Back to Lab Tick page
Lab Tick free download for Mac

Lab Tick Reviews

0.9.4
11 September 2009

Gives total control of laptop backlit keyboard.

Moocan
29 June 2010

Most helpful

Does not work anymore for me on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.8 with last security Update. When active Lab Tick give me a strange Apple Menu which one come back normal when existing Lab Tick.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.4

Read 18 Lab Tick User Reviews

Rate this app:

artie505
30 April 2013
April 2010 15" MacBook Pro/2.66GHz/Core i7/4Gb RAM/OS X 10.6.8 (Build 10K549) Backlight and SysPrefs were playing in two different ballparks...it wouldn't stay lit no matter what I did, but Lab Tick solved my problem. (Dev seems to have stopped looking at/updating his Website, which still includes a link to VERSIONTRACKER...that re-directs to Sweet Midi Player X, and a blog that hasn't been written to since Apr. 2011; I wonder whether this app is still in development?)
Like
Version 0.9.4
RogerKatz
17 November 2012
It solves an annoying problem of not having enought keyboard backlight control
Like
Version 0.9.4
An-onymous
30 November 2011
LT 0.9.4 has been working well on my Powerbook duocore with all versions of Snow Leopard from 10.6.3. Does it also work on Lion, where the same annoying problem of the keyboard lighting is still met ?
Like
Version 0.9.4
David-Clark
10 February 2011
DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS APP. This app does resolve rather nicely a short coming of mac OS and it even functions quite nicely so I was very happy with it. Then I turned off my brand new macbook pro and I realised my error. Shutdown time went from almost instant to around 10s and start up when from ~20s to over a minute!! You may say its hardly the end of the world but since this app replaces a small inconvenience with a larger one it is NOT WORTH IT. Feel free to take a chance yourself, it may not affect you but since the problems remained after I removed the app, and googled it to death be careful. I even emailed the creator (a week ago) to allow him/her the opportunity to assist me before writing this review but I have had no response. Please help me fix the damage your app has done to my wonderful computer and I will gladly update the review.
Like
Version 0.9.4
Everyones-uh-critic
30 September 2010
I've googled this issue like crazy but haven't found a true fix for it yet. Maybe someone can help me. I'm on Snow Leopard 10.6.4 The backlight of my Macbook keyboard flickers BAD after about 10-20 seconds of this application running. It's really apparent in the dark. The backlight level goes from totally off to full brightness repeatedly until I quit the app. Other times the backlight flicker is fairly severe and annoying but not overly drastic from completely off to full brightness. I tried reinstalling the app once or twice to see if that would resolve the problem because I LOVED THE APP SO MUCH, but that didn't help. I've spent lots of time searching for another app that will do the same thing but haven't found anything. Maybe I should've spent that time emailing the developer. Hmmm. Any suggestions to stop this crazy flickering? And yes, I've messed with the sliders and settings of the app. It didn't help at all.
Like
Version 0.9.4
Moocan
29 June 2010
Does not work anymore for me on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.8 with last security Update. When active Lab Tick give me a strange Apple Menu which one come back normal when existing Lab Tick.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.4
Yellowbuzzes
20 June 2009
This program has been wonderful for a 70 year old Mac enthusiast with a 17" MacBook Pro and has trouble seeing the keys; the author should get an award from the visually-impaired folks!
Like
Version 0.9.2
Paladino
20 January 2009
V.0.9.2 works beautifully on my 17"MBP Core2 Duo w/OS 10.5.4, whereas in v.0.9.1 keyboard illumination would intermittently flicker and cut out. Far superior(more stable, more reliable) to MBP's own keyboard light sensing system which sucks,IMHO. A definitely big improvement over Apple's system.
Like
Version 0.9.2
Xypher
07 January 2009
Why does this disable the functionality of my MBP keyboard backlight? When I press F10 I see a cross sign going through it no matter what I do. Fiddling with the app doesn't help. Seems the old version was better.
Like
Version 0.9.2
asmeurer-2
07 November 2008
I'm not sure if this app can do what I want it to do. I would like to keep the automatic enabling and disabling of the backlight, but I want to raise the minimum threshold of ambient light required to turn it on. The way it is now, I cant see the keys very well on my early 2008 MBP because the letters are so similar in color to the keys themselves. I would like for the back light to come on in lighter situations than it currently does. If this program cannot actually do this, could you add it as a feature?
Like
Version 0.9.1
B0ws3r
14 August 2008
This is buggy when set to turn the backlighting off in low light conditions. I have told it to over ride the built in settings for keyboard backlighting, but even so, the backlighting on my keyboard strobes on and off when I tell lab tick to turn off the backlighting in low light conditions. Only having it set to be on or quitting the app stops it from happening. A nice idea, but it doesn't work the way it is supposed to. MacBook Pro 15" 2.2/4GB/120, LED backlit screen.
Like
Version 0.8.4
And this little app uses up an excess of processor cycles why?
Like
Version 0.8.3
Dajnj
10 November 2007
Great app. The developer will probably make a better one, but here is a menu icon that looks better on the semitransparent Leopard (10.5) menu: http://www.seinan-gu.ac.jp/~djohnson/LabTickRegularStatusBarImage To replace the menu icon, go to the Lab Tick application and control click it and choose "show package contents." Then drop the icon in Contents/Resources replacing the one there. Quit and restart Lab Tick.
Like
Version 0.6.3
Siliconaddict
23 September 2007
Has this app become abandonware? I can't believe that I'm the only person with this issue.
Like
Version 0.6.3
Siliconaddict
25 July 2007
Problems on my newly reimaged C2D MBP 2.33Ghz @ 10.4.10. The backlight just turns off after a few seconds. When I select labtick from the menubar it turns back on without needing to touch the slider (FYI the slider is at 100%.)
Like
Version 0.6.3
1 answer(s)
Alexander-Repty
Alexander-Repty
20 November 2007
Have you checked the box labeled "Prevent Mac OS X from automatically adjusting the illumination" in Lab Tick's preferences? That should fix it, if it doesn't get back to me. Cheers, Alex
Like
Version 0.6.4
Wanderer
03 September 2006
Does not work on 10.4.7 Chucked it.
Like
Version 0.6.2
7 answer(s)
Alexander-Repty
Alexander-Repty
04 September 2006
Hello, what kind of Mac have you tried using this on, and could you elaborate on "does not work"? Does it not start? Does it not set the keyboard brightness? Does it crash? Cheers, Alexander
Like
Version 0.6.2
Wanderer
Wanderer
04 September 2006
G4 PowerBook 17" OS X 10.4.7 Does not crash but does not do anything either.
Like
Version 0.6.2
Alexander-Repty
Alexander-Repty
05 September 2006
Thanks for the update. Does the backlit keyboard work by itself, if you let Mac OS X handle it? Did you try Lab Tick in bright daylight or in a darker environment? Some people have reported that the backlit keyboard might not be visible well even at full brightness if the ambient light is too bright. Try running Lab Tick, crank up the illumination to the highest level and hold your hand over your keyboard to see if it is lit. Cheers, Alexander
Like (1)
Version 0.6.2
Clondon
Clondon
14 February 2007
I am also having this problem. My backlight works fine, except for the fact that it will unpredictably go off and then come back on again as I type, in an annoying manner. I found LabTick and hoped it would solve my problem. I run 10.4.7, and the app will not launch.
Like
Version 0.6.3
Clondon
Clondon
14 February 2007
Also, I am running a MacBook Pro
Like
Version 0.6.3
Alexander-Repty
Alexander-Repty
14 February 2007
Have you checked the menu bar on top of the screen? The Lab Tick icon should appear there. Cheers, Alex
Like (1)
Version 0.6.3
Clondon
Clondon
14 February 2007
Got it! Works well now. Even when the little "stop" sign shows when I try to use the dimmer buttons (F9 & F10) I can adjust the brightness of the backlight. You're a savior!
Like
Version 0.6.3
Siliconaddict
09 August 2006
Slick app. One request though. How about an easier way to turn it on and off. A slider with an on off radio button would be slick. Even slicer would be a menubar icon. *shrugs* Just a thought.
Like
Version 0.4
2 answer(s)
Alexander-Repty
Alexander-Repty
15 August 2006
I have got something in the pipe, but you will have to be a little patient :-) Sneak preview: http://blog.proculo.de/archives/97-Lab-Tick-evolves.html Cheers, Alex
Like
Version 0.4
Alexander-Repty
Alexander-Repty
04 September 2006
In version 0.6, I have made Lab Tick a menubar application. Cheers, Alex
Like
Version 0.6.2
Ean
07 July 2006
A great idea. Wish it could be "sticky" between restarts or a startup item that would launch, set the key lights to some predetermined level, then quit. Still, it's so handy, I'll be using it as is.
Like
Version 0.2
2 answer(s)
Alexander-Repty
Alexander-Repty
20 July 2006
Your wish has been granted. While Lab Tick still retains its GUI and dock icon, in version 0.3.2 you can add it to your startup items and it will set a predetermined brightness level on launch.
Like
Version 0.3.2
Bibahnet
Bibahnet
31 July 2006
Excelent, works in my MacBook Pro
Like
Version 0.4