Back to Data Guardian page
Data Guardian free download for Mac

Data Guardian Reviews

5.0.1
06 October 2019

Secure database application with 448-bit Blowfish encryption.

Penguirl
05 October 2013

Most helpful

The developer's repeated response sounds like a broken record. If MU was not authorized to give away copies of Data Guardian, how did the end users end up with working registration? I'm pretty sure MU didn't crack Koingo's system and issue a bunch of rogue licenses, so that leaves the only possibility being that Koingo issued licenses and then had a change of heart. Initially I had a license for DG 3, then it became a license for DG 2. But DG 2 won't open a DG 3 database, so that left users unable to access their databases. Just because the developer keeps repeating the same mantra over and over doesn't make it true; and given my previous bad experience with Koingo with regard to upgrading Alarm Clock Pro this doesn't surprise me in the least. So now my rating. Features I cannot access? ½ star. Having to juggle trial versions of v2 and v3 give an ease of use rating of ½ star. Not being able to use DG 3 earns a value rating of, you guessed it, ½ star. And stability, well if I can't use it then that's pretty unstable so DG 3 goes 4 for 4 with ½ star ratings. And for the overall rating I'm going to quote Jayne from Firefly/Serenity: …nothin into nothin, carry the nothin…
Like (11)
Version 3.1

Read 82 Data Guardian User Reviews

Rate this app:

JorgeDz
26 June 2019
I have all the data for me to be able to connect and passwords in DATA GUARDIAN It is the most uses app from Koingo Also use the other products, but data guardian is the one I use more often..
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (1)
MattCombs
24 June 2019
I have so many different passwords and logins that I can barely tell which way is up. If it weren't for this app storing it all for me I'd probably have just given up a long time ago or made all my passwords the exact same (I know - safe, right…?) The level of encryption that this app has just blows my mind. This is the perfect password storage device, hands down.
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (1)
Cally Ferguson
20 June 2019
Great app, always improving. I really like how Koingo actually listens to their customer's suggestions and integrates them into the updates. I'm always looking forward to seeing new tweaks in the upcoming Data Guardian releases.
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (1)
rose8
12 June 2019
It's so easy to use. The interface is simple yet you can do so much with it. The perfect app to consolidate all your needs into one.
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (1)
erpatualdia
04 June 2019
I love how diverse this app can be. I use it for everything from passwords to contacts to a tool for reminders. I honestly couldn't ask for a more complete program for all the things I need. I highly recommend this! You won't be disappointed!
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (1)
acalstubun
02 June 2019
Koingo's customer support is incredible, and this app is always updating and improving. Just when I think Data Guardian can't possibly get any better, I'm always pleasantly surprised. Every single time.
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (1)
breathbulopug
02 June 2019
I haven't found any other application that does things as beautifully and as smoothly as this one. And trust me, I've tried just to see if I could conquer the challenge. I failed… but I'll be the first to say that I'm quite content with that. Keep up the good work, Koingo!
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (2)
mimoweapi
30 May 2019
How did I ever live without this? I'm paranoid so I used to think the only safe place for my passwords and information was inside my head. Guess I was wrong… and as an added plus, Data Guardian never forgets!
Like
Version 4.0.8
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
30 July 2019
Fake review, 1 visit for this 'member'
Like (2)
turlyroughmant
29 May 2019
The encryption level that this app uses is just insane. I won't entrust my information to anything less than Data Guardian ever again, that's for sure.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.8
waculothyl
27 May 2019
Totally customizable to your needs. I've needed a program like this for a while but could never find exactly what I needed. Data Guardian ended up being the end of the road for me, and I absolutely recommend it to anyone out there who is still searching.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.8
thanddeceva
17 October 2018
works well enough. wish the UI was a little more modern, but been reliable for decades.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.6
dripetryve
15 October 2018
with the new autofill feature on ios, this app is ESSENTIAL
Like (2)
Version 4.0.4
glutliapronal
14 October 2018
fav app of mine to store my passwords in a secure, off the cloud, way in a world where security hacks are becoming daily news.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.2
MarvinWeide2410
17 May 2018
Hard to use
Like
Version 4.0
aduska
08 September 2017
Corrected in version 3.4.1. Now it performs again.
Like
Version 3.4.1
1 answer(s)
Nalts
Nalts
20 March 2019
Aduska - I understand each software has a learning curve, but I agree. I'm a longtime user of 1Password, and I am having trouble making the switch.
Like
iMac-A
03 September 2017
Version 3.4 quits unexpectedly everytime a record is saved. A serious bug ?
Like
Version 3.4
Jcohn
10 June 2017
Just upgraded two computers to v3.3.7 and I'm seeing lots of spinning rainbows. This happens when it starts up, and when I do simple things like check for updates. At first it would spin all night, but completely uninstalling it and reinstalling it worked better. I still get the spinning cursor, but it settles down after a while. It seems to take about five minutes, now. I wonder if they changed something in the network modules where it cannot connect correctly? My recommendation would be to start it on login, and just hide it until you need it. Or wait to install 3.3.8 which should be out RSN. Hope they get it fixed, soon! I really like and rely on the software.
Like
Version 3.3.7
lacwbo
10 February 2017
Data Guardian will not update from within the app without crashing or wanting to continually update. Works fine when 3.3.5 is downloaded from Koingo's website and then installed over 3.3.4.
Like
Version 3.3.5
Skooks57
28 November 2016
The latest 3.3.4 when I try to save and quit, it will not quit, The only way I can quit is to "force quit" and then I lose what I was trying to save. So I can't add anything new. I have complained to Koingo, but they don't respond. Anybody else having this problem? This is my first major problem with this and I have all data stored in DG. I guess I go to 1Password.
Like
Version 3.3.4
lacwbo
28 April 2016
Version 3.3.3 has been released and appears to work fine.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.3
lacwbo
27 April 2016
This update is dated April 25 and it appears many,if not all, cannot launch the app after the update. What the heck are the people at Koingo doing? You would think that by this time they would withdraw this update and correct their error.
Like
Version 3.3.2
1 answer(s)
ostrichtom
ostrichtom
28 April 2016
Version 3.3.3 has just been released and seems to have fixed all issues with 3.3.2. Mine is now working correctly again, thank goodness.
Like (1)
jaycomid
26 April 2016
Last update app won't open. Lots of info in there. Hope it gets fixed. But I don't know how I will get it open, unless you can fix it remotely. Hoping for the best. This is the first problem I've had, but it is a BIG one. Can't give stars unless it gets open.
Like
Version 3.3.2
4 answer(s)
Sanchai
Sanchai
27 April 2016
Yes same here. Revert back to 3.3.1. Too bad Koingo
Like
lacwbo
lacwbo
27 April 2016
Same here. Won't open. Produces an error report window. Good thing I had a backup so I could revert to ver 3.3.1. Did you check it out before you released it Koingo? OS X 10.11.4.
Like
Imho
Imho
27 April 2016
Same here on MacBook wth El Capitan. Tried two times, two times I had to do a restart. Finally went back to 3.3.1, thanks to TimeMachine. Untill now no response of Koingo Support.
Like
Imho
Imho
28 April 2016
Just installed version 3.3.3 and the problem seems to be solved. Thank you, Koingo.
Like
Filchescat
25 April 2016
App works OK when it works, but this 3.3.2 update doesn't. Repeated crashes after update. Crash logs sent.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
6 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
25 April 2016
Same here. Crash log sent. I'm on 10.9.5.
Like
Billybob152
Billybob152
25 April 2016
Same here. Mac OS 10.9.5, iMac.
Like
Billybob152
Billybob152
26 April 2016
I went back to version 3.3.1 and it works fine.
Like (1)
anonymous-squirrel-4040
anonymous-squirrel-4040
26 April 2016
Yup. Crashes immediately and repeatedly (logs sent) -
Like
ostrichtom
ostrichtom
26 April 2016
Same here, only on El Capitan 10.11
Like
Billybob152
Billybob152
28 April 2016
Fixed. 3.3.3 Works just fine. Thank you.
Like
Foulger
01 January 2014
This is the most used product I "lease" from Koingo but I will be quite happy to drop it along with the others I subscribe to if someone at Koingo doesn't grow up. I sent a message to Koingo on their web site this morning which reads as follows: Good Morning from New Zealand, This is not really about Data Guardian but about my relationship with Koingo. I feel it my duty as a free citizen to point out that your current licensing policies are an anathma with a great many subscribers, planet wise. Coupled with this, your ongoing mountain out of a molehill spat with macupdate is doing no one any good, least of all your companies revenues and koingo licence holders attitude towards this petty little squabble which has grown to enormous proportions. If you do not read the comments on macupdate.com in regard to your leased products and your policies, then I suggest you do so with urgency. It would appear that someone in your company is harbouring a "pride comes before a fall" attitude and I would say that if common sense does not prevail, then the future of your ompany is bleak. I use three products from your companys lease stable, with Data Guardian being the most used but there are alternatives and I would not cry too much if you went under. 2014 is a new year and when the holidays are over, surely its time for someone at Koingo to grow up, bite the bullet and mend some bridges before its too late. Anyone can be stupid, it takes a man with guts and fortitude to evamuate his failures and apologise and then move on. For goodness sake, grow up you guys!
Like (3)
Version 3.1.2
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
16 June 2014
Regardless of your feelings about Koingo, I don't see any justification for posting your letter here, especially since there's no reply to accompany it. Since you posted it as a review, it would have been better to post an actual review of the product instead of your tirade to the company. "I feel it my duty as a free citizen to point out that your current licensing policies are an anathma with a great many subscribers." Your "duty" as a "free citizen?" ROFLMAO! It may be your RIGHT, but it certainly isn't your DUTY. BTW, it's spelled anathema,
Like (6)
Pixelated
13 November 2013
I have 31 licenses for Koingo software, I have been a customer for many years, since 2008. I personally have never had a problem with them, I have had cause to contact support and always had feed back, and a resolution to the problem. I find it sad that MacUpdate, and Koingo, both don't just agree to disagree. This past week end Macupdate was also not so innocent selling it's own software, and not bothering to answer all the questions, that were asked. As a sub note the software is ropy at best, it tells me updates for software like camera bag area available, but they are not?? But for $10 Come on guys, we all make mistakes, but it's how we deal with the mistakes that make up better people. I thought the whole mac community spirit was better that calling each other names, or posting silly comments at the top of pages, which is no better than a form or censorship, once you go down that road, it could lead any where… Shake hands and go your separate ways, thats what was always told to me.
Like (8)
Version 3.1.2
2 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
30 October 2014
This is to show support for the excellent points in BigJohnson's post. Why are we not just rating the individual application(s) instead of going "personal" on various developers? When you give an app ★ or ★★ (whatever number of stars), the original intent of this website (been here since Day One), was to indicate the value the developer delivered to you, the end user, for the price paid for his or her work. Of course, you certainly can go outside that strict boundary a bit to express service after sales, etc., But I don't think there’s much honor or justice given for, say, a very fine and trusted program one ★ because of "other reasons" having nothing to do with the value a program holds for you.

Can we get back to rating an application on it’s merits, including service after sales, and leave the other stuff for: Letters To The Developer(s)? One added note: I own most of this company’s program. I have never encountered any of the problems discussed in these threads. The applications all work and work expertly for me. I love Data Guardian, and many others. Perhaps the problem with “them” –– is me? A Biblical principal which has served to enlighten and “fix” many problems throughout my personal and professional life. When I change, “they” seem different, and change also. By the by, I have seldom received better service than afforded me at Limit Point Software.

My post is intended to bring us together, not to point fingers, assign blame and divide.
Like (2)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
30 October 2014
Does anyone know how to get stuck on egg off of ones face? Perhaps a start might be to indicate the proper name of the company I was discussing earlier, ahhhh, I think I meant ➡︎ Koingo Software, Inc. and not Limit Point Inc. (Let's hope so, this egg needs to come off for my lunch date at 2pm.)
Like
alvindarkness
12 November 2013
I wasnt so upset that the licenses were pulled, although it was incentive enough to never purchase a koingo app in the future. But what truly took the cake was the spam email I just received from koingo, where they are practically begging for contact information of 5 friends so they can go and spam them as well. Not gonna happen, and I hope you enjoy your rating.
Like (8)
Version 3.1.2
asato
10 November 2013
Koingo is not a trustable company. Why not informed the bundle customers about the ilegal licenses sold by MU, immediately, not after months.
Like (7)
Version 3.1.1
3 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
12 November 2013
We were hoping there was another option, and we didn't have to revoke licenses. Unfortunately, there wasn't.
Like (7)
bumper314
bumper314
12 November 2013
I recommend reading the full correspondence behind the ordeal. I feel it was a tough situation for both sides: https://www.macupdate.com/koingo-freebie-bundle-fiasco-logs
Like (11)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
13 November 2013
Thanks for the link to the correspondence log. I read the whole thing. It ought to be obvious to anyone with a objective frame of mind that Koingo Software is run by an arrogant person who has absolutely no sense of integrity. He shifts his positions to suit himself; he takes no responsibility for his unethical, unprofessional behavior; and he is completely unreasonable in his demands for a settlement to a whole slew of problems which he created from the outset by his incompetence. This individual is way too greedy and way too controlling to ever merit any sympathy or support from me. He's maliciously trying to make MacUpdate the fall guy for his many personal flaws and inadequacies. How pathetic can one get? His latest ploy, issued today, offers a "free" license to customers whom he originally infuriated by unilaterally voiding the version 3 licenses which they had legit steely obtained in a free bundle arrangement negotiated by MacUpdate on behalf of their customers and to allow Koingo to expand its customer base. What kind of a businessman "gives back" something which customers had originally purchased, declares it an act of generosity on his part, and libels the distributor who set up the whole deal in clearly written terms from the outset? I'll tell you. A greedy developer who wants to sucker you in to his coral, so that he can pester you from now until forever with email campaigns offering you all sorts of upgrade "deals" for a hefty price. That's the kind of manipulation which is going on here. You'd have to be a fool to get suckered into his spider web of deceit. I'm no fool. I'm done with Koingo Software. If you've got any sense at all, you will be done with him, too. Let him self destruct, if he's so inclined. He deserves his own demise.
Like (5)
Erik [NL]
09 November 2013
I have been using Data Guardian since version 1.2.8 (december 2007) and upgraded to 2.x and 3.x. I like the features to keep all my private information at a safe place with a strong encryption. The flexibility to create new custom fields is great and I can use the same encrypted database file without any limitation at Windows with DG for Windows. I wish that Koingo Software will soon improve the iOS version and develop an Android version… Keep up the good work!
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
jemib
09 November 2013
So Koingo decided to take my license away and is spamming reviews with the same message over and over. My license was coupled to my e-mail address and Koingo has been using that e-mail address to mail me their ad-mails since I bought the Macupdate package. Koingo obviously wanted my e-mail address as part of their participation in the package deal. If you did not have the right to have my e-mail address it makes your e-mail messages nothing more than spam. I usually buy updates to software I like but I don't trust your company anymore.
Like (7)
Version 3.1.1
Sandro-Mancini-ahyj
08 October 2013
I have been using since version 2, upgraded to version 3, and have nothing against it, since it does what it is supposed to do, and does it well. I did not notice any speed hit (Macbook Air with SSD drive), using it with Mountain Lion. In an age of NSA folks feeling they have the right to unlawfully snoop anyone in the world, the stronger the encryption I can have available to me, the better! Don't know of any similar apps with such strong 448-bit Blowfish encryption.
Like (3)
Version 3.1
Penguirl
05 October 2013
The developer's repeated response sounds like a broken record. If MU was not authorized to give away copies of Data Guardian, how did the end users end up with working registration? I'm pretty sure MU didn't crack Koingo's system and issue a bunch of rogue licenses, so that leaves the only possibility being that Koingo issued licenses and then had a change of heart. Initially I had a license for DG 3, then it became a license for DG 2. But DG 2 won't open a DG 3 database, so that left users unable to access their databases. Just because the developer keeps repeating the same mantra over and over doesn't make it true; and given my previous bad experience with Koingo with regard to upgrading Alarm Clock Pro this doesn't surprise me in the least. So now my rating. Features I cannot access? ½ star. Having to juggle trial versions of v2 and v3 give an ease of use rating of ½ star. Not being able to use DG 3 earns a value rating of, you guessed it, ½ star. And stability, well if I can't use it then that's pretty unstable so DG 3 goes 4 for 4 with ½ star ratings. And for the overall rating I'm going to quote Jayne from Firefly/Serenity: …nothin into nothin, carry the nothin…
Like (11)
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
Arcarnat
Arcarnat
05 October 2013
To access Data Guardian 3 files with the Data Guardian 2 app, all you have to do is manually change the file's extension from dg3 to dg2. That is all you need to do. In regards to your comments about Koingo, I can't disagree with you. Even if one would accept Koingo's side of the story regarding their dispute with MacUpdate, the best spin I can give Koingo is that they suffer from the worst customer relations that I have ever encountered from any company.
Like (8)
Penguirl
Penguirl
05 October 2013
Thanks for the tip @Arcarnat, that will save me and probably others a lot of headache. :-)
Like (4)
Senf
21 September 2013
Despite of what is going on between MacUpdate and Koingo this still is a decent piece of software. It does not offer the sophisticated system integration of 1Password (which has a distant price tag...) but is much easier to use than TrueCrypt. And it uses a decent encryption method, not the dated 256-bit AES some competitors have. Although I am perfectly able to ssl-encrypt my files with homebrewn shell scripts, I prefer Data Guardian for its ease of use.
Like (5)
Version 3.1
cogsprocket
19 September 2013
@Koingo-Software: It's all well and good to respond to these types of reviews clarifying that there was no relationship between Koingo and MacUpdate wherein the licenses are valid. That being said, people are angry at you and your response to these reviews uses an angry, negative voice that isn't endearing yourselves to the people you'd like to be selling your software to. Look at it this way: If MacUpdate indeed had no relationship with you and no permission to sell this software then they just got railroaded and you've added the insult of a hostile sounding, and repeated message to the reviews for your product to the injury of revoking their licenses without prior notice. The end result is that instead of humanizing yourselves by publicly apologizing for the inconvenience and offering an alternative (this should ALWAYS be the way your responses to these reviews should sound) you've taken a hostile and angry position which turns MacUpdate into a villain and throws the users who purchased the bundle into the same cell. Hell! I purchased the bundle containing MacCleanse 3 and Data Guardian and I NEVER got any email regarding a discount of any kind. Because your public relations voice is such and because you've poorly communicated and responded with a hostile, and grammatically questionable canned response I'm with MacUpdate: Get TrueCrypt. It's free. It uses AES, Serpent and TwoFish and it's endorsed by Steve Gibson.
Like (6)
Version 3.1
mikisdad
18 September 2013
I strongly suggest that you do not deal with KOINGO. They have failed to honour licences granted under a package sold by MacUpdate. It is clear that they and MacUpdate have fallen out in some way. However, that is not the fault of purchasers of the bundle that included Data Guardian and Cleanse. KOINGO has shown no understanding of basic client service standards and skills. You would be well advised to think twice or more before you deal with them as who's to say that the same thing won't happen again? Any company that deliberately disadvantages potential and past customers who have done nothing wrong, is in my view, not worthy of support. You make up your own mind - this is not about the standard of the software but about their marketing practices and opinion of clients.
Like (3)
Version 3.1
member25624
26 August 2013
KOINGO revoked their software license after offering it as part of a MacUpdate Bundle, and after allowing the purchased software to run for several months. Claiming it was the "wrong" license months later just proves that KOINGO is NOT the type of company you can trust. Spend your money elsewhere.
Like (4)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like (2)
Finchen999
21 August 2013
FRAUD from Koingo by downgrading the software. Everything else is said before. I was lucky enough to save my data somewhere else, otherwise I would have trouble enough to retrieve my passwords again. Koingo? Never again.
Like (5)
Version 3.1
3 answer(s)
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
21 August 2013
Agreed. They should be banned.
Like (5)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like
SkilletAudio
SkilletAudio
09 November 2013
"There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing" Koingo-Software so you are saying MacUpdate hacked your software, I find that a bit hard to believe.
Like
Wikno
20 August 2013
Wow... was getting ready to contact MU support about this bit and switch on a license I had been using for five months that is suddenly non-existent. Now I see I'm not alone. They responded saying that they "notified" customers that they accidentally gave people 3.x licenses when they meant to give away 2.x licenses... okay, but I've been using 3.x for months now, all my databases have been upgraded. They also offered me a discount on upgrading...? Seriously? I have multiple bundles of theirs I have spent lots of money. Where was this notification however? Where? I get emails from them about this release or that discount, etc. Never got any such notification. My email address is listed right there next to my license file. If posting a RESPONSE, as oppose to ISSUING A STATEMENT (a notification), on ONE software download site, is their definition, then they are really reaching here. I don't use MU exclusively, sorry. I don't live on here as I have my own opinions about the vocal community here. However, now I'm glad to see NO ONE stand up for koingo in this instance. Also, dear koingo, refusing to use the 'f' word, but instead abridging it, then quoting it exactly is yet another business no no... because you are still using... it doesn't offend me, it just drives the point home that you have NO IDEA HOW TO DEAL WITH YOUR POTENTIAL/CUSTOMER BASE. Unfortunately, this whole ordeal also undermines macupdates mupromo credibility. I'm glad to hear that people have contacted them and their response is in the right direction... unfortunately if macupdate has no recourse in this matter, it will damage potential sales even more. What am I buying? When? I believe macupdate should 1, never do business with koingo again... including into the foreseeable future (30 years), including even if koingo gets bought 20 times... and should have a banner on the MUpromo site for the next 3 months, and make a statement in the comments of this software. And, further, NOT HAVE ANY DOWNLAOD LINKS TO ANY KOINGO SW ON THEIR SITE AND BADGE EACH LISTING PAGE WITH A SIMILAR BANNER EXPLAINING THINGS. It's not that I can't afford a discounted data guardian 3 license, which I can't anyway, but that's beside the point haha, it's that it is absolutely such a violation of my civil and consumer rights. This isn't like it's an automobile recall, or a lease on experimental fleet of electric Rav-4's (which was very emotional to see) and they took the license back for my own safety or because I signed something that said they could. If they wanted to keep my data safe, they would be working/coding exclusively on this one product of theirs because the bugs are so horrendous! They should be giving it away daily because it's so dangerous! They made a mistake, took months to finally iron it out to their satisfaction, by basically walking into my digital home and stealing something from me. I would like to point out that the license being reset bug was fixed in dataguardian 3.1 which is not listed here on MU as of this writing, but instead 3.0.9 is. 3.1 was released on the 19th of August 3013. WHat would happen is if I launched data guardian when not on the internet, it would ask for my email again. I had been doing this for months, very annoying since I move to multiple locations to work with my laptop, and of course if they had FIXED THIS BUG SOONER then we would all have a valid license files! --------------- And now, an excerpt from their "Known Issues" web page (support.koingosw.com/index.php/Data_Guardian#Known_Issues): http://www.grafxlut.com/DG-cohn.mov -okay, so, no text, just a link? You couldn't be bothered to summarize this issue for me at all? Should I send that guy some money? Importing into 1Password will duplicate record entries instead of syncing them. We've asked 1Password for a fix to this. -Nice, so, should I switch to 1Password or not? Possible memory leak if app left open for a long time? Maybe has something to do with autosave? -is this a publicly available bugtracker? no, it's a one line entry on wiki page... If you store the DB password in keychain, move the entry into a new Keychain Data Guardian will delete and recreate the "login" Keychain next time you access your database. - wow, okay, good thing I NEVER do this. I still use secretbook 4.0.5 along side this not keychain (secretbook was a great piece software that was sold to some psycho company that increased the price like 10 fold or something and changed the name, fixed some minor bugs, and made it worse over all, oh, and slow.) -Don't get me started on the issues with the mobile version. ------------------------------ Now let's have an excerpt from the release notes: Version 3.1 — August 19, 2013 Very Important Bug Fix: Fixed issue with registration information not saving between launches. -a little self serving... considering the current air of cheating/lying/etc. -extra cute how it says "Very Important..." LMAO!!! Version 3.0.9 — August 18, 2013 Very Important Bug Fix: Fixed a very rare bug that would cause databases to be erased on some systems if the timers were out of sync and a database was locked, and NEVER loaded, and the auto-save kicked in. Additionally, databases are no longer auto-saved redundantly if no changes have been made since the last save. -wow, thanks for that... wait, what "timers," what are you talking about? Version 3.0.8 — April 30, 2013 Bug Fix: Should no longer crash when re-ordering fields and the field name is told to redraw while it's being removed. Bug Fix: Upgraded to latest Keychain APIs to improve stability. -oh, so... the thing here is, Your keychain can still be wiped out... see "known issues"... sigh... - this is the third consecutive update that address keychain related issues... and they still haven't fixed the deleting of your login keychain? what are they spending their time on!? ... (skip a couple less horrendous release notes) Version 3.0.5 — February 25, 2013 New Feature: New default Presets value to only preserve original field values if they are not empty. -NOT A FEATURE, this worked in 2.x, and you broke it 3.x therefore it's a FIX, since it's clearly an option that was SUPPOSED to be made available/working... this is like when apple removes something from an OS, then puts BACK in the following one. You're just leapfrogging feature inclusion then calling everything a NEW feature... ridiculous. (don't ask me to cite this, if you're an apple head you can look it up yourself very easily, hint use the wayback machine (archive.org) to view apple's own website) New Feature: New records automatically start out in Edit mode. -THAT IS NOT A FEATURE. That's like saying, when you put paper in the printer also put ink! ...(skip rest of 305 notes, even though there are some bad ones) Version 3.0.4 — February 23, 2013 New Feature: Now automatically selects for editing the new field if adding one to a record. -See record editing above in 305... same idea... not a feature... (skip rest of 304) -.... you get the idea... they are using dozens of "New Feature" tags when they should use either their own "Bug Fix" or "Modification" tags. like: New Feature: Quick Browser redesigned visually. New Feature: Quick Browser now automatically sizes to columns to fit information. -(imagine speaking very softly) if you have a computer program, that accepts data represented visually with characters that is meant to be retrieved at a later date, and that data is clipped visually and therefore not human readable... THAT IS A BUG NOT A FEATURE NOT YET IMPLEMENTED TO ALLOW THE INFORMATION TO BE READ! /*END SERMON */
Like
Version 3.0.9
3 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
21 August 2013
Hi Wikno, We are definitely not pleased either with how Koingo has elected to re-interpret the Freebie bundle after an agreement was reached. Having said that, it's important to underscore that these licenses were distributed as part of a Freebie bundle, so there was no charge to any of our customers. Had money changed hands, the situation would be different (we have never in 6 years of selling software encountered such a situation, and we don't expect to ever encounter it again). Suffice to say we will never work with Koingo again, and have been adding disclaimers to their listings on MacUpdate to alert any future customers of the sort of service they can expect from Koingo...
Like (3)
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
21 August 2013
Glad to see this ban on this dev. they told me my case was closed and that was that.
Like
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like
Radus
20 August 2013
this company deactivated Licenses we bought (macupdate bundle). I can not trust these people and their company - I will never buy and use their software again.
Like
Version 3.0.9
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like
Arcarnat
15 August 2013
I have been a Koingo software customer for 6 years. I have bought Data Guardian, Mac Pilot, and Librarian Pro from version 1, and have updated all of them through the years. I also have acquired Air Radar and MacCleanse. I had not yet updated Data Guardian from version 2, when Koingo decided to offer version 3 as a MacUpdate promotion. To have access to my legitimately acquired Data Guardian 3 yanked away after three months of use is just ridiculous. Over the past several weeks I have continually tried to correspond with the company, by logging in to my Koingo account and asking for more information on the problem. They have never responded to my inquiries. Back in May, there was a temporary blockage in access to Data Guardian 3, which was explained by the company as being due to major database failure. Obviously, I am now suspicious of that claim, and suspect that that was instead due to the beginning of the their feud with MacUpdate. I am totally amazed by the complete incompetence of Koingo in communicating with their customer base; including someone like myself who was a loyal Koingo customer for 6 years. I can also imagine the outrage of new customers, who put the time and effort in compiling their logins, passwords, addresses, notes, credit card number, etc, and then have the company prevent their continuing access to their databases. I have decided to stop supporting Koingo and using their software. So far, I have found alternatives to all the software I acquired from them except Data Guardian. Currently, I have reverted to Data Guardian 2, but am actively looking for alternatives for storing my passwords. I hope to be totally Koingo free by the end of the month. With only a slight exaggeration, Koingo suffers from the worst customer relations in the history of humankind. My strong advice is to stay away from this company and boycott their software.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like (2)
Robert-Vaessen
03 August 2013
I am joining the 'Never again' camp with this company. I am another user who has purchased this companies apps (Data Guadian and MacCleanse) through a 'MacUpdate' promotional bundle. When they updated the apps my copies indicated that I needed to purchase a new copy of the app (a couple of months after my initial purchase). I tried contacting the developer. I did not use aggressive, confrontational, rude or otherwise abusive language. I have received no responses to my email messages. It's one thing to make a policy decision, and not provide support, but this company goes the extra step (in my case) of not responding at all. They haven't answered any of the email I've sent. They won't even respond with an email message indicating their 'policy' with regard to support for a MacUpdate bundled product. They entered into a bundled app promotional deal with MacUpdate, not with me. If they have a dispute with MacUpdate, why should that dispute extend to me, the end user? This type of treatment (on the part of the developer) does one thing and one thing only - It guarantees that I (the customer) no longer trust this company. I won't be buying any more of their products, and I will recommend that friends, colleagues and family not purchase their products. In an 'App Store' universe of plentiful applications and $1 price tags, the one true product that stands out is 'Customer Support'. If this company continues to botch this crucial ingredient, they won't last much longer.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8
2 answer(s)
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
10 August 2013
I hear ya. The name Macupdate is banned from the Koningo support form and nothing was said to anyone about the license ban at all.
Like (1)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like (1)
Michaelthegeek
01 August 2013
Not able to activate this app. I will try to contact them.
Like
Version 3.0.8
2 answer(s)
mikisdad
mikisdad
01 August 2013
I did contact them. I received back an arrogant message claiming that MacUpdate were not paying them enough. I contacted MacUpdate who told me that KOINGO had not honoured their agreement and had retracted all licences issued via MacUpdate. I contacted them both and advised that, to my mind, this was something that they should settle between them & not make the end-user suffer. After all, we've just responded to promotions in good faith. I tried several times with KOINGO but they just close my jobs and won't discuss it. To make matters worse - they have had the gall to send me invitations to new deals! (Yes, I know, it's all automated but it still is like rubbing salt into the wound.) I will never use their software again unless I get an apology and they change their attitude. I don't believe that MacUpdate are to blame because they deal with so many developers that if they acted that way they wouldn't have survived. Make of it what you will, however reading these columns tends to support my personal experience.
Like (1)
mikisdad
mikisdad
02 August 2013
I can agree with Koingo that using abusive language doesn't help anyone's cause. (See much earlier posting) However, on no occasion have I abused them in such a way and the fact is that their attitude has been completely at odds with what even "Front-line Service 101" would advise re dealing with problems, concerns or complaints of clients. Instead of seeing this as an opportunity to build support, Koingo have simply alienated those who otherwise might and most probably would, have become staunch supporters. It is not that their software is bad but that there attitude is. No marks, Koingo, for trying to shift the blame and for dishonouring an agreement and leaving end users in the lurch. This is *bad* business practice and if one person - in frustration - chooses to use less than moderate language in voicing their frustration, I don't know why you would be surprised and how they have communicated with you does not excuse your behaviour.
Like (1)
mikisdad
26 July 2013
KOINGO refused to honour the activation code for this item after I obtained it through MacUpdate in a bundle. I strongly advise against purchase of any KOINGO applications.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8
4 answer(s)
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
01 August 2013
Did you contact them?
Like
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
01 August 2013
It's sad to see this as I expect the same reply. I will stay away from the dev. Thanks for the reply.
Like
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
02 August 2013
I agree that the language dosen't help. The dev should be more forthcoming in helping this deal and there was no need to ban Macupdate's name form their site. I had to remove Macupdate from the E-mail I sent. This makes me wonder about another deal I got from another site. I'll have to test.
Like
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like (1)
June8
03 July 2013
My license is no longer being recognized. No reply from customer support. Given it up! I'll never use their software again.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like
Arcarnat
27 June 2013
Apparently, Koingo has suffered another major database failure, as my license is no longer being recognized. Very frustrating. I am afraid that I must look for alternative software, as I cannot afford to lose access to my large number of passwords that are stored in Data Guardian. A real pity.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 September 2013
MacUpdate never had permission to giveaway copies of Data Guardian 3 or MacCleanse 3. There was no agreement in place, no authorization given from administration at Koingo - nothing. We've gone the extra mile and offered people discount pricing on the products, but we're not about to giveaway copies of apps they did not have permission to do so for.
Like (1)
Arcarnat
29 May 2013
Although it took a while, Koingo-Software did finally resolve the problem. However, their customer service was poor, as I submitted three separate inquiries on their web site and they failed to respond. If the number of inquiries they were receiving were overwhelming, they could have posted a public announcement on their web site to advise license holders of what was going on. Again, very poor customer relations. Hopefully, they will learn from this and improve on this aspect of their company. Too bad for this snafu, as their software is quite good. I have been using Data Guardian for over five years and have found it to be very useful.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.8
dokliv
15 May 2013
earlier i have got one of MacUpdate Promo Receipts and there was Data Guardian 3 and week ago (after update) my license became trial again i asked developers week ago "why?" and today all they answered - 'patience is a a virtue' (after a week gone!) i do not need such software from such guys so if you think they have any kind of client oriented support - it is not buy it it your own risk p.s. i know i got it free and had to be patient but i didn't steal it and became a client... i would never answer to my clients like they did... they could say 'we have some problems right now, please wait a little more' or 'we know about this issue and it will be resolved in a month' - anything but not 'we are so busy to answer you because you didn't pay money to us..' (this is how i understood their answer)
Like (4)
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
28 May 2013
We had a major database failure and were working very hard to resolve the issue. Sending numerous support tickets in telling us to hurry up and f*off does not help your case. ==> Your Original Message < == fuck you fuck your soft almost week gone it is not client oriented answer at all neither i buy it or got free ( didn't steal it) i am a software developer too and i never allow myself to behave like you and so i will not use such piece of ... code from guys i have no respect to so, again, fuck you :) and i will write a letter to macupdate with info that you disable licenses after promo ends and i hope they will never have a deal with you again cheers, losers
Like (2)
Arcarnat
10 May 2013
I am having the same problem as olympusrot. After updating Data Guardian a few days ago, my e-mail address is no longer accepted as the activation. I have contacted Koingo three days in a row, and they do not respond. I am starting to get upset. The company has screwed up and they are acting really slow in remedying the situation. Not professional. The ratings reflect the poor service from this company, and not the software, which I have used for several years and is a solid program.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
28 May 2013
Apologies for the frustration. We had a massive database failure and had to restore to a backup of our SQL database. It has now been corrected and you should be able to activate without issue.
Like
olympusrot
10 May 2013
I have bought DataGuardian with "MacUpdate 2013 Freebie Bundle". After an update my E-mail address is no longer accepted as activation. The recommended download from the macupdate.com page has not corrected the situation. Who can help? Excuse my bad english. Ich habe Data Guardian gekauft über das "MacUpdate 2013 Freebie Bundle". Nach einem Update wird meine E-Mail-Adresse nicht mehr akzeptiert als Aktivierung. Der empfohlene Download von der macupdate.com-Seite hat keine Abhilfe geschaffen. Wer kann weiterhelfen?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8
Revco
01 May 2013
Damn! Was hoping they'd up the Blowfish encryption to 449-bits with this version. Will have to wait and see what v4 brings.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8
klampert
01 April 2013
I really enjoy using this application. It's nice to be able to see everything in a "spreadsheet" view, including your passwords if you like. I previously used TrueCrypt (AES, Serpent, or Twofish encryption) with a text file but that got unwieldy. I later purchased "Keys" from the App Store (AES-256+Salt+P8KFD2 encryption) and while it's a great little program for $5, it doesn't have categorization and requires more clicks to accomplish the same tasks. Data Guardian offers options to organize your library into collections, or smart collections, and I seem to be able to get things done quicker with it. I haven't tried creating my own fields, the RegEx search or the auto-login features yet. My only complaint is there doesn't appear to be an option to auto-save records as you go. I'd prefer to just double-click an item, edit it, then hit escape when I'm done and have it auto-save. Bonus points for a nice-looking icon and lock screen. It's always nice when developers go the extra mile to make nice looking applications.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.6