Back to FadingImages screensaver page
FadingImages screensaver free download for Mac

FadingImages screensaver Reviews

1.5.1
17 December 2007

Screensaver that fades your pictures in and out.

Attentionwandered
03 August 2006

Most helpful

sorry if i missed something but what makes this any different or any better then the screensaver to show pictures that comes with your mac?
Like
Version 1.0

Read 8 FadingImages screensaver User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bonbons
28 September 2008
Perfectly wonderful, many thanks!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ray16
27 November 2007
In the system pref window it shows it running, but when I launch it I get a white screen.
Like
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
28 November 2007
Since you posted more information here than you sent in direct mail and don't seem to be getting my e-mailed responses, I'll follow up here: The fact that it works in preview mode means it should work in general. I think the most likely explanation is that you're running out of video memory but I don't believe I made any change to the program that should implicitly increase the memory consumption and I'd be surprised if you're running on a weaker system than the worst machine I tested on. To make sure I'm up-to-date, I'd like you to contact me and let me know what kind of machine you're using, what OS version you have, and what kind of video card. I'm also curious if you only did the upgrade or if you also changed any settings afterwards.
Like
Version 1.5
Izoe
Izoe
18 December 2007
I get the same white screen. My computer is aging; 500 mghz Pismo. I "think" the video memeory is 32MB, but I'm unsure and I can not comfirm. couldn't find that info in the system profiler... I hope something can be done, after all, I have a similar screensaver called flying icons that works find; after we're talking just pictures here...
Like
Version 1.5.1
Gregw
Gregw
18 December 2007
I can't reproduce this, so I'd really need you to contact me directly, be able to give detailed responses to diagnostic questions, and probably be willing to run test builds to get it fixed.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ray16
18 May 2007
Greg, update the site page, it still says 1.2.1 Ray
Like
Version 1.2.2
Ray16
18 August 2006
Greg had found a code error that was fixed, and the new file should be here soon. Apple helped him, kudo's to them. with feedback from yours truely, he has now a greart Saver
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
22 August 2006
Just a nit: Apple didn't help at all on this other than providing a bug for me to work around. (Bug, in this case, meaning a significant discrepancy between the behavior of a function within the OS X API and the documentation for that function.) Ray, yes. Apple, no.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Ray16
14 August 2006
Ok, the bug was fixed, thank you Iphoto was not an issue. When I picked desktop pictures with sub-folders seleted, it would show some 20 pics then it would hang. If anyone else noticed this inform the Developer. Have a good week
Like
Version 1.2.1
Ray16
05 August 2006
I have a G3B&W, 500ghz , 1024 0f Ram. Running 10.3.9, 7w98 There is a bug, when setting options can't close window. big time freeze; have to force quit system perferences, which by doesn't save settings. FIX THE BUG
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
06 August 2006
I will FIX THE BUG when I get a better bug report than this. It works fine on my G3/600 with 10.3.9 here. Please provide a more complete description of the actions you're taking and how the saver responds along the way.
Like
Version 1.2
csaborio
csaborio
06 August 2006
ray16: dude, WTF do you think you are to yell out orders to anyone? Is the developer your slave? Unbelievable.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Jetfiredx
04 August 2006
Nice start, but very limited. Setting the batch of pictures anywhere near the full 256 causes significant delay even with my 1 gb of memory. The first time the images appear on screen they all appear at once then fade out and slowly begin to cycle through individually - needs some polish to make the effect start off the way it actually continues to later. Having a limit to the number of pictures displayed is a little annoying since I have far more that I would like displayed. Also, it would be nice if the program wouldn't over lap pictures until one is fading out and another was fading in that shared the same space... otherwise you just end up with a difficult to distinguish mess of images. Keep working on it and adding features - its always nice to have a new way to show family pics and travel images on the screen.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
04 August 2006
The slow startup time and image limit are both gone in v1.2 which is sitting on my machine right now. I'll have it up Saturday pending one or two enhancements.
Like
Version 1.1
Attentionwandered
03 August 2006
sorry if i missed something but what makes this any different or any better then the screensaver to show pictures that comes with your mac?
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
03 August 2006
It "displays scaled pictures from a specified folder (several at a time) and fades them out replacing them with new images." Except for the iTunes cover art one, all of the picture-displaying screen savers that come with the OS show a single picture at a time, full screen. They do a slow zoom and then transition to a new image. The iTunes saver shows a couple of dozen images in a grid and periodically flips one over to show a different image, so it's closer in net effect but with a different presentation and only displays images from a single, non-configurable location.
Like
Version 1.1