Back to CrossOver page
CrossOver free download for Mac

CrossOver Reviews

18.5
22 March 2019

Run Windows apps on your Mac.

CFrag
25 February 2014

Most helpful

CrossOver is the for-profit version of WINE (a windows compatibility layer) for Mac and Linux. So you can get the same for free. But paying for CrossOver does have significant advantages: 1) support 2) a much better software package. I should also mention that CodeWeavers is funding the development of WINE, so paying for CO benefits the whole community. So, what does CO do? Basically, it allows you to run Windows software on your Mac in OSX *without* running a full windows emulator like VirtualBox, Parallels or VMWare. That means that you can run Windows software without needing a copy of Windows. Plus, CO has compatibility modules (they call them 'Bottles') for Windows 98, 2000, XP, Vista, and 7. An important, though perhaps under documented, point is that you don't really buy CO - you purchase the right to run the currently recent version, plus all updates for the next 12 Months. After that you may continue to use CO, but you can't update, and you are no longer entitled to support unless you purchase a license extension. For a business these terms are quite acceptable. Private users may not require continued support; yet being able to have the most recent version of CO can be worth the admission fee. Using CrossOver *can* be frustrating, because it assumes you know your way around in the particular brand of Windows your application requires - a presupposition that can prevent you from getting the results you need. If you don't know your way around Windows and the Windows software does not run from the get go (a rarity with old titles), you are pretty much screwed. That's where the service/support subscription comes in, and I've submitted a number of tickets to have them answered within 24 hours. That being said, the customization features of WINE are limited, which is both a boon and a problem if your software requires a particular feature. How well does it work? Well, if you have legacy software that is standard, straight code and you need to access that software or data, it works really, really well. CodeWeaver's site has a compatibility DB where you can check on-line if an application will run; be advised though that this DB isn't always current, and new versions of CrossOver can break compatibility with older software. If you have legacy software that taxed the system at the time (usually games), used DRM, or non-standard graphics (e.g. GLide), results are mixed. I was able, for example, to install Homeworld off the original CD, and could play it - but only in software rendering, and at 640x480x16. But all animations, sounds, and interface worked flawless, at full speed. Many other games, though, didn't run at all (Mechcommander 2 (a Microsoft Title), Ground Control, Red Alert, Independence War), others worked but were unplayable because they did not read input devices correctly (Freespace, Freesapce 2). Other titles ran, but were so old that their usability was null (Tribes, Starsiege) because their infrastructure did no longer exists - not a fault of CO, though. As a general rule of thumb, compatibility increases when the software is younger and starts using Windows-based standard libraries. This continues up to a certain point where the performance trade-off with the WINE-layer (10%-20%) makes the game unplayable. Most productivity software (MS Office, Quicken, Visio) not only runs really well, but because it is officially supported by CodeWeavers, installation is quick and painless. For many other titles that are not officially supported, there are community-provided installers that help you navigate some pitfalls during installation and that makes using CO much, much easier. If you are using Steam, though, CrossOver is a great tool. Many old games work well when downloaded into a steam bottle (they will install into the same 'Bottle' as steam), and this way you gain access to many classic game titles that are otherwise unavailable on the Mac. Newer steam titles work, but the newest usually don't because of performance issues. Older titles usually work well, but may require you to install an obscure Windows library - without CO support I would not have been able to do so. that way, I was finally able to play 'Far Cry', 'Nexus: The Jupiter Incident' and 'Sins of a Solar Empire' on OSX. So, is it worth it? If you have a legacy app and need to access or import windows data, then it is definitely worth a shot (you have a trial period to see if it works), and well worth the price if it works. It's much cheaper to than to spring for a full Windows emulation plus Windows, and you can switch between windows versions. For me, it's a great help, and the cost for service is negligible compared to what I would need to pay had I used a Windows PC and some Windows expert to keep it running. And if you want to play some classic titles that are available on Steam, it's definitely worth a try.
Like (24)
Version 13.1

Read 134 CrossOver User Reviews

Rate this app:

xgman
22 March 2019
Still needs fully 64 bit capable fix.
Like
Version 18.5
Derekcurrie
22 March 2019
Some perspective about CrossOver: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wine_(software)#CrossOver CrossOver is a contributor to the Wine (WINE) open source project. As such, their actual Wine code is incorporated into Wine software, which of course is accessible for free. You can also access CrossOver code via their free contribution to the Darwine open source project. When BUYING CrossOver, what you're getting, in addition to Wine, is their added GUI and other ease-of-use code that makes it significantly easier and more enjoyable to use than straight Wine. The money you pay to CrossOver goes into their further development contributions to the Wine project as well as updating their ease-of-use code. It's important to note that Wine is VERY limited in what Windows software it is able to run, despite how promising it sounds when you read about it. This is particularly true of games, which tend to be what Mac users would like to access from the Windows environment. With time, this has become a more prominent limitation of Wine thanks to Microsoft managing to push proprietary APIs to their Windows game developers, resulting in them NOT being available to incorporate into Wine. DirectX is of particular annoyance. Even virtualization systems are unable to provide contemporary DirectX 11 or 12 support. This has been the case for many years. DirectX 10 is now relatively antiquated. There is some glint of promise in Wine version 4.0 in that it provides some support of DirectX 11 code. With time and testing we'll find out how well it works. Wine 4.0 is of course incorporated into the most current version of CrossOver.
Like (2)
Version 18.5
durrantcolin
09 March 2019
Uninstalling because none of the applications for windows open I can install but attempting to open just crashes out the window app I am trying to open.
Like
Version 18.1
xgman
03 November 2018
5 stars IF it is 64 bit compatible. But it is not! With a brand new version and I get a "this app is not optimized" message from OSX Mojave? Really? Heading into 2019 soon I think they could have gone ahead and made this app fully 64. geeze!
Like (1)
Version 18.0
3 answer(s)
Marko85
Marko85
10 December 2018
To be fair to developers, you should actually do some research before criticizing them for something like that. The purpose of the app is to enable you to run 32-bit Windows software. Many Windows apps/games do not have 64-bit versions and many older games probably aren't going to get new 64-bit versions. If you intend to run 32-bit Windows software, that software obviously needs to have 32-bit support because it will not work in 64-bit mode. If Apple removes support for 32-bit software for some reason, then the app would have to find some other way to provide 32-bit support for that 32-bit Windows software because it can't just make old 32-bit Windows software run in 64-bit mode without requiring any 32-bit support. I just hope that Apple would still allow 32-bit software to work if the app can provide it with it's own 32-bit libraries or something like that, that they wouldn't just prevent anything that contains 32-bit code from running.
Like (1)
napabar
napabar
30 March 2019
Marko85 has no idea what he's talking about. The macOS application doesn't not have to stay 32-bit to run 32-bit Windows app under WINE. It's just the front end.
Like (1)
Marko85
Marko85
08 September 2019
@napabar I know very well what I'm talking about and you can go on Wine forums and check their discussions about it. Catalina requires whole app to be 64-bit for it to run, it can't rely on 32-bit libraries in the background to run... and Wine is not a "Virtual Machine" with an entire OS running under it separately
Like
Version 18.5
Michael-Vilain
10 May 2018
Tried running Forte Agent with it and it would not connect to the network while Forte did fine on Windows 7 in a VM. Bought a promotion from 3rd party site and it can't be upgraded. They want more money even though the version I bought didn't work. Now I installed Python 2.7.15 from the python.org site and it totally breaks Crossover. Support says Reinstall the OS. Glad I didn't give them any more money. This goes straight into the trash. A waste of my money.
Like (1)
Version 17.5
ben-marko
30 April 2018
It's ok. It works well enough, but with MS Office and Acrobat Pro, it is slow and clunky. These are the latest versions, too - and there are bizarre graphics issues such as lines and jagged triangle-like shapes that bisect the screen. And there is significant lag associated with kernel_task spiking whenever CrossOver is running.
Like
Version 17.1
hotmac
07 February 2018
I bought CrossOver in a promotion and found out that it was a one-time license. Now, four weeks later, there is an update that I can't install because I need a 1 year license or a lifetime license to install the update. In my opinion this is fraud, because the current update mainly fixes bugs. I'm not gonna back this subscription crap. Codeweaver, you lost me as a customer! By the way, it is advertised that Office 2016 works with v17. But it doesn't! CrossOver crashes, freezes, slows down the computer....
Like (5)
Version 17.1
2 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
10 May 2018
I had the same problem. and decided I'm not giving them any more money. It didn't work for the purpose I paid for that version and the 3rd party site wouldn't refund my money.
Like
Jack75
Jack75
13 May 2018
I bought it directly to Codeweavers $40 for a day life licence. Same for Vuescan and Koingo softwares.
You get what you pay for. In bundles you get only outdated versions or softwares lacking of business. This is why prices are often low. It can be good anyway to test softwares or because the available version is enough for the usage we are needing.
Office 2016 works I am running Access. But for the normal office, the Mac version is now similar with the Microsoft one.
Like (2)
mamunguia2011
04 January 2018
I feel like I wasted my time and feel frustrated. CrossOver in my opinion is a scam. It crashes often. Some software does not work properly. I wish I could get my money back. The two software I tried to run were Quicken Deluxe for Windows 2016 and Steam. These two don't work.
Like (2)
Version 17.0.0
1 answer(s)
ben-marko
ben-marko
08 May 2018
Most likely any graphics-intensive application won't run well under Crossover. I found this out the hard way myself. So Steam is better run under macOS. This software isn't a scam - it just isn't particularly good. And that says a lot.
Like
Cowicide
03 January 2018
Version 17 killed my Escape Goat game. Won't launch at all. Had to revert back to version 16.x to get it working again. Doesn't seem like much of an upgrade when less apps work afterwards.
Like
Version 17.0.0
2 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
05 February 2018
Why do you use Crossover for this game? It has a native Mac (and Linux) version.
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
09 February 2018
Janichsan, because I purchased it for Windows and also want to use it on Mac without paying for it twice.

Also, this has nothing to do with the fact 17 broke an app that was working fine in previous Crossover version.
Like (1)
HelmotV
06 December 2017
I prefer Parallels Desktop after testing this software.
Like (1)
Version 17.0.0
dmu
29 November 2017
If I got a PhD in how to use Crossover, this might be worth my time. But alas, try as I might, nothing installs or runs successfully. Nothing installs in the "bottle" chosen, nothing works period. Requires Windows 7 or later? I tried installing in both Windows 7 & 10 bottles. But nothing goes into bottles. None of it makes sense. None of it works. Goodbye six hours of my life. I quit.
Like (1)
Version 16.2.5
teovela
16 February 2017
Had some problems right after download, the app couldn't be installed smoothly. But I liked the customer support, they were very polite and helpful. Hope the app will serve me well.
Like
Version 16.1
blackbirdy-1
13 February 2017
I have been using Parallels Desktop for years. Testing this trial right now. It's looking good so far, if it works, I think the price will be worth it.
Like
Version 16.1
1 answer(s)
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
05 December 2017
Did you end up liking it and buying a copy? We would love an update. Thanks!
Like
mikee7831
24 December 2016
Cannot complain, works well and they have a good customer support. Altough the support time or the update service is getting used to
Like
Version 16.0.0
Simty
08 December 2015
I was thinking about buying Crossover when version 15.0 came out. I installed 15.0 to test M$ Explorer 8 (which was working perfectly under Crossover 14). Unfortunately it will no longer work so I'm keeping my money in my pocket.. I'll try it again when Crossover 15.1 is released. Maybe I'll buy it then.
Like (1)
Version 15.0
Dcuwcy
09 October 2015
Carefull! Update broke some bottles (ticket is open) So try a copy first.
Like (1)
Version 14.1.10
Sgginc
11 July 2015
Beware: This is for a 6 month upgrade path. I don't see that stated anywhere. I bought this thinking it was 1 year. I could have upgraded at CodeWeavers for $29.95 for i year. I hope this can be corrected. Thanks ... Ken
Like
Version 14.1.4
Mcr
27 June 2015
just a technical note. Emulation and virtualization are very different concepts and approaches. Crossover and WINE are emulators. Parallels, Fusion and Virtual box use virtualization.. People often use the two terms interchangeable and often incorrectly. Understanding the difference will help you make a better informed choice. Why should you care? The highest degree of compatibility will be found with virtualization. Emulators try to 'emulate' the Windows environment, translating Windows system functions into OSX equivalents, for lack of a better word, trying to 'fake' the Windows environment (and I'm not using the word 'fake' here in a negative sense or to put down Crossover, i'm using the word to describe how it works, not pass a value judgement on the product). virtualization does not 'fake' the windows environment, for all intents and purposes, when you run Windows (or Linux or OSX) in a virtual environment, like Parallels or Fusion, you are literally running that OS completely, with hardware access etc. The Windows operating system is literally loaded into a memory space and is "running". Hence the reason why you need a copy of Windows to install in the first place. The built in VTx support in Intel and AMD chips literally allows for virtual environments to run in and control their own physical 'copy' of the hardware. Virtual environments can directly access hardware, like USB, CD drives, Firewire, network adapters, etc. When you access Windows under Parallels or Fusion, your CPU on your Mac is literally switching back and forth millions of times a second, allowing Windows and its programs to execute code directly on the CPU and hardware, and then back to OS X. During those nano seconds when Wiindows has control, you are RUNNING the complete and full Windows operating system on your Mac. Same as Bootcamp, the difference being that with Bootcamp, you boot into Windows and run it till you reboot, whereas with virtualization, you are switching back and forth very fast between Windows running (or a Linux or OSX virtual machine) and OSX running directly on the Mac. Emulation doesn't involve running any Windows code at all, hence why you don't need a copy of Windows to run WINE or Crossover. There is no Windows code ever really executed, instead, when an app makes a request that normally it would expect Windows to handle, that request is being intercepted by Crossover, and 'translated' into something OSX understands, like "give me some memory", or "please draw this dialog box in my 'window' on the screen", or 'move the mouse cursor here'.. There are benefits and disadvantages to both approaches. Choose based on what you need to do and your needs. DEFINITELY as suggested elsewhere, it's your responsibility to test the trial version first and make sure the app you want to run works under Crossover. Don't blame anyone else if you buy Crossover and your app doesn't work because you didn't test it. and don't assume if you buy Crossover, that apps you want to use in the future that you can't test now will work. As with anything, no vendor can guarantee future compatibility, but by its nature, you have a better chance with virtualization than with emulation as far as future apps running. for the reasons I mentioned earlier, namely that with virtualization you are running a 'real' copy of Windows. Of course that also means with virtualization that the hardware resources required are greater, you really need a decent CPU and enough memory for both Windows and OSX. 4GB of RAM is barely acceptable, you really should have 8GB if running virtualization. Also, you need a copy or license of Windows to install. Cost wise as far as the product, it looks like the $39.95 'subscription' for Crossover is comparable to the $49 yearly upgrade fee for Parallels and Fusion.
Like (10)
Version 14.1.4
3 answer(s)
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
03 September 2015
A good point raised here.

When it comes to compatibility with a wider range of Windows software, virtualization is the only way to go. The concept of emulation is great, but I think there is a long way to go before anything can emulate Windows properly. Unless Microsoft and Apple decides to merge together OS X and Windows OS (I doubt that very much), there will always be a need for virtualization, and perhaps even emulation if people are keen to save a little money on not purchasing a license of Windows OS.
Like
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
10 October 2015
Crossover is nearly useless to me. Apps on Crossover cannot access the USB Port. Crossover only supports a very limited number of Windows apps. Nearly every app I want to use on Crossover is not supported or cannot run at all.

So the $40 a year for Crossover is a complete waste of money. And it is expensive for what it does compared to the $50 a year for Parallels.

Parallels runs nearly as quickly as a real PC with Windows Apps. And nearly every app is compatible with it. So I don't have to worry about app support.
Like (1)
Neal
Neal
27 July 2016
In other words, only an idiot would choose emulation over virtualisation.

Let's not forget though, these days one can buy MiniPC's for £50, network them wirelessly to a Mac and share monitor, mouse and keyboard. iCloud on both Mac and PC ensures all your documents are backed-up and available to use on either platform via cloud computing or local hard drives.
If one wants to push the envelope a bit, one can search how to run OSX on these super cheap PC's.

Both Emulation and Virtualisation software are obsolete; and this will be more obvious when MiniPC's drop further in price and plainly exceed the performance of a MacMini (which some already do).

Windows is a dog of an OS. Nevertheless, it is fast approaching a point where it and PC's will be so ridiculously inexpensive even Appletites will forgive it being a mongrel instead of a pedigree.

Tim Cooke should be thinking about licensing Mac OS very soon.
Like
Psychiatry
21 March 2015
CrossOver is a nice concept: Create a middle-ware layer that translates Windows APIs to Host Operating System APIs so that Apps can run in OS X, Linux, Unix, etc.

For some apps, they can run successfully in the Host Environment such as OS X. But there are SO FEW OF THEM. They are called the Gold-Level apps compared to a Virtual PC like Parallels which can run nearly all Windows apps.

A glaring problem in using CrossOver is that it is COMPLETELY INCOMPATIBLE WITH USB DEVICES. It won't recognize a programmable keypad. It won't recognize scanners. Etc. And this is maddening. Sure, this may be an enormous problem that the Wine Community has worked on for years but has been unsuccessful. But USB Compatibility is an expectation. It should work. You should be able to install USB drivers and expect Wine to work with them.

But alas WINE and CrossOver continue to be incompatible with USB. It is a shame that has forced me to discontinue using WINE and CrossOver in favor of a real PC computing environment using Parallels desktop.
Like (1)
Version 14.1
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
27 June 2015
See my post above about emulation vs virtualization. Hardware access under emulation is tricky. I respect your opinion that USB compataiblity is an expectation, that it should work. It would be nice. However, the very nature of emulation means devices that require direct low-level hardware access are probably not going to work.

it is important to understand when you speak of installing 'USB drivers' and expecting WINE to work with them, that there are different levels of USB drivers. You are referring to user device drivers provided by a vendor for a particular device (scanner, mouse, etc). These are high level drivers. all of them eventually have to communicate with a hardware driver, which actually controls the hardware.

In the case of Windows, this would be Microsoft's hardware layer driver for the USB controller. In some cases, some hardware makers require that their device go direct to the hardware layer. Scanners frequently do this, and other devices that require the ability to control the device directly, such as MIDI devices, some external drive enclosures and so on. it's more efficient to talk directly to the scanner at a hardware layer than going through several layers of high and low level drivers.

In emulation, low level hardware access is very difficult, and frankly potentially dangerous. Giving hardware control to an app in emulation could make your system very unstable. OSX would have trouble protecting the integrity of the system if WINE allowed an app under emulation to directly access hardware. That requires the highest level access allowed to a process. This is one reason you don't want to use Windows drivers that aren't certified by Windows Hardware Compatibility Publisher program. They are tested to make sure they don't violate protection and access guidelines, because one bad hardware driver can bring down the whole system.

If a scanner for example, under emulation, where allowed hardware access to the USB controller, it could lock out other devices., freeze up the system etc.

The idea of the Crossover 'bottle' can help protect against this to some degree, that helps prevent an app from effecting other apps and OS X, by 'containing' it, i.e. a 'bottle', where its processes run in their own sandbox, IN THEORY. I don't know enough about how a 'bottle' is implemented to know how deep that isolation goes and if it includes hardware protection. The fact USB is still problematic tells me probably not.

In a 'normal' windows system with the full OS running, the Windows OS would protect against this, under WINE you don't have that protection. In a virtualized copy of Windows, you can permit direct hardware access, because with virtualization, there is built in protections at the CPU level and in the virtual environment to protect against hardware access violating the rest of the system. In emulation, WINE developers have to figure that all out, not saying it's impossible, but probably very difficult and the level of effort and resources required to develop AND THEN MAINTAIN., would be comparable to building a virtualization product.

If you have a Toyota, but need a Lexus, at some point the cost of trying to convert your Toyota exceeds the cost of just designing and building a Lexus in the first place, hope that makes sense ;-)

Users who require better hardware compatibility, or use of devices that require low level direct hardware access (USB, FIrewire, network adapters, special dongles, etc), then yes, virtualization is a better choice for you.

Peace.
Like (1)
twickline
16 February 2015
You can now use Promo Code ( WeaveMe ) or ( Crimbo25 ) and get a instant 25% discount off CrossOver for Mac.
Like
Version 14.0.3
1 answer(s)
twickline
twickline
21 July 2015
I have setup the promo code so you now dont even need to enter the code , just click the link and see your savings . :)

<a href="https://www.codeweavers.com/store2/?dealcode=weaveme">
Like
AndreasMt
02 January 2015
Why people pay $50 for this app if for almost the same price they can have VMWare for 3 Macs - the number one in virtualisation? I've tried many emulators and I can say VirtualBox is not worse or even better and it's FREE.
Like
Version 14.0.3
2 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
04 January 2015
For one, bad experiences with VM Ware: It wiped all my registrations & passwords using bootcamp.

Don’t know if this is better, but that sure turned me off Fusion.
Like
k9gardner
k9gardner
10 July 2015
As Mcr indicated above, what do you get when you buy VMWare? A virtual machine in which to install Windows. If I need to run one or two programs, in a pinch, why would I need or want to incur the added expense of installing Windows in order to do it? Same with VirtualBox (which I use). For those who don't need the full Windows environment, if emulation will get the job done, it seems a no-brainer. I'm going to give it a try for one of our people, and perhaps will not have to buy another Windows license.
Like
AndyJah
04 December 2014
Hey, guys! Update it to 14.0.3 at least! ;)
Like
Version 14.0.1
Moxiesozo
31 October 2014
Version 14 REMOVES / kills support for Internet Explorer (pretty much any version), which was working fine with version 13. That was really the only reason I used, and bought, CrossOver. I called them to confirm my surprise and disbelief.
Like (3)
Version 14.0.1
7 answer(s)
4KarmicJustice
4KarmicJustice
03 January 2015
So true --- This was the purpose of CrossOver for us, now it's useless.
Like (2)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
04 January 2015
You bought Crossover to use Internet Explorer??? I hope that’s a joke.

This is not necessarily a bad thing. In effect, some businesses get off Internet Explorer for the issues it introduces.
Like
4KarmicJustice
4KarmicJustice
04 January 2015
It's not a joke when some SAAS apps require IE to run, why run a full emulator when this used to work well?

Why do you think that's a joke? Now the options are VMWare, Parallels, or, Citrix I guess... All require more resources and/or cost more. Do you have any other ideas?
Like (2)
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
04 January 2015
Not a joke. There are some companies, government agencies and web sites that require Internet Explorer. No other web browser will be accepted. When I encounter such a situation, firing up Crossover 13 and IE works well. (Worked well…) now that Crossover version 14 killed IE compatibility, I'm simply sticking with v13.
Like (2)
tastix
tastix
10 July 2015
It's not even necessary to bring in SAAS or government agencies as example. It already commences with Outlook Web Access. The correct right-click appearance will only be displayed in Internet Explorer, all other browsers are just showing the normal right-click popup.
Like
Levelbest
Levelbest
10 July 2015
In case It helps, I had to use Opera when I was working as a FEMA inspector after Katrina. The govt does indeed have exclusive IE only accessible websites that you will have NO ACCESS TO unless you can at least emulate IE. Applying for FEMA disaster relief is one of them. I signed up over a hundred people in the Houston Astro Dome on my Powerbook using Opera. I still don't use Opera every day but at least now I know It is a great emergency can opener I can pick up - when I have to.
Like
Laraine
Laraine
13 August 2015
I sure am glad I've never needed Internet Explorer. I haven't come across a web site that requires it (not that I can remember, anyway) but if I did I would mutter "get stuffed" and leave.
Like
Wimpiestar
19 August 2014
support sucs have a legally code that was bought with my old emailadres to recover my purchase they send de code to the old one and they cant recover it to my new one
Like
Version 13.2
1 answer(s)
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
31 October 2014
You might be right there. My experience of Crossover's support is that the developers are limited by how much they can do to imitate certain dll extnesions used by Microsoft Window and third-party applications. CrossOver support claims some of the reasons for applications crashing is because certain extensions are the intellectual property of Microsoft (understandable since this behemoth of a company must make a profit selling Windows, right?) and so CrossOver developers are unable to provide alternative dll extensions to do the same job. Also, it costs the CrossOver developers thousands of dollars (I've been quoted a phenomenal amount) to find a solution and provide an equivalent .dll extension(s) to make a commercial application like, say, FileMaker Pro 13 Advanced (especially the Runtime solutions maker), work properly.

If you have games and or fairly old commercial work-related applications (perhaps with the exception of Microsoft Office since the developers need people to see the advantage of running it on CrossOver to make their bread-and-butter through its version limited license fee), you have a better chance of getting support if the demand is there by enough people. If not, you can quite easily waste your money on this application (as any improvements to CrossOver over time are not significant enough to see new commercial software applications run properly, but mainly to fix up a few bugs in certain games played on CrossOver and maybe a handful of other applications).

Don't get too excited with CrossOver. CrossOver developers' always recommend that you run the trial version first and all the applications you need to run on it. And that means testing all the essential functions you will need to do in those applications. If the functions work for a long time, go purchase CrossOver. If not, go for a proper Windows OS emulation software like Parallels Desktop or Virtual Box. Then you will know that your PC applications will run properly and with stability.
Like
twickline
03 May 2014
You Can use promo code ( GameTime ) in CodeWeavers store and save 15% off the normal retail price. :)
Like
Version 13.1.3
Djefis
24 April 2014
There is always someone who forgets that there are MacBook Pro Retina. Voluntarily or involuntarily ..... This program is unusable for me.
Like (3)
Version 13.1.2
2 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
29 April 2014
I have no idea what you are talking about. I'm using CrossOver on my Retina MBP and it works just fine and even supports Retina resolutions. You cannot blame CrossOver when your Windows software only appears scaled up. Most Windows programs simply do not support HiDPI resolutions properly.
Like (4)
Djefis
Djefis
06 May 2014
Ok, you're right, but nobody says about the results that make the product limited to begin from the icons of office. I also say that the program is great, but fortunately I switched to mac 10 years ago for these reasons too.
Like
Gazman
20 March 2014
Now that OneNote is finally Mac native my days of using CrossOver are finished.
Like (1)
Version 13.1.2
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
20 March 2014
You haven’t looked to see what’s in that OneNote release, have you?
Like (3)
CFrag
25 February 2014
CrossOver is the for-profit version of WINE (a windows compatibility layer) for Mac and Linux. So you can get the same for free. But paying for CrossOver does have significant advantages: 1) support 2) a much better software package. I should also mention that CodeWeavers is funding the development of WINE, so paying for CO benefits the whole community. So, what does CO do? Basically, it allows you to run Windows software on your Mac in OSX *without* running a full windows emulator like VirtualBox, Parallels or VMWare. That means that you can run Windows software without needing a copy of Windows. Plus, CO has compatibility modules (they call them 'Bottles') for Windows 98, 2000, XP, Vista, and 7. An important, though perhaps under documented, point is that you don't really buy CO - you purchase the right to run the currently recent version, plus all updates for the next 12 Months. After that you may continue to use CO, but you can't update, and you are no longer entitled to support unless you purchase a license extension. For a business these terms are quite acceptable. Private users may not require continued support; yet being able to have the most recent version of CO can be worth the admission fee. Using CrossOver *can* be frustrating, because it assumes you know your way around in the particular brand of Windows your application requires - a presupposition that can prevent you from getting the results you need. If you don't know your way around Windows and the Windows software does not run from the get go (a rarity with old titles), you are pretty much screwed. That's where the service/support subscription comes in, and I've submitted a number of tickets to have them answered within 24 hours. That being said, the customization features of WINE are limited, which is both a boon and a problem if your software requires a particular feature. How well does it work? Well, if you have legacy software that is standard, straight code and you need to access that software or data, it works really, really well. CodeWeaver's site has a compatibility DB where you can check on-line if an application will run; be advised though that this DB isn't always current, and new versions of CrossOver can break compatibility with older software. If you have legacy software that taxed the system at the time (usually games), used DRM, or non-standard graphics (e.g. GLide), results are mixed. I was able, for example, to install Homeworld off the original CD, and could play it - but only in software rendering, and at 640x480x16. But all animations, sounds, and interface worked flawless, at full speed. Many other games, though, didn't run at all (Mechcommander 2 (a Microsoft Title), Ground Control, Red Alert, Independence War), others worked but were unplayable because they did not read input devices correctly (Freespace, Freesapce 2). Other titles ran, but were so old that their usability was null (Tribes, Starsiege) because their infrastructure did no longer exists - not a fault of CO, though. As a general rule of thumb, compatibility increases when the software is younger and starts using Windows-based standard libraries. This continues up to a certain point where the performance trade-off with the WINE-layer (10%-20%) makes the game unplayable. Most productivity software (MS Office, Quicken, Visio) not only runs really well, but because it is officially supported by CodeWeavers, installation is quick and painless. For many other titles that are not officially supported, there are community-provided installers that help you navigate some pitfalls during installation and that makes using CO much, much easier. If you are using Steam, though, CrossOver is a great tool. Many old games work well when downloaded into a steam bottle (they will install into the same 'Bottle' as steam), and this way you gain access to many classic game titles that are otherwise unavailable on the Mac. Newer steam titles work, but the newest usually don't because of performance issues. Older titles usually work well, but may require you to install an obscure Windows library - without CO support I would not have been able to do so. that way, I was finally able to play 'Far Cry', 'Nexus: The Jupiter Incident' and 'Sins of a Solar Empire' on OSX. So, is it worth it? If you have a legacy app and need to access or import windows data, then it is definitely worth a shot (you have a trial period to see if it works), and well worth the price if it works. It's much cheaper to than to spring for a full Windows emulation plus Windows, and you can switch between windows versions. For me, it's a great help, and the cost for service is negligible compared to what I would need to pay had I used a Windows PC and some Windows expert to keep it running. And if you want to play some classic titles that are available on Steam, it's definitely worth a try.
Like (24)
Version 13.1
1 answer(s)
Laraine
Laraine
24 March 2014
Thanks for such an in-depth review. I came here, curious, because this software is part of a Bundlehunt deal and I'd never heard of Crossover. It sounds particularly good for people who have switched from Windows to Mac but I'm still bemused. I've used a Mac for 28 years and I've yet to come across an application that I desperately wanted but which was available only for Windows.
Like
jmhbpc
30 January 2014
I'd like to buy it, but I can only run PhotoshopCS2. IllustratorCS2's Missing required plugin BRS pencil tool ExpandS Pathfinder Suite” error" is persistent problem. I had hoped this know issue would have been addressed at the Codeweaver forums
Like
Version 13.0.1
Mikael-B
19 December 2013
Stack Social have 50% off for 6 more days on CrossOver 13. http://t.co/zuavghlxM3
Like
Version 13.0.1
coolspot
09 December 2013
This app is like magic, makes non-compatible Windows applications like Visio function correctly under OSX. Crossover under the cover uses WINE for translation, but the UI they have put on top of it, plus the value added features like CrossTie make this an invaluable application for me.
Like
Version 13.0.1
kc9824
27 October 2013
Lots of problem. Stuck installing a bottle. Stuck in windows app. Then I try to trash it using appcleaner. now the trash can cannot be empty!! I polly need reinstall Maverick.
Like
Version 12.5.1
2 answer(s)
JSchmid700
JSchmid700
27 October 2013
If you are having problems with our software I encourage your to contact our support ninjas. They will be able to walk you through any troubles you might be having.
Like (1)
Pacmanen
Pacmanen
12 November 2013
here is a little terminal command that help me delete my trash when I cannot delete it so maybe you are lucky it works... but look out it can delete a lot of you not write it the right way sudo rm -rf ~/.Trash/*
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
25 October 2013
Codeweavers does a poor job of explaining how their upgrade system works. If you're like me, and you already have the free "Flock The Vote" subscription from last Halloween, but you've subsequently picked up additional serial codes from bundles since then, wait until November 1st (you should have received an email about your subscription lapsing soon), then use one of those codes to add a new year of support to your account using this link: https://www.codeweavers.com/store/register/
Like
Version 12.5.1
monet
24 October 2013
Crossover 12.5.1 doesn't load on my Macbook Retina either (on Mountain Lion). I suppose it won't run on Mavericks as well. I'll be sticking with version 12.2.2 and Mountain Lion.
Like (1)
Version 12.5.1
3 answer(s)
monet
monet
25 October 2013
Not a fair review. New version probably works great on other systems. Probably my system. 12.2.2 sure works good though. Good option for old windows games.
Like
JSchmid700
JSchmid700
27 October 2013
CrossOver 12.5.1 is compatible with Mountain Lion.
Like
monet
monet
27 October 2013
No matter what I've tried I cannot get 12.5.0 or 12.5.1 to work on mountain lion. I have deleted everything twice, including bottles. preferences, etc. If I try to make a new bottle with 12.5.1 I just get a spinning beach ball. I cannot even get into the control panel to change the graphics rendering on any bottle. Once I did everything over using 12.2.2 everything works fine. For this and other software compatibility issues, I will not be going to Mavericks any time soon.
Like
twickline
21 September 2013
You can use ( Tribeca ) as your promo code and receive a 25% discount off CrossOver. This promo code is valid until March 31st 2015.. Please help share this 25% off promo code and save your friends some $$$ :)
Like (1)
Version 12.5
KevinLinJCL
16 August 2013
Upgrade to 12.5, but it's even unable to start. (OSX 10.8.4)
Like
Version 12.5
monet
14 August 2013
Apps and games no longer load under Crossover 12.5. Worked fine in previous versions. I hope they fix this soon so I don't have to remove it since it has become useless.
Like (1)
Version 12.5
Goldyn-Chyld
13 August 2013
What's with the ugly "winloader32" icon that launches in the Dock each time I run CrossOver?? How can I prevent it from showing up?
Like
Version 12.5
1 answer(s)
Goldyn-Chyld
Goldyn-Chyld
13 August 2013
*wineloader32
Like
Ephg
13 July 2013
Just bought the latest version and can't register ti. Keep getting: Your support contract is not valid for this product. You may need to purchase a support extension or an additional license. So I can't rate it because I can't use it
Like (1)
Version 12.2.1
2 answer(s)
Ephg
Ephg
14 July 2013
It don't work on 12.2.1
Like
@timi
@timi
23 July 2013
What I take away from the message you've received are these two options: Did your license expire? Are you using more seats than your license allows? You can't rate something 1 star if your license expired, that's your issue. Revert back to the last version your license is valid for and it sounds like your problems will be solved.
Like (1)
trungpt
10 July 2013
That'd be great if it can support Microsoft Visio with gold medal.
Like
Version 12.2.1
twickline
14 February 2013
You can use ( CxForLess ) as your dealcode in CodeWeavers store you will save 15% off CrossOver for Mac!
Like
Version 12.1.1
1 answer(s)
twickline
twickline
14 February 2013
The dealcode should be CxForMe
Like
Obilolo
26 January 2013
Just bought crossover 12 via macupdate promo, and it's impossible to register it... I keep trying but it seems that the serial given by macupdate is not recognized by crossover. Does I have to wait or is this a bug in the process ?
Like (1)
Version 12.1
3 answer(s)
Kocma
Kocma
26 January 2013
Download a new version 12.1.1, this will fix registration problem.
Like (2)
TSM001
TSM001
26 January 2013
Had the same problem - registration now has worked after updating to recent Crossover version 12.1.1
Like
Obilolo
Obilolo
26 January 2013
I confirm that it's working after updating to 12.1.1. Thanks !
Like (1)
Kocma
26 January 2013
I've just bought crossover 12. Until now i was a happy user of crossover 10 which was splitted into two apps: crossover and crossover games. After instalation crossover 12 finds bottles from crossover 10 but not from crossover games. How to import games bottles into new version? Games bottles are on external drive and I don't want to change their location if it's possible. Sorry for my English - it is not my native laguage. Marcin
Like
Version 12.1
1 answer(s)
JSchmid700
JSchmid700
26 January 2013
Hi Marcin, My name is Jana and I am the Marketing Manager for CodeWeavers, please contact our support ninjas and they will be able to help you out. You can submit a support ticket at: http://www.codeweavers.com/support/
Like (1)
Kocma
26 January 2013
I've just bought crossover 12. Until now i was a happy user of crossover 10 which was splitted into two apps: crossover and crossover games. After instalation crossover 12 finds bottles from crossover 10 but not from crossover games. How to import games bottles into new version? Games bottles are on external drive and I don't want to change their location if it's possible. Sorry for my English - it is not my native laguage. Marcin
Like
Version 12.1
Karlos1001
26 January 2013
Having just purchased Crossover via MacUpdates Promo, it wont register... still awaiting an email response from both Codeweavers and MacUpdate. To registration asks for your Codeweaver login details... well I didn't have, nor was I asked to setup an account with Codeweavers! Anyway now I have setup a Codeweaver account, you guessed it... It still wont register... even though I used both my codeweaver login details... and the registration key sent to me via MacUpdate. It is this kind of senario, that I aways fear when not purchasing directly from the software developer.
Like (1)
Version 12.1
4 answer(s)
benoit514
benoit514
26 January 2013
Hello Karlos, I'm using mac OS 10.6.8 and it's exactly the same for me: impossible to register even after created a codeweaver account So, one more email to Codeweavers and MacUpdate.
Like
Karlos1001
Karlos1001
26 January 2013
Yes, at last it is working... but what a poor show by MacUpdate! MacUpdate only send you the serial code... and that is it, but this is what I had to do. 1). Having made your purchase, and received your serial code. Go to www.codeweavers.com and setup an account. 2). When you go to run Crossover it'll ask you to (buy|try|register) and tell you that there is a new version available, ignore the (buy|try|register) message, but agree to update to the new version, and allow it to update the program. 3). Once updated, then choose to register, when the registration box opens hit the button "if you have a serial code" [it says something like that]. 4). Enter the login details that you used to set-up an account at www.codeweavers.com, and enter your serial code, and all should be fine. Again, with MacUpdate only giving the serial, and not answering my emails, it doesn't inspire me with much confidence to make any future purchases... though I'm sure I will, but how much more those who are not heavy computer users, or very computer savvy? I do hope MacUpdate make the effort to make future purchases a bit more streamline. Still, I'm pleased to get the lastest version at a discount price, you have to credit them with that... thanks MU. MBP Early 2010 Snow Leopard [10.6.8]
Like (1)
JSchmid700
JSchmid700
26 January 2013
Please update to CrossOver 12.1.1 to register your serial code. Thanks, Jana
Like
benoit514
benoit514
26 January 2013
wow, thanks a lot! so that's just a bug that was fixed with the last update 12.1.1 I agree with you with the effort that has to be done by Macupdate: The contrast is too big between their "bells and whistles" adds/newletter and the ultra minimalistic informations they provide when you make a purchase..
Like
Holypoly
23 January 2013
Version 12.0.1 has been released: " The behavior of several applications has improved in CrossOver 12.1. Our Quicken users will notice increased stability. We have fixed some problems with server connections in Outlook. We have also made various improvements to how the Microsoft Office suite runs under CrossOver: we have fixed a bug which caused adding a table of contents to a Word document to fail, among others. On the Mac OS, users of OS X 10.6.8 who may have experienced trouble with automatic updates in prior versions should see those problems resolved. Also on the Mac, many games are running better in full-screen mode than they did in our previous version. Finally, we have fixed an issue which caused some users to have to remove duplicate license files in order to keep CrossOver running. On Linux, we have resolved a crash for Ubuntu / Unity users running Guild Wars 2. We have also resolved some error messages which had been present in the terminal on start-up from the command-line."
Like (1)
Version 12.0
Sev7en
12 December 2012
Version 12 looks promising but as far as I read from the log, new applications are still unsupported. Anyway, great app and nice work developers.
Like (1)
Version 12.0
Gazman
12 December 2012
Version 12 is out, I'm downloading it now.
Like
Version 11.3
GeogProf
07 November 2012
11.3.1 is already out, but it’s not listed here.
Like (1)
Version 11.3
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
07 November 2012
11.3.1 is the free version that was in given away in a halloween promotion; 11.3.0 is functionally identical to 11.3.1. See this forum post for more details http://www.codeweavers.com/support/forums/general/?t=27;msg=132912
Like (1)
ash-f
01 October 2012
This is useful. But The thing I've been missing most is drag and drop file between Finder and PC program. I hope they will implement soon.
Like
Version 11.2.2