Back to MondoMouse page
MondoMouse free download for Mac

MondoMouse Reviews

1.4.4b4
29 March 2010

Adds cool new capabilities to your mouse.

Lee123
28 October 2008

Most helpful

Why isn't everyone using this? This is some good old save you tons of time and wrist action software. This stuff is standard fare on linux but this is the first I have used it on the macbook pro. I love it. Focus follows mouse people rejoice. The default value for "Focus follows mouse" is way to high. Set this setting to 0.30 or so and see how easy it is to switch windows.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.2

Read 29 MondoMouse User Reviews

Rate this app:

.
01 March 2011
"ABOUT THIS DEVELOPER I actively respond to user feedback" That's what the profile say. But another three months and no response. Guess it's Abandonware.
Like
Version 1.4.4b4
marzipan
25 December 2010
do people realize that at least two of MondoMouse's functions have been present in the OS for years? you can move and resize background windows without bringing them to the foreground by Command-dragging their title bars and resize corners, respectively - no additional software required. so you need to use the title bar or the resize corner - so what? you can ignore my star rating because i've never used MondoMouse - because i've never needed it!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4b4
2 answer(s)
Maudlin
Maudlin
04 December 2012
If only we had more reviewers like you, with the courage to say what they think about, and rate, a product which they’ve never tried. More, please!
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
25 June 2014
You make a good point, but since you haven't used Mondomouse, it should be in the form of a comment instead of a review. I personally wouldn't bother with software that's been in beta for over four years. The developer obviously doesn't care about this software and is unlikely to fix it once a new OS X version finally breaks it.
Like
.
09 December 2010
Appalling customer service. A month with no reply whatsoever, despite several reminders. Avoid them like the plague. N.B. I would have left the Rating Stars 'Features', 'Ease of Use', and 'Stability' blank since without a license I cannot use the software I paid for. However, macupdate requires all to be rated before it'll submit.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4b4
.
02 December 2010
Macupdate emailed them on 22nd November on my behalf. They ignored it. I've used their websites 'Contact Us' form for the second time just to send a duplicate.
Like
Version 1.4.4b4
.
07 November 2010
I've tried to contact the developers three times (twice with email, once with their websites contact form) asking if I can get a replacement licence file. It's been two weeks and they have yet to reply. Anyone suggestions welcomed. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.4.4b4
Eddymacuser
11 June 2010
This is a great addition to the Mac OS GUI. Haven't had any problems with latest version.
Like
Version 1.4.4b4
I'm happy with these recent betas. After Snow Leopard was released, I experienced hangs and crashes of MondoMouse Tool occasionally. I find MondoMouse utterly indispensible, so I was just re-enabling it in System Prefs when this happened. The recent betas fix all my problems, however.
Like
Version 1.4.4b4
Dana-Sutton
21 March 2010
I haven't tried this beta long enough to be able to comment on it, but I do have one general comment. Since the release of Snow Leopard, both this app. and SmartScroll have been buggy and their developers haven't yet succeeded in making them stable and reliable. I suspect that in both cases the reason for this is the same: the developers don't fully understand changes introduced by Apple in the interest of pushing touch technology in general and the Magic Mouse in particular, and I wouldn't be surprised to find out that the reason for this is that Apple has not fully documented its changes for the benefit of third-party developers. So I'm resisting any temptation to think bad thoughts about the developers of MM and SS. My hunch is that they aren't lazy and indifferent, but rather that Apple has put them in a bad place. These have both been great little utilities in the past, and I hope they will be again in the future (it might be helpful if these two developers would talk together and pool what they have learned so far).
Like (3)
Version 1.4.4b2
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
22 March 2010
You make a very fair point, and I don't think that the developer of MondoMouse should be faulted for having difficulty, only for being so incommunicative. The dev of Smart Scroll, on the other hand, has been putting out regular updates since Snow Leopard came out, and, in my experience, is very responsive to customer emails. Even if he hasn't worked out all the glitches yet, at least his customers can see that he's trying. I submitted a bug report to MondoMouse's developer shortly after 1.4.4b1 came out. I never received a response, and now, almost 6 months later, an update comes out with the same issue apparently not fixed. If his difficulties with MondoMouse were such that he couldn't put out any updates for a long stretch, the least this developer could have done was post some information on his web site letting people know what was going on. He could also acknowledge bug reports, so those of us who do submit them know that he's aware of our issues. The fact is, when you pay money for software you have a right to a functional product or, at the very least, a good reason why the product isn't functional. I'm sorry, but a 6 month stretch with a basically unusable version of MondoMouse and not so much as a peep from the dev on what's going on is simply unacceptable.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4b2
Rnb2
21 March 2010
Hmmm, is it just my machine where beta 2 doesn't actually do anything it's supposed to, but instead starts TextEdit whenever it's activated and won't let it close, to the point where the only way to restart the machine is to deactivate MondoMouse so that TextEdit won't stop the machine from restarting? Weird............
Like
Version 1.4.4b2
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
21 March 2010
It is a rather weird glitch, and one I was experiencing in 1.4.4b1. I reported it directly to the developer, but it obviously hasn't been corrected. I hope for the sake of people still using MondoMouse that the space between b2 and the next update isn't as long as it was between b1 and b2 (close to 6 months). MondoMouse is a great utility, and I understand that its bugs in Snow Leopard have been difficult to deal with, but I think the dev needs to be more communicative so his customers at least know what's going on. His long silence and the long lack of an update to MondoMouse to get it working properly on Snow Leopard caused me to abandon it in favour of Zooom. I'm not trying to trash the dev here, just offering a constructive suggestion.
Like
Version 1.4.4b2
Serkol
25 February 2010
I am using it on Mac OS 10.5, so I don't have any mentioned problems. Generally I like MondoMouse, but it lacks one very important things. Since this app is for moving/resizing windows, it MUST have a feature to reset the window position and size to predefined or saved settings. I record screencasts, and sometimes I have to re-record a part of a screencast, that was recorded some time ago. I need to place one or more windows to exactly the same position. MondoMouse should be able AT LEAST to snap windows to the center and screen edges. Ideally it should be able to save and restore position of any window.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
Paul1234
03 January 2010
Very well done, and kept up to date. You owe it to yourself to give it a try. It makes interacting with windows so much faster, and so much more enjoyable... No more aiming for corners and bars. No more multi-step re-sizing. Once you start using it, you'll wonder how you lived without it. Seems to cut out every now and then, including on Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
Robotank
02 October 2009
This latest beta is having a curious side effect for me. When MondoMouse is active, TextEdit repeatedly opens, over and over again. I can quit it or force quit it or whatever, and it will relaunch again within a few seconds. Deactivating MondoMouse causes the problem to cease. Snow Leopard 10.6.1, Intel Core 2 Duo.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
4 answer(s)
Lee123
Lee123
27 December 2009
Same here for me. I emailed the developer so he is aware of the problem. Hopefully he will finally get all the bugs worked out of this app. I am looking forward to functionality without the antics.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
Robotank
Robotank
31 December 2009
Yeah, I also informed the developer directly about this issue. It's now been close to three months since the release of 1.4.4b1 and no update, or even new beta version, has arrived, and there's no word on the developer's website as to when one might. I have about a week left in the trial period of Zooom. If there's no MondoMouse update by then that fixes the TextEdit bug, I'll be buying Zooom and saying goodbye to MondoMouse for good. I try to be patient, but there's only so long I'm willing to wait. Neither version 1.4.3 or 1.4.4b1 are usable on Snow Leopard for me (strictly speaking, 1.4.3 works, but it's very flaky on SL). At this point I'd suggest that new users looking for this type of utility check out Zooom due to the recent lack of development on MondoMouse. It's very frustrating to pay for a piece of software, and then be left for months without the ability to use it, so I can't recommend MondoMouse to anyone at this point. Zooom has all the same functions and a little extra to boot. There are some nice touches to MondoMouse that Zooom lacks, like coloured borders around windows that are being moved or resized, but nothing major.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
Robotank
Robotank
03 January 2010
I realize that I was unfair with my language--neither version of MondoMouse (1.4.3, 1.4.4b1) is unusable strictly speaking. However, 1.4.3 is too flaky to be reasonably used (it doesn't respond to key presses about half of the time) and so is way more trouble than it's worth. As for 1.4.4b1, I think that the TextEdit bug is a more substantial irritation than a user should be expected to put up with for very long. So, what I should have said is not that the current MondoMouse incarnations are unusable, but that they are not _reasonably_ usable.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
Lee123
Lee123
04 January 2010
Dont worry about it. You didn't say anything we arent all thinking anyway. The developer knows this thing is flaky and obviously not real worried about it or it would be fixed already. I made the decision to purchase this product over Zooom and got burned but only for $15 bucks. Hopefully He did something nice with the money.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.4b1
Sherman-Wilcox
01 October 2009
Nope, not working for me. Stops after a couple of uses (running demo) under Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
Dana-Sutton
30 September 2009
Fine, I'm glad we now have a version that stops the suddenly quitting problem. But note that after the upgrade has been installed the preference panel still identifies itself as v. 1.4.3.
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
1 answer(s)
Maudlin
Maudlin
30 September 2009
After installing (Leopard 10.5.8) my preference panel says MondoMouse 1.4.4b1...
Like
Version 1.4.4b1
Thornist
15 September 2009
I used MondoMouse for a while, then tried something else for a while but decided to return to it. Unfortunately I'd lost my license key and the email that contained it. I've tried several times (quoting my order reference which I do still have) to get the license resent to me using the contact form on the developers' website, but have heard nothing back. Shoddy service - probablty best to avoid the company.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.3
Easer
05 September 2009
Version 1.4.3 loads fine on my machine. With the loss of WindowShade, I've found it really annoying to have to switch from one open window to another. For what I do (grading), I need to have several documents open simultaneously. Windowshading let me instantly see information (e.g, an outline) in a document below while I was writing comments in a grade sheet from another program. I had not used MondoMouse in a long time, but I now find that the focus follows mouse feature is becoming indispensable. This program is worth it to me for that feature alone.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Dana-Sutton
05 September 2009
Something wrong with the installer. Double click, it opens the v.1.4.2 preference without installing the update.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Maruko-Drinking-Team
05 September 2009
This is the most important Mac enhancement for lots of us. Especially when combined with a decent mouse driver that lets you assign a couple of the extra buttons on your mouse to the MondoMouse shortcut keys. That way, you have dedicated window resize and move buttons, which work at any point in any window in any app, even if the window is in the background. This awesome little tool dramatically enhances the way you interact with every single application on your Mac, every day.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
GeogProf
18 May 2009
$14.95 is way too much for this tiny little one-trick pony. Maybe $5...
Like (4)
Version 1.4.2
Lee123
28 October 2008
Why isn't everyone using this? This is some good old save you tons of time and wrist action software. This stuff is standard fare on linux but this is the first I have used it on the macbook pro. I love it. Focus follows mouse people rejoice. The default value for "Focus follows mouse" is way to high. Set this setting to 0.30 or so and see how easy it is to switch windows.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.2
Mdognrdog
08 June 2008
One feature I really miss when not using the GNOME desktop is the nifty little feature where ALT+click anywhere on a window is the same as clicking on the title bar of that window -- you can drag the window by grabbing anywhere. Particularly on a laptop, this is a nice addition. Mondomouse gives you this feature, but at a cost. Its key bindings do not always interact with the standard key bindings in the ideal fashion, for one thing. The other, which is why I probably won't buy it, is that it's kind of a hog. Watching my GeekTool top output shows some pretty serious memory usage, and I saw an immediately noticeable bite out of my battery life on my 17" MacBook Pro when I had it running. So the ability to sling windows around my desktop more easily with the touchpad comes with the fact that I can do so for approximately 8% less time before having to plug back in.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
Bill-Clinton
20 August 2007
I wish that developers of screen and window utilities such as MondoMouse would bother to test them on dual-monitor systems, especially when the monitors are in a vertical configuration such as is common with laptop computers. When dragging or resizing windows with MondoMouse in a very common way, the window can jump around like a schoolgirl on Friday night.
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Mechanist
Mechanist
23 August 2007
Well, "Bill Clinton", speaking as the developer of MondoMouse, what I wish is that when people encounter a problem with my software, they would, y'know, tell me. I can fix problems with the software but only if I know about them. I develop MondoMouse on a multiple-display system and have been mindful of the potential for problems in that setup since before version 1.0. I haven't encountered anything like what you describe. Unfortunately your description is really not specific enough to figure out what's happening-- what is "a very common way", for example? If you'd care to get in touch with me and tell me a little more about your situation then I'll try to get it fixed. It's easy! Just go to my web site and click the "contact us" link. When you do, you'll be sending a message to someone who can actually do something, instead of just posting it where it might or might not get noticed.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.1
New-User
07 February 2007
In case anyone doesn't know: Try clicking on a background window while holding down the command key. You'll find that you can move, resize, even use controls in the background window without even bringing it to the front. Obviously MondoMouse does much more than this, but that basic functionality is built in to the OS.
Like
Version 1.3
3 answer(s)
Allblue
Allblue
08 February 2007
I 'switched' about nine years ago, and my two iMacs have spanned 8.6 through to 10.3.9. Although I wouldn't describe myself as a 'power user', I use the machine every day, and push it hard at times, so feel comfortable and on top of the OS functionality - yet on a regular basis little tips like command - background window appear on my horizon giving another little bit of extra grooviness to an alreaedy wonderful operating system! All Hail Apple I say! Thanks for the heads-up Tomis!
Like
Version 1.3
Rpphoto
Rpphoto
02 March 2007
Crazy, I never knew that, and I've been using Mac since the beginning of time. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.3.1
Leopoldbloom
Leopoldbloom
01 March 2009
I didn't know that either. It's interesting but doesn't take much away from MondoMouse, since the point of it is to be able to move/resize without having to click on the title bar or resize handle. Thanks, though, for pointing that out. It may come in handy.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Ryan-Erwin
21 November 2006
Ever need to move that background window so that you can write some notes related to what you're looking at? Ever want to position your windows right next to each other? Do you need to read something in your email in the window behind your web browser? Does finding the bottom right corner of the window just to resize it drive you a bit crazy? MondoMouse can take care of all this for you. Personally, I use Mondo with the fn key to active window moving and fn + CTRL to active window resizing. Works great on my Mac Book Pro and my old PowerBook too! I've been using MondoMouse for about 2 months now. I'm EXTREMELY satisfied with the product. I registered the product within 48 hours of downloading the shareware version and I couldn't be happier. MondoMouse works by using Mac OS X's STANDARD accessability API, so it's not some unsanity type hack. It's a legit part of the system. If you've got the developer tools installed, you can launch: /Developer/Applications/Utilities/Accessibility Tools/Accessibility Inspector For example, I'm also a fan of the Textmate editor, but it doesn't support Apple's accessibility at the moment, so I've registered skEdit instead. The application's author has been extremely responsive to bug reports and even released a fix to a "CAPS LOCK" related bug within a few days of the bug report. If you ever used the old Unix Window Maker Window Manager and are familiar with the luxury of moving and sizing windows without bothering to click the right place on the window to do so, you'll love MondoMouse. I've already tested it on my developer copy of Panther and it works great. Can't recommend it highly enough. This is something Apple should definitely include in the Core OS. Works great with Path Finder too!
Like
Version 1.2
hced
02 November 2006
Nice app that fills a great void in how you manage the Mac interface. Really great concept (of letting one move windows without having to search for their upper part regions.) Generally, MondoMouse plays really nice together with the standard Mac UI, save for one thing: It desperately needs an Excluded apps list! I'm working a lot in Apple's Logic Pro, and I have to turn off MondoMouse when working in Logic. Of course, I *could* reconfigure the modifier keys for my MondoMouse functions, but then again, I'd end up having to do change those for every new app that I work in, which uses the same modifier keys for certain tasks... My suggestion is to let MondoMouse - not only be able to stop its operation in specified apps, but also - let the user pick any keyboard shortcut wanted for MondoMouse (to further eliminate an eventual need for putting apps in proposed exclusion list due to keyboard shortcut 'collisions'.) But I like the app! Looking forward to see how things go along with MondoMouse! Good luck to the developer!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Mechanist
31 October 2006
And just to make sure everyone knows what they're getting into-- GeekBind does not work on Intel Macs. It's also an abandoned, dead project, not having been updated in a long time now.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Balthamos
30 October 2006
Just to let those out there know, there is a similar application that you may want to look into. It does not contain all of the features that MondoMouse possesses, but it's got a bunch. In addition to that, it's open source. "Geekbind" http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/14862 ~Balthamos
Like
Version 1.1.2
Magosilvan
12 August 2006
Not so useful: too many keys to remember and sometimes conflicting with applications or even the Finder. Try for instance to capture the screen pressing command-shift-3 or 4!
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Kabeyun
Kabeyun
18 August 2006
These commands work fine, with no conflicts. At least with v1.0.3 they do. I think this is a neat little utility.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Oceancubed
09 August 2006
Nice implementation. Pretty intuiative too.
Like
Version 1.0.2