Back to The Unarchiver page
The Unarchiver free download for Mac

The Unarchiver Reviews

21 April 2021

Replacement for the built-in Archive Utility.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
choicebrume419
choicebrume419
Jul 29 2021
4.3.0
0.0
Jul 29 2021
0.0
Version: 4.3.0
i just downloaded this app but its asking for a password. can i have it please?
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
4.2.4
2.0
Dec 7 2020
2.0
Version: 4.2.4
Used to love this. Newer versions want to connect to the internet. Maybe it's nothing nefarious but I have no way to check. For those that care about such things: this once neat little tool now lives in Ukraine.
Aargl
Aargl
May 27 2020
4.2.2
4.0
May 27 2020
4.0
Version: 4.2.2
While I value the advices of Mcr and Derekcurrie — yes, Keka is great! :-) — I keep The Unarchiver around, probably only for RAR or if someday I have a reluctant archive that I'll have to try opening with different apps... I never had issues with it, and if it ever tries to access the internet, Little Snitch does its job. ;-)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 27 2020
4.2.2
2.0
May 27 2020
2.0
Version: 4.2.2
Get Keka instead. Keka's a better, more reliable app. Keka's still FREE (but it's shareware) if you download it directly from the developer (IOW not the Mac App Store). - - https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/32512/keka - - Unarchiver has turned into clunkware, no longer adequately supported.
distreszed
distreszed
May 27 2020
4.2.2
5.0
May 27 2020
5.0
Version: 4.2.2
does the job flawless
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Apr 14 2020
4.2.1
1.0
Apr 14 2020
1.0
Version: 4.2.1
See Mcr's helpful review comment dated 3/5/20 below. "The Unarchiver" was a small, useful utility until taken over by MacPaw, the Ukranian purveyor of "CleanMyMac X," another heavily marketed product of dubious value in the burgeoning macOS "cleaner" space. I've deleted "The Unarchiver" in favor of Keka, as many at MacUpdate have recommended. -SB
jrg-2
jrg-2
Mar 15 2020
4.2.0
1.0
Mar 15 2020
1.0
Version: 4.2.0
It works very well for downloading files from my Samsung Galaxy 8. Unfortunately I am not able to open the archived file on my MacBook Pro. It does not allow me to open specific files. I worked for hours trying to open the files to no avail.
Mcr
Mcr
Mar 5 2020
4.2.0
1.0
Mar 5 2020
1.0
Version: 4.2.0
I have removed this app from my Mac, despite at one time having used it for years. Here's why: 1) App is now owned by MacPaw; acquired from the original developer. MacPaw is the same company that makes CleanMyMac X and CleanMyPC...products and company that have questionable reputation. 2) SENTRY is integrated into Unarchiver, supposedly according to dev to allow for 'crash reports' to be sent back to fix bugs; but Little Snitch shows this app 'phones home' regularly, even when there has been no errors...why? What info is being sent? See #1 above and add 1 + 1, regards companys' reputation etc. 3) source code is no longer open source; ostensibly to hide what calls home are doing and sending. 4) Keka does everything Unarchiver can do, with no RAR errors, and handles more formats, plus Keka can also ARCHIVE and unarchive, while Unarchiver can only unarchive, so why keep two apps? 5) the company has caught on that some users are uncomfortable with their reputation, so they created a website just for Unarchiver (theunarchiver.com) rather than directing users to macpaw.com, thinking this will help mask the fact that it is MacPaw behind the curtain.
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Feb 24 2019
4.1.0
2.0
Feb 24 2019
2.0
Version: 4.1.0
I've been a long time user and fan of The Unarchiver. It does one job and one job only, and does it well. Well mostly. It has always had issues with multipart RAR archives that are named like this: archive.part01.rar archive.part02.rar ... and so on. In the past, The Unarchiver would just give an error and quit, forcing me to resort to an alternative to open the archive up. It's disappointing enough that the software has never been updated to address this shortcoming, but the recent update (version 4.1.0) has made things worse, Rather than generating the error and quitting, it now not only fails to generate the error but also moves the first part to the trash. That's unacceptable. Until this is fixed, I can only recommend rolling back to an older version.
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
Feb 9 2019
4.1.0
5.0
Feb 9 2019
5.0
Version: 4.1.0
Works well but would love to see this with dark mode also! Looks a bit rubbish when using MacOS in dark mode.
Sgilbert
Sgilbert
Sep 10 2018
4.0.0
5.0
Sep 10 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.0
WTH, MacUpdate! 4.0 has been out since June---This is September.
nobody2011
nobody2011
Jun 15 2018
3.11.6
5.0
Jun 15 2018
5.0
Version: 3.11.6
Version 4.0 is out https://theunarchiver.com/ Date: 13. June 2018
jcraig
jcraig
May 30 2018
3.11.6
5.0
May 30 2018
5.0
Version: 3.11.6
Always one of the first apps I install on a new machine. Rock solid.
Leesa
Leesa
Mar 7 2018
3.11.4
5.0
Mar 7 2018
5.0
Version: 3.11.4
Very Nice little app that does exactly what it does great.
Mahdizadeh
Mahdizadeh
Oct 16 2017
3.11.2
5.0
Oct 16 2017
5.0
Version: 3.11.2
how to open/extract rar5 ?
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
Sep 2 2017
3.11.2
5.0
Sep 2 2017
5.0
Version: 3.11.2
Brilliant reliable app and used for years. Don't know about others but I seem to be having problems with this new update. Having a few .rar files which aren't able to be extracted, but can be extracted using other apps like Dr. Unarchiver.......
Quiiick
Quiiick
Sep 1 2017
3.11.2
5.0
Sep 1 2017
5.0
Version: 3.11.2
Happy to see this useful app being updated after 2 years! :)
Abramurkwian
Abramurkwian
Jun 22 2017
3.11.1
5.0
Jun 22 2017
5.0
Version: 3.11.1
Really useful app! It does its job very well. A word to developer: please do add a "Compression" tab in preferences. It is not always desirable to make the archive in the same folder as source.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
May 31 2017
3.11.1
5.0
May 31 2017
5.0
Version: 3.11.1
Great app. Best unarchiver. In many years it had a problem only with one archive. Only Keka comes close.
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
Jun 16 2016
3.11.1
4.5
Jun 16 2016
4.5
Version: 3.11.1
Good app, gets the job done. Useful preference options, useful feedback on archive contents that couldn't be extracted. Recommended.
Haliomaster
Haliomaster
May 25 2016
3.11.1
3.0
May 25 2016
3.0
Version: 3.11.1
The Unarchiver is a good compression tool. That said, it isn't very stable at times. Locking up and crashing happens a lot running it in OS X 10.11.x Nowadays I switched to Keka. Rock solid.
LionessSue
LionessSue
Nov 23 2015
3.10.1
4.0
Nov 23 2015
4.0
Version: 3.10.1
Handy and supports many formats
uce-hole
uce-hole
Nov 22 2015
3.10.1
5.0
Nov 22 2015
5.0
Version: 3.10.1
One of those free little utilities that is so handy & free. Thank you dev!
Anon42
Anon42
Sep 24 2015
3.10.1
2.0
Sep 24 2015
2.0
Version: 3.10.1
MU needs to update the min OS system requirements. 3.10.1 (still) does not work on Snow Leopard (10.6.7 in my case). No big problem since I've never had a problem with The Unarchiver 3.9.1. {I have my reasons for not going past OSX 10.6.7].

FWIW I still see the kSecDigestSHA1 reference from Sparkle with 3.10.1.

Note that unar and lsar 1.9.1 appear to work (1.9 was crashing too) on my system. So I can at least update my 1.8.1 versions with the 1.9.1's.
Jgj
Jgj
Sep 24 2015
3.10.1
0.5
Sep 24 2015
0.5
Version: 3.10.1
3.10.1 was quickly released on the heels of 3.10, but on the archive pages and bitbucket I see no 3.10.1 Legacy edition. Does that not exist? There's no unar/lsar 1.9.1 Legacy either.
Abuosman
Abuosman
Sep 23 2015
3.10
3.0
Sep 23 2015
3.0
Version: 3.10
I liked the Unarchiver so much, but the newest version crashes on Mavericks...
Dougster
Dougster
Sep 23 2015
3.10
5.0
Sep 23 2015
5.0
Version: 3.10
Faultless. Brilliant.
misjase
misjase
Sep 23 2015
3.10
5.0
Sep 23 2015
5.0
Version: 3.10
This is simply excellent free software which has for years been my default extraction tool...! I am curious if “better support for Zip, 7z, gzip, and NSIS files” implies updated versions of these modes of compression...? Even so, I have not noticed any issues with these particular kind of files... When it comes to RAR files (split and single) I have so far kept a copy of unRarX (with DIY latest unrar binary) since there has been *rare* instances where The Unarchiver have not been able to join/extract archives (no password involved) or, worse, omitted to extract selections of their contents without reporting. unRarX will, on the other hand, always extract these correctly. But perhaps this unRarX “bystand” will not be a necessary precaution anymore...? I do hope that the unrar version is the latest in The Unarchiver 3.10, but have not found any information about this yet. But as said, this issue concerns RARe :-) cases and will not prevent me from using it as my default unarchiver.
Quiiick
Quiiick
Sep 23 2015
3.10
5.0
Sep 23 2015
5.0
Version: 3.10
Finally! :)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Jun 21 2015
3.9.1
0.0
Jun 21 2015
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
I also had nothing but problems with The Unarchiver since some time but they are all gone since I downloaded (and use) the legacy version directly from the developer's website. I am glad about this because I really like the quit-after-unarchiving feature.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Jun 19 2015
3.9.1
0.5
Jun 19 2015
0.5
Version: 3.9.1
I used The Unarchiver for years and loved it. Then one day it stopped working, giving a message that the file was corrupt or incomplete (I don't recall the exact message, this was some time ago). Switched to Stuffit (yes, Stuffit) Expander and haven't looked back. I wish Expander would quit after unarchiving like TA does but that is a minor issue easily handled with a kb shortcut.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Jun 14 2015
3.9.1
3.0
Jun 14 2015
3.0
Version: 3.9.1
To my surprise I just discovered that Unarchiver won't extract usual TIFF-files properly claiming file format is "unsupported". At least if the archive is a sitx.
In addition Unarchiver won't actually use "use for all" settings if there is a problem when batch processing and you get a dialog on how to handle that type of issue. All following similar issues gives you the same dialog anew even if you check "use for all".

Unarchiver is free and usually works, but maybe it's time to look for a better solution.
Welandr
Welandr
Mar 1 2015
3.9.1
5.0
Mar 1 2015
5.0
Version: 3.9.1
great app perfect
richb1993
richb1993
Feb 28 2015
3.9.1
5.0
Feb 28 2015
5.0
Version: 3.9.1
An essential app for any Mac owner. Will extract pretty much everything you throw at it and is unobtrusive. Highly recommended.
22soft
22soft
Dec 30 2014
3.9.1
4.0
Dec 30 2014
4.0
Version: 3.9.1
Fot the first time I used it I was very glad. I don't really know whether it's a last version's feature or not but now after double-click on archive file I get 2 times Preferences window and one time working. If you think that it will help you to get donation you are not right. Quite vice a versa.
stew-1
stew-1
Dec 8 2014
3.9.1
4.0
Dec 8 2014
4.0
Version: 3.9.1
Still no RAR 5 support even though it's been out for a year now.
anonymous-dingo-1058
anonymous-dingo-1058
Nov 6 2014
3.9.1
1.0
Nov 6 2014
1.0
Version: 3.9.1
Useless
Manu-V
Manu-V
Oct 21 2014
3.9.1
2.5
Oct 21 2014
2.5
Version: 3.9.1
Impossible to use with Yosemite. Only the preference panel appears… I hope an update soon !
Macinman
Macinman
Oct 17 2014
3.9.1
0.0
Oct 17 2014
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
For the Developer, Theunarrchiver no longer allows file types to be selected and deselected under yosemite. I went to the site looking for a contact link but didn't find one. Hope the dev reads here :)
gaboleal3010
gaboleal3010
Oct 8 2014
3.9.1
0.0
Oct 8 2014
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
It Does not allows me to download it .-.
Orytek
Orytek
Aug 30 2014
3.9.1
0.0
Aug 30 2014
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
I'm not able to Queue files for batch extraction. Meaning if I choose to expand several files at once, it does not work.
polocanada
polocanada
Jul 13 2014
3.9.1
0.0
Jul 13 2014
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
Works fine but odd thing happens on occasion when batch extracting the files. On occasion it would show error, saying extraction failed, and then all following files in the batch also fail to extract, even through the other files are part of a completely separate archive. When I go to redo extraction, things work fine, but sometimes I end up extracting individual files. There is something with the batch process and it just stops the whole extraction batch instead of stopping just extraction of a specific archive if the archive has an error (which is not a case at all anyways).
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Jun 23 2014
3.9.1
4.5
Jun 23 2014
4.5
Version: 3.9.1
I favour this over UnRarX because it neatly extracts RAR, doing everything in the right order. It extracts to a folder and doesn't just dump loose files in the folder. It asks for the password if there is one before running away with the extraction. Clean and neat.
Markoh
Markoh
May 14 2014
3.9.1
0.0
May 14 2014
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
Archive Expert looks like a good alternative: https://itunes.apple.com/de/app/archive-expert/id802854212 Buuuahahahahaha http://i.imgur.com/F3WsUiS.jpg (Archive Expert) http://i.imgur.com/F3WsUiS.jpg (The Unarchiver)
Martin Beneš
Martin Beneš
Jan 19 2014
3.9.1
5.0
Jan 19 2014
5.0
Version: 3.9.1
After I had problem with character settings of filename in zip, I tryied The Unarchvier too. What Entropy, Winzip, Betterzip, etc. cant, The Unarchiver can ... I set The Unarchiver as my default unarchiver.
Jean-Loup
Jean-Loup
Nov 5 2013
3.9.1
0.0
Nov 5 2013
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
Would be nice to add the compatibility with RAR 5.0. :-) => http://www.rarlab.com/rar/rarosx-5.0.0.tar.gz Thank you !
Foulger
Foulger
Oct 25 2013
3.9.1
0.0
Oct 25 2013
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
Doesn't Work in Maverick. Apple native one now works well.
Dougster
Dougster
Oct 2 2013
3.9
5.0
Oct 2 2013
5.0
Version: 3.9
I gave up with Apple's Archive Utility a long time ago after it started playing around,and I found this,The Unarchiver,and it is absolutely rock solid,never letting me down. Thank you.
Waveman
Waveman
Aug 23 2013
3.8
5.0
Aug 23 2013
5.0
Version: 3.8
Great utility, wish it could "cue-up" RAR files instead of going one at a time
freevito
freevito
Jul 7 2013
3.8
5.0
Jul 7 2013
5.0
Version: 3.8
The Unarchiver is a great app that does exactly what it's supposed to do. It's faster than OS X's built-in archive utility, but the main reason I like it is that it doesn't render huge quantities of memory inactive when I’m compressing large numbers of big files ( ≥ 1GB ). The built-in utility chews up active memory and spits out big-time inactive memory after compressing just a few large files. If you don’t have lots of RAM installed, the system slows to a crawl. I DO have lots of RAM (32GB), but that doesn’t help when I have dozens of large files to compress. Yeah, I know I can use the "purge" command in Terminal.app, and that's certainly one instance in which it's quite useful to clear inactive memory. But with The Unarchiver, there's less need to do that. It creates far less inactive memory. It's my go-to application for compressing files.