Back to The Unarchiver page
The Unarchiver free download for Mac

The Unarchiver Reviews

4.1.0
09 February 2019

Replacement for the built-in Archive Utility.

Dspencer3491
18 April 2010

Most helpful

Does what it is suppose to do and is very efficient and a small file. Stuffit is Microsoft quality compared to this
Like (18)
Version 2.3

Read 272 The Unarchiver User Reviews

Rate this app:

Just-Annutha-Dewd
24 February 2019
I've been a long time user and fan of The Unarchiver. It does one job and one job only, and does it well. Well mostly. It has always had issues with multipart RAR archives that are named like this: archive.part01.rar archive.part02.rar ... and so on. In the past, The Unarchiver would just give an error and quit, forcing me to resort to an alternative to open the archive up. It's disappointing enough that the software has never been updated to address this shortcoming, but the recent update (version 4.1.0) has made things worse, Rather than generating the error and quitting, it now not only fails to generate the error but also moves the first part to the trash. That's unacceptable. Until this is fixed, I can only recommend rolling back to an older version.
Like
Version 4.1.0
1 answer(s)
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
11 June 2019
I just want to add an update to my review above. I've switched to using Keka. It can do extraction in the exact seamless manner like Unarchiver, plus it handles the kind of multi-part RAR archives properly that Unarchiver chokes on.
Like (2)
PaulWilkinson9977
09 February 2019
Works well but would love to see this with dark mode also! Looks a bit rubbish when using MacOS in dark mode.
Like
Version 4.1.0
1 answer(s)
Pjaym59
Pjaym59
09 February 2019
It's not mentioned in the above notes for 4.1.0, but this update does include dark mode.
Like
Sgilbert
10 September 2018
WTH, MacUpdate! 4.0 has been out since June---This is September.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0
nobody2011
15 June 2018
Version 4.0 is out https://theunarchiver.com/ Date: 13. June 2018
Like
Version 3.11.6
Jcraig
30 May 2018
Always one of the first apps I install on a new machine. Rock solid.
Like
Version 3.11.6
Leesa
07 March 2018
Very Nice little app that does exactly what it does great.
Like
Version 3.11.4
Mahdizadeh
16 October 2017
how to open/extract rar5 ?
Like
Version 3.11.2
PaulWilkinson9977
02 September 2017
Brilliant reliable app and used for years. Don't know about others but I seem to be having problems with this new update. Having a few .rar files which aren't able to be extracted, but can be extracted using other apps like Dr. Unarchiver.......
Like (2)
Version 3.11.2
4 answer(s)
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
03 September 2017
I have re-installed it. Works like a dream!
Like
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
14 September 2017
Actually it's acting up funny again. Some .rar files are not opening due to errors yet opening OK with Dr. Unarchiver.....
Like
stew-1
stew-1
15 September 2017
The original developer sold the program to a different company:
http://blog.macpaw.com/post/163484103673/macpaw-bought-unarchiver
The faulty versions are all coming from the new company.
Note also that the program used to be open source, but the new company has taken down the source code. Since there's nothing really proprietary about this simple program, you have to wonder why they want to hide the source code now.
Like (3)
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
15 September 2017
They've ruined this software. Getting worse. 8 out of every 10 rar files I try to unarchive fails. They better fix it.
Like
Quiiick
01 September 2017
Happy to see this useful app being updated after 2 years! :)
Like (1)
Version 3.11.2
Abramurkwian
22 June 2017
Really useful app! It does its job very well. A word to developer: please do add a "Compression" tab in preferences. It is not always desirable to make the archive in the same folder as source.
Like (1)
Version 3.11.1
MichaelHaeusler
31 May 2017
Great app. Best unarchiver. In many years it had a problem only with one archive. Only Keka comes close.
Like (2)
Version 3.11.1
Bumbleb
16 June 2016
Good app, gets the job done. Useful preference options, useful feedback on archive contents that couldn't be extracted. Recommended.
Like
Version 3.11.1
Haliomaster
25 May 2016
The Unarchiver is a good compression tool. That said, it isn't very stable at times. Locking up and crashing happens a lot running it in OS X 10.11.x Nowadays I switched to Keka. Rock solid.
Like
Version 3.11.1
LionessSue
23 November 2015
Handy and supports many formats
Like
Version 3.10.1
uce-hole
22 November 2015
One of those free little utilities that is so handy & free. Thank you dev!
Like
Version 3.10.1
Anon42
24 September 2015
MU needs to update the min OS system requirements. 3.10.1 (still) does not work on Snow Leopard (10.6.7 in my case). No big problem since I've never had a problem with The Unarchiver 3.9.1. {I have my reasons for not going past OSX 10.6.7].

FWIW I still see the kSecDigestSHA1 reference from Sparkle with 3.10.1.

Note that unar and lsar 1.9.1 appear to work (1.9 was crashing too) on my system. So I can at least update my 1.8.1 versions with the 1.9.1's.
Like
Version 3.10.1
1 answer(s)
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
24 September 2015
I changed the requirement to 10.7 when I submitted the update, they changed it back. Sigh.
Like
Jgj
24 September 2015
3.10.1 was quickly released on the heels of 3.10, but on the archive pages and bitbucket I see no 3.10.1 Legacy edition. Does that not exist? There's no unar/lsar 1.9.1 Legacy either.
Like
Version 3.10.1
1 answer(s)
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
24 September 2015
No, those are not affected by the bug so they did not need an update.
Like
Abuosman
23 September 2015
I liked the Unarchiver so much, but the newest version crashes on Mavericks...
Like
Version 3.10
4 answer(s)
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
23 September 2015
I've had some reports of this, so I've tried to change the listed minimum version to 10.10 until I can get this fixed.

Could you tell me which version you are running (App Store, web site, or legacy)?
Like (2)
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
24 September 2015
3.10.1 should have fixed this bug.
Like
Abuosman
Abuosman
24 September 2015
The new release fixed the bug. Thank you for your instant reaction. The problem occurred in both AppStore and website version (I had the former, after the crashes switched to the latter). By the way, the Archive Browser (AppStore version) has thesame problem .
Like
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
24 September 2015
Yeah, there are updates on the way for both on the App Store, but as usual, it's never a quick process to fix bugs on the App Store.
Like
Dougster
23 September 2015
Faultless. Brilliant.
Like
Version 3.10
misjase
23 September 2015
This is simply excellent free software which has for years been my default extraction tool...! I am curious if “better support for Zip, 7z, gzip, and NSIS files” implies updated versions of these modes of compression...? Even so, I have not noticed any issues with these particular kind of files... When it comes to RAR files (split and single) I have so far kept a copy of unRarX (with DIY latest unrar binary) since there has been *rare* instances where The Unarchiver have not been able to join/extract archives (no password involved) or, worse, omitted to extract selections of their contents without reporting. unRarX will, on the other hand, always extract these correctly. But perhaps this unRarX “bystand” will not be a necessary precaution anymore...? I do hope that the unrar version is the latest in The Unarchiver 3.10, but have not found any information about this yet. But as said, this issue concerns RARe :-) cases and will not prevent me from using it as my default unarchiver.
Like (1)
Version 3.10
Quiiick
23 September 2015
Finally! :)
Like (1)
Version 3.10
neartheredrocks
21 June 2015
I also had nothing but problems with The Unarchiver since some time but they are all gone since I downloaded (and use) the legacy version directly from the developer's website. I am glad about this because I really like the quit-after-unarchiving feature.
Like
Version 3.9.1
Penguirl
19 June 2015
I used The Unarchiver for years and loved it. Then one day it stopped working, giving a message that the file was corrupt or incomplete (I don't recall the exact message, this was some time ago). Switched to Stuffit (yes, Stuffit) Expander and haven't looked back. I wish Expander would quit after unarchiving like TA does but that is a minor issue easily handled with a kb shortcut.
Like
Version 3.9.1
1 answer(s)
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
23 September 2015
Try to get 3.10, it should work better.
Like
Mikael-B
14 June 2015
To my surprise I just discovered that Unarchiver won't extract usual TIFF-files properly claiming file format is "unsupported". At least if the archive is a sitx.
In addition Unarchiver won't actually use "use for all" settings if there is a problem when batch processing and you get a dialog on how to handle that type of issue. All following similar issues gives you the same dialog anew even if you check "use for all".

Unarchiver is free and usually works, but maybe it's time to look for a better solution.
Like
Version 3.9.1
2 answer(s)
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
23 September 2015
TIFF files use special entirely secret compression in sitx. Nobody but Stuffit knows how it works or supports it.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
23 September 2015
OK. As it is listed next to .sit and .1 in preferences, that gives a clear impression that Unarchiver supports Sitx and that this is not so in TIFF files should perhaps be made more clear by the error message.
Like
bowski
01 March 2015
great app perfect
Like (1)
Version 3.9.1
richb1993
28 February 2015
An essential app for any Mac owner. Will extract pretty much everything you throw at it and is unobtrusive. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 3.9.1
22soft
30 December 2014
Fot the first time I used it I was very glad. I don't really know whether it's a last version's feature or not but now after double-click on archive file I get 2 times Preferences window and one time working. If you think that it will help you to get donation you are not right. Quite vice a versa.
Like
Version 3.9.1
stew-1
08 December 2014
Still no RAR 5 support even though it's been out for a year now.
Like
Version 3.9.1
anonymous-dingo-1058
06 November 2014
Useless
Like
Version 3.9.1
Manu-V
21 October 2014
Impossible to use with Yosemite. Only the preference panel appears… I hope an update soon !
Like
Version 3.9.1
3 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
06 November 2014
I was able to get this to work with yosemite by going to the website and downloading the version of theunarchiver for legacy versions of os x that aren't sandboxed. The problems seem to only be with the app store sandboxed version
Like (2)
Manu-V
Manu-V
10 November 2014
Thank's Macinman !
The legacy edition work fine.
@#%&*! sandbox ;-)
Like
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
31 May 2015
This is caused by third-party apps doing questionable modifications of OS X. SwitchRes X is one that has been reported to cause this problem.
Like
Macinman
17 October 2014
For the Developer, Theunarrchiver no longer allows file types to be selected and deselected under yosemite. I went to the site looking for a contact link but didn't find one. Hope the dev reads here :)
Like
Version 3.9.1
2 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-1058
anonymous-dingo-1058
06 November 2014
don't hold your breath, seems wont work with yosemite
Like
Waha-06x36
Waha-06x36
31 May 2015
This feature has been entirely removed from all sandboxed apps by Apple in Yosemite. Use the non-sandboxed legacy version to get this functionality back.
Like
gaboleal3010
08 October 2014
It Does not allows me to download it .-.
Like
Version 3.9.1
Orytek
30 August 2014
I'm not able to Queue files for batch extraction. Meaning if I choose to expand several files at once, it does not work.
Like
Version 3.9.1
polocanada
13 July 2014
Works fine but odd thing happens on occasion when batch extracting the files. On occasion it would show error, saying extraction failed, and then all following files in the batch also fail to extract, even through the other files are part of a completely separate archive. When I go to redo extraction, things work fine, but sometimes I end up extracting individual files. There is something with the batch process and it just stops the whole extraction batch instead of stopping just extraction of a specific archive if the archive has an error (which is not a case at all anyways).
Like
Version 3.9.1
Rubaiyat
23 June 2014
I favour this over UnRarX because it neatly extracts RAR, doing everything in the right order. It extracts to a folder and doesn't just dump loose files in the folder. It asks for the password if there is one before running away with the extraction. Clean and neat.
Like
Version 3.9.1
Markoh
14 May 2014
Archive Expert looks like a good alternative: https://itunes.apple.com/de/app/archive-expert/id802854212 Buuuahahahahaha http://i.imgur.com/F3WsUiS.jpg (Archive Expert) http://i.imgur.com/F3WsUiS.jpg (The Unarchiver)
Like
Version 3.9.1
Martin Beneš
19 January 2014
After I had problem with character settings of filename in zip, I tryied The Unarchvier too. What Entropy, Winzip, Betterzip, etc. cant, The Unarchiver can ... I set The Unarchiver as my default unarchiver.
Like
Version 3.9.1
Jean-Loup
05 November 2013
Would be nice to add the compatibility with RAR 5.0. :-) => http://www.rarlab.com/rar/rarosx-5.0.0.tar.gz Thank you !
Like
Version 3.9.1
Foulger
25 October 2013
Doesn't Work in Maverick. Apple native one now works well.
Like
Version 3.9.1
5 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
17 December 2013
3.9.1 works in Mavericks.
Like
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
19 December 2013
It works for me but not like it did prior to the update of the OS. It does unzip the files but always asks permission to do so, says once I click OK it will allow the use of that path. But I have to do this every use.
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 December 2013
@Andrewrodney, I don't have this issue. Are you perhaps not an admin on this machine? It sounds like your user don't have permissions to make changes to the folder in question. Normally the user have full permissions to his/hers folder content under the /Users/[user]/Downloads hierarchy. You can change owner and permissions in Finder or in Terminal with the "chown" and "chmod" command.
Like
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
19 December 2013
I have Admin but maybe it's the desktop permissions where I'm trying to save that's an issue. Thanks, I'll look into it.
Like
Christian-Schwang
Christian-Schwang
05 January 2014
@Andrewrodney, If you downloaded it via the Mac App Store, this is Apple's Sandbox kicking in. You can work around this issue if you download the non App Store Version from the Developer's site
Like
Dougster
02 October 2013
I gave up with Apple's Archive Utility a long time ago after it started playing around,and I found this,The Unarchiver,and it is absolutely rock solid,never letting me down. Thank you.
Like
Version 3.9
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
17 December 2013
I never had a problem opening anything at all with Archive Utility, but then I jumped Mountain Lion and downgraded from Lion to Snow Leopard more than a year ago. Perhaps it was better there. Now I'm on Mavericks. I use Archive Utility for automatic unarchiving together with Hazel which deletes the original and moves the content elsewhere and Unarchiver for when I want to unarchive something and keep the original intact.
Like
Waveman
23 August 2013
Great utility, wish it could "cue-up" RAR files instead of going one at a time
Like (1)
Version 3.8
3 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
02 October 2013
Maybe I'm not understanding you quite correctly, but I find that selecting a bunch of RAR files and simply double-clicking the lot makes then expand one after another without further intervention.
Like
Circlesoft
Circlesoft
02 October 2013
There appears to be a strange bug in OS X that causes RAR files to get lost when clicking on multiple ones at a time. If you click on them one by one, it is more likely to work. I have been unable to find out what causes this, but authors of other programs have experienced the same.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
17 December 2013
I use UnrarX for multiple archives and it will always work, also for the occasional password protected ones. Unarchiver usually works too. I always click the root file and make sure they are all in the same folder next to each other.
Like
freevito
07 July 2013
The Unarchiver is a great app that does exactly what it's supposed to do. It's faster than OS X's built-in archive utility, but the main reason I like it is that it doesn't render huge quantities of memory inactive when I’m compressing large numbers of big files ( ≥ 1GB ). The built-in utility chews up active memory and spits out big-time inactive memory after compressing just a few large files. If you don’t have lots of RAM installed, the system slows to a crawl. I DO have lots of RAM (32GB), but that doesn’t help when I have dozens of large files to compress. Yeah, I know I can use the "purge" command in Terminal.app, and that's certainly one instance in which it's quite useful to clear inactive memory. But with The Unarchiver, there's less need to do that. It creates far less inactive memory. It's my go-to application for compressing files.
Like
Version 3.8
2 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
17 December 2013
What's "large" in your case?
Like
freevito
freevito
17 December 2013
To Mikael B: As my original post specifies, there are "dozens of large files", and explicitly states that they are files ≥ 1GB in file size.
Like
GeogProf
06 July 2013
I like it, but I like Keka better because it’s faster — especially on OS 10.6.8.
Like
Version 3.8
GeogProf
06 July 2013
I like it, but I like Keka better because it’s faster — especially on OS 10.6.8.
Like
Version 3.8
GeogProf
06 July 2013
I like it, but I like Keka better because it’s faster — especially on OS 10.6.8.
Like
Version 3.8
tjekov37
05 July 2013
In AppStore is v 3.7 , and have not update to v 3.8 ?
Like (2)
Version 3.8
3 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
05 July 2013
We do love Apples MAS, don't we? Imo a flawed by design system. Nice to see developers starting to ignore that stuff and had back to the much better system of taking care of the distribution themselves.
Like (5)
freevito
freevito
07 July 2013
The App Store takes control away from the user in the name of "ease of use". Apparently it's part of Apple's ongoing process of dumbing down the Mac experience. I've lost count of how many apps I've wanted to try and ended up saying "No thanks" because they do not offer any other access besides the App Store. Thanks for making The Unarchiver directly available without the the tyranny of the App Store.
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
17 December 2013
I feel Mac App store is good, but we must fight the picture that there aren't developers out there worth supporting that choose to distribute from their own web sites and via sites like Macupdate and others. The Mac app universe existed before App Store and if the people at Apple are smart they will make sure it stays alive.
Like
shidevil
25 June 2013
Easy to use. Fast!
Like
Version 3.7
Ahammer
19 June 2013
Handles more than the built in Archive Utility and gives you options the built-in doesn't.
Like
Version 3.7
Jim-Leff
12 April 2013
Simple. Dependable. Great.
Like
Version 3.7
onlyuser
06 April 2013
Thank you very much. Works just fine on 10.5.7.
Like (1)
Version 3.7