Back to ChocoFlop page
ChocoFlop free download for Mac

ChocoFlop Reviews

0.909
14 September 2009

Image and photo editing.

Xenophile
15 September 2009

Most helpful

Teachable moment for all the suckers who paid for this: Do NOT pay a developer to help him test his beta software.
Like (4)
Version 0.909

Read 11 ChocoFlop User Reviews

Rate this app:

Xenophile
15 September 2009
Teachable moment for all the suckers who paid for this: Do NOT pay a developer to help him test his beta software.
Like (4)
Version 0.909
Macsolu
13 September 2009
The developer of this app has stated that this is the last version. All future development has stopped and the app is no longer shareware; it is now freeware.
Like
Version 0.908
1 answer(s)
Macsolu
Macsolu
14 September 2009
OK, so now I'm confused. After this app is installed and launched, pressing the registration button brings up this window: REGISTRATION IS NOT NEEDED ANYMORE SINCE DEVELOPMENT STOPPED :-( So, it seems like this app is getting very minor updates/tweaks, but will never be primed for Snow Leopard. This is clearly mentioned in the initial splash screen: "This is PRERELEASE software. It is not supposed to be stable. This is NOT SUPPORTED ON MAC OS X 10.6+ (SNOW LEOPARD). The changes required to get this to work on Snow Leopard are akin to rewriting the whole thing (which would be a good thing anyway). Sadly I cannot commit any more time to this so here you have it. It's free without limitations, but it wll not evolve."
Like (1)
Version 0.909
Plasterpyrus
09 September 2009
Thanks to the developer for constantly improving ChocoFlop, specially for continuing support for PPC, which some of us continue to use. I find that the developer from the beginning has worked at adding features and squashing bugs, and as far as I know that's what the development of an applications suppose to be in the beta stage which it is in.
Like
Version 0.908
Countpollen
08 September 2009
After the "I give up" message in the last update (08 sept. 2009) I just have to add: For everybody using an intel mac (core duo or higher), running Leopard: give up using ChocoFlop! There are better applications that do more. After all, ChocoFlop started as an aqua port of "the Gimp", which is still actively maintained. For the developer: pity to have paid once for an application that was hardly updated at all.
Like
Version 0.908
1 answer(s)
alexj-hexa
alexj-hexa
24 November 2015
I'm certainly not a professional but
gimp (for example) appears particularly difficult to me. i had nice experience with this photo editor for mac http://macphun.com and it does the job for me. it also have user-friendly
Like
Bumbleb
29 April 2009
For the last few days I've been trying to download Chocoflop, but the site is dead. Anyone knows what happened? Not that Chocoflop is usable, but I wanted to try its scaling algo;-)
Like
Version 0.907
Mami
08 December 2008
creating Buffers... ....... -> stalls, beachball, beachball working... ....... -> stalls, beachball, stalls, beachball Needs a lot of code- and speed optimizing..., beachball, beachball creating Buffers... creating Buffers... creating Buffers... Feels like a realbasic app on a 66 Mhz PPC, ...stalls, beachball... Moving into trash... ChocoFlop -> delete, ...wow, that works surprisingly fast.
Like (3)
Version 0.901
Grossebouille
11 December 2007
It works very well now !! Congratulations !
Like (1)
Version 0.73
Joellevin
03 December 2007
The name of this app sort of convinces me not to download it.
Like
Version 0.7
4 answer(s)
Gaoshan
Gaoshan
10 December 2007
I was about to make a similar comment and also won't use it. I wonder what the inspiration for the name could possibly be?
Like
Version 0.71
Zeba
Zeba
10 December 2007
I will paraphrase one saying: "Do not judge the program by the icon (name, in this case) but by the things it can do for you."
Like (3)
Version 0.71
Jean-Marie
Jean-Marie
26 March 2008
The name is clearly inspired by 'Photoshop', kinda anagram... I like this kind of dev. who don't take themselves too seriously (as long as the application is serious).
Like (1)
Version 0.78
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
13 January 2009
And Cocoa, and FLOating Point operations (Core Image). What'd you think it meant?
Like (3)
Version 0.903
Tingting
31 July 2007
Rating is based on a .65 release. It's pretty dang sweet. I've been hating opening the old Photoshop Elements and it takes fifteen years to turn on and my fans start going ballistic. Try it, you'll enjoy. Some bugs to be worked out, but quite nice for .65. Nice.
Like
Version 0.65
1 answer(s)
max-horiva
max-horiva
25 November 2015
An informative well written review which leaves me wondering whether to part with my money are stay with my now rather outdated Photoshop CS 5
previously enjoyed this http://aurorahdr.com/ for mac os
Like
B3nj4m
19 August 2006
The screenshot looks very nice. I'd love to have an image editor that takes advantage of cocoa for its interface. However, Any image that I tried to open would only result in a severely distorted version of a different image in the same directory...
Like
Version 0.42
1 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
06 April 2007
Check out Seashore if ChocoFlop isn't working right for you.
Like
Version 0.62
Ancientyger
04 August 2006
Really, nice applilcation. Looking forward to 1.0 release, should be a very powerful app. As it matures i hope other apps(specifically, Cocoa apps) will look to it as an alternative to Pshop or Gimp. Gimp.app is nice, but this is all cocoa and makes use of Core Image. This is more than an aggregate of image units but a real image editing app. In many ways, more powerful than Seashore is currently, but Seashore can access .xcf files... which Gimp.app can make of .psd files. Working in 128 bit.. in Chocofloop... is nice though! Looking forward to a Beta version.. .heh.. when the final version is out.. i think we'll all be used to using it already!
Like
Version 0.40