Back to SyncTwoFolders page
SyncTwoFolders free download for Mac

SyncTwoFolders Reviews

2.3.4
05 June 2019

Syncs two user-specified folders.

Elegraphy
12 November 2008

Most helpful

I was looking for a simple folder synchronizer this afternoon, and this one showed up as a new update in today's MacUpdate. I immediately download it and fire up the app, it worked as advertised. Very useful if you look for a simple folder merger to sync two folders mixed with both new and old downloads.
Like (3)
Version 1.3

Read 91 SyncTwoFolders User Reviews

Rate this app:

mwschmeer-2
19 April 2019
This a fairly nice app, but the app's website says you need the "Zx_External" in the same folder in order to sync things. But you can't download the "Zx_External"! It pops up a login dialogue box requesting a user name and password to download. Or am I missing something?
Like
Version 2.3.1
2 answer(s)
Thomas Robisson
Thomas Robisson
19 April 2019
You tried to download the source code, download the application.
Like (1)
mwschmeer-2
mwschmeer-2
19 April 2019
Ah! I was confused by the wording on the website. Ok then, very good. I thought I was missing features because the Zx_External wasn't in the same folder as the app.
Like (1)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
13 April 2019
Oh, if it only could have a scheduling option and can manage more than one task at time :-)
Like
Version 2.3.0
1 answer(s)
Thomas Robisson
Thomas Robisson
19 April 2019
I don't use this function but last time I tested it it worked. Open the Batch window (small button with a boat wheel) and you will se there the settings you saved (to save settings, click the + button near the PopupMenu "Last settings"). In the Batch window you can check the settings you want to launch.
Like (1)
metom222-1
17 March 2019
Does not work well with 10.14.3. Copies but can't see the time line as the spinning rainbow of death is constantly on. When I came back the computer was asleep and I had to shut down the app to see what was going on so it does not alert when finished. You have to run another simulation.
Like
Version 2.2.8
1 answer(s)
Thomas Robisson
Thomas Robisson
28 March 2019
The app hang (spinning rainbow ball) when it copy large file (or large folder if only present in Source or Target but not in the two), maybe is it your case ? You can try open additional settings (small button at the bottom left) and choose "use AppleScript Finder" to copy, in this case you should see the Finder copy window.
Like (1)
karimba45
30 January 2019
This product only allows me to run a simulation not an actual job, any reason why?
Like
Version 2.2.8
1 answer(s)
karimba45
karimba45
30 January 2019
Ig nore that, i had a blonde moment :-)
Like (1)
yahiko
23 August 2018
Will the APP work for keeping two Directories/Folders in sync? I have my photos in one Directories/Folders that is on a drive with a large structure of photos with dated Directories/Folders. What I want is like a back up of a copy of the 2 that are identical to each other. Will this do the trick? Thanks
Like
Version 2.2.7
1 answer(s)
Thomas Robisson
Thomas Robisson
04 September 2018
Yes, if I well understood what you asked the app will do the job. Select your first folder as Source, your backup folder as Target. Then select RadioButton "Source replace Target". The result will be the same as if you deleted your Target folder and copied your Source folder. Except the app will only copy new and modified files, and delete files which no more exist in Source. Files in the two folders (Source and Target) with same modification date won't be affected (they stay as they are)..
Like
Iamdorian
15 February 2018
This has been my go to app for years, but as another mentioned, now it simply does not work: High Sierra. I've sent donations to the author, as his work is appreciated. I can only hope he continues to maintain this fine program? IF he does, I'll send him another $5.00. If more people did, the incentive might mean a 2.3 version update, continuing the legacy. My personal thanks one way or the other.
Like
Version 2.2.6
2 answer(s)
Thomas Robisson
Thomas Robisson
11 March 2018
I'm still using El Capitan. But my app developed with Xojo are suppose to run under High Sierra.
Like
Iamdorian
Iamdorian
30 March 2018
IT may be working once more for me. Curious, but it wasn't before? I'll update this ASAP if it turns out to function as it once did. Sure am happy it does, a very useful tool!

Currently running OS X version: 10.13.3 (17D102)
Like
Kong
15 November 2017
Simple to configure and versatile app that does a really great job. It's free but well worth a couple of $ to support the developer!
Like
Version 2.2.6
Joneichorst
27 June 2017
Loved this application. Although the latest update (v2.2.3) hangs upon launch on my mac running OS 10.11.6, rendering it impossible to use. 3 stars for previous positive history.
Like
Version 2.2.3
2 answer(s)
Joneichorst
Joneichorst
27 June 2017
Reinstalled and remedied the situation. If they let me, I'd update my review to 5 stars. Apologies.
Like
Nicmart
Nicmart
18 August 2017
Can’t you delete your review ad write a new one?
Like (1)
robfol
12 April 2016
Great app, especially for free. I am going to donate $20. Using it to sync two very large music folders on different Macs over my network and it does the job well. Simulation mode is a good idea if you are unsure. Good job!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.8
Aargl
25 February 2016
A little oversight in SyncTwoFolders: it doesn't check inside packages, so if the dates of the packages are the same but the contents have changed it won't sync them (it happens in Scrivener's files and probably others...)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
2 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
13 April 2016
If you click the CheckMark button at the bottom left you will open a additional settings windows. Uncheck "manage those folders as package".
Like (7)
Aargl
Aargl
13 April 2016
Thanks for the tip, Thomas! :-)
Like
Aargl
12 November 2015
I've just tried SyncTwoFolders in a very specific situation where I had problems with other utilities (free and not): syncing a folder with another one located in a Boxcryptor encrypted folder inside Dropbox folder. Believe it or not, it's the only one I've tried that doesn't make Boxcryptor crash, give errors due to file names or else! It won't be my work horse, but for that kind of situation, I've adopted it! :-)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
Aeschylus
10 November 2015
This looks like a fine program that is generously offered by the author with a donation request. I suggest downloading directly from the author's site following reports that this site sometimes adds unwanted software to its downloads.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
lilboots
10 September 2015
I think this app looks great & I'll be happy to donate (I'd love to set it to work every evening automatically too) but it's a bit confusing - what do the little symbols & colours mean when i run the simulation - how can i tell what will happen if there is no key to explain?
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
2 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
26 September 2015
If you display the HelpTag of the top cell of the log window (where's the date is written), you'll see the symbol explanation. You can display it in the FAQ too (link in the Help menu).
Show the Batch window, check the checkbof near the bevelbutton of each day of week, click them all, and set the time.
Like (1)
ososX
ososX
10 November 2015
BigJohnson - you forgot to mention that MB-Guru is $30 ...
Like
Lrwebb
05 July 2015
Very interested in this app, but I have a question; I want to synchronise my iTunes music folder on my external drive to another drive. Thing is I already copied it some time ago, but have since added another 100gb of data. Which option should I choose so that they are in sync and no matched data is copied, just what is new or different? Thanks
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Aapple
06 May 2015
Works really well and the UI is very clear. One update which would be nice is to have the ability to authenticate and run privileged mode to allow copying of more than one's own files. (If I missed an option here, I apologize.) I suspect I could change the internal executable to suid, but I have not tried that. On the other hand I would not ALWAYS want it running in privileged mode either.
Like
Version 2.0.9b2
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
10 July 2015
I worked on a Tips: In a version coming soon, you will be able to quit the App while holding Alt-key at the same time you select the Quit menu. The App will prompt your Admin password, and launch in Admin mode. It's a Tips, be sure of what you do. No help, I will only explain that in the FAQ.
It took me many many times as I had to understand and test command I didn't know. I have a big Headache only writing some code lines.
Like
ososX
16 April 2015
I love this app and use it for many years (donated my share). I have two Macs that I used to partially sync (certain folders). Unfortunately it doesn't work for me with version 2.0.8 on Yosemite (10.10.3). It starts and then freezes - the spin ball of death appears and the application must be forced quit. Anyone encountered this issue and might have a solution for that ? I give 4 stars since its a good application at the end of the day.
Like
Version 2.0.8
3 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
03 May 2015
HI, I'm under Mavericks and I didn't have your issue. I didn't hear from anyone else the same problem as yours. Sorry.

I'm working on adding a scheduler. User will be able to choose at which time (hour/Min) launch BatchSync on each day of the week.
Like (1)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
06 May 2015
Meaningful that a developer still sits on Mavericks (which I also did till 10.10.3, AT LAST -with some tweaks and tricks- an acceptable piece of OS!).
Well, Thomas, even if I share fully your evaluation, in your position you can't refuse to drink the bitter cup… as we accept to use your beta version! ;-)
Like (1)
Tom-25
Tom-25
06 May 2015
My second Mac is running Snow Leopard. I changed my first computer to Mavericks some months ago because Xojo (which I use to develop my softs) didn't run under Snow Leopard anymore. Then I was forced ;-) .
Like (1)
T-J-fd12987e
09 April 2015
I needed an app to do one thing and do it well - sync the content of two folders together. From the title of this app, it seemed that this would do the trick, and sure enough, it does. I like that it has a simulation mode, so that you can test before commiting to the setup that's made before going live with a sync.. Once you're satisfied, you can go "live" and sync away. On the author's page, they accept donations (everyone's got to eat), so I plan to support this good app with my $.
Like
Version 2.0.8
marc-davidson
06 January 2015
Fantastic program, I use it daily to sync to my important files/folders to my dropbox account, thus always having a backup without the hassel of dragging the entire contents over all of the time.
Like
Version 2.0.7
Fleegs
16 December 2014
Does what it should do. Works Fine.
Like
Version 2.0.7
Cjbolland
14 December 2014
Cool app. Works as advertised.
Like
Version 2.0.7
knakzi
14 December 2014
This app crashes immediately. Is it just this version?
Like
Version 2.0.7
4 answer(s)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
14 December 2014
works fine here
Like
Tom-25
Tom-25
14 December 2014
The change I made shouldn't add bugs as they were very minor. Are you sure you use the good version for your system? Default link is for 10.7 and higher. Please go on my website and older version for Snow Leopard and Leopard version.
Like (2)
knakzi
knakzi
15 December 2014
Thanks for the reply.
It turns out, that it works on my 2008 MBP but still not on my 2011 iMac, both running Yosemite.
Like
Tom-25
Tom-25
16 December 2014
I run Mavericks, but the 10.7+ version is suppose to run under Yosemite. Please send me an email if you want to run the Source code (project) to see what happen.
Like (1)
Paolo-Tramannoni
02 October 2014
Absoutely fantastic app. Easy to use, and works very well! Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
Bleech-Jef
01 October 2014
Easy to use sync tool. Works as advertised and pretty fast.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
ososX
02 September 2014
Excellent application. Does exactly as promised, fast and clean. The actions feedbacks in terms of little colored squares, diamonds and other graphical symbols is not friendly, but I'm not complaining. I happily paid the donationware as I use it a few times per week to sync between my Macs.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
Christel1987
01 September 2014
Awesome useful app !!! Its unbelievable this is still free. Can I donate?
Like (2)
Version 2.0.4
badbadger
27 August 2014
The best program of its kind - with the setting "source replaces target" works great if you want to always have a current backup of their catalogs. I use an external drive formatted as ExFAT - then my PC is also easy access to the latest files from mac.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
ModerateConsumption
23 August 2014
Using 2.0.3 and updating my earlier review. This is a very valuable program and now i use it fairly regularly. Does what it says. One suggestion to the developer - there is a green and a red icon (+ and -) next to 'Choose Folder'. These seem to be just gifs and no action triggers on clicking them. I had initially thought that clicking this will add the current settings to the batch window. I later figured out that the + symbol next to 'Last Settings' is the one to click for this. You may want to consider updating the GUI to avoid this possible confusion. Otherwise this is a very good piece of software. Thanks to the developer.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
23 August 2014
Ah ok, I didin't understand in your previous comment. You're speaking about the picture which change depending of the sync mode selected (Reciprocal, Source completes Target and Source replaces Target ). This is a + and - inside (a picture of) a document.
Like
Tom-25
Tom-25
24 August 2014
I change the 3 pictures. Download again if you want (I didn't change version number).
Like
IsaacB4752
03 July 2014
I don't understand the difference between a "dot plus" and a "#+". Can you please explain? I've synced one folder to complete the other and I have many of both results. I've checked both and the files exist in both locations. Also, when completing the target it'll add files from the source but it won't delete items from the target if they are not in the source, correct?
Like
Version
3 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
05 July 2014
Hi, the symbols are explain in the FAQ (link in the dialog box of the help menu), or are explain in the helptag of the textfield at the top of the log window. # means an error (file protected, not enough space, etc.)
Like
IsaacB4752
IsaacB4752
07 July 2014
I'm not sure you understand my question. I know where to find the legend. What I don't understand is that a different symbol has the same result of the file being transferred/synced from the source to the target. Even though it shows #, the file was copied over. Its not protected, and there is enough space.
Like
Tom-25
Tom-25
18 July 2014
Hi, sorry to answer so late but I had trouble to post my answer. You have a TimeOut delay that you can set in the preferences settings of SyncTwoFolders. This TimeOut occurs when a (very large) file take more time to be copied than the TimeOut. The system finish to copy the file, then everything's good, but S2F report it as an error.
Like (1)
PinkPanty
27 April 2014
It works as advertised and it is free. Thank you Thomas. Good app, try it out.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
Aapple
17 April 2014
Strange: Developer says he has only 10.6.8 but the app is only for 10.7?
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
18 April 2014
:-))) Yes, I changed my Mac 2 weeks ago.
Like (2)
anonymous-dingo-653
10 April 2014
Quick Question for which I could not find an answer on the dev's site and right now I do not have time to test: Can this do a one-way sync instead of both ways (which means not really a full "sync")?
Like
Version 2.0.0
2 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
13 April 2014
Yes, reciprocal is two-way sync, Source replace target is one-way sync
Like (2)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
13 April 2014
Thanks, Thomas. I will give it try as I need that one-way for a local one machine step that BitTorrentSync cannot do.
Like
ModerateConsumption
05 March 2014
Have been able to do only one synch set with this app. Unable to add another sync set - the + button (in red) does NOT work. Running the app on 10.9.2 Maybe it is a 10.9.2 issue? Otherwise it seems to be a good, purposeful app. Thanks in advance for a reply from the dev on this.
Like
Version 1.9.9
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
10 March 2014
Hi, I'm still running 10.6.8 and I never ear that it was impossible to add a setting. Why do you say the + and - button are in red ? I will buy a new Mac and test on Mavericks, but not now.
Like (1)
Cjbolland
31 October 2013
Great free app. Works as advertised. The dev should add a donation button. ;)
Like (1)
Version 1.9.5
1 answer(s)
Bidule
Bidule
12 November 2013
You can donate: there is a Paypal button on dev. site.
Like (1)
Old-Peter
11 October 2013
The GUI needs an modern upgrade imo And aren't drawers 'not done' now? :-) But who's complaining, it is free and works as advertised. ;) Good app
Like
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
13 October 2013
Thanks for your review. Drawer window is deprecated, I had to program myself to try to do approximately the same.
Like (1)
Gitte79
25 September 2013
Nothing beats for free. This app works very nice although a bit slow. Could well be because this is written in Realbasic and it is 32bit. If the devs could code this in X-code it would be much faster I guess. Still recommended !
Like (2)
Version 1.9.3
bitshifter
11 September 2013
Very nice. I've been looking for a better sync app for a long time. This meets my needs nicely and works well. It appears to be a front-end for Finder copies, but that's ok by me. The copies are faster than so many other sync/backup apps out there that are just front-ends for rsync (which I find is always slow at transfers.) I mainly use this type of app for large, video file transfers. No excessive CPU or RAM usage I could see. Couple little niggles: the app goes into a non-responsive state during copies. It comes back alive once the copy is done. Also, not 64-bit. Glad to have found it. I needed a replacement for Synkron, which is becoming increasingly unusable. I'll be donating to the developer!
Like
Version 1.9.0
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
13 September 2013
Effectively the App seems to be freeze when copy large file, as the copy command is a single line code (the events are done between line code). I just want to say that you can cancel (and stop) the sync clicking the Stop button on the Finder copy window. I have many small files, and I like the sounds made by the Finder while copying, looks like a machine gun :-)
Like
MuchMac
05 August 2013
This has worked well to fill a simple need I have to "sync two folders". I have been running this several times a week for the last two months. It has been reliable and stable. The interface does use a fair number of symbols. You will need to read the doc to understand the meaning of those. I reduced my rating for Ease of Use for that reason. Still, compared to something like rsync or even some other front ends for rsync, it is easier to set-up, run a sync, and understand what happened. Not quite as easy or pretty as some of the $20-$40 commercial applications that offer this capability along with some others, but an outstanding value as a FREE application for a targeted task. Many thanks to the developer for making this available.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
AlexKW
02 August 2013
every good in use... love it
Like
Version 1.8.6
Mstac
11 July 2013
I get a spinning wheel whenever I launch the app... I'm on Mac OS 10.8.4
Like
Version 1.8.5
Pedromator
24 June 2013
Works very good. There are some drawer-windows which sometimes do not open correctly.
Like
Version 1.8.5
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
24 June 2013
Drawer-windows are deprecated, I did my own code to manage additionnals windows like drawer-Windows. Move them, or move the Main window, while holding down Alt-key to reset them to the default position.
Like
Mattes80
15 December 2012
I appreciate the work the dev has put into it and for backing up or merging two folders it is a great tool, but for me it is not a real two-way-sync that syncs two folders. I just want to sync a folder on my USB and a folder on my mac. Which I thought this app should accomplish from the name and describtion. But when I delete or move something in one folder, it does not delete it in the other folder but rather create it again (in "reciprocal" mode). I guess "source replaces target" mode would do, but than I lose all the changes in one folder if both have been changed. So it does not really sync two folders but rather back up one folder... Or am I missing something? In any case, if you are just looking for that, great tool.
Like
Version 1.8.1
3 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
21 December 2012
Hi, yes effectively, in Reciprocal mode, it copy the file again. Please check "Delete items beginning with:" and drag&drop on it the file you want to remove (instead of directly trash them, you can also drag&drop on the SyncTwoFolders icon). On the next sync, those files will be removed as their duplicate files in the other folder (even if they do not begin with the special characters).
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
28 March 2013
That’s a really inelegant way to accomplish what Mattes80 (and I) want. I’ve never seen a syncing app use such a clumsy method.
Like
Tom-25
Tom-25
01 April 2013
The only other way would be to save a log in each synced folder and so be able to compare the Source folder, the source log, the Target folder and the Target log. It is very hard to program. My app is like a macro command of what the user would do manually.
Like
Albertkinng
29 November 2012
OMG! this app is so great that I give the Dev a year until some bigshot sue him or try to destroy the app. It is one of those apps that makes obsolete a payment option on apps that want you to charge for sync features. I got all my folders sync with this little baby. VERY GOOD! (you can sync even on your ftp folder! SERIOUSLY
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1
Tony-C
16 October 2012
Fantastic tool !!!. I personally use it to backup my files and use the Sync feature that only copies over new or changed files. I am almost complete backing up around 500 Gb although the program is now crashing on Startup.
Like
Version 1.8.0
2 answer(s)
Tony-C
Tony-C
17 October 2012
Just completed the whole sync and Iam very happy to say that it is working just as I expected. Well done Thomas awesome program.
Like
Albertkinng
Albertkinng
29 November 2012
try to delete and re-install. I have no problem at all with this amazing app
Like
Milmascaras
02 October 2012
Straightforward & Solid; Does what it says. This is not an automated tool, but rather an 'Archivists' tool. I use it to back up my iTunes library and personal documents to a secure backup, that is separate from my regular clone backup... Well done, Thank You.
Like
Version 1.8.0
GeogProf
17 July 2012
A great app that has always worked flawlessly for me between Macs through my home AirPort Extreme network. As some have pointed out, SyncTwoFolders is not an auto-syncing app — it’s strictly on-demand. But despite some whining by one or two commenters here, the developer's description does not characterize it as an autosyncer. And since it’s free (thanks, BTW), it’s easy enough to test whether it meets your needs, so there’s no reason to bash the dev if you discover it doesn’t.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.7
Yazarim
15 July 2012
Very good and useful
Like
Version 1.7.7
raaghav81
01 July 2012
Thanks to developer for giving us this simple solution. It does what it says. Only I wish I could save a profile of folders for future use and I can sync one of my local partition to USB drive. That would be nice.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.6
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
08 July 2012
You can save settings just clicking the + bevel button neaur the Popup menu "Last settings". Your new setting will be in this popup once you save it.
Like (2)
henry-3
20 June 2012
Very useful for what it SAYS it does...
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
applehelpwriter
17 February 2012
Maybe I'm missing something, but this program is pointless unless the sync is auotmatic (like Dropbox is, for example). As far as I can tell, you have to manually open the program and sync the file for changes to register. That's pointless. I can just use Finder to copy a folder to do that. A "syncing program" should keep the folder up-to-date automatically. Maybe I've missed a feature...the lack of Help in the app might account for that...
Like
Version 1.7.6
4 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
18 February 2012
Hi, the goal is not to do an automatic sync. If you copy an entire folder to replace a second one, you will remove all new files in this second folder. In reciprocal mode those new files will be copy from this second folder (target) to the first one (source). If you use "Replaces" mode, then it's effectively the same as copy the entire folder, except that it's very long if you have many files. Sync2F will only copy the new files.
Like (1)
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
18 February 2012
Thanks for the clarification Thomas. That makes some sense, but its not what I was looking for when I downloaded your program, nor was it clear from the description or (lack of... ;) ) documentation that that is the 'goal' of the program. With a name like 'synctwofolders' I expected a program that would keep two folders in sync without further user input, just the way that my DropBox folder does. However, I'm looking for something that can keep folders auto sync-ed across physical drives without connecting to the net. Any suggestions?
Like
Tom-25
Tom-25
18 February 2012
Sorry but no. Maybe with an AppleScript or with Automator to detect when the source folder is modified and the copy the new or modified file in the Target folder. A solution could be to use the Batch auto every 1 minute of SyncTwoFolders, but it will take many CPU and disk access.
Like (2)
Albertkinng
Albertkinng
29 November 2012
@Softwater you can do that in Automator.
Like
Ulyssesric
08 February 2012
SyncTwoFolders calls Finder to perform the file manipulating task, thus the performance is poor when syncing over shared volume. And the UI design is quite confusion. I can find no way to change the sync method (replace source, replace destination, skip, sync-delete) for individual file. I'm not given any option but accept the "Simulation" result for each item. And sometimes it failed to copy / delete files on the shared volume, and it just stops and shows the error counts, without any detailed information.
Like
Version 1.7.6
1 answer(s)
Tom-25
Tom-25
18 February 2012
I thought about modify my program to allow to change the direction of the copy in the log, but it's hard to do and I'm not sure it's useful, as we select the sync mode before. Do a simulation and check in the list only what you want to do. When an error occur, do a Alt-clic on the two path in the log (source and target) in order to show the files in the Finder, and copy the file manually and see what happens.
Like (2)