Back to djay Pro page
djay Pro free download for Mac

djay Pro Reviews

2.0.16
18 December 2019

Transform your Mac into a full-fledged DJ system (was djay).

Bento de Espinosa
11 December 2019

Most helpful

What can I say, it is just amazing! Very well made and beautiful. I am not a DJ, I use it instead of Music (former iTunes), just to listen to music, but I am pretty sure it has everything a DJ needs.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.15

Read 38 djay Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bento de Espinosa
11 December 2019
What can I say, it is just amazing! Very well made and beautiful. I am not a DJ, I use it instead of Music (former iTunes), just to listen to music, but I am pretty sure it has everything a DJ needs.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.15
LeroyMorrison
30 May 2018
I have used this app before and it's actually a lot of fun. It's pretty easy to pick up and start using too. I just installed it with MacUpdate Desktop, launched it, and then dragged audio files onto the decks and that was it! I was basically a DJ at that point!
Like
Version 2.0.5
ben-stamp
09 February 2015
This crashes a lot on my mbp. Changing tracks uses a huge CPU peak and then hangs and or crashes.
Like
Version 1.0.1
macus
05 April 2014
Excellent
Like
Version 4.2.2
Derekcurrie
14 January 2014
As soon as I registered djay, it attempted to phone home to GOOGLE ANALYTICS ! ! ! NOT acceptable. NOT appreciated. ASK MY PERMISSION FIRST DAMMIT. NO, I do NOT give you permission surveil me. BLOCKED by Little Snitch. Spin that, idiots. Gotta HATE the FORCED user surveillance that stupid developers foist onto their users just to make an extra buck at their expense. Consider this comment my retribution. USERS BEWARE.
Like (7)
Version 4.2.2
2 answer(s)
Essadee
Essadee
06 February 2015
What "extra buck" do you think they're trying to make? Did you even look at the content of the transaction, or is this typical Little Alarmist whining about something that never happened because Little Alarmist intervened?
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
07 February 2015
Total loony response Essadee. What's alarmist about requiring that one's right to privacy be maintained? Or are you a fascist/totalitarian/control freak of some kind? I continue to warn Mac users about abusive situations. It's my karma and I like it! :-D
Like (3)
JD-1
28 February 2013
I use this for making & recording a music set mix, not for performance style dj'ing in clubs etc... I have had no issues like latencies & such with this app and is the best app of this type that I have had, including more expensive types like FutureDeck. it's easy to use & very well designed with the GUI. Also, because I'm doing this for the final result which is for the recording, I find the interface fun & easy to navigate while performing the mix. Another big plus is that the app uses a sound check to make sure the volume for all songs are at the same level,thus helping to eliminate clipping. I also really like the iTunes integration & search features which makes spinning a set on the fly easy while maintaing the flow you get into when performing a live mix. I'm very happy with this app & even more so, really pleased with the quality of the recorded set. Definitely worth $20.00!
Like
Version 4.2
Stef-Vandenabele
02 September 2012
As a profession I have literally tried every little and big DJ app on earth. The one I disliked the most is djay. It is so DJ unfriendly and above all unstable. It has serious problems with audio latencies, pitching is still not accurate and several other little annoyances. "a hyper-realistic turntable interface" .. not ! Tracktor and Itch are still the two best DJ tools. Yes they cost more but do you really want your gig get smashed up because the software you use is unstable? Think not..
Like (2)
Version 4.0.6
1 answer(s)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
28 February 2013
Why didn't you mention what the best one is?
Like (2)
loukash
18 November 2011
djay 4.0 runs on Leopard (Intel only) as well. Download here: http://www.algoriddim.com/djay-mac/download
Like
Version 4.0
JetsSetter
06 November 2011
Review is coming soon… Best Regards Vitaly.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4
Liam-
12 August 2011
More or less a toy dj app but good nevertheless. For pro use, I can highly recommend Traktor Pro
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4
1 answer(s)
Caberlin
Caberlin
08 December 2011
I had Tracktor Pro (3.x) but it never convinced me. Especially the interaction with iTunes lists.For professionals willing to invest some money there are many good programs out there to choose from, not only "Traktor". And for a "toy app", as you say, Djay 4 comes quite handy and works pretty well, i think. For private parties, bars and restaurants Djay 4 might just be the software you were looking for. No steep learning curve, good remote control with an App, convincing sync out of the box: fun guaranteed - and a certain quality (really not bad) also.
Like
Ilovemymac
25 July 2011
The one feature I'm waiting for is the ability to display Visualizers on a second display. (For parties of corse).
Like
Version 3.1.4
Theguide
04 December 2010
Great software ready my iTunes playlists and great features, solid support and never crashes while Im streaming.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Dreamer-uk
24 October 2009
Ok so i fix computers for a living. Djaying is not a hobby and i don't plan on doing it very often, However, I was asked by a family friend to djay a 16th birthday party. after the initial panic had worn off, i looked into ways of looking like i knew what i was doing. After many demos windoze and osx software i came across DJay. After 5 minutes i felt comfortable i could sound good and look professional. I'm writing this while doing my set (get me!) Its alot of money for a couple of uses but what a difference over a basic itunes play list playing out. if your a casual djay then this is a must. I am sure i am not using 10% of what it's capable of but i seem to be a success here. oh and the support rocks!
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
Muck-Raker
05 October 2009
It's always useful to get a grip on your limitations and talents before buying software. I've tried other "high-end" dj apps, and frankly, for my needs, they contain too many bells and whistles to be quickly useful to me. If you are a serious dj, with contracts and a need for a myriad of extras to wow your paying crowds, this may not be the one for you (give it a try first - you can be surprised). But, for we "occasional" platter pushers who have digitized and wish to play full songs and dances with some mixing and a little tweak to sound effects, DJay is the one. Price, stability, and simplicity are too much to resist. Further, they respond quickly to problems, and had version 3 with fixes to problems I was having with the demo before I could get complaints out the door. No complaints here.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
Caberlin
29 September 2009
This new update is love at first sight! - Very cool and smooth effects, very natural sound. I own a couple of software of this kind like DiscoXT Pro (buggy inteface) and MegaSeg (buggy iTunes tags sync) and Traktor (too complicated, if you don't spend all day with it). I use it for private parties, so I need something easy to handle, something reliable and something affordable. And it should be fun to use and not rocket science. I am totally happy with this software now.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
Landi
28 June 2009
Very nice i like this . http://www.landitrance.tk
Like
Version 2.3.1
Mac-Ct
30 December 2008
I just cannot believe people when software starts off as free as it's developed and matures and then costs money (suprise suprise!). Comments like "it was great when it was free but now it costs money so shove it" just don't make any sense to me. As for the HUGE cost of $50 - try taking a look at the other suggested software - cheapest is $80 and the most expensive is a whopping $529!!!! I've been using djay for over a year now. It's given me and my friends a huge amount of pleasure (but annoyed some of the neighbors!) It's constantly being updated. In a nutshell - go and raid your piggy-bank for the $50 kiddies - it's well worth it!!
Like (5)
Version 2.2.2
Sussed
05 November 2008
Professional level mixer? Naa,nothing will replace the tactile feel you get from a full 'turn the knob' set up, but that said this is a great software mixer and a really good program to get your feet wet stringing tunes together. ...So yeah, go make that epic Trance mix you've always wanted and impress your friends!
Like (3)
Version 2.1.3
Jtproductions
28 April 2008
Very easy but it should be free. I use it at every gig.
Like
Version 2.0.2
2 answer(s)
Jangle
Jangle
15 May 2008
Yeah Photoshop should be free. I use it for every image.
Like (4)
Version 2.1
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
06 February 2011
I am thinking about hiring your for a gig, jtproductions, but only if you play for free at every gig...
Like (1)
Shawnd
20 February 2008
Sounds like a good piece of software. Guess I'll try the demo real quick.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Jangle
11 February 2008
I've been using this for a while now and I must say it's an impressive application with many uses. I'm an occasional DJ who doesn't want to pay $400+ for some premium software which puts too many features under a cluttered interface, so I really appreciate the cleanness of djay. Looking at the competition and the impressive list of features I also think it's a fair price.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
Skidogallard
23 January 2008
I sure wish it was still free. I won't be using it again. Does anyone have an earlier version?
Like
Version 2.0
svoop
22 December 2007
Neither my BT nor my USB headset are working. I can choose them as monitor device, but nothing plays when I level up the volume in the cue window. Even if I use USB as master and built-in as monitor, it still plays master to built-in and ignores monitor. Not very useful this way I'm afraid. That's on Leo 10.5.1.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Jangle
Jangle
28 January 2008
Hm, maybe you were playing back DRM-protected songs. This doesn't work says the author. :(
Like
Version 2.0
Hendo
18 November 2007
Wow...$50...this app was really awesome when it was free...not using this anymore
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Minmin7
18 November 2007
amazing, fantasic, wonderful...basically take all the positive adjectives you can think of and they sum up djay perfectly fun, easy to use...great quality for a great price, I highly recommend it!
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Nicolasd
18 November 2007
it's a real shame this program is suddenly $50 when it used to be free. i'll never use it now, nor would i recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
GrahamGrafx
02 October 2007
program can be a tad glitchy, but once you get used to its idiosyncrasies its a great and very easy to learn program. esp for the price!!
Like
Version 1.2
Fried-Chicken
28 May 2007
This program is amazing!!!! It's incredibly powerful for it's size. It doens't lag, and most important/amazing of all, it's Free!!!!!!
Like
Version 1.2
Nestienn
05 May 2007
It does not support music with DRM by on ITMS. It's the main issue I found with this simple and efficient DJ tool.
Like
Version 1.2
Shippster
09 March 2007
Like another poster has said, the delay when dragging tracks renders the program extremely difficult to work with. This is on a 1.83GHz Core duo Intel iMac with 2GB RAM.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Shippster
Shippster
09 March 2007
Update: I had this issue (slow song loading) when using djay for the first time. It happened with 2 songs. I tried it again today and the load time was pretty much instantaneous. I wish I could revoke my previous post, but I can't find that as an option. Now all I need are mixing skills!
Like
Version 1.2
Threedee912
20 January 2007
A little slow (my fault, old Mac...), but not bad at all. A bit confusing, but then again I don't really know how to be a DJ... This app looks very promising.
Like
Version 1.2
Dr-Fierce
16 December 2006
I was excited to find djay when I was looking for software for a party. It seems to have a great feature set but it is s l o o w on my computer (Powerbook G4 1.25gHz 1.512 mb memory). When I added the first track to the software, I got a beach ball for both djay and iTunes for ~30s. Eventually it loaded, but frankly it is unusable with this delay. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact I have a 113 GB music library, or the fact that it is on an external disc. I hope they continue to optimize this b/c it could be great.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Morsy
Morsy
28 December 2006
yes, the problem here is your huge itunes library and the fact that it is stored on an external disk. If you disable "Load iTunes artwork if available" in djay->Preferences->General, this problem will not occur. Let us know if you have any more questions. We just opened a support forum at www.algoriddim.net
Like
Version 1.2
Gaci
23 November 2006
I was searching for audio players and so I'm totally a beginner for all of these stuff..and so i found it interesting just for having fun. (like play around with it for a bit) These has so much stuff that iTunes and those normal audio players doesn't have. It will get tiring after a while trying to figure out whats what and I know its not the one for professionals but it was good fun for me.
Like
Version 1.1.1
clakes
23 July 2006
bugless? incredible? _no_ rather funny to use and deservedly (compared to other products) free. which is all good. anyway, for the professional deejays it's always traktor dj studio or nothing, to me. or dj-1800, as a cheaper alternative, if you feel it's satisfactory. nice effort though.
Like
Version 1.1
Frank-From-Germany
11 July 2006
I have forgotten to rate the app, so here we are :-)
Like
Version 1.0
Frank-From-Germany
11 July 2006
I only searched for an Audio Player that could be configured using a different soundcard than configured in Preferences. During a party you are asked for a special song and nobody can remeber the details. So I need an application were you can listen to a song without interupting iTunes playing. This application delivers everthing additional needed for a party. Maybe someting is missing for proffesional DJs, but this application is free. The only concern I have is thatit takes a little bit long when you select a new track from iTunes.
Like
Version 1.0
loukash
22 June 2006
Certainly this is not a bad app for a 1.0 freeware release. But there's still a long way to go. For now it should be okay for hobby DJs who would like to go slightly beyond iTunes' Party-Shuffle. But if you deejay professionally, don't expect too much at the moment. I've tested djay on a Powerbook G4/1.67/OS 10.4.6 which I use for deejaying regularly with the DJ-1800 software. Unfortunately djay doesn't run as smooth, especially if you use the Pitch and Tempo. (To be honest here, DJ-1800 needed some time as well to evolve to the rock solid DJ app that it is now...) And don't even try the Maximum Quality setting on a G4... (well, that's no surprise though and it's not djay's fault) The interface has some good moments as well as some bad. - iTunes integration is nice. But Artist/Song/Time columns are not enough, I would certainly need BPM/Genre/Year/Album/Comments/Grouping, even Composer as well. And Drag&Drop from iTunes playlists doesn't work, unlike with DJ-1800. - Artwork is very nice, when it works, that is. And would be even nicer if the images wouldn't be mirrored... - I don't understand the purpose of the black-to-gray background gradient. It's simply disturbing! - All functions, sliders and buttons should have their keyboard shortcuts whenever possible: Start, Pause, FF, REW etc. Hint: If you don't have a 4-channel output device, only a 2-channel iMic or similar, try to group it with the built-in audio I/O to an Aggregate Device using Audio Midi Setup utility. In theory this should work. (I don't have the iMic with me right now so I can't confirm it though.)
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Yellow
20 June 2006
Incredible....only a corpse would ignore this. Hats off to the developers for putting such effort into making a really useable bit of DJ software. Its like Comic life, but for music. The plethora of effects (reverbs, delays etc)is awesome, as well as it's drag and drop with iTunes - a visual joy too. Free(!!!) and bugless (so far), certainly my download of the year.
Like
Version 1.0