Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to CrossOver page
CrossOver free download for Mac

CrossOver Reviews20.0.4

28 January 2021

Run Windows apps on your Mac.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
dncnrmi
dncnrmi
Apr 16 2021
20.0.4
0.0
Apr 16 2021
0.0
Version: 20.0.4
skinned wine. my loyalty is with parallels, which I was a beta tester for back in 2006. I tried other solutions, but until bootcamp came along, there was nothing better than parallels. I was using stuff like sony vegas & corel photopaint on a gen-1 intel macbook pro, & apart from a bit of video memory management with a usb scanner, it was as good as or better than running the same apps on a pc laptop.
bruh9247
bruh9247
Apr 12 2021
20.0.4
1.0
Apr 12 2021
1.0
Version: 20.0.4
Downloaded and tried the app, disappointed. EVERY exe I gave it didn't even open! Save yourself money, sanity, and bugs, and use the open-source Wine instead. https://winehq.org
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Jan 27 2021
20.0.4
1.0
Jan 27 2021
1.0
Version: 20.0.4
Bought an earlier version that continues to work but tried to run Forte, a Windows news client on Crossover. Codeweaver wrote it and couldn't get it to work. So, I won't ever upgrade. They got my $20 and that's it.
krisnaz
krisnaz
Nov 8 2020
20.0
2.0
Nov 8 2020
2.0
Version: 20.0
Initially, Crossover was working for me to run an astrological software program via Windows. However, since the latest update it is constantly freezing, crashing and barely useable. I have tried to contact the company but to no avail, so will unfortunately have to uninstall and find something else...not happy.
dinosandovalli
dinosandovalli
Oct 31 2020
20.0
5.0
Oct 31 2020
5.0
Version: 20.0
dinosandovalli@virgilio.it
bumf71
bumf71
Oct 29 2020
20.0
1.0
Oct 29 2020
1.0
Version: 20.0
Doesn't work as advertised. Terrible support. Won't refund without setting up a Teamviewer session to ensure you have removed it which is totally out of the question for my work pc despite them acknowledging it is their isssue.
ivryernest
ivryernest
Oct 13 2020
20.0
0.0
Oct 13 2020
0.0
Version: 20.0
I am allergic to Windows...
depechemod1976-1
depechemod1976-1
May 26 2020
18.5
0.0
May 26 2020
0.0
Version: 18.5
$20.95 ??
malievskyallan
malievskyallan
May 18 2020
18.5
2.0
May 18 2020
2.0
Version: 18.5
Quite clunky. Just because an app works once is no guarantee it'll work a second time. With every startup there's some new issue. I've no doubt some will find this useful, but it probably makes sense for most others to just go the bootcamp route. . make sure you test comprehensively because they absolutely do not do refunds.
soaresge
soaresge
Jan 25 2020
19.0.1
0.0
Jan 25 2020
0.0
Version: 19.0.1
I really liked the crossover, it is being very useful in my kackintosh.
xgman
xgman
Mar 22 2019
18.5
3.0
Mar 22 2019
3.0
Version: 18.5
Still needs fully 64 bit capable fix.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 22 2019
18.5
0.0
Mar 22 2019
0.0
Version: 18.5
Some perspective about CrossOver: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wine_(software)#CrossOver CrossOver is a contributor to the Wine (WINE) open source project. As such, their actual Wine code is incorporated into Wine software, which of course is accessible for free. You can also access CrossOver code via their free contribution to the Darwine open source project. When BUYING CrossOver, what you're getting, in addition to Wine, is their added GUI and other ease-of-use code that makes it significantly easier and more enjoyable to use than straight Wine. The money you pay to CrossOver goes into their further development contributions to the Wine project as well as updating their ease-of-use code. It's important to note that Wine is VERY limited in what Windows software it is able to run, despite how promising it sounds when you read about it. This is particularly true of games, which tend to be what Mac users would like to access from the Windows environment. With time, this has become a more prominent limitation of Wine thanks to Microsoft managing to push proprietary APIs to their Windows game developers, resulting in them NOT being available to incorporate into Wine. DirectX is of particular annoyance. Even virtualization systems are unable to provide contemporary DirectX 11 or 12 support. This has been the case for many years. DirectX 10 is now relatively antiquated. There is some glint of promise in Wine version 4.0 in that it provides some support of DirectX 11 code. With time and testing we'll find out how well it works. Wine 4.0 is of course incorporated into the most current version of CrossOver.
durrantcolin
durrantcolin
Mar 9 2019
18.1
1.0
Mar 9 2019
1.0
Version: 18.1
Uninstalling because none of the applications for windows open I can install but attempting to open just crashes out the window app I am trying to open.
xgman
xgman
Nov 3 2018
18.0
3.0
Nov 3 2018
3.0
Version: 18.0
5 stars IF it is 64 bit compatible. But it is not! With a brand new version and I get a "this app is not optimized" message from OSX Mojave? Really? Heading into 2019 soon I think they could have gone ahead and made this app fully 64. geeze!
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
May 10 2018
17.5
1.0
May 10 2018
1.0
Version: 17.5
Tried running Forte Agent with it and it would not connect to the network while Forte did fine on Windows 7 in a VM. Bought a promotion from 3rd party site and it can't be upgraded. They want more money even though the version I bought didn't work. Now I installed Python 2.7.15 from the python.org site and it totally breaks Crossover. Support says Reinstall the OS. Glad I didn't give them any more money. This goes straight into the trash. A waste of my money.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Apr 30 2018
17.1
2.0
Apr 30 2018
2.0
Version: 17.1
It's ok. It works well enough, but with MS Office and Acrobat Pro, it is slow and clunky. These are the latest versions, too - and there are bizarre graphics issues such as lines and jagged triangle-like shapes that bisect the screen. And there is significant lag associated with kernel_task spiking whenever CrossOver is running.
hotmac
hotmac
Feb 7 2018
17.1
0.5
Feb 7 2018
0.5
Version: 17.1
I bought CrossOver in a promotion and found out that it was a one-time license. Now, four weeks later, there is an update that I can't install because I need a 1 year license or a lifetime license to install the update. In my opinion this is fraud, because the current update mainly fixes bugs. I'm not gonna back this subscription crap. Codeweaver, you lost me as a customer! By the way, it is advertised that Office 2016 works with v17. But it doesn't! CrossOver crashes, freezes, slows down the computer....
mamunguia2011
mamunguia2011
Jan 4 2018
17.0.0
0.5
Jan 4 2018
0.5
Version: 17.0.0
I feel like I wasted my time and feel frustrated. CrossOver in my opinion is a scam. It crashes often. Some software does not work properly. I wish I could get my money back. The two software I tried to run were Quicken Deluxe for Windows 2016 and Steam. These two don't work.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Jan 3 2018
17.0.0
2.0
Jan 3 2018
2.0
Version: 17.0.0
Version 17 killed my Escape Goat game. Won't launch at all. Had to revert back to version 16.x to get it working again. Doesn't seem like much of an upgrade when less apps work afterwards.
HelmotV
HelmotV
Dec 6 2017
17.0.0
0.5
Dec 6 2017
0.5
Version: 17.0.0
I prefer Parallels Desktop after testing this software.
dmu
dmu
Nov 29 2017
16.2.5
1.0
Nov 29 2017
1.0
Version: 16.2.5
If I got a PhD in how to use Crossover, this might be worth my time. But alas, try as I might, nothing installs or runs successfully. Nothing installs in the "bottle" chosen, nothing works period. Requires Windows 7 or later? I tried installing in both Windows 7 & 10 bottles. But nothing goes into bottles. None of it makes sense. None of it works. Goodbye six hours of my life. I quit.
teovela
teovela
Feb 16 2017
16.1
3.5
Feb 16 2017
3.5
Version: 16.1
Had some problems right after download, the app couldn't be installed smoothly. But I liked the customer support, they were very polite and helpful. Hope the app will serve me well.
Mamabee
Mamabee
Feb 13 2017
16.1
4.0
Feb 13 2017
4.0
Version: 16.1
I have been using Parallels Desktop for years. Testing this trial right now. It's looking good so far, if it works, I think the price will be worth it.
mikee7831
mikee7831
Dec 24 2016
16.0.0
4.0
Dec 24 2016
4.0
Version: 16.0.0
Cannot complain, works well and they have a good customer support. Altough the support time or the update service is getting used to
Simty
Simty
Dec 8 2015
15.0
2.0
Dec 8 2015
2.0
Version: 15.0
I was thinking about buying Crossover when version 15.0 came out. I installed 15.0 to test M$ Explorer 8 (which was working perfectly under Crossover 14). Unfortunately it will no longer work so I'm keeping my money in my pocket.. I'll try it again when Crossover 15.1 is released. Maybe I'll buy it then.
Dcuwcy
Dcuwcy
Oct 9 2015
14.1.10
0.0
Oct 9 2015
0.0
Version: 14.1.10
Carefull! Update broke some bottles (ticket is open) So try a copy first.
Sgginc
Sgginc
Jul 11 2015
14.1.4
0.0
Jul 11 2015
0.0
Version: 14.1.4
Beware: This is for a 6 month upgrade path. I don't see that stated anywhere. I bought this thinking it was 1 year. I could have upgraded at CodeWeavers for $29.95 for i year. I hope this can be corrected. Thanks ... Ken
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 27 2015
14.1.4
0.0
Jun 27 2015
0.0
Version: 14.1.4
just a technical note. Emulation and virtualization are very different concepts and approaches. Crossover and WINE are emulators. Parallels, Fusion and Virtual box use virtualization.. People often use the two terms interchangeable and often incorrectly. Understanding the difference will help you make a better informed choice. Why should you care? The highest degree of compatibility will be found with virtualization. Emulators try to 'emulate' the Windows environment, translating Windows system functions into OSX equivalents, for lack of a better word, trying to 'fake' the Windows environment (and I'm not using the word 'fake' here in a negative sense or to put down Crossover, i'm using the word to describe how it works, not pass a value judgement on the product). virtualization does not 'fake' the windows environment, for all intents and purposes, when you run Windows (or Linux or OSX) in a virtual environment, like Parallels or Fusion, you are literally running that OS completely, with hardware access etc. The Windows operating system is literally loaded into a memory space and is "running". Hence the reason why you need a copy of Windows to install in the first place. The built in VTx support in Intel and AMD chips literally allows for virtual environments to run in and control their own physical 'copy' of the hardware. Virtual environments can directly access hardware, like USB, CD drives, Firewire, network adapters, etc. When you access Windows under Parallels or Fusion, your CPU on your Mac is literally switching back and forth millions of times a second, allowing Windows and its programs to execute code directly on the CPU and hardware, and then back to OS X. During those nano seconds when Wiindows has control, you are RUNNING the complete and full Windows operating system on your Mac. Same as Bootcamp, the difference being that with Bootcamp, you boot into Windows and run it till you reboot, whereas with virtualization, you are switching back and forth very fast between Windows running (or a Linux or OSX virtual machine) and OSX running directly on the Mac. Emulation doesn't involve running any Windows code at all, hence why you don't need a copy of Windows to run WINE or Crossover. There is no Windows code ever really executed, instead, when an app makes a request that normally it would expect Windows to handle, that request is being intercepted by Crossover, and 'translated' into something OSX understands, like "give me some memory", or "please draw this dialog box in my 'window' on the screen", or 'move the mouse cursor here'.. There are benefits and disadvantages to both approaches. Choose based on what you need to do and your needs. DEFINITELY as suggested elsewhere, it's your responsibility to test the trial version first and make sure the app you want to run works under Crossover. Don't blame anyone else if you buy Crossover and your app doesn't work because you didn't test it. and don't assume if you buy Crossover, that apps you want to use in the future that you can't test now will work. As with anything, no vendor can guarantee future compatibility, but by its nature, you have a better chance with virtualization than with emulation as far as future apps running. for the reasons I mentioned earlier, namely that with virtualization you are running a 'real' copy of Windows. Of course that also means with virtualization that the hardware resources required are greater, you really need a decent CPU and enough memory for both Windows and OSX. 4GB of RAM is barely acceptable, you really should have 8GB if running virtualization. Also, you need a copy or license of Windows to install. Cost wise as far as the product, it looks like the $39.95 'subscription' for Crossover is comparable to the $49 yearly upgrade fee for Parallels and Fusion.
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
Mar 21 2015
14.1
2.0
Mar 21 2015
2.0
Version: 14.1
CrossOver is a nice concept: Create a middle-ware layer that translates Windows APIs to Host Operating System APIs so that Apps can run in OS X, Linux, Unix, etc.

For some apps, they can run successfully in the Host Environment such as OS X. But there are SO FEW OF THEM. They are called the Gold-Level apps compared to a Virtual PC like Parallels which can run nearly all Windows apps.

A glaring problem in using CrossOver is that it is COMPLETELY INCOMPATIBLE WITH USB DEVICES. It won't recognize a programmable keypad. It won't recognize scanners. Etc. And this is maddening. Sure, this may be an enormous problem that the Wine Community has worked on for years but has been unsuccessful. But USB Compatibility is an expectation. It should work. You should be able to install USB drivers and expect Wine to work with them.

But alas WINE and CrossOver continue to be incompatible with USB. It is a shame that has forced me to discontinue using WINE and CrossOver in favor of a real PC computing environment using Parallels desktop.
twickline
twickline
Feb 16 2015
14.0.3
0.0
Feb 16 2015
0.0
Version: 14.0.3
You can now use Promo Code ( WeaveMe ) or ( Crimbo25 ) and get a instant 25% discount off CrossOver for Mac.
AndreasMt
AndreasMt
Jan 2 2015
14.0.3
2.0
Jan 2 2015
2.0
Version: 14.0.3
Why people pay $50 for this app if for almost the same price they can have VMWare for 3 Macs - the number one in virtualisation? I've tried many emulators and I can say VirtualBox is not worse or even better and it's FREE.
AndyJah
AndyJah
Dec 4 2014
14.0.1
5.0
Dec 4 2014
5.0
Version: 14.0.1
Hey, guys! Update it to 14.0.3 at least! ;)
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Oct 31 2014
14.0.1
0.5
Oct 31 2014
0.5
Version: 14.0.1
Version 14 REMOVES / kills support for Internet Explorer (pretty much any version), which was working fine with version 13. That was really the only reason I used, and bought, CrossOver. I called them to confirm my surprise and disbelief.
Wimpiestar
Wimpiestar
Aug 19 2014
13.2
0.5
Aug 19 2014
0.5
Version: 13.2
support sucs have a legally code that was bought with my old emailadres to recover my purchase they send de code to the old one and they cant recover it to my new one
twickline
twickline
May 3 2014
13.1.3
0.0
May 3 2014
0.0
Version: 13.1.3
You Can use promo code ( GameTime ) in CodeWeavers store and save 15% off the normal retail price. :)
Djefis
Djefis
Apr 24 2014
13.1.2
3.0
Apr 24 2014
3.0
Version: 13.1.2
There is always someone who forgets that there are MacBook Pro Retina. Voluntarily or involuntarily ..... This program is unusable for me.
Gazman
Gazman
Mar 20 2014
13.1.2
0.0
Mar 20 2014
0.0
Version: 13.1.2
Now that OneNote is finally Mac native my days of using CrossOver are finished.
CFrag
CFrag
Feb 25 2014
13.1
4.0
Feb 25 2014
4.0
Version: 13.1
CrossOver is the for-profit version of WINE (a windows compatibility layer) for Mac and Linux. So you can get the same for free. But paying for CrossOver does have significant advantages: 1) support 2) a much better software package. I should also mention that CodeWeavers is funding the development of WINE, so paying for CO benefits the whole community. So, what does CO do? Basically, it allows you to run Windows software on your Mac in OSX *without* running a full windows emulator like VirtualBox, Parallels or VMWare. That means that you can run Windows software without needing a copy of Windows. Plus, CO has compatibility modules (they call them 'Bottles') for Windows 98, 2000, XP, Vista, and 7. An important, though perhaps under documented, point is that you don't really buy CO - you purchase the right to run the currently recent version, plus all updates for the next 12 Months. After that you may continue to use CO, but you can't update, and you are no longer entitled to support unless you purchase a license extension. For a business these terms are quite acceptable. Private users may not require continued support; yet being able to have the most recent version of CO can be worth the admission fee. Using CrossOver *can* be frustrating, because it assumes you know your way around in the particular brand of Windows your application requires - a presupposition that can prevent you from getting the results you need. If you don't know your way around Windows and the Windows software does not run from the get go (a rarity with old titles), you are pretty much screwed. That's where the service/support subscription comes in, and I've submitted a number of tickets to have them answered within 24 hours. That being said, the customization features of WINE are limited, which is both a boon and a problem if your software requires a particular feature. How well does it work? Well, if you have legacy software that is standard, straight code and you need to access that software or data, it works really, really well. CodeWeaver's site has a compatibility DB where you can check on-line if an application will run; be advised though that this DB isn't always current, and new versions of CrossOver can break compatibility with older software. If you have legacy software that taxed the system at the time (usually games), used DRM, or non-standard graphics (e.g. GLide), results are mixed. I was able, for example, to install Homeworld off the original CD, and could play it - but only in software rendering, and at 640x480x16. But all animations, sounds, and interface worked flawless, at full speed. Many other games, though, didn't run at all (Mechcommander 2 (a Microsoft Title), Ground Control, Red Alert, Independence War), others worked but were unplayable because they did not read input devices correctly (Freespace, Freesapce 2). Other titles ran, but were so old that their usability was null (Tribes, Starsiege) because their infrastructure did no longer exists - not a fault of CO, though. As a general rule of thumb, compatibility increases when the software is younger and starts using Windows-based standard libraries. This continues up to a certain point where the performance trade-off with the WINE-layer (10%-20%) makes the game unplayable. Most productivity software (MS Office, Quicken, Visio) not only runs really well, but because it is officially supported by CodeWeavers, installation is quick and painless. For many other titles that are not officially supported, there are community-provided installers that help you navigate some pitfalls during installation and that makes using CO much, much easier. If you are using Steam, though, CrossOver is a great tool. Many old games work well when downloaded into a steam bottle (they will install into the same 'Bottle' as steam), and this way you gain access to many classic game titles that are otherwise unavailable on the Mac. Newer steam titles work, but the newest usually don't because of performance issues. Older titles usually work well, but may require you to install an obscure Windows library - without CO support I would not have been able to do so. that way, I was finally able to play 'Far Cry', 'Nexus: The Jupiter Incident' and 'Sins of a Solar Empire' on OSX. So, is it worth it? If you have a legacy app and need to access or import windows data, then it is definitely worth a shot (you have a trial period to see if it works), and well worth the price if it works. It's much cheaper to than to spring for a full Windows emulation plus Windows, and you can switch between windows versions. For me, it's a great help, and the cost for service is negligible compared to what I would need to pay had I used a Windows PC and some Windows expert to keep it running. And if you want to play some classic titles that are available on Steam, it's definitely worth a try.
jmhbpc
jmhbpc
Jan 30 2014
13.0.1
4.0
Jan 30 2014
4.0
Version: 13.0.1
I'd like to buy it, but I can only run PhotoshopCS2. IllustratorCS2's Missing required plugin BRS pencil tool ExpandS Pathfinder Suite” error" is persistent problem. I had hoped this know issue would have been addressed at the Codeweaver forums
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Dec 19 2013
13.0.1
0.0
Dec 19 2013
0.0
Version: 13.0.1
Stack Social have 50% off for 6 more days on CrossOver 13. http://t.co/zuavghlxM3
coolspot
coolspot
Dec 9 2013
13.0.1
4.5
Dec 9 2013
4.5
Version: 13.0.1
This app is like magic, makes non-compatible Windows applications like Visio function correctly under OSX. Crossover under the cover uses WINE for translation, but the UI they have put on top of it, plus the value added features like CrossTie make this an invaluable application for me.
kc9824
kc9824
Oct 27 2013
12.5.1
0.5
Oct 27 2013
0.5
Version: 12.5.1
Lots of problem. Stuck installing a bottle. Stuck in windows app. Then I try to trash it using appcleaner. now the trash can cannot be empty!! I polly need reinstall Maverick.
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Oct 25 2013
12.5.1
0.0
Oct 25 2013
0.0
Version: 12.5.1
Codeweavers does a poor job of explaining how their upgrade system works. If you're like me, and you already have the free "Flock The Vote" subscription from last Halloween, but you've subsequently picked up additional serial codes from bundles since then, wait until November 1st (you should have received an email about your subscription lapsing soon), then use one of those codes to add a new year of support to your account using this link: https://www.codeweavers.com/store/register/
monet
monet
Oct 24 2013
12.5.1
2.0
Oct 24 2013
2.0
Version: 12.5.1
Crossover 12.5.1 doesn't load on my Macbook Retina either (on Mountain Lion). I suppose it won't run on Mavericks as well. I'll be sticking with version 12.2.2 and Mountain Lion.
twickline
twickline
Sep 21 2013
12.5
0.0
Sep 21 2013
0.0
Version: 12.5
You can use ( Tribeca ) as your promo code and receive a 25% discount off CrossOver. This promo code is valid until March 31st 2015.. Please help share this 25% off promo code and save your friends some $$$ :)
KevinLinJCL
KevinLinJCL
Aug 16 2013
12.5
0.0
Aug 16 2013
0.0
Version: 12.5
Upgrade to 12.5, but it's even unable to start. (OSX 10.8.4)
monet
monet
Aug 14 2013
12.5
2.0
Aug 14 2013
2.0
Version: 12.5
Apps and games no longer load under Crossover 12.5. Worked fine in previous versions. I hope they fix this soon so I don't have to remove it since it has become useless.
Goldyn-Chyld
Goldyn-Chyld
Aug 13 2013
12.5
3.5
Aug 13 2013
3.5
Version: 12.5
What's with the ugly "winloader32" icon that launches in the Dock each time I run CrossOver?? How can I prevent it from showing up?
Ephg
Ephg
Jul 13 2013
12.2.1
1.0
Jul 13 2013
1.0
Version: 12.2.1
Just bought the latest version and can't register ti. Keep getting: Your support contract is not valid for this product. You may need to purchase a support extension or an additional license. So I can't rate it because I can't use it
trungpt
trungpt
Jul 10 2013
12.2.1
4.0
Jul 10 2013
4.0
Version: 12.2.1
That'd be great if it can support Microsoft Visio with gold medal.