Back to ON1 Resize page
ON1 Resize free download for Mac

ON1 Resize Reviews

19 November 2020

The standard for image resizing (was Perfect Resize).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Macfoto
Macfoto
Aug 26 2021
15.0.1
0.0
Aug 26 2021
0.0
Version: 15.0.1
It does not work! Slow, big - and then all into a VMWare container! No, thanks!
Flavum
Flavum
Sep 20 2017
11.6.3853
0.0
Sep 20 2017
0.0
Version: 11.6.3853
"ON1 Resize 2017 is the industry standard for photo enlargements". That's a bold statement. Care to back it up with a link?
Kingsgraphic
Kingsgraphic
Oct 19 2011
7.0.2
1.0
Oct 19 2011
1.0
Version: 7.0.2
I just felt I ought to put in my five-penceworth about both Perfect Resize and Genuine Fractals, both of which I use(d) but have now abandoned. After using Genuine Fractals for maybe two years I tried PR. It was the horrendous processing time-lag, of the order of 10-minutes, and over 30-min in some cases, that led to belive that Onone was 'taking the P'. Tests with PS CS5 built-in resizing concluded, to me at least, that there's little discernable difference in visual appearance between PS and/or Perfect Resize & Genuine Fractals, apart from some smoke, mirrors, and fancy a GUI....
Panthera
Panthera
Feb 28 2011
6.0.7
1.0
Feb 28 2011
1.0
Version: 6.0.7
Today, for the second time, Genuine Fractals asked to be re-activated. When I entered the code obtained at purchase, it returned a -23 error indicating (once you consult their website), that I exceeded the number of allowed activations. Since I had ALREADY activated the software on my computer, I'm not surprised. This copy protection scheme of theirs is annoying and irksome to the extreme and I highly recommend that anyone seeking a rescaling program CONSIDER SOMETHING ELSE.
Cameraguy5
Cameraguy5
Jul 29 2009
6.0.2
0.0
Jul 29 2009
0.0
Version: 6.0.2
I agree with Mac Mail. I've compared both Genuine Fractals and PhotoZoom and PhotoZoom is fare superior to Genuine Fractals on all levels. I have owned both, and now only use PhotoZoom.
Mac-Mail
Mac-Mail
Dec 6 2008
6.0
0.0
Dec 6 2008
0.0
Version: 6.0
I'm not putting any software down. Just comparing only. Tested with all (most popular ones) the latest versions of image enlarging software (plugins or stand alone). As of now the results in quality wise when the same file is enlarged to the same size and the rating from my tests are: #1 PhotoZoom 2.3.4 #2 Practals 5 or 6 #3 SizeFixer SLR #4 BlowUp 1.0.2 #5 Photoshop Cs2 or Cs3 I do not care which is better. I only care which one I get the best end products. That's my 2 cents!
Macericg
Macericg
Jul 17 2007
5.0
0.0
Jul 17 2007
0.0
Version: 5.0
Anyone know how this compares to Alien Skin's Blow Up?
surloff
surloff
Jun 2 2007
5.0
5.0
Jun 2 2007
5.0
Version: 5.0
I've always considered GF a joke. It never did what it claimed in any useful way. With version 5 all this has changed. It now does exactly what it claims, albeit slow on my G5. GF does a remarkable job of enlarging images to very large sizes with fantastic quality. A real breakthrough!
Gregsgraphics
Gregsgraphics
Sep 22 2006
4.1
3.5
Sep 22 2006
3.5
Version: 4.1
I have used the demo of this and honestly, I don't see a dramatic enough difference to warrant buying it. I've seen early reviews of it at version 2.X where you had to save the file in .STN format in order to get the results. Now, you don't have to apparently. The results I'm getting are hardly noticeable from what PhotoShop was doing (I was resizing 96dpi images 600%!). Does anyone know if I'm missing anything?