Back to Mail Unread Menu page
Mail Unread Menu free download for Mac

Mail Unread Menu Reviews

3.4.6
16 November 2013

Displays a tally of unread emails in your menu bar.

bruce-kinley
03 September 2009

Most helpful

Still crashes in Snow Leopard when in use with Google Notifier. Even in Leopard I could never get this app to work without crashing. Nice idea, but crashes too much for me to bother with.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.1

Read 84 Mail Unread Menu User Reviews

Rate this app:

Winco
16 August 2019
It is free and it is a must have for Apple Mail in my opinion. Still works with High Sierra and Mail 11.5. You do need to download the free app, MailPluginFix, and use this to fix this plugin to then work.
Like
Version 3.4.6
vun
02 May 2018
Mail 3.0 marks Mail Unread Menu as incompatible. It works, but Mail bundle installation is required every time Mail is relaunched. With Magnesium-app's Mail Satellite there's no such problem ($10).
Like
Version 3.4.6
Winco
08 March 2017
It is free and it is a must have for Apple Mail. Still works with El Capitan and Mail 9.3. You do need to download the free app, MailPluginFix, and use this to fix this plugin to then work.
Like
Version 3.4.6
larrymcj
21 January 2016
Does anyone know if this app works in El Capitan?
Like
Version 3.4.6
2 answer(s)
Worldwide-Hideout
Worldwide-Hideout
15 June 2016
Still works, but you have to run MailPluginFix. I like this much more than Dockstar.
Like (1)
oldsystem
oldsystem
29 July 2016
This just seems to work for me on 10.11.6 without any MailPluginFix mentioned here.
Like
zo219
25 March 2015
This best-of-class works in Yosemite by moving it back into ~/Library/Mail/Bundles folder if you get a warning that it has been disabled.. And MailPluginFix can be a help.
Like
Version 3.4.6
3 answer(s)
vinjah
vinjah
30 March 2015
MailPluginFix is great and kept this util functional, but I'm finding in 10.10.2, MUM is using 17.5% CPU on my late 2013 MBP 15". I do agree that it's best-in-class, but it just doesn't make sense to use this unless I'm plugged in.
Like
Kenm75232
Kenm75232
14 April 2015
For those of us who are complete idiots. What exactly do I need to do to be able to use the application? I really love it and would like it to work again. I downloaded MailPluginFix (which looks like I have a lot of disabled ones out there) but am not sure what to do with it. Thanks!
Like
zo219
zo219
14 April 2015
MailPluginFix is just little app. Put it in Applications or Utilities folder and double click to run.

Am not seeing MUM running at high CPU, not at all. Maybe trash it with AppCleaner or similar, which finds all related files to trash ... when I do that, I just pick the app out of the trash (oops, which I find with any "invisible" app and drag to sidebar, Apple thinks we are idiots) ... or download a fresh copy. Preferences files get corrupted ...
Like
jpl373
18 March 2015
Complete stopped development ages ago.
Like
Version 3.4.6
jpl373
18 March 2015
Complete stopped development ages ago.
Like
Version 3.4.6
Worldwide-Hideout
27 August 2014
I have relied on this app for years and was bummed when it stopped working (thank you Apple). Scottlep's fix is working perfectly (so far) for me running 10.9.4 and Mail 7.3 Thanks. "...Download https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/37804/mailpluginfix which will fix the UUID of the app and let it work with Apple Mail 7.2. You will need to reload the Mail Unread Menu bundle, then run the mailpluginfix app to update the UUID for the MUM app for Mail 7.2. You will probably have to do the same if Apple updates to 7.3 anytime in the future."
Like
Version 3.4.6
larrymcj
18 May 2014
Unfortunately, this won't work with Mail 7.3 in the latest update to Mavericks.
Like
Version 3.4.6
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
29 July 2014
Hmm, no problems here, running Mavericks 10.9.4. Maybe there's something funny going on at your end. I suggest you contact the dev with a log report.
Like
dalesorel
05 March 2014
So I have an older iMac, running 10.9.2, and this is what I get when I try to install this goodie: Mail has disabled the following plug-ins: MailUnreadMenu Contact the makers of these plug-ins for versions that are compatible with Mail 7.2 and Message 7.2 So, I don't know, me thinks this app needs to be updated.
Like
Version 3.4.6
4 answer(s)
Goldyn-Chyld
Goldyn-Chyld
12 April 2014
Same here...
Like
dalesorel
dalesorel
14 April 2014
I have Mail Unread Menu version 3.4.6 running on OS X Version 10.9.2, and this is what it says when I first try to use it: Mail Unread Menu requires a mail bundle to be installed, so that your unread count will be automatically updated whenever necessary. This involves installing the file at ~/Library/Mail/Bundles/MailUnreadMenu.mailbundle. This only needs to be done once. Installing the bundle requires Mail to be closed. Would you like to install now? So I click OK, my Mail.app never close, yet then it days this: The Mail Unread Menu bundle has been successfully installed. Enjoy! I then click OK, then I get another window that says: Mail has disabled the following plug-ins: MailUnreadMenu Contact the makers of these plug-ins for versions that are compatible with Mail 7.2 and Message 7.2. I then click OK again, yet Mail Unread Menu stayed in my menubar. Is there something I need to change in the preferences to make this stupid thing work without all the stupid pop-up windows?
Like
dalesorel
dalesorel
14 April 2014
I just sent an email to Logan Rockmore with all of the last post I just made on MacUpdate.
Like
Scottlep
Scottlep
15 April 2014
I love this app and it is a shame it hasn't been updated. The app if free, so no hard feelings toward the developer for not releasing an update. It actually makes me mad when I see people badmouth these devs when they don't providing an update. Anyway, here is a temporary fix. Download https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/37804/mailpluginfix which will fix the UUID of the app and let it work with Apple Mail 7.2. You will need to reload the Mail Unread Menu bundle, then run the mailpluginfix app to update the UUID for the MUM app for Mail 7.2. You will probably have to do the same if Apple updates to 7.3 anytime in the future.
Like (2)
zo219
20 November 2013
Sometimes the update is a little late, but it always comes, and I couldn't stand Mail without this app, it does so much more than alert. Thanks for a great product, for years now!
Like
Version 3.4.6
5 answer(s)
sc123456
sc123456
17 December 2013
Looks like another update is needed for 10.9.1 (although indeed, it works fine after you install it each time you open Mail).
Like (1)
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
24 January 2014
Well, I've waited long enough and so gave 'Mail Menu' a go and it works well!
Like
ben2z
ben2z
25 January 2014
lazy develloper...
Like
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
25 January 2014
I don't want to say he's lazy but being somewhat anally retentive, my desktop is completely free of icons, just a pretty picture, and so, an app like Mail Unread keeps things up in the menu bar and even then I use Bartender to keep things clean. Wish my actual desk was just as clean and tidy!
Like
JacintJ8961
JacintJ8961
18 February 2014
if the update is late, you can use MailPluginFix to make the old one work...
Like (2)
Dana-Sutton
17 November 2013
Apple's Mail is a rare if not unique e-mail client in that it doesn't have a badged menu icon, which (at least for those users who prefer to keep the Dock hidden when not in use) is indispensible. This utility makes good the lack.And note this: if you use a "broken version" after an upgrade it will insert a plugin and tell you the installation was successful. Then Mail will put up a window saying that it has rejected an incompatible pplugin. Then the icon will appear in the menubar and work just fine anyway.
Like
Version 3.4.6
Jazzyguy
17 November 2013
Works Great just as described. It is an indispensable tool to have in the menu bar. I installed it as a startup item.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.6
Strykerace
12 November 2013
An indispensable App! Having rules that move mail into a various folders this App allows a quick view of what mail has arrived. The VIP list only goes so far.
Like
Version 3.4.5
RapidZack
11 November 2013
Since the latest software update of Mail.app it has been disabled by the OS. TOO BAD :(
Like
Version 3.4.5
dalesorel
08 November 2013
Here's another vote for getting this wonderful app updated to work with Mail 7.0!
Like
Version 3.4.5
6 answer(s)
blillingw
blillingw
10 November 2013
works fine with mail 7.0 running mavericks
Like
dalesorel
dalesorel
12 November 2013
So this is what it says for Mail 7.0 on my Intel iMac: "Mail Unread Menu requires a mail bundle to be installed, so that your unread count will be automatically updated whenever necessary. This involves installing the file at ~/Library/Mail/Bundles/MailUnreadMenu.mailbundle. This only needs to be done once. Installing the bundle requires Mail to be closed." I've installed the mail bundle several times and it still doesn't work/ So we definitely need an update.
Like
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
15 November 2013
Same here Dale. Each time MUR launches I have to install the bundle and then MUR is disabled as being incompatible with Mail 7.
Like
blillingw
blillingw
15 November 2013
Not sure if this will help but the ~/Library/Mail/Bundles folder on my computer is empty (0 items and no hidden files either). I'm running OS 10.9 and Mail 7.0 and MUM 3.4.5 (416). MUM is working just fine.
Like
dalesorel
dalesorel
16 November 2013
I checked, and my ~Library/Mail/Bundles folder is also completely empty. I saw that it said Mail had to be quit before the installation, so I made sure that was the case. So it then puts the MailUnreadMenu.mailbundle in place, then when I open Mail I get this: Incompatible Plug-ins Disabled, Mail has disabled the following plug-ins: MailUnreadMenu Contact the makers of these plug-ins for versions that are compatible with Mail 7.0 and Message 7.0. So me thinks we need an update to make this work with Mail 7.0.
Like
Mikeaugustleo
Mikeaugustleo
16 November 2013
Yay! New version released and seems to be working fine now. Thank you!
Like
Sam-Bienstock
08 November 2013
I SO love this app I just hope that there will be an update for Mail 7.0!! Thanks in anticipation!!! This is one app that I could not live without. Cheers!!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.5
Andrew8042
08 November 2013
Not compatible with mail 7.0 (~_~)
Like
Version 3.4.5
Neutralzone
24 October 2013
Thank you for getting the latest version of Mail Unread Menu out the same day as Mavericks!
Like
Version 3.4.5
Fking
23 October 2013
essential app! i love using this (as i hide away my dock). chose a custom icon, and...simple. plus being able to click on that icon and jump to mail is logical, intuitive. glad to see this working in mavericks! am back in business...
Like
Version 3.4.5
Christa-1980
16 September 2013
I just hate the notification feature in OS X 10.8 but that is another story. Mail Unread Menu is a way better imo !! Great stuff
Like
Version 3.4.4
sbchavel
08 November 2012
MUM 3.4.2 works with 10.7, but it disables Mail's contextual menu item "Move To ". With MUM installed Mail ceases following your last Move To and offering a one-step repeat.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2
sbchavel
08 November 2012
MUM 3.4.2 does now work with Lion. But it also conflicts with one of Mail's features, a contextual menu item that allows you to repeat a "Move To folder." With MUM installed this Mail ceases following your last Move To and offering a one-step repeat.
Like
Version 3.4.2
Kobalt
27 July 2012
This little app has been part of my menu bar for a long time and I happily give it a full 5 stars. I'm puzzled why the dev has chosen to *disable* functionality under Snow Leopard, though. There doesn't appear to be any particular reason for it.
Like
Version 3.4.1
1 answer(s)
sbchavel
sbchavel
12 September 2012
What's been disabled for you? Mine works the same as always.
Like
delenca
12 April 2012
Surprised that Apple doesn't offer this option already (who can see the dock anyway?!?). Thanks so much for the developer. Very well implemented app - quite some number of options too! Kudos, -Alex
Like (1)
Version 3.3.3
sc123456
09 February 2012
Same issue as vinjah below. I had to get rid of 3.2.9 after I updated to 10.7.3, and no I can no longer use it because the of the 100% CPU usage. I tried emailing the developer but got no response. Maybe if more people contact him he will fix the issue.
Like
Version 3.3.2
4 answer(s)
jpwat81
jpwat81
09 February 2012
I've been able to avoid the hang-up by NOT changing the count from "All Mailboxes" to "Inbox" in the plug-in's preferences. You'll need to delete the plist first. It sort of renders the plug-in useless, but still works to display an icon with new unread mail.
Like
sc123456
sc123456
09 February 2012
Wow, that suggestion worked. Thanks a lot for that! And it's not so bad, since you can at least put in mailboxes to exclude.
Like
jpwat81
jpwat81
09 February 2012
Thanks sc123... I totally overlooked the "mailboxes to exclude"... Now I can use the count again!
Like
Logan Rockmore Design
Logan Rockmore Design
21 February 2012
I'm sorry, I wasn't aware of these MacUpdate comment threads and I apologize for the issues you guys have been having. I've just released Mail Unread Menu version 3.3.3, which finally fixes the issue of Mail hanging when using the "Inbox" setting. You should be able to use that setting again. If you're still encountering problems, please email me at dev@loganrockmore.com . Thanks!
Like (1)
Sherman-Wilcox
02 February 2012
First Mail bundle to update for 10.7.3 -- good job developer!
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
1 answer(s)
Fking
Fking
02 February 2012
love this app, and the developer is ALWAYS on top on OS updates...
Like (1)
Tenthumbs
30 December 2011
I'm amazed Apple doens't provide this feature, thankfully there's Mail Unread Menu. As most experienced mac users have their dock hidden, the most obvious way to see if new mail has arrived is by unhiding the dock (by mousing or shortcut) to see if there's any red badges on the Mail icon. This can be fairly disruptive for people like me compared to just a quick glance at the menubar. This plugin also has an edge over the dock icon by allowing you to display a badge only for the mailboxes you need to keep an eye on. That's a feature Apple would be unlikely to implement, so i hope they never create a menubar icon for mail at all, as the 3'd party product they end up killing is often superior in terms of functionality (eg. Desktop Manager). Lots of apps put some stuff in the menubar, but very few is as useful as this one, and the price is unbeatable (but donate if you want to show your appreciation). I've been using this plugin for years, and it hasn't given me any problems so far. A nobrainer install in my humble opinion, and a solid 5 across the board.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Arctos
03 November 2011
I love this program. However, be warned that if you have NOT upgraded to Lion, then this update is not for you. Your mail WILL crash and not open at all. Go to the developer's website to download the older version. No more updates, but, still works great. Be sure to donate! Nothing in life is really free....
Like
Version 3.3.1
rayj
25 October 2011
I've been using this excellent little program for some years: it's unobtrusive but tells me about new mail at a glance. Logan is a very responsive developer. I told him of my experience with the flickering icon (not just the MUM icon but everything to the left of it in the menubar): he responded within minutes and had the problem fixed in a few days.
Like
Version 3.3
vinjah
24 October 2011
3.3 seems to peg Mail's CPU usage at 100% giving me a beach ball with occasional access to the GUI (Mail's GUI). That's on my 2011 i7 MBP running 10.7.2. I had the flickering issue in the previous version (3.2.x?), but didn't have the current issue. Anybody else having such a problem? Reinstalled and rebooted a couple times for good measure, problem persists.
Like
Version 3.3
6 answer(s)
vinjah
vinjah
26 October 2011
Interesting, a colleague of mine using a 1-2 year old MBP 15" who just updated to 10.7 (10.7.2) is having the same problem-- where Mail becomes responsive with MUM 3.3. Could it be something about our network?
Like
neil-14
neil-14
26 October 2011
Yes, I am having the same problem. I removed Mail Unread 3.3 and reverted to 3.2.9(319) which works fine. MacPro 10.7.2
Like
vinjah
vinjah
03 November 2011
Unfortunately, 3.3.1 still has the same problem. It pins CPU use at 100% and doesn't show in the menu bar. Oh boy do I miss it (though 3.2.9 still works fine on Lion-- flickering and all).
Like
jpwat81
jpwat81
15 November 2011
I experienced the same issues with 3.3.1 in OSX Lion (10.7.2). Rolling back to 3.2.9 also worked for me. Got to the MailUnreadMenu homepage and copy/paste: "/MailUnreadMenu_3.2.9.zip" to the end of the URL to download 3.2.9. Bam!
Like
vinjah
vinjah
07 February 2012
10.7.3 disables MUM 3.2.9, however updating to 3.3.2 gives me the same behavior as earlier versions of 3.3, namely it spikes one of my cores to 100% usage and makes Mail unusably unresponsive. Quitting MUM makes Mail act normal. Sadness again.
Like
sc123456
sc123456
09 February 2012
Same problem as vinjah with 10.7.3 and 3.3.2 update. Emailed the developer, no response.
Like
Fking
24 October 2011
a year later (since my earlier review), and, on lion 10.7.2... still love this app. as i don't use the dock EVER, it's great to have an icon pop up in the menubar when email comes in. that flickering icon? i actually like that LOL, but will run this update, just to be safe..
Like
Version 3.3
misterjspencer
18 August 2011
I don't really want to change the fact this mail plugin is free but you might consider using the "pintware" model that Turly uses for the excellent finderpop. I used to use another paid for mail menu item, which wqs good but over complicated and expensive. If this item was .99 or even 1.99 I think a lot of people would pay. of course they would then have expectations, but I think the developer lives up to those anyway. This is a great app/utility and now is on all our macs. It works great in Lion and recent updates have made it even better....5 stars
Like (1)
Version 3.2.8
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
24 October 2011
Nothing to stop you from sending Logan a donation. http://loganrockmore.com/MailUnreadMenu/donate/
Like
Drdul
25 July 2011
Fantastic utility when it works, but it disappeared as soon as I restarted my Mac after updating to Safari 5.1. Now there's no icon, even though a Mail Unread Menu process is running. I wrote to the dev but have not received a response. Too bad, because I really liked this.
Like
Version 3.2.7
Theothertim
20 July 2011
Works wonderfully. One of those little apps that makes my life a whole lot better. Thanks!
Like
Version 3.2.7
vinjah
18 March 2011
Been using this fantastic utility for years. Just upgraded to a new MPB (early 2011/Thunderbolt) and can't get it to work (10.6.6, Mail 4.4). Was working just fine on 2007 MBP running same OS/Mail.
Like
Version 3.2.5
2 answer(s)
vinjah
vinjah
25 April 2011
I've since updated to 10.6.7 and MUM 3.2.6. Strangely, it doesn't even show up in the menubar at all. Tried removing all files and reinstalling from scratch, and nothing. Anybody else experiencing so?
Like
zo219
zo219
27 June 2011
It's working in 10.6.8 - which is more than I can say for Mail. But why does this bundle perpetually unbundle itself?
Like
SickTeddyBear
12 November 2010
Version 3.1.1, which works on 10.5/PPC machines: http://www.loganrockmore.com/MailUnreadMenu/MailUnreadMenu_3.1.1.zip One weird thing is that although it's clearly stated to be 10.6 and Intel only, version 3.2.5 identifies as a Universal Intel/PPC binary.
Like
Version 3.2.5
Trane
11 November 2010
Why does this keep asking me every 30 minutes if I want to update to the latest version? "Remind Me Later" shouldn't mean "Keep Nagging Me Like You Need A Timeout". Is there any way to fix this?
Like
Version 3.2.5
Fking
11 November 2010
this is a great app, i've been using it for a long time. especially hiding the dock, it's great to have a visual notice of new email. the developer is great, too; i emailed about today's new OS update (10.6.5), and he put up this update tonite; impressive.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.5
Dave-H-
28 June 2010
*Still* intermittently quits for absolutely no discernible reason whatsoever (Mail 4.3 under 10.6.4). I wash my hands of this utility.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.4
Nancy-Brown
10 March 2010
Download link doesn't work
Like
Version 3.2.3
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
16 June 2010
http://www.macupdate.com/download.php/22042/MailUnreadMenu_3.2.4.zip This link works - it is the one I copied from the top of the page.
Like
Version 3.2.4
Robackja
08 February 2010
Came back to computer after 6 or 7 hours, Mail Unread Menu was spiked at 100% cpu for the last 4 hours. Needs Growl support.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.3
Dave-H-
19 November 2009
Unexpectedly quits at least once a day. Why?
Like (1)
Version 3.2.3
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
23 November 2009
Having the same problem - I am having to restart the app numerous times a day. Not really working for me this way. I have sent Logan, the dev, an email a week ago, but he must be otherwise engaged (not that there's anything wrong with that!) because I've had no reply to date. We'll just have to wait patiently and meanwhile manually check to see if there is new mail. :)
Like
Version 3.2.3
sbchavel
12 November 2009
The "see subject line" option is really really useful and appreciated (if it doesn't slow down Mail). If you have many emails it might be helpful moving MUM commands to the top of the menu. An alternative option to have subject lines pop-up when cursor hovers over a particular mailbox name - RSS style - would be great. Thank you for a great product.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Itistoday
10 November 2009
Thanks for the fast 10.6.2 update! It's greatly appreciated! This is excellent software, it's simply perfect in its utility and unobtrusiveness, and, apparently, the speed with which its developer updates it! :-)
Like
Version 3.2.3
sbchavel
10 November 2009
Incompatible with MailRecent and disables it. Developer, please fix.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Murua
06 October 2009
I love this program and it worked great in Leopard. I like to have my dock hidden and it is good to be able to see the mail count in the task bar. However, now in Snow Leopard it only opens whenever it wants. One way to get it to work is to open it before you open mail, otherwise it is just a roll of the dice. And mine is set to launch and quit when Mail launches and quits. Great in Leopard, not so great in Snow Leopard...
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Flomet
11 September 2009
Installed v3.2.2 for OS10.6.1 and found that it opened the first time then closed by itself about 30 seconds later then would not open again
Like
Version 3.2.2
Verytime
09 September 2009
Am I the only one who can't get 3.2.1 to work in Snow Leopard? I can get Mail Unread Menu to launch, except now it causes Mail to crash, every time. Fixes?
Like
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
11 September 2009
Try the just released v3.2.2 for OS10.6.1.
Like
Version 3.2.2
bruce-kinley
03 September 2009
Still crashes in Snow Leopard when in use with Google Notifier. Even in Leopard I could never get this app to work without crashing. Nice idea, but crashes too much for me to bother with.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.1