Back to Midnight Inbox page
Midnight Inbox free download for Mac

Midnight Inbox Reviews

1.5.1
14 July 2011

GTD to-do list and file manager.

Bumbleb
09 March 2010

Most helpful

In my opinion the reaqson people are switching between all these GTD apps is because... shocker... the GTD system is... Flawed. It only works for robots. I realised that after looking deep into myself and reading up on David Allens past in a cult, as a minister there. Hw knows how to preach and brainwash and create a cult. Look at GTD - it is a cult!
Like (8)
Version 1.4.4

Read 44 Midnight Inbox User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
06 May 2014
Current version is 1.6 (and actually the one you get with the Download link here ;-) ) while otherwise only available through MAS — not on the dev's site.
Like
Version 1.5.1
2 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
23 December 2014
The [desktop] interface appears to contain enough features to be useful without being so robust as to be awkward. Now I need to see the iOS version.

What is shown here, is indeed out of date. The desktop version appears to be free in the AppStore & the interface isn’t at all bad, with it looking like a stripped down version of OmniFocus & a bit more like Things, but again possibly less robust.

It becomes more useful to me when they get the mobile version[s] up & running. It isn’t clear on their website whether one needs to buy a separate version for iPad & iPhone, though I’m sure they’d love it if one did!

If I have to buy separate copies for those 2 platforms, I think that puts me in the OmniFocus for iOS price point ballpark.

Would also be nice to know something detailed about its features rather than merely rely on first impressions of people who are quick to trash an app they barely tried, or who do not grasp its use.
Like
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
04 January 2015
It looks good.
Would instill more confidence if the website were readable! Beep, Please fix.

There appears to be issues with iCloud sync-ing correctly that is attributed to Apple & has been for a year now., although it doesn’t leave a warm & fuzzy feeling when they link to a few too many articles that redirects the problem onto Apple: Is there another option until Apple gets their act together?

The remaining email option in the meantime means updating/syncing clients by email - in plain text & they need to get past that in a hurry. I’d prefer a local sync without going to the cloud at all.

The methodology is confusing [to me, anyway] in that there are subordinate inBOXES possible, which sort of pre-processes tasks & notes in the collection phase, but further downstream has an ORGANIZE phase that appears to be for LIST level processing. This seems to be applied toward stepped lists consisting of actions & is supposed to be where grocery shopping lists might go. Sliding these around has a learning curve.
Like
cubanpete
15 March 2013
While it has a gorgeous interface it tended to crash on me several times on the first day on Mac OS X 10.82. Just creating and then deleting a note caused a crash. Today on the 2nd day a crash caused the fonts not to display properly. I was not able to fix this problem even by uninstalling and reinstalling the app over and over again. I checked if the font Hoefler-Text is available to the app. It is. Still no luck. I wish I could fix this. Finally I had to uninstall this promising app because it because unusable... Please see this screenshot I made to see how the font issue looks here. http://tinypic.com/r/65zoxz/6
Like
Version 1.5.1
Akrobat
11 February 2013
Forget it. This is abandonware. Bought the new iOs version last year. The website states new compatible Mac version coming. It's said that for more than a year. This is garbage!!!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Lumac52
27 June 2012
Version 1.6 has been released.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Cubitus
13 February 2012
I've tried version 1.5.1 for some time now. I had tried Inbox when it first came out and did not find it matched my workflow at the time and I didn't check it again until version 1.5.1. My first impression was very good. This is an application that seems to implement GTD with a method to collect from various places, like emails, folders, event from calendars, etc. Which is a good way to force you to consider all your virtual inboxes. It then tries to help you assess each item and process it the GTD way by thinking about the "actionnability" of each item, etc. The problem is in the implementation. It's a good idea poorly implemented. For instance collecting emails is a great idea, but you have to be able to configure it in a way that you don't end up with all the emails that are tagged as spam and are in the spam folder. And calendar events are a good idea, but even though you want to display calendar events for your co-workers on your calendar application, you don't want to have to process them! And again this is not configurable. Another example of the poor implementation is the process dialog cannot be resized, which makes collected items with a long description unreadable (you have to put the cursor in the small portion of the text displayed and scroll with the arrows to be able to read the whole text, the window doesn't adjust to the size of the text and cannot be resized). The new web site and the displayed screenshots of version 2.0 made me very enthusiastic about this program and I wanted to invest myself into it. I thought that version 2 would certainly fix the interface shortcomings of this 1.5.1 version and smooth everything out. I bought the mobile version for iPhone with the hope it would be able to sync with version 1.5.1. It doesn't. Trying to reach the developer for help with the sync was the first sign of a problem : it took them forever to answer my bug report. And the answer was not satisfactory. They clearly didn't read my report and answered first about the iPad version (when my report clearly stated the iPhone version). Another long delay after I replied I was talking about the iPhone version and they replied that it didn't work sometimes for the iPhone version but that version 2 should fix that. Fine I can wait a little, but I need syncing with my iPhone. Then the wait starts. After a while you try to contact them to know when to hope for 2.0. No answer. You start to look around, you find the Facebook page where they announced version 2.0 more than a year ago, you ask your question there. No answer in weeks. You post a question on the comment section of their web site and it's in "approbation by a moderator" for weeks and then it disappears without any answer. So after still some time you start looking around and find these reviews on Macupdate and you realize that you're not alone. This is nothing new. This company has a history of procrastination. I won't invest my time into vaporware. I think this could be a great implementation of the GTD system, but really get your act together Midnight Beep!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Mindplay
08 October 2011
Update: in a previous comment I stated that Midnight Inbox 2.0 would be out together with Duke Nukem Forever. I was wrong. It's been some time since Duke Nukem Forever was released.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.1
Espiridion
14 July 2011
I finally did a quick test of Inbox, getting 27 tasks done with 4 tasks programmed for tomorrow. It's not easy or intuitive, but the Help is adequate. There's a reference to a document called Inbox Introduction under the Help menu, but there's no such document. Probably another outdated item, like the one about registering the product. Unlike Mindplay erroneously stated, this version of Inbox is free. There are different ways to work with actions and projects. Unfortunately the software is still not 100% reliable. For example, I had 3 similar tasks that used the context @macintosh. I was able to select the context for the first 2 with a left-click of my mouse and selecting the context from a drop down menu. This did not work for the third item. IIRC I was able to select the context with a right-click and choosing from the Set context menu. A couple of times I had to quit the application and launch it again in order to make changes. It has certainly improved since the last time I tried it, the interface is clean and modern, and it's easy to view pending tasks by context or by project. For a free application it is good. It has timer features plus the ability to preview and launch documents and URLs. I still prefer Thinking Rock as a GTD application, and there are plenty of free or cheap task management applications. Inbox is not something that I will use on a regular basis. The free Task Coach is rapidly evolving, and I love to use JIRA for some of my project management needs, but I'm more accustomed to those programs. For some people Inbox will be a better fit.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Mindplay
23 February 2011
From a company developing a GTD application is plain unacceptable a level of procrastination and unattendability like this. I liked the idea once it came out, and it was promising... Now they are developing multi-color applications, which are clearly not mac-like anymore, promising again to be on the market soon...
Like (2)
Version 1.5.0
8 answer(s)
Petrus1960
Petrus1960
23 February 2011
I have to agree with Mindplay. I bought Inbox in the very early days of the whole GTD thing because it looked like a potentially very slick app and one with considerable ambition, but it has been a work in progress for longer than ... well frankly, forever, I think. The Midnight Beep website has been through several incarnations and promises and deadlines have slipped past with dismal regularity. I'd like to like Inbox, but fear that it may well be a case of sound and fury signifying not a heck of a lot. C'mon, guys, bring version 2 out soon and prove us doubters wrong!
Like (2)
Espiridion
Espiridion
24 February 2011
@Petrus1960, I think that your wording came out wrong. You could not have purchased Inbox "in the very early days of the whole GTD thing" since Inbox became available 4 or 5 years after David Allen wrote his book. Additionally, some of the concepts behind GTD are much older. Inbox never was a solid GTD application. A basic premise behind GTD is to have a system that's reliable and trustworthy, and Inbox was neither. Inbox was visually stunning, but a very poor GTD application. That being said, I don't know if 1.5 is better, so I'm going to try it. I think that the ½ star rating that Mindplay offered is unfair, though, since it's not at all based on the software itself. Could it deserve that rating? Maybe. As it is now, his rating has to do with the developers and does not address the software at all.
Like (2)
Mindplay
Mindplay
24 February 2011
Thank you Espiridion for you comment. I understand it, however I don't agree with it. You misunderstood Petrus1960, who was talking about just being an early adopter of this application. Your historical digression may be right, but it does not apply in this context whatsoever. Inbox was indeed one of the first apps to be available to the mac community once the GTD word did spread to the masses. And by the way, even if not reliable, it was promising. The authors made subsequent promises like it was raining, but they did not keep them. It's been ridiculous to listen to their enthusiasm and their "soon available" statements... My half a star is a weighting of the characteristics: three for features and easy to use, half a star for both value and stability. Remember that this is not a really free app. It's intended to be a trial. It's the "state of the art" of the developers work so far, and it's far from being stable or feature complete. The developers are not going to maintain it, since the next vaporware update is claimed to be a paid app. So, all in all, it deserves half a star, and the judgement is based upon a long usage of the software. I'm a licensed user of Inbox since 2007: as I'm used to do, I pay for the software I use, and sometimes even for the software I don't use but I find promising, to encourage development. But Inbox developers lied a bit too much to still deserve some credibility. They have to work very hard to get it back.
Like (3)
Espiridion
Espiridion
06 March 2011
@Mindplay, It wasn't hard to be one of the first GTD applications, since there are not that many true GTD apps. ;) Unfortunately the masses misunderstand GTD and it became more of a marketing term for many task managers. I do agree that Inbox was clearly focused on GTD, though. As a sidenote, I actually gave feedback to a few developers and pointed missing GTD features from their "GTD" applications. From what I remember, before trying Inbox on the Mac I had tried KinklessGTD (which became OmniFocus), Thinking Rock (my all-time favorite GTD application), and probably GTD templates on Notebook and Tinderbox as well as Entourage scripts. This does not include other popular "GTD" applications such as Life Balance. I think that Actiontastic and Ghost Action also appeared prior to Midnight Inbox. And when Inbox did appear (1.0 preview on Dec 2006) it was pretty bad, but with a beautiful interface. I don't recall anyone knowledgeable about GTD switching to Inbox for their GTD needs. I do recall plenty of people loving the interface. I don't know of many people who would use a GTD application (or other type of applications) just because they're promising. Maybe the exception is beta-testing. Regarding your rating, I stand by my comments. "My half a star is a weighting of the characteristics: three for features and easy to use, half a star for both value and stability." How much time did you spend evaluating 1.5 before posting your review? Where do you get the idea that this is not a free application but a trial? What makes it unstable and incomplete? Again, maybe it deserves half a star. If it does, hopefully people will provide the specifics for such low ratings based on the actual application. I've experienced no stability problems, haven't had to pay a single cent for it, it comes with a nice introduction plus a Help that seems to be adequate, etc. I don't disagree with your view about the company or your previous experiences. Obviously it is a poor value for people who paid for it and received little in return. For me it was unusable when I first tried it, but will give this version a chance.
Like
Mindplay
Mindplay
06 March 2011
@Espiridion, maybe it's time to close the thread ;) Your GTD historic erudition is impressive as Wikipedia is, but that's not the point: you are missing it and this does not help right here, right now. I call it clutching at straws. As I told you, I'm evaluating Inbox since it came out and I'm very experienced with it. It's stated everywhere. It's also stated in this page, other than the developer's website. 2.0 is coming out in the AppStore, together with Duke Nukem Forever, and it will be a paid upgrade (truth be told, old users like me will receive a free upgrade [hurrah!]). 1.5 is not a fork, it won't be developed any further. So you can call it as you wish. You should refer at the developers' forum for a better understanding of all the software's issues and unattended feature requests until now. It deserves half a star. However, I'm eager to change my position, time will tell. BTW, software is not a static cultural object. Its value cannot be understood without an idea of its progresses over time. No one will invest time or money on a software marketed as one hit and miss. There are better alternatives to such products out there.
Like (2)
Espiridion
Espiridion
25 March 2011
You call it clutching at straws, and I call it being objective and providing factual information. My point is as simple as that. Like you, I also evaluated Inbox since it came out. You can find my comments for 1.0 here, posted on 07 Dec 2006. I also indicate that I had tried previous versions (pre 1.0). The point of having ratings for specific versions is precisely an indicator of how software evolves and being able to read/write about the most recent releases. I'm not going to rate version 1.5 based on my previous experiences. I'll rate it based on its own merits. I've read your ½ star review and subsequent comments a few times, and can't find a single instance that objectively addresses the actual software. Again, I don't disagree with a lot of what you're saying. Why not write a comment about the developers incompetence without rating an application affected by your obvious (and justified) bias? Or if you really did test 1.5 when you posted your review, why not talk about the specifics that make 1.5 a ½ star application? Just posting "it deserves half a star" helps no one. With all the typing we've done, why not say "it deserves half a star because..." and mention specific things that make the application so awful. And of course, adding information regarding the developer's failed promises and slow speed of development will give potential users a clearer perspective. Just a thought.
Like (1)
Mindplay
Mindplay
25 March 2011
No offense here, but I don't want to be your therapist!
Like (4)
Ratti
Ratti
28 May 2011
AS far as I can say version 1.5 is mostly stable. Also the owners of the old license are promised to get free promo codes for the AppStore for Inbox 2, Inbox Touch AND Inbox Mobile.
Like
Espiridion
22 February 2011
Version 1.5 is out and it is free. I can't comment on its quality. Version 2 is coming out.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Frankv
10 January 2011
Promises, promises.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Kernelpanic
14 March 2010
hehe. one GTD app I haven't tried yet is the one with itunes interface :)
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Bumbleb
09 March 2010
In my opinion the reaqson people are switching between all these GTD apps is because... shocker... the GTD system is... Flawed. It only works for robots. I realised that after looking deep into myself and reading up on David Allens past in a cult, as a minister there. Hw knows how to preach and brainwash and create a cult. Look at GTD - it is a cult!
Like (8)
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Lumac52
Lumac52
03 February 2011
Good points. Two other things to consider: 1. The procrastination factor. Trying new apps scratches the procrastination itch. 2. Going a bit more anthropological: Cultish philosophies sometimes can be rather effective, although people who follow them eventually get stuck. If David Allen had written a book saying, in effect, "the are number of different factors to consider when trying to increase personal productivity, and I'll outline some of them here so that you can figure out what works for you"---his book wouldn't have sold many copies. Even if his system is flawed, it worked, at least for a while, for some people, because it came as a nice package: "Just do this---it will work".
Like (2)
Ctkmnd
09 February 2010
Is this still being developed? There's nothing on the homepage since June last year...
Like
Version 1.4.3
Ratti
21 August 2009
I am a bit late, because version 1.4.2 is out for some time now. My previous comment was about the beta of 1.4. Now, after using it for quite some time, I can say it is working solid form me. While the was buggy in every corner, the developer made an, knowing the past of this app, astonishing progress. I also have worked with TheHitList and like the tab feature where you can add notes or pictures to an item. On the other hand I Iike the automatisms of Inbox and the organization. In my opinion nor Inbox neither TheHitList is the better progamme, because they work in too different ways to make an objective statement. It depends on you, what works best. Everybody searching for an application that helps organizing to make stuff up, should try Inbox. Of cause there are also other apps lto try, like ThinkingRock...
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Ang
16 June 2009
The hit list is by far better
Like (3)
Version 1.4
Ratti
16 March 2009
It would be a nice program if it worked. The new beta version still does not really work.
Like (1)
Version 1.4b2v742
F451
01 September 2007
If you have been following Midnight's blog you will learn that Version 2 is being developed. It looks pretty exciting. http://www.midnightbeep.com/blog/
Like
Version 1.2.2
2 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
20 September 2007
Yes, the developers efforts look really impressive on paper. But the long standing joke is that the developer is seemingly unable to code a stable app. I tried the current version, to prove myself wrong. It ran for less than five minutes, then crashed. Wauw. Not. Really.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
09 April 2009
So, was I right or was I right? They've still only at version 1.4 now 1 1/2 years later, and it is still buggy;-)
Like (2)
Version 1.4b3
Shockerspaz
11 June 2007
the app has promise, my gripe is there seem to be some bugs in the workflow that render this app completely useless. For instance, if you have it collect iCal events it does so from metadata and uses the time stamp on the metadata file for reference. The flaw there is that the date reflects any change to that file (like say Entourage parsing of it) and then every event there get "collected" into Inbox (you suddenly have hundreds of events from the last 3 years!). second there seems to be a loop in to-do processing and syncing. When you choose to have items in your Inbox sync with iCal those same items get "collected" as new to-do's. Then they sync with iCal and get "collected" again! You can see how very soon productivity is out the door and all your doing is trying to keep up with the hundreds of redundant events and to-do's Inbox has collected, anything you may actually have to do is buried the mess! Further more it seems that there is some issue with deleting collected items in Inbox and then trying to empty the apps trash. 4 out of 5 times that crashes the app.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Georgedonnelly
08 June 2007
Don't give these people your email address. I made this mistake and now they send me spam regularly. Their emails provide no way to unsubscribe. I manually requested unsubscription once already, but they did not respect my requests and continue to spam me. I never buy from spammers and recommend you do not either.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Dennisb1
04 May 2007
This is much improved since it's first release.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
Actuel
17 April 2007
I have been using the latest 1.1.4 and have been very pleased. the last 2 weeks i've been testing iGTD, kinkless, Actiontastic and the last few days Inbox. Maybe the recent version is more stable then prior version folks are moaning about. So far zero stability issues and no crashes on my macbook pro running 10.4.8. I have no problem recomending this software to anyone. i hope to continue to see more development. Additionally, more documentation and possible videocast covering the depth of this app would have been nice. I have managed to find my way around but it takes a minute to understand the hierarchical structure. i'd say Midnight Inbox and iGTD are clear winners in my finding so far.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Chrisxxx
10 April 2007
I spent hours, days, weeks trying Inbox out over the last few months. I wanted it to work for me, looked for work-arounds for all the repeatable crashes, the bugs and inconsistencies and strange behaviour (you never know what Inbox is really meant to do, as there is not documentation - it may be a bug, it may be a feature) I was never able to put it to any serious use. Too buggy, too unpredictable. It looks very nice, and typographically it is well done; the developer may be a real artist, as a developer, he is an unexperienced amateur, to put it mildly. Beauty can be the icing on an otherwise nice cake; here it is wasted on a wrotten core. As to the price, it is simply pathetic, this is at best donation ware, no more. I have been following Inbox from the very beginning, when the developer started to blog about it, to the first release, called a beta when it was not even alpha quality, to 1.0 to 1.1 and a couple of bug fix releases within days of 1.1 which - as usual - was announced during weeks as coming in the next few days and praised as the release to end all bugs and make everybody happy. And now - again - the developer seems to be completely taken by surprise that once more so any bugs are showing up. He seems immune to learning from past experience - so expect more of the same... ... and save your time and money.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Ndr42
10 April 2007
After some time of watching I bought the program. For my use it is now stable and does what I want it to. I like the workflow very much. One problem persists: syncing with iCal. But there are now frequent updates so I think it will resolved soon.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Macd
09 April 2007
Well I give up. No more star-less comments. I have TRIED REALLY HARD to use this app for last several days. But it was keeping crashing on me like hell. Simple tasks like emptying the trash, or archiving completed projects kept crashing the app with almost 100% probability. The latest update seem to fixed the archiving projects bug, but try to empty the trash and you got a crash. It tries to process items in Trash. Non-roman items come imported from iCal with broken encodings, etc etc etc etc..... plus all kinds of unexpected and unpredictable crashes anywhere you can or can not possibly imagine. I tried. I wanted to use it. I wanted to pay money. Not anymore. Goes to trash and I recommend everyone to save their time and not even try this app. It looks very promising, but it's broken to the point beyond any belief.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Dennisb1
08 April 2007
Absolutely wonderful app. The previous version (1.0.5) was buggy, but this version is much improved! It works great, but YOU MUST READ THE DIRECTIONS or it will feel buggy and you'll just trash it after a few minutes. While Mac apps really should NOT require you to read the instructions before using it, this one sticks so closely to David Allen's GTD system it's scary. The trick with this app is to let it work for you. Read Getting Things Done by David Allen and read the help doc that comes with. (Don't assume something isn't working, etc. Learn to use it.) You have to resist the tempation to just drag things around. It really does the thinking and organizing for you if you let it. I basically have three apps running all the time now. Inbox, Mail.app, a web browser, and iCal as needed. Everything else is just gravy.
Like
Version 1.1
John-F-
06 April 2007
Yes, still very buggy. Crashes every so often. It is all designed very nicely to very high standards. Now if only the code was any good. I think, when the developer irons out the bugs, people will find this app a joy to use. But it's not there yet. I hope soon the app will be less crash-prone. And I will buy the app in a heartbeat.
Like
Version 1.1
Macd
06 April 2007
The software is very nicely made, and it's a pleasure to use. However, the biggest problem with Inbox is stability. Even with the new version 1.1 it only took me about 10 minutes of not even real use, but testing - to make it crash. Crash report was sent to the developer, but.. I'm not sure I want to pay the requested price for software which crashes on me on normal use, even though the feature set is great.
Like
Version 1.1
Phaleron
06 April 2007
I believe Inbox had the chance of becoming the best GTD application on the Mac platform. But, development was buggy, slow, intermittent, and seemed more like hobby work than the full-fledged application it initially appeared to be. With the coming of iGTD, this chance is, unfortunately, about to be lost, because iGTD is already on many desktops, functioning, without time limits, and being continually developed, while hopes for seeing an impeccably-working Inbox is - at least for the moment - non-existent. If the developer was smart, he would have offered the app for free till all the bugs were worked out and would have retained the large following that had till now been waiting with bated breath.
Like
Version 1.1
Libcrypt
10 March 2007
Version 1.0.5 is still incredibly unstable. I get unexplained popup errors about "wrong numbers" when Inbox decides to misnumber things. Work "contexts" don't always show up, and sometimes they show up incorrectly. And inappropriate text appears where it ought not. This product is simply worthless. Save your money and wait for Omnifocus.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Theallseer
16 January 2007
Like others have said; it has potential, but is so convoluted, without any rhyme or reason to half of it's functions that it's pretty useless in it's current state. The learning curve to get started is so high that it is simply not worth the time or hassle. It takes so long just to do basic things that KinklessGTD does with 1-2 clicks. I'm eagerly awaiting Omnifocus' release, because if it is as good as it sounds, the bar will be raised and Inbox will either die or have to meet it feature for feature in order to compete.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Highpass
18 December 2006
So much potential, so many problems. Sluggish and at times completely unresponsive interface on a 1.67ghz/2gb powerbook, often resulting in crashing. A damn shame because it looks great. The iTunes-like window at the top of the application doesn't update to show your current action etc, despite deleting the supplied examples and emptying trash. I'd really love to make use of this application, but as it stands it's more like a late beta than v1+ I'll be watching.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Ahc
11 December 2006
A very interesting concept, but at this stage the execution is flawed. Small interface errors abound (ex. the text of items in the left-hand binder sometimes disappears when the item is selected). You cannot drag an item in a collection to a project. No contextual menus that might make it clear what you're supposed to do with items. Display of the current task is inconsistent (it sometimes shows the second item in a list of subtasks rather than the first, and then switches to the first unpredictably). Very little documentation. This is SO not ready for you to entrust your life to! Someday perhaps. I'll be checking back around version 1.5.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Arslua
10 December 2006
Simply useful and complete.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Frequency
08 December 2006
I hate to chime in with a "me too" response but unfortunately I have to agree with the general opinion that this is a "nearly there" product rather than an outright winner. Like others I'm disappointed that Inbox doesn't work very well as it does have an excellent interface. the documentation is also lacking - I still haven't figured out how to move items from one stage to the next - from Collect to Process etc. The Collection process can be really slow and while it hasn't yet crashed on my iMac G5 it's performance leaves a lot to be desired. I hope the developer takes all of these comments as constructive and continues to develop Inbox into the "killer app" that it should be and that I for one hope that it CAN be. For now it's back to my imperfect SOHO notes GTD kludge!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Amnesic
07 December 2006
With the last version 1.0.1 , now Inbox will be my GTD program. I suggest that you read the GTD concept before to critics this beautiful tools !
Like
Version 1.0.1
Ca
07 December 2006
1.0.1 shows a slight improvement over its previous incarnation. I agree with what others said about the UI: it's splendid! But Midnight Inbox is not finished. Not ready for primetime, far from it. What a pity given its potential. The Number One in the future. Hopefully…
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Ca
Ca
07 December 2006
Follow-up to my previous post: I have never an app that writes so much stuff in the Console log. I get hundreds of occurrences of this: 2006-12-07 18:04:16.795 Inbox[12544] Exception raised during posting of notification. Ignored. exception: *** -[NSCFArray objectAtIndex:]: index (0) beyond bounds (0)
Like
Version 1.0.1
Ca
Ca
07 December 2006
Sorry I meant I have never SEEN
Like
Version 1.0.1
Espiridion
07 December 2006
I'll abstain from rating this application since I just don't like it. I love the beautiful interface, but after trying a couple of versions I have decided it just does not help me to Get Things Done. Oliver, there are a few GTD applications for the Mac. Are you using Kinkless with OMNI Outliner? It seems that it will evolve into OMNIFocus. I can't remember all the GTD programs I've tried, but I'm currently using ThinkingRock with great results. I'll be happy to try Inbox again once it has matured. I do love the interface, but using it has not been a pleasant experience for me. As always, YMMV.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Oliver-T-Canine
06 December 2006
This app is so ... almost there. It is beautiful to look at, so I keep coming back to it, and I have followed it closely for a while now. But the stability is so abysmal as to be almost comical. You can't click on anything in this app without wondering if it will crash, just like that, and take all your changes with it. Add to that the fact that if it doesn't crash, it probably still won't do what you asked it to. So many things simply don't work, this is more of a UI mockup than an alpha release, let alone a commercial 1.0 release. Again, this app is beautiful to look at, and that works in its favor. I would use this app to do all my GTD stuff, instead of OmniOutliner, if it simply worked, and I would be more consistent about it because it looks so darn good and I *want* to use it. Too bad it is close to non-functional, and crashy to boot. I *so* hope this app reaches its potential. The Mac needs a good GTD app.
Like
Version 1.0
brsma
15 November 2006
Alas, this looked quite promising at first glance. But both the working set of features and the stability of this software defies its own purpose. Getting things done? Not. Quite in contrary. BTW: Doing alpha testing for proprietary software? Thank you, sir. There's lots of free and open source software that I can waste my time on in a more productive way.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Wzrdjr
29 October 2006
This product looks amazing and I will be very, very excited when a stable version is released. That is certainly not now.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Bumbleb
09 October 2006
Well, the stars reflect my rating... A blogpost: I have just published my thoughts on Midnight Inbox at it's current state + some observations on the development process applied my Midnight Beep Software (the developer of Midnight Inbox)... It's titled: Midnight Inbox, and the wolf... http://www.olivernielsen.com/journal/midnight-inbox-and-the-wolf
Like
Version 0.9.6
anonymous-dingo-729
06 October 2006
what's the story with downloads ? everytime the developer announces an updated version i download but end up with the older version .. i have to wait a day or 2 before the download is the updated version
Like
Version 0.9.6
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
06 October 2006
I just now downloaded the file and it is version 0.9.6
Like
Version 0.9.6
anonymous-dingo-729
anonymous-dingo-729
06 October 2006
then maybe it's my ISP caching the file or something
Like
Version 0.9.6
macupdate-290
22 September 2006
Too early for a review I guess... If this app worked, it could be one of the most useful app to come out lately. But as of now, it just doesn't work. I'll keep an eye on it, hoping I can replace kGTD w/ a true cocoa app someday... little detail: I wish the wooden thing was optional, I personally don't think it adds anything to the GUI besides clutter and extra height...
Like
Version 0.9.1
1 answer(s)
Olipower
Olipower
01 October 2006
I'll second your comment on the wooden stuff. No reason for that - it does not blend with the otherwise fine interface. PS: now at version 0.9.5 Midnight Inbox starts to look more usable, the database being sorted out, and many bugs ironed out. It is however still not finished, but it holds a lot of promise, and will deliver many features new to the scene of GTD on the Mac. Kudos to the developer for having the will-power to do so much work in so little time. He should have initially called it an alpha-version though. But, that's just words. When it works it works. I'm looking forward to using it.
Like
Version 0.9.5
Mark97
06 September 2006
I like where this application seems to be heading. It seems like Macs may finally get a really good GTD app. Right now is really flakey on a MacBook Pro and definitely not ready for prime time. It hangs and the documentation doesn't seem to be complete. I've had to force quit it a few times. It's not ready for most users, but those who try it will be impressed.
Like
Version 0.9b1