Back to TouchCopy page
TouchCopy free download for Mac

TouchCopy Reviews16.40

18 September 2020

Backup music and other media from your iPod and iPhone.

Picon
19 June 2018
Version: 16.23

Most helpful

I have an older version of TouchCopy. Is there an upgrade path or do I have to pay full price again? Couldn't find any info on this at the dev's site. Thanks.
(1)

How would you rate TouchCopy app?

Read 19 TouchCopy User Reviews

1
g3hines
22 October 2020
Version: 16.40
At one time it worked great, now all I ever get is "establishing communications. This may take a few minutes." It never connects.
(0)
2
werewolfblood23
03 March 2020
Version: 16.38
I don't know what's going on with this program, but half the time it doesn't copy over the entirety of my chosen playlist, and then the rest of the time many of the songs that do get copied over are the wrong ones. I guess if they have the same word in the title it's close enough? Certainly not worth the thirty dollars they charge for it.
(0)
Show comment (1)
Picon
19 June 2018
Version: 16.23
I have an older version of TouchCopy. Is there an upgrade path or do I have to pay full price again? Couldn't find any info on this at the dev's site. Thanks.
(1)
Show comments (2)
5
lb3541
11 October 2017
Version: 16.17
Just bought this app but already appreciate it’s ease of use and extensive capabilities.
(3)
Show comment (1)
YHC
08 October 2017
Version: 16.17
Should I buy it? What's different from the Native Backup Program? Thanks a lot.
(1)
Show comments (3)
5
MikeBarrett4962
09 December 2016
Version: 16.06
I've been using TouchCopy for years and it does not disappoint. I reply on it every time where there an iOS update or when I am upgrading a device and want to retain the information from my old device. Very helpful.
(2)
5
ChristinaJ9176
26 April 2014
Version: 12.32
After ten years of compiling music, my iPod had over 7,000 songs on it from my childhood to adulthood and it was irreplaceable. When I decided it was time to make a backup, I came across TouchCopy, which kept coming up as a recommended app to transfer multiple things from my iPod to my Mac. I am very thankful I had used this app, I had so much saved on my iPod. I was able to backup everything on my Mac, including my 7,000 songs, all my playlists, videos and photos and the software transferred everything very quickly and smoothly.
(3)
4.5
Just-Fred
04 December 2012
Version: 12.02
There aren't a lot of reviews for this program, and perhaps that's because the price is a little off-putting. $35 for what is essentially a single purpose utility is a little steep. However, if you're like me, it's a small price to pay to rescue data from multiple Apple products! I have (in no particular order), an iPhone 5, an iPod touch (1st gen), a couple of iPod Nanos, an iPad 2, a Macbook Pro and a PowerBook. Yeah, I have an iPod Shuffle 4, too, but that's not germane to this review. I also just bought a new car that has a number of ways of listening to music. Since I recently had a hard disk crash, my music is scattered in numerous libraries on multiple drives. How then, to recover the music I have on my iPad and transfer it to my iPhone when I don't have it already in iTunes? Enter TouchCopy. I researched the web for utilities that would allow me to copy data off my devices, and TouchCopy kept appearing in my search results. I downloaded the demo and gave it a whirl. Before I had run out of items allowed by the demo, I had connected to the online store and purchased the app! It does everything it claims to. I've read reports that it is very slow; not this version. At least not for me. Dozens of music files move in seconds. The interface? Not a problem for me, although I've heard some call it ugly. I think it's intuitive and very Mac-like, even if the icons don't have the Apple "look" to them. All in all, I'm very pleased with this program. I see that an update has been issued only a day or two after the iTunes 11 release. That's pretty darn responsive, if you ask me! Nice job. I'm a satisfied customer.
(5)
5
Madder4mac
11 May 2012
Version: 11.01
I'm really impressed with this program. It's dead easy to use and it got all my music from my iPhone to iTunes on my new Mac. Finally, a simple solution to my problem!
(3)
Vric
05 July 2011
Version: 9.97
So, it seems that TouchCopy: - works properly - is easy to use - has a dedicated developer Too bad it's so ugly it'll make your eyes bleed. I'd definitely buy it for a friend if it wasn't so out of place next to her shiny new iPhone. As such, it would be like giving someone a crummy soviet military bag to wear on an evening dress. Worse actually, military bags tend to be ugly but still well designed. Note to would-be interface designers: yes, it's obvious when you copy iTunes' layout (maybe that makes it easy to use); but no that doesn't count as design and oh boy, how easy it is to spot a Windows developer. You can just hear them talk up some shipping interface no Mac dev would even use as a mockup: "here, look, just like iTunes". Don't take it the wrong way, but if you want to sell at that price to the Mac market, you definitely need an interface designer. If you don't notice meaningful differences between your product and the user suggested alternatives, he will. In the meantime you'll be selling to recent Windows switchers. That may be good enough, but you could do better.
(2)
Bob-T
13 October 2010
Version: 9.77
I installed the most recent update to TC, and, it now can see my iPAD and it's contents. I was able to backup to an external drive. Have not tried any transfers back to my iPAD. Now, I would recommend TC to iPAD users!
(2)
Bob-T
23 August 2010
Version: 9.76
This program was working fine with my iPod Touch, and iPad until the recent update of OS X Snow Leopard/iTunes and Touchcopy. Now it works with my iPod. It knows my iPad is present, but, does not load any of it's data! On their web site it says it works with any iPad. I received an Email today from tech support. They have KB articles about TC and database problems- and, though not mentioned, in today's Email they say the recommendations are only for the PC. They know about this problem with Macs and are working on it. They offered me a refund! I do not want a refund. I like the program, but, would not recommend it for Mac iPad users at until it works with my iPad!
(0)
Fotoman
20 November 2009
Version: 9.32
An OK program but way too expensive for what it is and does. $5 would be nice $9maximum
(1)
5
Madder4mac
23 October 2009
Version: 9.27
I've been a TouchCopy user for a while, and have used it on and off over the years to get my iPod songs back into iTunes. A lot of the other programs I tried didn't work with my iPod Touch, or didn't let me copy photos off my iPod. Having said that, copying photos was a bit laborious, but I got it all off the iPod in the end. Also, I had some problems with TouchCopy after I initially upgraded to iTunes 9, but the latest version seems to work with it now.
(4)
Savo33bravo-The-Liar
17 August 2009
Version: 9.15
Their tech support is a JOKE !!! Non existing service. Watch out customer !!!
(2)
Show comment (1)
Sonichowler
14 January 2009
Version: 7.09
I like Macs like any other, but I don't understand what TVALLEAU was saying when she was talking about Windows typically not showing progress bars in programs. The lack of a progress bar has nothing to do with Windows or Mac--that was an error of TouchCopy and only TouchCopy. Sorry, I just feel it's important to have the facts straight. Anyway, down to the review. The lack of a progress bar is rather annoying, but the program did everything that was expected. iPod Touch/iPhone support is a major plus, and though somewhat simplistic, the interface was very user-friendly and easy to navigate. A very recommendable program.
(3)
Show comment (1)
4
tvalleau
18 September 2008
Version: 6.30
I hesitate to spend that kind of money for something not reviewed, but I gave my 5G iPod to my wife, and needed to make sure she got all the games, videos and so on, and not just the music. So, I put up my $25... and everything worked as promised. It's apparently a Java app, or some other kind of Windoz port, because it offers almost _zero_ feedback while it's working (one of my favorite complaints about Windows software. People have to just assume the software is working, as there is generally no progress bar; not spinning cursor... nothing... drives me crazy! - and is yet another reason to use Macs.) So, when it was copying back the games to her computer, I had absolutely no clue at all that it wasn't just locked up. Well, it wasn't... and the software did everything it promised to do. So, with that one caveat, yes: it works. (Other products, AFAIK, don't handle _everything_ (such as games))
(3)
Thirrouard
25 August 2008
Version: 6.30
Senuti doesn't work with iPhones (and iPod touch?!)...
(2)
globetrotterdk
05 June 2007
Version: 3.3
Here are two open source, free of charge alternatives: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/14982/senuti http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/19890
(0)