Back to Email Backup Pro page
Email Backup Pro free download for Mac

Email Backup Pro Reviews

2.8
29 January 2014

Automated email backup solution.

Psychiatry
26 December 2014

Most helpful

From Squashedsoftware.com Announcement It is with great regret that I am shutting Squashed Software down. Due to my day job, and general lack of time to properly support Squashed Software as it deserves, Squashed Software is being closed indefinitely. In the coming days I will post free license keys for all of our software for anyone to use - but going forward support will be not available. I thank all of our customers over the last 5 and a bit years (as Squashed Software and even longer as Maza Digital) for their support and kind words. Hopefully at some point in the future Squashed Software might return... Cheers, Aaron Here are the free licenses... All licenses use the following registration information: Name: Free Email: RAID Monitor 3: 1982-CA99-3EC9-0F63-F663-A6AD Email Backup Pro 2: 2312-CB7A-DD62-6648-1BB6-334A iTunes Consolidator: 1005-1CDA-C0F1-8BBF-4897-11C5 EasyVPN: 1709-E3F0-AD1F-69D0-7BB5-8A27
Like (3)
Version 2.8

Read 26 Email Backup Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Psychiatry
26 December 2014
From Squashedsoftware.com Announcement It is with great regret that I am shutting Squashed Software down. Due to my day job, and general lack of time to properly support Squashed Software as it deserves, Squashed Software is being closed indefinitely. In the coming days I will post free license keys for all of our software for anyone to use - but going forward support will be not available. I thank all of our customers over the last 5 and a bit years (as Squashed Software and even longer as Maza Digital) for their support and kind words. Hopefully at some point in the future Squashed Software might return... Cheers, Aaron Here are the free licenses... All licenses use the following registration information: Name: Free Email: RAID Monitor 3: 1982-CA99-3EC9-0F63-F663-A6AD Email Backup Pro 2: 2312-CB7A-DD62-6648-1BB6-334A iTunes Consolidator: 1005-1CDA-C0F1-8BBF-4897-11C5 EasyVPN: 1709-E3F0-AD1F-69D0-7BB5-8A27
Like (3)
Version 2.8
2 answer(s)
Beto-Boton
Beto-Boton
10 December 2015
Wishing you all the best.
Like
Tudor-T-Applen
Tudor-T-Applen
08 March 2016
Thank you so much for these. I'm unable to get iTunes Consolidator to work however.
Like
Filou53
02 September 2014
Email Backup Pro is discontinued ! see : http://www.squashedsoftware.com But the developer posted free license keys on the same page
Like
Version 2.8
Michael-Vilain
06 May 2014
Just got an email from the developer for the 5 or so bugs I logged over the past 2 years on this product (and gotten no response from him on them). He's shutting down the company and will be releasing public keys to use this app for free. Based on the bugs, which I hope would be fixed, it's time for me to find a product that works and is supported. This guy took my money and did NOTHING to earn it. I'll remember him.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
Billybob152
23 February 2014
Emailed this developer twice about the same problem. Absolutely no response. DO NOT BUY THIS SOFTWARE. No support.
Like
Version 2.8
Michael-Vilain
04 August 2013
I should have listened to the "poor customer service" comments on this page. How about "no customer service"? I've run this for 6 months or so. In both 10.6 and 10.8, EMP will sometimes randomly select a name from devices on my network and use that instead of 'hostid' for backup filenames. I've mailed the developer a couple times but been totally ignored. At this point, I think the backups are redundant with Time Machine anyway. I can open up mail, go back to a date in TM, and the emails sent and received that day are all there. I hope this developer has a day-job because this piece of junk wasn't worth the $10 I paid for it.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.2
Eodtech
11 February 2012
February 11, 2012 - 2.6.1 update released to fix apps ability to restart after a backup. Back to a 5 star app. This app also backs up your address book and backup / restoring Address Book is an added bonus.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1
2 answer(s)
Mglamb
Mglamb
19 April 2012
Unfortunately, I'm still having the same issues even with this latest update - a full system reboot is needed after a backup in order for Mail to be able to log into my accounts. Uninstalled again. Permanently.
Like
Nimin
Nimin
02 January 2013
@Mglamb: I'm having the same problem as you are when the program preferences are set to restart Apple Mail after a scheduled backup. (I've found that it will work fine if you remove the auto configuration and run it manually.) I did notice that during a scheduled backup, Apple Mail would reopen before Email Backup Pro was finished, precisely what the popup window warns you not to do. By unchecking the "Launch email client after backup" option, I can open Apple Mail after the backup without any problems. Yes, it's a "work-around" that I don't particularly like, but at least I can get an automatic backup. I will email the developer this info, maybe it will give him a clue where to look for a fix.
Like
Eodtech
12 January 2012
Six months after Lion and it's still broken. Don't waste you time and $$ on this app - it does not work with Lion. Apple Mail locks up after this app is run and it's a pain to get Apple Mail back up and running. Anyone with suggestions for a good back up solution for Apple Mail?
Like
Version 2.5.5
Mglamb
04 September 2011
Poor customer service from the developer. I first registered this product in August of 2007 and it has worked reliably until I upgraded my Macbook Pro to Lion. The issue I am now having is that the logins to my various mail servers (IMAP and SMTP) fail consistently after a backup has been run. Entering the passwords in the dialog boxes doesn't work. The only solution is a full system reboot, with the problem recurring at the next backup. A complete uninstall and reinstall has had no effect. A detailed help request with console dump was emailed to support on July 30th and remains unanswered. At this point, the application has been uninstalled and will remain so until the issue is resolved.
Like
Version 2.5.5
2 answer(s)
Eodtech
Eodtech
21 November 2011
2 1/2 months later and it's still BROKEN. Any goo alternate choice for AppleMail ? TIA
Like
Nimin
Nimin
02 January 2013
@Mglamb: I'm having the same problem as you are when the program preferences are set to restart Apple Mail after a scheduled backup. (I've found that it will work fine if you remove the auto configuration and run it manually.) I did notice that during a scheduled backup, Apple Mail would reopen before Email Backup Pro was finished, precisely what the popup window warns you not to do. By unchecking the "Launch email client after backup" option, I can open Apple Mail after the backup without any problems. Yes, it's a "work-around" that I don't particularly like, but at least I can get an automatic backup. I will email the developer this info, maybe it will give him a clue where to look for a fix.
Like
Jimw
27 February 2011
While it has been stated before that Time Machine also backs up Mail it is not totally intuitive on how to do it or more explicitly, how to retrieve mail once it's back up. Here's how: -Open Mail - Launch Time Machine - Either do a search using the search field or browse through the desired box till the message is found. - Choose the messages you wish to retrieve - Press restore the desired messages are retrieved into your current mailbox. So if you're using Time Machine and find a reliable as I do, you already own an excellent way of backing up and retreating old mail messages. So unless this program offers you a specific feature that you really want to spend $10 for, you may have something else more useful to spend your $10 on.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Prologos
11 November 2010
Error with "auto update" here to. Download works fine, then install it over the old one.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Dixieblu
11 November 2010
Tried to update to 2.5.3. Had an Update error! The Update is improperly signed.
Like
Version 2.5.3
GeogProf
09 November 2010
It would be nice if the developer could explicitly state in this MacUpdate.com post which email clients it works with (aside from those cryptically mentioned in the What's New > Version 2.5.1 section). Naturally, I assume it works with Apple's Mail, but what about Entourage, Thunderbird or the newly released Outlook from Office 2011?
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Squashed-Software
Squashed-Software
10 November 2010
The list of support clients are: Apple Mail, Microsoft Entourage v.X, 2004 and 2008, Eudora 6 and 8, Thunderbird 2 and 3, Postbox 1 and 2, GyazMail, Mailsmith, and Outlook 2011
Like
Version 2.5.2
Squashed-Software
07 November 2010
We have not had any contact from you since June last year. We were unaware that there was still a problem. Cheers, The Squashed Software Team
Like
Version 2.5.1
Baannongdong-Kap
04 November 2010
Tried everything including email exchange with the developer. Every single backup gives a dialogue showing that there were errors. Backups are Gigabits and the app won't backup to drop box. Every notification at the end of backup requires looking at the console to see the errors log. After corresponding with the developer and following the suggestions given, there has been no change. Even though I bought the Pro version, it has never worked for me, so I uninstalled it today (I had hoped to keep the email on all my computers up to date without starting each one to download mail.)
Like
Version 2.5
Generalcody
27 March 2010
This is a really nice e-mail backup solution for Apple Mail. I put my backups into my DropBox Folder, and voila! Constant backup.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Eodtech
12 January 2010
Great eMail & Address Book backup utility. Developer VERY RESPONSIVE to email requests, bugs, etc. I highly recommend this software to back up these 2 programs. Very worthy of 5 stars IMHO.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2
7h31ll3g4l
12 January 2010
error backup because? 2010-01-12 02:02:24.540 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Created Squashed Software folder in users Application Support directory. 2010-01-12 02:02:27.009 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Trial Version in use. 2010-01-12 02:02:27.010 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Created Email Backup Pro folder in users Squashed Software directory. 2010-01-12 02:02:27.010 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Moving Backup Engine 2010-01-12 02:02:27.020 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Preferences: Finished Loading 2010-01-12 02:02:27.056 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Email Backup Pro was mis-configured. 2010-01-12 02:02:28.559 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Email Backup Pro launched 2010-01-12 02:02:34.832 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] -[NSOpenPanel _setIncludeNewFolderButton:] is deprecated. Please stop calling it. 2010-01-12 02:02:41.866 Email Backup Pro[1380:207] Trial Mode: Schedule disabled. Run Now allowed. 2010-01-12 02:02:44.299 BackupEngine[1396:207] Trial Mode - Run Now 2010-01-12 02:02:44.684 BackupEngine[1396:207] Results of the Email Backup: Checking for destination... Quiting email application... 2010-01-12 02:02:44.692 BackupEngine[1396:207] Quiting Address Book application... 2010-01-12 02:02:44.694 BackupEngine[1396:207] Creating backup files 2010-01-12 02:02:44.701 BackupEngine[1396:207] Backing up Mail... 2010-01-12 02:02:46.728 BackupEngine[1396:207] Backing up Mail Attachments... 2010-01-12 02:02:46.731 BackupEngine[1396:207] ditto: no files for PKZip archive 2010-01-12 02:02:46.738 BackupEngine[1396:207] Tue Jan 12 02:02:46 CET 2010: Backup failed. Please see above error messages. 2010-01-12 02:02:46.869 BackupEngine[1396:207] Cleaning up after failed Backup thank bye
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
1 answer(s)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
12 January 2010
Why not send this error log to the developer?
Like (7)
Version 2.4.1
Desert-Celt
23 September 2009
A mail backup program that doesn't allow browsing? Really? What good is it. Mail Steward is the standard here and although it costs more than Email Backup Pro the feature set far outshines the weak ones listed for this program.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Jfm
Jfm
11 January 2010
It is a completely different use: Mail Steward is meant for ARCHIVING, while Email Backup Pro is designed for BACKING UP. You cannot compare products that are doing different things!
Like (4)
Version 2.4.1
Tomdoherty
16 August 2009
This app just keeps getting better.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Tomdoherty
17 September 2008
A fabulous little 'peace of-of-mind' app.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Macericg
13 July 2008
I was hoping this software would do two things: 1) Allow me to browse archived email 2) Function separately from the Mail client Sadly, neither is the case. This is an all or nothing "solution." Backup all your email to an archive with no viewability of its contents, and restore it all back to your client overwriting your current email in the process.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.4
Cymorrow
27 June 2008
I bought this software based on my need for archiving my emails from Apple mail so that I could reduce the online size of my Apple mail. But after I paid for the license (very cheap) and set it up to use it, I found that the functionality I wanted was not there and the function that was there is already available in Time Machine (TM), hence I have no use for this software. What Email Backup (EB) does is provide a timed automatic backup of your entire email. In doing this it merely replicates the same functionality that TM already provides. Even worse, with TM, I can do selective restores whereas EB does not, it can only restore the entire email DB to the point of time when the backup was taken. So this precludes any ability to archive (and remove) emails because if I restore from the backup, any new emails would disappear. The developer explained that the purpose of EB was to provide a last resort backup. Well that is exactly what TM provides. Each backup file created is a full backup, no incremental or differential backup capability is provided. I tried in vain to think how I can use this for archiving purposes but any scheme I came up with wuld not work given the current functionality of EB. The developer did say that they are thinking about providing an explorer type function to view the contents of the backup file. That and the ability to restore selected emails from the explorer view would be a great addition in my view. But in the mean time, I will remove the software from my system and rely on TM for the same functionality. I rated the value as a 3 only because it was so cheap and got it at 40% off from Macupdate.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
13 July 2008
I tell you from first hand experience, Time Machine is not reliable. People think Time Machine is the god of backups, and it is far from it. It has a nifty interface and integrates well with a few Apple apps, but it is prone to corruption.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
Jfm
Jfm
13 July 2008
Moreover, one should be aware that Email Backup was created before Time Machine existed - and that there are still people who do not use Leopard!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.4
Danio
27 May 2008
I've used this utility for over a year, beginning with version 1. Version 2 improves on version 1 in a number of useful ways, I was more than happy to pay the small upgrade fee. At first version 2 did not work correctly for me; the developer was responsive and tireless in his actions to resolve the issue. This is not the kind of attentive assistance you get with all software houses. Version 2 simplifies and automates E-Mail and Address Book backup, not just for Apple Mail but for a number of other popular E-Mail clients; it's a worthy and recommended tool!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Azzurro99
27 May 2008
After a problem on my MBP related to Run Now command, the author replied very quickly and released the current version 2.0.1 which works perfectly for me.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Jfm
27 May 2008
This app works very well. I have used it for sveral months now. I did never experience any problem for backing up. Since I did never need to restore, I cannot say how it would work in such a case, but this is meant as a last recourse for a possible emergency situation anyway, and the fact that the app is working well makes me confident that I wouldn't have any trouble.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Sapporobaby
24 September 2007
This can be done by doing the following: **** From the Mail Help ***** To back up mailboxes and addresses, make copies of: The Mail folder, located in the Library folder of your home folder. The file com.apple.mail.plist, located in the Preferences folder of your Library folder. This file stores the preferences you set in Mail Preferences. The folder AddressBook, located in the Application Support folder of your Library folder. The folder AddressBook contains the information in your address book, which is used by both Address Book and Mail. Use Automator, archive the file, and you are done. You can use Automator to also restore.
Like
Version 1.4.1