Back to Mira page
Mira free download for Mac

Mira Reviews

1.5.1
23 January 2017

Control any app with the Apple Remote.

Cleversimon
05 January 2008

Most helpful

Works erratically, if at all, under Leopard. Workaround for long-standing "double-action" bug only available on developer's forum and requires deleting system files (out of CoreServices!). No bugfix release-or any other-in sight: it hasn't been updated in months. Remote Buddy has more features, and a developer who apparently gives a damn about his software and its users. Adios, mira.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.9

Read 35 Mira User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cannot get the Mira program to control Adobe Flash Player video clips within Google Chrome browser. Play/Pause is all that works, no Rewind or Fast-Forward. Any others like me?
Like
Version 1.4.12
1 answer(s)
Twisted Melon, Inc.
Twisted Melon, Inc.
20 October 2016
You can write an email via our site and I can help you with any customizations.

Quick tip: If the player is operating within a plugin-process, then you would need to edit the App profile in Mira that's called "Netflix (Chrome)" and adjust the actions. That profile is actually for any plugin process within the browser and not just Netflix.

If on the other hand it runs natively within Chrome, then you just need to edit the buttons i the regular Chrome profile. Try arrow keys or modified arrow keys for FFW/REW. If it can be done with the keyboard then Mira can do it quickly with the Keystroke action.
Like
JamesB6168
12 February 2014
Mica, Mantra, and Twisted Melon make a great combination. I teach music and needed my Apple Remote to work with my new Macbook Air which doesn't have an IR eye or software. The hardware is simple and very sturdy. The eye is huge and makes remote control much easier than on my old Macbook Pro. The software is simple, even for a non-teckie like myself. Twisted Melon's customer service was superior, respectful, and very prompt (I messed up the settings, not being very good at this sort of thing). Thank you Twisted Melon. I wish you much success.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.9b8
DM82
20 May 2013
This is some great software and along with Twisted Melon's Manta, completely solved the lack of IR receiver problem in the 2012 iMacs. I use this for Plex and with the default profiles that come with Mira, setup was plug and play. Fully supports long and short press functionality with the Apple Remote (or in my case Harmony 650). The installation includes a Keymap.xml file that you can use to completely customize the button mapping to your liking in the various sections of Plex. The best part is the superb support from the developer. I recently subscribed to PlexPass and downloaded Plex Home Theater. One email to Bruno and he sent me the files to upgrade Mira to fully support Plex HT. He's going to update the software for everyone soon. All in all, I could't be happier with Mira and I recommend it to everyone!
Like
Version 1.4.8
1 answer(s)
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
07 December 2013
Thanks for the positive comments, they're much appreciated. Mira 1.4.9 (beta6 up for download at the moment, final release very shortly) has support built-in for the release version of Plex Home Theater 1.0 and a number of other new apps and enhancements. It also addresses some installation issues in OSX 10.9 Mavericks, so anyone updating to the new OS should download it immediately. And give it a high rating. ;)
Like
Does exactly what I wanted. I can use the Apple Remote to control DVD Player on my Mac mini. A little tweaking, I got it set so I can eject the DVD usung the remote, either from within DVD Player or from the Finder. Since I don't keep the wireless keyboard and trackpad powered on, this provides the capabilities I need in the absence of Front Row.
Like
Version 1.4.8
Xand8r
23 April 2013
I have to say right away support is the best! Any problems I had were resolved literally in minutes of my sending an e-mail. It took a couple of e-mails for me to get things right mostly on my end and now the system is working great on my new iMac 21" OS10.8.3. Any negative reviews I would have to say are from people who never bothered to ask for help. Bruno, my support helper, could not have been more helpful or gracious. I am so glad I did not listen to some of the reviews posted here. It was Twisted Melons replies that made me go for it and glad I am. I now have a remote for my iMac. Lesson here-anyone! Ask for directions instead of driving in circles and staying lost! I gave it a "5" but for some reason it is coming up a 4.5..oh well!
Like
Version 1.4.8
derwood
03 November 2012
downloaded this software for the simple use of using the Mac IR remote to control netflix, it doesnt do that. as far as i am concerned, this software is a total waste of time.
Like
Version 1.4.8
1 answer(s)
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
07 December 2013
You're welcome to give it another try and contact me by email as anyone having any kind of issue should always do. I try to reply within 24 hours, but if you don't write, I'll never be able to reply. Mira has supported Netflix in FULLSCREEN Safari and Firefox since December 2011. In Chrome since October 2012. This works now and has always worked 100% For WINDOWED browser control you will need to change the buttons for the respective browser you're using inside Mira's system preference, because they come set by default to control general browsing. All the Netflx-specific commands are labeled with the tag "Netflix" inside the DuoPress sub-menu. If your computer doesn't have an IR receiver built-in, you'll need a USB receiver like our Manta TR1 of course.
Like
BillHicks
20 October 2012
Does not work in Mountain Lion.
Like
Version 1.4.8
1 answer(s)
Twisted Melon, Inc.
Twisted Melon, Inc.
30 October 2012
All versions of Mira back to 1.4.5 should be working in Mountain Lion, with 1.4.7 and 1.4.8 including specific attention to Mountain Lion requirements, such as permissions, certificate signing and login items auto-starting. Please let me know via email (contact form on the web site) what issues you may be having and I'll look into them immediately. It doesn't matter whether you're a registered customer or not, I always respond to all email and will help anyone get the most out of the software on their systems.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
13 July 2012
"Taking it beyond Front Row"... wow, now there's some modern technology! Does this also work on the Newton?
Like
Version 1.4.7b4
1 answer(s)
Twisted Melon, Inc.
Twisted Melon, Inc.
30 October 2012
It was a tag line which has since been updated. Mira continues to support all the latest Apple hardware and software such as Retina Display Macs, as well as older machines running OS releases as old as 10.4 with PPC processors. And while some people may still use Front Row on older OS installations, Mira fully supports Plex and XBMC which are about as current as you can get. :)
Like
Miocinq
24 December 2011
Mira works as advertised on my Macs, running 10.4.11, 10.5.8 and 10.6.8. No hassles no probs. The Mantra is a great addon to some good old PPCMacs. Thanks for your effort and enthusiasm. J.R.
Like
Version 1.4.6
Cottser
17 December 2011
I'm a Plex user. On Snow Leopard I've been launching Plex from Front Row, but of course Lion doesn't have Front Row. I wanted something *way* more straightforward than Remote Buddy for launching and interacting with Plex (and perhaps other applications) via my Apple remote. Enter Mira. Much simpler, something perhaps my Mother could use. I was able to launch Plex via the remote without any issues. However, a new version of Plex had just come out (0.9.5) and Plex changed their keymappings in a way that no longer worked with Mira. So I couldn't really use Mira with the new version of Plex. Time to email the developer. Long story short, the developer went above and beyond to create a solution that enabled full functionality with the new version of Plex, and corresponded with the Plex developers as well to attempt a more native solution. Where that will go is still to be determined, but as a user I no longer need to know any of this, Mira just works with Plex! Now I can upgrade to Lion without fear of missing Front Row.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5BETA
msager
28 November 2011
Once great app, no longer works with Leopard and support is dismal. I miss its simplicity but it hasn't worked in quite a long time and there are other apps out there, which get the job done and offer support. What's more troubling is that I originally wrote this review months ago and MacUpdate apparently yanked it, I'd like to think that MU doesn't practice censorship.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5BETA
2 answer(s)
Twisted Melon, Inc.
Twisted Melon, Inc.
24 December 2011
Matt, Mira works in Tiger (1.3.5), Leopard, Snow Leopard and Lion (1.4.6). The latest version was just released yesterday, following some 13 other releases since August. I'm sure MU doesn't practice censorship, however your previous "review" was a tirade or insults directed toward my product, my company and me personally. Reviews are fine, but personal attacks and lies are not. "dismal support" for instance is a blatant lie. I spend more time communicating with customers and non-customers than I do doing anything else day to day. Look at the release notes for the past few months to see how many times Mira has been rebuilt and released.
Like (1)
msager
msager
24 December 2011
Actually my previous review was excactly what I wrote above, calling it a tirade and calling me a liar is welll, a tirade of insults. Not that that's unexpected from you after the flood of hate emails you sent, in lieu of support, when I enquired about the status of my order. Merry Christmas and good luck on shipping a version of Mira that works to your paying customers such as myself.
Like
Marco-Marty
17 November 2011
Good Morning, Yesterday i have buy your software Mira. Mira work fine for just 5 minutes.After 5 minutes apple remote not work. OS.VERSION: OSX LION 10.7.2 MIRA VERSION: 1.4.0R3 OR YOUR ULTIMATE BETA RECOGNIZED IR: EHOME INFRARED REMOTE: APPLE REMOTE MAC: MacBook air 2011 All work ( License,applications,recognized of remote,remote)is full working but just for 5 minutes.After 5 minutes the remote non function more whit any application… After this I try to repeat the installation whit your ultimate beta and Mira work again.But unfortunately after 5 minutes again the problem.I try more times but always the problem. P.S. The macbook air not in standby not stop hard disk not standby monitor. What is the solution? Thank you very much Marco
Like
Version 1.4.5BETA
3 answer(s)
Twisted Melon, Inc.
Twisted Melon, Inc.
24 December 2011
Contact us by email for support as I'm sure the issue you're seeing is easy to solve. I suspect it's a simple conflict with something else on your system.
Like
Twisted Melon, Inc.
Twisted Melon, Inc.
24 December 2011
Hello again. I did find an email from you, however, you didn't reply after I had sent two emails. If you get back to me I'm sure we can get this figured out. The first thing I need to know is what IR receiver you're using, because you indicate it's a third-party model.
Like
Moog-Modular
Moog-Modular
25 December 2011
Perhaps this is obvious, but have you tried testing or replacing the battery inside the Apple remote?
Like
Ron-Hamelin
04 March 2010
I loved this app, but it no longer works under Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
13 October 2010
All versions of Mira 1.3.x should be working properly under every version of Mac OS 10.5 Leopard and Mac OS 10.6.2+ Snow Leopard. Version 10.6 and 10.6.1 of Mac OS had a bug that affected all third party software using the Apple Remote, not just Mira. However, since 10.6.2 this problem no longer exists. Version 1.3.5 was released back in April with its beta this past February. And today we have just put up 1.4.0 which includes a new pref pane in 64 bits and recognizes all the buttons on the silver aluminum remote when using the built-in Apple receiver. If you're still having any issues, contact us directly and we'll resolve them. just visit the web site: http://twistedmelon.com/contact/
Like (2)
Version 1.3.4
Moog-Modular
18 February 2010
I'm a registered (paid) user of Mira and have version 1.25 installed. I tried installing version 1.3.4 and it goes through the installation process fine, but when I go to the Mira preference pane, it still says version 1.25. Any ideas what's up? I'm running OS X version 10.5.8 on an Intel Imac.
Like
Version 1.3.4
2 answer(s)
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
26 February 2010
Moog, why don't you contact us directly via email so we can remedy your situation and find out what's going on? Also, you may want to try the beta of 1.3.5 which has some changes to its installer script. There's a slim chance your previous installation didn't get overwritten by the new one, but I've never personally seen that and it hasn't been reported on any recent versions. Nonetheless, if there's something about your installation that causes this to happen, I want to find out what it is and make sure we can cure it.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Moog-Modular
Moog-Modular
28 February 2010
I just tried installing the beta version. No go. Mine is still at 1.25. I'd trash all the prefs and start out fresh, but fear I'll lose my licensing. I guess I'll write you folks.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Maurer-c
15 September 2009
This does not work under Snow Leopard.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
5 answer(s)
Zeebie
Zeebie
30 December 2009
And not under Leopard either.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
26 February 2010
All but one remote control program using the built-in receiver stopped working in Snow Leopard when it was first released. This was due to an Apple bug that caused any such programs to lose exclusive access to the receiver via IOKIT. Mac OS 10.6.2 has since fixed this issue and Mira, along with other software that uses the remote can once again work normally. There is one additional possible cause for a similar issue which can be attributed to one particular third-party application. It's been reported to us that Hulu Desktop can still cause Mira and other remote software to lose exclusive access. This may be due to Hulu using old code for their Apple Remote access, but I don't know that for sure. Access to the Apple Remote should be disabled in the preferences of such multimedia applications when using Mira or other programs which function as extenders to the remote. If you're seeing any issues with double actions or any other issues at all, please contact us via our web site http://twistedmelon.com - we provide generally quick customer suport as well as pre-sales support for people running the demo software. None of these issues have ever affected the use of USB IR receivers incidentally.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Neo979
Neo979
15 October 2010
The updates do make it compatible with Leopard and Snow Leopard, but if you got this app through the MacAppADay promotion, you aren't eligible for any upgrades. I can't complain about that, since you don't really have much of a right to expect customer service on a freebie - but considering how they tried to get people hooked on their product and then make it obsolete not long after the promotion, I sure wish they would at least offer a discounted upgrade price or something. They certainly didn't do anything wrong, but somehow it does feel a little "unfriendly" at least.
Like
Version 1.4.0
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
17 October 2010
Neo, there is now and there has always been, a discount for MacAppADay participants. http://twistedmelon.com/shop/promos/ You'll see a link on that page that shows Mira at a $3 discount - you just need to type your MacAppADay email address into the coupon field on the order page. Also, we released many versions to which MacAppADay participants could upgrade to for free. The promotion was in December 2006 and the first version of Mira to stop working with those serial numbers was in August of 2007, three quarters of a year later. At the time of the promotion we promised a discount whenever that date were to come where a purchase would be needed to move forward. That discount had in fact been in place since December 2006, the day of the MacAppADay promotion. I think we've been pretty fair about the promotion and we were always up front about the licenses not being for every single future version update of Mira.
Like
Version 1.4.0
Segnerd
Segnerd
29 October 2010
Thank you for pointing that out to me. I will probably buy the upgrade as soon as I come up with some money. I was trying to be clear that I was never accusing you of being unfair. SegNerd FKA neo979
Like
Version 1.4.0
Jeff-H-
11 June 2009
Everything runs great. No complaints except that I cannot get remotes paired. It keeps saying "command not received from remote" when it is.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Mrkane
29 May 2009
Unfortunately the latest version of Mira (version 1.3.3) running on the latest version of Leopard (10.5.7) still suffers from the double action bug (two actions attempt to run at the same time - such as showing the launch menu + running front row). This product is currently unusable, so I wouldn't spend the time installing + downloading it until this fix is made.
Like
Version 1.3.3
1 answer(s)
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
26 February 2010
If you're still active here, please contact us through our web site directly. I believe the issue you saw in Leopard was what I mentioned in another comment. It's caused by Hulu Destop specifically. Let me know if that's the case since I want to make sure everyone has a positive experience running the software, whether it be Mac OS 10.4.11, 10.5.8 or 10.6.2 and beyond.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Evolve75
15 February 2009
Tried the demo for 1.3.3r2 today. The preference pane install has a major bug - after installing, the search option in System Preferences STOPPED working. Tried to like the software, but cannot accept interference with normal and core OS behavior. I guess I will be back to Sofa Control or Remote Buddy.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Six50joe
24 November 2008
BEWARE! Installing Mira versions 1.3.1 or 1.3.2 on Leopard may render your Mac UNUSABLE. I had been one of the registered users waiting for Mira to work properly in Leopard. When 1.3.1 came out in September I eagerly installed it, only to find that it immediately stopped ALL MOUSE INPUT from working, even after rebooting my mac and trying different mice in different USB ports. The only way I was able to remedy the problem was by borrowing a friend's MacBook (lucky I was able to do this) and logging into mine via shared desktop, where I was able to control the mouse cursor. After uninstalling Mira, mouse control returned. When version 1.3.2 came out in October, I thought this problem would have been addressed, but it is not. I posted a warning on the Twisted Melon forum about this serious problem in early October. The following day the forum was no longer available, according to a message on their website that a 'database corruption' occurred and that the forum would be restored very soon. To this day, this hasn't been done, so my only option is to warn other users here.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
3 answer(s)
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
01 December 2008
I find it strange that no one, including this poster has ever reported this problem to us. I'm not saying this person hasn't seen this issue, but I am saying it's not the fault of Mira. Mira doesn't touch any mouse or other drivers for its operation. It listens to Apple Remote messages in a very straight-forward and standard method when used with the built-in Apple Receiver. If you visit here again, please contact us about this issue and we'll help you track down what the real problem is. Mira comes with support from us, its developer (Twisted Melon). Posting in random comment sections is not the way to seek support. It's also strange that the poster says they commented in our forum in October because the forum site that hosted our user forum was completely corrupted in September. It took one week to recover what we could of the site, but the forum database was not able to be recovered. Most of the forum was not composed of the Mira sub-forum and thousands of messages were lost unfortunately.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.3
Umijin
Umijin
02 December 2008
He probably didn't alert you because for much of the past year you (the developer) have been AWOL in supporting Mira and unable to even provide a functional product with Leopard until fairly recently. Let's see if this changes when I send you a support request for Mira's lack of functionality with PowerPoint '08.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Twistymelon
Twistymelon
10 December 2008
AWOL? Please contact me instead of posting here anonymously. We reply to all emails and do so very promptly. And always have. Mira has supported PowerPoint 2008 since the summer when I slip-streamed an updated PowerPoint profile into the release version at that time. Mira 1.3.0 released in September included a brand new profile for the 2008 version while including the previous profile for 2004. If you're updating Mira then, as written in the release notes which are displayed every time you install, you must use the "Restore Built-in Profiles..." option (in the options menu under the applications list). This feature lets you install or re-install profiles. You need to use it to install any new profiles that you want. Mira doesn't install built-in profiles over top of current installations automatically so as to preserve your current settings. This includes a prior choice to have removed any particular profile. If you're not using that command then you're missing out on any profiles that have been updated. This has always been the case with new Mira installations and has always been included at the very top of the release notes.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Xanthippe
07 October 2008
Ah, finally, works under Leopard, no more double-action (ie. both the Mira defined action and the default Apple defined action are executed) Can finally recommend this product again. Perfect if you want to do more with your Apple Remote Control than just use Front Row & Co.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
Jonedwards
20 February 2008
unfortunately, i have to agree with the last review. when i purchased mira a year or so ago it was a great, simple but full-featured alternative to other remote programs. now it's essentially worthless to all but the most patient redundant button pusher or system tinkerer. even then it's just easier to go up and grab the mouse or keyboard. a shame. going back to remote buddy...
Like
Version 1.2.9
Cleversimon
05 January 2008
Works erratically, if at all, under Leopard. Workaround for long-standing "double-action" bug only available on developer's forum and requires deleting system files (out of CoreServices!). No bugfix release-or any other-in sight: it hasn't been updated in months. Remote Buddy has more features, and a developer who apparently gives a damn about his software and its users. Adios, mira.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.9
MrZarniwoop
08 October 2007
Amazing little application "that just works." I imagine it'll get a bit more popular with Front Row in Leopard OS X 10.5. I recently got a Mac Pro, and followed some Googled instructions on enabling Front Row. I hooked up an old KeySpan IR Receiver (and uninstalled the KeySpan software per Mira instructions), and with an Apple Remote I can happily control both Front Row and EyeTV as if I had an iMac with integrated IR. No issues here, and surprisingly the free unregistered evaluation version is generously full functional! There are some limits without registering it, 10 application profiles (mappings of applications to remote buttons) and 6 launch menu items (simple launch of applications from the remote). But that's more than enough for Front Row and EyeTV.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.9
Twistedmelon
21 March 2007
Join the Twisted Melon forum at http://in.mypocket.com A much better EyeTV setup is available there and an even better one will be included in the next Mira update. It will support all EyeTV modes automatically, including full screen.
Like
Version 1.2.8r2
Jonedwards
20 February 2007
This is a near-perfect remote application. It does lack some of the power of Remote Buddy, but most users will appreciate the greater simplicity. My one gripe -- the one thing that keeps me from switching away from Remote Buddy -- is the insufficient EyeTV support. You can do some very basic navigation, but you can't operate between contexts the way you can with Remote Buddy. If mira had better support for EyeTV's full screen menu, it'd be a shoe-in for best remote application out there!
Like
Version 1.2.8
/usr/bin/paul
20 September 2006
Awesome update! It seems much more snappier. I still prefer this over the others, however it would seem that the others (Remote Buddy and Sofa Control) are providing more substantial updates, more often. I hope we can see some of the same features implemented soon. All in all, mira is still the best application out there for what it does (in my honest opinion).
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Upanddown
29 July 2006
This software deserves my 5 star rating.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5a
Upanddown
29 July 2006
Yeah baby!!! now this is what adds life to my apple remote. Works great with keynote, iTunes, and VLC player. A very smart remote. Used the remote to review my presetation, listen to itunes, and when I was tired and didn't want to get up to put my computer to sleep, I configured one of my mira remote button to put the computer to sleep. I finally found a good use of my apple remote. Feel so happyyyyyyyyy
Like
Version 1.1.5a
2 answer(s)
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
29 July 2006
Long-Press of play will put the system to sleep for most profiles by default. :) SO you don't need to set aside a specific button.
Like
Version 1.1.5a
Sanholo
Sanholo
10 November 2006
Everything you mentioned but controlling VLC works with any Apple Remote out of the box. ;)
Like
Version 1.2.5
Twistedmelon
28 July 2006
The version available now (Morning of Jul 28 2006) is rebuilt and good to go.
Like
Version 1.1.5a
Twistedmelon
28 July 2006
Just wanted to put up a note letting people know that the first copy of 1.1.5 that I put online had some corrupt files in the installer apparently. This caused the Multi Actions not to show up in the UI (Multis are files within the program). I'm terribly sorry and will rebuild the package in the morning and have a new fresh copy up as soon as possible.
Like
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
28 July 2006
New version is up (AM Jul 28 2006)
Like
Version 1.1.5a
/usr/bin/paul
26 July 2006
I have extensively used mira, Sofa Control, Remote Buddy and I must say that mira is one of the most intelligently crafted of them all. I like mira the most over the others because: 1) Simple and Elegant design. Everything from novice users to power users will love how easy to use this application is. 2) Power and Flexibility. mira has just the right blend of features that gives you almost all the functionality anyone could want. Here's what I DO NOT like OR wish to have in mira: 1) mira is automatically disabled when the mira preference pane is open, which makes it difficult for testing your remote. You have to close and re-open as your testing. But not too bad, once everything is configured the way you want. 2) Both Remote Buddy and Sofa Control have built-in file browsers for navigating your home directory and opening files/documents along with file info and previewing. 3) Remote Buddy has a great feature that I would like to see in mira. When your controlling an application with your remote, you can pull up a menu reminding your what each button on the remote does for the current application. This is helpful because every application behaves differently and this way you won't have remember what the buttons do while your in a certain application. This would be an awesome addition to mira's feature set. 4) I would like to be able to create my own customized multi-fuction buttons, in addition to the pre-determined ones already built-into mira. Other than that I would recommend all these wonderful apps: Sofa Control, Remote Buddy and mira. But... I would HIGHLY recommend mira and prefer it over the others (for now at least). mira is my choice!
Like
Version 1.1
Twistedmelon
25 July 2006
If anyone has any issues with installation or uninstallation, please contact the Twisted Melon support email address. We're here to help you with mira and try to offer very timely replies. In case it wasn't clear from the info on the site, the main mira interface is in the form of a standard Mac OS System Preference Pane - so mira is always available right in System Preferences.
Like
Version 1.1
Naschan
24 July 2006
Finally a nice, easy to configure and use program of this type. I've played with sofacontrol and remotebuddy and found each had its own issues. Remote Buddy is pretty good and has a couple of additional features but I like the launcher and general setup much better with mira. Aside from general functionality, the other thing that is nice is that developers put a good amount of effort in the built-in help. Very thorough and complete. I'm not a big fan of reading manuals, but it's comforting to know that if I run into a problem, the answer is close at hand. I read the other reviews but didn't encounter any of those issues. Seems to work pretty flawlessly for me. My only complaint is that the trial version is limited to 3 items. It would be nice to try out more items before deciding to purchase. $16 is a bit more than the competition, but I find it to be a better product that the others, so I think it's worth it.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
24 July 2006
We've seen a few other people asking for a more open trial version, so that's something we will definitely address - likely before extending the feature set we had planned for the next release. The entry here at MacUpdate will be updated when the new version is out.
Like
Version 1.1
Poweruser
24 July 2006
In short: 1) it does not work. If I press the menu button, nothing happens. 2) the configuration dialog is a usability nightmare. the user interface looks polished in the screenshots but is a hell to use. 3) it rendered my apple remote unusable until I manually ended its background process mirarcd with activity monitor. 4) I got to work it once and could only select front row - which then did not work. 5) although advertised on the website, i see no way to use applescript anywhere. 6) it needs an installer and is hard to uninstall - why?! 7) finally, it's the most expensive piece of software for the apple remote I've seen so far. And the only one that does NOT WORK AT ALL. Also, I'm bombed with "register now" reminders. The limitation to three menu entries leads to that it can't really be tried out. VERY frustrating .. Alternatives that work: If you want a working solution for your apple remote control try Remote buddy (most powerful, www.iospirit.com) or sofa control (applescript only, but works most of the time, www.caseapps.com).
Like
Version 1.1
5 answer(s)
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
24 July 2006
1. With a few thousand downloads, be assured mira most definitely works 2. Usability and interface design have been the central focus of the positive feedback we've received. 3. mira, like anything else that uses the Apple Remote, must take control of the remote to work. Unlike the other solutions, mira provides a way to disable itself and return control to the system: just pick "Disable mira" from the State Menu in the top left of the interface. 4. Front Row is the only default item included in the Launch Menu - that's because that menu is for your own favorite programs - put whatever you want in there (including AppleScripts) 5. Anywhere you can pick to OPEN any type of program you can also select an AppleScript - it is mentioned all over the Help (just type "applescript" into the mira fully indexed andvery robust help book) 6. System Preference Panes need installers if they're to get put in the correct place. Many people don't know how to drag-install system-type files, and double-clicking could lead to installing to the User domain which means it would not be accessible by others on the system. It's a clean install using a standard Mac OS Package. Uninstall is as simple as selecting "Uninstall" from the State Menu. You could also just delete the mira.prefpane 7. The program is priced aggressively according to the benefits and features it offers. Any "Reminder" dialog only appears after 7 days or if a user has been manipulating the preference files/registration data by hand (to circumvent limits, etc.) With 3 items active at one time you can still try anything you want out. Just switch something else on and then try it, including creating new profiles in seconds. Speaking of alternatives... I'm not one to point fingers, but why is this your absolute FIRST posting and from a FREE email address in Germany on top of that? I'll let everyone else draw their own conclusions, but I think we're dealing with comment FUD/SPAM here.
Like
Version 1.1
Poweruser
Poweruser
24 July 2006
1) I don't think download counts say anything about anything working. After all you can only see if something works after you have already downloaded it. 2) Sorry, but for me it is not. Putting all the options in a popup menu with submenus is not userfriendly - at least to me. There is too much information in too little space for me - sorry. But then this may be personal preference. 3) Yes, I did that. I pressed the menu key on the remote right after and: nothing happened. 4) Again: yes. I selected that, Front Row popped up and no matter what key i press on my remote: nothing happens. And when I try to quit Front Row with the menu key, the mira menu flashes up shortly, but i can't quit Front Row that way. 5) Ah. A misunderstanding then. I was looking for an inbuilt editor like in the other products. May give this is try then. 6) I still would prefer a double-click solution for - as it is right now - it looks like a black box to me that I feel uncomfortable with. But that's just my feeling. 7) I wouldn't expect you to say anything else. Sad to see you can only react to critisism and observations with this kind of retoric. If valid points are FUD and SPAM for you ... ah well. And I've not tried to manipulate anything in your app. That reminder sheet turned up I believe when adding the 4th entry to the launcher list menu. But I'm not sure. I was pretty upset alredy when this added to it. Having said that, your time would be better spent on actually improving on the points I have mentioned than to try to personally attack me for sharing my experience with your product on a site that is built to do just that. But of course you can just as well spend it on sniffing in my profile and complain that I use freemail because I don't see any use in a domain of my own ... *sigh* ...
Like
Version 1.1
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
24 July 2006
We provide a number of contact email addresses and a vast amount of information in a clear and organized help book and online FAQ specifically to assist anyone/everyone with the product. The only reason I saw the MacUpdate comment was because mira was a fresh addition to this site. If you are truly interested in evaluating the product and concerned that I should be spending time fixing issues, then please write to our support address and we can get to the bottom of all your problems. I apologise if you were offended by my observations regarding the intentions of your post, but you sure can see how one might come to that conclusion. I would not expect my customers to go to the product pages of other competing software to advertise my site. Twisted Melon employes a number of people at this time, so while I take a few seconds to write this response, new features are being added and existing features are being revised. Drop us an email so we can find out what's wrong on your install. Bruno
Like
Version 1.1
Poweruser
Poweruser
24 July 2006
I have often found the comments on MU to be very helpful and in fact they have solved most of my problems in the past. And after all, you never know whether you get a response to emails (you don't most of the time). So it is not uncommon to post about problems with software here and its not uncommon to get a response here. And, from my perspective, it is also ok to point to other software that solves the same problem. That's not uncommon here either, btw. I haven't bought any of the others, yet, btw, only tried them out.
Like
Version 1.1
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
24 July 2006
Excellent, so then I can expect an email from you giving us the opportunity to figure out what's behind the issues you've had and how to get mira working as-designed on your system.
Like
Version 1.1
Themacbookman
23 July 2006
nice app/utility. now i have a use for my apple remote. although, i have found some encounted some problems. i find that when i press menu, to get into the launch menu items. mira thinks i have pressed menu twice, so it almost comes up, but then doesnt. i realised this when i was in the systems prefs, and i was looking at the remote shown. it shows what buttons you are pressing, and when i press menu, it shows that i have pressed it twice. also, i can no longer get into my sound prefs, system prefs stop responding. im now going to restart, and see if it fixes any problems. the app is a great idea though, and i think with a few minor problems corrected it will be flawless, and definately worth buying.
Like
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
23 July 2006
After restarting you can check a few things to help get to the bottom of the double-menu press. The first is to set mira to DISABLE using the pop-up menu on the top left of its interface (the State Menu) - it takes up to 10 seconds for mira to disabe itself completely. Now try the menu button again - though I'm not sure if you will see the problem because Front Row takes quite a long time to come up. My best guess as to the source of the problem however is a weak battery. Onc e the battery on the remote becomes drained, its transmissions get a little confusing for the Apple receiver. I've already seen with a weak battery that the Down button or Up button can be recognized as the menu button.
Like
Version 1.1
Themacbookman
Themacbookman
24 July 2006
thanks for your help, but it didn't seem to fix anything. and it also cant be the battery, because it works fine, with mira disabled, and its brand new i have uploaded a video to show you whats goin on. sorry for the bad quality, but what is basically is happening, is that once I press the any button, mira thinks that i have pressed the menu button aswell, resulting in glitching. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqxxMDfggzU anyway, i appricate you taking the time to help me out.
Like
Version 1.1
Twistedmelon
Twistedmelon
24 July 2006
I know it seems that it can't be the battery. But if you would, please humor me and try a new fresh battery. One other customer has already replaced the battery in his remote twice (once before buying mira and once since). He also didn't think it was the battery and also didn't notice the problem without mira enabled. When the battery is low the Apple receiver driver sends low battery warnings - it's possible mira is picking these up as spurious presses. We will be looking into this during the following days - we're in the process of draining a couple of batteries now.
Like
Version 1.1
Themacbookman
Themacbookman
25 July 2006
i just took out the battery, gave it a little rub, and popped it back in...and wait for it.. it works!! no more glitching for me. there must have been something on the battery that was disrupting the connection. thanks for your help. im happy now :)
Like
Version 1.1