Back to TouchCopy page
TouchCopy free download for Mac

TouchCopy Reviews

16.33
22 August 2019

Backup music and other media from your iPod and iPhone.

Just-Fred
04 December 2012

Most helpful

There aren't a lot of reviews for this program, and perhaps that's because the price is a little off-putting. $35 for what is essentially a single purpose utility is a little steep. However, if you're like me, it's a small price to pay to rescue data from multiple Apple products! I have (in no particular order), an iPhone 5, an iPod touch (1st gen), a couple of iPod Nanos, an iPad 2, a Macbook Pro and a PowerBook. Yeah, I have an iPod Shuffle 4, too, but that's not germane to this review. I also just bought a new car that has a number of ways of listening to music. Since I recently had a hard disk crash, my music is scattered in numerous libraries on multiple drives. How then, to recover the music I have on my iPad and transfer it to my iPhone when I don't have it already in iTunes? Enter TouchCopy. I researched the web for utilities that would allow me to copy data off my devices, and TouchCopy kept appearing in my search results. I downloaded the demo and gave it a whirl. Before I had run out of items allowed by the demo, I had connected to the online store and purchased the app! It does everything it claims to. I've read reports that it is very slow; not this version. At least not for me. Dozens of music files move in seconds. The interface? Not a problem for me, although I've heard some call it ugly. I think it's intuitive and very Mac-like, even if the icons don't have the Apple "look" to them. All in all, I'm very pleased with this program. I see that an update has been issued only a day or two after the iTunes 11 release. That's pretty darn responsive, if you ask me! Nice job. I'm a satisfied customer.
Like (5)
Version 12.02

Read 17 TouchCopy User Reviews

Rate this app:

Picon
19 June 2018
I have an older version of TouchCopy. Is there an upgrade path or do I have to pay full price again? Couldn't find any info on this at the dev's site. Thanks.
Like
Version 16.23
2 answer(s)
Wide Angle Software
Wide Angle Software
27 June 2018
Hi, yes you can upgrade to the latest version on TouchCopy from here https://www.wideanglesoftware.com/touchcopy/upgrade/
Like
Picon
Picon
27 June 2018
Thanks to the Dev for their reply, although doesn't help me since I have an older version than version 12 which they require for an upgrade.
Thanks anyways!
Like
lb3541
11 October 2017
Just bought this app but already appreciate it’s ease of use and extensive capabilities.
Like (2)
Version 16.17
1 answer(s)
Wide Angle Software
Wide Angle Software
12 October 2017
Thanks for letting us know, good to hear TouchCopy works well for you!
Like (1)
YHC
08 October 2017
Should I buy it? What's different from the Native Backup Program? Thanks a lot.
Like (1)
Version 16.17
3 answer(s)
Wide Angle Software
Wide Angle Software
09 October 2017
The iTunes backup does not contain your music, playlists and photos synced to your iPhone, iPad or iPod, which TouchCopy will transfer from your device to your Mac. So if you need a full backup of your device, or if you're getting a new computer, TouchCopy allows you to transfer everything from your device.
Like (1)
YHC
YHC
09 October 2017
Thanks for the reply.
About music, maybe it's right, but I think I can backup my photos by Native Backup Program, or alternatively there is iCloud Sync and most Mac Users have the native app "Photos."
Like (1)
Wide Angle Software
Wide Angle Software
09 October 2017
Yes, camera photos are in your iTunes backup, but iTunes synced photos are not.
Like (1)
MikeBarrett4962
09 December 2016
I've been using TouchCopy for years and it does not disappoint. I reply on it every time where there an iOS update or when I am upgrading a device and want to retain the information from my old device. Very helpful.
Like (2)
Version 16.06
ChristinaJ9176
26 April 2014
After ten years of compiling music, my iPod had over 7,000 songs on it from my childhood to adulthood and it was irreplaceable. When I decided it was time to make a backup, I came across TouchCopy, which kept coming up as a recommended app to transfer multiple things from my iPod to my Mac. I am very thankful I had used this app, I had so much saved on my iPod. I was able to backup everything on my Mac, including my 7,000 songs, all my playlists, videos and photos and the software transferred everything very quickly and smoothly.
Like (3)
Version 12.32
Just-Fred
04 December 2012
There aren't a lot of reviews for this program, and perhaps that's because the price is a little off-putting. $35 for what is essentially a single purpose utility is a little steep. However, if you're like me, it's a small price to pay to rescue data from multiple Apple products! I have (in no particular order), an iPhone 5, an iPod touch (1st gen), a couple of iPod Nanos, an iPad 2, a Macbook Pro and a PowerBook. Yeah, I have an iPod Shuffle 4, too, but that's not germane to this review. I also just bought a new car that has a number of ways of listening to music. Since I recently had a hard disk crash, my music is scattered in numerous libraries on multiple drives. How then, to recover the music I have on my iPad and transfer it to my iPhone when I don't have it already in iTunes? Enter TouchCopy. I researched the web for utilities that would allow me to copy data off my devices, and TouchCopy kept appearing in my search results. I downloaded the demo and gave it a whirl. Before I had run out of items allowed by the demo, I had connected to the online store and purchased the app! It does everything it claims to. I've read reports that it is very slow; not this version. At least not for me. Dozens of music files move in seconds. The interface? Not a problem for me, although I've heard some call it ugly. I think it's intuitive and very Mac-like, even if the icons don't have the Apple "look" to them. All in all, I'm very pleased with this program. I see that an update has been issued only a day or two after the iTunes 11 release. That's pretty darn responsive, if you ask me! Nice job. I'm a satisfied customer.
Like (5)
Version 12.02
Madder4mac
11 May 2012
I'm really impressed with this program. It's dead easy to use and it got all my music from my iPhone to iTunes on my new Mac. Finally, a simple solution to my problem!
Like (3)
Version 11.01
Vric
05 July 2011
So, it seems that TouchCopy: - works properly - is easy to use - has a dedicated developer Too bad it's so ugly it'll make your eyes bleed. I'd definitely buy it for a friend if it wasn't so out of place next to her shiny new iPhone. As such, it would be like giving someone a crummy soviet military bag to wear on an evening dress. Worse actually, military bags tend to be ugly but still well designed. Note to would-be interface designers: yes, it's obvious when you copy iTunes' layout (maybe that makes it easy to use); but no that doesn't count as design and oh boy, how easy it is to spot a Windows developer. You can just hear them talk up some shipping interface no Mac dev would even use as a mockup: "here, look, just like iTunes". Don't take it the wrong way, but if you want to sell at that price to the Mac market, you definitely need an interface designer. If you don't notice meaningful differences between your product and the user suggested alternatives, he will. In the meantime you'll be selling to recent Windows switchers. That may be good enough, but you could do better.
Like (2)
Version 9.97
Bob-T
13 October 2010
I installed the most recent update to TC, and, it now can see my iPAD and it's contents. I was able to backup to an external drive. Have not tried any transfers back to my iPAD. Now, I would recommend TC to iPAD users!
Like (2)
Version 9.77
Bob-T
23 August 2010
This program was working fine with my iPod Touch, and iPad until the recent update of OS X Snow Leopard/iTunes and Touchcopy. Now it works with my iPod. It knows my iPad is present, but, does not load any of it's data! On their web site it says it works with any iPad. I received an Email today from tech support. They have KB articles about TC and database problems- and, though not mentioned, in today's Email they say the recommendations are only for the PC. They know about this problem with Macs and are working on it. They offered me a refund! I do not want a refund. I like the program, but, would not recommend it for Mac iPad users at until it works with my iPad!
Like
Version 9.76
Fotoman
20 November 2009
An OK program but way too expensive for what it is and does. $5 would be nice $9maximum
Like (1)
Version 9.32
Madder4mac
23 October 2009
I've been a TouchCopy user for a while, and have used it on and off over the years to get my iPod songs back into iTunes. A lot of the other programs I tried didn't work with my iPod Touch, or didn't let me copy photos off my iPod. Having said that, copying photos was a bit laborious, but I got it all off the iPod in the end. Also, I had some problems with TouchCopy after I initially upgraded to iTunes 9, but the latest version seems to work with it now.
Like (4)
Version 9.27
Savo33bravo-The-Liar
17 August 2009
Their tech support is a JOKE !!! Non existing service. Watch out customer !!!
Like (2)
Version 9.15
1 answer(s)
Wide-Angle-Software
Wide-Angle-Software
25 October 2009
Hi SAVO33BRAVO, Unlike the vast majority of shareware developers, we do have a very active customer support service. If you have problems with TouchCopy, simply submit a support request at our web site, here:- http://www.wideanglesoftware.com/helpdesk/ We'll get back to you as quickly as we can, usually within 24 hours. This service is completely free of charge. Thanks
Like (2)
Version 9.27
Sonichowler
14 January 2009
I like Macs like any other, but I don't understand what TVALLEAU was saying when she was talking about Windows typically not showing progress bars in programs. The lack of a progress bar has nothing to do with Windows or Mac--that was an error of TouchCopy and only TouchCopy. Sorry, I just feel it's important to have the facts straight. Anyway, down to the review. The lack of a progress bar is rather annoying, but the program did everything that was expected. iPod Touch/iPhone support is a major plus, and though somewhat simplistic, the interface was very user-friendly and easy to navigate. A very recommendable program.
Like (3)
Version 7.09
1 answer(s)
Agordona
Agordona
19 June 2009
SONICHOWLER ..... when she was talking about Windows........ TVALLEAU ............, but I gave my 5G iPod to my wife, and........ SONICHOWLER ........ Sorry, I just feel it's important to have the facts straight. I agree with SONICHOWLER, it is important . But of course in today's liberalistic society he could be right :=) + LOL
Like (1)
Version 9.0.1
tvalleau
18 September 2008
I hesitate to spend that kind of money for something not reviewed, but I gave my 5G iPod to my wife, and needed to make sure she got all the games, videos and so on, and not just the music. So, I put up my $25... and everything worked as promised. It's apparently a Java app, or some other kind of Windoz port, because it offers almost _zero_ feedback while it's working (one of my favorite complaints about Windows software. People have to just assume the software is working, as there is generally no progress bar; not spinning cursor... nothing... drives me crazy! - and is yet another reason to use Macs.) So, when it was copying back the games to her computer, I had absolutely no clue at all that it wasn't just locked up. Well, it wasn't... and the software did everything it promised to do. So, with that one caveat, yes: it works. (Other products, AFAIK, don't handle _everything_ (such as games))
Like (3)
Version 6.30
Thirrouard
25 August 2008
Senuti doesn't work with iPhones (and iPod touch?!)...
Like (2)
Version 6.30
globetrotterdk
05 June 2007
Here are two open source, free of charge alternatives: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/14982/senuti http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/19890
Like
Version 3.3