Back to Simple Comic page
Simple Comic free download for Mac

Simple Comic Reviews

10 July 2019

Comic viewer.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Albabe
Albabe
Apr 5 2021
1.7
5.0
Apr 5 2021
5.0
Version: 1.7
New Version works Great so far! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/simple-comic/id1497435571
Albabe
Albabe
Apr 5 2021
1.7
5.0
Apr 5 2021
5.0
Version: 1.7
There is a New Version of Simple Comic over at the App Store. It's actually been there for a while. Different/New Icon; The Developer is Nicholas Vance - Not sure if he's the Original. Maybe he's someone who redeveloped it to work Better, and to work with Big Sur, after the Original Developer disappeared. Seems to work the same way, except without all the Bugs it developed over the Years. Recommended! https://apps.apple.com/us/app/simple-comic/id1497435571
Albabe
Albabe
Oct 30 2019
1.7
5.0
Oct 30 2019
5.0
Version: 1.7
Sorry to give such a great client such a crappy review, but the Dev still hasn't fixed the main Problem that his last Update created. I get "multiple validation errors occurred" almost every time I try to open a new file.
Albabe
Albabe
Jan 24 2019
1.7 RC2
5.0
Jan 24 2019
5.0
Version: 1.7 RC2
Version 1.7 (252) (not R2) has been released!
Leesa
Leesa
Sep 14 2018
1.7 RC2
5.0
Sep 14 2018
5.0
Version: 1.7 RC2
Great ap... but I'mm assuming since the last update was 2010, it won't work in 54 bit Mojave?
Fontgoddess
Fontgoddess
May 27 2016
1.7 RC2
4.0
May 27 2016
4.0
Version: 1.7 RC2
My first-choice app for reading comics.
Quirop-Pa
Quirop-Pa
Jul 5 2015
1.7 RC2
5.0
Jul 5 2015
5.0
Version: 1.7 RC2
Simple y muy práctico. Perfecto.
bb553
bb553
Jun 24 2015
1.7 RC2
0.0
Jun 24 2015
0.0
Version: 1.7 RC2
It gives an update available message: A new version of Simple Comic is available! Simple Comic 1.7 is available - you have Simple Comic 1.7 RC2. Would you like to download it now? Release Notes: arauchfuss@dancingtortoise.com Simple Comic 1.7 10.5+ only Changes since 1.6 • 64bit • New icon courtesy of Martin Andersson • Redesigned User Interface • Customizable toolbar • Dock style, auto-hiding fullscreen bezel • Simplified preferences • Quicklook plugin for cbz and cbr files • Create and soft crop thumbnail icons for cbz,zip,cbr, and rar archives • Extract individual pages • Option to open nested archives • Can view text release notes (.txt, .nfo, .info) • Many other fixes and improvements which then gives: Update Error! An error occurred while downloading the update. Please try again later.
ApplesGuy
ApplesGuy
Mar 5 2015
1.7
5.0
Mar 5 2015
5.0
Version: 1.7
The best stable feature rich simplistic digital comic book reader for the Mac! I bought the Humble Transformers Bundle 2 and was looking for a good comic reader for my Transformers digital comics and found this! I read bad things about ComicBook Lover being unstable and not working with Mac OS X Mavericks -- I am running Mac OS X Yosemite and I found Simple Comic and read good things about this program. Even though it is free, I donated money to support the developer and as a way to say thank you. Please consider donating to the author/programmer of Simple Comic and support good quality software on the Mac.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 1 2014
1.7
0.0
May 1 2014
0.0
Version: 1.7
The link goes to a broken server page. :-(
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Dec 11 2013
1.7
5.0
Dec 11 2013
5.0
Version: 1.7
This is a GREAT comic viewer.I agree with Mutant. It is fantastic and shows the comics you have accurately.
plenumgmailcom1771
plenumgmailcom1771
Jul 10 2013
1.7
3.0
Jul 10 2013
3.0
Version: 1.7
it's one of those programs that you never notice because it always does what it's supposed to, and nothing less, or more.
Ghostlines
Ghostlines
Aug 11 2012
1.7
4.0
Aug 11 2012
4.0
Version: 1.7
App is great, I recommend this to anyone who want's to read comics easily. Donate!
herrokitty
herrokitty
Aug 27 2011
1.7
0.0
Aug 27 2011
0.0
Version: 1.7
is there a way to turn of the mouse icon magnifying feature while in fullscreen mode? Love the app, all help appreciated, thanks :)
Mutant
Mutant
May 5 2011
1.7
5.0
May 5 2011
5.0
Version: 1.7
Without a doubt in my mind I think this is the finest comic viewer available on a mac. I specifically say VIEWER because that's its job. It doesn't download, manage, ituneify, or promote.. It simply handles the job of viewing comics -- AND MORE -- with ease and simplicity. In PathFinder I can use SimpleView to browse directories of images with a couple of clicks, drag a compressed file onto SimpleCOmic and it will find all the things it can view and you are off. Hats off to this developer for such an amazing free application. Thank you.
nymphe
nymphe
Nov 29 2009
1.7 beta
5.0
Nov 29 2009
5.0
Version: 1.7 beta
Really good viewer. My only complain would be the changed icon. The previous black/white icon was better than this one, maybe it can be optional.. Of course it is only a small point compared to the viewer itself. One of the few programs I keep in dock. :)
Sharkiest
Sharkiest
Jul 11 2009
1.7b220
0.0
Jul 11 2009
0.0
Version: 1.7b220
I like it a lot! My only suggestion is that when viewing the two page spread, there be a small break between the two pages. Make it easier to distinguish where one page ends and the other begins.
Toolplayerfan
Toolplayerfan
Jan 8 2009
1.7b206
0.0
Jan 8 2009
0.0
Version: 1.7b206
Great app right here! One suggestion: black background on fullscreen view instead of white.
Starchie
Starchie
Jul 24 2008
1.7b188
0.0
Jul 24 2008
0.0
Version: 1.7b188
Total newb to e-comics. Just downloaded my first .cbr file and am very pleased with this program. It follows the OSX look and is very simple/elegant. I am hitting the LATER button for now, but will definitely donate if I use it more than a few times. Kudos!
Fet
Fet
Apr 11 2008
1.6.1
0.0
Apr 11 2008
0.0
Version: 1.6.1
SimpleComics is the best cbr/cbz reader for OS X. It is fast and simple, but there is one thing I need to change: the Default page layaout is two pages and I want it to be just one. Everytime I open SimpleComics 1.6.1 it goes back to "two pages" (so i have tho press Cmd+P). Can I change it permanently? Thanks,
Frode
Frode
Dec 12 2007
1.6.1
0.0
Dec 12 2007
0.0
Version: 1.6.1
How on earth do you actually view a comic? I see no instructions whatsoever, no way of typing in a website, no way of setting up your daily list of comics.
Norebirth
Norebirth
Nov 13 2007
1.6.1
0.0
Nov 13 2007
0.0
Version: 1.6.1
Great App! It's the best Comic Viewer! Easy to use and the support is great! Asking for 3 or 4 features and the answer came at the same day. The features in 2! Perfect!
Master-Therion
Master-Therion
Oct 23 2007
1.5.4
0.0
Oct 23 2007
0.0
Version: 1.5.4
Very good. I see it's best
Booloo
Booloo
Oct 22 2007
1.5.4
5.0
Oct 22 2007
5.0
Version: 1.5.4
For me, the best application for reading comics. And the updates are consistent. Thanks to the developer.
Jeffne-Schelin
Jeffne-Schelin
Oct 6 2007
1.5.2
0.0
Oct 6 2007
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
Simply the best of its kind out there. Very fast and intuitive. I have been using this program for over six months now and it's getting better and better with each releases. Thanks the developer for providing us with such a great software!
Kioshi
Kioshi
Jul 12 2007
1.3.1
0.0
Jul 12 2007
0.0
Version: 1.3.1
Almost perfect. Only thing missing is more keyboard shortcuts like in CDisplay for Windows.
anonymous-aardvark-2081
anonymous-aardvark-2081
May 4 2007
1.2.1
0.0
May 4 2007
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
I've just downloaded and tested a couple of comic book viewers and this one is currently the front runner. It's simple and unlike some other apps, (jomic), it's not a resource hog. It loads the comics very fast and it lets you click through the different pages quickly too.
Arauchfuss
Arauchfuss
Mar 1 2007
0.9b
0.0
Mar 1 2007
0.0
Version: 0.9b
I actually was not intending to release 0.9b to the front page. It should be fine but has not been tested extensively.
Arauchfuss
Arauchfuss
Feb 10 2007
0.8.1
0.0
Feb 10 2007
0.0
Version: 0.8.1
Apologies for 0.8.0, it contained several nasty crashers that should never have seen the light of day. 0.8.1 should fix most if not all of the problems that people had. Image zooming has been restored as well. Email me any archives that fail to load or crash Simple Comic.
Guynamedaleck
Guynamedaleck
Feb 9 2007
0.8
0.0
Feb 9 2007
0.0
Version: 0.8
What happened to the zoom. You used to be able to press command and + or - to zoom in and out of the page, but that doesn't work anymore. What happened? Did they just forget to put that back in?
Coldfusion1970
Coldfusion1970
Jun 30 2006
0.7.0
0.0
Jun 30 2006
0.0
Version: 0.7.0
Great application, it works very nicely. But there are some suggestions that i would like to make. 1) It would be nice if you could click to change to the next page (especially in fullscreen mode). 2) Also it would be nice to be able to close a comic in fullscreen mode by doing +. At the moment it looks like you have to leave fullscreen mode and then find the "Page List" window to clear the comic. 3) It would be great if you could zoom in/out while in fullscreen mode. 4) Why does it beep if i press the up or down keys on the numeric keypad to scroll up or down the comic page? 5) At the moment you have to press + to change page. Just the would be nicer. Feel free to ignore my suggestions as they may just be my personal preference rather than really practical for the vast majority. Sean