Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Burn page
Burn free download for Mac

Burn Reviews3.1.1

30 March 2021

Easily burn data, audio, video discs and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
olvr80
olvr80
Jul 26 2021
3.1.1
0.0
Jul 26 2021
0.0
Version: 3.1.1
Works well, but shame it doesn't have ability to burn to BluRay.
VRH
VRH
May 21 2021
3.1.1
5.0
May 21 2021
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
I was glad to see this classic get updated. So easy to use and it works perfectly for me. And it's free. Fantastic!
Enk3
Enk3
Jan 13 2021
2.7.9
0.0
Jan 13 2021
0.0
Version: 2.7.9
Recently updated for Big Sur; latest version is 3.0.3.
griain999
griain999
May 28 2020
2.7.9
1.0
May 28 2020
1.0
Version: 2.7.9
This program burns songs out of sequence from an MP3 source. I have manually re-sequnced the songs in the correct order and it continues to burn them incorrectly with the wrong song titles. It is useless.
Albabe
Albabe
May 17 2020
2.7.9
0.0
May 17 2020
0.0
Version: 2.7.9
Can you Burn a Disc in UDF DVD-ROM format with Burn? Can you burn Blu-Rays?
rmandell85
rmandell85
Jan 3 2020
2.7.8
0.0
Jan 3 2020
0.0
Version: 2.7.8
Burn Used to burn DVD-A discs great, now authoring keeps failing with this message: Cannot be recorded to DVD-Audio without MLP encoding ( 83 channels, 102 bits, -295270951 samples per second.) anyone else have this problem?
Bottacco
Bottacco
Oct 16 2019
2.7.5
5.0
Oct 16 2019
5.0
Version: 2.7.5
Free app that does everything with CDs and DVDs. They keep updating it and now is compatible with 10.15 Catalina (version 2.7.7). This utility always has a place in my Applications folder.
Aapple
Aapple
Sep 3 2019
2.7.5
4.0
Sep 3 2019
4.0
Version: 2.7.5
Works very well with one major exception. When burning an Audio CD, it burns the files in ascii sequence not in the order in the window if you drag the files to reorder them. Means you have to be careful of the names and not reorder them in the burn window. Bug report has been submitted.
Dcannis
Dcannis
Sep 2 2019
2.7.5
5.0
Sep 2 2019
5.0
Version: 2.7.5
The best, It's alive and well and now running on a 64-bit!
lizzard0190
lizzard0190
Aug 17 2019
2.5.1
4.5
Aug 17 2019
4.5
Version: 2.5.1
It's alive. New version 2.7.2
Randommac
Randommac
Sep 27 2017
2.5.1
4.5
Sep 27 2017
4.5
Version: 2.5.1
Just a quick review to say Burn came through for me when Toast 15 did not. I just wanted to do a quick copy of a .iso to a dual layer disc, and Toast 15 choked on it. I had left it running all night long, and it simply hung at about 30%. I've got Burn 2.5.1, so why not try it? Less than 30 minutes later the job is done. No muss, no fuss. Why do I keep spending money on Roxio products?! (I tell myself I can quit anytime, and then I find myself holding another e-receipt and another half-toasted disc. Sad, very sad.) 2013 MacBook Air, external generic superdrive, Mac 10.12.6, Sierra,
annetteweb
annetteweb
Nov 30 2016
2.5.1
3.0
Nov 30 2016
3.0
Version: 2.5.1
I'm using Burn and it works, BUT everytime my videos end up rotated sideways after burning to disk. I really don't like having to lean over 90 degrees to watch my dvd, so why is this happening and what can I do about it? I'm using a Mac, all up to date, the files were Quicktime .mov files which Burn converted to MP4. They were filmed in the right orientation, it's only after burning to disk that they have rotated. Help!
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Oct 6 2016
2.5.1
5.0
Oct 6 2016
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
I downloaded this just fine last night. Toast kept giving me verification errors, and I really needed to get some data DVDs burned. So I gave Burn a try. It worked fast, and it worked properly. Someone mentioned that it hadn't been updated since 2011, but I'm not sure what it would need.
Ninja-Boy
Ninja-Boy
Dec 30 2015
2.5.1
5.0
Dec 30 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
By far, the best DVD burning software currently available. Renders noticeably-higher quality movie and picture DVDs than any other bloatware / paid-for apps.
cubanpete
cubanpete
Sep 4 2015
2.5.1
5.0
Sep 4 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Great app. I like it very much. Thanks!
AndyB66
AndyB66
Aug 2 2015
2.5.1
5.0
Aug 2 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
After paying $50 for another CD burning software which turned out to be useless! this paid for software would not burn a single disc! I opted to try a few freebies in desperation. I installed Burn and used the copy function, success every time and not one disc has failed so far! So contrary to popular belief you don't always get what you pay for. If only I had gone down the freebie route first! Well done BURN you saved the day - Happy bunny!! :-)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Dec 31 2014
2.5.1
5.0
Dec 31 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Every time I hear the word "Toast", I throw up in my mouth. Burn is free, and does what you need, consistently and reliably. PS, my apologies for inadvertently hitting the sad-face for Burn, over at the Toast page. Don
Ocd
Ocd
Nov 9 2014
2.5.1
0.0
Nov 9 2014
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
So sad that this application hasn't been updated since 2011. Has the developer thrown in the towel?
Mcr
Mcr
Dec 18 2013
2.5.1
0.0
Dec 18 2013
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
Considering upgrade to Maverick from ML. Anyone have any experience with Burn running on Maverick? Important to me, because I use Burn almost exclusively now, having dumped Titanium after version 10. Thanks in advance.
Michal-Ciepielewski
Michal-Ciepielewski
Oct 9 2013
2.5.1
5.0
Oct 9 2013
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Simply the BEST :)
MrMojoRisin
MrMojoRisin
Mar 22 2013
2.5.1
0.5
Mar 22 2013
0.5
Version: 2.5.1
I used this due to needing to overburn past limitations in Roxio Toast by mere seconds. It burnt fine, but there was an issue with writing CD text. Not only did it write the title of the CD to track 5, then the first tracks text to track 6, but it seemed to have CD2 in the compilations tracks locked into it's cache (I'm guessing) and write those titles with the above issues. Very strange! I'm using an early 2011 macbook pro running Snow Leopard, burning to TDK CDRs and then playing on a Pioneer CD player that displays CD text. Any help on this bizzarre behaviour appreciated!
Turbomart
Turbomart
Dec 26 2012
2.5.1
5.0
Dec 26 2012
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Worked like a charm on my Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 to burn my Adobe Premiere Elements project on a playable DVD. Added the OpenDVD and VIDEO_TS folders to the Burn Data window, entered a DVD label, hit BURN and voilà. Thanks.
Intellect-Inside
Intellect-Inside
Dec 9 2012
2.5.1
0.5
Dec 9 2012
0.5
Version: 2.5.1
Downloaded the 64-bit version, and it made Archive Utility hang. It's useless if it won't even unzip!
Atarist
Atarist
Sep 15 2012
2.5.1
4.0
Sep 15 2012
4.0
Version: 2.5.1
Very good and simple app that does burn ISO AND it is working fine with Mountain Lion..
GeogProf
GeogProf
Jun 29 2012
2.5.1
0.0
Jun 29 2012
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
I hope this fine app hasn’t become abandonware — it’s been a year and a half since it was last updated, but FFmpeg has come a long way in that time and it would sure be nice to have those improvements working for Burn users.
Kevinsmith
Kevinsmith
Jun 22 2012
2.5.1
0.0
Jun 22 2012
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
I'm really chuffed with this software. I needed to burn a DVD from QuickTime format. Most of my searches pointed to paid software or iDVD which is no longer bundled with Macs. I need to not only burn the movie to DVD but also to have it loop. I found the loop option in preferences. It all went flawlessly. Good interface plus helpful how-to on developers site made the task a doodle. Thanks very much.
A-Wedlake
A-Wedlake
Mar 30 2012
2.5.1
4.0
Mar 30 2012
4.0
Version: 2.5.1
A very satisfying piece of software for burning cd's, dvd's (dual and single layer), etc. Easy to label disc, pull data to it, and then create a reliable burn. And moreover it's free. I was a Toast user for many years. Finally realized that all Roxio did was re-skin the software every year. Yes, Burn won't have all of the other add-on lite versions of stuff you may not want, but it does one thing very well, and does it with grace. Great job.
ndh0113
ndh0113
Jan 12 2012
2.5.1
3.0
Jan 12 2012
3.0
Version: 2.5.1
Yeah i just ripped from a dvd using Mac DVDRipper Pro and then i pulled the file into Burn and then i tried to burn it and it game this error... "The disc drive doesn’t support the requested burn operation." What does this mean and what can i do to fix it???
Chrischram
Chrischram
Jan 6 2012
2.5.1
0.0
Jan 6 2012
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
I use this app all the time for lightweight burning tasks. My one wish is that the developer could get the DVD menu function to work right.
Morlo
Morlo
Nov 15 2011
2.5.1
4.0
Nov 15 2011
4.0
Version: 2.5.1
Really nice.. but is this project dead? no updates in a long time.. emailed the developer and no response..
Orlandoech
Orlandoech
Jul 5 2011
2.5.1
5.0
Jul 5 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Awesome application, I was using Roxio Toast which is a little heavy for my liking so I tried this out. Has all the same features in a light install and easy interface. My only complaint would be that I think the interface could be nicer looking overall.
Salamurai
Salamurai
May 29 2011
2.5.1
5.0
May 29 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
I love Burn. Burn is the only app I found that would make MP3 discs that work in my truck's stereo, other than using Windows. It's also the best app for making proper UDF DVDs for data backup. I've just found out about the update from January, hope it continues to be the best!
anfrice
anfrice
May 15 2011
2.5.1
5.0
May 15 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Very simple and easy to use. A great way to burn mp3's also. Very good for a free app. I highly recommend this.
cpichado
cpichado
May 4 2011
2.5.1
5.0
May 4 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Burn does exactly what it's named for, and quickly. It looks like a built-in Mac app, and is simple and straight-forward. Can't ask for much more, and even if you could - this is free.
talski
talski
May 1 2011
2.5.1
0.0
May 1 2011
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
i just recorded a audio cd and some songs sound like a chipmunks
Trashie
Trashie
May 1 2011
2.5.1
5.0
May 1 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
All the FREE burner apps are really good on OSX but this is my personal favourite as it does exactly what I need quickly and easily in a pure Mac UI. Used this a long time now burned 100's of disks with no issues. Great App!
Guest
Guest
Jan 21 2011
2.5.1
5.0
Jan 21 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Great App.
LicGoncalves
LicGoncalves
Jan 17 2011
2.5.1
2.0
Jan 17 2011
2.0
Version: 2.5.1
... Still not Burn FLAC files :(
P1ayer
P1ayer
Jan 16 2011
2.5.1
5.0
Jan 16 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
just work mac style simple use
Dokter-mac
Dokter-mac
Jan 16 2011
2.5.1
0.0
Jan 16 2011
0.0
Version: 2.5.1
64bit version is here: http://kent.dl.sourceforge.net/project/burn-osx/Burn/2.5.1/burn251-64bit.zip
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Jan 15 2011
2.5.1
4.5
Jan 15 2011
4.5
Version: 2.5.1
Great Software and continuous development keeps it getting better. I'd suggest to implement Sparkle for nices updates and better user experience. Should be possible and is free. What's stopping them from usign it?
Macinman
Macinman
Jan 5 2011
2.5
4.0
Jan 5 2011
4.0
Version: 2.5
I was using burn for a while now. When I had version 2.4.1u, I was able to very easily create a DVD video disc out of mpeg4 files. I was able to let the application convert them to mpg for dvd video compatibility. Now as of 2.5 whenever I try to use mp4 files I just get a failed to encode message with the reason unknown error. Does anyone know what's going on? The only way I got it to work under 2.5 was to export the file to DV first/
stijnstaessens
stijnstaessens
Jan 4 2011
2.5
5.0
Jan 4 2011
5.0
Version: 2.5
easy to use and simple thanks for making this
Chrischram
Chrischram
Jan 4 2011
2.5
0.0
Jan 4 2011
0.0
Version: 2.5
When I try to convert video files to MPG for a DVD, Burn 2.5 consistently throws an unknown error at me. Time to dig into Time machine for the previous version. It never gave me any trouble. (Early 2006 iMac running Snow Leopard)
Glenn-Braid
Glenn-Braid
Dec 31 2010
2.5
5.0
Dec 31 2010
5.0
Version: 2.5
All I can say it is the best application on the market to burn/copy/create/etc DVD/CD's and is free of charge - better still it also beats expensive paid for applications as well. As long as you're willing to read the instructions, actually look at the interface rather than randomly clicking icons in a vein attempt that luck will be on your side - you shouldn't experience any difficulties accomplishing all the things you would do on other applications. For those from the Windows world; it has all the features that I needed from Nero without the massive bloat both download, installation and memory usage. It is a five star application that is worth the time to download and install.
prLab
prLab
Dec 30 2010
2.5
4.5
Dec 30 2010
4.5
Version: 2.5
Well, every time Toast (increasingly) doesn't work, Burn does. So what's the problem for a FREE piece of software? GReat stuff.
Diogo-Cocharro
Diogo-Cocharro
Nov 14 2010
2.4.1u
0.0
Nov 14 2010
0.0
Version: 2.4.1u
What is the difference between this and LiquidCD?
smtips
smtips
Sep 28 2010
2.4.1u
2.0
Sep 28 2010
2.0
Version: 2.4.1u
I have another note about burn after a good run over the last month of burning 250+ DVD's. It seems to fail way too much. It will get to the end, sit there for like a minute in "Finishing" mode then report a failure of the media and spit the disk out. Out of over 200 TDK's and 50 (so far) HP disks, I refuse to accept that well over 10% of the media is failing. Not when I've had a near-100% success rate over the years using TDK's. This is the program wigging out after burning 5 or more disks in a row. It is NOT reliable or consistent at all for extended use.
smtips
smtips
Sep 7 2010
2.4.1u
2.0
Sep 7 2010
2.0
Version: 2.4.1u
Program brings up a lame "Some Files are too large. The PC (Joliet) or ISO9660 filesystem can only handle files smaller than 2GB" then removes the file from the list. This is a pointless message and function when trying to burn Mac + PC disks. It interrupts my work flow. Maybe I only want to COPY the 2+GB file onto a PC. To cripple the program and force me to use Mac only format for burning a file bigger than 2GB is just stupid.
Drad
Drad
Sep 1 2010
2.4.1u
5.0
Sep 1 2010
5.0
Version: 2.4.1u
Wow -- Burn Version 2.4.1u (22) is a total lifesaver for me on a Tiger 10.4.11 ppc g5 and I am very grateful for the developers who made this simple but extremely terrific app. Here's why: all my burn tools have recently gone completely wacko including Toast Titanium, PathFinder and most especially the flaked out now-completely unstable and flaky Finder -- although both Finder & Toast have worked okay previously. But starting in recent weeks, all three have started to freeze, stall, unending spinning beach balls -- I have wasted several blank DVDs and hours upon hours unsuccessfully trying to fix the problems (with all the usual tools and reinstalls) -- I am now even encountering problems with Finder to create/modify/add to/list contents for a simple burn folder. Until now. Hooray for Burn Version 2.4.1u (22)! It worked flawlessly (so far)! [Again, this is on a ppc G5 using Mac OS X 10.4.11 Tiger -- others may have different experiences. I'm gonna try it on an older 10.3.9 Panter g3 imac soon and will try to remember to report back re: that experience.] again: My super muchas gracias thanks to the developers