Back to Simple Comic page
Simple Comic free download for Mac

Simple Comic Reviews

1.7
10 July 2019

Comic viewer.

Norebirth
13 November 2007

Most helpful

Great App! It's the best Comic Viewer! Easy to use and the support is great! Asking for 3 or 4 features and the answer came at the same day. The features in 2! Perfect!
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1

Read 29 Simple Comic User Reviews

Rate this app:

Albabe
30 October 2019
Sorry to give such a great client such a crappy review, but the Dev still hasn't fixed the main Problem that his last Update created. I get "multiple validation errors occurred" almost every time I try to open a new file.
Like
Version 1.7
Albabe
24 January 2019
Version 1.7 (252) (not R2) has been released!
Like (2)
Version 1.7 RC2
1 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
08 October 2019
I Love this client!!! I have 1.7 (252) and I keep having a problem, "multiple validation errors occurred." I keep reading about 1.7.1 253 and that it fixes this problem, but all the links are dead. Anyone know anything?
Like
Version 1.7
Leesa
14 September 2018
Great ap... but I'mm assuming since the last update was 2010, it won't work in 54 bit Mojave?
Like (1)
Version 1.7 RC2
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
16 September 2018
" 54 bit "??? Damn, I need to put my glasses on in the morning.
Like (1)
Fontgoddess
27 May 2016
My first-choice app for reading comics.
Like
Version 1.7 RC2
Quirop-Pa
05 July 2015
Simple y muy práctico. Perfecto.
Like
Version 1.7 RC2
bb553
24 June 2015
It gives an update available message: A new version of Simple Comic is available! Simple Comic 1.7 is available - you have Simple Comic 1.7 RC2. Would you like to download it now? Release Notes: arauchfuss@dancingtortoise.com Simple Comic 1.7 10.5+ only Changes since 1.6 • 64bit • New icon courtesy of Martin Andersson • Redesigned User Interface • Customizable toolbar • Dock style, auto-hiding fullscreen bezel • Simplified preferences • Quicklook plugin for cbz and cbr files • Create and soft crop thumbnail icons for cbz,zip,cbr, and rar archives • Extract individual pages • Option to open nested archives • Can view text release notes (.txt, .nfo, .info) • Many other fixes and improvements which then gives: Update Error! An error occurred while downloading the update. Please try again later.
Like
Version 1.7 RC2
ApplesGuy
05 March 2015
The best stable feature rich simplistic digital comic book reader for the Mac! I bought the Humble Transformers Bundle 2 and was looking for a good comic reader for my Transformers digital comics and found this! I read bad things about ComicBook Lover being unstable and not working with Mac OS X Mavericks -- I am running Mac OS X Yosemite and I found Simple Comic and read good things about this program. Even though it is free, I donated money to support the developer and as a way to say thank you. Please consider donating to the author/programmer of Simple Comic and support good quality software on the Mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Derekcurrie
01 May 2014
The link goes to a broken server page. :-(
Like
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
ben-marko
ben-marko
31 March 2015
It can only be downloaded from Softonic now:

http://simple-comic.en.softonic.com/mac
Like
Jazzyguy
11 December 2013
This is a GREAT comic viewer.I agree with Mutant. It is fantastic and shows the comics you have accurately.
Like (2)
Version 1.7
plenumgmailcom1771
10 July 2013
it's one of those programs that you never notice because it always does what it's supposed to, and nothing less, or more.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Ghostlines
11 August 2012
App is great, I recommend this to anyone who want's to read comics easily. Donate!
Like (1)
Version 1.7
herrokitty
27 August 2011
is there a way to turn of the mouse icon magnifying feature while in fullscreen mode? Love the app, all help appreciated, thanks :)
Like
Version 1.7
Mutant
05 May 2011
Without a doubt in my mind I think this is the finest comic viewer available on a mac. I specifically say VIEWER because that's its job. It doesn't download, manage, ituneify, or promote.. It simply handles the job of viewing comics -- AND MORE -- with ease and simplicity. In PathFinder I can use SimpleView to browse directories of images with a couple of clicks, drag a compressed file onto SimpleCOmic and it will find all the things it can view and you are off. Hats off to this developer for such an amazing free application. Thank you.
Like (2)
Version 1.7
nymphe
29 November 2009
Really good viewer. My only complain would be the changed icon. The previous black/white icon was better than this one, maybe it can be optional.. Of course it is only a small point compared to the viewer itself. One of the few programs I keep in dock. :)
Like (1)
Version 1.7 beta
Sharkiest
11 July 2009
I like it a lot! My only suggestion is that when viewing the two page spread, there be a small break between the two pages. Make it easier to distinguish where one page ends and the other begins.
Like
Version 1.7b220
Toolplayerfan
08 January 2009
Great app right here! One suggestion: black background on fullscreen view instead of white.
Like (1)
Version 1.7b206
Starchie
24 July 2008
Total newb to e-comics. Just downloaded my first .cbr file and am very pleased with this program. It follows the OSX look and is very simple/elegant. I am hitting the LATER button for now, but will definitely donate if I use it more than a few times. Kudos!
Like
Version 1.7b188
Fet
11 April 2008
SimpleComics is the best cbr/cbz reader for OS X. It is fast and simple, but there is one thing I need to change: the Default page layaout is two pages and I want it to be just one. Everytime I open SimpleComics 1.6.1 it goes back to "two pages" (so i have tho press Cmd+P). Can I change it permanently? Thanks,
Like
Version 1.6.1
2 answer(s)
Arauchfuss
Arauchfuss
14 April 2008
To disable two page layout uncheck the the "Two page spread" in the general preferences.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1
Fet
Fet
15 April 2008
Shame on me... that was easy!!! Thank you.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1
Frode
12 December 2007
How on earth do you actually view a comic? I see no instructions whatsoever, no way of typing in a website, no way of setting up your daily list of comics.
Like
Version 1.6.1
2 answer(s)
Bjjfiter
Bjjfiter
12 December 2007
Agreed, it's not very intuitive. Having trouble myself.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Arauchfuss
Arauchfuss
14 December 2007
I believe that there is a misunderstanding. This is not an application for aggregating web comics and then displaying them. Think of it instead as a very fancy and specialized version of preview.
Like (8)
Version 1.6.1
Norebirth
13 November 2007
Great App! It's the best Comic Viewer! Easy to use and the support is great! Asking for 3 or 4 features and the answer came at the same day. The features in 2! Perfect!
Like (2)
Version 1.6.1
Master-Therion
23 October 2007
Very good. I see it's best
Like
Version 1.5.4
Booloo
22 October 2007
For me, the best application for reading comics. And the updates are consistent. Thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Jeffne-Schelin
06 October 2007
Simply the best of its kind out there. Very fast and intuitive. I have been using this program for over six months now and it's getting better and better with each releases. Thanks the developer for providing us with such a great software!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Kioshi
12 July 2007
Almost perfect. Only thing missing is more keyboard shortcuts like in CDisplay for Windows.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
4 answer(s)
Gheritt
Gheritt
12 July 2007
If you could e-mail me a list of the shortcuts and functionality that you think are missing I would be much obliged. I don't promise to add any of them but I will see if any are a good fit.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Kioshi
Kioshi
12 July 2007
thanks for replying! I am on Windows now, do you have access to it? I find CDisplay the perfect comic viewing experience, but I can tell you what I miss on SC when I get back to my mac if you can't run CDisplay ;)
Like
Version 1.3.1
Gheritt
Gheritt
12 July 2007
I don't have access to a PC right now and have never used CDDisplay. On top of that there seems to be very little online documentation. I will need your help.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Kioshi
Kioshi
20 July 2007
Oh forget my comparison. There's no doc on CDisplay because it's not develope anymore. Anyway the thing I like the most about CDisplay is the speed you can scroll with the arrows, and you've managed that. And since I've discovered the 'hidden' shortcuts on SC (Space to move down, right/left arrows pressed for 1 sec to change the page) it's really as good as CD to view comics (on this topic of scrolling and all, because as a whole Simple Comic has many more features). Thanks for this wonderful app!
Like
Version 1.3.1
I've just downloaded and tested a couple of comic book viewers and this one is currently the front runner. It's simple and unlike some other apps, (jomic), it's not a resource hog. It loads the comics very fast and it lets you click through the different pages quickly too.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
Arauchfuss
01 March 2007
I actually was not intending to release 0.9b to the front page. It should be fine but has not been tested extensively.
Like
Version 0.9b
1 answer(s)
Arauchfuss
Arauchfuss
01 March 2007
No problem, just was not expecting it.
Like
Version 0.9b
Arauchfuss
10 February 2007
Apologies for 0.8.0, it contained several nasty crashers that should never have seen the light of day. 0.8.1 should fix most if not all of the problems that people had. Image zooming has been restored as well. Email me any archives that fail to load or crash Simple Comic.
Like
Version 0.8.1
Guynamedaleck
09 February 2007
What happened to the zoom. You used to be able to press command and + or - to zoom in and out of the page, but that doesn't work anymore. What happened? Did they just forget to put that back in?
Like
Version 0.8
Coldfusion1970
30 June 2006
Great application, it works very nicely. But there are some suggestions that i would like to make. 1) It would be nice if you could click to change to the next page (especially in fullscreen mode). 2) Also it would be nice to be able to close a comic in fullscreen mode by doing +. At the moment it looks like you have to leave fullscreen mode and then find the "Page List" window to clear the comic. 3) It would be great if you could zoom in/out while in fullscreen mode. 4) Why does it beep if i press the up or down keys on the numeric keypad to scroll up or down the comic page? 5) At the moment you have to press + to change page. Just the would be nicer. Feel free to ignore my suggestions as they may just be my personal preference rather than really practical for the vast majority. Sean
Like
Version 0.7.0
2 answer(s)
Gheritt
Gheritt
01 July 2006
Thanks for the comment. In order. 1) I will have to mull this one over for a bit. 2) Hitting cmd-opt-del clears the page list. In the 0.7.1 update this also toggles off the fullscreen display. 3) I have been thinking about this one as well maybe in 0.8 4) Appologies about that,  fixed in 0.7.1 5) Sorry you will have to clarify this point as your comment seems to be garbled. The auto updater may have already caught this, but the 0.7.1 update became available as of this morning.
Like
Version 0.7.0
Coldfusion1970
Coldfusion1970
01 July 2006
Thanks for the response. I will clarify my other points as the MU comment box seems to have scrambled it a little. 1) It would be nice to be able to close a comic in fullscreen mode by doing COMMAND+W or clicking the red gadget in the top left hand corner of the window. 2) At the moment you have to press COMMAND+ARROW to change page. Just pressing ARROW by itself would be nicer. Just suggestions.
Like
Version 0.7.0