunhalldesign
shaunhalldesign
03 October 2016
Wow, you clearly had issues but I have to correct you, Shimo wouldn't assign an IP address to your connection unless you set it up.

I contacted support about a bug and they came back to me same day so it looks like our experiences have been night and day in difference.

I cannot comment on the permissions regarding your Gmail account, thats Google, not Shimo requesting that, its the basic setting.

Anyway, sorry you had issues. My experience is that Shimo is a great product, does exactly what it says its supposed too. Works with all 12 of my VPN accounts I use for my software management and work commitments and plays nicely with other software such as Mountain Duck and Transit.

I would highly recommend the app, and I have no issues with the support team. Im sorry you did though, thats rough.
Like (1)
Highpass
07 January 2016
Unfortunately I cannot leave a review of how well this application works because the support I need to get it running is nonexistent. I had used a VPN providers standalone application to connect to their VPN, and wanted to try using Shimo instead. The application opens fine, installs the helper application fine, but will not connect to the VPN, saying it cannot load the kexts because similar applications might have similar kexts loaded. Which they don't. I removed all traces of tun/tap and still Shimo wouldn't connect. I installed Tunnelblick and three clicks later am up and running without issue. Please implement a better support system.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.3
2 answer(s)
dwp-1
dwp-1
26 January 2016
Thanks for the comment. Fringiest lost a sale because of your comment. Fringiest needs to understand how important customer support is!
Like (1)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
30 January 2016
I had the same kext problem, and reported it using the in-app feedback system, and got an email reply within a few minutes from the CEO! I worked through that problem (conflict with ExpressVPN), with amazingly quick email support as a demo user. My experience is the opposite of yours, Shimo support was excellent...
Like (3)
amrahmed-cs
03 November 2015
I used Shimo 4 for almost 2 months and it's pretty cool. I think the best thing about it it's easy to use; it's not like the other VPNs with too much unneeded options that distracts users
Like (2)
Version 4.0.3
amrahmed-cs
03 November 2015
I used Shimo 4 for almost 2 months and it's pretty cool. I think the best thing about it it's easy to use; it's not like the other VPNs with too much unneeded options that distracts users
Like (2)
Version 4.0.3
Marcus-0f8ce3e5
26 August 2015
I've been using Shimo since v2 and I love it. The latest upgrade on v4 is super slick and even more stable. Great job Feingeist! :-)
Like (5)
Version 4.0.1
pietz
06 August 2015
v4 looks extremely good, but i just bought Viscosity a couple of weeks ago. What does Shimo bring to the table that Viscosity doesn't? thanks
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
pietz
pietz
06 August 2015
I read around some more and yes Shimo 4.0 does feature a few things that Viscosity is missing. But these things seem to be not very relevant for personal use if i understand them correctly.

also at 5 times the price Shimo is not worth it to me, as i never really had any trouble with Viscosity. It feels like Shimo is focused at companies using it, very much unlike their claim "for everyone".

one thing i also find quite strange is how long the development was inactive and suddenly they're back with a paid update thats also quite expensive.

if you are by far the most expensive player in a software genre you need to show at least that youre delivering a very active development with frequent updates. this doesnt seem to be the case looking at Shimo.
Like (5)
Singularity1927
06 August 2015
Since beta is apparently over, how much will the upgrade license from v3 be ?
Like (1)
Version 4.0
2 answer(s)
Macheritage
Macheritage
11 August 2015
I would like to know this as well. I looked over their whole web site but could not find anything. I just purchased their product a little while ago during the MacUpdate sale.
Like
Singularity1927
Singularity1927
12 August 2015
Chatted with the dev, got a coupon code for 25%.
Like (2)
JacekB4699
18 June 2015
PPTP/L2TP does not work. Support did not respond to e-mails. Money thrown into the mud, do not recommend. No refund application possibilities :(
Like (1)
Version 3.4
6 answer(s)
Scottjl
Scottjl
28 June 2015
Yeh, I contacted support too a few weeks ago, no response. This is abandoned. Can't recommend it.
Like
JacekB4699
JacekB4699
06 July 2015
Version Version 3.4 (3675) solve the problem PPTP/LPTP.
Like (1)
slowbrain
slowbrain
06 July 2015
where did you get build 3675?
Like
fjaeger
fjaeger
08 July 2015
Please enable beta updates in Shimo to get access to the latest version. This should also solve the PPTP/L2TP problem.
Like (1)
slowbrain
slowbrain
08 July 2015
thank you @ChungwaSoft... indeed beta version solved it all, thanks again
Like (1)
Feingeist Software GmbH
Feingeist Software GmbH
20 July 2015
Please visit our new website for general information and support: http://www.feingeist.io/products/shimo-vpn-client-for-mac/
Like
Scottjl
14 June 2015
Prettier than Tunnelblick, and I like the trigger feature. But I can't get it to work with PPTP or L2TP connections at all. Community forums on their site seem to be gone. Is this software still supported?
Like
Version 3.4
4 answer(s)
Dgeo
Dgeo
16 June 2015
Last update 1 year ago, community forums gone. Doesn't look promising.
Like (1)
fjaeger
fjaeger
08 July 2015
We are still alive! Please enable beta updates to get the latest version, which should also solve the PPTP/L2TP problem.
Like (1)
Scottjl
Scottjl
08 July 2015
Latest beta fixed PPTP/L2TP problem, but now I need a new license. Ugh.
Like
fjaeger
fjaeger
08 July 2015
Shimo4 will be a paid upgrade. Shimo3 license holders will get discounted upgrade licenses.
During the beta phase, you don't need to worry about the license. Just ignore the reminder window for now.
Like
dsheeks
05 June 2015
Not a review, just a question. Does this software work with the Fortinet IPSec / SSL VPN? I'm using the horrible FortiClient currently which is unstable on OS X.
Like
Version 3.4
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
08 July 2015
It should work! If not, please send us a short email and we will work together on getting this work.
Like
dbmsserver
28 January 2015
Our company went to AnyConnect from IPsec and I didn't want any ratty Cisco client on my laptop. Shimo "just works" without fuss or complaint and I've never had a problem with it. Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 3.4
hummelmose
27 October 2014
Perfect VPN Client. I use AnyConnect, PPTP and it all works perfectly. And Yes it does support "Send all traffic over VPN", and also a nice feature to flush DNS on connection. It's the best 20 USD I've spent in a long time. Gooooodbye Cisco Anyconnect bloat client.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
aguk
25 October 2014
Not sure why all the whining ... I set up my connection settings to my VPN provider is 2 minutes Cisco IPSec connects no problem ... what support do you guys need if you know what your settings are for your VPN who needs documentation. Works really well .. I for one am happy with Shimo
Like (1)
Version 3.4
iBelieve
30 September 2014
Doesn't it support send all traffic over VPN? Seems kinda crippling for a 40$ app.
Like
Version 3.4
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
08 July 2015
Shimo definitely supports sending all traffic over the secured VPN connection.
Like
bobwen
11 February 2014
The Product Documents are very poor! the only way to get support is go to product forum.
Like
Version 3.2.3
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
08 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on improved documentation for Shimo.
Like
PeterB6993
10 January 2014
Pretty Nice. I was able to in 5 minutes, pull in my cisco file and connect on the vpn. Wasn't completely obvious to me how to mac a connection at first, so it would be nice if you would just add a connect/disconnect button to the list of VPNs. Also the import doesn't work when demo version, but you can actually just doubleclick on your VPN config file and it auto-imports into Shimo, but fails to bring in the group password (which is often hidden intentionally by the IT guys, but just open your cisco profile in text edit and copy & paste it in. The fact that I could do that tells me the importer should be made smarter to auto-import. Overall for complicated stuff like this, far better than most... I'll be sending you my registration $$.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.3
Alessandro82
16 October 2012
does not reset connection on closing very disappointing for a 30 bucks software stay away!
Like
Version 3.2.2
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
22 October 2012
Please send an email to support@chungwasoft.com describing your problem and we will sort this out. Promised!
Like (1)
Ooshnoo
05 July 2012
Honestly... get it right the first or second time. This is now the 10th update since v3.0 came out not too long ago. it's quite the pain in the butt to have to keep installing an update.
Like
Version 3.0.10
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
05 July 2012
Those updates are mostly additional features added after a user requested to add it. To avoid getting nagged by those regular updates, you can configure Shimo to automatically download updates in the background...
Like (1)
Does not work properly... It seems not to be compatible with Lion... It hangs when the App Store is working... :(
Like
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
11 May 2012
It is compatible with Lion. Please send me an email to support@chungwasoft.com and we will find a solution to your problem.
Like (1)
Tgromak
17 February 2012
I've used Shimo under Snow Leopard and loved it. Since Lion, it's been unusable for me. I bought the deal today to add it to another Mac, hoping the problems had been resolved. But nope. Shimo fires up, says its connected to my office's Cisco VPN system, and even gets me an IP address that I know to be in the range of the system at the office. But nothing works. Web browsing -- whether intranet sites for which I need the vpn, or external sites on the greater internet -- never open. It's almost like it has no idea where to look for the DNS information. A waste of $12.99 that I pretty much only spent because of Shimo's integration with Keychain (OS X Lion's built-in VPN client works flawlessly with the work system, but requires my password every time. I bought Shimo primarily so I wouldn't have to enter it). Oh, well.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Neil-M
10 January 2011
It seems good. I tried to quickly to see how the Racoon/IPSec performed on a Netgear FVS 338 in comparison to IPSecuritas (free). It performed equally as well. I have to say the support is very slow. I realise it is only Fabian on his own - but it took 4 days for him to acknowledge my question on the form regarding Forcing all VPN traffic over the VPN
Like (1)
Version 2.3
2 answer(s)
Neil-M
Neil-M
01 June 2011
As a followup. My support ticket was mysteriously deleted. I rewrote it. The question was never answered.
Like (2)
bulljit
bulljit
18 June 2011
I agree, it is a beautiful app that is very stable and feature rich. However without the ability to "send all traffic over VPN" it is not option for my purposes.
Like (1)
Andik2000
24 September 2010
I have problems using the CiscoVPN with Snow-Leo in my office network. Connections to the local file server will crash or be slow while being connected to an external server via VPN (using UDP which is not supported by MacOSX). Now i hoped Shimo will solve this problem - but after a test there are still network problems. Filetransfer to a local file server (WIN 2003 Server) is very slow. Saving files from Photoshop to the fileserver is also slow and sometimes the files are destroyed. If i cancel the connection, all works fine. Also OSX 10.5. runs without problems. If i understand right, Shimo is just a GUI that uses the Cisco-Engine. Is there any chance that Shimo will become a standalone VPN client with its own engine?
Like
Version 2.2.3.1
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
11 November 2010
Have you tried converting your Cisco profile in Shimo to a vpnc profile? Maybe it works better?!
Like
Version 2.2.3.1
Irieblues
03 February 2010
Hello all, I'm new to this arena (MAC) that is... and I was using Hamachi with PC's now we have MAC's and a so called workstation that we use as a server.... Now, with Shimo, is it possible to use it with Hamachi? On the short end... what is the best way to VPN to my "server" when I'm not in the office? Thanks all in advanced!!!
Like
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
fjaeger
fjaeger
11 November 2010
You are able to use Shimo with hamachi, but to answer how to connect with your server when you are not in the office, it would be necessary to know what type of server you are using.
Like
Version 2.2.3.1
Mikaelf
02 September 2009
No I don't. The non existing doc doesn't mention it and my interpretation of a supported protocol is that the product has this feature. Not that I need to install the original product so that it can support itself. Sigh....
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
Mikaelf
01 September 2009
Can someone tell me how to use this with Hamachi? All the profiles except Cisco are greyed out. I have the latest version and I paid the license fee. Documentation is non existing... /Mikael
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Ooshnoo
Ooshnoo
02 September 2009
You do have Hamachi installed and configured already don't you?
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Anotherspot
27 August 2009
Fantastic product - especially when managing multiple VPN connections and replacing need of CISCO client highly recommended up to Leopard Snow Leopard now has Cisco VPN option built-in so may not be required if you are happy with Apple's implementation of VPN connections.
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Mutant
08 August 2009
If you are frustrated with your CiscoVPN client for not integrating with your keychain, this is a great app. Whenever I need to fire up a CiscoVPN connection this Shimo does it quickly and with mouseclicks, it stores your information in the secure keychain, which is a wonderful. I love the Hamachi integration as well. My only desire is for a more well rounded SSH tunnel handler. I keep all my tunnels in .ssh/config, using shortcuts to fire them off and it works well. Shimo doesn't pay any attention to your ssh-agent or any ssh configurations, so if you want to replace terminal for your tunnel management you'll have to maintain .ssh/config and Shimo.. Shimo doesn't make use of the ssh-agent, so I don't even bother using it for ssh functions. All that aside, I couldn't be happier with this product. It is a great replacement for CiscoVPN & Hamachi, 2 clients I use daily.
Like
Version 2.1.1
star-affinity
26 November 2008
Does Shimo use the Cisco .kext's (I guess it does)? We occasionally get Kernel Panics when using the Cisco VPN Client, and it seems to be the Kernel Extensions from Cisco that's causing it... :( Both on Mac OS X 10.4.11 and 10.5.5..
Like
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
Robert-Morton
Robert-Morton
17 April 2009
Make sure you are running Cisco 4.9.01 (0100). Our Kernel panics were reduced dramatically after that.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Pirx
18 November 2008
It is supposed to be a one-fits-all solution, however, it is not there yet and looking at all the open support tickets, there still seems to be quite a bit of work in progress. I you are on a run-of-the-mill VPN, chance is that you will be happy, even totally excited with Shimo. Good idea & concept, if fully implemented Shimo will be great.
Like
Version 2.0.7