Back to WriteRoom page
WriteRoom free download for Mac

WriteRoom Reviews

3.2.1
08 August 2012

Fullscreen distraction-free writing environment.

Gordon142
20 March 2009

Most helpful

I love this app. Not only does it remove distractions, but the highly configurable full screen view allows you to find the perfect settings for comfortable hours staring at a screen. I do all my work in Writeroom now, moving it to Pages for final formatting. Excellent application.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.7

Read 48 WriteRoom User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dr-Sparks
13 May 2019
I enjoyed WriteRoom more than ten years ago and up to the present version, but had to stop using it when it was not updated since version 3.2.1 of 08 Aug 2012. Now it seems there may be a version 4 coming up?

https://support.hogbaysoftware.com/t/writeroom-4-update-i-dont-practice-distraction-free-development/4008
Like
Version 3.2.1
amitch001
22 December 2017
Old WriteRoom for iOS is back with all bug fixes and new feature. App name is Writemator : http://support.hogbaysoftware.com/t/writeroom-for-ios-lives-on-as-writemator/3437
Like
Version 3.2.1
Derekcurrie
14 November 2017
WriteRoom of iOS is D E A D as of iOS 11. It never went 64 bit. This fact kills any reason for me to use WriteRoom on Mac as I require something that works on both platforms. Sad. - - But I'm attempting to contact the developer anyway in case there's any chance of his updating it. Ideally, it needs to go 64 bit for both macOS and iOS. Otherwise, so long.
Like
Version 3.2.1
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
14 November 2017
And here's the answer from the developer:

"jessegrosjean Nov '16

"Sorry no, I stopped development on WriteRoom for iOS a number of years ago. I would strongly recommend switching to another writing app for iOS."

IOW: I consider WriteRoom as a whole to be abandonware. Off to the trash with you! I'll miss it. (;_;) :-(
Like
amitch001
amitch001
22 December 2017
WriteRoom for iOS is back developed and named Writemator. Check out this link: http://support.hogbaysoftware.com/t/writeroom-for-ios-lives-on-as-writemator/3437
Like
Macspresso
08 August 2014
Bought Writeroom 3 a while ago because i was enthusiastic about Writeroom 2. It's advertised as a better product, but it's not. It frustrates to customise and distracts the user from it's workflow, which it should not do, obviously. So, eventually, i still use Writeroom 2, it just works better, cleaner, easier.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Filp
18 October 2013
Write Room is not fancy. It will not automatically transform your ideas into finished prose. But if you want to write — to get your words onto the screen, then edit and revise and polish them in a smooth, uncluttered environment — this may be just the thing.
Like
Version 3.2.1
tzoi516
13 November 2012
I liked WriteRoom 2 because of the flexibility it afforded me in customizing my writing environment - it's about allowing me to focus on writing and not minutiae, right? WriteRoom 3 takes a departure, which has caused me to spend around 20 minutes just trying to get the window how I want it - full screen every time I open WriteRoom, the page is centered (I don't like text scrolling off the edge of my monitor, it's distracting. However, I can't adjust the bottom margin in 3), and a entire black background gives me a headache after awhile. After one spends an hour of customizing, and wasting valuable writing time, it almost works like its predecessor. Until you close it and open it again. Theming isn't as cut-and-dry - I didn't see a Theme editor, so I opened a theme in the text editor (thinking it might be XML-based) and was greeted with gibberish. Since it was an inexpensive upgrade, the value wasn't bad, and so far it hasn't crashed on me. Sorry for the snarky commentary, I'm just frustrated - which I know is a poor excuse. I just don't like my time being wasted.
Like
Version 3.2.1
seba-szwarc
29 May 2012
I wanted to buy version 3 and support its developer but...no Snow Leopard version..I will not buy Lion just for WriteRoom sorry. Very frustrating and annoying to forget about old users..because of what? lack of official icloud support in Snow?
Like (2)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
waryuser
waryuser
16 July 2012
Uhm. Native fullscreen mode.
Like
Monkeyjunkey
26 February 2012
Can we please have back "Save as..."? Lion-versions is unusable.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
F451
15 February 2012
Another heads-up for downloading and installing version 3.1. (I love WriteRoom so not an issue for me on the $5.) You will receive the following window message: Upgrade to WriteRoom 3 The WriteRoom 3 upgrade is free if you ordered WriteRoom 2 after October 2010. If you have an older license, the upgrade is $5. Thanks for your support.
Like
Version 3.1
F451
31 October 2011
BEFORE you download and replace your existing copy of WriteRoom may sure you understand that this is for LION ONLY. If you do not have a saved copy of Version 2.5.1 (the latest version for Snow Leopard) there is no way to presently download 2.5.1 from the developer's website.
Like (5)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Drewman21
Drewman21
31 October 2011
2.5.1 is located on his website under the support page here. http://www.hogbaysoftware.com/products/writeroom/releasenotes-mac
Like (3)
F451
F451
31 October 2011
Drewman21, I stand corrected! Thanks for posting the link. I already had a version saved, but was noting it for others Also, when using Snow Leopard, the WriteRoom icon will be crossed-out signifying that it will not work on your system—if not Lion OS.
Like (1)
xati-ba
31 October 2011
It does what it says but is needlessly expensive. I feel like they are preying on gullible mac users, so I cannot give it a high score.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
4 answer(s)
Filp
Filp
31 October 2011
I'm not sure what your complaint is. You knew what it cost, and you admit it does what it says. What did you expect? Hog Bay does NOT have a reputation for "preying on gullible mac users." I also knew what it cost, and still appreciate it for doing what it says.
Like (2)
sjk
sjk
22 November 2011
Current price is $9.99 @ http://www.hogbaysoftware.com/store
Like (3)
xati-ba
xati-ba
24 November 2011
Wow, a lot of haters here! Flip, I don't know how clearer I could have made my review : app in theory good, but too expensive for what it is! Are you an alternate account of the developer or something? Anyway the price of $9.99 is perfectly reasonable, if I had seen it at the time I would have written a much more positive review. Thanks to Stoneman and sjk for pointing this out, I wish Macupdate staff woul update this page.
Like (3)
Filp
Filp
25 November 2011
I'm not an alternate account of anyone or anything. I'm a long-time Mac user who likes WriteRoom and thinks it's worth what I paid for it. You're entitled to think it's overpriced, and I'm entitled to think you're wrong.
Like (3)
Bill9583
24 February 2011
If you ever want to concentrate on your writing, the default environment is an ideal interface... but hitting the Escape key lets you experience it as a "regular" application within the desktop. It is quick to load, so its ready to go right away and very versatile.
Like
Version 2.5
Diarbyrag
23 February 2011
Thank you for this update, it now works perfectly. I love being able to switch off the rest of my desktop view using WriteRoom and to just see letters and words ( in my case in green and black ) it is almost Zen like and I can just concentrate on whatever I am writing. Thank you PS I like my iPhone app version too Please do not make this a crApp store only App
Like (2)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
10 March 2011
Oh and btw it does not run under Tiger 10.4 as it says above.
Like
Funjoy
23 February 2011
Does what it's supposed to do -- and for that I give it a high rating. But after using the app for a few days I came to realize that for me it wasn't working. I guess I prefer having more cues while writing, and I like being able to more easily slip into another app to research something. But if you want a complete lack of distractions, this is certainly a good app to consider!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
hced
24 January 2011
Clean and to the point.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.7
krislinus
16 November 2009
So simple, beautiful and inspiring. Concentrate on your writing only. No layout, just plain text in a full screen arrangement. Choose your own background and text colors to match your thoughts or create a non-distracting digital text pad.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.7
Daniel-Page
12 September 2009
Looking at screenshots and reading reviews does not do this program justice. I saw it about a year ago and thought "that's nice." Recently bought the iPhone app when it was on sale, and then decided to check out the desktop program. The first moment that I used it, I realized that this program is all about design, response, and interface. It's really a great tool.., I've been doing all of my writing on it now, and then just pasting the finished text into my formatting programs or website programs. Also, I love how it stays full screen when I command-tab to another program, rather than reverting to a small window like every other program with a full-screen mode does. This has to be the best implementation of full-screen I have ever seen. I gotta keep using it, though... I just realized that I am taking longer writing this review because I am not using the program...
Like (4)
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
12 November 2009
Movist is another app that shares WriteRoom's superior full screen behaviour.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.7
Gordon142
20 March 2009
I love this app. Not only does it remove distractions, but the highly configurable full screen view allows you to find the perfect settings for comfortable hours staring at a screen. I do all my work in Writeroom now, moving it to Pages for final formatting. Excellent application.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.7
Dnem41
15 June 2008
I'm sure this is a great app, but why pay for this, when you can get jDarkRoom for free? jDarkRoom does everything this app does and doesn't charge for it!
Like (2)
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
Gordon142
Gordon142
15 March 2009
Jdarkroom does everything this app does the same way textedit does everything MS word does. jDarkroom has nowhere near the options Writeroom has, and it doesn't integrate well with the Mac OS at all. For example, unlike Writeroom, jdarkroom does not support standard Mac OS text services (spelling/grammar, all OS Services menu items, dictionary lookup, etc), and for that matter, it is simply a plain text editor while Writeroom is a rich text editor with good support for formatting. It can even open and save to other formats. Again, if Jdarkroom works for you, great, but asserting that it "does everything writeroom does" really just demonstrates that you haven't used either application.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.7
Dnem41
30 May 2008
this is a great app to have if you have ADD and the money to spare. ive never used this app, but im sure its a great one. jDarkRoom seems to provide all the features WriteRoom describes and is freeware. it also runs on Java.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.7
Limsilas
23 April 2008
you can download the free version of writeroom (1.0, unsupported) here: http://hogbaysoftware.com/products/writeroom/releases
Like
Version 2.3.7
Dalahast
13 April 2008
Any chance of hosting the old free version like MU did with Textpander? I don't have $25 for this, I'm 13.
Like
Version 2.3.7
Yuletide
07 April 2008
ditto the previous review. a pity too, it's a great idea and well implemented, but the price is just ludicrous! Someone needs to create a plugin or something to wrap this functionality into textmate... Especially since the "edit in writeroom" functionality is borrowed straight from TM!
Like
Version 2.3.7
Kiddailey
29 October 2007
Very nice, and I appreciate what this provides for the writer, but $25 for essentially a simple text editor with a full screen mode is way too much. Half that and I'd probably be purchasing my own copy. For now, TextEdit.app will suffice for me.
Like
Version 2.3.4
Jan-rybar
17 August 2007
Writeroom is fine, but quite expensive. If you buy Mellel, full-Word-like text editor, you will pay 49 $ and you will get the same "full screen mode" (alt, command, S will activate it) without any icon or menu and a lot of functions hidden behind it...
Like (1)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
F451
F451
29 October 2007
Mellel does not do what WriteRoom does in the manner that WriteRoom does it. Have you actually used WriteRoom?
Like
Version 2.3.4
8oo8
24 July 2007
WriteRoom is beautiful.....and I love it! I write a lot and WriteRoom DEFINITELY helps immensely in potentiating my creative flow. Those that have trashed WriteRoom have their heads stuck way up their rectums....they wouldn't recognize a true gem if bit them on the ass. And WriteRoom is just that, a beautiful gem for creative folks. It's not intended to be a feature-rich text editor or full fledged word processor.....it's intended to be "a distraction-free writing environment".....nothing more, and it works just beautifully at doing that.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
hced
24 July 2007
Very inspiring application. And it's carried out in a nice and simple, minimalistic way. WriteRoom, to me, has a very geeky appeal. Feels like being on top of what you're doing, and it makes you realize how smart you really are. Something that's often times remained unthought of, is the user experience; do people actually get anything produced (in this case written) with the apps they're using? And if so, is that because they were never distracted by cluttery, feature-packed user interfaces? Sure there are other apps that might succeed in the same regard that WriteRoom does, but there is none that resembles the looks and strictly minimal concept of this fine application. Also, I'd like to regard WriteRoom as being a writer's 'tool', rather than a full-blown word processor. It is reachable from pretty much anywhere, and jumps in as a refreshing aid in times when you need that extra focus to concentrate.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Howiec
20 July 2007
You can accomplish the same result by expanding a window in TextEdit to take over the entire screen. Additionally, the preferences are confusing, and it'd be nicer if you could have a glossy look, because the display looks awful with flat colors.
Like
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
23 July 2007
WriteRoom has thousands of happy users. Numerous people have written in saying that it changes the way that they write. I've even had people say that they switched from PC to Mac just so they could use WriteRoom. So why are you wasting, your time, my time, and everyone else's time by trashing my app for no good reason? I'm an independent mac developer and I rely on word of mouth. If someone like you goes around trashing my apps then a small Mac developer like me can disappear. "You can accomplish the same result by expanding a window in TextEdit to take over the entire screen" That's not true for a lot of reasons. For one just try it. If you make Text Edit full screen then notice how there are no margins? For most people text that spans across the entire screen isn't much fun to read or write, and that's why WriteRoom will block out your entire screen, but presents your text in a nice easily readable column in the center of your screen. It's fine to say that you don't find WriteRoom useful yourself. And yes the preferences could be simpler, but Writers want to control over every aspect of their writing environment. And so I've decided to error on the side of to many preferences so people work like they want instead of too few so they can't. I'd appreciate if you would delete your comment or at least edit it so that there is some logic to it. At this point You've given WriteRoom 1 star. The worst possible rating and that's not fair. Thanks, Jesse
Like
Version 2.1
hced
hced
24 July 2007
Jesse: WriteRoom is a geourgeous and cleaver app. Don't let it get to you. Some people are completely lacking in their social abilities, and yet, some people likes it when they can trash something down, often times because they are unable to construct anything of their own. Keep doing what you're great at (in this case, coding). Hog Bay Software has a very high credibility in my book, and myopics sending in disrespectful, shorthanded comments which are lacking any constructive intent whatsoever, is just something that happens to any developer, no matter how much effort they put into their craft; sadly so, it comes with the territory... :( WriteRoom for the win!
Like
Version 2.2
Xypher
Xypher
13 October 2007
Nothing wrong with freedom of speech. Anyway, I don't think his comment will have a negative effect on anyone planning to or currently using WriteRoom. You should have more faith in the program you've created. Beauty is the eye of the beholder. Personally speaking, I like the application and I'm not just saying that. It's quite a novel experience using it. Thank you for taking the time to write it.
Like
Version 2.2
Paladino
11 April 2007
I use this for one purpose only, to help create a writing environment that maximizes my creativity. I set the screen background to a color that suits me best...a dark blue, the page color a lighter blue but still rather dark, and the font color a pale blue...along with the font style and size that I like. This particular combination works for me. I then keep my room lighting at a very low level. All together it DOES facilitate the flow of my creative juices. The user can play around with color combos 'till he/she finds the one that feels right for him/her. After I've got my writing down, I export it to my word processing app. I really like Write Room, it works for me for the purpose for which it was intended. I purchased a license when it was at the MacUpdate daily special price of $15, which I think is about right for this app. At the regular price of $25, I think it's rather overpriced.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Paladino
Paladino
25 July 2007
Having used WriteRoom for several more months, I have come to appreciate it even more and now feel that it certainly IS worth its $25 price; if I hadn't already purchased it for the MacPromo price of $15, I would unhesitatingly pay the full $25. Five full stars for WriteRoom! ★★★★★!!!
Like
Version 2.2
Slade95816
05 January 2007
Generally, a great app, but still has a few bugs to iron out: * when typing in full screen mode, typing a comma followed by a space (", ") yield two commas and a space. Similarly, a space between words yields two spaces between words. * Some fonts on the Text Editing prefs menu don't immediately show, nor do they work at all once chosen. * Some keyboard commands don't work as written: Apple + Return does NOT quit out of full screen mode, nor does "Esc" toggle Full Screen mode on/off. Once these kinds of bugs are ironed out, I'll gladly pay $25 for this app!
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
06 January 2007
Please post these sorts of bugs on the Hog Bay Software site where it's easier for me to keep track of them. I think at least some of these problems are specific to your (or at least a small number of peoples) computers, because I'm sure I would have heard about them before if they happened everywhere. In particular the typing problems in full screen mode sound very strange and I'm sure that they are not happening for most people. My guess is there must be some conflic with a third party application that you have installed? Do you have any haxies or typing enhacing programs installed?
Like
Version 2.0.1
Kinbote
04 January 2007
The negative reviews below completely miss the main point of this program: Install the "Edit in WriteRoom" plugin (via the preferences), and you can invoke WR's full-screen mode from almost every Cocoa application on your Mac - your text editor, your email program, your browser. If you use Safari, you can type your Macupdate comments in full-screen mode. Just set WR to open documents in full-screen mode, and you can invoke it from any text field in any Cocoa program with a shortcut or the "Edit in WR" menu command. Save your changes, close WR, and the text will appear in the text field or web form you were editing. Yes, there are other, more sophisticated text editors with full-screen mode, but WR automatically adds this feature to _all_ programs with standard Cocoa text input fields. This is a very clever idea. Perhaps the developer should have mentioned the "Edit in WR" feature in his product description, because this is the main selling point of WR, at least in my opinion.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
04 January 2007
Thanks for your comments. The trouble is it's always hard to figure out what features to list on these download sites. The issue being that I already listed that feature and others when I posted the previous betas, the changes listed here are the ones that have been made between the last beta and the 2.0 release. Anyway thanks. Also I just want to mention that the EIWR implementation was made possible by some code that the TextMate people made availble, so thanks to them also.
Like
Version 2.0
Lord-Lightning
04 January 2007
Can't see the point of this when Scrivener does all this and provides the best, bar none, writing application there is. Scrivener will cost about $35 when it is release soon (very soon) in fully licensed version 1. The beta v5 is free (time limited, as is Scrivener Gold (forever) http://www.literatureandlatte.com/ or http://www.literatureandlatte.com/dlbeta/ScrivenerRCb5.dmg
Like
Version 2.0
Ironman
04 January 2007
Is it really needed to go in fullscreen mode at each launch, while in the same time launching Safari ? I think not
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
04 January 2007
I don't understand what you mean or why it warrents a 1 star rating. By default WriteRoom will launch into full screen mode, because that's what most people want, but you can easily change this behavior in the full screen preferences. I'm not sure what you mean about Safari, WriteRoom shouldn't be launching Safari normally.
Like
Version 2.0
John-F-
John-F-
05 January 2007
What's with these guys giving these one-star ratings without really digging into an app? It's everywhere. Most don't even really explain why. Sometimes people give one-star ratings because an app won't start on their computer. Hello, when you find a bug, report it to the developer who can help you out! Instead of doing this, they give one-star ratings! If something doesn't work because you don't know how, dig into the manual, or ask the developer for help! Giving a one-star rating because you are lazy is simply lame. Making it a comment is okay, of course. I wonder why these people even bother putting in a "review" on Macupdate.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Alexiusca
03 January 2007
24.95? Are you guys nuts? Not a bad program, but why not shell out a few more bucks for Ulysses or one of the other fuller writing programs. For a dedicated full screen program, it lacks the features needed to justify the price: It doesn't let you save sets of layouts, nor are all of its customization features allowed to be adjusted in real time. Blech, not a smooth experience at all. Get a fuller program and save thirty bucks, sorry guys.
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
03 January 2007
I don't think we are nuts... check through our user forums on the hogbaysoftware.com website and you'll find many very happy users. Many are professional writers who are very aware of Ulyses and similar tools, for them WriteRoom is still an important part of their writing process. If you don't like it there's no need to buy, but it would be nice if you could just ignore WriteRoom instead of yell about how "nuts" we are. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.0
Alexiusca
Alexiusca
05 January 2007
Thanks for your reply. To clarify: I do like the software and find it useful, but cannot justify the price for the features. Offer student pricing! ;)
Like
Version 2.0.1
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
05 January 2007
I am pretty flexible on pricing if cash really is an issue. http://www.hogbaysoftware.com/node/478
Like
Version 2.0.1
Thinc
18 December 2006
Jesse Grosjean's WriteRoom is a first class app that doesn't do much - except totally transform the writing and note-taking experience. I was skeptical at first. I mean what's the big deal about writing in a full screen environment that looks like DOS? (Don't worry, you can change it to look like anything you want.) But within a few minutes of playing with it I was hooked. Writing was simple, productive, and yes actually FUN again. But conventional writing and note taking are just the beginning. WR also has a game-changing feature called Edit in WriteRoom). With it, an EIWR menu item appears in all cocoa apps. Select EIWR, edit in WriteRoom's wonderful environment, then hit save and your text appears, as if by magic, back in your original document. Addictively sweet! I use WR in conjunction with Mori (also by Hog Bay Software's Grosjean) and Jer's Novel Writer (a weirdly named but wonderful writing app by Jerry Segar a writer who'd had enough of Word and its kin) for my major writing projects, and I've never been more productive. If you're a writer who's fed up with apps that get in the way of your work rather than actually help you work, all three of these are worth a try (both developers are also very responsive to user feedback).
Like
Version 2.0b2
John-F-
04 December 2006
WriteRoom is evolving. Evolving into something which isn't true to the original idea and philosophy. Version 2 is a totally different beast from version 1. The developers have reassured everyone that version 1 is here to stay for those who like it, and version 2 is simply something more advanced and different. Talk about confusing! I am sad, though, that the developer Jesse couldn't just decide to bring WriteRoom to the market and stick with his original vision of what it is - and very slowly and carefully polish it. This is what made the original WriteRoom unique (something I have written before on the Hog Bay forum): It is an app that doesn't concern itself with loose scattered documents on your HD, or even with the idea of documents. Its metaphor is more powerful: It is not about docs, it is about pieces of text you are working on and nothing else. It's about focus. The app presents you windows where you can write your text, in the window or full screen, and you don't have to think about anything else because what you see is what you get. I believe moving away from the documents metaphor is a great idea for writers that need focus: I open the app, create a new window, and when I close and reopen the app, the same windows return! I don't have to save the documents to a specific place on the hard drive at all, and I don't have to name them. It's what I would expect, but no other app except for WriteRoom 1 does! This is where computing should be: Moving away from complexity (a complex thinking in metaphors and managing things) to a place of transparency. WriteRoom is very pure in its idea and execution. Until version 2 came along. Version 2 will find it's audience. And I am not saying that it isn't useful for many people. Far from it. It's just that it's a bit confusing to have a higher version number available, while version 1 is still being actively supported. To me, it feels like the switch from Hog Bay Notebook version 2 to version 3 all over again - but with a little twist.
Like
Version 2.0b
5 answer(s)
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
04 December 2006
I appriciate your comments, but I don't agree that WriteRoom 2.0 is a completely different beast then version 1.0. WriteRoom 2.0 still has the single focus of being a distraction free writing environment. Some of the new features (such as the edit in writeroom plugin) make it even better in this respect. Now you can easily get any text into and out of writeroom with a single keystroke. Where before getting text into and out of writeroom was a mutlistage distracting process. Of course there are differences and you have picked up on the biggest, the change to a document based model. In many cases this makes things easier. For instance say you want to edit a text file on your computer and edit it in WriteRoom. Now it's simple, just open the document and edit it. Previously you would have needed to import, edit, and then export, a much longer process. You are correct that this change does take away the automanagment of your documents (you now need to save them somewhere) and I can understand how this make things worse for some uses. And thats something that can be added back later on if there is enough demand. But I don't really thing its fair to say that WriteRoom 2.0 is a completely different application that abandons the cause of a distraction free writing environment. That's still 100% the goal.
Like
Version 2.0b
Billyfuster
Billyfuster
04 December 2006
This idea of starting WriteRoom 1.0 and working with one document was great... until you had to work on another document. How can you fit a one-document model into a multi-document world? That's what prompted 2.0. I've been following the development of the beta, and it has really struck the right balance between the 'distraction-free writing' of 1.0 and the need to work with multiple plain- or rich-text documents. Most of all, I'd say: If there's some specific feature you want implemented in WriteRoom to make it more to your liking, write up a careful detailed feature request and post it on the WriteRoom forum. If you can convince other users and teh developer that it's a good idea, it's got good chances... No joke.
Like
Version 2.0b
John-F-
John-F-
04 December 2006
I get what you're saying. But to me, the beast was in the whole concept: the environment with the hassle-free "non-document" model. That was so refreshing to see and this "non-document" model, I really see as a fundamental part of the writing environment, not just the distraction-free full-screen mode of writing. To me, these two things come together. It was the whole concept that I like. It was what excited me. Maybe I came over a bit too strong, but I have very strong views on these kind of things, and I express them maybe overly strong. In my view, the nature of the beast has changed immensely. That is my point of view. I do see that from your perspective, it isn't really so, because the distraction-free writing environment still lies at its core.
Like
Version 2.0b
John-F-
John-F-
04 December 2006
I get what you're saying, Jesse. But to me, the beast was in the whole concept: the environment with the hassle-free "non-document" model. That was so refreshing to see and this "non-document" model, I really see as a fundamental part of the writing environment, not just the distraction-free full-screen mode of writing. To me, these two things come together. It was the whole concept that I like. It was what excited me. Maybe I came over a bit too strong, but I have very strong views on these kind of things, and I express them maybe overly strong just to make a point. In my view, the nature of the beast has changed immensely. That is my point of view. I do see that from your perspective, it isn't really so, because the distraction-free writing environment still lies at its core.
Like
Version 2.0b
schmelding
schmelding
11 December 2006
I completely agree with John F. I'm sticking with v.1. It was simple, bloatless (is that a word?) and drop-dead fast to use. Nuff said.
Like
Version 2.0b2
Jesse-Grosjean
04 December 2006
Why's it so bad that it's become shareware? And yes 1.0 will still be availible for free. Basically shareware means that I (the developer) care more about the app and will be much more likely to continue working it in the future. To me the price seems very fair after all the time that I've put into it, especially if you really do find it useful. If you think I can somehow handle the transition to shareware better let me know, but I do need to make money somehow. I'm trying to make a living at this.
Like
Version 2.0b
Crypt
04 December 2006
Awww man, what a bummer that it's shareware now. One of the few apps I always use and has gotten me through countless college papers. Well, I guess I'll just hold onto 1.0.
Like
Version 2.0b
Inik
14 August 2006
I love it! If you need to JUST WRITE, this is the tool. Bash out your thoughts, then dump 'em into your word processor/layout program and deal with formatting. Excellent for the "Writing Down the Bones" crowd.
Like
Version 1.0
Lillionscage
13 July 2006
It's so slim, fast start-up.
Like
Version 1.0
Aname
13 July 2006
I love this app. I'm a dyslectic and it really serves its purpose of being distraction free. Innovative and brilliant.
Like
Version 1.0
Thevalrus
12 July 2006
Awesome app, great for getting some actual writing done. But I think it turned all my white text a very light shade of pink. I have no idea what the deal is with that.
Like
Version 1.0b3
3 answer(s)
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
12 July 2006
But I think it turned all my white text a very light shade of pink. Which text did it turn pink? You can change the text color that WriteRoom uses in WriteRoom's preferences, that might help.
Like
Version 1.0b3
Thevalrus
Thevalrus
13 July 2006
Actually, I meant that it turned all the white text in OTHER apps a light shade of pink. One day later, though, I can now say that perhaps it was just an optical illusion caused by looking at green-on-black for a long time. ;)
Like
Version 1.0
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
13 July 2006
Ahh yes, optical illusion makes sense. Of course never say never, but I think it's pretty unlikely that it would actually change the color of text in other apps.
Like
Version 1.0
Macsmiley-jr
11 July 2006
I like this little app. I just used it to write a Flickrmail. I like its nostalgic look: black background with green text. I love that.
Like
Version 1.0b3
Gazman
10 July 2006
This app is indeed getting there however, it needs a couple of things: 1) rtf support for bold, italics, etc. 2) better integration with Hog Bay's notetaking app Mori. On the plus side the developer has an excellent attitude towards the development of his software - check out his online forums.
Like
Version 1.0b3
Phillryu
05 July 2006
This is an awesome app! Without distractions, I was able to pump out a few blog posts in about half the time it normally takes. Great job, and keep it up, love it!
Like
Version 1.0b2
Lorem-Ipsum
30 June 2006
i had several issues with getting it to work. when you zoom, it just disappears...no text, nothing...then displays a text window, the dock disappears...and creates two instances of the same text document. i'm confused. checked the preferences and everything seems fine. also, when you adjust the page width and height, the slider values dont update. definitely still in beta. good idea; will check back when a new version comes out.
Like
Version 1.0b2
2 answer(s)
John-F-
John-F-
30 June 2006
I haven't had any of your problems. I'm curious, do you have an Intel Mac or PPC? If it doesn't behave correctly, I suggest contacting the developer on the forum. The developer is really great. Second of all, I suggest that you don't rate an app before you can get it to work properly on your system. While you can grade something for it not working as it should on your system, it doesn't really tell that much. Like, I'm running it on an iBook with Tiger without any trouble and the app is really wonderful, even in beta. I think the previous people haven't rated yet just for this reason. I'm waiting with the rating after I have given it a thorough and fair run - more so because it is public beta. You have to cancel out that it not behaving correctly may be specific to your system. And you should also give the developer a bit of a chance to correct things.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Jesse-Grosjean
Jesse-Grosjean
30 June 2006
Please post in our user forums about this problem with a bit more detail and system info. I haven't heard of any of these problems before.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Mrsin
10 June 2006
I like "WriteRoom!" I just downloaded, installed and launched it. The first 'test' for me, was to see how quickly and easily I could get it from the initial 'Full' screen mode back to where I have access to my other notebook controls, applications and what not - a simple press of the escape, "esc," key did the trick :)! It also incorporates 'as you type spell checking' - sweet :)! The fact that it's "free" doesn't hurt either :)! As far as the "need to paste the text into a different app to output (e-mail, word processor, text editor, whatever" goes, I routinely use 'text editors' to compose messages for various reasons - message boards, email, etc., then "copy and paste" to get the completed message where I need to in order to post or send it. So this is not an issue with me. I did notice when trying to underline a single word, it underlined 'everything,' ditto when I tried to italicize a single word :). So, it still needs a 'little' work, but I plan on making use of it as is right now! By the way, I used "WriteRoom 1.0 beta (5) to compose this comment. I hope my couple of cents proves useful to someone out there. Oh, if you prefer colors other than the default green on black - which takes me down memory lane and my "MS/PC DOS" days :), you can change it in the preferences.
Like
Version 1.0b
Teekay
09 June 2006
This is an interesting concept: many users of Nisus Writer Express or Mellel have requested full-screen editing, but NWE's implementation sucks (it aligns the left margin of your document with the left side of your screen, which on a widescreen display leads to extremely wide text areas that are difficult to work with) and Mellel doesn't have it at all. WriteRoom does *only* one thing: it nicely displays text for full-screen editing, and you'll need to paste that text into a different app to output (e-mail, word processor, text editor, whatever). You could get something similar with DevonTHINK but that costs $$$.
Like
Version 1.0b