Back to AddMovie page
AddMovie free download for Mac

AddMovie Reviews

2.0.3
25 April 2016

Concatenates several files into a single QuickTime movie.

Etearl
06 June 2010

Most helpful

AddMovie is listed as FREE, it is not! Addmovie requires a mandatory donation to get a registration number. That's just wrong.
Like (5)
Version 1.8.1

Read 30 AddMovie User Reviews

Rate this app:

H-toelle
24 June 2016
As I write it is June 2016 I have had some interaction with this developer. The last success I had with this software is at present. However I had to use 10.6.8 to accomplish that. If I took it into 10.9 I got nothing but problems. I have experienced this same problem with other packages.. I keep a 10..6.8 partition available just for that reason. Add Movie was a good piece of work . I hope to some day find a comparable replacement. h dot toelle at cogeco dotca
Like
Version 2.0.3
WDS
07 March 2015
Numerous attempts to contact the developer have met with absolute silence.

Like RJphotovideo, I bought the Limit Point Utilities Bundle quite some time ago, but getting any help at all has been fruitless.

Very disappointed, and annoyed.

Caveat emptor!



Like
Version 2.0.2
GeogProf
20 February 2015
Still doesn’t export to Matroska (.mkv) or do many of the other modern video manipulations that are common capabilities in lots of other such apps.

Thanks to the developer for fixing the Help menu’s link to the website, but futzing around with the edges of this app can’t hide the fact that it’s functionality and capabilities haven’t substantially improved in many, many moons. It’s now something of a dinosaur.

iFFmpeg costs 26 cents LESS than AddMovie, it can do everything that AddMovie does, and it’s MASSIVELY more capable. iFFmpeg is probably THE highest rated video conversion and manipulation app made for Macs (at any price point), it’s frequently updated with real improvements (not just niggling little fixes), it’s easy to use once you’ve figured out its basic organization, and its developer is unbelievably responsive — he often integrates new features and releases the update within just a few hours or days of customers’ requests. And perhaps most importantly, MacUpdate.com constantly lauds iFFmpeg, but for many years (until its recent conversion to a more commercial, developer-driven business model) it recommended AGAINST buying ANY Limit-Point Software products due to their horrendous support and onerous business practices.

You will undoubtedly be happier with iFFmpeg (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35846/iffmpeg), or even MPEG StreamClip.
Like
Version 2.0.2
RJC.NJNYC
06 November 2014
AVOID. This developer is useless, as well as their website. I have their "Limit Point Software Utilities Bundle" (even their link on this page is useless) where you get all of their apps with updates forever. Yeah, good luck. Anyone else having problems? Leave a comment, and maybe I'll start legal action to get them to honor their comments.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
19 February 2015
Go to the useless website.
Click on "Download".
move the new AddMovie from the DMG to your applications folder
Launch the new AddMovie
Click on AddMovie on your Apple menu bar
Click on Password
SURPRISE--SURPRISE!!!!
Your forever bundle thingy still works.

Could he have done a better job communicating to existing customers? Yes. Did he rip us off/ violate his promise to us? Nope.

Like
RJC.NJNYC
RJC.NJNYC
20 February 2015
Good News. Limited Points Software has finally come around for their customers. Their MacUpdate software description pages Download buttons now give you the software version described, instead of an earlier version, and their website has been greatly expanded and now also includes the latest software Downloads option, instead of just the Mac App Store option.
Like (1)
H-toelle
17 February 2012
Although it took 14 days. The developer did with regret finally contact me. He did resolve the issue I was having more effectively than I had. Better late than never.
Like
Version 1.9.9
H-toelle
10 February 2012
This program works quite well. However after 4 eMail messages over a period of 5 days requesting support in a very reasonable tone and no reply I can only conclude this developer will be happy to take your money and then leave you high and dry. Although I did enventually resolve my support problem through other channels. The developer "Limit Point Software" has managed to push this Consumer past the limits of customer care. Thank you
Like
Version 1.9.9
Ximenez45
18 March 2011
I would suggest PORKPIEHAT be grateful that the developer is actively improving the app. I would also suggest that he get a life!
Like (2)
Version 1.9.8
PorkPieHat
08 December 2010
I have had about as much of this constant updating as I can take. For more than a year this app has been updated at least once a week, and recently twice a week, and I am sick of it. You can have your damned license back, I'm sick of you. Developer, Please consider getting a life, because your CONSTANT UPDATING is starting to ruin mine.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.4
4 answer(s)
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
11 December 2010
Ah! This is a new one, I never had a request to stop updating any of my programs. I do have a life. In addition to creating AddMovie I have more than 70 individual Mac and iPhone apps I work on, all the time. Recently I have been generating numerous beta versions of my upcoming release of version 2.0 of Mailings, my bulk emailer. In the past month and a half I have produced 12 beta versions for users to try and test. You can see all the programs I work on if you visit my website: http://www.limit-point.com/ I also have three children, two in college and one graduated from college. Yeah I do have a life. Seems to me someone else may need to find a life. Although not updated quite as frequently as once a week, like you say, it is updated often. Probably on average about every other week. That's because I like AddMovie, I like working on it, and other people like it. It's fun! I have added quite a few nifty features to it this year, and I plan on adding more, with more updates. If you don't like it, and the program is alerting you that there are software updates, just turn off that feature in its preferences. Here is how to do that: Select Preferences from the AddMovie menu, go to the "General" pane. Then at the bottom deselect "Check for software updates automatically on program launch." However, I don't think this is your problem because I have not updated the version in software update since 1.9.0. Ciao
Like (6)
Falknerx
Falknerx
11 December 2010
Geez, its not like he's forcing you to update. You should be grateful that the developer takes pride in pushing out the best version of this great app as much as he can, whereas others leave their buggy apps as is for months. Maybe you should get over your compulsion to check this site/update your apps.
Like (3)
Tubo
Tubo
18 December 2010
This type of misbehaviour is disgusting.
Like (1)
Mac-Mail
Mac-Mail
18 December 2010
Did you tell the guy at VueScan too? Flip the page if you don't like what you see. Let people live their lives.
Like (3)
Gbbob
14 August 2010
Although this is a good program, it still just does not come up to the standards of VisualHub. I know it has been discontinued with no support. but it is dtill on the wen in version 4.0, 5.0 beta 2 and allegedly 5. The only problem is finding serial numbers for them but they can be found. I have put up to 18 hours of AVI video on a single sided disk in dolby 2.0 in DVD format that pay excellently on my DVD player in great quality. It is not perfect and does sometimes locks up when doing steps 2 or 3 which is the converting stage to a TS folder but those are rare. I have even taken PAL movies with extras and converted them to NTSC keeping the extras intact but that was a job in i self. It also does a great job with music as well. Version 5 even added iTunes to the list of converters. AddMovies is a great substitute for VB but to this date, nobody has been able to duplicate the abilities and ease of use that was found in VB even though the entire source is available to any programer. I have tried so many video compilers and converters since VB ended. and I still go back to it for my video processing and yes it still works under 10.5.8, I cannot speak for Snow Leopard since I am running a G5 dual 2 gig processor with an ATI X800XT card in it. On a side note about 2 wks ago I fell down a full flight of stares with my Mac in hand and after getting out of the Hospital I called about 10 Apple techs about the odds of plugging it back in while I was using my old Pismo and got a 40/60% in favor that it should work or at most blow the power supply. So I hit the reset switch on the motherboard, plugged and hit the power button with nothing attached. Again bare in mind this fell with me down a full second floor staircase with me due to my vertigo. As soon as I hit the button I heard the start-up chimes and listened to the HDs and I could tell it was booting by the sounds. At that point I painfully cleared the area where it when, plugged the monitor, keyboard and trackball in and before starting did a PRAM and Firmware reset and let the Mac boot. First the chimes, then the Apple and ticker came up, then it went blue and then the desktop came up almost as if nothing happened. The only thing out of whack was my dock but everything else that was set for start-up did. Now to you PC users out there, do you think your PC would have survived such an intense fall? The only 2 things I could not do was get the plastic plate to sit and I solved that by using some masking tape but the Metal Plate was not going back on because the cosmetic damage was on the right side like two face. Then I threw every diagnostic tool at it and I got a CLEAN bill of health. Since then except for a few bugs cropping up once once in a while I have had my Mac running as long as 48+ hours without a hiccup. Thank you Apple for making a machine that can take such a beating and could still survive. I have other stories of Macs durability, one involving Steve Jobs that I plan to post in my blogs on YearBook.com. I already have some up there under Robert Lewis if you wish to pursue them. End of Line... Robert Lewis is a freelance write between jobs Has 23+ years of being a Professional writer for the Macintosh Was a Secondary Science Teacher for 23 years
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
1 answer(s)
Gbbob
Gbbob
14 August 2010
Please excuse the typos, my keyboard needs a good cleaning (as so my head) and some of the keys are not always responding as I type. The misspelling I take blame for, because I did not proof it as closely as I should have. My Doctor said it will take 3 to 4 weeks before my back heal and the fogginess in my head goes away.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.7
Imdoubleplay
27 July 2010
I make it a point never to do business with people who use words I can't understand (e.g. concatenating), because I always think they're trying to take advantage of me. So, for future reference take out concatenating and put in a word that is easily understood by us Stupid people, OK? Carson Cole imdoubleplay@comcast.net
Like
Version 1.8.6
3 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
07 August 2010
If serious, that has to be one of the most inane comments I've seen here. Perhaps consult a dictionary and expand your vocabulary rather than asking/expecting people to conform to your weakness?
Like (4)
Version 1.8.7
TheRoxzilla
TheRoxzilla
08 August 2010
Concatenating means to link things together.... How could one take advantage of you with this word? How could one mislead you by this word? Were you mislead thinking that something magical was going to happen when you concatenated your files? It is useful to concatenate files in several situations, one is a film maker who wants his files linked up in order to watch a video in sequence. Another is someone with a camera that records on digital media, such as the SONY DCR-SR68, which makes a seperate file for each time that you press record/stop.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.7
Xenophile
Xenophile
14 August 2010
Mac OS X comes with a dictionary. Use it. After some time of looking up unknown words, you may find your vocabulary has expanded. Or if you're really stupid, you won't be able to use the dictionary. Judging by your post, I'm betting on the latter.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
Etearl
06 June 2010
AddMovie is listed as Shareware on Versiontracker. You must pay to use this software.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.1
Etearl
06 June 2010
AddMovie is listed as FREE, it is not! Addmovie requires a mandatory donation to get a registration number. That's just wrong.
Like (5)
Version 1.8.1
Alxshopping
02 December 2009
I sent a donation via PayPal three days ago, to receive the code to unlock the product. They never sent me a code and they don't reply to my emails. Has this been discontinued?
Like (1)
Version 1.7
markrfriedman
08 December 2008
Great product. Reliable, fast and easy.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
Demoray
29 January 2008
I bought this little movie tool, and each time I use it I'm glad I did. I've got more expensive movie apps that can join movies, but I always use this one because it's so simple and efficient. The Chapterize feature alone is worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
Akrobat
22 November 2007
I've tried this application and it works for a while. The problem I find is after some time the movie is rendered useless. Quicktime gives an error message saying that certain information can't be found and that the movie is unplayable.... which is a pain of course if you've deleted the original! MovieCat Plugin 1.0 allows you to do the same thing this app offers, so I'm gonna try that instead.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
6 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
22 November 2007
You should report your issues to the developer via the developer's website.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
24 November 2007
Yes, you should certainly report your problems to me, the developer. That's because in this case there is a simple solution to your problem, and the two star rating is undeserved. Moreover, I am highly responsive to emails from users. Let me explain: QuickTime movies can be created as "reference" movies or "self contained" movies. A reference movie does not store the data of all the joined movies in the resultant movie. You typically create reference movies because they save space. A self contained movie, on the other hand does store all the movie data of each movie inside the generated movie. This will of course result in a larger movie file, but it will be independent of the files that were used to create it, i.e. if you delete them the joined movie still plays. By default AddMovie creates reference movies to save space. But you can change that easily. Just open the Preferences window, by selecting "Preferences..." in the AddMovie menu and select the option to create a self contained movie. That should solve your problem. I hope you consider retracting your rating should you find that this is the solution to your problem, as you most likely will.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Sergius
Sergius
26 December 2007
My personal opinion is that having "reference" movies as the default saved type is a mistake from two points of view. First it make no sense because joining multiple movies into one is generally done so as to be rid of the bother and clutter of separate movies, so one usually deletes the separate movies immediately after confirming that the new movie works. Secondly, it serves as a trap to newcomers who aren't aware of the distinction between the two types. For someone trying out your software, it certainly doesn't make a favorable impression to lose some video files because of this default behavior. Having been through this experience with QuickTime, I haven't yet figured out why I would ever want the option to make a "reference" movie. What would be the advantage?
Like (1)
Version 1.3.8
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
26 December 2007
Hi Sergius. I appreciate you sharing your opinion on reference movies. The interesting thing is that the feature was added, in the form it is, in response to user feedback. It's truly hard to decide on such issues without adequate user testing and then basing the decision on statistical evidence. This type of testing, unfortuantely, is presently beyond the scope of my abilities and I have to rely on user feedback such as yours. In this case I agree with you that a self contained movie (or "flattened" movie) may be more appropriate in most curcumstances and I will consider changing the default in the next version. I hope you consider removing your uniform 2 star rating of the product. Thanks. Joe
Like
Version 1.3.8
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
26 December 2007
Hi Sergius, Sorry, I guess you were not the one who gave the 2 start rating. But hoepfully that person sees the request. By the way, the primary purpose of a reference movie is to save space because a copy of the movie data is not stored in the combined movie. This can be quite relevent when the components are very large. The secodary purpose is that a reference movie is created much more quickly and can be used to test the resultant movie. I realize the problem this creates, however, and I have on occasion created such movies only to find them broken at some future time because I deleted the originals :-) The best things I suppose would be to write a short "Getting Started" guide. But, it has also been my experience, based on other software I have authored, that that doesn't always work either. But I'll try it when I get a chance to update the product again. Hope this helps. Joe
Like
Version 1.3.8
Dom21
Dom21
25 April 2008
"QuickTime movies can be created as "reference" movies or "self contained" movies." Unless I'm missing the point, all one has to do is make an 'alias' of the finished, self-contained QT movie and, "presto!"--you've got your "reference" movie.
Like
Version 1.4.7
Arglborps
26 September 2007
Does little, but that without a hitch. I paid for this little gem and it's worth every yen.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.5
webmaster-33
20 May 2007
The developer's responsiveness to the comments of AddMovie is highly laudable. After my first review of AddMovie, most (if not all) of my concerns have been addressed to create an even better program. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.1.10
Ben-marko
06 May 2007
I too appreciate all of the hard work you have put into this. Plus I have now been able to add "concatenate" to my vocabulary.
Like
Version 1.1.9
db
20 April 2007
your updates keep coming, many thanks for all the work you put into this... would it be possible for you to include ver. nos. on upcoming updates (ie: "AddMovie117.dmg") so that we can more easily keep track? Again, appreciate all you do.
Like
Version 1.1.7
Jppagliaro
20 April 2007
Version 1.1.7 provides the option to not "flatten" movies, so that the joined movies may be referenced or self-contained.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
pcharles
04 April 2007
The problem I have with this application is that instead of just joining movie clips together, it renders a completely new clip, which takes a very long time even on my dual core G5. Spitfuse and portfolius allow you to create referenced and selfcontained files and operate much faster.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
webmaster-33
01 April 2007
The basic principle behind AddMovie is simple, but wonderful and useful. I've been searching for a utility to easily stitch a couple of movie files together, and none of the software I already had was doing the trick. Unfortunately, I feel that the interface is somewhat kludgy and it doesn't always flow as well as it could. I first expected the Add button to add movies to the list. The Add button actually combines the movies together, so that button should probably be named something more appropriate, like Merge, or Save Movie. I was also looking to see if there was a way to click on a menu item or button to get an Open File dialog to add movies. That doesn't exist either, movies have to be added by dragging and dropping into the main window. When I did drag and drop my files into the list, they were scattered in the list, and not sorted as they appeared in the Finder, which struck me as odd. Fortunately, there is a Sort button, but that the files ended up jumbled in the first place seems odd to me. And when I tried to reorganize the list by moving some items around, the program locked up on me. One feature I'd love to see would be a Finder-like column view which would allow one to preview each movie clip listed in the table, which would make it easier for someone to determine which video is which when sorting them out in a particular order. So did this utility do the job? One set of movies I put together flowed together wonderfully, no problems at all. Another set I put together seemed to lock up when trying to transition from one movie to the next. If you need a simple utility for a one-time job, this application should do the trick for you.
Like
Version 1.1.2
3 answer(s)
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
03 April 2007
I will be adding the ability to add movies to the file list using the a file menu command. The issue with the name of the "Add" button has been considered before - I'll take your suggestions into consideration. The feature for previewing movies has also been added to the wish list in the past, haven't yet had time to get to that for other tasks, etc. Also, the sort issue has come up previously and I will again consider it, especially the suggestion you provided. Finally, if the program crashed on you (which may be different from hanging) please send the crash log Thanks for the feedback, but not for the 2-star rating :)
Like
Version 1.1.3
Jppagliaro
Jppagliaro
03 April 2007
I addressed most of your issues in version 1.1.4. In this version I: • Added a side drawer window for viewing items in the file list. • Added a "Browse" button to the file list window to display a file navigation window for selecting files to add to the list. This is provided as an alternative to drag and drop. • Added a "Browse" menu item to the File meu to display a file navigation window for selecting files to add to the list. This is provided as an alternative to drag and drop. • When a collection of files is added to the file list at once it is sorted as the Finder does. (To sort the complete list as the Finder does click the "Sort" button.) As for why successive use of the program did not work for you I'd have to discuss that with you offline. Playback issues could be caused by the movie viewer your using.
Like
Version 1.1.3
webmaster-33
webmaster-33
20 May 2007
Thanks for the quick response to my comments!
Like
Version 1.1.10
Virtualruffy
28 February 2007
I use an older version with 10.3.9 without problems. I haven't tried the newer versions to see if they maintain 10.3 compatiblity. I'd like to see the ability to cut parts off a movie included in a future release.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Jppagliaro
26 January 2007
Hello, I added a progress bar, with cancel button, for length operations to version 1.0.7. Joe
Like
Version 1.0.6
Undertow
27 December 2006
Excellent application. I agree with Boris, a progress bar would be nice. But for a free app, I will not b#$%h. I joined 6 Imovies together that where originally 300 megs total. The end result was a 299.9 meg file. PERFECT!
Like
Version 1.0.4
Boris-Bengin
03 December 2006
GREAT little app. The only thing that I would like to see is a progress bar but that's a minor quibble. Nice work.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Bobster
31 October 2006
Well, doesn't this little app ROCK :-) Despite the fact that there are no preferences you can edit, and despite the fact that the joined file ends up being nearly twice the filesize of the segments being joined, I still applaud the developer of this handy utility.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Uzku
08 September 2006
Works perfect, does it very fast and works with several media formats, as already pointed out by the developer. It even works with wmv. Great software
Like
Version 1.0.1
Dom21
07 September 2006
Works flawlessly combining mpgs. The results play on QT and DivX player for me but for some reason not on MPlayer or VLC. Thanks for this swell freebie! (OSX 3.9)
Like
Version 1.0.1